reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Gay Anthology / Young Adult
Rainbow Briefs by Kira Harp
Paperback: 218 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (November 2, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 149361083X
ISBN-13: 978-1493610839
Amazon: Rainbow Briefs
Amazon Kindle: Rainbow Briefs

"Perfect score for this story! As I encountered stories about lesbian and bisexual I was a bit weary because that's not something I've ever read nor have I had an incline nor curiosity of reading. I was very surprised on how wonderful the stories were. Perhaps because the stories are based on feelings and sentiments and not sex which is something I really don't care to read about if the pairing is F/F or Hetero. Great short stories...All of them! Plus, this is a new to me author. I'm glad to have read her stories."

Transgender Young Adult
If We Shadows by D.E. Atwood
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (March 6, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627988203
ISBN-13: 978-1627988209
Amazon: If We Shadows
Amazon Kindle: If We Shadows

"WOW! This author bravely tackled everything about being a trans* teen. The gender dysphoria, how to "pass",  dating, hormone injections, transphobia, violence against trans* people.... All of the issues big and small were covered, brilliantly. Then it was packaged with Shakespeare and High School, and magic. I am so impressed right now. Certainly one of the best trans* books I've EVER read. "

"Perfect 40. This book was pure pleasure to read. The author hit every note perfectly, leaving me feeling like I was in the head of the main character, or whomever had pov control at that point. Flawless. The character growth was believable, the story arc enthralling, the writing style captivating. I am definitely a fan."

"D.E. Atwood is a powerful voice, and this story should be in every high school library across the nation. The simple beauty with which the author presents this clever weaving of magic, ordinary teen angst, the alienation everyone struggles through in high school, and the pervasive dissonance of being born into a body whose bits and pieces don’t fit the person living inside it…astounds. Bravo, D.E. Atwood, bravo. "


Gay Fantasy
Mercy's Prisoner (Life Prison, Volume 1) by Dusk Peterson
Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press (August 26, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Mercy's Prisoner (Life Prison, Volume 1)

"Dusk is all about subtlety and shades of meaning. The details of the plot were slowly revealed, and often by reading between the lines of what a character says, rather than having motives laid out clearly before us. Sex does not dominate the plot, it is about relationships, companionship and the unexpected development of love. I also liked that the 4 stories linked to each other because I was so immersed in the world Dusk had created that I didn't want to leave it. "

Gay Sci-fi / Futuristic
Light by 'Nathan Burgoine
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (October 15, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829535
ISBN-13: 978-1602829534
Amazon: Light
Amazon Kindle: Light

"No pretension, just a wonderful fast-paced story. Distinctly Canadian, Light is great read. The writing is so smooth that the author's presence is invisible, the romance is sweet and just hot enough that it doesn't get in the way of the plot, the threat is frightening but not overpowering—the theme of unity just sings—and there's even a delightful if not too bright dog. I think this story could be read on several levels, and it works well on all of them. Maybe this top score is wish-fulfillment on my part, because I've always thought telekinesis would be the perfect way to deal with hateful religious fanatics. BRAVO!"

Gay Contemporary Romance
The Last Thing He Needs by J.H. Knight
Paperback: 220 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 28, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627988599
ISBN-13: 978-1627988599
Amazon: The Last Thing He Needs
Amazon Kindle: The Last Thing He Needs

"This is it! The ultimate contemporary story. As a reader, I believed in every turn in story line. No abrupt happy endings, no victory without a fight. Every character is well defined. I could just imagine them living next block. They have their reasons and their pride. You don't know if they will live happily ever after but you just wanna believe in it with all you've got! Thank you for the great book! An honor to read it!"

Transgender Biography / Memoir
Queerly Beloved: A Love Story Across Genders by Diane & Jacob Anderson-Minshall
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (May 13, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626390622
ISBN-13: 978-1626390621
Amazon: Queerly Beloved: A Love Story Across Genders
Amazon Kindle: Queerly Beloved: A Love Story Across Genders

"Holy freaking hell. This book gave me chills. That’s pretty damn awesome for a non-fic. Everyone, their brother, mother, father, friend and enemy needs to read this book. It’s that damn good."

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Stronger Than This by David-Matthew Barnes
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (February 18, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829888
ISBN-13: 978-1602829886
Amazon: Stronger Than This
Amazon Kindle: Stronger Than This

"Gripping characters and story told in an absolutely unique style. And it made me cry."

Lesbian Erotic Romance
Speakeasy by MJ Willamz
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (January 20, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626392382
ISBN-13: 978-1626392380
Amazon: Speakeasy
Amazon Kindle: Speakeasy

"Top tier erotica author - graphic sex and a compelling story made this an awesome read. loved it!"

Transgender Young Adult
Cevin’s Deadly Sin by Sally Bosco
Paperback: 258 pages
Publisher: Queerteen Press (February 17, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1494874350
ISBN-13: 978-1494874353
Amazon: Cevin's Deadly Sin
Amazon Kindle: Cevin's Deadly Sin

"I loved this book! It's a terrific addition to YA/LGBT literature in the best tradition of Brent Hartenger and Bill Connigsberg. The plot is engaging and interesting with events building in intensity until I was really aching for the protag. The characters of Cevin and his friends are well developed and three-dimensional and seem like they could be found at any small town high school. Though the settings are not dramatic, they feel realistic with just enough description given to paint a picture in the reader's head. And finally, the writing is accessible and appropriate to a YA audience. Altogether a very enjoyable book I would recommend to anyone of any age."

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher by Dana Alison Levy
Age Range: 9 - 12 years
Grade Level: 4 - 7
Lexile Measure: 750L (What's this?)
Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (July 22, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0385376529
ISBN-13: 978-0385376525
Amazon : The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher
Amazon Kindle: The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

"This wasn't something I would normally read but I'm so glad I did.  I loved the characters and this family.  The author did a great job writing about them all.  I will definitely be reading more."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

July 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2 3 456 78
9 101112 13 14 15
16 171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 21st, 2017 02:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios