reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Andrew Tobias (born 20 April 1947) is an American journalist, author, and columnist. His main body of work is on investment, but he has also written on politics, insurance, and other topics. Since 1999, he has been the treasurer of the Democratic National Committee.

Tobias graduated from Harvard College in 1968 with an A.B. in Slavic languages and literatures. In 1972, he obtained his Masters of Business Administration degree from Harvard Business School. During his schooling, he wrote for New York Magazine, and after graduation became a contributing editor.

Tobias is also an author. Among his titles on investment are The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need, The Only Other Investment Guide You'll Ever Need, My Vast Fortune, Money Angles, The Invisible Bankers: Everything the Insurance Industry Never Wanted You to Know and The Funny Money Game. Tobias also wrote the semi-autobiographical novel The Best Little Boy in the World under the pen name "John Reid" in 1973. He used a pen name because he wasn't comfortable yet with publicly disclosing his homosexuality to a broad audience. This book was later republished in 1998 under his real name to coincide with the sequel, The Best Little Boy in the World Grows Up. Despite his writing and successful investing on his own behalf, he has never been employed in the investment industry. He parlayed his writings and advice into success in the software industry as well with his Andrew Tobias's Managing Your Money financial application, which was ultimately eclipsed by Quicken.


Charles Nolan, a fashion designer who proudly wore his politics on his sleeve, and also on his runway, died on January 30, 2011, at his home on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. He was 53. The cause was cancer of the head and neck, said Andrew Tobias, the financial writer, who was Mr. Nolan's partner of 16 years. Tobias also wrote the autobiography The Best Little Boy in the World under the pen name "John Reid" in 1973. Nolan was a force behind the expansion of mainstream American sportswear.

Tobias has written on other topics with books such as Fire and Ice: The Charles Revson/Revlon Story, Getting By on $100,000 a Year, a collection of magazine pieces; Auto Insurance Alert, a book proposing radical insurance reform; Kids Say Don't Smoke on the efforts of tobacco companies to sell cigarettes to younger consumers (which was also published in Russian).

For several years he had a column in Esquire, then in Playboy, then in Time, and has frequently appeared in Parade.

He has been a strong opponent of Republican efforts to reduce taxes for high-income individuals before balancing the budget and/or funding what he considers higher priorities. His columns in 2004 were generally directed at the economic policies of President George W. Bush.

He became a controversial figure in a fight over a ballot initiative to convert California's auto insurance system into a no-fault system which would be paid for through gasoline taxes instead of premiums. He faced fire from insurance groups who feared the loss of business and profits, from insurance agents who feared the loss of commissions, from anti-tax persons who objected to financing the scheme through gasoline taxes, from oil companies that did not want higher prices to reduce demand, from consumer groups that had strongly supported "true no-fault" insurance in years past but (in Tobias's view) had caved to the influence of personal injury attorneys, and from personal injury attorneys who feared a substantial loss of income if no-fault were enacted. Although Tobias wrote a book on the topic and spearheaded the California initiative, funding a large part of it himself, he is quick to point out that neither pay-at-the-pump nor "true no-fault" (which he says Michigan comes closest to in the U.S.) is an idea original with him. In fact, at least two Canadian provinces have similar public insurance schemes.

Tobias was the partner of late fashion designer Charles Nolan who died on January 30, 2011. Tobias was Grand Marshall of the 2005 New York City LGBT Pride Parade.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Tobias
The Best Little Boy in the World by John Reid was my first "openly gay" book, and such a wonderful throwback. Good, old-fashioned self-hatred and inhibition are allowed, and it was even published under a pen name. ("John Reid" turned out to be finance guru and journalist Andrew Tobias.) And it's all so WASP-y, like me! Still closeted, I was scanning the shelves in a friend's apartment, and the second I saw the title The Best Little Boy in the World, I knew what it had to be about: the paralysis, the image-managing, always trying to say the right thing and do one's duty. And while we East Coast urbanites may think "all that's changed" for young gay men in 2010, it hasn't changed for any but the most privileged. (Not even: how privileged is Ken Mehlman?) I have not re-read Best Little Boy in years, but I am sure that today, 37 years after publication, it is still dead-on in terms of feelings. --David Pratt
Having come of age as a brow-beaten, Irish Catholic gay boy in the late 1970’s (am I that old?), I devoured The Best Little Boy in the World by Andrew Tobias, a lighthearted autobiography about a queer kid who’d been trained to willfully deny just about everything human about himself; I was sure that Andrew Tobias had somehow channeled me while writing it. I’m recovered now, thanks to a string of good therapists, a partner who chastises me should I momentarily regress into my BLBITW routine, and this book. --Nick Nolan
The Best Little Boy in the World by John Reid was the very first gay book I ever read, the one that started it all for me, and set me on my journey of reading and ultimately writing gay fiction. And it´s still the best coming of age, coming out book I´ve ever read. Full of humor and honesty, it´s one of those books that you start and read all the way through to the very end. Poignant and touching and witty, there´s a good reason it´s still a gay classic more than 30 years after it was published! --Rob Rosen
Charles Nolan (June 5, 1957 - January 30, 2011), a fashion designer who proudly wore his politics on his sleeve, and also on his runway, died on January 30, 2011, at his home on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. He was 53.
 
The cause was cancer of the head and neck, said Andrew Tobias, the financial writer, who was Mr. Nolan’s partner of 16 years. Tobias also wrote the autobiography The Best Little Boy in the World under the pen name "John Reid" in 1973. He used a pen name because he wasn't comfortable yet with publicly disclosing his homosexuality to a broad audience. This book was later republished in 1998 under his real name to coincide with the sequel, The Best Little Boy in the World Grows Up. 

Early in his career, Mr. Nolan was a major force behind the expansion of mainstream American sportswear labels like Bill Blass, Ellen Tracy and Anne Klein. But he was perhaps better known publicly for the work he did dressing private clients, including many prominent women on the political scene.

At the 2000 Democratic National Convention, for example, Tipper Gore was wearing a periwinkle Charles Nolan coat-and-dress ensemble when she was kissed so passionately by her husband, Vice President Al Gore, that the resulting image was widely described as humanizing Mr. Gore’s robotic reputation during his run for president. 

Since establishing his own label in 2004, Mr. Nolan recruited a number of his famous friends and clients to appear as models at his runway shows. Peggy Kerry, a sister of Senator John Kerry, walked in a show in 2007, and Kerry Kennedy, a daughter of Robert F. Kennedy, appeared on his runway in 2006. 





























































































Mr. Nolan was fond of highlighting how wearable his clothes were by hiring nonprofessional models, like a retired New York City police detective, the captain of a Fire Island ferry and the swimmer Dara Torres. 

But his most surprising political statement, at least in the eyes of his colleagues on Seventh Avenue, came in 2003, when he abruptly quit as the head designer of Anne Klein, where he had led a successful turnaround of the brand’s image, to volunteer for the presidential campaign of Howard Dean, the former governor of Vermont.

Mr. Nolan said he had been disillusioned by the hesitancy of major designers to get involved in, or even talk about, politics — although there was little evidence that his own activism had negatively affected his career. 

“Fashion is about image,” Mr. Nolan said. “People I know are afraid to take political stands because they are afraid to turn off their customers.” 

Charles Craig Nolan was born on June 5, 1957, the fifth of nine children — all born within 10 years — of Philip Francis and Elizabeth Frances Nolan. Growing up in Brooklyn and Massapequa, N.Y., where his father worked as an insurance salesman, he expressed an interest in clothes at an early age, staying up all night on the occasion of a royal wedding to see the gown. He inspired some of his siblings to follow him into the fashion business. 

After graduating from the Fashion Institute of Technology, Charles Nolan first worked for the dress houses Frank Tignino and Bill Haire, then designed licensed products for Bill Blass and Christian Dior, before taking on higher-profile roles at Ellen Tracy, in 1990, and Anne Klein, in 2001. 

After Mr. Dean’s campaign fizzled, Mr. Nolan decided to return to fashion with his own collection, which he started in 2004 with an exclusive deal with Saks Fifth Avenue and his own store at 30 Gansevoort Street. His collections demonstrated a skill for playing off classic American sportswear ideas, changing them slightly by pumping up the color, modernizing traditional coat shapes with textures like a popcorn knit instead of a flat wool melton, or covering a Fair Isle knit sweater in beads. 

Somewhat out of character, he also had a fondness for the color red. In 2008 he showed a resort collection based on a combination of red, white and blue, on a runway that was covered in bunting. 

“I love red — red is not a Republican issue,” he said at one point during George W. Bush’s presidency. “Listen, I’d be happy to have Ronald Reagan back at this point. By comparison, he and Nancy weren’t that bad. She liked clothes.” 

Source: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/31/fashion/31nolan.html?_r=1&#h[] (By Eric Wilson,A version of this article appeared in print on January 31, 2011, on page B7 of the New York edition.)

Further Readings:

The Best Little Boy in the World by John Reid (Andrew Tobias)
Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books (May 11, 1993)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345381769
ISBN-13: 978-0345381767
Amazon: The Best Little Boy in the World

The classic account of growing up gay in America.
"The best little boy in the world never had wet dreams or masturbated; he always topped his class, honored mom and dad, deferred to elders and excelled in sports . . . . The best little boy in the world was . . . the model IBM exec . . . The best little boy in the world was a closet case who 'never read anything about homosexuality.' . . . John Reid comes out slowly, hilariously, brilliantly. One reads this utterly honest account with the shock of recognition." The New York Times
"The quality of this book is fantastic because it comes of equal parts honesty and logic and humor. It is far from being the story of a Gay crusader, nor is it the story of a closet queen. It is the story of a normal boy growing into maturity without managing to get raped into, or taunted because of, his homosexuality. . . . He is bright enough to be aware of his hangups and the reasons for them. And he writes well enough that he doesn't resort to sensationalism . . . ." San Francisco Bay Area Reporter

More LGBT Couples at my website: www.elisarolle.com/, My Ramblings/Real Life Romance

More Fashion Designers at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Ramblings/Art

thank you

Date: 2012-04-20 02:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jeff erno (from livejournal.com)
Elisa,
This book was the very first gay-themed book that I ever read, and it was life-changing to me. I'm so excited that you've featured this author. At the time it was first released, I believe the author used a pseudonym (John Reid)and then later came out.

Another really powerful book from that era was Reflections of a Rock Lobster. I'd love to see a feature on that book as well.

Thanks so much for digging into gay history and sharing the truly inspirational and significant information with your readers. As a middle-aged gay man, it means so much to me!

Re: thank you

Date: 2012-04-20 02:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Jeff, Aaron Fricke is a friend of mine, and I have already featured him, he did an Inside Reader list for this journal: http://elisa-rolle.livejournal.com/1133064.html, he is a very kind man, I think you can friend him on Facebook as I did. Elisa

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

March 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718 1920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 20th, 2019 11:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios