reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Malcolm Boyd was an American Episcopal priest and author. He was active in the civil rights movement as one of the Freedom Riders in 1961 and as a minister.
Born: June 8, 1923, Buffalo, New York, United States
Died: February 27, 2015, Los Angeles, California, United States
Find A Grave Memorial# 143137883
Partner: Mark Thompson
Parents: Beatrice Lowrie, Melville Boyd
Married: July 2013

Malcolm Boyd was an American Episcopal Priest and author. Boyd went on to become a prominent white clergyman in the American Civil Rights Movement. He participated as one of the Freedom riders in 1961. Boyd was also active in the anti-Vietnam War movement, marching with Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1968. In 1977, Boyd came out of the closet, becoming the most prominent homosexual clergy person to come out. In 1984, Boyd met the gay activist and author Mark Thompson, who would become his long-time partner. Boyd and Thompson married in July 2013, after Proposition 8 was overturned and same-sex unions resumed in California. They lived in Los Angeles until Malcolm’s death. Thompson serves on the Advisory Board of White Crane Institute and is a frequent contributor to the homosexual wisdom and culture magazine White Crane. Boyd was the author of over 30 books and. Thompson’s last book is Advocate Days and Other Stories. Seabury Books published Black Battle, White Knight: The Authorized Biography of Malcolm Boyd by Michael Battle--with a Foreword by Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu. Publication date of June 8, 2011 coincided with Malcolm's 88th birthday. Boyd died of complications from pneumonia at the age of 91 in a Los Angeles on February 27, 2015.
Together from 1984 to 2015: 31 years.
Malcolm Boyd (June 8, 1923 – February 27, 2015)
Mark Thompson (August 19, 1952 – August 11, 2016)
Married: July 2013 



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

July 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2 3 456 78
9 101112 13 14 15
16 17181920 2122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 21st, 2017 08:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios