reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Nigel Owens (born 18 June 1971 in Mynyddcerrig, Llanelli, Wales) is a Welsh international rugby union referee. He is an international and Heineken Cup referee and was the only Welsh referee at the 2007 Rugby World Cup in France, as well as the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand. In May 2007, Owens publicly came out as homosexual in an interview with Wales on Sunday. Although reactions have been generally positive, he says it was a difficult decision to make and that he had even contemplated suicide.
"It's such a big taboo to be gay in my line of work, I had to think very hard about it because I didn't want to jeopardise my career. Coming out was very difficult and I tried to live with who I really was for years. I knew I was 'different' from my late teens, but I was just living a lie."
Shortly after the 2007 Rugby World Cup, Owens was named 'Gay Sports Personality of the Year' by gay rights group Stonewall's gay awards ceremony in London.

He was a patron of the LGBT Centre of Excellence Wales, until it's disbandment in late 2012, but he is still that of the Wooden Spoon Society rugby charity.

Owens was born and raised in a small village called Mynyddcerrig in the Gwendraeth Valley in South Wales and he is a fluent Welsh language speaker. He was a school technician at Ysgol Gyfun Maes Yr Yrfa Cefneithin and youth worker with Menter Cwm Gwendraeth.

Owens was appointed as an international referee in 2005, and that year officiated his first international between Ireland and Japan in Osaka. Along with Wayne Barnes of England and Marius Jonker of South Africa, Owens made his World Cup debut in Lyon, France on 11 September 2007 for the Argentina vs. Georgia match. He is only one of two referees ever to be appointed to referee two consecutive Heineken Cup finals: Munster v Toulouse at the Millennium Stadium in 2008 and Leicester Tigers v Leinster at Murrayfield in 2009.

He is also known as one of the presenters on Jonathan, a rugby-themed Welsh language chat show hosted by former Welsh international Jonathan Davies, broadcast on S4C on the eve of big international matches. He also co-presents the sports-themed Welsh language chat show Bwrw'r Bar.

In November 2008 he released his autobiography in Welsh called "Hanner Amser" which means Half Time. The English language version was launched at the end of October 2009. In 2011 he was made a member of the Gorsedd of Bards.

In January 2012 Owens made the headlines by addressing Treviso scrum-half Tobias Botes for continually yelling in protest by ending with the words "This is not soccer!", which then instantly became extremely popular among rugby fans, to the point that T-shirts with this phrase inprinted were commercialized.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigel_Owens

Further Readings:

Half Time: The Autobiography by Nigel Owens and Lynn Davies
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Y Lolfa; First Edition edition (December 31, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1847711324
ISBN-13: 978-1847711328
Amazon: Half Time: The Autobiography
Amazon Kindle: Half Time: The Autobiography

Nigel Owens is one of the best referees in world rugby. But before reaching the highest echelons of the game, he went through a personal crisis and came out as gay - the first to do so in the macho world of professional rugby. His bravery earned him great respect from players, officials and supporters alike. In this warm, funny and painfully honest autobiography, he speaks frankly about his struggle to accept himself for who he was, leading to attempted suicide, bulimia and steroid addiction. Owens also recounts many amusing incidents from rugby matches, foreign trips and his off-field career as an entertainer.

Date: 2013-06-18 08:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] charliecochrane.livejournal.com
My Nigel. *draws hearts round him*

Date: 2013-06-18 09:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
i remember you suggested his bio for the first Rainbow Awards but at the time it was available only in Welsh, isn't it?

Date: 2013-06-18 09:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] charliecochrane.livejournal.com
Yes. It's now available in English, thank goodness!

Date: 2013-06-20 02:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eglantine-br.livejournal.com
I actually bought his book although I know almost nothing of rugby. He is just such a good man. I wish I could be neighbors with him or something.

Date: 2013-06-20 05:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
There are so many books i'd like to read. Are you living in galles too?

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

August 2014

S M T W T F S
      1 2
3 4 5 6 789
10111213141516
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 2930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 30th, 2014 02:26 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios