Moment of Silence: Mike Briggs

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:53 pm
ysabetwordsmith: (moment of silence)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
[personal profile] callibr8 shared this news with me:

Mike Briggs (husband of author Patricia Briggs, best known for her urban fantasy series of 'Mercy Thompson' and 'Alpha and Omega' books) died suddenly, this morning. Patty's assistant Ann posted a message on Facebook: "It is with a very heavy heart that I write of the passing of one of the finest men I have ever known. Mike Briggs passed away very early this morning, very unexpectedly. We are all deeply in shock and grieving. Things on the webpage and Facebook will likely be a bit neglected while we sort things out and make all the necessary arrangements.   Mike was simply just an awesome and amazing man; we will miss him every day for the rest of our our lives.  The purple avenger will be doing his good works in heaven; I will strive to live up to the example and high standards that he set."

Can you recommend a book?

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:44 pm
[syndicated profile] leupagus_tumblr_feed

I mean, can you be more specific? What are you in the mood for - fiction, sci-fi, instructional, historical, biographical? Gimme a genre and I can hook you up.

Only 7 hours of sleep

Jan. 23rd, 2017 09:32 pm
archangelbeth: Woman doing a zombie "braaaaains" pose (Braaains!)
[personal profile] archangelbeth
But oddly I am not as exhausted as yesterday. Still not what I'd call productive in any way. I need to go complete my AppleWatch circles soon... (Tiny Tyrant!)

Havva Quote
I__ says, “I still want Section 31 Troi.”
I__ says, “We /saw/ her shoved into infiltration. Just imagine!”
I__ says, “And also the whole 'spy stuff versus clinical ethics' thing...”


INwatch+Bookwatch )


Dragons under fold )

Political linkspam (19 links)

Jan. 23rd, 2017 10:33 pm
umadoshi: (Ahiru determined (fritters))
[personal profile] umadoshi
For the UK folks: "HOPE Not Hate: Join the resistance".


Taking Action/Self-Care 4 links )


Other Stuff 14 links )

Books about the house

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:59 pm
flemmings: (Default)
[personal profile] flemmings
Ah. So there's a Mount To-be-read challenge ongoing at Goodreads, as follows:

Pike's Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR pile/s
Mount Blanc: Read 24 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Vancouver: Read 36 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Ararat: Read 48 books from your TBR piles/s
Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 60 books from your TBR pile/s
El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Everest: Read 100 books from your TBR pile/s
Mount Olympus (Mars): Read 150+ books from your TBR pile/s

and of course I think I could do that- but last year, devoted to reading stuff I already have, and even counting things I picked up in late 2015, didn't even get me to Ararat. And for now-

...well, I have one ancient doorstop on the go (A Distant Mirror) and two this-year doorstops, one from the library. I picked up LeGuin's Lavinia (provenance Aug 2015, Manning Ave) as a carry around, and got two pages into it. While not at all unreadable as say Doris Lessing, Leguin's prose and pov is desolatingly dry and chilly. Maybe that's why I like but do not love her. My eyesight deteriorates so I can no longer gallop through the volumes and volumes of manga still on the shelf. Though give ne a bright enough reading light and a magnifier and I might try.

But frankly, I think my main reading this year will be all comfort detectives and fantasy and mostly from the library: because god knows, one is in need of comfort.
ozaline: Ozma from Skottie Young and Eric Shanower's Ozma of Oz comic adaptation (Ozma)
[personal profile] ozaline posting in [community profile] scans_daily
Reposting one of my favourite Special Missions stories, for some catharsis.


Read more... )

[#029 | BAIT AND SWITCH] Voting Post

Jan. 23rd, 2017 09:03 pm
darjeeling: ([ MOD ] Fandom Weekly)
[personal profile] darjeeling posting in [community profile] fandomweekly
Congratulations writers, we've got 5 entries this week!

List of entries )

In order to vote, please reply to this post using the form provided. All comments are screened, and entries are listed in the order they were submitted. For your vote to qualify, you must fill out your entire voting card (all three spots) in order to be counted. First place votes are worth 3 points, second place votes are worth two points, and third place votes are worth one point. Meeting the bonus goal on an entry gets an extra point for that submission.

When voting, please copy/paste the ENTRY NUMBER and the FIC TITLE from the list above into the spot you're voting for (this prevents accidentally mis-numbering a vote and casting it for the wrong entry). It should look like this:

First Place: 61. Fic Title Here
Second Place: 88. Another Fic Title
Third Place: 47. Finally a third fic title goes here

Please note that you cannot vote for your own entry, and that votes cannot be made anonymously. You do not have to be a member of the community in order to vote, nor have submitted an entry for this week; everyone is welcome to participate in the voting. IP addresses are logged to prevent duplicate voting.



Voting closes Wednesday, January 25th, at 9:00PM EST.

My weekend - the MN Women's March

Jan. 23rd, 2017 06:57 pm
catherineldf: (Default)
[personal profile] catherineldf
Spent Thursday at home sick and Friday after work at the Susan Hensel Gallery kicking off the local chapter The Civility Project with a potluck, music and button-making. Saturday dawned bright and early with an assemblage of our friends gathering in our living room to carpool to the light rail station. The station was already packed and we were plied with donuts because someone brought some to share. The train was packed when it got there (and we're aways from St. Paul, where the rally was). We managed to get on the train and three stops later, it was wall to wall people and no one else was able to get on. We changed to the St. Paul line, missed the first one because it was too crowded, then caught the second one with more folks we knew. After that, every train station, every train, all the bus stops, all the passing buses were completely packed. Our local transit has never moved 90-100,000 people before so it was exciting times as they added on more trains, buses and personnel.

I wore this poster on my rain poncho (thanks to artist Hayley Gilmore who designed a bunch of great posters that people wore and carried. You can donate to her original art on her blog if you'd like to give back). And there were so, so many of us. We filled most of the blocks and bridges around the Capitol so marching was pretty slow and leisurely. My wife made little commemorative booklets with a quote from Audre Lorde on them and handed them out to folks. We all took pictures and chatted and walked. Listening to the speeches was more challenging further out in the crowd than we expected so after catching most of Ilhan Omar's speech, some of Senator Patricia Torres Ray's speech and bits and pieces of a few others, we wandered up toward the train station. It was completely packed as were the first three bus stops we passed so we wound up at a Szechuan hotpot restaurant (something none of us had tried before) and got to warm up and dry off while the crowds ebbed a bit. Then we were off to Minneapolis on another crowded train. And we finished off the day with cupcakes at A Cupcake Social.
So new friends made, new food tried, great event attended - here's to kicking off more work and more good stuff.




USB charging stations?

Jan. 24th, 2017 01:46 am
ffutures: (Default)
[personal profile] ffutures
Can anyone recommend a multi-socket USB charger station? I would prefer at least four sockets, the main things I will be keeping charged all the time are my iPad and iPhone, plus occasionally my nook, iPad keyboard, portable Wifi hub, etc. so not a huge amount of power consumption but safety and clean power are essential.

Any recommendations that won't break the bank?

Check-In – Day 23

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:40 pm
samuraiter: (Default)
[personal profile] samuraiter posting in [community profile] writethisfanfic
And the beat goes on. What have you been doing today?

— Thinking. Maybe a little, maybe a lot.
— Writing.
— Planning and / or researching.
— Editing.
— Sending things to the beta.
— Posting!
— Relaxing, taking a break, etc.
— Other stuff-ing. Look at the comment.

And today's question: Do you ever have so many characters on your plate that you forget who is whom, sometimes?

Issues Post #1

Jan. 23rd, 2017 07:37 pm
benedict: Illustration from Beauty and the Beast mod icon (Mod Once Upon)
[personal profile] benedict posting in [community profile] once_upon_fic
Every tagset has its questions. So here's today's!

Source needed:



Beauty and Pock Face - the wikipedia entry is complete enough I approved it, however, if anyone has a nice full version of the story on link anywhere, that would be useful. This seems like a really interesting story.

The Butterfly Lovers - same situation. I'd just like a more complete version to link, please.


Change or be rejected:



These will remain untouched in the tagset until I either get a response or the last day, at which point they will be rejected.

Irish Mythology - I need a specific story.

Robin Hood (Traditional) - can't be a nebulous myth, needs a specific version/source.


Lil' help:



The Aeneid and the Odyssey are both very long. If you have a specific part in mind, please tell me! Otherwise you may not end up with fic of the part you want. However, they are both approvable. I'll just be holding off on them until I either get a response or the last day when I will approve them.

Fan Fic Rec - White Collar - A/B/O

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:19 pm
elrhiarhodan: (Default)
[personal profile] elrhiarhodan
Title: It Takes a Village (To Make a Family)
Author: [archiveofourown.org profile] kyele
Characters: Peter Burke, Neal Caffrey, Elizabeth Burke, Clinton Jones, Diana Berrigan
Pairings: Peter/Elizabeth/Neal, Neal/Jones, Neal/Diana
Warnings: None
Summary: Peter and Elizabeth are Neal's Alphas, and as Neal is going into heat, the whole White Collar Pack gets to bless Neal and his upcoming pregnancy.

Tags: Alpha/Beta/Omega Dynamics, Polyamory, Fertility Rituals, Pearl Necklace (A/B/O version), Mating Cycles/In Heat, Breeding, Breeding Kink, Dirty Talk, Pack Dynamics, Pack Feels, Team as Family, Alternate Universe




Why is the so awesome (other than because it was written for me)? Because it's smoking hot, literate, fun, with just the touch of angst that comes with writing Neal. Kyele and I met through my love of all things Harrison Wells|Eobard Thawne/Barry Allen (The Flash), and I've greatly admired (okay, seriously fangirled) her writing in that fandom, as well her A/B/O masterpiece Ye Heirs of Glory for the BBC Three Musketeers series (check out her entire body of work on AO3). I recently suggested that she give White Collar a try, and she's consuming it fast - but not so fast that she didn't stop and write this for me (and for the rest of this amazing fandom).

Please join me in welcoming Kyele into the wonderful White Collar world!

Terrible news…

Jan. 24th, 2017 12:47 am
[syndicated profile] wavewithoutashore_feed

Posted by CJ

One of our dearest friends, Mike Briggs, of Mike and Patty Briggs---passed away unexpectedly of a sudden illness this morning. We're just devastated.

Monday Update 1-23-17

Jan. 23rd, 2017 07:09 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Artwork of the wordsmith typing. (typing)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
These are some posts from the later part of last week in case you missed them:
Go See "Monster Trucks"
Coping with Traumatic News
Grab Him by the Midterm
Poem: "Between Carefree and Careless"
Poem: "Your Heart and Your Trust"
Poem: "The Day You Start to Move Forward"
Hard Things
Today's Discovery


There will be a Poetry Fishbowl on Tuesday, January 24 with a theme of "nature." I'm aiming for short, stand-alone poems this time. Drop by tomorrow and give me ideas!

Nominations are still open for the 2017 Rose & Bay Awards.  Come nominate your crowdfunding favorites in these categories:
Art
Fiction
Poetry
Webcomic
Other Project
Patron

LiveJournal is malfunctioning again, so I'm posting this here in hopes that it will echo over there.  Due to the service disruption, I can't edit the open epics right now.  I'm frustrated because this should all have been done yesterday.  Sorry for the hassle.  I can't post open epics on Dreamwidth because the editing function is lousy.

Poetry in Microfunding:
"A Hope and a Promise" belongs to Polychrome Heroics.  Aidan and Saraphina discover a new toy.  "The Sharpest Dose of Reality" belongs to Polychrome Heroics: Shiv.  Pain's Gray attempts to take care of Shiv and Shiv continues to freak out over the intimacy.  This has been fully funded, and will be posted whenever LJ lets me edit the post again.  "So Much Worse in Its Consequences" belongs to Polychrome Heroics.  It shows what happens to Cho-Cho Glow after Antimatter and Stalwart Stan dump him at the police station.  It has been fully funded by an audience poll, and the remainder will go to "A Hope and a Promise" by default.  This means there are slots open for new epic poetry, but please hold off on that until LiveJournal is working again. 


The weather is moderate and damp.  This week at the birdfeeder I have seen some sparrows and a few mourning doves. I also saw a male cardinal by my office window.


Monday activism/links roundup

Jan. 23rd, 2017 05:16 pm
snickfic: (Default)
[personal profile] snickfic
These are getting pretty long, so I figured it's time to start cutting them. This one splits the news into "good" and "bad," which probably tells you a lot.

behind the cut )

Further experiments in the kitchen

Jan. 23rd, 2017 08:06 pm
kass: glass of white wine (white wine)
[personal profile] kass
I had a bunch of clementines that were past their prime -- skins too tight to peel and eat, but not yet going off. I knew I wasn't going to eat them. I hated the idea of throwing them away. So I did some googling.

I am making a batch of candied clementine slices now, and as soon as I buy some almond flour tomorrow I will aim to put said candied fruit slices on top of a clementine cake.

So yes, I'll be buying almond flour, which is an ingredient I did not previously have. Which means that this is not entirely successful as a money-saving venture. But if I manage to make something tasty out of fruit I would otherwise have pitched, I will be totally psyched about that.

Moar Questions!

Jan. 23rd, 2017 07:44 pm
lunabee34: (writer by sukibluefiction)
[personal profile] lunabee34
1. I've been having some pretty intense IC flare ups over the last week and a half. I've gone back on the super strict elimination diet, taken some more things out of my diet that I hadn't realized were potentially triggering, and quit taking my vitamins.

I started taking vitamins every day when I got home from Christmas because I'm concerned about vitamin deficiencies on this diet. Now, this should be completely obvious, but a bunch of those vitamins (and not just the multi but also the fish oil and the calcium) have ascorbic acid in them. *headdesk* I've gradually been feeling worse and worse since we got home from Christmas, and now I am convinced it's because of those damn vitamins.

For after only three days without them and back on the elimination diet, I am feeling pretty good. I'm not hurting nearly as badly as I was. I'm not 100% but so much better. Whoooooo!

This just underscores how important it is for me to thoroughly scrutinize everything I put in my mouth and not just food but medicines too.

I've been doing some more IC research, and I think that in addition to sabotaging myself with vitamins and popcorn with ascorbic acid in them, I didn't stay on the elimination diet long enough for the damage to heal. What I'm reading now says 3-6 month minimum. I also read some things that suggest that if I eliminate a trigger food for long enough (a year or more), it may cease to be one. I also tried to introduce new foods too quickly. So, learning stuff here.

2. Thanks for you input on remembering to take my meds. I've put up notes under the TV (which we usually eat in front of) and on the cabinet. I've put the meds on the coffee table where I usually eat, and I've set the alarm for dinner time. *crosses fingers*

3. Thanks also for everyone's input on how to approach a Write Every Day Project. I'm going to set a goal of 200 words daily but might revise that upwards after I've done it for awhile and get a sense of my capabilities. I also might take [personal profile] sholio's advice and change it to a weekly rather than daily goal. I'm definitely going to keep track of it so that I can see progress over time (probably in one of my super cute notebooks with big milestones recorded on DW). [personal profile] executrix pointed me to Written Kitten which looks like an awesome motivator. So, I think I'm going to set a start date for tomorrow!

4. When I asked for advice about writing a book about my autoimmune disorder experiences, [personal profile] executrix suggested that one way to go about getting a publishing deal is to write a popular blog on the topic which agents and publishers can use to see that you have a built in audience. I know this is an avenue that works because I'm seeing people all the time in magazines and etc who started out with a blog about a topic and then turned that into a book or a product or a store or some other kind of business.

I've been doing a little bit of superficial research about blogging to be popular and gain followers, but I'd like to hear your perspective:

a. If you have a blog that you use to promote your writing or your business, how does that work for you?
b. What's the best blogging platform to accomplish this? I'm thinking Wordpress, but IDK.
c. Do I really have to get on Facebook and Instagram and Twitter and etc?
d. How much work is this approach likely to be? The writing content part I don't think I will struggle with. I've looked at a few tutorials that talk about having a good profile page, having lots of banked content before you go live, how to title posts for better search engine results. But the getting readership part sounds super involved. Thoughts?

Yoga Lessons

Jan. 24th, 2017 12:08 am
hollymath: drawing in black of owl wearing big red glasses.Words on its belly:"it's not about how you look, it's about how you see" (Default)
[personal profile] hollymath
Here are the things I have learned from three weeks of yoga classes on a Monday evening:
  1. Bring a bottle of water next time. You meant to do that last week, and forgot until you got there and saw someone with one this week. You get more thirsty than you think.
  2. Don't wear the green leggings again. They're in danger of falling down.
  3. You really like yoga even though you worry it's taking an approach to life with a long, complex history and making it into appropriative exercise for white people.
  4. It is okay that you're the only person in the class who can't do a shoulder stand. It's okay that you could do one last week and not this week. You have been reassured that the version you can do (basically, a bridge up against a wall) is just as good. It would help if you believed this but it's something that you now it is true and that it's what you'd say to anyone else in your (ha) position.

Thorston

Jan. 23rd, 2017 11:51 pm
[syndicated profile] dailykitten_feed

Posted by Tom "The Kittenmaster" Cooper

Please allow me to introduce you all to the newest Star Kit on TDK, Thorston. He is a 3 year old DSH from Pinole, California.

Thorston

Rescued Thorston from the humane society on 12/31/16. He is just the sweetest little love bug.

Thorston

Thorston

[ SECRET POST #3674 ]

Jan. 23rd, 2017 06:40 pm
case: (Default)
[personal profile] case posting in [community profile] fandomsecrets

⌈ Secret Post #3673 ⌋

Warning: Some secrets are NOT worksafe and may contain SPOILERS.

01.


More! )


Notes:

Secrets Left to Post: 02 pages, 32 secrets from Secret Submission Post #525.
Secrets Not Posted: [ 0 - broken links ], [ 0 - not!secrets ], [ 0 - not!fandom ], [ 0 - too big ], [ 0 - repeat ].
Current Secret Submissions Post: here.
Suggestions, comments, and concerns should go here.

(no subject)

Jan. 23rd, 2017 05:19 pm
telophase: (Default)
[personal profile] telophase
I posted about an annoying thing under f-lock, so to get myself feeling better, here's a couple of more positive things:

1) I went on a mad cleaning binge on December 31, and Jan 1 & 2 , and the house is still clean! It's helped that I scrounged and bought large baskets and other containers and put them into the rooms that collect clutter, and made them the Clutter Collection Bins: things that we'd normally just let sit around messing up the place, or things that need to stay out because one of us is returning to continue a project or whatnot go into the bins instead.

2) Toby continues to be hilarious at Fallout 4. Last night he took on dozens and dozens and DOZENS of synth troopers armed with only power armor and a knife. The PS4 almost died under the load of rendering all the bodies. I have a crappy phone video of two minutes of the fight, and we'll be pulling the 15 minutes that he managed to grab off the PS4 tonight and hopefully uploading it. How does this fight happen? Well, if you go into the Institute and lay waste to it, turns out the game really really doesn't want you to leave and so spawns wave after wave of synth troopers in an effort to try and stop you.

In which I make a tactical error

Jan. 23rd, 2017 02:11 pm
gwyn: (penguinsucks infinitemonkeys)
[personal profile] gwyn
I am in that fugue state where you have had so little sleep for the past however many days (in my case, since Thursday) that everything seems kind of trippy and weird, and people talk to you and you have no idea what they're saying, and your body aches and you're exhausted yet you can't, paradoxically, sleep.

All of this brought to me by puppies. If I ever try to sign up to foster a puppy litter again, shoot me. Just put me down before I even get close. I am numb with exhaustion, and I keep trying to find time to just write or do something other than clean up shit and pee, but it never happens. A lot of it is because the mama is not housetrained, and she will use potty pads but she misses more often than not, or tries to poop in strange places like she's upset and doesn't know what else to do. Always at the wee hours of the morning, too, and then first thing when I get up I'm cleaning poo off the little kiddie pool the puppies reside in, and I'm cleaning up her poo and puddles of pee, and oh my god, it hasn't been a week and already I am at the end of my rope. The laundry is never ending, because they pee and poop on the blankets of course, they're babies, and now that they're eating mush they are pooping real poo.

And then they're super cute and mouth on my fingers and lick my arms and hands and get all excited when they hear my voice and I'm like "oooooo" and almost all is forgiven. Mama will go outside during the day, but she has to eat pretty much all day long to nurse the pups so she poops constantly and that means at night, when I can't take her out all the time--or at least, I take her out at night, but she often just wanders around and doesn't do anything--I end up having to clean it up, and let me tell you, for a tiny, skinny, undernourished little 10 pound doggo, she poops for a dog about six times her size. And of course, there is, to me, no worse smell in the world than dog crap.

The babies also seem to love being active at night, and they whine and wail because Mum has taken to hanging out in her crate away from them as she gets closer to weaning, and they're like "whyyyyy have you forsaken us?" So far one of them--I think it's Kara Danvers, or it could be Winn Schott--has escaped the pool and I've had to go rescue them, you'd have thought they were being murdered. And Blues is hostile, of course, to Mum and so she's in a constant state of terror about coming out to the living room or office and she's already super, super timid and afraid, but when he's gone after her there hasn't been any contact though from the screaming you'd have thought he had cut her throat. I am just stressed the fuck out.

[profile] blackbird777 came down on Saturday and actually stayed with them all for an hour so I could go out and run some errands. It's tough to be away for long, what with all the problems and the fucking drama. Tomorrow I'll probably have to move them into a pen, which will be harder for the mother to get into and out of, meaning I'll have to be standing by a lot more. Ugh.

They are cute as hell and funny and their personalities are coming out, but wow, is this killing me. I'm trying to post at least a pic a day, if not video, on Tumblr and Instagram. Hopefully if I'm ever stupid enough to try this again, I'll look at my feed and remember this.

まるです。

Jan. 23rd, 2017 11:00 pm
[syndicated profile] maru_feed

Posted by mugumogu

 


初めてゴミ箱に入ってみたはな。
Hana tries the trash box for the first time.

それを見ていたまる。
Maru saw it.

まる:「ふむふむ。あいつが入ったのはこっちですね。」
Maru:[She entered here.]

まる:「よっこいせっと。」
Maru:[I get on here.]

はな:「開かなーい! なんでー?」
まる:「さあ、なんででしょう?」
Hana:[I can’t go out of here. Why???]
Maru:[I don’t know!]

 

まるをどけたら、無事に出てきたはな。
I moved Maru.

はな:「なんかもー、こりごり!」
Hana:[I’m sick of trash box!]

Killjoys season one 1 to 5

Jan. 23rd, 2017 10:37 pm
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I sat down and watched the whole of disc one of season one of Killjoys, five episodes in a row.
And while I did that I did the monday cleaning, because that's just fill laundry empty laundry change program repeat, or dishwasher same. But that made it a very accomplished day, so I win.

... I win with a headache. That feels like too much staring. Maybe my glasses are not quite right? I barely wear them for reading anymore cause they feel odd, but I need them for the TV.

ANYway. Killjoys.

I like it. I don't love it and I only vaguely like the characters so far. Gender is only balanced if you count Lucy the ship. And it does that thing where a woman needs an excuse to be kickarse.

But it's having fun with worldbuilding, there's a bunch of female characters being politicians and so forth, and there's lots of running around shooting things or having horrible things happen to them yet enduring.

It's a bit dark really, it keeps making me ponder what I'd rather be watching instead, with less internal organs showing.

And yet I watched the whole disc in a row, and have only stopped because feeling a bit blergh.



Oh, also? Picture quality as it should be, so it's just Agent Carter discs being wrong.

And the subtitles are excellent, they're the very rare sort that care about where on the screen they are and tell you who is speaking by where they're put. They're a joy to watch. Ten out of ten, would employ whoever did these to resub everything else.

... I get frustrated when this is a thing that can be done, yet subs get thrown on as an afterthought, if we're lucky.

But for true, these are the good stuff.




Maybe I want to watch something where political marriages and trade deals save the day. I don't know, seems like I'd have to go out of genre for that.



But this was good to watch.

Just very biological quite often.

art: the small things

Jan. 23rd, 2017 05:38 pm
digthewriter: (Sirius_Young_Gif1)
[personal profile] digthewriter
Title: The Small Things
Author/Artist: [personal profile] digthewriter
Pairing: Remus/Sirius
Rating: G
Summary: Remus takes pleasure in Sirius resting against him as they study.
Notes: Originally created for [livejournal.com profile] rs_small_gifts. My recipient was [livejournal.com profile] woldy with the prompt: hygge.

The Small Things )
starwolf_oakley: (Default)
[personal profile] starwolf_oakley posting in [community profile] scans_daily


Our main character, Savior 28, is a hero from the Golden Age, the same era that gave us the original versions of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and Captain America. We follow his evolution through the decades—-reaching the crisis point where a series of traumatic events conspire to push S-28 over the edge. He finally sees that the way he's been doing things all these years isn't just wrong, it's insane.

He realizes he has to find a New Way to live, to work for change in the world. Problem is, after seven decades of solving problems with his fists, he has no clue what that Way is. And when he finally does find The Way, he discovers that most of the world isn't ready to go along with him.


J.M. DeMatteis

Peace is the way )

Sniffles, and an HP Theory

Jan. 23rd, 2017 02:13 pm
jedibuttercup: (harry potter)
[personal profile] jedibuttercup
So the baby's bronchial ailment? Yeah, every single one of the rest of us came down sick a few days later, and I'm still getting over it. Writing, not happening. I'll try to get something out soon, though.

In the meanwhile, I've realized something rather alarming re: the Harry at the Dursleys mess, prompted by the Scamander movie and a rewatch of all the HP films, that's a little harder to refute than many past 'Dumbledore is malignant, not misguided' ideas I've come across. I really don't think JKR always thinks the implications of the story threads she puts out there through ....

Contains Spoilers for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them... )

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

January 2017

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jan. 24th, 2017 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios