reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Lesbian Fantasy
Chronicles of Osota - Warrior by Michelle Magly
Series: Chronicles of Osota
Paperback: 312 pages
Publisher: Desert Palm Press; 1 edition (July 23, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 150065227X
ISBN-13: 978-1500652272
Amazon: Chronicles of Osota - Warrior
Amazon Kindle: Chronicles of Osota - Warrior

"This is a fantasy, by someone who can not only tell a good story, they can also write a good story. I was impressed by the quality and maturity the author showed in creating complex characters that evolved throughout the story. It’s not easy starting a series and finding the balance between not revealing all your plot points in the first book, and making the first book frustrating to read because stuff is held back to be revealed later in the series. Michelle managed this quite adroitly. It’s also refreshing to read high fantasy that does not drag the homophobia of our world into its own."

Gay Contemporary Romance
A Grand Prix Romance (International Men of Sports Book 7) by T.A. Chase & Devon Rhodes
Series: International Men of Sports
Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing (June 13, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 178430090X
ISBN-13: 978-1784300906
Amazon: A Grand Prix Romance (International Men of Sports Book 7)
Amazon Kindle: A Grand Prix Romance (International Men of Sports Book 7)

"Great plot. Fun, interesting, and engaging characters. Authors’ writing style drew in the reader and made them invested in the story, plot, and characters."

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Buzz Bets Badly, But Begets Bliss: An Avondale Story by Etienne
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Amazon Kindle: Buzz Bets Badly, But Begets Bliss: An Avondale Story

"Loved this story. Fans of the author will love this book and while it has ties to the Avondale world it is possible to read this book without having read any of the previous books."

Gay Erotic Romance
Finally Home (The Traveler and the Tourist Book 2) by Zee Kensington
Paperback: 220 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 29, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627989064
ISBN-13: 978-1627989060
Amazon: Finally Home (The Traveler and the Tourist Book 2)
Amazon Kindle: Finally Home (The Traveler and the Tourist Book 2)

"Zee Kensington's novel, "Finally Home" was a soft, subtle romance story that was well-written with interesting international food facts and cultures mixed in with interesting issues that happen between young and older love interests, with some universal contrasting elements between those in the LGBT community who are out and those who are not.  The most important was how these two main Characters - Chris & Marco - came together in spite of their opposing personal/family issues and backgrounds.  A very sweet/interesting story that would appeal to readers of gay romance."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Brian's Mate by Hollis Shiloh
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press; 1 edition (February 4, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Brian's Mate

"If you are looking for blood hunts, clan wars, werewolf transformations you wouldn't find then in this book. What you will find is the formation of the beautiful relationship. Even the outcasts could flower and prosper when they feel needed. Beautiful story of "ugly wolf-ducklings" transformation. "

Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
Maggie’s Mechanics by Sheila J. Connolly
Paperback: 325 pages
Publisher: Clover Valley Press, LLC (September 15, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0984657053
ISBN-13: 978-0984657056
Amazon: Maggie’s Mechanics
Amazon Kindle: Maggie’s Mechanics

"Well written 1st book, I really enjoyed the relationship/interplay between the 2 MC's, Bett and Maggie!"

Lesbian Poetry
Blushing Aspen (Sappho's Corner Solo Poets Series) (Volume 4) by Kieran York

Series: Sappho's Corner Solo Poets Series
Paperback: 170 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 10, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1497352762
ISBN-13: 978-1497352766
Amazon: Blushing Aspen (Sappho's Corner Solo Poets Series)

"I usually like this author style but I think that her lyrical and evocative writing find it's perfect setting when it comes to poetry."

Gay Contemporary Romance
If You're Going Through Hell Keep Going: The Continuing Adventures of Mark Vincent and Quinton Mann by Tinnean

Series: Mann of My Dreams
Paperback: 410 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (June 15, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1500208787
ISBN-13: 978-1500208783
Amazon: If You're GoingThrough Hell Keep Going: The Continuing Adventures of Mark Vincent and Quinton Mann
Amazon Kindle: If You're GoingThrough Hell Keep Going: The Continuing Adventures of Mark Vincent and Quinton Mann

"Solid story very well written."

Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
Chip Off the Ice Block Murder (A Shay O'Hanlon Caper) by Jessie Chandler
Series: A Shay O'Hanlon Caper (Book 4)
Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: MIDNIGHT INK; Reprint edition (May 8, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0738739391
ISBN-13: 978-0738739397
Amazon: Chip Off the Ice Block Murder (A Shay O'Hanlon Caper)
Amazon Kindle: Chip Off the Ice Block Murder (A Shay O'Hanlon Caper)

"Well written, engaging story. Very likeable characters, looking forward to more stories from this author/genre."

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
The Opera House by Hans M. Hirschi
Paperback: 268 pages
Publisher: Yaree AB (December 11, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 9187561042
ISBN-13: 978-9187561047
Amazon : The Opera House
Amazon Kindle: The Opera House

"I absolutely love this writer.  This book had well written characters who were easy to identify with.  "

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

August 2017

S M T W T F S
  1 2 34 5
6 7 8 9 1011 12
13141516 17 1819
20 21 2223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 23rd, 2017 03:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios