reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
And the Rainbow Award goes to:



1) Marie Sexton - Blind Space ()

The main character in this story was constantly challenge. With all of his imperfections the reader still managed to identify with him and like him through-out the story. I thought the plot and the setting were unique and fun to read about as well. Overall, a great story. –April O.

I absolutely loved it, it was so refreshing. The temporary condition of the main character let him (and me as well) experience something unique and unusual. –Caroline

Paperback: 292 pages
Publisher: Silver Publishing (December 15, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1614954607
ISBN-13: 978-1614954606
Amazon: Blind Space

Captain Tristan Kelley enjoys the luxuries of Regency service, as well as the pleasure of his prince's bed. It's an easy life, if not a happy one. When the prince decides to take a trip through the perilous Blind Space, Tristan must go with him, but somebody in the prince's guard is a traitor. Blind and held prisoner, Tristan finds himself at the mercy of Valero, a pirate who bears no love for the Regency. Valero is determined to seduce Tristan, and Tristan fears his resolve won't last. His duty is clear, but so is his desire. As the days tick by without word from the Regency, Tristan begins to question his loyalty to his prince, the Regency he's sworn to, and the man who holds him captive. Tristan begins to realize that being a prisoner may actually set him free.

2) Cari Z. - Changing Worlds

She does a really good job of world-building. Quite enjoyed it. –Pamela T.

Paperback: 266 pages
Publisher: Storm Moon Press LLC (May 18, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937058301
ISBN-13: 978-1937058302
Amazon: Changing Worlds

Includes the short story prequel "Opening Worlds" at no additional cost! In this sequel to Cari Z's "Opening Worlds", former starship captain Jason Kim travels to Perelan, the homeworld of his lover, Ferran, to start a life together. The ruling council of the Perels have allowed this unconventional union to continue in the hopes of strengthening relations between themselves and the humans. And while Ferran's family welcome Jason with open arms, not all of the other major families are as pleased. The arrival of an outsider to their insular, subterranean world challenges the traditions of centuries. Tensions soar as old rivalries are rekindled in the wake of Jason and Ferran's relationship. Inevitably, something snaps. Jason and Ferran soon find themselves literally fighting for their lives when xenophobic anger pushes things beyond the breaking point. Only their devotion to one another can see them through, but a ghost from Jason's past threatens even that. With Perelan on the brink of civil war, Jason and Ferran must find a way to stand together in the face of chaos and to change the world on their own terms before it tears itself apart.

3) Chris Quinton – Paradox

I really enjoyed this book. I thought the author's strongest qualities were excellent dialogue, overall great prose and strong characterization and setting. I felt the split between the past/dream events and present events made the plot move a little slowly. –Janet

I'd like to give the book brownie points, because I - as a reader not a judge - enjoyed it hugely. –Cira

Paperback: 316 pages
Publisher: Silver Publishing (May 21, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1614956766
ISBN-13: 978-1614956761
Amazon: Paradox

Phil thrives on the danger and excitement of his job, and he trusts his partner with his life. Until Ryan kisses him. It's a diversionary tactic, but the kiss shakes Phil to his foundations. He doesn't need or want a long-term lover, but now it seems his heart does. A short time later, Phil finds himself trapped in his wrecked car, drifting in and out of a dream-haunted coma where he's living a parallel life. Centuries in the past, someone's trying to kill Caius Marcellus Valens, and nothing is the way it seems. When the dream invades Phil's waking life, he must separate past from present before it tears apart his world--and the best relationship he's ever had.

Honorable Mention:



4) Jay Bell - From darkness to darkness

Very good young adult gay fantasy (with romantic elements) about life, death, love, and the responsibilities of power. –Chris

Paperback: 290 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (August 27, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1478165340
ISBN-13: 978-1478165347
Amazon: From Darkness to Darkness: Loka Legends (Volume 2)

5) Rowan McBride - One Good Year (2 novellas)

One good heart yields the sweetest rewards –Ro

Publisher: Loose Id LLC (December 25, 2007)
Amazon Kindle: One Good Hand
Publisher: Loose Id LLC (March 12, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: One Good Year

6) Blaine D. Arden - Aliens, Smith and Jones

I loved this spin on the "Men in Black" theme! I don't usually go for sci-fi, but Ms. Arden pulled me in to her story very quickly. This is mystery and suspense and romance and danger all wrapped up in a fun and well-written package. –Bobby

Paperback: 254 pages
Publisher: Storm Moon Press LLC (July 20, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937058719
ISBN-13: 978-1937058715
Amazon: Aliens, Smith and Jones

7) Andrea Speed - Infected, Shift ()

I really enjoy Ms. Speed's writing style. She's able to have a lot of story in her book without it seeming as if it's overwhelming. Her imagination is fantastic. –Mariana

This is actually the only Infected book I have read - every time I thought about starting the series, the storyline just seemed a little too grim for me. I was pleasantly surprised, therefore, by the witty and sometimes funny characterizations throughout the book. –Melissa

A true shape-shifter attempts to keep his soul from being totally consumed by the truth dogging his waking steps, and determined not to allow those he cares for to be dragged off into the dark with him. –Tame

Paperback: 370 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (May 14, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 161372506X
ISBN-13: 978-1613725061
Amazon: Infected: Shift

J.P. Bowie - A Ghost Story ()

The reason I gave this story full scores is because it literally sucked me in from the very first words. I am not a huge lover of books set in England (I don’t know why I’m just not) yet I loved everything from the lingo to the fact that it was like two stories rolled into one. –Norma

Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing (January 9, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: A Ghost Story

9) Alex Beecroft - Under the Hill (2 books)

Spectacular new insights into faerie world, fascinating read. –Sandra

Paperback: 272 pages
Publisher: Samhain Publishing (March 5, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1609289420
ISBN-13: 978-1609289423
Amazon: Under the Hill: Bomber's Moon
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Samhain Publishing (April 2, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 161921055X
ISBN-13: 978-1619210554
Amazon: Under the Hill: Dogfighters

10) Lisabet Sarai - Quarantine

A very good, excellently developed story that seems frighteningly possible in today's climate. –Sue

Great story. Really enjoyed it. –Andrew

This book was a nice read. Original story line, developed settings, writing stile was smooth. I liked that author did no try to make an ideal heroes - both of her main characters have flaws: an outlaw guard who is not particularly bright and a user prisoner, whose ready to sleep/leave behind anybody to get what he wants. –Tessa

Paperback: 272 pages
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing (September 10, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1781845271
ISBN-13: 978-1781845271
Amazon: Quarantine

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
91011121314 15
16 1718 1920 21 22
23 242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 24th, 2017 10:45 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios