reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:




Gay Romantic Comedy
Merry Gentlemen by Josephine Myles
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (November 12, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Merry Gentlemen

"I was very impressed with this book. I enjoyed the author's sense of humor and the way she drew you into the lives of these two men who were clearly destined for each other. Good conflict, resolution, and banding with the local wildlife."

Gay Anthology / Contemporary General Fiction
An American Memory by George Seaton
Published February 26th 2014 by Wilde City Press
ISBN13 9781925031836

"This is a very important project. These stories, fictional though they may be, are our stories. Tales from a community, the shoulders upon which, everything we enjoy today was built. What's more, Mr. Seaton clearly understands to need to hook a reader early and keep him for the duration. Setting and sensory details were vibrant, and spot on! I felt like I knew all of these people. Characters practically leapt off the page. A bit purple in places, but overall, the writing is exceptional."
 
Lesbian Historical Romance
Murder and the Hurdy Gurdy Girl by Kate McLachlan

Paperback: 198 pages
Publisher: Quest by RCE (August 8, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1619291266
ISBN-13: 978-1619291263
Amazon: Murder and the Hurdy Gurdy Girl
Amazon Kindle: Murder and the Hurdy Gurdy Girl

"Well-written and gripping historical novel! The period details are lovely. Both Jo Erin and Susan shine as complex and full characters, each strong in their own ways. The plot was captivating, with only a few points that lulled. The romance was slow-burning, well-woven, and in the end, sensual. Very glad to see these women sail to their well-deserved HEA. A pleasure to read!"

Lesbian Anthology / Paranormal Romance
When the Clock Strikes Thirteen by Diane Marina, Emma Weimann, Erzabet Bishop, Joan Arling, L.T. Smith, Lois Cloarec Hart & R.G. Emanuelle
Paperback: 202 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e Kfr (October 26, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955331555
ISBN-13: 978-3955331559
Amazon: When the Clock Strikes Thirteen
Amazon Kindle: When the Clock Strikes Thirteen

"Overall the book was highly entertaining. Loved Midnight Messages, Batteries Not Included, Lost And Found, Sisters Of The Moon and Wolf Moon."

Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Departure from the Script by Jae
Paperback: 270 pages
Publisher: Ylva Verlag e.Kfr. (June 30, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955331954
ISBN-13: 978-3955331955
Amazon: Departure from the Script
Amazon Kindle: Departure from the Script

"A very engaging story of love.  No wasted scenes or words, great pacing and wonderful characters. There was no over the top misunderstanding.  It was just two women learning each other and making their way to each other; very well done."

Gay Contemporary Romance
Names Can Never Hurt Me by Wade Kelly
Paperback: 340 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 11, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627988564
ISBN-13: 978-1627988568
Amazon : Names Can Never Hurt Me
Amazon Kindle: Names Can Never Hurt Me

"Although the story seemed slow at first, I really liked the detail because, as the reader, I got much insight into what motivated the MC. I also liked that the love interest wasn't a handsome stud and the development of the physical aspect of their relationship was not made easy by him. Nick really had to work hard to prove he was no longer the shallow sleep around guy. I got a real sense of place in this story.
The MC started off as a shallow guy who only slept with pretty girls and had to deal with quite a few hard realisations about not only himself but also his so called friends as he came to terms with being gay - a detailed journey of personal growth. The character's voice was engaging, although it took me a little while to get into his story because of the slow development."


Gay Contemporary Romance
Brokenhearted: Hope Cove Book 1 by Cate Ashwood
Paperback: 210 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (November 8, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627980822
ISBN-13: 978-1627980821
Amazon: Brokenhearted: Hope Cove Book 1
Amazon Kindle: Brokenhearted: Hope Cove Book 1

"Very well written. Good character development, I felt like we know Mack & Oliver pretty well. I loved the setting of the story and will definitely be reading more of this series. I really enjoyed the authors writing style, which flowed nicely."

Gay Mystery / Thriller
Antidote (Don't... 2) by Jack L. Pyke
Series: Don't...
Paperback: 406 pages
Publisher: Fantastic Fiction Publishing (May 5, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622341643
ISBN-13: 978-1622341641
Amazon: Antidote (Don't... 2)
Amazon Kindle: Antidote (Don't... 2)

"Yes, this book is brutal, and painfully so, but the brutality is never glamorized. The intensity of emotion in this book is raw and honest. The main characters made me care deeply for their plight, although the antagonists were also well-drawn and not cardboard cutouts. Overall, an impressive story that gripped me from the beginning and makes me want to read the other books in the series."

Gay Historical
Happy Independence Day by Michael Rupured
Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 20, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1632161621
ISBN-13: 978-1632161628
Amazon : Happy Independence Day
Amazon Kindle: Happy Independence Day

"What started off slow became a whirlwind of action. I really felt the riots of Stonewall come to life. A little tidy at end, but not a complete set of bows. Would love a sequel to follow how gay liberation affects everyone's lives. Also what a great commentary about gay relationships in 1969. Like a time capsule, but then the author lived thru it, so he should know. I loved this book."

Bisexual Contemporary General Fiction
Best Bi Short Stories by Sheela Lambert
Paperback: 260 pages
Publisher: Circlet Press, Inc. (June 15, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1613900880
ISBN-13: 978-1613900888
Amazon: Best Bi Short Stories
Amazon Kindle: Best Bi Short Stories

"The editor did a superb job of representing the often-overlooked B in QUILTBAG. I’ve never read such a colorful, balanced, and engaging anthology—a collection that, by and large, demonstrates the short-story form at its finest. Each plot was unique and inventive, with a distinctive tone; each presented bisexuality in some unexpected instead of banal way. Main characters (and, in many cases, supporting characters, too) were so well-developed, they seduced me into accepting their realities. Settings were varied—in place, time, and cultural context—and vividly portrayed. Each subgenre (contemporary, paranormal, fantasy, historical, even a touch of YA) was represented. I was enchanted, as if each tale took me on a trip with fascinating people whose company I rarely tired of."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 25th, 2017 03:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios