opalsong: (podfic)
[personal profile] opalsong posting in [community profile] amplificathon


Title: Thicker Than Water
Author: KouriArashi
Reader: Opalsong
Fandom: Teen Wolf
Pairings: Allison/Scott, Derek/Stiles, Erica/Stiles, Melissa McCall/Sheriff Stilinski
Rating: Teen
Length (total): 7:26:52
Music: Give 'Em Hell, Kid by My Chemical Romance
Cover: Opalsong (heavily influenced by Kylie L's gorgeous covers for this series)
Summary:Stiles is busy enough with his final semester of high school and his ever-growing pack without his grandparents showing up. He wants to keep them clueless about the supernatural to keep them safe, which won't be easy to do with a new killer stalking the streets of Beacon Hills...

Podbooks Link:
Podbook [7:26:52; 211.7MB]

Chapter Links [length; size]:
Chapter 1 [28:06; 38.8MB]
Chapter 2 [43:05; 59.4MB]
Chapter 3 [35:11; 48.5MB]
Chapter 4 [35:52; 27.7MB]
Chapter 5 [45:27; 34.9MB]
Chapter 6 [26:14; 20.7MB]
Chapter 7 [26:40; 36.8MB]
Chapter 8 [30:50; 24.4MB]
Chapter 9 [29:02; 22.6MB]
Chapter 10 [30:16; 23.6MB]
Chapter 11 [29:44; 23.3MB]
Chapter 12 [31:44; 43.8MB]
Chapter 13 [31:07; 24.2MB]
Chapter 14 [23:34; 17.9MB]

Thanks to Paraka for hosting!!

cross posted at amplificathon, my journal, and AO3

Archivists: Please do not archive this work.

Happy birthday

Mar. 26th, 2017 10:33 am
dorothy1901: Gilda: Put the blame on Mame (Default)
[personal profile] dorothy1901
Happy birthday, [personal profile] unovis and [personal profile] lastrega! May it be a joyous one.
opalsong: (podfic)
[personal profile] opalsong posting in [community profile] amplificathon


Title: katsuki_fc wrote
Author: tetsurashian
Producers: Opalsong & Rhea314
Readers: Hananobira, Opalsong, Rhea314, thriceandonce, marianas, Godoflaundrybaskets, fishpatrol, StarCat13, RsCreighton, knight_tracer, Shmaylor, RevolutionaryJo, KDHeart, the24thkey, Ailis_Fictive, theleanansidhe, Fleur Rochard, bessyboo, illutu, SomethingIncorporeal, & the_dragongirl
Fandom: Yuri!! on Ice
Pairings: Yuuri/Victor
Rating: General Audiences
Length: 2:28:18
Size: 204.1MB
Music: Yuri on Ice by 梅林太郎
Cover: Opalsong
Summary: Just because Yuuri isn't big on social media, doesn't mean his fans aren't.

(aka a social media fic)

Link: mp3

Thanks to Paraka for hosting!!

cross posted at amplificathon, my journal, and AO3

Poem: "Pieces of broken glass"

Mar. 26th, 2017 03:22 pm
zimena: A stack of books (Misc - Books)
[personal profile] zimena
This is the first time I'm posting a poem to this journal unfiltered. Not because this is an especially good poem (I'm not making any claims there. Besides, I'm not adhering to any strict poetic rules or anything - this is just me experimenting with writing what comes to mind), but mostly just because this is such a familiar feeling to me, and I wanted to share it with others even though it might sound strange.

Pieces of broken glass

I’m not trying to look strong.
Or pretend that everything is
Perfectly normal and okay.
I’m just trying to deal with life,
Day by day.
Yet, sometimes
I hear a scream.
Too real; I’m always surprised
That others cannot hear it, too.
It feels so clear.
So physical.
So tangible
That I had to learn from experience
That it’s all inside of me.
It’s silent, yet ear-splitting.
If my insides were made out of crystal
They would crack,
And then break,
At that sound.
That makes no sense, though.
So all I can do is
Try to mend the cracks
And pick up the pieces of broken glass.
Until next time.

(no subject)

Mar. 26th, 2017 09:23 am
lannamichaels: Astronaut Dale Gardner holds up For Sale sign after EVA. (Default)
[personal profile] lannamichaels
I mean, sure, I woke up at 2:40 this morning and took aleve and then ate 3 cereal bars, but no really, my meal times are totally not fucked up... oh god i don't care what's in it, if i'm eating it before 10am, it counts as breakfast, not lunch.

like, thanks to sleeping pills, no real jet lag issues from the trip, but oh my god, meal times.

but, like, i can't blame the trip for all of this. i spent the early days of this cough (oh god it has early days and later days, that's how long this has gone on) with no real apetite and forcing myself to eat, so i guess now that i'm hungry for all of the things (but only certain textures, naturally) that's good.

fuck imma need to go out and buy more cereal bars. i don't wannnnnna go outside. i went outside yesterday.
umadoshi: (LOK - Korra smiling (sugarplums))
[personal profile] umadoshi
"The New Autistic Muppet Could Save People Like Me A Lifetime Of Pain". [Sarah Kurchak at The Establishment]

"Are Straight Women Okay?" [Autostraddle] "But a stroll down the “his and hers” retail section will still have me on some Family Feud Steve Harvey levels of disbelief. [...] When you further investigate this phenomenon, as I did, things get real dark, real quick. The items themselves are worrying enough on their own as they reveal a prison of what women are allowed to be and should want, but then you dive deeper and the culture that lurks just behind these items reveals itself. I’ve seen the depths of this landscape and I need to ask a question: are straight woman okay? Like, not in a joking way — do they need assistance?"

"10+ Pics Proving That Cats Are Actually Demons".

"Earth’s newest cloud is terrifying".

Flaredown is "a free web and mobile app that helps patients track and visualize their illness, treatments, and symptom triggers so that they can understand how their choices affect their health". (I haven't used this. I'm passing along a rec of it being something that might be worth looking into.)

"Smurfette’s Roots: In her original incarnation, the only female Smurf reminds me of all the assumptions I’ve had to navigate about my sexuality and sense of self as a Jewish woman".

"Anorexia Survivor Posts Powerful Side by Side Photo to Instagram". [Teen Vogue] "Instagram user Megan Jayne Crabbe, a body-positive role model who beat anorexia and now uses the handle @BodyPosiPanda, posted a side-by-side image to the social media site to highlight the differences between posed photographs and reality. In both images, she's wearing the same purple lingerie, tie-dye hair, and infectious grin — but that's where the similarities stop." [Content notes: mention of past anorexia, but the photos are not from that time period.]

From last year: "The 'Gay Porn With a Different Ending' Comment, and the Problem With Homophobia in MMA". [Sarah Kurchak at the Fightland blog]

"How Can Jordan Peele Make a Movie Like Get Out & Have a White Wife? Pretty Easily Actually".

"Why do so many male journalists think female stars are flirting with them? A magazine’s profile with Selena Gomez is the latest to have an icky fixation on its subject’s looks. Perhaps it’s time for men to be banned from interviewing women".

"'Mischievous' Jane Austen 'made up' marriage records". [BBC]

"How a study about Chronic Fatigue Syndrome was doctored, adding to pain and stigma".

"Pakistani Artist’s Concept Art Of A Sci-Fi Pakistan Will Blow You Away".

"A Journey Into the Merriam-Webster Word Factory". "This month, [Kory Stamper, lexicographer], the author of the new book “Word by Word: The Secret Life of Dictionaries,” was more than happy to offer a tour of some of the distinctly analog oddities in the basement."

"2016 didn’t just give us “fake news.” It likely gave us false memories". (This touches on Trump and current events a fair bit, but is mainly about the research into memory.)

"Canadian Literature, Settler Colonialism, and Sex With Vegetables? [twitter.com profile] HeerJeet has some insights". (Storify. Also mentions CanLit that involves sex with animals, which...is apparently a thing?)

"THE POTATO APOCALYPSE: To set off a truly epic rant you have to bide your time and wait until someone you know with Serious Ranting Chops is just a wee bit tipsy. Your patience will be rewarded. As mine was tonight". A Storify of an [twitter.com profile] UrsulaV rant about potatoes.

"Dystopian dreams: how feminist science fiction predicted the future".

Fic meme from Tumblr

Mar. 26th, 2017 01:33 pm
naraht: (Default)
[personal profile] naraht
This is one of the best fic memes that I've seen. I love most of these questions.

My fic

1: What inspired you to write the fic this way?
2: What scene did you first put down?
3: What’s your favorite line of narration?
4: What’s your favorite line of dialogue?
5: What part was hardest to write?
6: What makes this fic special or different from all your other fics?
7: Where did the title come from?
8: Did any real people or events inspire any part of it?
9: Were there any alternate versions of this fic?
10: Why did you choose this pairing for this particular story?
11: What do you like best about this fic?
12: What do you like least about this fic?
13: What music did you listen to, if any, to get in the mood for writing this story? Or if you didn’t listen to anything, what do you think readers should listen to to accompany us while reading?
14: Is there anything you wanted readers to learn from reading this fic?
15: What did you learn from writing this fic?

The Path to which initiation points

Mar. 26th, 2017 11:20 am
[syndicated profile] thinkinganglicans_feed
This is the point in the Lenten season when the vista changes, the vision of the desert yields to the anticipation of passiontide, and the inevitability of the clash between Jesus’s Kingdom of God movement and the religious and colonial...

(no subject)

Mar. 26th, 2017 12:30 pm
oursin: Brush the Wandering Hedgehog by the fire (Default)
[personal profile] oursin
Happy birthday, [personal profile] robling_t!

Check Please!

Mar. 26th, 2017 10:05 am
naraht: (Default)
[personal profile] naraht
Last night, in search of stuff that was 'like' (for a given value of 'like') Yuri!!! on Ice, I stayed up late reading through Check Please from the beginning.

Rather than explain it in depth, I'll just link to this (spoilery) primer: The Queer Hockey Bros Webcomic You Should Be Reading.

I enjoyed it and found it a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. Although my current assessment is "doesn't hold a candle to YoI," I remember that my first assessment of YoI on Dreamwidth was the notably lukewarm "I may be kind of enjoying it... the romance is rather sweet." Interestingly, although the relationship between Jack and Bitty in Check Please has zero ambiguity, we see less of its development than we do of the relationship between Victor and Yuuri. I felt that the narrative skips over a lot, but I suppose that just leaves space for fandom to fill in. There definitely seems to be some good fic available, and a surprising amount of it – over 5000 works!

More observations:
• It's an achievement that this managed to make me feel sympathetic about hockey bros. To be fair, they're Massachusetts liberal arts college bros, who may be a slightly different breed.
• Unlike YoI, this is set in a universe where homophobia exists, but embedded within a basically homophobia-free college and sports team. I feel like we're going to get a collision with the wider world soon, as the characters are closeted beyond the sphere of friends and family, and wonder how it's going to turn out.
• It's interesting how this has many of the same themes as YoI but combined in different ways. YoI if Victor had Yuuri's anxiety and JJ's pushy Canadian family.

In conclusion, or perhaps in a complete derail, I really want to read a proper longfic from someone who knows their sports where Victor ends up going into hockey instead of figure skating. Including his journey from KHL to NHL. It would be most obvious to have him playing for SKA Saint Petersburg – which means he'd still be based at Yubileyny Sports Palace! – but I love the names of some of the other teams. Metallurg Magnitogorsk, Traktor Chelyabinsk, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl. Victor is slightly shorter than the average NHL player (though they'd probably just lie and say he was 6 feet even), and certainly a good deal lighter, but the latter would be mainly down to the difference in training regimens. Anyway, it would be interesting, but very much not something that I could write.

ETA: Dear God, I just realised that 'Check Please!' has an exclamation point in its title too. This really is a metric of how gay a source text is, isn't it?

ETA 2: Evgeni Plushenko plays hockey on an amateur team! How did I not know this? So interesting.

Just One Thing (26 March 2017)

Mar. 26th, 2017 02:37 am
hollymath: (Default)
[personal profile] hollymath posting in [community profile] awesomeers
It's challenge time!

Comment with Just One Thing you've accomplished in the last 24 hours or so. It doesn't have to be a hard thing, or even a thing that you think is particularly awesome. Just a thing that you did.

Feel free to share more than one thing if you're feeling particularly accomplished!

Extra credit: find someone in the comments and give them props for what they achieved!

Nothing is too big, too small, too strange or too cryptic. And in case you'd rather do this in private, anonymous comments are screened. I will only unscreen if you ask me to.

Go!
[syndicated profile] ao3_seanelijah_fics_feed

Posted by <a href="/users/marginalia/pseuds/marginalia" rel="author">marginalia</a>

by

32 more lotrips drabbles & variations in chronological order. All standalones. Anything multipart or crossover is uploaded as its own thing. Written 2003-2004. One may hope they get better as you go along.

Words: 3526, Chapters: 32/?, Language: English

digthewriter: (Art_DIG)
[personal profile] digthewriter
Title: Coffee Shop Blues by [livejournal.com profile] digthewriter
Rating: G
Summary: The man never says anything but always sits at Ron's table. Ron has to wonder why.

Disclaimer: Characters are not mine. This was created for fun. No profit is being made.


coffee shop blues )

A general update

Mar. 26th, 2017 01:20 am
umadoshi: (headache (skellorg))
[personal profile] umadoshi
--I keep meaning to post various things here, but then I'm either not at the computer, or if I am, I'm also in a "stare blankly at the screen rather than stringing words together" mode.

--Writing anything resembling fiction is happening even less. I just poked my writing tracker, and I wrote a whopping ~800 words last month, and so far, nothing at all this month. (I'm at under 3000 words for the year so far, which I needed to look up to check in at [dreamwidth.org profile] inkingitout.) My brain feels both empty and sludgy. It's very weird and I actively dislike it, but I haven't even been opening WIP files and staring at them, which is more my usual not-writing MO.

--Casual Job resumes for the spring session in about a month--which is to say, about a month later than usual. We suspect it'll only last for a month or so (presumably followed by our office keeping me and the other seasonal folks on for four additional weeks to clear the inevitable spring-session backlog), which is not wallet-cheering news.

--On the freelancing front, I just recently finished Maid-sama! and am finishing My Love Story!! for VIZ, and I also seem to have two Seven Seas series with only one volume remaining. That doesn't leave me with a worryingly-low number of titles, fortunately (I think I still have eight between the two publishers), but it's a lot wrapping up all at once.

--We're not at the point of booking plane tickets yet, but [dreamwidth.org profile] scruloose and I are starting to work out when we're probably going to be in Toronto next. It feels like it's been forever. (It hasn't. We were there last August.) So that's a thing I'm very much looking forward to.

Volatile

Mar. 25th, 2017 09:50 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_seanelijah_fics_feed

Posted by <a href="/users/marginalia/pseuds/marginalia" rel="author">marginalia</a>

by

Words: 199, Chapters: 1/1, Language: English

Wrong hour. Wrong day. I give up.

Mar. 25th, 2017 11:17 pm
helenkacan: (Default)
[personal profile] helenkacan
So, the wrong hour turned out to be 8:00 when I woke up. What's wrong with that? Well, I thought I'd set the alarm for 6:00 so I could book my rides. Evidently I was wrong as the alarm icon was still displayed. Sigh. The only good thing is that I still managed to get my rides. Yay. As for the wrong day (and hour), it was the evening for Earth Hour. Uh ... universe, there was NO way that I was going to turn anything off - definitely NOT the lights - when I was the only adult in charge of the cats. If SuM hadn't gone out of town, we might have had a little get-together with candles and flashlights, etc.

In between those hours, I finally got to pamper myself. It was a smart move for me to refresh my hair colour today rather than to cram it into the end of the week. Mind you, I also managed to EMPTY the hot water tank. Oops! To continue my heightened aesthetic venture, I plan to dunk my hands in my paraffin bath right before bed.

I'm really pleased that I finished Tanya Huff's "Smoke & Mirrors" though I'm actually shocked by the number of errors in it. Reading fanfic has made me able to spot doozies. Didn't think they'd be in her writing. Sigh. I didn't know what to borrow next so I took a stab and searched for an author I used to read voraciously 4 decades ago.

Along with my regular Saturday night game show reruns, I was stunned to hear something unexpected in an epi of the animated Peg Plus Cat. Couldn't see what was happening (wasn't watching), but there was a male voice singing Puccini's "Nessun Dorma" (well) in a duet with one or two voices singing pop (for lack of a better word).

Anyway, time for me to soothe my sandpaper hands. And to hope for contented cats and a good night's sleep for me. TTFN.
reena_jenkins: (also for podficcing)
[personal profile] reena_jenkins posting in [community profile] amplificathon


Title: Immutable, or, Five Times Obi-Wan Kenobi Compromised His Jedi Ethics for Anakin Skywalker
Author:
[archiveofourown.org profile] bedlamsbard
Reader: reena_jenkins
Coverartist: [archiveofourown.org profile] reena_jenkins
Rating: PG-13
Fandoms: Star Wars Prequel Movies
Pairings: Obi-Wan Kenobi/Anakin Skywalker, Padme Amidala/Anakin Skywalker
Warnings: Canon-Typical Violence, Misuse of the Force, Codependency, Jedi Code, During Canon, Obi-Wan is Emotionally Compromised, Clone Wars
Length: 00:16:28 

Author's Summary: "I think that I would betray my vows for him."

Clone Wars-era. Anakin/Obi-Wan, Anakin/Padme.


Download Link: You can download this podfic as an mp3 right over here (thank you, paraka, for hosting me).

Confession

Mar. 25th, 2017 09:45 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_seanelijah_fics_feed

Posted by <a href="/users/marginalia/pseuds/marginalia" rel="author">marginalia</a>

by

Words: 100, Chapters: 1/1, Language: English

Late

Mar. 25th, 2017 09:43 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_seanelijah_fics_feed

Posted by <a href="/users/marginalia/pseuds/marginalia" rel="author">marginalia</a>

by

Words: 100, Chapters: 1/1, Language: English

No More Yielding Than A Dream

Mar. 25th, 2017 09:41 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_seanelijah_fics_feed

Posted by <a href="/users/marginalia/pseuds/marginalia" rel="author">marginalia</a>

by

Words: 100, Chapters: 1/1, Language: English

Black cockatoos

Mar. 26th, 2017 11:51 am
rinkle: Blue and purple dragonfly, green background (Default)
[personal profile] rinkle posting in [community profile] common_nature
Christmas Eve last year:

Went outside my parents' house and heard a bird call that didn't fit. Took me a minute to realise that it was a yellow-tailed black cockatoo call. Not something I normally hear/see near my parents' house in Australia. Quickly grabbed my sis' camera with her awesome zoom lens to get photos, as the two cockatoos were pretty high in the banksia (I think) tree.


Black Cockatoo nomming on a banksia nut, beak on to the camera

4 more below the cut )

Two reminders...

Mar. 26th, 2017 12:43 am
ffutures: (Default)
[personal profile] ffutures
British Summer Time starts tonight - Clocks go forward an hour at 1 AM Sunday.

And UK postal prices rose at midnight - I've just had to go through all of my ebay listings and change postal prices, because I thought it wasn't happening until the end of the month!

Videlicet

Mar. 25th, 2017 08:27 pm
astolat: lady of shalott weaving in black and white (Default)
[personal profile] astolat
Reader, I am really fucking tired. *insert long tedious explanation of the past week involving hospital, fainting, copious vomiting (different days, different family members), family visit, 3 playdates, and ending with my current location in hotel room in Disneyworld*

Everyone is okay now but OMG.

HOWEVER I am actually here to share this vidding zine what lim made, which I was so thrilled to participate in:

Videlicet

I think it is really quite awesome and full of interesting and joyful and fannish thought in the very best way. My own contribution was to rave on about [personal profile] sisabet's vid Bad Romance, which spoiler alert is one of my most favorite vids and if you want to know why GO LOOK AT THE SHINY.

<3

still need a new body

Mar. 25th, 2017 08:12 pm
lannamichaels: "(but I digress)" written in black text on textured background (off-topic)
[personal profile] lannamichaels


So, the new muscle pain: it's lower back, hips, and upper thighs. This can make sitting uncomfortale, and also getting in and out of bed. (this morning was an ordeal)

I managed to get more of the Pain Meds Of Last Resort from the doc, but I can't combine it with one of my meds and I'm very cautious about combining it with others, so it remains Of Last Resort.

The muscle pain of ten-on-the-pain-scale i-can't-move doom I usually have is neck/shoulder, or my bad leg. I've had lower back pain before, but not like this. Also, my sides ache sometimes when I cough (I don't understand at all). This pain seems to come and go, at least, but it's still there. Sometimes it feels like it's my lower spine just being really angry.

Ideas for stretches/ways to sit or stand up/good ways to get in and out of bed/tricks or whatnot? I've been doing massage and also using sticky heating pads. I'm really hoping that this is somehow (????) a side effect of the bad cough and will go away once this cough goes away, but... well, either way, I still have to live with it.

(of course, through all of this, I'm still having shoulder pain and cramps because of course i am)

[syndicated profile] snopes_feed

Posted by David Emery

Unreliable sources claimed that Denis Voronenkov, a Vladimir Putin critic who was shot dead in Ukraine in March 2017, was slated to testify against Trump's former campaign manager.

Poem: "A Tornado of Thought"

Mar. 25th, 2017 01:33 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Damask smiling over their shoulder (polychrome)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
This poem is spillover from the March 7, 2017 Poetry Fishbowl. It was inspired by a prompt from [personal profile] sweet_sparrow. It also fills the "creative solutions to limits" square in my 3-1-17 card for the Disability Bingo fest. This poem has been sponsored by Anthony & Shirley Barrette. It belongs to the Calliope thread of the Polychrome Heroics series.

Warning: This poem includes some touchy topics. Highlight to read the warnings, some of which are spoilers. It has emotional upheavals, Vagary's continued stress over Calliope not wanting to do things with him, Calliope's continued stress over his closeness, tornado formation, interrupted therapy session, which triggers Vagary's abandonment issues, unexpected changes in superpowers, Calliope looming over Vagary, emotional suppression during an emergency, an emergency dispatcher doing a shitty job, negotiating with supervillains, stormchasing, exhaustion, crashing with friends at a weather station, and other challenges. If these are sensitive issues for you, please consider your tastes and headspace before reading onward.

Read more... )

snippets

Mar. 25th, 2017 10:03 pm
kaberett: Photo of a pile of old leather-bound books. (books)
[personal profile] kaberett
  1. The English sofa is a loan from Turkish. The Turkish for the English sofa, however, is kanape, as a loan from the French canapé, which has the original meaning of English sofa and, by figurative extension, the meaning of English canapé, because you've got a little piece of bread or pastry or something that looks like a sofa with the topping perched on top of it. ([personal profile] sebastienne conjectured this etymology when I was grumbling about the Turkish last week; they were surprised and delighted to be correct.)
  2. Fox/vixen is the solitary surviving example in modern English of the Germanic feminine suffix -en, -in: Fuchs/Füchsin.
  3. The English/French foyer is rendered, in Swedish orthography, foajé. It is pronounced the way one might reasonably expect foyer to be pronounced. See also: restaurang.

wolf fic up at AO3, small kindnesses

Mar. 25th, 2017 05:43 pm
elistaire: (Default)
[personal profile] elistaire
So, my wolf fic, Proving the Worth of a Wolf is now posted at AO3, here's the link:
http://archiveofourown.org/works/10441470

~~~

A few things I've done lately that I'm listing as kindnesses:

- I did not take the last available chair in the waiting room because there was a much older gentleman coming in directly behind me. He didn't seem like he wanted to take it either, but eventually, after a minute, he did sit down since the person he must have been there to see wasn't immediately available. Not that I had to wait long, as I got in maybe two minutes later. But I'd rather sit on the floor if I had to wait a long time than take a chair from a person who needed it more.

- My acupuncturist *loved* the gauntlets. She was very surprised and quite delighted with them. It made me feel very good. I haven't started yet on the next pair. With winter on the way out, even if I make them, I might just stockpile them to give out in the fall, when they would be more useful.

- I bought March for Science t-shirts for my mom and myself. I did this quite a few weeks ago, and they aren't yet in, but I'm looking forward to getting them.

- I gave up a good portion of my snowboarding afternoon so some others could go out riding in the afternoon

- I spoke to some children (using appropriate language) about some language I observed them using that was not appropriate. I don't like confrontation, even with kids, and these weren't my kids. Their parents weren't anywhere nearby. But I couldn't ignore the words. It was not just swear words. I wouldn't have cared if it was only that. I'm agitated by the whole incident, but I think overall that it was something that needed to be done. I'm listing it as a kindness because as far as I can tell (and perspective can be illuminating sometimes) it was the right thing to do.
vatine: books-related stuff (books)
[personal profile] vatine
Reread.

This is a collection volume, containing Komarr, A Civil Campaign and (actually in the "previously unread" category), the short A Winterfair Gift. The title for the collection volume is very descriptive, as that theme starts in Komarr, continues through the entirety of A Civil Campaign and comes to some sort of culmination in A Winterfair Night.

As is the custom, these are all eminently readable. It is also perhaps not the worst place to pick up the Vorkosigan Saga books (but, I should stress, it is also not the best), since I seem to recall that Komarr was actually the first one I read.
vatine: books-related stuff (books)
[personal profile] vatine
Previously unread.

It's been a while since I last read any of the Expanse novels. Don't really know why, maybe the whole "TV hype" has put me off. On the whole, they're eminently readable, although one of my distinct memories of "oh, no, not again!" from the first four is mercifully not as prominent in this one.

All in all a pleasant read, although I have a nagging feeling that the acceleration required to cover distance in this book may possibly require higher sustained acceleration than what seems to be happening.
rydra_wong: The display board of a train reads "this train is fucked". (this train is fucked)
[personal profile] rydra_wong
(Well, the evidence is fairly overwhelming that he doesn't read books, full stop, but it has been specifically reported that he says he hasn't read any presidential biographies.)

This suggests Bannon and Short haven't either:

One Hill Republican aide who was involved in the last-minute negotiations said Mr. Bannon and Mr. Short were seeking to compile an enemies list.

Alternatively, they read about Nixon's "Enemies List" and thought ooh, that sounds great, we should do that, it worked out so well for him.

(Seriously, I don't actually imagine that this is literally Watergate 2.0 or going to play out exactly like that, because that would be too weird and history doesn't work like that, which is one reason why it's so odd when Trump and co. seem to be borrowing such highly-specific things from the Nixon playbook.)

ETA: Do you think they saw a reference to an "enemies list" somewhere and thought whoa, that sounds super-hardcore and badass, we should have one of those? Has nobody told them yet?

Also, these are beautiful words to read:

Mr. Trump’s chief strategist, Stephen K. Bannon, according to people familiar with White House discussions, described what happened as a flat-out failure that could inflict serious damage on this presidency — even if Mr. Bannon believes Congress, not Mr. Trump, deserves much of the blame.

Dear USians, please enjoy these words and take strength from them.

my heart is a boat on the sea

Mar. 25th, 2017 04:18 pm
musesfool: sara ramirez applying lipstick (pull on your pout)
[personal profile] musesfool
Last night and then today I made batches of this body balm, though I'm afraid I personally find it too redolent of coconut to use myself - I tried it last night on my lips and it tainted everything with the taste of coconut. #the taste of betrayal I made it with the addition of gold satin mica powder, hoping for a golden shimmer, but alas, I don't think it really provides one. today I tried copper sparks mica powder, which I think might actually impart too much pigment to use it on skin other than lips? But I guess we'll see. I suppose it could be a cream eyeshadow or blush...? I'm meeting L. for drinks tonight, so she can test it out for me. Especially since I substituted shea butter for cocoa butter, which the internet tells me I shouldn't have? It's very rich balm, either way.

Meanwhile, I am liberally covered in glitter and I could not be happier about it.

Marg and Helen and the girls all loved their lip balms (and glitter gels), so I feel confident I found a couple of recipes that people other than me like, so that's good.

This morning, I made these chocolate cherry breakfast cookies (pic) and I might have made them too big, since they took more like 15 minutes to cook rather than the 9 to 11 the recipe suggests. I also used almond butter since I don't like peanut butter (I know, I know; I also don't like tuna fish; I was a nightmare child!) and they smell and taste great. And I finally used up the last of the dried cherries from my Christmas chocolate making, which was good. I found they (the dried cherries, I mean) were not as good in salads as dried cranberries, so they've just been sitting around taking up space. *hands*

So I feel like it's been a productive day, even if I didn't get the good sleep I was hoping for last night.

***

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

March 2017

S M T W T F S
    1 2 3 4
567891011
12131415161718
1920 21 22 23 24 25
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2017 02:50 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios