reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Paul Alan Fahey (born October 27, 1944) lives and writes on the California central coast. On June 28, 2013, his long-term partner Robert Franks (born July 14, 1940) proposed him. After 37 years of living together he said "I'd have to think about it." They married on August 5, 2013.

He is the editor of the anthology, THE OTHER MAN: 21 Writers Speak Candidly About Sex, Love, Infidelity, & Moving On. He has written several LGBT themed novellas, including the 2012 Rainbow Award winner, THE VIEW FROM 16 PODWALE STREET, WHEN THE RIGHT ONE COMES ALONG, BOYS WILL BE BOYS, and YOUR MOTHER SHOULD KNOW. Paul is the author of THE LOVERS & LIARS WARTIME SERIES, featuring the novellas: BOMBER'S MOON, WEEP NOT FOR THE PAST and the soon to be released, A MANX TALE. Follow him on Twitter, Facebook and Linked In.

The View from 16 Podwale Street won a 2012 Rainbow Award as Best Lesbian Historical and The Other Man won a 2013 Rainbow Award as Best LGBT Non Fiction.


Paul Alan Fahey lives and writes on the California central coast. On June 28, 2013, after 37 years of living together, his long-term partner Robert Franks proposed him. He said "I'd have to think about it." They married on August 5, 2013. He is the editor of the anthology, THE OTHER MAN: 21 Writers Speak Candidly About Sex, Love, Infidelity, & Moving On. He has written several LGBT themed novellas, including the 2012 Rainbow Award winner, THE VIEW FROM 16 PODWALE STREET.



Days of Love: Celebrating LGBT History One Story at a Time by Elisa Rolle
Paperback: 760 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (July 1, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1500563323
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (Paperback): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (Kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Days of Love chronicles more than 700 LGBT couples throughout history, spanning 2000 years from Alexander the Great to the most recent winner of a Lambda Literary Award. Many of the contemporary couples share their stories on how they met and fell in love, as well as photos from when they married or of their families. Included are professional portraits by Robert Giard and Stathis Orphanos, paintings by John Singer Sargent and Giovanni Boldini, and photographs by Frances Benjamin Johnson, Arnold Genthe, and Carl Van Vechten among others. “It's wonderful. Laying it out chronologically is inspired, offering a solid GLBT history. I kept learning things. I love the decision to include couples broken by death. It makes clear how important love is, as well as showing what people have been through. The layout and photos look terrific.” Christopher Bram “I couldn’t resist clicking through every page. I never realized the scope of the book would cover centuries! I know that it will be hugely validating to young, newly-emerging LGBT kids and be reassured that they really can have a secure, respected place in the world as their futures unfold.” Howard Cruse “This international history-and-photo book, featuring 100s of detailed bios of some of the most forward-moving gay persons in history, is sure to be one of those bestsellers that gay folk will enjoy for years to come as reference and research that is filled with facts and fun.” Jack Fritscher

Thank you, Elisa!

Date: 2014-08-05 03:16 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] paulfahey_68
Hi, Elisa, thank you so much for this lovely write up. And on our special day too. I've gotta tell you I just finished Days Of Love and it is wonderful. I could not put it down. I learned so much about so many other couples. Heartfelt thanks for doing this. Huge love, Paul and Bob.

Re: Thank you, Elisa!

Date: 2014-08-05 04:00 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] paulfahey_68
You aren't alone in loving Days of Love. You have tons of fans and all of us love you, too. Paul

A heck of a guy

Date: 2014-10-28 02:05 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
I'm with you, Elisa. Paul's a heck of a guy. I've heard great things about Bob, & look forward to meeting him sometime soon. Thanks for promoting the work of such a fine human being.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 22nd, 2017 02:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios