reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
A realistic portrayal of life ‘on the frontline’. I loved everything about this story – the characters are authentic, the dialogue is natural, and the narrative flows smoothly. I greatly appreciate the author’s respectful portrayal of Nat’s bisexuality. The sex is very well done, the attraction between the main characters is tangible. It’s all wonderful – one of those stories I’m gutted is over.

Between Ghosts by Garrett Leigh
Bisexual Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 214 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (November 19, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626493529
ISBN-13: 978-1626493520
Amazon: Between Ghosts by Garrett Leigh
Amazon Kindle: Between Ghosts by Garrett Leigh

In 2003, journalist Connor Regan marched through London to add his voice to a million others, decrying the imminent invasion of Iraq. Eight months later, his brother, James, was killed in action in Mosul.

Three years on, Connor finds himself bound for Iraq to embed with an elite SAS team. He sets his boots on the ground looking for closure and solace—anything to ease the pain of his brother’s death. Instead he finds Sergeant Nathan Thompson.

Nat Thompson is a veteran commander, hardened by years of combat and haunted by the loss of his best friend. Being lumbered with a civilian is a hassle Nat doesn’t need, and he vows to do nothing more than keep the hapless hack from harm’s way.

But Connor proves far from hapless, and too compelling to ignore for long. He walks straight through the steel wall Nat’s built around his heart, and when their mission puts him in mortal danger, Nat must lay old ghosts to rest and fight to the death for the only man he’s ever truly loved.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
This book was heart wrenching and realistic and I especially like that there wasn't a pat answer to the story question. The only negatives it did get a little long winded with the introspection and the mourning at the beginning of the book didn't read as realistic as other parts.

Signs of Life (Resilient Love) by Melanie Hansen
Gay Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 234 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (September 28, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634761774
ISBN-13: 978-1634761772
Amazon: Signs of Life (Resilient Love)
Amazon Kindle: Signs of Life (Resilient Love)

A Resilient Love Story

Successful lawyer Jeremy Speer has it all―a loving husband, a beautiful home, and a cherished dream that’s about to become reality. He’s learned not to take happiness for granted, meeting the challenges of life and love head-on with unwavering commitment and fierce devotion. A series of tragic events leave Jeremy shattered, adrift on a sea of unimaginable pain. He’s able to piece his life back together, but instead of embracing it, he merely exists, using isolation and punishing physical exertion to keep the world at bay.

High school teacher Kai Daniels has a heart for at-risk kids―he was one himself, and a teenage brush with the law and some troubled years behind bars left him scarred inside and out. With courage, hard work, and the support of friends, he’s built a fulfilling life that leaves no time for a relationship.

An intense encounter with Kai at a gay club ignites a spark in Jeremy that he thought was extinguished forever, but he’s unwilling to destroy the fragile peace he’s managed to create, and he leaves Kai humiliated and disappointed. Things should have ended there, but a bizarre occurrence brings the two together in a way neither of them expected.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
There are honestly no words to describe the real, raw, and ultimately beautiful emotions I experienced reading this book. The real: the vulnerability, the strength, the reality of eating disorders, the love of the family we choose and who chooses us. The raw: the feelings of not measuring up, either Kevin or Casper, to themselves, for each other, to family and friends, the reality that one may not actually live to see his dreams realized, the facts that pain can be a minute by minute agony, whether physical, spiritual, emotional. The beautiful: the love expressed throughout the book, the fact that life does not have to be perfect to be gloriously beautiful, and the reality that while one may still struggle, lifelong, with problems, and those problems may not be ever solved, it is imperfectly beautiful. When one loves and allows love to see them, broken and all.

The Imperfection of Swans by Brandon Witt
Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 284 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 18, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634768167
ISBN-13: 978-1634768160
Amazon: The Imperfection of Swans
Amazon Kindle: The Imperfection of Swans

Kevin Bivanti’s dream is to open a wedding dress shop, a place with the stunning gowns to make every bride-to-be feel adored. At thirty-eight, he quits a successful advertising career to buy an old brownstone in a trendy Boston neighborhood and to make his dream a reality. When one of his cosigners drops out, fate intervenes, ushering in Casper James, who hopes to open his own bakery. With Casper willing to take the risk, their ambitions meld into a wedding dress and wedding cake boutique.

Extensive renovations to the brownstone, an affair with his ex-husband, family drama with his mothers, and the anxiety of significant life changes push Kevin to the brink of a nervous breakdown. In the midst of stress and uncertainty, Casper becomes more than a business partner, a mutual attraction that adds another layer of intensity and risk.

With their dreams on the verge of reality, Kevin and Casper must find the courage to face the stress of managing their attraction, the gamble of a new business venture, and the resurgence of Kevin’s personal demons.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Digging up the Dead (A Viv Fraser Mystery) by V. Clifford
Bisexual Mystery / Thriller
Series: A Viv Fraser Mystery
Paperback: 266 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (November 30, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1518761321
ISBN-13: 978-1518761324
Amazon: Digging up the Dead (A Viv Fraser Mystery)
Amazon Kindle: Digging up the Dead (A Viv Fraser Mystery)

In Digging Up The Dead hairdresser, super-sleuth and resident of Scotland’s capital city Viv Fraser retreats to a cottage in the country for some well earned R&R. However, she soon discovers that walking the dog and staring out at so much green is bad for her health. When DI Marcus Marconi (Mac) arrives to tempt her with a case of unexpected bones on an archaeological site, she’s delighted to be given an excuse to use her intelligence and wit. Whilst on the case strange incidents occur; a stone tumbles from the chancel of Inchmaholm priory, their hotel room window is smashed, tyres are slashed and Viv is attacked. Were all of these events linked? And who was the intended victim? One case leads to another and Viv discovers that an unlikely link to her past has reared its head. Back home Viv has become an Auntie. Her glamorous sister Amanda’s life has flipped upside down, and she turns to Viv for help.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
The Orchard of Flesh by Christian Baines
Gay Paranormal Romance
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (August 16, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626396493
ISBN-13: 978-1626396494
Amazon: The Orchard of Flesh
Amazon Kindle: The Orchard of Flesh

Reylan's last assignment for The Arcadia Trust brought a rebellious human servant under his roof, and a volatile werewolf lover named Jorgas into his bed, leaving the self-reliant Blood Shade--known to the outside world as vampires--in no hurry to risk his immortality for them again. But when a new terror starts disappearing humans from a bad part of town, Reylan must do everything in his power to keep Sydney's supernatural factions from the brink of war. Having an ambitious, meddlesome human in the mix is only going to make things worse...especially when that human is Jorgas's father. Reylan will need all his determination and cunning to keep the peace under his roof, between the night's power brokers, and in his lover's troubled heart.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Puppet Boy by Christian Baines
Bisexual Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 314 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (November 16, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626395101
ISBN-13: 978-1626395107
Amazon: Puppet Boy
Amazon Kindle: Puppet Boy

A school in turmoil over its senior play, a sly career as a teenage gigolo, an unpredictable girlfriend with damage of her own, and a dangerous housebreaker tied up downstairs. Any of these would make a great plot for budding filmmaker Eric's first movie. Unfortunately, they're his real life. When Julien, a handsome wannabe actor, transfers to Eric's class, he's a distraction, a rival, and one complication too many. Yet Eric can't stop thinking about him. Helped by Eric's girlfriend, Mary, they embark on a project that dangerously crosses the line between filmmaking and reality. As the boys become close, Eric soon wants to cross other lines entirely. Does Julien feel the same way, or is Eric being used on the gleefully twisted path to fame?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
A Touch of Temptation by Julie Blair
Lesbian Erotic Romance
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (May 17, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626394881
ISBN-13: 978-1626394889
Amazon: A Touch of Temptation
Amazon Kindle: A Touch of Temptation

Stanford law graduate Kate Dawson is focused on the future laid out for her—partnership in her family’s law firm and marriage. When she moves to a cabin in the Santa Cruz Mountains to study for the bar exam, crossing paths with her intriguing neighbor leads to a journey of sexual awakening and self-discovery that wasn’t part of the plan.

Landscaper and handsome butch top Chris Brent has a well-deserved reputation as a
considerate lover. Avoiding relationships with all their emotional messiness, she indulges in her favorite pastime at sex parties and with casual lovers. She enthusiastically agrees to initiate her cute neighbor to ways of sexual pleasure.

Sex was the deal. Falling in love ruins everything. Or does it?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
What It Looks Like by Matthew J. Metzger
Transgender Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 266 pages
Publisher: JMS Books LLC (August 20, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1535376066
ISBN-13: 978-1535376068
Amazon: What It Looks Like
Amazon Kindle: What It Looks Like

Eli Bell is the only son of a police chief inspector and a forensic scientist. He's grown up wonky in a world that only deals with the straight and narrow -- and his new boyfriend isn't helping.

Rob Hawkes is six feet of muscle, tattoos, and arrest warrants. A career criminal and a former guest of Her Majesty's Prison Service, he'd rather hit Eli's parents than sit down to dinner with them. One wrong move, and Rob could destroy Eli -- and his family -- without a second thought.

But this isn't what it looks like.

Rob's not in control here -- and Eli's the one to blame.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
One Step Forward by Tia Fielding
Gay Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 236 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 8, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634776003
ISBN-13: 978-1634776004
Amazon: One Step Forward
Amazon Kindle: One Step Forward

Sam Becker, a horse whisperer, agrees to take one last job before retiring to his Texas ranch. It's clear as soon as he meets the Taylor family in Kentucky that he's in for a challenge. What he doesn't expect is the way his own wounds reopen. He's never really dealt with the suicide of his mentally ill wife, and he won't be able to ignore that hurt forever.

Joshua Taylor and his horse, Calla, were a force to be reckoned with on the eventing circuit until an accident ended their careers. Most of the pain is on the inside, however, and Sam knows those injuries are the slowest to mend. Sam's unique methods help Calla and, surprisingly, Josh, but he's still lost without riding. Their feelings for each other come hard and fast, and Josh starts his first steps of recovery, but Sam needs to return to Texas eventually. Even if Josh is able to move past the accident, they'll still have a long and difficult journey to make before they can be together.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Slow Burn in Tuscany by Giselle Fox
Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: July 14, 2016
Amazon Kindle: Slow Burn in Tuscany

What do you do when your worst enemy turns out to be the one woman you can't resist?

Single mom Brianna Valente has hated Madison Blake since the night they graduated high school. So when the rich, beautiful Madison signs up for the same tour of Italy that Bree is taking with her BFF, it’s almost enough to ruin the trip before they start.

As if that’s not bad enough, a nosy, loud-mouthed journalist starts poking into the tourists’ private lives -- and turns Bree’s upside down. Suddenly, everything she thought she knew is wrong … and the woman she was sure she hated is hotter than the Tuscan sun and firing all Bree’s fantasies.

The tour becomes a journey of unexpected discoveries, full of sweet seduction and vivid emotion … until Bree realizes that she stands in the way of Madison’s deepest desire. Will Bree sacrifice her first-ever chance at real romance for the sake of Madison’s dream? And if she does, can love find a way to bring them together again?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
6 Days To Get Lucky by L.E. Franks
Gay Romantic Comedy
Publisher: Wilde City Press (March 7, 2016)
Amazon Kindle: 6 Days To Get Lucky

Mixologist Nick Valentine never thought love was in the cards, but after a scorching Valentine’s Day kiss from bouncer Davis “FatBoy” Newman, he’s beginning to think it’s possible. After four weeks of dry spell, Nick’s losing patience—it’s time FatBoy stop acting the gentleman and just throw him over the bar or Nick may just change his mind.

All FatBoy wants is a shot at winning Nick’s heart. As long as meddling bosses, an Irish hurling team and a bar riot don’t ruin his chances forever, he might just get lucky and take the man of his dreams, home.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Ex-Wives of Dracula by Georgette Kaplan
Lesbian Paranormal Romance
Paperback: 358 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr. (March 2, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955334104
ISBN-13: 978-3955334109
Amazon: Ex-Wives of Dracula
Amazon Kindle: Ex-Wives of Dracula

What’s worse than falling in love with a straight girl? Falling in love with a straight girl who drinks blood. And not even in a goth way. High school senior Mindy Murphy, has been questioning her small town life forever and, more recently, her sexuality. Maybe it has something to do with her new friend, Lucia West. When they were kids they used to be besties, until Lucia grew a head taller and a cup size bigger. Now she’s captain of the cheer team, winner of the Boyfriend Olympics, and voted least likely to remember Mindy at their high school reunion. In short, possibly the worst person alive for Mindy to crush on. Especially after Lucia’s bitten by a vampire. Now the only way to keep her alive is to get her blood, and the only way to cure her is to slay the vampire that turned her. Who knows, maybe after they get this vampire business settled, Lucia can explain to Mindy why she kissed her.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Requiem for Immortals (The Law Game #1) by Lee Winter
Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
Series: The Law Game
Paperback: 284 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr.; 1 edition (August 13, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955337103
ISBN-13: 978-3955337100
Amazon: Requiem for Immortals (The Law Game #1) by Lee Winter
Amazon Kindle: Requiem for Immortals (The Law Game #1) by Lee Winter

Professional cellist Natalya Tsvetnenko moves seamlessly among the elite where she fills the souls of symphony patrons with beauty even as she takes the lives of the corrupt of Australia’s ruthless underworld. The cold, exacting assassin is hired to kill a woman who seems so innocent that Natalya can’t understand why anyone would want her dead. As she gets to know her target, she can’t work out why she even cares.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Blurred Lines (Cops and Docs #1) by K.D. Williamson
Lesbian Romantic Suspence
Series: Cops and Docs
Paperback: 306 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag; 1 edition (February 1, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955334937
ISBN-13: 978-3955334932
Amazon: Blurred Lines (Cops and Docs #1)
Amazon Kindle: Blurred Lines (Cops and Docs #1)

Kelli McCabe is a no nonsense detective with a tough exterior. Only a select few know her as a loyal, loving friend. Committed to her family, her friends, and her job, Kelli puts her needs behind everyone else's.As a surgeon, Nora Whitmore is used to being in control. The hospital is her life and leaves room for little else. Respected by her colleagues, but misunderstood by the residents, Nora takes what she needs and keeps everyone at arm's length. In the process, she creates unexpected enemies.Tragedy brings them together. As chaos grows around them, the lines between them begin to blur. Despite being from different worlds, friendship grows between them, turning quickly to attraction. Will these two strong, independent women find a way to deal with their individual baggage? Or will they be overcome by it?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Risk (Dark Light #2) by Dusk Peterson
LGBT Anthology / Collection / Alternative Universe/Reality
Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press (August 21, 2016)
Amazon Kindle: Risk (Dark Light #2)

"I hesitated. Was Fairview dead? Was it worth my while to risk my own life for a dead man?"

Until risk arrives, you never know how important the things are that you're required to risk.

A soldier must decide how high a price he is willing to pay for an unspoken bond. A journeyman must choose between an assured future and an untroubled conscience. A boy learns that his life is a lie and must decide which truth he desires. A servant and his beloved master face stark truths as their lives are endangered. A young torturer, satisfied with his lot, gambles everything he has ever valued to learn a new way of treating prisoners. A master must risk the future of his slave, or else risk his own future. . . . "Risk" looks at the dangers and rewards of taking risks.

This second volume of Dark Light collects two novellas (short novels), two novelettes (miniature novels), and two short stories. These tales come from Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of alternate history series (The Eternal Dungeon, Dungeon Guards, Michael's House, Life Prison, Commando, Waterman, Young Toughs, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs.

Volume Contents
"The Unanswered Question" (The Eternal Dungeon). No weapons, no allies, and no guarantees that he will survive the test.
"The Lure" (Young Toughs). His entire life has been a secret. Now he must rip open the secret.
"Journey to Manhood" (Young Toughs). "Perhaps, when they spoke next, the other young man could tell Simmons of any masters here who were in need of an apprentice who was perilously close to the age of journeymanship."
"Lost Haven: a master, his servant, and a disappearing island" (Waterman). Amidst a servant's nightmare, can a haven of hope be found?
"Master's Piece" (Waterman). He was his master's piece: the model for his master's sculptures. But his master was different.
"Spy Hill" (Commando). On a hot summer's day, on a high hill surrounded by the enemy, the best battle-companion can turn out to be the truth.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Nobody’s Son (Sons #3) by Shae Connor
Gay Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (November 16, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 162380969X
ISBN-13: 978-1623809690
Amazon: Nobody’s Son (Sons #3)
Amazon Kindle: Nobody’s Son (Sons #3)

Who wouldn’t want a nice cup of tall, dark, and gorgeous? Shaun Rogers does. He's working at the front desk of a clothing-optional gay resort when Conrad “Con” Brooks walks in. The sweet, funny, and smart IT guy is there to install a new network and security system, and sparks fly between the two men from the start. Trouble is, Shaun’s hiding his sexuality from his grandmother, the only family he has left, and that makes him reluctant to take the leap with Con.

Then a man claiming to be Shaun’s absent father shows up out of nowhere, throwing Shaun completely off balance. His life spiraling toward chaos, Shaun soon discovers that his “father” is hiding secrets of his own. When things come to a head between them, it’s Con who comes to Shaun’s rescue―but the incident could force Shaun into a decision he’s not sure he’s ready to make.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Other Side of the Line by Marguerite Labbe
Gay Historical Romance
Paperback: 330 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (September 18, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634765842
ISBN-13: 978-1634765848
Amazon: Other Side of the Line
Amazon Kindle: Other Side of the Line

Caleb Hudson and Hal Zimmer became best friends the day they stood up against the schoolyard bully together. Life’s complicated enough with their friendship crossing racial lines in 1960s Charleston, South Carolina, but as time passes, they realize it’s more than their friendship that sets them apart from other kids. At first, Caleb denies his feelings for Hal could be more than companionship. He supports his friend when Hal admits he’s gay, but Caleb isn’t ready to face his own truth.

Hal becomes a staunch antiwar protester, and the divide between them widens after Caleb is drafted. But when Caleb returns from Vietnam, the time for denial is over. His homecoming sets off a series of events that force Caleb and Hal to confront their desires and what lines they’re willing to cross to get what they truly want out of life.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Dragon Dreams & Fairy Wings (Fire and Flutter #1) by Bailey Bradford
Gay Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Rainbow Ninja Press; 1 edition (February 25, 2016)
Amazon Kindle: Dragon Dreams & Fairy Wings (Fire and Flutter #1)

What happens when a fairy loses his wings—and his memory?

Griff was born a Love fairy, but he never quite fit in. He didn't want to be part of a harem, at least...he didn't think he wanted that. What with his wings gone and his memory damaged, he can't be certain of what he felt in the past. All he does know is, he wants his wings back. Without them, he's grounded.

Blaze is a dragon shifter who tends to stick his foot in his mouth—and some other parts in other places—when he really shouldn't. His brother is the king, and his sister-in-law Bonny is scary. Blaze's last screw-up got him grounded, unable to shift into his dragon form. His punishment seems harsh to him, but there's no escaping it.

Then the Love fairies come to the castle to work on forming an alliance. Blaze has about had it with guarding the horny beings, and he's disappointed that they don't stay small and cute. He almost commits a major faux-pas when he swats at something buzzing him, and it turns out to be a fairy on a dragonfly.

And from that snarky meeting, something wonderful, and dangerous, will come.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Interview with Ellis Montgomery on Release Day of JOCK 3

Oh My Gosh, Oh My Gosh, Oh My Gosh! Back Off! That’s My Jock is OUT! Today is Release Day! I can’t believe it! You can order it HERE.

You’ve probably noticed I’ve done a number of character interviews for this tour where the characters ask ME questions. I thought it was a bit different, and hopefully entertaining. We’ve spoken with Doug Archer, Sam Garber, and Rob McAvoy. For release day, why don’t we go back to the beginning and chat with Ellis Montgomery. Don’t you think that would be fun?

If you are unfamiliar with my JOCK Series, it began in December 2012 with the release of My Roommate’s a Jock? Well, Crap! In the first book Cole Reid needs a roommate and is looking for anyone but a jock. In steps Ellis! Ellis is the star soccer player at Gettysburg College and moves in with Cole. Their relationship is history, so to say, since they were the couple in book 1. Book 2 came three years later in December 2015. No! Jocks Don’t Date Guys features a new couple, Chris and Alonzo. The plot ends in mid-October with playoffs in sight. Chris has a best friend in book 2, Doug Archer, who is featured in book 3. These book can be read out of order, but it is not recommended. For die hard fans, I also have a free short on All Romance eBooks entitled Oh, Crap! This Jock’s Getting Married.



Wade: Welcome Ellis Montgomery to the interview today.

Ellis: It’s great to be here. I’m really happy to see the progression of the characters in JOCK 3 and how we all interact. May I ask, how did you decide on the theme for this book?

Wade: Nothing like jumping straight into the interview.

Ellis: *chuckles*

Wade: I love soccer. My son played high school soccer so I paid close attention. After so many years had passed between JOCK 1 & JOCK 2, I knew I had to come up with another couple and another storyline. You and Cole had to have graduated by then. I also didn’t want to lose you. The brilliant idea of you coaching instead of playing just popped into my head. After JOCK 2, I had to thing of what to do with Doug. He’d had a rough time in JOCK 2, but his story was more complicated in my head. Originally, my story wasn’t going to be about a bisexual player, but as I wrote JOCK 2 last year, it was apparent the plot I was foreshadowing for JOCK 3 was too complicated for me, so I changed it. Since Doug was dating girls in book 2, it made sense to either have him discover his bisexuality throughout the book, or write him as a gay man who suppressed his attraction to guys and dated girls because it was easy or socially acceptable. I sort of did that in Names Can Never Hurt Me, sort of, so I went with bisexuality in a way to show it’s okay to be bi and you don’t have to be ashamed of it.

Ellis: Wow. Cool. I for one am glad you did it that way. I saw the whole soccer team pause and look at Doug to figure out where they stood on the matter of sexuality in relation to friendship, soccer, and life. Thanks for that. What cultural value to do see in writing/storytelling?

Wade: I really strive to write what I see in culture, and I think the benefit is that readers in other areas of the world can get a different perspective. Or, they can see the same perspective and not feel so alone. No matter how LGBTQ rights have progressed in the last few years, there are still people who feel isolated and alone in their sexuality. I am someone who doesn’t want that person to feel alone. New York and L.A. may be relatively same to live out, but there are still plenty of places where bullying can lead to suicide. Therefore, I think storytelling can open peoples’ eyes to situations they hadn’t dreamed of before.

Ellis: What did you enjoy most about writing Back Off! That’s My Jock?

Wade: Writing ALL my characters into the story. (Except for one.) In JOCK 2 I introduced another set of soccer players, but the main focus was on Chris Jackson and his relationship with Alonzo Martin. Since I build the surrounding characters in book 1 & 2, I could simply write the story in book 3. There wasn’t as much history to build and explanation. You knew who they were. The biggest part of “telling” came in chapter one where I give a brief summary of book 2 to catch the readers up to where I was going to begin book 3. I reminded readers what Doug did in book 2 before he steps onto the field for practice and meets the new player on the team. I enjoyed bringing ALL the characters in as major parts of Doug’s personal development. The biggest part of that was his new friendship with Rob.

Ellis: I’m really glad you wrote that. Rob has needed a friend since Russell left for Japan and I got married. I think he’s been drifting for a long time. Doug was good for him. How did you get where you are in life today? Did you suffer an absence of friendship like Rob, or get bullied like Cole?

Wade: Not exactly, but I think the similarities are there. In 2010 I lost all my friends because I wrote a book with gay characters and the church I attended at the time blamed me for the three gay kids in the church. Somehow I turned them gay even though none of them knew I wrote a book with gay characters. The main character in that book was 46 and I didn’t see how anyone would think I wrote it about them. Being alone because of narrow-minded religious zealots made me rethink how I felt about gay people. I was shunned and I wasn’t even gay. I saw a glimpse of how cruel people could be toward things they didn’t understand. I then learned over time my views differed from the one in some of the churches I’d been to. I believe people are born gay (LGBTQ, etc.), but there were others who think it is a choice. In my opinion, no one would choose to be bullied, condemned, put in prison, or killed for his/her/their sexuality. It would be much easier to choose to be straight. In a small comparison (not meant to belittle), it would be easier and more acceptable to the world for me to write straight romance. I wouldn’t have gotten thrown out of church and I wouldn’t have lost my friendships. However, I believe things happen for a reason and I choose not to do the acceptable, mainstream thing, but to stand for something meaningful. I stand for equality. I want to promote hope. I want to write about the culture we live in, and change the way people think one book at a time. In short, I HAVE felt things like Cole and Rob, but I’ve also lived experiences similar to my other characters. I may not be gay myself, but I do live the same human experience in many ways. And I write to express what is inside my heart.

Ellis: Thank you. I don’t really have any words for that. I’m glad for the part I have in your JOCK series. I remember being reluctant and shy in the first book, but I’ve grown a lot in the last few years. If my character is a part of your heart then it explains why I’ve grown to be more assertive and happier. That’s you, isn’t it?

Wade: Indeed. I’ve worked through my aggression and anger with Doug’s character in Back Off! That’s My Jock, as well as pouring my happiness into you, Ellis. Maybe in the following JOCK books, you’ll see even more happiness in your life.

Ellis: So you are saying there will be more JOCK books in the future?

Wade: Yes. I’m writing JOCK 4, and I have a plan for JOCK 5. There could be a sixth one if it comes to mind, but for now I plan on 4 & 5 for sure. Is there anything you’d like to see happen in those books?

Ellis: I’d like Cole to find personal fulfillment. I know he’s frustrated with his job. I’d like Rob to find love. And I think I’d like to see Chris have a great senior year.

Wade: I think I can handle that. These will be things the readers can look forward to in the next few JOCK books. In the mean time, read JOCK 1, 1.5, 2, & 3. For details of my free short, visit my website or email me: writerwadekelly@gmail.com

Back Off! That’s My Jock (The JOCK Series #3)
Series: Jock (Book 3)
Paperback: 290 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 26, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634775627
ISBN-13: 978-1634775625
Amazon: Back Off! That’s My Jock (The JOCK Series #3)
Amazon Kindle: Back Off! That’s My Jock (The JOCK Series #3)

Defining his sexuality didn’t make sense until his best friend spelled it out.

Doug Archer did some pretty idiotic things in the first eight weeks of his junior year of college. First, he kissed his gay best friend, and second, he kissed a guy he’d mistaken for a girl. Not stellar moments for Doug. If he isn’t careful, he’ll lose his spot on the soccer team to the new freshman, or worse, he might misconstrue his new friend Rob’s overly affectionate tendencies for flirting. But if Doug isn’t bothered by another guy’s attention, and he normally dates girls, does that mean he’s gay or bisexual?

Sam Garber suppressed his same-sex attraction his entire life. His father told him it was immoral, and Sam did everything he could to bury his feelings. However, after meeting Doug at a party and kissing him, Sam can’t think of anything else. He decides dating girls is the best way to keep his secret hidden. With playoffs in sight, this is no time to think about guys in any other context than soccer. Only, neither boy anticipates the difficulty in suppressing his attraction for another jock!

Wade: I guess that concludes the interview for this guest post. Thank you, Ellis for joining me, and thank you Elisa Rolle for hosting me. Join me for more fun on the other stops of this tour:

July 27th – Caraway Carter’s Wednesday Walkabout
August 1st – Jeff and Will’s Big Gay Fiction Podcast.
August 17th – 2 Chicks Obsessed
August 19th – Prism Alliance
August 22nd – Love Bytes Reviews
August 24th – Ashley John’s blog
August 25th – Dreamspinner Press’ Blog
August 26th – Release Day! I’m on Elisa Rolle’s blog
August 29TH – Joyfully Jay
August 30th – Long & Short Reviews
August 31st – TTC Books & More
September 2nd – MM Good Book Reviews

I hope you enjoy release day as much as I will! Whoot!!!



As for the giveaways… I, Wade Kelly, will be giving away one GRAND PRIZE (items listed below) and three runner up prizes of a $10 gift card for Amazon. What you need to do is leave a comment. ALL comments are logged for a chance at the prizes. ONLY those who leave a comment on ALL eleven blog stops will be entered into the Grand Prize drawing. Last time I think there were 15 people in the Grand Prize drawing.

Note: If we’ve never chatted and you aren’t on Facebook, it is a good idea to leave an e-mail address because I need to know how to reach you. If I can’t, and I reply to your comment on the blog post that you’ve won but don’t hear from you, I have to give the prize to the next person on my list. Each comment gets you a chance in the drawing. If you leave one on each, that is eleven entries PLUS you are listed in the Grand Prize drawing. For a reminder if the rules, and where I’m stopping next, visit my blog post HERE.

Grand Prize includes all of the following:
1) One of my famous spoons in the colors of your choice
2) A $10 gift card from Amazon
3) One paperback signed from my back list (Not counting JOCK 3)
4) An e-book copy of JOCK 4, when it comes out.
5) And last, but not least, a soccer jersey for the player of your choice from the players in JOCK 3. (I’ll list them on my website along with pictures of the jerseys. They come in adult S, M, L, XL, 2XL, 3XL, & 4XL)

So there you go. If you have any questions, please let me know. Comment here or email me: writerwadekelly@gmail.com

As an aside for those who are attending GRL who may want some of my books in paperback, I will not be selling anything in Kansas City. If you want Misplaced Affection, e-mail me. Any other book Dreamspinner may be bringing, but most likely they will only have my recent books. If you pre-order it, meaning you tell me what you want and pay me, I WILL BRING IT TO YOU IN KANSAS CITY.

I can be found on:
Web: www.writerwadekelly.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wadekellywriter
Face book Fan group, The Wade Brigade: https://www.facebook.com/groups/247976895406172/
Blog: writerwadekelly.blogspot.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WriterWadeKelly
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/writerwadekelly/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5141623.Wade_Kelly
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/writerwadekelly/

Bio: Wade Kelly lives and writes in conservative, small-town America on the east coast where it’s not easy to live free and open in one's beliefs. Wade writes passionately about controversial issues and strives to make a difference by making people think. Wade does not have a background in writing or philosophy, but still draws from personal experience to ponder contentious subjects on paper. There is a lot of pain in the world and people need hope. When not writing, she is thinking about writing, and more than likely scribbling ideas on sticky notes in the car while playing "taxi driver" for her children. She likes snakes, can’t spell, and has a tendency to make people cry.


reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Destined Prey (Wild Ones #1) by Bailey Bradford
Gay Paranormal Romance
Series: Wild Ones
Paperback: 146 pages
Publisher: Rainbow Ninja Press (December 18, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1523338377
ISBN-13: 978-1523338375
Amazon: Destined Prey (Wild Ones #1)
Amazon Kindle: Destined Prey (Wild Ones #1)

All Jack Tucker wanted was to come home for a little while and try to figure out where his life had gone wrong. Moving from Wyoming to New York hadn’t turned out the way he’d thought it would, and a bad breakup leaves him bruised in more than just the emotional sense. He doesn’t expect to be glad he’s back on the Double T Ranch with his brother, Rhett, and he sure doesn’t expect to find the place crawling with coywolves, wolves, and coyotes. There seems to be some kind of animal-warfare going on, and he and Rhett are caught in the middle of it. Coywolves—the hybrid of wolves and coyotes, hated by both, and more predatory than either. Add in the fact that all the battling species are shifters, and there’s bound to be trouble. Ben Akers is part of his brother’s pack. The only coywolf shifters in existence, they find themselves under constant attack from wolf and coyote packs determined to make the Akers pack extinct. But coywolves don’t die out so easy, and when Ben’s life takes a surprising turn in the form of one sexy human named Jack Tucker, they’re both in for surprises, danger, and, if Destiny rules, an abiding love that most people—and shifters—only dream of.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Moment of Silence (Moments In Time #4) by Karen Stivali
Gay Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 230 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (December 18, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623808979
ISBN-13: 978-1623808976
Amazon: Moment of Silence (Moments In Time #4)
Amazon Kindle: Moment of Silence (Moments In Time #4)

A Moments In Time Novel

Growing up, Jason Stern led a charmed life complete with devoted sisters, a father who was one of Brooklyn’s most respected rabbis, and a mother who made the world's best babka. He headed to NYU ready for anything―except falling for the wrong guy, coming out, and getting disowned by his once-loving family. In spite of that, Jason managed to graduate with honors. He's got friends who treat him like family, and he's proudly running the largest LGBTQ teen shelter in Manhattan. Life is good, but he's still falling for the wrong men.

When charming, sexy Quinn Fitzpatrick begins work at the shelter, Jason falls hard and fast. Quinn is tall, blond, funny―damn near perfect. Only if Quinn’s gay, even he doesn't seem to know it. If he does, he's not telling anyone. And he's about one ceremony away from becoming a Catholic priest.

Long hours of work turn to long nights of talking and laughter, and Jason dares to hope this time he's falling for the right guy. But Quinn's got a past to deal with and major decisions to make about his future. When Quinn leaves for a silent retreat, Jason knows the silence may change everything.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Two Natures by Jendi Reiter
Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 376 pages
Publisher: Saddle Road Press (September 15, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0996907424
ISBN-13: 978-0996907422
Amazon: Two Natures
Amazon Kindle: Two Natures

Jendi Reiter's debut novel offers a backstage look at the glamour and tragedy of 1990s New York City through the eyes of Julian Selkirk, an aspiring fashion photographer. Coming of age during the height of the AIDS epidemic, Julian worships beauty and romance, however fleeting, as substitutes for the religion that rejected him. His spiritual crisis is one that too many gay youth still face today. This genre-bending novel couples the ambitious political analysis of literary fiction with the pleasures of an unconventional love story. Vivid social realism, enriched by unforgettable characters, eroticism, and wit, make Two Natures a satisfying read of the highest sort.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Four Steps by Wendy Hudson
Lesbian Romantic Suspence
Paperback: 364 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr.; 1 edition (August 21, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955336905
ISBN-13: 978-3955336905
Amazon: Four Steps
Amazon Kindle: Four Steps

Alex Ryan lives a simple life. She has her farm in the Scottish countryside, and the self-imposed seclusion suits her until a crime that has haunted her for years tears through the calm and shatters the fragile peace she’d finally managed to find. Lori Hunter’s greatest love is the mountains. They’re her escape from the constant hustle and bustle of everyday life. Growing up was neither traditional nor easy for Lori, but now she’s beginning to realise she’s settled for both. A dead-end relationship and little to look forward to. Her solution when the suffocation sets in? Run for the hills. A chance encounter in the mountains of the Scottish Highlands leads Alex and Lori into a whirlwind of heartache and a fight for survival as they build a formidable bond that will be tested to its ultimate limits.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Captive (Beautiful Monsters #1) by Jex Lane
Bisexual Fantasy
Series: Beautiful Monsters
Paperback: 314 pages
Publisher: Jex Lane; 1 edition (August 5, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0997753307
ISBN-13: 978-0997753301
Amazon: Captive (Beautiful Monsters #1)
Amazon Kindle: Captive (Beautiful Monsters #1)

Matthew Callahan has spent seven years struggling against the insatiable hunger for blood consuming him. Unable to stop the vampire inside from preying on humans, he keeps himself confined to a lonely existence.

Everything changes the night he is lured into a trap and taken prisoner by High Lord General Tarrick--a seductive incubus who feeds off sexual energy. Forced into the middle of a war between vampires and incubi, Matthew is used as a weapon against his own kind. Although he's desperate for freedom, he is unable to deny the burning desire drawing him to the incubus general he now calls Master.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Across the Pond by Cheri Crystal
Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr.; 1 edition (July 1, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955333876
ISBN-13: 978-3955333874
Amazon: Across the Pond
Amazon Kindle: Across the Pond

After having been betrayed by her partner of thirteen years, Janalyn isn’t looking for another relationship, especially not one separated by miles of ocean. But when she travels to Devon, England, for a conference and meets a sporty Brit named Robyn, desires Janalyn thought were permanently lost are suddenly back and stronger than ever. Despite cultural differences, poking fun at each other’s use of the English language, and Robyn coming off as a player, Janalyn can’t help the attraction she feels, no matter how hard she tries. Can she and Robyn find a common ground upon which to make a life together? Will Janalyn throw caution to the wind and risk her heart again? If Janalyn does indeed venture across the pond, will love be her life preserver?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
A Heart's Desire by Kris Michaels
Gay Romantic Suspence
Paperback: 270 pages
Publisher: Troll River Publications; 1 edition (June 13, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1939564832
ISBN-13: 978-1939564832
Amazon: A Heart's Desire
Amazon Kindle: A Heart's Desire

Agent McKenzie is nobody’s ‘yes’ boy and has the letters of reprimand to prove it. He smells the stink of political maneuvering in this case and he can see the handwriting on the wall. Hell, the words are three feet high and written in crayon. Someone in his own agency wants a target on Liam Mercier’s back but McKenzie would be damned if he’d put one there. The damaged man currently in his custody needs his protection, not manipulation. That’s why he’d agreed to use a safe house that was off the grid. Throwing away his rarely used FBI procedure book had nothing to do with the protective urges he felt around Liam. Nope, not a damn thing to do with heavy doses of desire, or spikes of lust. He was just doing his job, after all, he has a killer to catch and a victim to keep alive. Protecting his best bet of taking that sick bastard down was his civic duty. Forced to face the nightmares of his past or lose his pension, Liam Mercier did the only thing he could do. He walked back into his personal hell. The man assigned to protect him is everything Liam wanted and needed—four years ago. Leaving the small island of sanity he’d been existing on could cost him everything. But being hunted by a genius, sadistic killer without the protection of the sexy, intense, agent was a guaranteed death sentence. Fate had dictated Liam’s course four years ago. The only thing he questioned was when his killer going to finish his work.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Makepeace (Taking Shield #3) by Anna Butler
Gay Sci-fi / Futuristic
Series: Taking Shield (Book 3)
Paperback: 330 pages
Publisher: Wilde City Press, LLC (July 29, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 192550624X
ISBN-13: 978-1925506242
Amazon: Makepeace (Taking Shield #3)
Amazon Kindle: Makepeace (Taking Shield #3)

Returning to duty following his long recovery from the injuries he sustained during the events recounted in Heart Scarab, Shield Captain Bennet accepts a tour of duty in Fleet as flight captain on a dreadnought. The one saving grace is that it isn't his father's ship--bad enough that he can't yet return to the Shield Regiment, at least he doesn't have the added stress of commanding former lover, Fleet Lieutenant Flynn and knowing the fraternization regulations will keep them apart. Working on the material he collected himself on T18 three years before, Bennet decodes enough Maess data to send him behind the lines to Makepeace, once a human colony but under Maess control for more than a century. The mission goes belly up, costing Albion one of her precious, irreplaceable dreadnoughts and bringing political upheaval, acrimony and the threat of public unrest in its wake. But for Bennet, the real nightmare is discovering what the Maess have in store for humanity. It's not good. It's not good at all.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Capturing Forever by Erin Dutton
Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (August 16, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626396310
ISBN-13: 978-1626396319
Amazon: Capturing Forever
Amazon Kindle: Capturing Forever

Jacqueline Knight is driven and ambitious, always focused on getting to the top. But when her father’s failing health demands her attention, she must consider putting her career on hold. Though she struggles with her new responsibilities, she won’t admit she can’t do it alone. And the last person she wants to accept help from is her ex, Casey.

Since their breakup eight years before, Casey Meadow s has concentrated on co-parenting their son and making a new life for herself. While she’s happy to offer her help, spending time with Jacqueline threatens to open the box in which she’s locked away their past relationship.

Will the lessons learned in eight years apart be enough to mend the mistakes of the past?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Risking the Wild Places (Mate of the Tyger Prince #3) by Shannon West
Gay Sci-fi / Futuristic
Publisher: Dark Hollows Press (August 15, 2016)
Amazon Kindle: Risking the Wild Places (Mate of the Tyger Prince #3)

Former Lycan general, Renard Dmitru, is the newly appointed Head of Law Enforcement on Lycanus, trying his best to clean up an illegal love slave operation on one of his planet’s moons. He has set up a sting operation to capture the slavers and put them all in jail for a very long time. But now that the long war between the Axis and the Alliance has ended, Prince Anarr of Tygeria has time on his hands and nothing much to do except train for battles that may never come. He dreams of adventure and longs to leave his boring life behind. When he gets the chance to go on a rescue mission, he jumps at it, and lands in hot water when he's mistakenly arrested for illegal slavery.

As General Dmitru fights an overwhelming attraction to the young prince, he accidentally compromises the innocent, sheltered young royal and soon discovers he has to make things right with the young man’s father, King Davos of Tygeria. Not to mention placating his furious mate, the royal consort Blake. Add in a gloomy, decaying settlement on a deserted moon, creepy, dark subterranean passages, ghostly apparitions, heroes, romance, and even a damsel in distress, and it’s a recipe for the most rousing adventure of the series yet!

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Hollywood Secrets by T.S. McKinney
Gay Romantic Comedy
Publisher: Dark Hollows Press, LLC (September 2, 2015)
Amazon Kindle: Hollywood Secrets

Ethan Weatherby. Well…Vic and Grayson are smackdab in the middle of their happy-ending, loving each other with so much sugary sweet sap and disgustingly dirty sex that it’s turning my stomach…or making me green with jealously. Magnus and I broke up months ago, making me the laughing stock of Hollywood and leaving me drowning in a big black pit of despair. In an attempt to hide away from all the Hollywood glitz and gossip, I accompany Vic to Florence, Alabama for her latest movie. In my messed-up mind, I tell myself that I’ll get me a little Southern Boy Nookie that will miraculously make me forget all about Magnus. As it turns out…I get so much more than nookie.

Jeremy Michaelson. He’s hands down the hottest, most innocently beautiful person I’ve ever seen in my entire life. Every alpha instinct in me comes to life the first time I see him and the overwhelming desire to make him mine comes roaring to life. After our first encounter, I’m pretty sure he feels the same way about me.

At least I thought he did…until I realize there is so much more to my Southern heartthrob than what he wants me to see. He has secrets, potentially deadly secrets that risk putting an end to us before we even have a chance for our beginning. The more I try to unravel his past, the harder he pushes me away.

Here’s the deal…when I want something, I don’t give up easily…and I want Jeremy Michaelson.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
James Eyre by Jade Astor
Gay Historical Romance
Paperback: 262 pages
Publisher: Dark Hollows Press, LLC (January 20, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1530302455
ISBN-13: 978-1530302451
Amazon: James Eyre
Amazon Kindle: James Eyre

In Victorian England, 21-year-old James Eyre, frightened by his feeling for another man, decides to leave the boys’ school where he has spent ten years, first as a student and then as a teacher. He manages to secure a position as a private tutor for Axel Vance, the ward of a wealthy man who owns an estate in Yorkshire.

From the night of his arrival, James begins to sense that things are not as they should be at Thistleton Manor, the home of the enigmatic Edmond Manchester. Late at night, wild screams seem to echo through the house, and during the daytime objects disappear from James’s room and are replaced with sinister-looking voodoo dolls. Though his instincts tell him to flee, James stays on because he enjoys his duties and the company of his pupil—and even more so because he has begun to develop an attraction for his employer, Mr. Manchester.

To his surprise, Mr. Manchester seems to return his feelings. However, a jealous former lover and a phantomlike presence in the house seem determined to tear them apart. If he is to have any hope of a happy future with the man he loves, James must solve the mystery of Thistleton Manor and save Edmond’s life as well.
Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Then Sawyer Happened by Hurri Cosmo
Gay Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Dark Hollows Press, LLC (March 8, 2016)
Amazon Kindle: Then Sawyer Happened

Trace has had a run of bad luck. He lost his job, his boyfriend of two years was cheating on him, and his apartment building burned right to the ground with all his worldly possessions.

So Trace heads for the ranch owned by his aunt Lois. But before he arrives, Lois is in a terrible car accident that nearly takes her life, and Trace finds himself in charge of the ranch kitchen. Sounds simple enough and it's the least he can do for his recuperating aunt.

Then Sawyer happens.

Sawyer is his aunt's sexy straight ranch manager. Meeting the man should have been okay, except it was in the middle of his aunt's kitchen at five in the morning and Trace was nearly naked. Then the next day Trace proceeded to set his aunt's house on fire and the brooding Sawyer comes to the rescue.

Not to mention Aunt Lois’s “accident” was actually attempted murder and it seems those same people want Trace dead, too.

Looks like Trace’s luck followed him.

How can Trace figure out who's trying to kill him AND keep Sawyer from finding out he's hot for the cowboy?

He probably can’t. But he’s going to try.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
The Wrong Kind of Woman by Voss Porter
Lesbian Romantic Comedy
Paperback: 344 pages
Publisher: Dark Hollows Press, LLC (February 18, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1530011582
ISBN-13: 978-1530011582
Amazon: The Wrong Kind of Woman
Amazon Kindle: The Wrong Kind of Woman

All of her life, Dana Anderson has done what was expected of her. She put herself through school, she worked hard for her career, and she held her brother together after the loss of both parents. As summer comes and her inhibitions lower, however, she finds herself face-to-face with danger, mystery, and an illogical chance at true love. Will rough and ready biker, Bri Gunner, be the woman of her dreams? Or will the heat of their passing flame burn out?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
A Mended Man (The Men of Halfway House #4) by Jaime Reese
Gay Romantic Suspence
Series: The Men of Halfway House
Paperback: 444 pages
Publisher: Romandeavor, Incorporated; 1 edition (May 9, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0990778622
ISBN-13: 978-0990778622
Amazon: A Mended Man (The Men of Halfway House #4)
Amazon Kindle: A Mended Man (The Men of Halfway House #4)

A story of healing and confronting demons…

Detective Aidan Calloway is rock-solid strong. He's a man of justice—loyal to his friends, family, and job—even if it requires bending a law…or two. He shields himself behind an abrasive, fearless facade, until a phone call one night chips his armor and throws his perfectly planned, hollow life into a tailspin.

Jessie Vega is the epitome of optimism. His carefully crafted attitude of hope and positivity protects him from a past filled with too much pain. When a ghost from a dark time resurfaces and nearly breaks him, he must tap into his inner strength or risk losing everything he's worked so hard to build.

But Jessie can't do it alone. He must fight to break through Aidan's ironclad defenses to reveal the heart of the man hiding beneath the tough surface and mend his damaged spirit. Only then can they truly heal and become strong enough to battle the demons that haunt them and threaten their chance to finally be together.

----------
***This book contains scenes and subject matter some readers may find distressing. It is only intended for adult readers.***

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
GRL Is Coming

A writer’s life is always hectic; I often wish I could just sit and immerse myself in my stories and then have some magical fairy (preferably six feet tall and droolworthy) whisk it away and do all the other “Stuff.” The publishing, promoting and everything else associated with getting a book into my reader’s loving hands. Alas, no fairy has manifested so far, and this year I decided to attempt an even bigger challenge – attendance at GRL.
What was I thinking? I’m a typical dear old granny, who lives in rural New Zealand. I barely see people from one day to the next. But some devil on my shoulder whispered that it was a really good idea, which is why, in October I am leaving the safety of my nest and flying half way around the world to meet a bunch of people I’ve only connected with online. It will go on record as being the most exhilarating and knee-knocking experience I’ve ever had.
But already the support has been amazing. Friends messaging me who are so looking forward to meeting me. With typical writer’s worry, I hope they like me. I haven’t even started to worry about what I should pack, or what might happen if I miss my plane or can’t find my way to the hotel. I’ve scheduled those worries for the beginning of October. For now, the premise of GRL sits in my gut, slowly unfurling bringing with it excitement, hope and…yep, I’m scared too.
But the great thing about the M/M genre is the friendliness of readers and other authors alike. I’m going to get to physically hug those people who support my work with such excitement online. It is that thought I hang onto when the sheer terror of the travelling and meeting new people threatens to overwhelm me.
And it’s not as though I won’t be busy until then anyway. My newest book Harder in Heels (Alpha and Omega series, #4) was released a few weeks ago and can be found in the all the usual outlets. My A&O series are all standalone books with no relation to each other except they feature a true mating between, you guessed it, an Alpha and Omega. The next Cloverleah Pack book – Angel in Black Leather Pants, will be released in September and in October I have something new coming up, a completely new series featuring Angels and Demons. The series is called “Balance” and the first book The Viper’s Heart should be out by October 10th. Just in time for GRL.
Looking forward to seeing you all there. I’ll be the one in the corner, hiding behind the pot plant. Feel free to come and pull me into the crowd.

Harder in Heels (Alpha and Omega #4) by Lisa Oliver
Publication Date: August 10, 2016
Amazon Kindle: Harder in Heels (Alpha and Omega #4)

Alpha and Omega series – book 4. Definite standalone.

Ronan Montgomery had built himself a good life; he had friends, a small apartment to call his own, and a fantastic job as a dancer/choreographer. He still missed his mother dearly, but even though she’d been dead five years, he adhered to her number one rule – stay away from other wolves. He knew, as an Omega, that others of his kind weren’t overly friendly with those they considered weak, but as he’d never met another wolf, he didn’t feel he’d anything to worry about. That was, until he spotted two Alpha wolves at one of his performances. Who knew one brief second of eye contact could change his life forever.

Asaph Bosch was a hard man and proud of it. He’d worked his way up from nothing, building a huge international company. When a random night out threatens all he’s worked for, Asaph fights back. His mate will be a woman, or he won’t have one at all. Unfortunately, his wolf half is just as strong and just as determined as he is, and Asaph finds his life changing in ways he’d never imagined.

But life was never meant to be easy – when Asaph’s past comes back to haunt him in more ways than one, Asaph has to examine his priorities. Is his happiness rooted in the company he’s worked so hard to build, or is there more to life than money?

Warning: Contains an omega wolf who’d been raised with perfect manners, and a surly Alpha who thinks everything in life can be bought and sold. Please note this is an m/m book so the typical warnings apply.

The Alpha and Omega series is made up of completely standalone books. None of the people featured appear in other books unless previously stated.



Author Bio: Lisa Oliver had been writing non-fiction books for years when visions of half dressed, buff men started invading her dreams. Unable to resist the lure of her stories, Lisa decided to switch to fiction books, and now stories about her men clamor to get out from under her fingertips.

When Lisa is not writing, she is usually reading with a cup of tea always at hand. Her grown children and grandchildren sometimes try and pry her away from the computer and have found that the best way to do it, is to promise her chocolate. Lisa will do anything for chocolate.

Lisa loves to hear from her readers and other writers. You can friend her on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/lisaoliverauthor), catch up on what’s happening at her blog (http://www.supernaturalsmut.com) or email her directly at yoursintuitively@gmail.com.


reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Rhodri's Rangers: Searching For Us by Etienne
Gay Sci-fi / Futuristic
Publication Date: November 27, 2015
Amazon Kindle: Rhodri's Rangers: Searching For Us

Rhodri’s Rangers are the best military force in the universe. They are escorting a group of scientists to an archaeological site on a remote planet. The seemingly simple task turns out to be anything but that, when they encounter a previously unknown enemy.

Along the way to the planet, fresh recruits familiarize themselves with life in the Rangers. Seasoned officers form new partnerships while others renew old ties. And there may be some on the mission with agendas all their own. In the end, Rhodri’s Ranger will stand true to their motto—“We take care of our own.”

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
A Triad in Three Acts: The Complete Forester Trilogy by Blaine D. Arden
Gay Fantasy Romance
Series: Tales of the Forest
Paperback: 340 pages
Publisher: Cayendi Press; 1 edition (August 11, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 9082296691
ISBN-13: 978-9082296693
Amazon: A Triad in Three Acts: The Complete Forester Trilogy
Amazon Kindle: A Triad in Three Acts: The Complete Forester Trilogy

"Your Path is muddy, Kelnaht, but don't think avoiding the puddles will make it easier to travel."
Kelnaht, a cloud elf, is a truth seeker caught between love and faith, when a murder reveals an illicit affair between two tree elves he desires more than he can admit. Kelnaht's former lover Ianys once betrayed him, and the shunned forester Taruif is not allowed to talk to anyone but the guide, their spiritual pathfinder.

The guide mentioned puddles, but I envisioned lakes, deep treacherous lakes, and I was drowning.
Then a stripling goes missing from the tribe, and heavy rainfall hides all traces of his whereabouts. With days creeping by without a lead, it's hard to keep the tribe's spirits up, more so when Kelnaht's own future depends on the elders. Taruif has been shunned for almost twenty turns, but now that a possible forester's apprentice is coming of age, the elders consider reducing his sentence. Taruif could be set free.

“I have great responsibilities, but my path ahead is as foggy and blurred as the path behind me.”
Later, when several children fall ill with more than a summer bug, truth seeker Kelnaht is assigned to investigate. What he finds is deadly and threatens the life of every underage child in the tribe, including Ianys' daughter Atèn. Then a wounded traveller is found in the forest, left to die after a vicious attack.

"There is always a way."
Kelnaht, Taruif, and Ianys are meant to be together, but old promises and the decree of the elders prevent them from claiming each other openly at Solstice. Kelnaht can investigate murder and foul play, but he can’t see how he can keep both his lovers without breaking the rules. But if he believes in the guide's words and trusts his faith in Ma’terra, they will find a way to clear the fog and puddles from their paths.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Whirlwind Romance by Kris Bryant
Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (February 16, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626395810
ISBN-13: 978-1626395817
Amazon: Whirlwind Romance
Amazon Kindle: Whirlwind Romance

For the past six seasons, Tristan Stark has been chasing storms throughout the
Midwest for the University of Oklahoma. Teaching during the winters and hitting the road during the spring, Tristan has little time for herself, let alone time to have a solid relationship. Rival storm chaser Kate Brighten is just starting out and winds up riding along with Tristan for two weeks. It doesn’t take long for the two to begin a tumultuous love affair on the road. But the road can’t last forever and Kate isn’t everything she seems. Once trust is broken, it’s difficult to rebuild. Can Tristan accept Kate’s secrets? Or will their love be washed away in the spring storms?

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Live for Love (All Cocks Stories #5) by T.M. Smith
Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Series: All Cocks Stories
Paperback: 172 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (June 14, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1534704973
ISBN-13: 978-1534704978
Amazon: Live for Love (All Cocks Stories #5)
Amazon Kindle: Live for Love (All Cocks Stories #5)

Beauregard Boudreaux is a native of New Orleans Louisiana, born and raised there, he never thought he would ever stray far from home. The untimely death of his first love left Beau lost, adrift, looking for a place as far away from the pain as possible. Initially, he came to New York to visit a friend, the city growing on him, so he decided to stay. His law degree comes in handy at the LGBT Center he runs, but his bar is his baby. William Richards grew up in Chicago, his family oddly normal and very accepting of his sexuality. Modeling paid the bills, gigs across the country as a model, male entertainer and a personal trainer giving him the opportunity to see the world. He hasn’t experienced loss or pain as Beau has, the common denominator between them is the loneliness. As All Cocks big, brooding bottom Connor, William has found friendship, family and an outlet for his craving to be more submissive than men of his size and stature usually are. The two men are perfect for each other, their tastes and lives align and the writing seems to be on the wall. But Beau has a secret he shares with a choice few, a secret that not only threatens to keep them apart, it’s deadly. Determined to keep a wall between himself and William, Beau fights the attraction, pushes William away every time he steps closer. Can one man’s determination and strength be enough to tear down a wall that holds back decades of pain and darkness? And if he can, will either of them survive the flood? Disclaimer: This book is the fictional story of a man living with HIV. I have put a lot of time and effort into presenting this story as true to fact as possible, without going into gory or gruesome detail. If this subject is a trigger for you, you may want to skip this read. But my hope is that you give Beau a chance to capture your heart as he has mine, and William’s.

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Meddlesome Malice (Malice Series #20) by K’Anne Meinel
Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
Series: Malice
Paperback: 150 pages
Publisher: Shadoe Publishing (May 19, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0692720405
ISBN-13: 978-0692720400
Amazon: Meddlesome Malice (Malice Series #20)
Amazon Kindle: Meddlesome Malice (Malice Series #20)

As she listens to the horrors that Alice and Sasha endured at the hands of their captors, Kathy realizes she has to know, she MUST know everything Alice has been up to. She wants to understand what kept them apart these past years…beyond her own anger at what her wife is capable of. As the gruesome details of Alice and Sasha’s story unfold, Kathy asks herself ‘Does this justify what they did and are doing to those people? Does it explain their prolonged absence from their families?’ Follow along as Alice and Sasha go in for the kill! Learn how they carefully plot their revenge against the people who took so much from their lives…and take just as much and more from them in return. Their lives, their victims’ lives, will never be the same!

Rainbow Awards Guidelines: http://www.elisarolle.com/rainbowawards/rainbow_awards_2016.html

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

August 2016

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 293031   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 30th, 2016 06:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios