(no subject)

Jun. 22nd, 2017 07:27 pm
baranduin: (Sunflower from casey28)
[personal profile] baranduin
Hey Project Runway peeps, new season starts August 17!

Enjoying lots of new summer icons from [personal profile] casey28, check them out on her journal :-)

Swan Knight's Son

Jun. 22nd, 2017 10:24 pm
marycatelli: (Golden Hair)
[personal profile] marycatelli posting in [community profile] book_love
Swan Knight's Son by John C. Wright

The first in the Green Knight's Squire trilogy.

Gil, just thrown out of school, is asleep in a park when a raven wakes him. He learns that magic is afoot with all sorts of people walking their sleep, but he manages to take refuge in an abandoned church, with the help of a monk named Francis.
Read more... )
shadowkat: (Default)
[personal profile] shadowkat
Finally saw the latest Doctor Who which once again cut off the last two minutes. Dang it. That was the best part of the entire episode.

However, Doctor Who, Episode 10, Eater of the Light by Scottish playwrite and tele-writer Rona Munro, who also wrote the Doctor Who episode Survival in 1989, and is among the few female writers of the series, was actually among the better episodes to date.

I am, however, wondering why all the soliders in these episodes are dressed in red, and all the monsters seem to lizards or fish. (Yes, I know Roman soliders tended to wear red...but, not always, and why these soliders?) Maybe that's just me? Maybe it is coincidence? There were a few that weren't, not many, but a few. Maybe...there's some sort of metaphor relating to ancient Rome and the Scots that I'm missing because I don't remember the history that well? (I vaguely remember visiting Hadrian's Wall in the 1980s, and hearing the tale about how the Scots built it and kept the Romans back. Rome was able to conquer everyone but Scotland, in part due to the wall, in part due to the cold.)

There also seems to be an on-going theme about shutting out the light. Along with the agency/choice theme.

Not overly sure the episodic nature of this season works. With just snippets of an overall arc.

This was a metaphor heavy episode, as opposed to plot heavy, which I think worked better. Had a sort of fairy tale structure to it. Also worked better from a structural perspective. I actually prefer Doctor Who when it follows a more dark fairy tale style than sci-fi style. Mainly because I'm not sure these writers are very adept at sci-fi.
Am wondering if it is possible to do an episode without a monster of the week?

Eh, spoilers )
[syndicated profile] get_it_here_feed

Posted by smurfette34

Okay Darlings,

So the basic plot is listed in the subject line but here is a more in-depth description:

Brian is told by Michael that Justin has found someone else while he's in NY and is not sure how to break it off with Brian. When in truth, he only saw Justin for all of an hour because Justin had to go work at his gallery job and Michael was in town for a comic convention (big surprise! just saying, LOL). Anyway hearing the lie, Emmett sets Brian straight.
Meanwhile, Michael has told Justin the exact same thing, only in regards to Brian.

I know that I have read this fairly recently but for the life of me, I cannot remember the title. HELP!!

Thanks in Advance you all can give me in this quest to save my sanity!

Happy Reading,
~Nichelle 

2 links for the 22nd of June 2017

Jun. 22nd, 2017 09:15 pm
sasha_feather: Black, white, and red image of woman with futuristic helmet (Sci Fi Woman)
[personal profile] sasha_feather posting in [community profile] access_fandom
When Fan Conventions Exclude Deaf people, they fail everyone
by Alex Lu, at the Establishment

https://theestablishment.co/when-fan-conventions-exclude-deaf-people-they-fail-everyone-a138b0182b04

Creation Entertainment’s refusal to provide access comes at a time when the inclusion of people with disabilities at fan conventions is increasingly recognized as an issue.

How Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon Manage That 'Big Sick' Illness in Real Life
by Ashley Lee, at the Hollywood Reporter

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/big-sick-emilys-illness-is-real-based-a-distressing-true-story-1015698

It’s not ideal to fall in love with someone who’s in a coma, but that’s what happens to Kumail Nanjiani in The Big Sick — and in real life. The Silicon Valley actor co-wrote the romantic dramedy with wife Emily V. Gordon, based on their actual courtship (Zoe Kazan portrays her onscreen, and Holly Hunter and Ray Romano play her parents).

The titular sickness remains unnamed throughout most of the movie, as it was to Gordon for much of her life.

160 Icons

Jun. 22nd, 2017 06:39 pm
luminousdaze: Edina from Absolutely Fabulous series two, holding Pop Specs up to eyes (Ab Fab: Pop Specs)
[personal profile] luminousdaze posting in [community profile] fandom_icons
(52) Doctor Who, (70) Various TV (22) Absolutely Fabulous, (25) Empire, (32) various movies & celebs
Icons include variations

160 multi-fandom icons

Jun. 22nd, 2017 06:24 pm
luminousdaze: Doctor Who's 12th Doctor from series nine touching the frame of his Sonic Sunglasses (Default)
[personal profile] luminousdaze posting in [community profile] icons
(52) Doctor Who, (70) Various TV (22) Absolutely Fabulous, (25) Empire, (32) various movies & celebs
Icons include variations

[hxx] [story] Squirrel-Fishing

Jun. 22nd, 2017 08:29 pm
yhlee: fox with nine tails with eyes (hxx emblem Shuos)
[personal profile] yhlee
For A.B.
Prompt: "Shuos pranks."

with apologies to the black squirrels of Stanford University campus

Jedao and Ruo had set up shop at the edge of one of the campus gardens, the one with the carp pond and the carefully maintained trees. Rumor had it that some of the carp were, in addition to being over a hundred years old, outfitted with surveillance gear. Like most Shuos cadets, Jedao and Ruo would, if questioned, laugh off the rumors while secretly believing in them wholeheartedly--at least the bit about surveillance gear. Jedao had argued that the best place to hide what they were doing was in plain sight. After all, who would be so daft as to run a prank right next to surveillance?

"Lovely day, isn't it?" Ruo said brightly.

Jedao winced. "Not so loud," he said. His head was still pounding after last night's excesses, and the sunlight wasn't helping. Why did he keep letting Ruo talk him into things? It wasn't just that Ruo was really good in bed. He had this way of making incredibly risky things sound fun. Going out drinking? In itself, not that bad. Playing a drinking game with unlabeled bottles of possibly-alcohol-possibly-something-else stolen from Security's hoard of contraband? Risky. Some of those hallucinations had been to die for, though, especially when he started seeing giant robots in the shape of geese.

Fortunately, this latest idea wasn't that risky. Probably. Besides, of the many things that the other cadets had accused Jedao of, low risk tolerance wasn't one of them.

"Not my fault you can't hold your drink," Ruo said, even more brightly.

"I'm going to get you one of these days," Jedao muttered.

Ruo's grin flashed in his dark brown face. "More like you'll lose the latest bet and--" He started describing what he'd do to Jedao in ear-burning detail.

At last one of the other first-years, puzzled by what Jedao and Ruo were doing by the carp pond with a pair of fishing poles, approached. Jedao recognized them: Meurran, who was good at fixing guns despite their terrible aim, and who had a glorious head of wildly curling hair. "Security's not going to approve of you poaching the carp," Meurran said.

"Oh, this isn't for the carp," Ruo said. He flicked his fishing pole, and the line with its enticing nut snaked out toward one of the trees.

Meurran gave Ruo a funny look. "Ruo," they said, "the fish are in the opposite direction."

"Please," Jedao said, "who cares about the fish? No one has anything to fear from the fish. That's just nonsense."

"All right," Meurran said, sounding distinctly unimpressed, "then what?"

Come on, Jedao thought, the nut is right there...

As if on cue, a black squirrel darted down from the tree, then made for the nut.

Ruo tugged the nut just out of reach.

The black squirrel looked around, then headed for the nut again.

"Oh, isn't that adorable?" Meurran said.

"Don't be fooled!" Ruo said as he guided the squirrel in a figure-eight through the grass. "Why would the commandant be so stupid as to rely on carp, which can't even leave their pond?"

Meurran glanced involuntarily at the pond, where two enormous carp were lazily circling near the surface, as if the carp, in fact, had a habit of oozing out onto the land and spying on lazy cadets. "You're saying the squirrels--?"

Ruo continued to cause the squirrel to chase after the nut. "It makes sense, doesn't it? Everyone thinks the black squirrels are the cutest. They're even featured in the recruitment literature. Damnably clever piece of social engineering if you ask me."

Meurran was starting to look persuaded in spite of themselves.

Meanwhile, as Ruo made his case, Jedao leaned back and studied the squirrel with a frown. The local population of black squirrels was mostly tame to begin with and had proven to be easy to train with the aid of treats. (Ruo had made Jedao do most of this, "because you're the farm boy.") But while Ruo and Meurran argued about squirrel population dynamics, Jedao caught a slight flash from behind the squirrel's eyes--almost like that of a camera?

He opened his mouth to interrupt.

The squirrel made an odd convulsing motion, and the light flashed again, this time directly into Jedao's eyes.

Jedao closed his mouth, and kept his thoughts to himself.

Garden Photos

Jun. 22nd, 2017 08:27 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
I posted two batches of garden photos from Monday, one of flowers and one of birds

Solved

Jun. 22nd, 2017 09:25 pm
flemmings: (Default)
[personal profile] flemmings
Just as LJ occasionally logs one out for no reason, so it arbitrarily ticks the "View all journals and communities in my own style" box under Display. Have unticked. Shall see what difference this makes on my phone; must say that my own style loads a lot faster than the RSS feeds that FB- arbitrarily again- converts selected LJs to. For no reason: they aren't feeds at all.

(no subject)

Jun. 22nd, 2017 07:47 pm
nestra: (pushing daisies)
[personal profile] nestra
I just rewatched "Four Weddings and a Funeral" on a plane. (Except for the Auden part, because I did not wish to cry on a plane.) I had thoughts.
  1. Boy, this was just peak Hugh Grant.
  2. They're lucky they had Hugh Grant, because the character's actually a pretty terrible person.
  3. Andie Macdowell. Yeeeeah.
  4. I started out mentally substituting Amy Adams for her. Then I decided to substitute Haley Atwell, even though it made no sense, with the character being American. Then I decided to substitute no one, because she is also an awful character.
  5. The movie really shows its age with the Simon Callow/John Hannah relationship. No one ever says the word "gay", they never kiss, and John Hannah is introduced at the funeral as "his closest friend."
  6. I almost wish for Kirsten Scott Thomas' character to end up with Hugh Grant, except not, because as noted above, terrible.

(no subject)

Jun. 22nd, 2017 05:39 pm
tidal_race: (adorable)
[personal profile] tidal_race posting in [community profile] leverage
Title: Never Seen One That Big
Fandom: Leverage
Pairing(s): Aimee Martin/Eliot Spencer
Rating: General Audiences
Word Count: 146
Warnings: None
Summary: Give Me One Sentence, I'll Write You Five More: "I've never seen one that big."
A/N: For lynne-monstr
Ao3 Link
DW Link

Weekly Reading

Jun. 22nd, 2017 05:10 pm
torachan: ewan mcgregor pulling his glasses down to look over the top (ewan glasses)
[personal profile] torachan
What are you currently reading?
I have just one chapter (about twenty pages) left to go in The New Jim Crow, so I will probably finish that either tonight or tomorrow. One thing I learned in the most recent chapter, which I had no idea about is that although prisoners cannot vote while imprisoned, the prison populations are used in creating voting districts and such. Most prisons are built in rural areas with very low, mostly white populations. These areas should hold very little power based on population, but because their numbers are padded by thousands of non-voting (mostly black) prisoners, they gain much more weight. Like the extreme gerrymandering in so many areas, this is nothing but an obvious power grab by republicans who know they don't have the numbers to support themselves in a fair vote. >:(

I'm also just a few chapters away from finishing The Library at Mount Char, too. This book is definitely a wild ride and I'm looking forward to seeing how it ends.

What did you recently finish reading?
I finished up Public Library and Other Stories yesterday, spurred on by the fact that it was due back at the library today. Overall I enjoyed the stories, but found the title and cover blurbs a bit misleading. There was no story called Public Library, and the stories were not so much library-themed as language- and book-themed. They were still good stories, but it wasn't quite what I was expecting.

What do you think you'll read next?
Well, I had pre-ordered the new 7 Seeds and just got an email from Amazon last night that it had been downloaded to my ipad, so I will probably be reading that pretty soon. The last chapter apparently came out this month, but I'm not sure how many more volumes that will be since I don't follow the chapters as they're published, but probably just one or two. Maybe more if she does bonus material like she did for Basara.

Thursday Yardening

Jun. 22nd, 2017 06:10 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
Today is cloudy, cool, and breezy.  Earlier I took pictures.

I planted two lemon thyme plants in the Goddess Garden, and watered potted plants. 

まるです。

Jun. 22nd, 2017 11:00 pm
[syndicated profile] maru_feed

Posted by mugumogu

 


まる:「さてと、今日もうどんを捏ねますか。」
Maru:[I also knead Udon today.]


まる:「ストローを咥えて男前度もアップですよ。」
Maru:[I have a straw in my mouth.]
うどん捏ね終わったようなので、はなさんも遊びますか?
Hey Hana, are you want to play with this?

はな:「くんくん。」
Hana:[I sniff.]


はな:「うげぇー!」
Hana:[Ew!!]


まる:「あのチビめ。」
Maru:[Hey!! Do not tell a lie!]

[ SECRET POST #3823 ]

Jun. 22nd, 2017 06:36 pm
case: (Default)
[personal profile] case posting in [community profile] fandomsecrets

⌈ Secret Post #3823 ⌋

Warning: Some secrets are NOT worksafe and may contain SPOILERS.

01.


More! )


Notes:

Secrets Left to Post: 01 pages, 12 secrets from Secret Submission Post #547.
Secrets Not Posted: [ 0 - broken links ], [ 0 - not!secrets ], [ 0 - not!fandom ], [ 0 - too big ], [ 0 - repeat ].
Current Secret Submissions Post: here.
Suggestions, comments, and concerns should go here.
[syndicated profile] wavewithoutashore_feed

Posted by CJ

It’s been so cold that fishy brains have been on hiatus. They get instinctive and spooky when their system is on the edge of winter sleep, and our weather has been that cold. The brain is a very energy-hungry part of the body, and it goes on holiday when the fishes are hunkered down by the bottom pump to stay warm. The instinct says go deep, keep in the dark, and run if you see movement. And that’s all that’s processing.

Also, these are babies which have had nothing in their lives but ‘run when the school runs’ and ‘stay together.’

We got Goku and Sanzo to shepherd them but they’ve been so cold they’ve hunkered down too.

Now we’re getting warmth, and the fishes are beginning to swim quietly, with purpose, the mouths are working, skimming the bottom, and they’re beginning to take in the idea that food happens when we’re close, so we’re not a bad thing. They’ve been coming into the sunlight, seeking warmth. We have several 4′ diameter patches of water lilies, white, sunset, pink, and yellow, and they hide there, but come out to see if food is available. They’re also hiding in the bridge shadow, but coming out into the sun warmth.

So nice to see.

[syndicated profile] wwdn_feed

Posted by Wil

Oh my god you guys this was so much fun to play and film.

Steam Park is the rare tabletop game with a dice mechanic at its core that I can massively enjoy playing, no matter what the dice do to me.

Get ready for poop jokes!!

Hello

Jun. 22nd, 2017 10:37 pm
anxiousgeek: (Default)
[personal profile] anxiousgeek posting in [community profile] 2017revival
I'm sort of trying to find something...fandom friends, or maybe just friends.


I'm 35, bi, gf, married with a kid. I live in Wales, I work in a pharmacy and write fiction and poetry too. 

I've got five cats and four chickens.

I will always love Stargate (SG-1 and SGA) and Trek (TNG, DS9, VOY) I have passing interests in other and currently love Dragon Age, MCU, Steven Universe, Brooklyn 99. I don't write as much fanfic as I used to still have a lot of ideas peculating up there. I miss being part of fandom though I've always felt like I was on the fringes.


I ship f/f and het mostly, and I read that too but I will write anything. Any pairing. I'm either mental or gifted. Not sure which.

I love old films from the beggining to the 70s. Love MST3K. The new series was great. I love crap films, I hate reboots but I will watch them sometimes.


I have a post here that has more about me if you want to check it out.


torachan: (koi-iji)
[personal profile] torachan


Title: Koi-iji: Love Glutton
Original Title: こいいじ (Koiiji)
Author: Shimura Takako
Publisher: Kiss
Genre: Josei
Status in Japan: 6 volumes, ongoing
Scanlator: Megchan's Scanlations feat. Migeru
Scanlation Status: Ongoing
More Info: Baka Updates

Summary: 31-year-old Mame has been in love with her childhood friend Souta ever since she can remember. Despite multiple rejections, her love has stayed constant. It's become a habit more than anything, but is it one she'll ever be able to break and get on with her life?

Chapter Summary: Souta's reaction when Mame tells him she broke up with Kawada-san is the last thing she was expecting.



Chapter 18: Something's Gotta Give

Hello

Jun. 22nd, 2017 09:56 pm
anxiousgeek: (Default)
[personal profile] anxiousgeek posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
I'm sort of trying to find something...fandom friends, or maybe just friends.

I will always love Stargate (SG-1 and SGA) and Trek (TNG, DS9, VOY) I have passing interests in other and currently love Dragon Age, MCU, Steven Universe, Brooklyn 99.

I'm 35, bi, gf, married with a kid. I don't write as much fanfic as I used to still have a lot of ideas peculating up there. I miss being part of fandom though I've always felt like I was on the fringes.

I ship f/f and het mostly, and I read that too but I will write anything. Any pairing. I'm either mental or gifted. Not sure which.

I love old films from the beginning to the 70s. Love MST3K. The new series was great. I love crap films, I hate reboots but I will watch them sometimes.

I live in Wales, I work in a pharmacy and write fiction and poetry too.

I have an intro post here for more about me.
twistedchick: General Leia in The Force Awakens (Default)
[personal profile] twistedchick
Why a so-called "pro-life" world has a lot of dead women in it. It isn't really pro-life unless it includes food and shelter and clothes for everyone, health care for everyone, and income for everyone. That's pro-life. RetroRepublicans are only pro-birth; they don't give a damn what happens once that baby is here.

In Missouri, if you use birth control, had an abortion or are pregnant (covering all bases, you notice), you can lose a job, be fired, be not hired. I assume they are not counting condoms as birth control, or they'd have to fire a lot of men, and that just wouldn't do, would it? ::sarcasm filter on full blast:: More on this ignorant stupidity here.



***

Police are literally dragging people away from Sen. McConnell's office as protests break out over the Republican anti-health bill. I refuse to call it a health bill; it is against health.

The Trump occupation will allow nursing homes to strip residents of their legal rights. I want this one to go all the way to the Supreme Court so it can be slapped down so hard it echoes. And Trump has removed protections for Yellowstone grizzlies. Can we have *him* tell the grizzlies that? Up close and personal?

Oh, and His Trumpetness's minions say diabetics "don't deserve" health insurance.

***

The Supreme Court unanimously made it harder for the government to revoke anyone's citizenship.

Why aren't bisexuals more welcomed at Pride?

A hospice for elderly dogs who have been abandoned by owners who can't/won't deal with the medical costs that come with age, or whose people have died and have nobody to take them.

Oh Dear, I Fear This is So True....

Jun. 22nd, 2017 11:13 pm
sallymn: (muppet 3)
[personal profile] sallymn


(click to enlarge)

nanila: wrong side of the mirror (me: wrong side of the mirror)
[personal profile] nanila
I have been outrageously busy at work this week and I don't have the brain to string these together into a proper narrative. My apologies. So: Have a series of happy photos from the past week or so.

20170617_171856
[Keiki with freshly dug potatoes in his fist, ready to deposit them in one of the two white bowls in front of him.]

We ate our first potato harvest tonight. Yum!

+6 )

fountain pens!

Jun. 22nd, 2017 03:38 pm
yhlee: wax seal (hxx Deuce of Gears)
[personal profile] yhlee
I did an essay for Tor.com, The Beauty of Physical Writing, on fountain pens! There's a photo of some of my fountain pens over there.

From left to right, for the curious: Waterman 52V, Webster Four-Star, Scriptorium Pens Master Scrivener in Red Stardust, Conway Stewart Churchill in Red Stardust, Aurora 75th Anniversary, Nakaya Naka-ai in aka-tamenuri, Wahl-Eversharp Doric in Kashmir with #3 adjustable nib, and Pilot Vanishing Point Twilight.

Meanwhile, I swear I am writing flash fic right now. This caffeine is taking an unholy amount of time to kick in...

Junsei

Jun. 22nd, 2017 07:35 pm
[syndicated profile] dailykitten_feed

Posted by Tom "The Kittenmaster" Cooper

Please join me in meeting and greeting our latest Star Kit, Junsei. He is a 6 week old Tabby from Seattle.

Junsei Ki Tamaoki

Junsei was rescued, along with his sister, from the bushes of Seattle by a young couple unable to care for him. Sadly he and his sister were split up before he came to me. Junsei loves shoelaces, kitten milk, long naps and playing with anything that dangles: preferably earrings. He is a very smart young kitty and potty trained himself immediately. Since he’s so little, he often uses a meditation cushion as a landing pad when jumping off the bed.

Junsei Ki Tamaoki

New verses in "A Hope and a Promise"

Jun. 22nd, 2017 02:55 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Damask smiling over their shoulder (polychrome)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
Thanks to a donation from [personal profile] dialecticdreamer, there are 15 new verses in "A Hope and a Promise."   Mrs. Ozenne and Aidan talk about school and play options.  Saraphina talks about her terrible past.  (Toddler phrasing, but graphic description of witnessed violence.)

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

June 2017

S M T W T F S
     1 23
4 5 6 7 8910
11 12 1314 151617
1819 2021 222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jun. 23rd, 2017 03:23 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios