reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Marshall Moore (born in June 29, 1970), in Havelock, North Carolina, is an American author living in Hong Kong. He attended the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM) and went on to obtain a BA in psychology from East Carolina University and an MA in applied linguistics from the University of New England. He has also studied at Gallaudet University. He has lived in Washington DC, Oakland, Portland, Seattle, and Seoul. Fluent in American Sign Language, he worked for many years as an interpreter before moving abroad. He is in a relationship with Simon Yuen. An Ideal for Living is dedicated to Rubén Alatorre, for making Seattle less inhospitable, and to Simon Yuen, just because.

As of June 2013, five of his books have been published:
The Concrete Sky (Haworth Press, 2003), a novel;
Black Shapes in a Darkened Room (Suspect Thoughts Press, 2004), a short fiction collection;
An Ideal for Living (Lethe Press, 2010), a novel;
The Infernal Republic (Signal 8 Press, 2012), a short fiction collection;
Bitter Orange (Signal 8 Press, 2013), a novel.

Moore has also published two chapbooks as e-books:
Il look del diavolo (Signal 8 Press, 2011);
Never Turn Away (Signal 8 Press, 2013).


Marshall Moore is an American author living in Hong Kong. He attended the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM). He has studied at Gallaudet University. He has lived in Washington DC, Oakland, Portland, Seattle, and Seoul. Fluent in American Sign Language, he worked for many years as an interpreter before moving abroad. He is in a relationship with Simon Yuen. An Ideal for Living is dedicated to Rubén Alatorre, for making Seattle less inhospitable, and to Simon Yuen, just because.

In addition to these books, Moore has published dozens of short stories, book reviews, and essays. His short fiction has appeared in various anthologies and in such literary journals as Asia Literary Review, Word Riot, Thieves Jargon, Space & Time, and The Barcelona Review.

His short story "The Infinite Monkey Theorem" was a runner-up in the 2006 storySouth Million Writers Award, taking third place.

His work has been translated into Greek and Italian.

An Ideal for Living won a 2010 Rainbow Award as Best Gay Contemporary, 3rd place.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_Moore

An Ideal for Living by Marshall Moore
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Lethe Press (April 5, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590212312
ISBN-13: 978-1590212318
Amazon: An Ideal for Living
Amazon Kindle: An Ideal for Living

Grace White and her brother Robert, overweight and affluent, are desperate to hang onto their respective love interests. Grace's husband Rich is bonking every woman he can talk into bed. Grace is willing to look beyond his affairs if she can just have her marriage back. Robert's law school fling James's interest diminished as Robert's waistline increased, but Robert has never moved on. The only solution? Losing those excess pounds... by any means necessary. And when James finds a supernatural healer who can sculpt living flesh like clay, beautiful ugliness ensues. Will Robert and Grace get what they want, or what they deserve? In An Ideal for Living, Marshall Moore has written a shocking fantastique, a novel that captures the Zeitgeist of contemporary urban life, where beauty is a commodity craved, consumed, and traded.

More Rainbow Awards at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, Rainbow Awards

More LGBT Couples at my website:
http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Ramblings/Real Life Romance

Date: 2013-06-29 01:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lisa-thecat.livejournal.com
Yay for cat lovers!

Date: 2013-06-29 01:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Marshall's cat should deserve a post of his own. I'm on Marshall's FB and you cannot believe what that cat is up to sometime.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 22nd, 2017 02:45 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios