reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Lesbian Erotic Romance
Switching Gears by Rhavensfyre
Paperback: 498 pages
Publisher: Sapphire Books Publishing (December 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1939062306
ISBN-13: 978-1939062307
Amazon: Switching Gears
Amazon Kindle: Switching Gears

"Totally loved this book. Well developed,intense storyline. The characters were very well developed and I liked seeing both of their vulnerabilities. Especially liked Micah! Hard to believe that this is a first book!"

Gay Mystery / Thriller
A Hunted Man by Jaime Reese
Series: The Men of Halfway House
Paperback: 378 pages
Publisher: Romandeavor, Incorporated; 1 edition (April 27, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0991457064
ISBN-13: 978-0991457069
Amazon: A Hunted Man
Amazon Kindle: A Hunted Man

"Well developed characters and story line. Author did a fantastic job of building up the suspense and making the reader invested in Cam and Hunter’s story and relationship. The one thing that I did notice was that it was unclear where the story was set until the city of Miami was mentioned. The author could have done a better job of developing the setting and scenery to ensure that the reader knew what city and state the story took place in."

Lesbian Historical Romance
Agnes by Jaime Maddox
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (January 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626390320
ISBN-13: 978-1626390324
Amazon: Agnes
Amazon Kindle: Agnes

"Fabulous - new to me author but I was hooked and didn't want to leave the house until the last page. I would recommend this to anyone who like historical fiction, or mystery, or romance or general fiction. Keeper!"


Gay Contemporary Romance
Summer Son by Anna Martin
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press; 1 edition (July 31, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Summer Son

"This was one of the better books I've read so far this year. The author tells the main character's tale in such a heartwarming way."

Lesbian Historical Romance
Club Storyville by Riley LaShea
Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Riley LaShea (April 18, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1499645384
ISBN-13: 978-1499645385
Amazon: Club Storyville
Amazon Kindle: Club Storyville

"This is an absolutely stunning historical piece set mostly in the shadow of World War II in which every action, every turn of phrase is believable for the time. The portrayal of both visible and invisible lines of segregation are depicted with anguished realism and the parallel, invisible struggles of LGBT people handled with painful accuracy. And while it's a well-told story about these artificial social and legal lines between people, it's also a very touching story about a young woman's self-discovery and her slow realization that she's much stronger than she's been lead to believe."

"Club Storyille is a very well written book. This author is very good at character development and I loved how she fleshed out the supporting characters. Wonderful job. The book started out a bit slow but when I got into it, I loved it and couldn’t put it down till I knew how it would end. I think that’s a great recommendation, don’t you? "


Gay Young Adult
Not Broken, Just Bent by Mia Kerick

Paperback: 180 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (February 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627985298
ISBN-13: 978-1627985291
Amazon: Not Broken, Just Bent
Amazon Kindle: Not Broken, Just Bent

"I really liked Ben's point of view, but when he put his head into the sand, hiding, I really would have liked to have been more inside Tim's head. Ben's father really reminded me of my own Father, a military policeman, good lord it was eerie at times. Mia's writing just flowed, grabbed me and didn't let go until the end, then I wanted more...... "

Lesbian Paranormal Romance
True Nature by Jae
Paperback: 468 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr. (October 31, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955330346
ISBN-13: 978-3955330347
Amazon: True Nature
Amazon Kindle: True Nature

"Wonderful story! It kept me on thw edge of my seat. I finished this in one night as I could not stop reading!"

Gay Contemporary Romance
Mirage by Tia Fielding
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 17, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627986634
ISBN-13: 978-1627986632
Amazon : Mirage
Amazon Kindle: Mirage

"Score points for having a not so typical lead character."

Gay Biography / Memoir
See a Little Light: The Trail of Rage and Melody by Bob Mould
Paperback: 420 pages
Publisher: Cleis Press (October 29, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1573449709
ISBN-13: 978-1573449700
Amazon : See a Little Light: The Trail of Rage and Melody
Amazon Kindle: See a Little Light: The Trail of Rage and Melody

"Involved and entertaining. I feel like I'm back in an era of my youth."

Lesbian Anthology / Contemporary Romance
All you can Eat, A Buffet of Lesbian Erotica and Romance by R.G. Emanuelle & Andi Marquette
Publisher: Ylva Publishing (August 20, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: All you can Eat, A Buffet of Lesbian Erotica and Romance

"This collection of short stories was fun and creative. Each one was different and I found myself extremely intrigued by the way food played a major part in each story. I also loved the way the stories got steamier and sexier as the anthology went from appetizer to dessert. With each story the characters were fully developed as much as they could be in a short and each author's writing style was engaging. On the whole, the setting development was adequately fleshed out and the plots for each story ran the gamut of emotions. All in all, a very enjoyable read."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 20th, 2017 09:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios