Shell Shocked - free story

Sep. 20th, 2017 04:45 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
"Shell Shocked" - a shifter story with a twist - is available to download free and gratis from my free stories page.

The lights, the recording equipment, the lairy looking rozzer.
I’ve never experienced anything like this before, never been in trouble with the police. Honest Billy, that’s me, always kept my nose clean; I even declare every one of my tips on my tax form. So, what’s Mrs. Zanderson’s best boy doing being formally interviewed under caution?
Doing his best to explain just how he’d got into this mess in the first place, only I can’t tell them the whole truth, for reasons that will become apparent.
“How and when did you meet Jonny Telfer?”
“A couple of months ago, in a bar. The Happy Return.”
“Had you gone there to pick up a fare?”
“No. It was pleasure, not business.”
And what a pleasure it had turned out to be, at least at first...

Read more

Be Afraid. Be Very Very Afraid. II

Sep. 20th, 2017 09:54 am
la_samtyr: asian art drawing of sleeping cat (Default)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
Guys, CALL!! They're 2 votes from killing the ACA. Congressional staffers say they were inundated with calls before. Now they say they are getting THREE OR FOUR. Call. Call. Call. Every. Day. (202) 224-3121.

health care part 3
--The above was snagged from my fb page.

Arrr

Sep. 19th, 2017 11:13 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
It's not just an Arrr for talk like a pirate day, it's an arrr for my students. Yesterday I gave two tests, one went well, the other went okay but at my office hour one of the wanna be allied health students drops in because she can't get online (I only showed them 5 weeks ago) so I help her Then she asks, 'so what did I miss in class today?' Um the EXAM. She proceeds to argue with me about it. I'm like not only did I say it was monday I sent an EMAIL. I can't text you so you HAVE to look at those emails, send them to your fucking phone. I was nice enough to let her make it up (she failed, she also failed the homework and wrote me an email to tell me none of it was in my notes. Um do you want the page numbers?)

I got my [personal profile] spook_me prompts. they're exciting. I just wish I could focus on writing. It's getting worse and worse. I feel like soon I won't be writing at all. I don't know what's happening to me.

Some people are discovering some of my old fanfic which is nice at least.

Today was the Jackson Apple festival. I didn't go because it's raining (maybe later this week) but I did take a bag of books to the library and came home with two bags. I fail at getting rid of my books. :)

I did get to see the H.S. band marching. They were good and I am jealous. They got to march in shorts and t-shirts because it's summer. I asked mom 'remember what I had to march in in spite of the heat?' Mom: the full wool uniform Dad: with the Q Tip hat. Yeah. I had to do it in a woolen oven

Conflux 13 Schedule

Sep. 20th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: (Calissa)
[personal profile] calissa

Conflux, Canberra’s annual convention for speculative fiction writers and fans, begins next week! This year it is taking place from Friday 29 September until Monday 2 October and the theme is Grimm Tales. Hugo-winning editor Ellen Datlow is the international Guest of Honour, and dark fantasy/horror author Angela Slatter is the Australian Guest of Honour. Kaaron Warren will be the MC. As usual, I will be attending and am very much looking forward to making some new friends as well as catching up with some old ones.

Where to find me

I will be sitting on four panels. Exact details are subject to change.

Con 101

When: Friday, 29 September 10:00 AM

Where: Program Room 3
Hotel Vibe
1 Rogan Street, Canberra

Panellists: Elizabeth Fitzgerald and Leife Shallcross

New to Conflux? Not been to a con before? Come and get your starter packs here. (Mostly just friendly chat–no actual starter packs will be issued, but there may be Tim Tams.)

 

Creating Story for Games

When: Friday, 29 September, 2:00 PM

Where: Program room 2

Panellists: Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Adam Hale (m), Rik Legarto, Alistair Ott, Maddy Piggott

Whether it’s roleplaying IRL or in a computer game.

 

Beyond the Hunger Games

When: Saturday, 30 September, 11: 00 AM

Where: Program room 1

Panellists: Felicity Banks, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Adam Hale, Aiki Johnston (m)

The best YA books in the last 12 months

 

The Hugos are a Joke

When: Monday, 2 October, 11:30 AM

Where: Program room 1

Panellists: Alan Baxter, Ellen Datlow, Elizabeth Fitzgerald (m), Tim Napper

Or have they redeemed themselves? And what about the Nebulas? And how could we get better Aussie representation on the shortlists?

 

If you have an interest in speculative fiction and can make it along, please stop by and say hi! I love getting to know new people. However, if Canberra is a little too far away for you or attending conventions is not your sort of thing, there’s no need for you to miss out entirely. I shall be posting a convention report once the excitement is over (and I’ve had the chance for a few restorative cups of tea).

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
 I am up after sleeping a few hours for the second night in a row. I don't think it's a matter of me not getting enough sleep. I think it's just a matter of my sleep patterns being interrupted, and I can only blame myself for this. I shouldn't have gotten so caught up in the Fallout storylines, and shouldn't have thought about the way they treat the non-feral ghouls as being a statement for racism, or my live for K-L-E-0 being an anti-trans joke that backfired on the developers. (But don't worry, she only tests the weapons she sells on people that deserve it.)  It would be nice if there were more of an option for a more pacifist run, which you *can* do in Fallout New Vegas.  

In any case, I hope I can get back to sleep tonight. I've avoided playing video games tonight to try to reset my system clock, but it's not that easy. It might be easier if I were not know in front of my computer. But it seems that once again, I'm seeing the Trump administration and its continued failures at being compassionate human beings. I suppose the latest problem is the administration trying to end DACA. I just don't see the point of punishing the children for the actions -- or crimes if you want -- of the parents. The children had no choice. It's like punishing humanity forever or at least for thousands because two people ate an apple they weren't supposed to.  It's tempting to blame this on Mike Pence's influence, but I don't believe even Mike Pence is that terrible of a person. His boss, on the other hand, is definitely as bad as he seems to be.

I am getting back in the swing of things, but I have to admit I didn't do as well on a routers and switching test tonight as I would have liked. It's true I'm not interested in computer networking, but it does have some relevance for a server administrator. I think one of the classes should be replaced with C for people on the Linux path, since knowing more Cisco IOS commands isn't all that useful.  (Not Apple iOS. They are completely different things. Cisco IOS came about first.)  Laying cables will have to be a task left to someone else. I also dislike that these courses are only offered at night so I can't ride the city bus back home even if I wanted to.

Now, well, to the person worried that it's a video card problem on their Mac -- it's actually possible, but I wouldn't start with fixing that option.  But if the air duster doesn't work, it'd probably be a good idea to take it to an Apple store. It could be a problem with the power supply  or the cpu fan. 

duskpeterson: An apprentice builds a boat as a man looks on. (Default)
[personal profile] duskpeterson
The Three Lands


"Have you ever heard of a place where the custom is for friends not to touch each other?"

Adrian knows that friendship is a fundamental custom of all mankind. Or so he thinks, until his closest friend discovers a mysterious journal.

A commentfic for [personal profile] schneefink. This story can be read on its own, but it does have spoilers for the chapters of "Law Links" that I have already posted.

  • Online fiction: Famine or Feast at AO3.

  • Series: The Three Lands.

  • Series resources: The Great Peninsula: series resources for The Three Lands.



  • Law Links


    "Sometimes I feel that he is as mysterious as the gods, and that he is hiding something of vital importance from me. Something that would transform my life."

    Few events are more thrilling in a young man's life than a blood feud between two villages. Or so Adrian thought.

    Torn between affection toward his traditional-minded father and worship of his peace-loving, heretical priest, Adrian finds himself caught between two incompatible visions of his duty to the gods. Then the Jackal God sends Adrian a message that will disrupt his world and send him fleeing to a new and perilous life.




    Men and Lads


    "'You have committed a vile and savage act, one that any other nation would punish with death. Our punishment, on the other hand, will only be to give you what you want. You have sought to live in a world without boundaries of civilization, and such a world shall henceforth be your dwelling place.'"

    A cold-hearted murderer. A vicious abuser. A young man hiding a shameful secret. A bewildered immigrant. A pure-minded spy.

    All of these men have found their appointed places at Mercy Life Prison, where it is easy to tell who your enemies are. But a new visitor to Mercy is about to challenge decades-old customs. Now these men's worst enemies may be hiding behind masks . . . and so may their closest allies.




    Sweet Blood


    "He tried to keep his voice calm, though his pulse was racing."

    Time is running out.

    Vito de Vere has ten days to prepare for his performance in the Eternal Dungeon's first play. He may have fewer days than that to fight for his career and to save his prisoner's life.

    As the Eternal Dungeon prepares for the greatest change it has ever undergone, Vito must prove his worth by breaking and transforming a criminal. Nobody else is likely to manage it. And nobody but himself cares so passionately whether his prisoner survives.

    As an actor, Vito portrays the qualities of courage, love, truth, and trust. Now he must find the strength to take those qualities into the breaking cell.




    To receive notices of my fiction by e-mail )
    janedavitt: (starbyme)
    [personal profile] janedavitt
    I'd already part-edited Wild Raspberries so it didn't take too long to get it ready to post. The sequel Wintergreen will take a week or so to get ready.

    When runaway Daniel Seaton inadvertently trespasses on Tyler Edward's land, Tyler nearly shoots him on sight.

    Tyler's got a lot of years under his belt, and his past doesn't let him accept strangers easily. Dan's situation is dire enough that Tyler takes him home, at least for a little while, and that turns out to be a good decision when Tyler's injured and needs Dan's help.

    Tyler's learning to trust, and Dan's settling in to a new life, but things aren't always what they seem. Between interfering friends, injuries, and their attraction to each other, Tyler and Dan have plenty of to deal with even before Tyler's previous career returns to haunt them. Can they overcome what lies in the past to have a future with each other?



    Wild Raspberries at AO3
    calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
    [personal profile] calissa

    Fake Geek Girl, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Belladonna University, Earl Grey Editing, books and tea, tea and books

    Published: March 2016 by Sheep Might Fly
    Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
    Series: Belladonna University #1
    Genres: Fantasy
    Source: Author
    Reading Challenges: Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017
    Available: Author’s website (electronic, free) ~ Sheep Might Fly (audio, free) ~ Review of Australian Fiction

    Meet Fake Geek Girl, the band that plays nerdy songs at the university bar every Friday night, to a mixture of magical and non-magical students: lead singer Holly writes songs based on her twin sister Hebe’s love of geek culture though she doesn’t really understand it; drummer Sage is an explosive sorcerous genius obsessing over whether Holly’s about to quit the band to go mainstream; shy Juniper only just worked up the nerve to sing her own song in public and keeps a Jane Austen themed diary chronicling the lives and loves of her friends. When the mysterious, privileged Ferd joins their share house, everything starts to unravel…

    Fake Geek Girl is a fun short story that brings magic to an Australian university.

    The world-building was one of my favourite parts of the story. It’s set in an alternate version of the present where magic (also referred to as the Real) and technology (the Unreal) exist uneasily alongside each other. Magic is very much the norm, with almost everyone having some degree of magic proficiency. Students have laptops and mobile phones they need to keep protected from magic radiation, and heaven help the student who tries to use magic Post-Its on his ordinary textbook. The university likewise reflects this dichotomy, with the more prestigious College of the Real teaching thaumaturgy and similar magic classes, while the College of the Unreal includes Gender Studies and Unreal Literature.

    The characters were also wonderful. Each character is distinct, with their own personalities and quirks. Hebe is a sweet girl who cares about her friends and isn’t afraid to snark when she’s constantly mistaken for her rock-star twin sister. Sage is the glue that holds the band together… well, usually. And shy Juniper’s love affair with Jane Austen was gorgeous. I was actually a little disappointed we didn’t get to see more of her, but I’m hoping that may be rectified in a later story.

    As you might gather, friendship is very much at the heart of the story. Changing circumstances threaten to steal away one friend, but has simultaneously delivered a new one. The characters don’t always face these changes with grace, making them very relatable. They also come with a side order of banter.

    The story is written in first person with the author’s distinctive voice–sarcastic but fun and upbeat. The chapters alternate perspectives, with the heading title incorporating the perspective character’s name. Despite this, I didn’t immediately twig to the shift in perspective and it threw me off in the second chapter. However, the story was too much fun not to persist.

    Overall, I really enjoyed Fake Geek Girl and the series has become my new favourite of the author’s work.

    Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

    Writerly Ways

    Sep. 17th, 2017 04:18 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    I guess now would be the time to talk about what I had planned for last week (read: I'm trying to avoid cleaning). I know a few people won't agree with me but given how small the blog is these days, I doubt I'll be unfriended.

    Anyhow in the last month the topic of mpreg has come up in two different professional m/m communities (though with a lot of cross over one would imagine). Both ended up either being locked or deleted and apologies offered by the moderators because members of the community felt unsafe and/or marginalized. To me this is appalling. I don't even understand why this is even necessary to discuss. Mpreg belongs in fanfic. Just leave it there (I suppose if you're writing SF and the males carry the baby that's different but that's not most of M/M romance in the professional setting.

    I have never liked Mpreg, that's no secret, not even in fandom. To me, it's a way of fetishizing gay men and not really honoring their reality. And basically the giant arguments were to that end, many gay men saying PLEASE don't do this. They shouldn't have had to say it more than once but naturally they did. I see this as the women writing gay men confirming their worst fears, that we have no respect for them, have no idea what it's like to be a gay man and are just profiting from them. There are enough voices decrying women writing gay men without adding fuel to the fire.

    Here's the thing: if people within the community you're trying to write about are telling you it's offensive and insulting, IT IS offensive and insulting, end of story. This is just widening the gap between groups. We're expected now to write diversely. (I just read an article and damn I should have bookmarked it that said if you don't have a gay and minority character your story is inherently homophobic and racist. Obviously that's moronic, swinging too far to one side). But we're hit on both sides, told we're prejudice if we aren't diverse and told we're doing it wrong and our writing it is unwanted because we're not in the community. Trying to force Mpreg into mainstream writing just reconfirms how wrong we are.

    And oh, yeah, I stayed out of the arguments in both communities because I knew how it would end. Be respectful. If you want a baby in the story, adopt, find a surrogate, something a gay man could feasibly do.

    As always have some writing links

    From others besides Betty: Flying without a Net

    Writing 3-D characters I used to do this ALL the time. I need to get back to it. I find it helpful because I'll be the one who forgets details (like seriously couldn't remember which arm Aaron lost when it came time to talk to my cover artist).

    the importance of reviews and how to handle them

    And thanks to Betty we have: 6 problems with long series I don't always agree with Mythcreants (often I feel their writers are very young and miss the point half the time) but this one is pretty good.

    marketing cheat sheet

    what’s a bisac code?

    Novel plan

    social media vs author website

    creating an eclectic magic system This is very good

    surviving a confidence crisis I feel that using friends too often thing.

    Yearly Word Count -


    25768 / 100000 words. 26% done!

    Splinters of Silver - editing nothing

    Blood Red - waiting for edits

    editing 3 novellas - edited 2/3rds of Cassadaga

    Behind Blue Eyes - nothing

    Haunted Hocking -


    10215 / 60000 words. 17% done!

    Steampunk Deadwood - planning stages
    misslucyjane: (side by side (steve & bucky))
    [personal profile] misslucyjane
    The Oldest Living Bachelor in Oakdale (3130 words) by misslucyjane
    Chapters: 1/?
    Fandom: Marvel Cinematic Universe
    Rating: Mature
    Warnings: Major Character Death
    Relationships: James "Bucky" Barnes/Steve Rogers
    Characters: Steve Rogers, James "Bucky" Barnes, Tony Stark, Pepper Potts, Bruce Banner, Betty Ross, Peggy Carter, Sam Wilson (Marvel), Sharon Carter (Marvel), Georges Batroc
    Additional Tags: Alternate Universe - No Powers, Work In Progress, Alternate Universe - Romance Novel, Grief/Mourning, Second Chances
    Summary:

    Sweet, shy Steve Rogers had had it! He now held the dubious title of oldest unmarried man in Oakdale — and a virgin, to boot. It was high time he shed his scholarly shell and unleashed the temptor within. Problem was, he didn't know the first thing about men, let alone seducing one….


    Heartbreaker Bucky Barnes had been away for twelve years, and boy, had things changed! The innocent boy who once had tutored him in math now was a man in need of his help… to snare a man! He'd always admired Steve, but his stunning transformation was too much for any man to resist — even a sworn bachelor like him...


    Adapted from The Oldest Virgin In Oakdale by Wendy Warren

    the_gneech: (Default)
    [personal profile] the_gneech
    Kihai, ready for some do-goodery!

    Last night was the second session of [personal profile] inkblitz's D&D "off-game." Set in an out-of-the-way village named Greenfork, the adventure was a fairly straightforward campaign-starter type. Goblins have raided the village and kidnapped the miller's daughter, so a band of off-kilter newbie heroes head off to rescue her. The party consists of:

    • Qiphina, a halfling wizard specializing in divination (but who didn't get the chance to do much divining)

    • Lindhardt McGimm, a dwarf fighter with an axe in one hand and a hammer in the other

    • Kihai, a tabaxi monk made of cheerful

    • Graycape, a tabaxi cleric who is made of the opposite of cheerful and is Kihai's aunt and reluctant guardian angel

    • Sequoia, an unreasonably tall human druid (gonna guess he's played by Liam Neeson), and

    • Ixy the Fantabulous, a gnome bard who loves to strum his lute (not a euphemism) talk about his family


    First Session
    The first session took us to the goblin lair. On the way we did battle with an ill-tempered water snake and encountered a high-level wizard named Thorn, who entreated us, if we were going to go poking around the goblin hole, to look for a "round stone artifact."

    The goblin hole itself... )

    That ended the first session, with everyone gaining enough XP to hit second level. A very nice +1 Wisdom helmet recovered from the goblin leader was given to Sequoia, as it bumped his Wis bonus up.

    Second Session
    The party followed the old forest trail west, heading for the ruins to which the dragon had relocated. Suddenly Thorn popped up out of the trees to check in. The party informed him that his "round artifact" was not recoverable because it had hatched, to which he replied that he'd suspected it would. When they demanded to know why he hadn't mentioned that it was a dragon egg, he replied that he wasn't sure at the time.

    They gave him the egg fragments (and the side-eye) and carried on. Further into the woods... ) The party wished the newlyweds dragon and wizard farewell, and escorted the miller's daughter home, with Ixy finally renaming the dragon Scintillax the Multicolored. We were rewarded with gold and enough XP to hit 3rd level.

    Loose Ends for Future Tying
    There are many questions to be answered, of course. Where is Scintillax from? He's clearly not a normal dragon. Is he a mutation? An experiment? His egg was acquired by the goblins after they wiped out the kobolds who initially occupied the cave, right? Since many kobolds worship dragons, could it be part of some larger kobold plan? Or the Cult of the Dragon? Scintillax's multi-colored nature points towards Tiamat.

    Who were the glowy magic guys, and how did they come into existence? They referred to Scintillax as "the master" and were perusing high-level magics. One assumes that they were also the ones leaving notes around and complaining about goblins making off with the mask fragments. What's their deal?

    Who the heck is Thorn? We gambled on the hope that he's basically good and that he and Scintillax will happily geek out over each other for the next hundred years, but we don't actually know anything about him except that he isn't exactly the bravest of wizards. He could be a Dragon Cultist himself for all we know.

    Blitzy the DM, and Inter-Player Dynamics
    For a first-time DM dealing with six particularly headstrong players, Blitzy did a great job! As a long-time DM myself there were spots where I would have handled things differently, but I did my best to keep my mouth shut and not cramp his style. Right now he's leaning quite a bit on the written adventure, but that's to be expected from someone learning the ropes. Given that our plan of "throw Thorn at the dragon" was completely from left field and apparently not addressed in the adventure, he did a good job of taking the narrative ball and running with it instead of just shutting it down because it wasn't "the right answer."

    In terms of not cramping someone's style, however, I do need to be better about that in re: [personal profile] laurie_robey's wizard. Out of a desire to do something other than spam ray of frost there were a few times when she wanted to pull out burning hands or something else and Jamie and I both were like, "Save that for the dragon or multiple targets!" I was trying to be helpful, but really I shoulda just shut up and let her play the character the way she wanted. So, I apologize for that. Wizards aren't really her bag, but she ended up the wizard in this game because nobody else had claimed the role.

    This particular party hasn't really pulled into a cohesive shape yet. Ixy wants to just go off and do his thing, Graycape wants to go off and do her thing in the opposite direction, Kihai wants to talk to all the things, Lindhardt wants to fight all the things. Qiphina and Sequoia don't seem to have an agenda other than "try to find some way to be useful," but that leads to them being overshadowed by the more aggressive players.

    Every group goes through this, and every campaign even within the same group goes through this. It's a normal process, but it can be bumpy.

    But the game was a lot of fun, and I am really eager to continue! I'll be back in the DM chair for the next session either way, tho. The characters are rich, and at one of the major dwarven cities of the world. Time for shopping! And backstory-revealing!

    -The Gneech

    Rainbow snippet - Awfully Glad

    Sep. 17th, 2017 04:49 pm
    charlie_cochrane: (Default)
    [personal profile] charlie_cochrane
    Bold Strokes have got lots of books on offer this weekend, including Awfully Glad. Here's a bit from this post WWI story about a talented concert party performer returning to civilian life. Plenty more excerpts of great stuff at the Rainbow Snippets group.

    Sam couldn’t resist unfolding the note; he’d had these sorts of things before and they were always good for a laugh. The invitations would range from the innocent to the knowingly experienced, although nobody ever suggested something entirely obscene—Miss Madeleine gave an air of always being above such things. This would probably be the usual Might I buy you a drink? I know this little estaminet…

    It wasn’t.

    “I’m awfully glad you’re not a girl. J.”

    Sam read it again, not trusting the evidence of his eyes, but they’d been right the first time. J? Which of the officers had that been? Jimmy, Jeffrey, Jonathan…Sam had forgotten their names already, even if he’d been told them.

    But when had the note been written? After he’d taken his wig off and burst the little lieutenant’s bubble, he supposed, although if he had no memory of the thing being lodged in its hiding place, he equally had no recollection of somebody scribbling the thing—there’d been very little time for it, anyway. And how much more courage would it have taken to do such a thing in plain sight?

    Awfully Glad final cover small

    Mothman!

    Sep. 16th, 2017 10:28 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    It was my annual trek to the mothman festival. I met my friend, Rain there, a bit on the late side but I made it. And they finally have a shuttle/parking service. 10$ but it was worth it. On the negative, Point Pleasant is even MORE depressing than the last time I went but on the whole we had a blast.

    Rain had bought me a TNT tour bus ticket for my 50th. I know the story (the TNT explosive compound IS government) because this is where the first sighting of the mothman was. It was fun. They told the various legends as we drove out there then set us loose in one of the igloos that were used and took us home with more stories. It was neat but a tiny bit pricey for what it was. But they DID give us Mothman back packs as a souvenier. I had fun and I will say outside of the depressing downtown, there were some really nice residential areas.

    I got to hear almost NONE of the talks. I had wanted to listen to Cornstalk's descendant but her talk was when we were on the tour. Rosemary Ellen Guilley was there and I heard the last half of her talk but it was SRO. Usually it's not that packed (and the State Theater is mildewy, ancient and hotter than balls) but one of the guys from TAPS (GHost Hunter) was there. I could have stayed but I was also meeting Kati and frankly I couldn't have stood being crushed into those hot assed seats that long.

    So after Rain left, Kati and her friends arrived and we hung out for a little while but I'd been there going on five hours by then and I was tired.

    At one point, I heard gothy music and was familiar. Rain said it's right over there and OMG it was someone selling Nox Arcana CDS. I had two have a couple! (Gothic and Blackthorn Asylum)

    I got a birthday gift for a friend and a Christmas gift for another. I got one of Rosemary's books for me and two pieces of wall art even after saying NO WALL ART because I have so much of it. I couldn't resist Mothman as a shinigami and planned to put it in my office (until I noticed after the fact) that there was such a large suggestion off peen.... And I bought the one of a dullahan driving a carriage. I loved it.

    I got some roasted candied pecans that had been soaked in blackberry moonshine. So now I must try this for myself because damn they're good (and expensive). I also splurged on a set of glass earrings that look like a full moon in a night sky (gorgeous stuff). I covet her wire tree over a glass bauble necklaces but they're very expensive.

    Once Rain gets some pictures up (I forgot my camera and my money. I could fix one with an ATM but not the other) I'll share. I have some on my phone but my phone takes shit pictures in the dark.

    I also did get to talk a little with Rosemary and with Sheri Brake (another ghost hunter). TOmorrow my university library is sponsoring a ghost hunter talk but I don't think I'll be going back for that.

    WHen I'm not exhausted I'll link to some of the artists as well.

    As for yesterday, let's just say the work drama continues

    Free Book!

    Sep. 16th, 2017 09:47 pm
    janedavitt: (chainsbyme)
    [personal profile] janedavitt
    I got my Torquere books back and after reworking one to sell decided that I'd edit them to bring them in line with my current style (way less... and --) and offer them free as a thank you to all the kind readers out there.

    The first of them, Drawing Closer, is also my first novel, published back in 2006. It's at AO3 and it's mild BDSM.

    Charles is a professor, an expatriate Brit, and a man with a past. He's put that aside, living the peaceful life he thinks he needs. He figures he's happy.

    Until he meets Gray Collins, that is. Persistent, stubborn, and hot, Gray turns Charles's world upside down and brings him a future he never expected, with links to a past he's tried to forget.


    Drawing Closer

    Newsletter 183

    Sep. 15th, 2017 08:02 pm
    charlie_cochrane: (Default)
    [personal profile] charlie_cochrane
    It was an exciting time hard on the heels of the last newsletter going out – our first ever double header at Twickenham. Now, before anyone with a smutty mind starts reading double meanings into that, it was simply two rugby matches in succession and wonderful they both were. Saracens won the first, London Irish the second, and a good time was had by all three Cochranes who attended.

    News

    “Shell Shocked”, my humorous – and whimsically peculiar – shifter story, is now available for everyone to read on my free stories page. I’ve re-organised that part of the site so it’s easier to find the stories by type. Free stories are always given as an exclusive to newsletter members first!

    I’ll be taking part in the International Thriller Writers roundtable discussion that runs September 25th to October 1st: Comedy and Humor in the thriller genre: Is it difficult to write comedy or humor into thriller novels? Is it necessary, desired, or just a tool to release the tension in some needed spots? The roundtable discussions are usually very interesting and informative.

    I’ve been busy doing my blog posts for the Count the Shells blog tour next month. I’ll be offering a bag of British themed goodies as the tour prize and am happy to post that to anywhere in the known universe. I’ve also been getting into gear with UK Meet stuff, preparatory to tickets going on sale in October (that’s going to be a busy month!) If you’re interested in attending UK Meet 2018, which is 8th-9th September in the lovely city of Bristol, make sure you sign up for the event newsletter at any page of our website.

    And now for one of those really annoying “I have news although I can’t tell you much” type announcements. I’ve got a re-release date for Lessons in Love (the first book in the Cambridge Fellows series) and it’ll be this year, but I’m bound to keep things quiet for just a wee while longer. As they say, “Bear with, bear with!”

    And finally, a reminder of summer and the lovely - very inspirational - island of Jersey. There are thousands of years of archaeology in that there picture.

    IMG_1889

     

     

     

    Do you want a letter?

    Sep. 15th, 2017 09:16 pm
    dingsi: Close-up of Norb from Angry Beavers cartoon show. (default2)
    [personal profile] dingsi
    Tell me you want to receive a letter by leaving a snail mail address below. (Comments are screened, of course!) If you don't mind, also mention something you like about getting letters. Do you love decorative stationary? Want a stamp with an animal on it? Or concerning content--tidbits about daily life, a favourite poem, an explanation of a German thing that always puzzled you? A nonsensical drawing?

    Brought to you by Lotsa Spare Time and also I Bought Three Different Colours Of Ink That Languish In My Stationary Drawer, Together With Said Stationary.

    This week is a dumpster fire

    Sep. 14th, 2017 09:40 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    Even more work drama. I think it's all fixed now but seriously there are people I could have gleefully throttled today.

    I feel BAD that the new hires are caught up in this nonsense. Also no one listens. I had to explain things like 6 times before it sank in. Between them and people not listening to instructions on the test I could have sworn i was speaking Klingon.

    But they did WELL on the test. THen again this is my senior level class and they usually did.

    Today was the RU Okay event for mental healthat the university. I went and not a soul was there. Um what? I even wore the stupid ass yellow shirt (I own ONE. A Star Trek T-shirt because everyone looks like shit in yellow. (my chair's words, not mine) and someone else said they were across campus from where they were meant to be and in turquoise. Head desk.)

    Guest Post: Ethical Tea Reviews

    Sep. 15th, 2017 08:00 am
    calissa: A black and white photo of a large, dark teapot and a small Chinese teacup with a fish painted on the side (Tea)
    [personal profile] calissa

    Photo by Lyss Wickramasinghe. Used with permission.

    Despite rumours to the contrary, I am not a tea snob. While I drink plenty of loose-leaf tea, I also drink a ton of tea bags. So, I was delighted when Lyss took time out from the Never Never Book Box launch to pitch this to me.

    Everyone loves a cup of tea! But more and more people are coming to care about where their tea comes from. Ethically sourced tea is a massively growing industry, with many ethical brands now being available at the local supermarket in Australia.

    But are they any good?

    This is the real question for tea connoisseurs. Is there any quality difference between the ethical brands and our old favourites? And just which ethical ratings can you trust?

    Well don’t panic, we here at NeverNever HQ are going to figure all this out for you!

    Read more... )

    Lyss Wickramasinghe, reporting from the bottom of a teapot at Never Never HQ. She had to battle off a few hundred pirates and a couple of pesky Lost Boys, but can now enjoy her cuppa in peace.

    To share her love for ethical and delicious tea, The Never Never Book Box has included a specially blended organic tea in their Upcoming Questing box.

    Sign up to their mailing list for a chance to WIN a Free Box at http://the-never-never-book-box.launchrock.com/

    Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

    This week blows

    Sep. 13th, 2017 10:42 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    I forgot to mention that I fell yesterday too. Over Kanda who got trampled (and we're all lucky everything didn't get pissed on as I was trying to get to the toilet at the moment.

    I aspirated stomach acid again today.

    The meeting at work was very frustrating and I'm a bit hurt. For some reason L tried to hand off two of my classes to someone else and I was having none of it. I THINK she thought she was doing me a favor but it didn't come across that way.

    Came home to a letter from the IRS. Thank god it was just student loan crap but that didn't negate the stopped heart when I saw it.

    Still feeling like persona non grata as Jana.

    The good? a) I got a color graphic of my DNA breakdown that I'm rather in love with. I have like this one sub-saharan gene and it's on chromosome 6. So I looked it up because back when I took genetics the Human Chromosome Project didn't exist. Turns out that stupid gene is responsible for half my medical issues. Have to say I'm not a fan and b) my 50th birthday gift for my BFF came from the UK and it's wonderful. It's a haypenny from 1967. I'm betting it's from the same person my friend bought MY gift from (which were irish penny earrings also from then). I'm really in love with the pendant.

    I'm also annoyed that Midnight Texas has some 'for the blind' thing going on with someone narrating every action (and ahead of them). I have no idea why this is happening. It's not on any other channel so it's nothing I've done. whimpers.

    I think it's still Monday

    Sep. 12th, 2017 11:17 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    So Tuesday started out badly at 130 when I took a fall...okay so I had updated my computer and nearly 2 hours later it was STILL updating so I came to check on it sans glasses and missed the couch when I sat down (well I can't see....) Banged up my left arm, pulled the muscles in my right and either that's a bruise or a clot in my left leg. Sigh.

    Then today I had to go in and sit in my office because my lab was canceled for a school function but i still had to be there. Then I forgot when my office hours ended and was there an hour over. WTF is wrong my brain.

    I did go to the faculty/staff picnic. There were hundreds of dollars of gift giveaways. I won nothing but our two new hires both won so that was very cool.

    I've kind of worked out the particulars of my MG story but it still might be too dark. Wonders what I should do.

    ETA -That faulty valve between stomach and esophagus just gave me a lung-full of acid and caprese salad.

    Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

    Fidele Chapter 26

    Sep. 12th, 2017 02:38 pm
    misslucyjane: (typing - archy)
    [personal profile] misslucyjane
    Fidele (121306 words) by misslucyjane
    Chapters: 26/?
    Fandom: Original Work
    Rating: Explicit
    Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
    Relationships: Original Male Character/Original Male Character
    Additional Tags: Romance Novel, Paranormal, PTSD, Hauntings, Kid Fic, Drug Use
    Summary:

    A house full of ghosts is no place to fall in love.

    Malcolm Carmichael has been coping with his post-war trauma by taking lovers, teaching art to schoolboys, and trying to ignore the ghosts he sees everywhere. At the death of his mother, he realizes he wants more than just to coast on by, and leaves the exclusive school in search of something more.

    Caleb Thibodeaux was so traumatized by the death of his parents in a fire that he hasn't spoken a word since. His uncle Noel hires Malcolm to be his tutor, and Malcolm discovers that Caleb is not the only Thibodeaux son with secrets. The plantation house Fidele is beautiful but haunted, and Noel is much the same.

    Soon Malcolm is absorbed in protecting Caleb and Noel from threats both living and dead, and in uncovering the story of Fidele.



    Read at AO3 or at JennaLynnBrown.com.

    Inspiration, please?

    Sep. 12th, 2017 01:46 pm
    charlie_cochrane: (Default)
    [personal profile] charlie_cochrane
    Am putting together blog posts for the Count the Shells tour next month and could do with a couple more ideas to base a post on. All contributions gratefully received!

    CountTheShells_400x600
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    First it started with a weird dream. I was at my apartment complex which is shaped like a U and everyone was in their windows (which looked more like a public high school set up). Instead of being the rednecks I live with, they were all Asians. We all had penis water pistols and were shooting each other. Yep, my subconscious is on crack.

    I woke up feeling like butt either from my allergies or fibro fog. I got half way to work and realized I forgot my purse which has my office keys and my slide advancer/laser pointer. Turned around to get it. Sleep walked through the entire day. Realized I hadn't put up a homework I needed to, wasn't ready for a test this week so I just moved it. I came home without my folder and my flashdrive so I couldn't work on my lectures.

    Whimpers. But I DID get more done on grading and test making from 5-9:30 (taking out time for both cooking dinner and talking to mom for 45 minutes) than I did all weekend.

    As for Florida, most of my friends are okay. No word from my family.
    hrj: (LHMP)
    [personal profile] hrj
    Today's blog features a museum exhibit catalog of the queer history of Boston. I particularly liked all the photographs of women known to have been in "Boston Marriages".

    I realize, on posting this, that I completely blew past LHMP entry number 150 without any fanfare. Entry 100 corresponded closely with the release of The Mystic Marriage and I used it as an opportunity for a promotional giveaway. Depending on how many multi-blog publications I cover in the next year or so, I suppose it's possible that entry 200 might provide an opportunity to do a cross-promotion with the next Alpennia novel, Floodtide, although there's nothing even faintly resembling a projected finish date for it. My LHMP publication spreadsheet currently has about 400 titles. I suppose it's possible that I'll eventually be celebrating an Entry 500. Who knows? But let's keep our sights on more immediate goals: what sort of celebratory event should I plan for LHMP #200?

    sci-fi stucky

    Sep. 11th, 2017 12:34 pm
    besamislabios: (captain america)
    [personal profile] besamislabios
    Cross-posting the comments I left @ [community profile] stuckyanonymous. :)

    - Connectivity Error by bopeep, illustrated by curious_werewolf (Androids AU, Cyberpunk AU, Hackers AU)
    Steve Rogers is falling apart, and together with best friend and fellow freelance hacker Bucky Barnes he intends to fight the injustices of the cyber plane and make a little money doing it in order to fix up the literal and figurative broken pieces that make up their lives. When solicited by SHIELD to take on a dangerous mission, Steve and Bucky find the hard way that they don't exactly have nothing to lose.

    - Into That Good Night by Nonymos (Interstellar AU)
    Steve Rogers has lived for entirely too long—long enough to see the world's end. The heroes are gone, and the Earth is pushing what's left of mankind towards the exit.
    But when a makeshift team rises from the ashes, when a mysterious presence all but drags Steve there, he begins to think there may be hope yet. As they shoot for the stars one last time, Steve will get proof yet again that the future is nothing if not an echo of the past.

    - Poppies in the Field by kaasknot (Androids AU, Cyberpunk AU)
    Wherein Bucky is a severely agoraphobic combat veteran, and Steve is the android he buys out of loneliness.

    - The Future Started Yesterday by monicawoe (Dystopia AU)
    In 2011, the final S.H.I.E.L.D expedition searching for Steve Rogers found nothing.
    In 2014, Hydra completed Project Insight and launched three armed helicarriers, killing millions.
    In 2028, Tony Stark was killed *
    In 2043, the Winter Soldier was decommissioned after 157 successful missions.
    In 2111, Steve Rogers was found.

    - for the ashes of his fathers (and the kingdoms of his gods) by LadyNimrodel, graphics by noncorporealform (Post-Apocalypse AU - Oblivion AU)
    Steve and Natasha are an effective team. They work for Shield's Control Station, built after the planet was destroyed in the war with the Scavs. They are left on a broken and barren planet to keep the drones running that protect the hydra rigs, which collect precious water for what's left of humanity, now living in a colony on one of Saturn's moons.
    What Steve knows is this: the Scav attacks are getting worse, even though they lost the war nearly fifty years ago. In two weeks he and Natasha are leaving to join the rest of humanity. And that neither of them want to leave earth.
    What he doesn't know is why the Scavs are attacking again, why everything Control tells them feels wrong, and why he keeps dreaming of a man with grey-blue eyes and a familiar smile and who Steve doesn't remember.

    - Summer Don't Own Me No More by Nonymos, illustrated by alby_mangroves (Solarpunk AU - Dystopia AU)
    Bucky Barnes, weary soldier, illegal immigrant, sarcastic sex worker. Steve Rogers, miracle of science, lonely man, disillusioned cop. Both of them on a collision course in this brave new world, like that's not gonna end in sex and explosions.

    - From Tralfamadore, With Love by newsbypostcard, illustrated by icoulddothisallday (Time Travel AU)
    In 2018, Steve, Sam, and Bucky embark on a mission to explore a Hydra-owned warehouse when a kid with mutant powers sends Steve 18 years into the future. After figuring out where (and when) he is, Steve tracks Bucky down in 2036 to find he's become a successful business owner and an impassioned advocate for mutant rights. Steve's just as in love with Bucky as he was when he left, but for Bucky it's been a long 18 years. It's hard to accept when Bucky keeps him at arm's length... but Steve's never met a challenge that he didn't take.
    As he gets used to life in 2036 and the flaws in Bucky's idyllic life expose themselves, Steve also has to manage a suspiciously ubiquitous security force, a Brotherhood of Mutants, and old competing loyalties among his aged friends. There's a Bucky in 2018 waiting for him to come home, but if he does that, it means leaving this Bucky behind for a third, unforgivable time. How can he choose?
    What's Bucky not saying?
    How can he face losing everything -- again?
    charlie_cochrane: (Default)
    [personal profile] charlie_cochrane
    There was an excellent documentary on BBC 4 last week (thanks Jay Lewis Taylor for the heads up because I'd missed it). When the Whistle Blew, which was beautifully presented by world cup winner Josh Lewsey, explores rugby and football in WWI and the different reactions of the two codes to the outbreak of war. It's still available on the iplayer.

    This was part of a series, World War I at home, which I need to work through!

    dscn8168
    duskpeterson: (bookshelves)
    [personal profile] duskpeterson
    Law Links


    "Sometimes I feel that he is as mysterious as the gods, and that he is hiding something of vital importance from me. Something that would transform my life."

    Few events are more thrilling in a young man's life than a blood feud between two villages. Or so Adrian thought.

    Torn between affection toward his traditional-minded father and worship of his peace-loving, heretical priest, Adrian finds himself caught between two incompatible visions of his duty to the gods. Then the Jackal God sends Adrian a message that will disrupt his world and send him fleeing to a new and perilous life.




    Men and Lads


    "'You have committed a vile and savage act, one that any other nation would punish with death. Our punishment, on the other hand, will only be to give you what you want. You have sought to live in a world without boundaries of civilization, and such a world shall henceforth be your dwelling place.'"

    A cold-hearted murderer. A vicious abuser. A young man hiding a shameful secret. A bewildered immigrant. A pure-minded spy.

    All of these men have found their appointed places at Mercy Life Prison, where it is easy to tell who your enemies are. But a new visitor to Mercy is about to challenge decades-old customs. Now these men's worst enemies may be hiding behind masks . . . and so may their closest allies.




    Sweet Blood


    "He tried to keep his voice calm, though his pulse was racing."

    Time is running out.

    Vito de Vere has ten days to prepare for his performance in the Eternal Dungeon's first play. He may have fewer days than that to fight for his career and to save his prisoner's life.

    As the Eternal Dungeon prepares for the greatest change it has ever undergone, Vito must prove his worth by breaking and transforming a criminal. Nobody else is likely to manage it. And nobody but himself cares so passionately whether his prisoner survives.

    As an actor, Vito portrays the qualities of courage, love, truth, and trust. Now he must find the strength to take those qualities into the breaking cell.

    Also, note that Sweet Blood now has an epigraph. Scroll down to the beginning note of Bond.




    To receive notices of my fiction by e-mail )

    Writerly Ways

    Sep. 10th, 2017 10:11 pm
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    I had one planned but it's a touchy topic and frankly I am too worn out this week to deal with it. I'm trying to decompress a bit (not helped by the fact that my cousin's uber-right husband is on FB pretending to pray for the Floridians in spite of the fact they were 'told to get out.' Obviously he has no idea the realities of evacuation (and I'm glad some people on his FB are calling his ass out. For a nuclear engineer he can be very 'dumb' about things.)

    Anyhow instead of that post (which I'll still make it) let me give us something fun. Check out Dreaming Robot's Young Explorer’s anthology! I love the idea of this. I think several of us might enjoy trying to write a middle grade short story. I'm thinking steampunk with another amputee MC (this time a young lady). I wanted to have two male characters but I'm being hesitant. Hear me out:

    I can make things more diverse (and far less racist 1890s) by doing a bit of alt history where the Native Americans and European settlers have more of an uneasy if more equal relationship. There would still be some division but not drowning a MG book in racism. It would take place over Deadwood (mostly because I know the place and won't have time for extensive research). I figured the other MC would be a young Lakota boy, maybe orphaned in the Deadwood fire of 76. (as opposed to the ugly slaughter at Wounded Knee).I was thinking of a young Chinese boy as well as there were plenty of Chinese in Deadwood. But in a very subservient role that would be inappropriate for this anthology (I should think). So I might leave him out but more so because this is TRULY a short story only 3-6K.

    Now to come up with a plot. I figure in the end, the boy joins the girl's airship (Her mom is the captain) But what that plot could be that's not too dark for younger readers (well Voldemort was fairly dark...) but more importantly short.

    Then decide do I want my pen name to be D.M. and my surname or Dana.


    I do have a few lings for you. From Chuck Wendig Self Promoting (including having to do it when the news is a total shit show like it is right now)

    how to write when the world is burning Another timely one. Granted we ALL have to deal with this and in different ways, this one resonated a bit with me.

    silencing your inner critic I need to buy mine a ball gag.

    Your book’s engine


    Narrative Structure: It’s okay to stray

    Let's all write something!!

    Acadie by Dave Hutchinson

    Sep. 11th, 2017 08:00 am
    calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
    [personal profile] calissa

    Acadie, Dave Hutchinson, Tor.com, Earl Grey Editing, tea and books, books and tea

    Published: September 2017 by Tor.com
    Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
    Genres: Science fiction
    Source: NetGalley
    Available: Abbey’s ~ Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ Booktopia ~ Dymocks ~ Kobo

    Disclaimer: I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    The Colony left Earth to find their utopia–a home on a new planet where their leader could fully explore the colonists’ genetic potential, unfettered by their homeworld’s restrictions. They settled a new paradise, and have been evolving and adapting for centuries.

    Earth has other plans.

    The original humans have been tracking their descendants across the stars, bent on their annihilation. They won’t stop until the new humans have been destroyed, their experimentation wiped out of the human gene pool.

    Can’t anyone let go of a grudge anymore?

    Acadie is an entertaining sci-fi novella, but one that ultimately didn’t work for me.

    The first line is a good hook, but the story gets off to a bit of a slow start as daily life is established. Although the low gravity makes it plain things are a bit unusual, there were some small details I really enjoyed. For example, low gravity still doesn’t stop cats from chasing each other around the house.

    Its sense of humour is a strength of the story. John Wayne “Duke” Faraday might be the President of the Colony, but he’s a pretty ordinary guy just looking to enjoy a holiday. In fact, the only reason he’s president was because he was away during the elections. Unfortunately, it looks like the Bureau might have discovered the hidden Colony on his watch.

    As you might have gathered, the story is full of pop culture references. Duke interacts with people who have genetically engineered themselves to look like the elves from Lord of the Rings or Klingons from Star Trek. The founder of the Colony is Isabel Potter. And Connie’s full name made me chuckle.

    The author builds a fascinating world in a very short space. There were some great character interactions and enough detail to paint a vivid picture.

    Unfortunately, the surprise twist at the end undermined the story for me. Although clever, it left me wondering what the point was supposed to be.

    Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

    Snagged from... "Elsewhere"

    Sep. 10th, 2017 04:38 pm
    la_samtyr: books (books)
    [personal profile] la_samtyr
    You are walking in the woods and the moon is shining. suddenly you realise there is something carved on stone and you realise it's this door.

    Where would this door lead?

    What character is waiting for you on the other said to show you the land and of course share an adventure with?

    Read more... )

    Rainbow snippet - Horns and Haloes

    Sep. 10th, 2017 07:43 pm
    charlie_cochrane: (Default)
    [personal profile] charlie_cochrane
    I happen to be doing some school governor stuff so decided to post a bit of Horns and Haloes, which shows what might just happen - if you're very lucky - when you go on a training course.

    “So just work with the person next to you.”
    The tutor’s words brought Jamie back to the present with a bump. Work with the person next to you to do what?
    “I hope you know the answers because I’m stuck.” The bloke next to Jamie—Alex, according to the hand written sticker on his shirt—grinned and brandished a worksheet.
    “I do, but only because I’ve done this bit before, on another course.” Jamie returned the smile.
    “You write the answers in, and I’ll read them and try to look intelligent.” Alex’s eyes twinkled.
    Why weren’t there any blokes like this on the Cattlebridge Primary Governing Body, with brown eyes lively enough to make the interminable meetings worth sitting through?
    “Deal. They’ll give us an answer sheet later, anyway.” Jamie scribbled down some key words, just so it wasn’t obvious that his mind wasn’t on the questions.
    “I don’t think they’ll let me have one, punishment for sneaking in late.” Alex smiled again.
    Jamie filled in some more answers, trying hard not to write “Do not flirt” on the page.

    Lots more excerpts at the Rainbow Snippets group.

    The Road to Greenfork

    Sep. 10th, 2017 10:10 am
    the_gneech: (Default)
    [personal profile] the_gneech
    "We'll pass through Greenfork tomorrow," the caravan leader said. "It's a tiny little burg; we'll mostly likely only be there an hour or two before moving on."

    "Actually, we're stopping there," said Kihai, with a cheerful flick of an ear. "They need our help."

    "Do they," said the caravan leader, not the slightest bit interested.

    "See?" said Kihai, holding up a reward poster.

    "Aye," said Graycape with a sardonic smirk. "We came all the way from the great desert, just to help a podunk little village with some pesty goblins. No quest too insignificant!"

    The caravan leader raised an eyebrow at the older catfolk. Kihai gave a sheepish chuckle. "Not exactly. We were in the neighborhood anyway. We left the desert because our clan was conquered by one of the tabaxi lords."

    "Tabaxi lords?"

    "Not the same as the Cat Lord," said Kihai. "He's okay."

    "Tabaxi lords are foul things," snarled Graycape. "Massive, demonic beasts, like a jaguar from hell. Easily the size of your horse. Cruel. Twisted. Infused with dark powers." She narrowed her eyes and leaned in to the caravan leader. "They feed on your soul," she hissed. The caravan leader gulped.

    "Yeah, they're not nice," said Kihai. "The tabaxi lord killed or drove away any of the clan who resisted. Like my parents. There was just no way to stop him."

    Graycape's ears dipped at Kihai's mention of his parents. The boy had said it simply, without hint of anger or grief, as casually as describing the weather. She added, "Eh, the desert was a dump anyway. We lived under ramadas and hunted antelopes with spears."

    "I liked it," said Kihai.

    "You like every place."

    "Places are neat!"

    Graycape waved a hand at Kihai and gave the caravan leader a look that said You see what I have to deal with?

    "The young, eh?" said the caravan leader.

    Graycape put a weary claw to her forehead. "You have no idea. I have followed this cub across half a continent, chasing every butterfly, every 'exciting tale,' and every shiny thing. I should be in a rocking chair by a hearth, not tromping down into goblin holes!"

    "I just like to help!" said Kihai.

    "I know, I know," said Graycape.

    "Right, well like I say, we'll be at Greenfork tomorrow," said the caravan leader. "If you'll excuse me, I need to see to the horses."

    "Oh! Oh! I'll help with that!" said Kihai, and hopped to his feet.

    The caravan leader gave Kihai a warm smile. "Thanks, kid," he said, and the two walked off towards the horses. Graycape watched them go, with a flick of her tail. Her sister had "liked to help," too.

    -The Gneech

    Angry with myself

    Sep. 10th, 2017 12:43 am
    cornerofmadness: (Default)
    [personal profile] cornerofmadness
    I can't seem to motivate on anything. Didn't make an exam. Barely edited anything. Didn't write. Barely cleaned. Basically I got all the loot crate boxes out of here and pictures taken of the crap I don't want. SO MUCH. I seriously need to decide if I keep this subscription at all. I've skipped almost four straight months as is.

    I feel too overwhelmed by this mess. I'm breaking it into doable chunks but it doesn't seem to help much. I did remove another chunk of books.

    I'm barely able to look at my social media, a mix of depressing and fury-inducing (and god help you if you disagree with any of them about anything). I DID see one person say what I've been saying. WAY too many authors acting like we're back in high school. You want to have authors on your feed, we should help each other but damned if most days it doesn't seem like they're all arrested at age 15.

    Almost all my friends and relatives did NOT evacuate Florida. Most of them are hopefully in areas where the hurricane's force will have died out some but not my 97 year old aunt. STILL no one knows where she is. My Dad's side of the family does a shit job of keeping in touch. Sigh.

    Maybe I'd be less bitchy if I could sleep. Or if I could have gone out to hike today because it's so damn beautiful but I felt weak and I had so much to do. Most of which didn't get done.

    And once again I've forgotten those dragon sites. Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

    Be Safe

    Sep. 9th, 2017 10:05 am
    grey853: Snoopy hugging Woodstock (Snoopyhugs_graffitigraphic)
    [personal profile] grey853
    I don't know how many of my friends and readers are in trouble right now, but I hope everyone is in a safe place. Whether it's from fire, earthquakes, or hurricanes, please be prepared and safe.

    I do know my brother and his family are in Tallahassee, Florida. He's decided to stay for now, but who knows if that's the right decision? I would have left ages ago, but it's a hard thing to do to just pick up and leave your home for however long it might be. Even my sister who lives in Warner Robins, Georgia has packed a bag in case she has to head north to my place in a hurry. When one sees the images on the news, you know this is a monster storm in every sense of the word and it makes one feel powerless.

    So, take care.

    Profile

    reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
    reviews_and_ramblings

    September 2017

    S M T W T F S
          1 2
    345 6 7 8 9
    10 11 1213 14 1516
    171819 20212223
    24252627282930

    Most Popular Tags

    Page Summary

    Disclaimer

    All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
    This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
    I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
    Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
    Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Sep. 20th, 2017 09:50 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios