Sep. 9th, 2017

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)This adaptation of the famous poem, The Highwayman, is a historical romance between two women, one a local pastor's daughter and the other the dashing thief who robs nobles and uses these gains to help the poor.  The author presents historical details convincingly, describes a small rural town vividly, and provides the forward plot as well as the backstory in a manner that holds the reader's attention.


Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue
Lesbian - Historical Romance
File Size: 706 KB
Print Length: 252 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Supposed Crimes (August 1, 2017)
Publication Date: August 1, 2017
Amazon: Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue

Elizabeth Collington, the twenty-year-old daughter of a country vicar, longs for more than the circumscribed life of her 18th-century Devonshire village. When a highwayman steals a kiss along with her mother's necklace – provoking feelings of which her father would never approve – she suddenly has a secret no one must know. But the highwayman also has a secret: "he" is actually a woman.

Will the story of the highwayman's past – complete with a tyrannical husband, a gloomy castle, and a daring escape into London's underworld – persuade Elizabeth to abandon propriety in favor of passion? In the end, can the lovers make an independent life in a world where women are little more than property, evading both the redcoats and the jealous young lord who would tear them apart?

Daring and Decorum is comedy of manners wrapped around a gothic tale; a mashup of Jane Austen, Alfred Noyes' poem The Highwayman, Robin Hood, and Moll Cutpurse; and a passionate case for the freedom to love whom one chooses, Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel should appeal to fans of Ellen Kushner's Riverside series, Emma Donoghue's Life Mask, and Michelle Martin's Pembroke Park (billed as the first lesbian Regency).
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) I've been a science fiction fan since I read The War of the Worlds at the age of 12, and this is sci fi done extremely well. Li Liang is a compelling character, and the three interconnected stories here are fast-paced and packed with emotion.


Passing Shadows Anna Butler
Lesbian - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: Glass Hat Press; 1 edition (January 15, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1540576531
ISBN-13: 978-1540576538
Amazon: Passing Shadows Anna Butler

Li Liang has found a berth to suit her: chief pilot and first officer of the all-female crew of an old space freighter, the Sappho. Then one ordinary, unremarkable morning, Liang retunes the Sappho’s communications systems just in time to catch the breathless, terrible accounts from Mars of the total destruction of Earth. Earth’s a cinder. The unknown alien race that destroyed it has left Mars, too, in flames and is ravening outward from the solar system, devouring every human colony on the way. Liang’s one of the few survivors, racing ahead of the Devourers, rescuing as many frightened, shocked people as she can. Will Liang and the pitiful remnants of humanity find a new haven, somewhere to start again? Or will she, too, echo the dreadful last message coming out of their dead home? They’re coming. Oh God, they’re coming.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) An engaging story with powerful, vibrant characters and a terrific setup.
2) This had a tear in my eyes at the opening scene and kept me reading for the whole story. I liked it.
3) This was not a totally new kind of plot, but it was able to portrait the story a lot better and in a more interesting way, that was able to keep my attention. Good story and very good writing style!

Breaking Anchor Geonn Cannon
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
Paperback
Publisher: Supposed Crimes, LLC (March 1, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1944591230
ISBN-13: 978-1944591236
Amazon: Breaking Anchor Geonn Cannon

Three years ago, Sofia Kennedy reported the tragic death of her girlfriend live-on air. Still in the closet even with her closest friends, she was forced to suffer her loss in silence. In the years since she's become isolated and sticks strictly to a routine that prevents her from encountering painful memories of the woman she lost.

Marion Vogt runs a small but well-respected catering service that feeds the elite of Seattle. When Sofia's consumer reporting segment does a story on Marion's company, the two women immediately butt heads. An unintended insult results in a scathing report that nearly shuts down the business. Marion's attempt to defend herself results in a deepening of their conflict until both women are ready to destroy one another.

They quickly find out Seattle can be a very small town when trying to avoid someone. As much as they want to avoid each other, fate keeps forcing Sofia and Marion to cross paths. Before long they realize they'll have to decide if they're going to hold on to bad feelings or risk forgiveness to discover just what they have to offer each other.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) A really gripping mystery plot. I liked this book a lot. It was more of a mystery thriller ( and a very good one at that) than a romance; the romantic elements were there, but more like brushed on, very gently, like the pinch of sugar that makes a spicy chili even tastier. A highly pleasant read!
2) The premise is good, a serial killer attacking men who've cheated on their wives. The writing flowed smoothly, the dialogue was convincing, and the characters were both believable and likable. I also liked that there weren't pornographic sex scenes thrown in just because this was a romance. Overall, I found the book quite a fun read. As a resident of Seattle, I found the setting convincing. Whether or not the details about police work and police departments were accurate, they FELT accurate and were also convincing.
3) This was a great mystery. The detective story was interesting and the investigation flowed nicely, although some aspects, some minor details were lost on Detective Tao. The characters were all interesting and unique and the way fiction was entwined with the very real Ashley Madison scandal was truly interesting. I loved the non-standard relationship the two MCs have and how it builds up throughout the story. Great read, kept me engaged and definitely surprised me with the killer reveal.

Hacked Up Ethan Stone
Gay - Mystery / Thriller
File Size: 4776 KB
Print Length: 264 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Stone Publishing (February 6, 2017)
Publication Date: February 6, 2017
Amazon: Hacked Up Ethan Stone

Seattle is being plagued by a string of gruesome murders. For Detective Peter Tao, it’s a career-making case, but he’s struggling to find a lead. How is the killer choosing his victims? What is he trying to prove?

With a long list of suspects and nothing to connect them, Peter is more determined than ever to apprehend the murderer. Then Peter gets the one vital piece of evidence that ties everything together. Now he’ll have to look beyond the obvious to identify the killer before anyone else is murdered.

Solve the mystery in this fast-moving crime thriller by Ethan Stone.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) I really liked this book. Difficult subject matter, but so well-handled. Had me holding my breath that Wade's and Russ's relationship would work out despite the obstacles. Warning, there are triggers.
2) This story is good but is not in any way a light read. It covers subjects that could be triggers for some readers. I love that the author was up front about this from the very beginning, as few authors are. The characters held my interest and I found myself wanting everything to work out well for them.
3) This is an excellent novel about the differences between BDSM based on trust and responsibility and non-consensual abuse. The author clearly understands the effects of trauma.


The difference between Blake Moreno
Gay - Erotica
Paperback: 286 pages
Publisher: Dark Inn (January 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626227594
ISBN-13: 978-1626227590
Amazon: The difference between Blake Moreno

Wade Maguire and Russ Paulson are in love. After a year of passion and happiness, they’re buying a home and moving in together. Everything is rosy for them—until a jealous and insane ex from Wade’s past puts all of that to the test. After being kidnapped and tortured by his deranged former lover, Wade loses his ability to engage with his own sexuality or with Russ. With the help of a psychologist, EMDR therapy, and a sex plan, they work together to overcome the damage inflicted. In the process, they discover wells of love they’ve never known before. As passion is reborn and their sex life reignited, Wade realizes a need to re-experience certain events in Russ’s loving arms. For Wade, the difference between pain and pleasure is love, and the difference between rape and rough sex is consent.

Dark, and yet ultimately hopeful, this book contains many emotional and graphic sex scenes, as well as some scenes of torture. This book deals with rape and rape recovery. Proceed with care. Stand-alone with a happy ending. 78,000 words.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 25th, 2017 08:11 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios