reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Gay Contemporary General Fiction
My Favorite Uncle by Marshall Thornton
Paperback: 312 pages
Publisher: Wilde City Press, LLC (June 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1925180247
ISBN-13: 978-1925180244
Amazon: My Favorite Uncle
Amazon Kindle: My Favorite Uncle

"I enjoyed this book very much. It was a really entertaining read and the author managed to make an extremely, maybe almost over the top, happy ending not feel sickly sweet but to be exactly what I wanted for the characters. Made me smile big time!"

Gay Historical Romance
The Black Orchid by Sawyer Caine
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (July 13, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: The Black Orchid

"This is a gorgeous, very touching story that had me in tears. The plot develops at a good pace. I did feel that characters were a little rash in their approach to their homosexuality at this period in history, but it was a minor point. The setting is well shown - the trip up the Orinoco was atmospheric and a great setting, very different. The characters are what make this story. Sawyer pulled me to them increasingly throughout... a little, a little more, some more, until finally you're so bound up in them the ending is both sad and rewarding, if that makes any sense. The writing style is pretty flawless. I loved this book. It will stay with me for a long time."

Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
The Little Black Dress by Linda Palund
Paperback: 180 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (May 15, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627988513
ISBN-13: 978-1627988513
Amazon: The Little Black Dress
Amazon Kindle: The Little Black Dress

"A sensitive re-telling of a tragedy that takes a life after two best friends share their coming of age and coming out experiences to and with one another. Beautifully written, compelling characters and a good suspense level. We'll hear more from this author!"

Gay Contemporary Romance
Painting Fire on the Air (A Survivor Story) by J.P. Barnaby
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (September 27, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627981810
ISBN-13: 978-1627981811
Amazon: Painting Fire on the Air (A Survivor Story)
Amazon Kindle: Painting Fire on the Air (A Survivor Story)

"This was one of the best BDSM books I have ever read.  The writing and character development were excellent.  I was able to connect with the characters in a way I usually cannot with most BDSM romances.  The chemistry, love and affection between Jude and Ben was evident in all aspects of their relationship."

Gay Young Adult
Omorphi by C. Kennedy
Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (December 19, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627980083
ISBN-13: 978-1627980081
Amazon: Omorphi
Amazon Kindle: Omorphi

"Hauntingly beautiful, a book that you never wanted to end because you were so much a part of the characters lives. When you finish the book you want to know more, to pick up the phone and call Christy. Magically written, the voices and setting of the story were so clear you lived each moment with the characters."

"This book and others like it are the reason I put so much time and effort into judging for the Rainbow Awards. Flawless from start to finish, written with such deft prose that as a reader one cannot help but be pulled deep into the psyche of the characters. I love Christy, Michael, Jake, all their friends and family. Hell, I even love Uncle Smitty. Their world is filled with unspeakable horrors and oceans of pain, but for the chance to sit quietly at their sides on a sunny afternoon, I’d definitely take my chances. Wow."

Gay Contemporary Romance
The Companion by Lloyd A. Meeker
Paperback: 220 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 23, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627988491
ISBN-13: 978-1627988490
Amazon: The Companion
Amazon Kindle: The Companion

"Surprisingly interesting story for something that the story blurb didn’t make sound fascinating at all. Would have never bought this book if I hadn’t been assigned it. Quite surprisingly good."

"Completely enraptured from beginning to end. I was pulled in from the very beginning, and it was hard to put down."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Wolf Hunter by Ryan Loveless
Publisher: TVB Publishing (October 10, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Wolf Hunter

"I may be a huge fan of paranormal fan and at times this book was intense... it had me sucked in from the very first page... I will be looking for more of this authors work for sure."

Lesbian Romantic Comedy
Eight Dates: A Romance by Lori L. Lake
Paperback: 250 pages
Publisher: Launch Point Press; 1st edition (July 1, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1633040003
ISBN-13: 978-1633040007
Amazon: Eight Dates: A Romance
Amazon Kindle: Eight Dates: A Romance

"This book made me laugh out loud more than once. Sky’s eight date challenge, put forth by her best friend Mitchell, was a study in futility. I felt bad for Sky, not because of the horrific dates she had to endure, but because she couldn’t seem to see what was right in front of her. The interactions between Sky and Maya were amazingly done. The only problem I had was the book seemed to end a couple of chapters too soon. I wanted a little more."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Kept Tears by Jana Denardo
Paperback: 210 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 27, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627983139
ISBN-13: 978-1627983136
Amazon: Kept Tears
Amazon Kindle: Kept Tears

"This was a delight to read! A very enjoyable book and compelling story, great characters one wants to befriend. Even Morcant was played perfectly with his bad boy persona. It flows smoothly from one scene to the next creating a fantasy world I'd like to visit someday (does that make me weird? LOL Maybe, but compared to this world, Denardo's sounds a whole lot better ;-) For a person who is not so much into Urban Fantasy this really hit the spot."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Willing Hands (Wild R Farm 5) by Silvia Violet

Series: Wild R Farm
Paperback: 190 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (February 8, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1495326799
ISBN-13: 978-1495326790
Amazon: Willing Hands (Wild R Farm 5)
Amazon Kindle: Willing Hands (Wild R Farm 5)

"This is a well written shifter story that many are sure to love. I like that the author had a character like Will, a bear shifter with a temper, who worries about how his animal reacts to certain situations as opposed to just going with the flow. Although part of a series, it was easy for me to be drawn into this world even though I have not read any of the previous books."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

February 2017

S M T W T F S
    1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 2122232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Feb. 21st, 2017 09:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios