reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings

1)This adaptation of the famous poem, The Highwayman, is a historical romance between two women, one a local pastor's daughter and the other the dashing thief who robs nobles and uses these gains to help the poor.  The author presents historical details convincingly, describes a small rural town vividly, and provides the forward plot as well as the backstory in a manner that holds the reader's attention.


Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue
Lesbian - Historical Romance
File Size: 706 KB
Print Length: 252 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Supposed Crimes (August 1, 2017)
Publication Date: August 1, 2017
Amazon: Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue

Elizabeth Collington, the twenty-year-old daughter of a country vicar, longs for more than the circumscribed life of her 18th-century Devonshire village. When a highwayman steals a kiss along with her mother's necklace – provoking feelings of which her father would never approve – she suddenly has a secret no one must know. But the highwayman also has a secret: "he" is actually a woman.

Will the story of the highwayman's past – complete with a tyrannical husband, a gloomy castle, and a daring escape into London's underworld – persuade Elizabeth to abandon propriety in favor of passion? In the end, can the lovers make an independent life in a world where women are little more than property, evading both the redcoats and the jealous young lord who would tear them apart?

Daring and Decorum is comedy of manners wrapped around a gothic tale; a mashup of Jane Austen, Alfred Noyes' poem The Highwayman, Robin Hood, and Moll Cutpurse; and a passionate case for the freedom to love whom one chooses, Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel should appeal to fans of Ellen Kushner's Riverside series, Emma Donoghue's Life Mask, and Michelle Martin's Pembroke Park (billed as the first lesbian Regency).

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 25th, 2017 08:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios