[syndicated profile] feministing_feed

Posted by Cassie da Costa

“Colossal” is a monster movie about real monsters: men who hate women.

They are human monsters, so redemption is not impossible, but this movie, written and directed by Nacho Vigalondo, like countless monster movies before it, isn’t interested in redemption — neither for the monsters nor the heroine, an out-of-work writer aptly called Gloria and played both smartly and archetypically by Anne Hathaway. Instead, “Colossal” negotiates the confusions and contradictions that are caught up in the world of a deeply flawed person — Gloria is careless, untethered, selfish, and an alcoholic — who is deeply wronged. The healing the film offers isn’t a forward march to recovery, but the open thrust of confrontation.

The film begins in Seoul, Korea. A little girl and her mother search outside at night for the girl’s lost doll. The wind is howling, and the sky cracks with thunder. The mother calls her daughter back, saying they’ll look again in the morning, but the little girl is insistent, and finally finds her doll, a few paces ahead in the grass. When she looks up, a gigantic, hulking mass of a monster is towering over the city, directly in front of her.

The film then travels across the globe to New York City, where Gloria is stumbling into an immaculate apartment after a night of partying. Her boyfriend, Tim, who owns the place, is sitting at a spotless granite countertop, upset. Gloria’s skipped out on their evening plans, and now she blatantly lies about why, saying she fell asleep at a friend’s house. Tim has had enough, and after telling Gloria off, kicks her out. She won’t be living off of him anymore; she’ll have to finally get her shit together, alone. Gloria keeps lying, unable to process being cut off. The tragedy displayed in the scene isn’t the end of a relationship, but the beginning of a more general isolation. After Tim leaves for work, having informed a shellshocked Gloria that her things are packed and ready to go, a group of her friends arrive in the apartment with alcohol, firing up for round two. She stays seated, staring into space, somehow no more or less present than she was before. By the next scene, she’s left New York and returned to her anonymous hometown in the midwest.

Once there, she reunites with a childhood acquaintance, Oscar, who seems to know a lot about her and her writing career. He’s hometown friendly and conveniently attractive, but Gloria barely takes notice of him. Oscar works to charm her, and takes her to the bar he owns, an inheritance, later delivering secondhand furniture to her parent’s empty house, where she sleeps on a deflated air mattress. Meanwhile, the monster in Seoul has been destroying property and killing people, stomping around the city with no real direction or particular malice; it’s just careless. Naturally, we learn that the monster is being controlled by Gloria, or, Gloria is the monster. And not long after that, we learn that Oscar has his own monster, a robot, that appears in Seoul along with Gloria’s monster when the two step onto the mulch of the neighborhood playground. It’s a wild premise, but one that is ambitious enough to foreground social issues with both humor and heft.

Soon, Oscar’s crush on Gloria reveals itself to be an obsession. When she realizes that multiple people were killed when she drunkenly exhibited her ability to control the monster to Oscar and his buddies, Gloria desperately tries to take control of her life in order to prevent more deaths. But she’s thwarted by Oscar’s cruelty and misogyny. He uses his knowledge of the incredible damage the two can cause as their monster selves to blackmail her into staying in town. Eventually, he physically abuses her, and uses the threat of further abuse both to her and others to keep her around.  When Tim arrives in town, ready to whisk Gloria away from the middle of nowhere and back to the city, he first scorns her, criticizing her decision to take a job at Oscar’s bar and live at home. He’s a snotty, condescending kind of abuser — one who places a set of expectations onto Gloria, not out of love or generosity, but as a form of control.

Thankfully, “Colossal” quickly abandons the notion that Gloria is the true cause of the destruction around and beyond her. Of course, it’s ridiculous to think that Gloria’s alcoholism is actually the cause of multiple deaths in Seoul. But the character’s willingness to take responsibility for those deaths, despite a lack of proximity to them, speaks more generally to how women tend to be socialized. Our wretchedness is not only an affront to ourselves, but to the entire world; men hurt others, fail, relapse, and retain both their charm and freedom from obligation. Women do the same and destroy an entire city — we are taught to feel not only responsible for the consequences of our actions, but the consequences of the consequences of the consequences of the actions of someone we may or may not have hurt. “Colossal” doesn’t reinforce this imbalance, but stares incredulously at it, and challenges it. Gloria does not find absolution in reforming herself, but in (no spoilers) unloading her grief.  The film also doesn’t offer an explanation for Gloria’s alcoholism, unemployment, or irresponsible behavior. We’re asked to accept her without justification and champion her without guarantee. In “Colossal,” the heroine is not redeemed but emboldened, and it makes the revenge that much sweeter.

Header image via Slate.com.

[syndicated profile] snopes_feed

Posted by Kim LaCapria

An unreliable web site's claim ignores the fact that Clinton is New York, making numerous public appearances.
[syndicated profile] cakewrecks_feed

Posted by Jen

Ever see a cake so deliberately confusing that you're sure you're missing something obvious?
I mean, look at this thing:

Someone went through a massive amount of effort - different colors, squiggle techniques, flotsam arrangement - all to make a senseless, saggy clown volcano. Why? What does it mean?

 

Or how about this snapshot of prehistoric life found in a bakery window?

How I imagine this went down:

"Is that a bridge over all the dinosaurs?"

"Yeah. The Brooklyn Bridge."

".... are you sure?"

"100%"

 

And now, what appears to be candy corn, sandwiched between two half-rounds of plain cake, all smashed onto a bed of... pimento... brains?

Remember when balloons on cake was a thing? And flowers? Those were the days.

 

And finally, Susan found this under the heading (heh) "Naughty but Nice," so I assume it's NSFW... but I can't for the life of me figure out HOW:

Somebody get me a old priest, a young priest, and an anatomy book.

 

Thanks to Vanessa, Jacob B., Andrea P., & Susan C. for the world's naughtiest furry hockey stick.

*****

Thank you for using our Amazon links to shop! USA, UK, Canada.

musesfool: cordelia chase (turn the world on with a smile)
[personal profile] musesfool
A meme, via [personal profile] selenak:

Comment with one of my fandoms, and I'll tell you:

- the character I least understand
- interactions I enjoyed the most
- the character who scares me the most
- the character who is mostly like me
- hottest looks character
- one thing I dislike about my fave character
- one thing I like about my hated character
- a quote or scene that haunts me
- a death that left me indifferent
- a character I wish died but didn’t
- my ship that never sailed

***

And a poem:

Personal Letter No. 3

nothing will keep
us young you know
not young men or
women who spin
their youth on
cool playing sounds.
we are what we
are what we never
think we are.
no more wild geo
graphies of the
flesh. echoes. that
we move in tune
to slower smells.
it is a hard thing
to admit that
sometimes after midnight
i am tired
of it all.

by Sonia Sanchez

***

10 fandom questions meme

Apr. 27th, 2017 02:38 pm
naye: mihashi from oofuri with a confused look (?)
[personal profile] naye
Meme from all over! Lots of my fandoms are in my profile.
Ask me:
1. the character I least understand
2. interactions I enjoyed the most
3. the character who scares me the most
4. the character who is mostly like me
5. hottest looks character
6. one thing I dislike about my fave character
7. one thing I like about my hated character
8. a quote or scene that haunts me
9. a character I wish died but didn’t
10. my ship that never sailed

daf bit: Bava Batra 95

Apr. 27th, 2017 09:01 am
cellio: (talmud)
[personal profile] cellio

A mishna (a couple pages back) taught: if one sells fruit to another, the buyer must accept a certain amount of refuse (a quarter of a kab for every se'ah; I think this is about 10%). If he sold figs, the buyer must accept ten wormy ones for every hundred, and if he sold a cellar of wine the buyer must accept ten pungent casks for every hundred. On today's daf the g'mara discusses the wine cellar -- what case is this? If it is when the seller says "I sell you a cellar of wine" we have a problem, and if it is when he says "I sell you this cellar of wine", we also have a problem. According to a baraita (an oral teaching contemporary with the mishna), if he says "a cellar", he must sell a cellar all of which is good (since the seller gets to choose the cellar). If he said "this cellar" it means the identified cellar, even if all the wine is bad. Either way, it doesn't match our mishna -- so now what? After discussion, I think the g'mara concludes that the baraita is talking about a case where they specified wine "for a dish", meaning good wine that will be used over time (and so has to last a while), while the mishna is just talking about the ordinary case of buying a lot of wine, some of which -- like fruit -- you know is not going to be good. (But it's a little hard to follow and you should consult your rabbi before buying or selling a wine cellar.) (93b mishna, 95a-b g'mara)

As the song said, don't fence me in.

Apr. 27th, 2017 07:30 am
twistedchick: General Leia in The Force Awakens (Default)
[personal profile] twistedchick
All the Disney movies to come through 2020. You're welcome. :)

10 wild true tales from Studio 54.

Managing editor at a clickbait factory -- how your internet gets filled with those stories.

And Ajit Pai on why he's trying to change the way the FCC regulates the net.

The significance of what's really going on when Ivanka fakes Adrienne Vittadini labels on her clothes -- Vittadini was a Cold War Hungarian refugee, among other things. Just the kind of person Trump wants not to come here.

A museum for failures -- to encourage people to try things and fail more. And why not? That's how we learn stuff.

Fox News should learn to fail less. Now they're facing a racial discrimination lawsuit, along with their sexual lawsuit troubles. Old journalism truism: the news organization should not be in the news.

This is what it is to live in third-world Flint, Michigan, now. Post-industrial doesn't even start to describe it.

Advice to young women from women who are entrepreneurs. Not fond of the original title of this --'female entrepreneurs' sounds like someone trying to do drag for money.

Scientists have found a worm that eats plastic.

Trump family values.

At Yale, psychiatritist cite their duty to warn about an unfit president -- discarding the long-held precept of not analyzing people they haven't met in person because he's there, all the time, in the news, lying his head off.

Social media trying to prevent suicide.

"I was tired of conversations about race being framed in black and white, so I started my own conversation."

If you stop thinking you have the answers already, your questions are more powerful.

Dispatches from suburbia -- the important thing is that you're not white. This is where I live. And while not arguing with this viewpoint, I need to mention that being caucasian in this county is being a minority. The small cities here -- Wheaton and Silver Spring near me, for instance -- are vibrantly and wildly diverse, in terms of people from many nations and cultures. Yes, this needs to be represented more in local organizations -- but that's up to the people themselves, to support or create new ones that include Hispanic/Central American/South American, Asian, Jewish (largest Conservative community outside NYC), African, black and European-ancestry people. We all live here, on the same streets. This is the world in my neighborhood.

Daily Reading (27th April)

Apr. 27th, 2017 07:43 pm
ironed_orchid: "what do we want? BRAINS. When do we want it? BRAINS" (brains)
[personal profile] ironed_orchid posting in [community profile] bitesizedreading
What have you been reading lately? Everything counts, from the user's manual to the back of the cereal box!

Canalway Cavalcade

Apr. 27th, 2017 12:32 pm
ffutures: (Default)
[personal profile] ffutures
 If anyone is in London and at a loose end this weekend just a reminder that the Canalway Cavalcade thing is on again at Little Venice (near Paddington Station and Warwick Avenue tube), good fun if you like canal boats.

Thursday DE

Apr. 27th, 2017 07:04 am
needsmoreresearch: (Default)
[personal profile] needsmoreresearch posting in [community profile] ways_back_room
What would your character think of their account name?


full disclosure: i was thisclose to naming loki's account punchmeimloki
spiralsheep: Evil commandeers the costume budget (chronographia Servalan Evil Costume)
[personal profile] spiralsheep
- A Fete Worse Than Death poster for amateur dramatics and, seen opposite on the verge, ding-dong the wellie is dead.

A Fete Worse Than Death poster for amateur dramatics, Worcestershire 04-17

Ding-dong the wellie is dead, Worcestershire 04-17

- Reading, books 2017: 34

14. Christopher and Columbus, by Elizabeth von Arnim, 1919, novel. The heroines are vacuous and spoiled 17 year old junkerbrats who can't even recognise their own possessions without a maid (both vacuousness and spoiledness being faults inflicted on the teenage girls by their parents, obv), and their selfish thoughtlessness leads to them carelessly ill-using the possessions of other people who aren't in an economic position to constantly replace stolen or damaged items such as hairpins and nail-scissors, so I didn't warm to them as protagonists despite the many amusing observational moments. (2/5 off to the charity shop)

• Because I always quote these examples of changing usages 1: It was terrible to see Uncle Arthur very nearly gay, and both his wife and the twins were most uncomfortable. "I wonder what's the matter now," sighed Aunt Alice to herself, as she nervously crumbled her toast.

• Hmm: they were more than ever convinced that nothing in the way of unfriendliness or unkindness could stand up against sun and oranges.

• "Young gurl, you may be a spiritualist, and a table-turner, and a psychic-rummager, and a ghost-fancier, and anything else you please, and get what comfort you can out of your coming backs and the rest of the blessed truck, but I know better. [...]"

• Because I always quote these examples of changing usages 2: Houses have their expressions, their distinctive faces, very much as people have, meditated Mr. Twist the morning of the opening, as he sat astride a green chair at the bottom of the little garden, where a hedge of sweetbriar beautifully separated the Twinkler domain from the rolling fields that lay between it and the Pacific, and stared at his handiwork; and the conclusion was forced upon him - reluctantly, for it was the last thing he had wanted The Open Arms to do - that the thing looked as if it were winking at him. / Positively, thought Mr. Twist, his hat on the back of his head, staring, that was what it seemed to be doing. How was that? He studied it profoundly, his head on one side. Was it that it was so very gay? He hadn't meant it to be gay like that.

• LOL widows: descriptions of the dreadfulness of the early days of widowhood, when one's crepe veil keeps on catching in everything - chairs, overhanging branches, and passers-by, including it appeared on one occasion a policeman.
[...]
The Chicago evening papers, prompt on the track of a sensation, had caused her friends much painful if only short-lived amazement by coming out with huge equivocal headlines:
WELL-KNOWN SOCIETY WIDOW AND POLICEMAN CAUGHT TOGETHER

YAY YAY YAY

Apr. 27th, 2017 05:06 am
synecdochic: torso of a man wearing jeans, hands bound with belt (Default)
[personal profile] synecdochic
We have found a possible home for Thea and, although it's not definite, it's pretty likely and it looks like it will work out WONDERFULLY for everyone involved. \o/

Daily Happiness

Apr. 27th, 2017 01:38 am
torachan: (Default)
[personal profile] torachan
1. Day off tomorrow! We're doing stuff (probably) but not until the afternoon, so I can still sleep in and relax in the morning.

2. I played a little Zelda tonight and found three shrines, two stables, and Hebra tower. That leaves only the two Gerudo areas that I don't have the towers for yet. I'm actually kind of sad to have so much of the map filled in. I remember when I first got off the great plateau and realized how huge the world is, it was so exciting, and now it's like, aww, I only have a little bit left to explore. ;_;

3. Somehow I don't have any new pics of kitties, but luckily I have plenty of backstock to choose from. Here's an explorer Jasper from a week or so ago.

(no subject)

Apr. 27th, 2017 08:49 am
oursin: Brush the Wandering Hedgehog by the fire (Default)
[personal profile] oursin
Happy birthday, [personal profile] gumbie_cat!
oursin: Cartoon hedgehog going aaargh (Hedgehog goes aaargh)
[personal profile] oursin

Yesterday, bound for a conference. Got the train okay.

About a third of the way into the journey, train stops.

Someone had collided with a train further up the line.

In due course we are informed that train will be terminating at a station not previously on the schedule, where we can change to a train going, presumably by some more circuitous route, to the next scheduled stop, but not, however, onwards to my destination.

When we arrive at designated point, it is chucking down rain. Fortunately the next train is in and we only need to cross the platform. It is, however, rather full, though I did manage to get a seat.

Another, local, and very crowded train at the next change.

My dearios may imagine that all this was by no means conducive to reading a serious academic study for review purposes.

Once at my destination, some 2 hours later than anticipated, there was supposed to be a taxi booked for me - I had been in touch with the conference admin person anent delays - what I had not been told was that it would be round the back rather than the main exit.

Not that it was there when I found the spot, and cameth not as I waited in an increasing state of fume - it would always have been tiresome but after the preceding misadventures this was particularly infuriating - and a chilly wind. Fortunately, what did turn up was the taxi for one of the other participants, so I went with her.

I do not mention the faff over my ticket - got details and booking ref latish previous afternoon.

Inadequate curtainage in hotel room meant undesirably early waking....

And now I have to present a paper, sigh.

Shaving Manatees—for Science!

Apr. 27th, 2017 12:15 am
[syndicated profile] hakai_magazine_feed

Posted by Jason Bittel

Manatees can sense the world around them using nothing more than body hair.

by Jason Bittel | 650 words

Unshelved on Thursday, April 27, 2017

Apr. 27th, 2017 12:00 am
[syndicated profile] unshelved_feed

Posted by Bill Barnes

Limited quantities of the final Unshelved collection, OVERDUE, are now available in the store!



Unshelved comic strip for 4/27/2017

link to this strip | tweet this | share on facebook | email us

This classic Unshelved strip originally appeared on December 12, 2005.

the_comfortable_courtesan: image of a fan c. 1810 (Default)
[personal profile] the_comfortable_courtesan

'Tis with some chagrin that I open a letter from dearest Belinda, that writes that she hears that I am return'd to Town, and I mind that I have not writ to her this age. I hope she does not take offense in the matter or suppose I go scorn her.

But she writes in all good humour to mention that they have had dealings with Captain C-, and that she is in correspondence with Chancery over the matter of T-, but she doubts that there will be any immediate action; and she hopes that I may join 'em for the Derby again this year. She also wonders a little whether my jaunt abroad had somewhat to do with that matter I open'd to 'em last summer. But as I am happyly return'd she confides that all's well.

So I address myself at once to inditing a letter to her with as much of my news as 'tis prudent to convey, and declaring that 'twould be an entire pleasure to join their party for the Derby.

'Tis most particular shocking to me to have neglect'd to write to her, when I contemplate that this very e'en I am bound to Lord A-'s ball at B- House, that will sure be a matter of interest to her.

But indeed, I have been entire besieg'd with invitations and callers and the wranglings among the philanthropick set, and trying put my writings in fit condition to be publisht or stag'd, and going furbish up my wardrobe so that Docket will not scold me. Yet 'tis most thoughtless in me.

But I cannot regret the hours spent about my wardrobe when I go have Docket and Sophy array me for the B- House ball: sure I am a vain creature, but it pleases me to look so exceeding well in a fine new satin gown of Maurice's devizing, with my fine Hindoo rubies blazing about my neck and my pearls gleaming in my hair. They stand back and look very approving.

Docket nods and says sure Maurice does excellent fine work.

I arrive at B- House late enough not to be unfashionable early, but not so late as to look haughty. I greet Lord and Lady A- very warm: I confide that she is at that stage of increase where she begins show a little but is like to feel exceeding well. Certainly she looks so, and I remark upon how very much she is in looks. Lord A- looks at her very proud and says, but she should not overdo: I daresay Mrs O- B- has been dispensing cautions.

I say that I hope we may have the pleasure of hearing her sing, if only a little, before I proceed up the stair to see the rest of the company.

Sure one would not know B- House for that desolate wreck that us'd to be, 'tis now a fine fashionable residence entire throng'd with quite the best society, and I can hardly even believe it that same place where I was menac'd by that creeping madman. The chamber in which I was so terroriz'd by that horrid apparition is now a fine musick room in which Mrs O- B- goes delight an audience with her song.

I go in very quiet and sit down to listen for a little while, and find myself next to Sebastian K-. We nod very civil to one another in silence so as not to distract the other listeners.

After Mrs O- B- goes sit down to considerable applause, I stand and leave the room, for tho' tis most agreeable to listen to good singing, I must go improve the shining hour, whilst I also demonstrate that I may still dance a very great deal without I go swoon.

I should perchance have preferr'd not to dance with Mr O- B- so early in the proceedings, for tho' a most amiable fellow is a quite wretch'd dancer that treads upon my feet, but I must show civil. Is most effusive as to what a fine residence this is, how very pleasant Lord A- shows - has took him a time or two to play goff at Blackheath ('tis indeed a great mark of favour); entirely doats upon Charley, and comes about to an apprehension of the duties of his rank.

Why, says I, that is entire pleasing. Was ever an agreeable young fellow but somewhat of a careless fribble.

Goes very meritorious to take up the business of his estates, goes on Mr B-. And is a fellow will listen to advice.

The dance ends and I endeavour not to hobble as I quit the floor. I stand wriggling my toes to ascertain they are not broken.

Comes over Lord O-, that has been dancing with Cousin Lalage – 'tis in exceeding good ton of him – and asks me to dance. I concede with pleasure.

He says, he is entire glad that Lady B- is return’d to Town, along with Mr MacD- - he gives a certain smile by which I confide he supposes that we have been about matters for The Cause; 'tis indeed not entirely mistook – for he comes about to have the manuscript for the book of his travels complet’d, and would scarce dare venture it upon the world without he took it before our judgements.

O, poo, says I, I am like to suppose 'tis quite entire its own recommendation: Mr L- was most entire prepossesst by the preliminary essays he publisht – declar’d they had a fine virile style -

The Marquess’s lips twitch and he says, sure he cannot have suppos’d how much assistance I had from a certain lady of the pen -

Tush, says I, 'tis entire like unto advizing concerning furbishing up a residence: a gentleman’s study and a lady’s boudoir will require a different approach. But, I go on, I see that you have quite another kind of production in progress –

He looks somewhat more sober and says, sure the prospect is exceeding delightfull, but one cannot entire be unfearfull, 'tis a perilous matter for women.

'Tis indeed so, says I, I hope you have her in good hands?

He says that he understands Mr H- to be very well-thought-of in the man-midwife line.

Entirely, says I, tho’ did you prefer a midwife of the more usual sex there is one whose interest I might advance to you.

He looks thoughtfull and says, he will ask his dear Hippolyta what she might prefer.

At the end of the measure I observe Lieutenant H- approaching. He makes me a leg and offers that I might care to dance? As he leads me onto the floor I remark that I had not expect’d to see him still in Town rather than return’d to his ship. He sighs somewhat and says, is at present second’d to duty at the Admiralty, sure had rather be at sea, hears I was lately at Naples, was the fleet there?

O, says I, arriv’d just about as I was about returning to Town, heard the Admiral’s excellent news.

He says somewhat of what a fine fellow is the Admiral, what a privilege 'tis to serve with him, and then his gaze strays to where Em is dancing with some fellow that I do not immediate recognize, and I confide that there are certain attractions ashore, even does he yearn for salt water.

At the end of the dance he goes with great expedition solicit Em, and I look about me and see where Viola is sitting. I go greet her and she says, she confides I have not yet been introduc’d to Rebecca G-, that is dear Jacob’s niece, and Julia P-, from Bombay.

They are indeed very fine-looking young women, of a most out of the common exotick style of beauty, that make exceeding civil. Miss P- in particular has a fine ivory-tint’d complexion and smooth raven hair and finely-cut features; perchance there is a little look of the Orient, that may be attribut’d to her upbringing in Bombay. I am like to think that Sir Z- R- would be quite wild to paint her, and remark on this.

Why, says Viola, perchance we might go to his studio one day, there can be entirely no objection to the matter.

Then come up the gentlemen to whom the young ladies have promis’d the next dance. I sit down beside Viola, ignoring that Sir V- P- endeavours catch my eye to come solicit me.

I mind, says I, that Martha found the scent of paints &C somewhat unsettling when she first went increase with Deborah.

Viola sighs and says, indeed she at present finds there are certain scents do cause a certain qualmishness, 'tis somewhat tiresome. Might you, dear C-, be kind enough to take 'em there? Are they not quite among the belles of the Season?

Entirely, says I, do they yet have any eligible offers?

O, there are several go pay 'em most particular attention, but do not yet come to that point. But 'twixt their looks, their portions, and their very excellent address, I cannot think they will linger upon hand very long. And, she goes on, Miss C- I think has already took, Lord V- shows exceeding smitten.

So 'tis give out, says I. What about Lady Rosamund?

Viola sighs and says, she was anticipating a young woman that would display theologickal objections like unto her brother; and sure she is mind’d to suppose that that would be a deal less exasperating than the ways she shows. But, she goes on, you should not be sitting out with me, dearest C-, I am sure that there are a deal of fellows quite panting to dance with the exquisite Lady B-.

'Tis possible, I concede, so be I may evade the antient ram. Aha, I continue, I observe Mr Geoffrey M- -

Viola laughs somewhat immoderate and says, do you go have a youthfull cicisbeo like unto Lady Z-? 'Twill be said that you have got quite into Italian habits.

O, poo, says I, he is an agreeable and respectfull young fellow.

Indeed, he comes over and makes an elegant leg – one may most certain see the effect of his association with Milord – and offers that I may care to dance?

I rise and curtesy and we go tread a measure, during which he conveys to me some very shocking matters he has lately discover’d in his studies concerning the laws of the nation.

wildestranger: (Default)
[personal profile] wildestranger
Estonia, Jaan Kaplinski, All has been written about
Kõigest on kirjutatud, kõigest on lauldud.
Ja see, mis veel kirjutatakse-lauldakse,
loeb ikka vähem, kostab ikka nõrgemalt
läbi meretuule õunapuudes ja kuldnoka-
poegade näljase sädina pesakastides
luuletajate peade kohal. Mida kauem
elad, räägid ja kirjutad, seda selgemaks saab,
et elad saarel, mis on vana ja kulunud
ja selle saare all on teine saar,
lähemal tulele, lähemal ehk tõelegi,
kuid kaugemal sõnadest, mida meie siin
ütleme üksteisele ja Läänemere tuulde.

All has been written about, all has been sung about.
And what will still be written and sung about
means less and less, sounds ever weaker
through sea winds in apple trees and the hungry
chirping of starling babies in the nest boxes
above the heads of poets. The more you
live, speak and write, the clearer it becomes
that you live on an island that is old and outworn
and that beneath that island there is another,
closer to fire, maybe also closer to truth,
but more distant from words that we here
tell each other and the wind of the Baltic Sea.

More information: http://estonianworld.com/culture/a-mission-to-translate-marie-under-estonias-most-influential-poet-into-english/
http://www.wordswithoutborders.org/article/writing-from-the-edge-estonian-literature

Life imitates art, part II

Apr. 27th, 2017 07:34 am
beer_good_foamy: (Default)
[personal profile] beer_good_foamy
OK, you know how the Buffyverse has the occasional reference to Very Old Things in California, predating any known Native American settlement?

Scientists find evidence of possible human activity in San Diego 130 000 years ago

The fact that they may have been Denisovans just adds to the synchronicity.

very short entry

Apr. 26th, 2017 10:37 pm
alatefeline: Painting of a cat asleep on a book. (Default)
[personal profile] alatefeline
Grateful for:

moments of courage

planning for effective help & mutual support with partner

sunshine and rain making things grow

completely ridiculous flowers

got my meds

Birthday greetings and felicitations

Apr. 26th, 2017 10:02 pm
onyxlynx: Festive pennants in blue & purple with word "Birthday" centered. (Birthday)
[personal profile] onyxlynx
to [personal profile] bradycardia! A day of enormous peace for you!

So. Sleepy.

Apr. 27th, 2017 12:38 am
archangelbeth: Bleary-eyed young woman peers up, pillow obscuring the lower half of her face. Text reads: SO not a morning person. (So Not A Morning Person)
[personal profile] archangelbeth
So I slept most of the day. And wound up getting food around 4 in the afternoon. We went to the 99. Where the greeters were oblivious (when I say we CANNOT sit in the bar, I do not mean "we don't want to"; I mean "my child will have a panic attack breakdown and no one will like this"), tried to seat us in a booth with clear sightpath to the bar AFTER I said "a quiet booth out of sight of the bar," and then the waitress tried to argue with me about whether I could swap out turkey skewers for a baked potato. When A: I'd done it before (she said, "But it's only been on the menu 2 weeks" and I said, "And I've had it like this before," and she said, "They're not supposed to do that" and jump to C), B: the skewers are cooked separately and laid upon the greenery (not baked into anything), and C: I DO NOT CARE IF IT IS ON THE "FIT FOR ME" MENU. I DO NOT GIVE TWO WHOOPS IN HELL ABOUT IT BEING "FIT FOR ME." I AM ORDERING IT THAT WAY BECAUSE I CAN EAT EVERYTHING ELSE ON THE PLATE, EXCEPT THE DEAD BIRD.

When I actually say "two whoops in hell" out loud to someone, you can tell that I am about }this{ close to "I want to talk to the manager."

She went away with a doubtful "I'll see if they can do it."

Obviously, reader, they did it, and I got my baked potato with all the other stuff on that plate.

Because I am far too nice, I did not actually stiff her on the tip more than a little (I rounded .53 to .50 instead of up to $1 as I normally would). Also, she did not give me a peep of trouble after that. (All the waitstaff are supposed to box up people's take-home leftovers, I guess; they always ask. But no, I am going to separate out the chicken Parm from the pasta because otherwise it will get REALLY soggy and none of the leftovers will get eaten at all.)

Do. Not. Argue. With. The. Customer. About. Something. Clearly. Possible.

Because people are stupid, you can say that it will change the calorie count. In case someone actually thinks that it's not just a ballpark figure anyway (the kitchen totally skimped on cucumbers; hmph). Fine, whatever, that's just information.

You don't say "they're not supposed to do that." No. The kitchen is 100% supposed to make an easy substitution like that, or I will have WORDS and should those not suffice, I will stomp out and write even MORE scathing things on Twitter. Which I did not have to do in this case, but I was about ready.

Anyway. The rest of the day has been spent keeping stressed-out kid company and now I am having an introvert breakdown.

Havva Quote
Vot vould dot cute high priestess from de Temple of Nyx say if she could see hyu now, hey?
--Oggie, with Maxim's mirror. http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php?date=20170419#.WQF5gBTTyns


INwatch+Bookwatch )

Dragons under fold )

(no subject)

Apr. 26th, 2017 11:31 pm
kittydesade: Stippled light shining through curtains onto a couch or bed bracketed by white pillows. (hideaway)
[personal profile] kittydesade
Aaaarrgh everything today has been chaotic and too much going on in too little time and aaaaargh. Also for whatever reason I had a dream last night where it was winter and icy and we were driving slow to work and everything was normal until a bus turned to go down a hill and skidded off the street and into a pedestrian. Which was followed shortly thereafter by a car just flat-out running over a person in the road. There was a fair amount of graphic blood thing. I have a vivid imagination and I wish it would quit picking on me.

The news, as it turns out, is not making me any less tired. Not that I really expected it to but people are rightfully freaking out about half a dozen things and some of them have descended into hopelessness and it's dragging me along with.

My boots are coming tomorrow? That's a happy thing, right? I'm trying to determine if I can get away with boots-OTK socks-shorts or skirt-cami-button down or jacket or if that'll just make me feel uncomfortable. Or if it depends on the clothes and how well they fit, which might also be true. Time will tell I guess.

And apparently I'm taking this week off. I haven't been doing any of my usual things, writing, editing, anything. The evening reminders. I'm exhausted, and I feel fairly guilty for not getting anything done and annoyed at feeling so exhausted, but I can't say it isn't good just to go to work and come home and play stupid games and relax. I don't know. Everything is so goddamn exhausting these days. I resent the hell out of it. I hope I can get back to routines next week. Or maybe get some started on them tomorrow.
[syndicated profile] su_herald_feed

Posted by chasingdemons

BUFFY: Faith and I just made that bed.
TARA: For who?
BUFFY: I thought you were here to tell me. The guys aren't here, are they? We were gonna hang out and, watch movies.
TARA: You lost them.
BUFFY: No. No. I think they need me to find them.
BUFFY: It's so late.
TARA: Oh ... that clock's completely wrong. Here.
BUFFY: I'm never gonna use those.
TARA: You think you know ... what's to come ... what you are. You haven't even begun.
BUFFY: I think I need to go find the others.
TARA: Be back before dawn.

~~Restless (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 4, Episode 22)~~




[Drabbles & Short Fiction]
[Chaptered Fiction]
[Images]
[Recs]
[Community Announcements]
[Reviews & Recaps]
[Fandom Discussion]

starandrea: (almost human life)
[personal profile] starandrea
So, How Not to Fall in Love with Your Partner. At some point I'll have to either continue this story or not. But the best thing about 750 words is, it's both! And neither!

how not to (admit that you're in) love with your partner )

Shout outs

Apr. 26th, 2017 10:52 pm
ceitfianna: (riding into the sun)
[personal profile] ceitfianna posting in [community profile] ways_back_room
It's rainy and foggy here and Milliways is full of old and new friends. I'm going to hit some highlights but share what you've been tracking and finishing.

Gabriel Tam returns to Milliways with hopeful news and Galadan prepares for a new step.

Barry starts to figure out this heroing job.

A sparring match between two Guardians and a Sith, I love the enthusiasm of everyone in this thread.

Check-In -- Day 26

Apr. 26th, 2017 10:30 pm
samuraiter: (Default)
[personal profile] samuraiter posting in [community profile] writethisfanfic
The fog in my head is starting to clear. This is good. How are you doing on your end?

— Thinking. Maybe a little, maybe a lot.
— Writing.
— Planning and / or researching.
— Editing.
— Sending things to the beta.
— Posting!
— Relaxing, taking a break, etc.
— Other stuff-ing. Look at the comment.

Question for today: How long do you wait before you officially dive into a new fandom?

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
91011121314 15
16 1718 1920 21 22
23 242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 27th, 2017 02:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios