R.W. Day

Dec. 6th, 2013 02:08 pm
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
R.W. Day has been writing since she figured out which end of her crayon was 'up.' She's had about a dozen stories published or accepted for publication in magazines, including Deep Magic, Lenox Avenue, Cabinet des Fees, Book of Dark Wisdom, and in such anthologies as Damned Nation, Blood & Devotion, and Best Gay Love Stories 2006. This is her first published novel.

She is a forty-something Ohioan living in southern Virginia trying to build a writing career that she has wanted for as long as she can remember, probably since she put down Peter Rabbit and realized there was an author behind it. She got sidetracked along the way with 2 kids, 4 stepkids, an obsessive teaching career that she has since abandoned for library work, but she is now trying to write about 1,000 words a day and collect rejection slips submit stories regularly.

She currently lives with one husband, one child (the other's off at college), four dogs, two cats and a yard full of mice, rabbits and one snake. In her copious free time, she plays in the SCA and does handspinning and weaving.

A Strong and Sudden Thaw won a 2009 Rainbow Awards as Best LGBT Futuristic, 1st place, Best Setting Development, 2nd place, Best Characters Development, 1st place, Best Writing Style, 1st place, Best Gay Novel, 2nd place.

Source: http://www.rwday.net/

Further Readings:

A Strong and Sudden Thaw by R. W. Day
Paperback: 280 pages
Publisher: Lethe Press; Reissue edition (January 30, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590210638
ISBN-13: 978-15902106
Amazon: A Strong and Sudden Thaw
Amazon Kindle: A Strong and Sudden Thaw

The Ice fell upon the world nearly a hundred years ago, and if civilization didn't rightly collapse, it surely staggered and fell ill a while. In the small town of Moline, Virginia, folks struggle to survive, relying on hybrid seed sent by the faraway Department of Reintroduction and Agriculture and their own faith in God and hard work. But when a mated pair of dragons starts hunting the countryside, stealing sheep, and attacking children, the townsfolk quickly learn that they don t have the weapons or the skills to fight off such predators.

David Anderson is a farmer's son who has explored the world through books. When he meets the new healer in town, Callan Landers, he doesn't quite know what to make of the strange warmth stealing over him. It's not until he surprises Callan with another man and both men are promptly arrested for sodomy that David finally realizes the truth about his own feelings.

When David and Callan stumble over a secret in a nearby abandoned town, their personal problems fade before government politics and corruption that threaten lives. It seems the dragons aren t the worst dangers facing Moline.

More Spotlights at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Lists/Gay Novels

More Rainbow Awards at my website:
http://www.elisarolle.com/, Rainbow Awards

Date: 2008-11-27 10:53 am (UTC)
ext_7009: (Alex B)
From: [identity profile] alex-beecroft.livejournal.com
I love this book, and I'm so glad it's being re-released, but it would be great if they could keep the cover, because the cover is gorgeous too!

Date: 2008-11-27 11:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
For a previously small publisher printed book, it's a great result to be so high in the ranking, so I'm very glad that the author has the chance to re-release the book. For the cover, I think it's not possible to maintain the same, but the publisher, Lethe Press, assured me that the new one will be as gorgeous as the previous.

Elisa

Date: 2008-11-27 12:14 pm (UTC)
ext_7009: (Damian - soldiers and thugs)
From: [identity profile] alex-beecroft.livejournal.com
*g* I will get the best of both worlds because I already have the snow-and-pines cover, and I might get it from Lethe Press as well to support the relaunch.

Date: 2008-11-27 11:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] snowmore.livejournal.com
This book is on my wish list at Amazon. I'm glad to see it reviewed, Elisa.

Date: 2008-11-27 11:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Be careful to change the link for your Wish List to the new publisher if you want it new. The book will be available in January. Elisa

Date: 2008-11-27 11:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] snowmore.livejournal.com
Thank you!

Date: 2008-11-27 05:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] author-aghoward.livejournal.com
Wow! That book cover for "A Strong and Sudden Thaw" is gorgeous.

Happy Thanksgiving, Elisa. And thanks for all you do to support authors everywhere!

Date: 2008-11-27 05:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Happy Thanksgiving to you! And also your new icon is beautiful, I like the ethereal look. I'm following your challenge with agent, publishers and writing through my friends page, wish you all the better.

Elisa

Date: 2008-11-27 11:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] author-aghoward.livejournal.com
Thanks so much for keeping up with my journey. :-) Things are actually good right now, just waiting to hear from publishers on what they think. Patience is HARD.

Hopefully my agent will email with news soon!

Date: 2008-11-30 04:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] inaravar.livejournal.com
I soo love this book and I wouldn´t mind reading a sequel!
Have you ever thought of joining Goodreads, Elisa? It´s a free website where you can list your books, write reviews and make friends! I spend almost all of my online time on this site..
And if you´re already a member maybe you friend me?
http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/32494
Inara

Date: 2008-11-30 05:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Thanks for the head up on the site, but I really can't open another account somewhere :-( I have a LJ, a Blog, a Myspace, a LybraryThing and an Amazon Profile... and I struggle to keep them all update! Elisa

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 25th, 2017 06:09 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios