(no subject)

Feb. 23rd, 2017 12:48 pm
dingsi: The Corinthian smoking a cigarette. He looks down thoughtfully and breathes the smoke out of his nose. (Default)
[personal profile] dingsi
so... turned out the problem with my knee is actually osteoarthritis

amazing


(it's not amazing)

I can't even blink

Feb. 22nd, 2017 11:01 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
My allergies are SO bad, I can't blink or it feels like knives in my eyes but if I don't blink the eyes dry out. I am never this bad until like April but since it IS April out there for all intents and purposes....I hate this. Everyone is like oooo this is such a pleasant winter. Yeah sure, it beats snow to your ass BUT this is a serious disturbance in the natural order signalling nothing good.

I'm drowning in work and I haven't written a damn thing in two days again. I just remembered [profile] picfor1000 Sigh.

The Nebula Nominees I've read none of them but one or two sound good.

This made me very happy. 7 sister earths


Boy have I been disappointed in my shows lately. The new one that started last week, Murder CHose Me on ID Discovery is a bit odd. He keeps linking the victims with his life (hopefully this will be the last time for that).

Criminal Minds has gotten utterly ridiculous. To be honest I'm only watching because they put the actress they had cut in as the chief so... but the last two weeks with Reid is ridiuclous, tedious and predictable and tonight's episode? Stupid. Does no one know you can pull a parking break and stop (or at least seriously slow) a car no matter who's hacked it. For that matter you can still shift the gears or pull the damn key.

But the one that bothered me the most is The Big Bang Theory (did I mention this already) The dumb episode with Raj calling in the exes to find out why he's a bad boyfriend was stolen lock stock and barrel from a Family Guy episode and was only barely less offensive.

Still no word from that realtor.

And oh, I had to rearrange ALL the testing on my gallbladder( to next month and to April for the surgeon) because my insurance didn't okay the scan yet BUT they did just pay 700$ in shit for the Dana in Texas. Head desk.

 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg

What don't I miss about childhood? Honestly mine was pretty good. I don't miss how tempermental Dad was back then. I definitely don't miss the bullying in school. Middle and High school were pretty vicious. I don't want to even think about those people. I don't miss barely having money to make it to the next month.

Sleep routine day 2

Feb. 22nd, 2017 09:32 pm
valarltd: (Default)
[personal profile] valarltd
One good thing today: tulips on Winchester road.

One goal today: writing!

Goal for tomorrow: workout
Looking forward to chapter 2 of my book.
daemonluna: default icon, me with totoros (Default)
[personal profile] daemonluna
Um, yeah. I'm kind of a multifandom reader?

No Less Unthinkable
“In which Katsuki Yuuri fights a losing battle with chronic anxiety, the quadruple Salchow, and his own judgment four drinks in — but wins the war.” RAGEPRUFROCK WROTE YURI ON ICE FIC. This fills me with an immense amount of joy and the same sort of flail-at-the-screen glee that accompanied watching YOI to start with.

I Love You, I Want You, I Need You
We mainlined the first half of the new season of Call The Midwife over the weekend, and I went looking for Delia/Patsy fic. What I found... Delia and Patsy (and pretty much everyone else) compete on The Gigantic British Baking Fete. Oh fanfic, I love you. Picture Sister Monica Joan as Mary Berry, and start there… Sweet and hilarious.

Theft of Assets, Destruction of Property
"Surely it is a mistake to allow a single youthful indiscretion to cloud an already promising career." I was on a Harry Potter kick. Draco/Neville. Angst, domesticity, and baking.

Before and After (In a Long, Long Life) (series)
"Or: The one where they make a Howling Commandos TV show, and Steve gets called in to consult." I did not know that I needed an Avengers/Tanya Huff's Blood & Smoke vampire books crossover until I saw it.

Happy things for a grey day

Feb. 22nd, 2017 12:24 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Spring has sprung chez Cochrane, with the daffodils appearing today.

009 010

And have had a positive response ref my submission to the Call for Arms anthology. More news anon! Manifold is still taking submissions - go on, you know you want to write something.

BTW Don't forget that if you need one of the first 8 Cambridge Fellows books you have only a week to buy them before Samhain shuts.

Are you out of your mind?

Feb. 21st, 2017 10:27 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
So I asked locals about the house in Wellston. Believe it or not more than one of my coworkers grew up here, went to Rio as a students and literally have been here for 30, 40 years. Are you out of your mind is the consensus. Along with Dana keep the hell out of downtown Wellston.

Ironically the house belongs to my coworker's aunt several years back before she got out of town. It's a good town but she said that street is always swarming with cops because of the drug heads. The realtor isn't answering me either. sigh. I might give them a call still. I wouldn't mind knowing if she has something more out of town that isn't a total shit hole.


I didn't go to my writers group meeting because the job interviews for the vacant position went long and I have a migraine, not to mention i woke up every couple hours last night. Pouts.


I got my Noragami Stray Gods Season 1 and 2 box sets. It's rare I buy anime sight unseen but I love the manga so I bought it. I highly recommend the manga. I went the extra 12$ to get the collector's set of S2 (it was sold out for S1) and the extras were 14 beautiful art cards, some of them downright stunning. I might want to find a way to get them into a frame.




 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg


Day 20 inventions to make my life better.

You know most of my issues are more health related. Something to motivate me to exercise more, you know like make it a video game. Actually there was at one of the gyms about 20 years ago, a rowing machine that functioned like a video game. I loved it but it must have been a maintenance nightmare as it wasn't there long. Seriously if it was more fun I'd ride that stationary bike more.

I'd like someone to invent a cure for diabetes, a way to adjust bad signaling pathways in adipose tissue and a way of handling polycystic ovarian disease.
valarltd: (nick)
[personal profile] valarltd
One good thing that happened today:
Spaghetti turned out well.

One goal accomplished today:worked out. Made lunch.

One goal for tomorrow: file sales taxes

One thing I'm looking forward to tomorrow:writing time.
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

With Roses in Their Hair, Kayla Bashe, Tam Lin retelling, Earl Grey Editing, tea and books, books and tea, science fantasy

Published: Self-published in November 2016
Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
Genres: Romance, science-fiction, fantasy, fairytale retelling
Source: Amazon
Reading Challenges: Read My Valentine
Available:Amazon

A F/F sci-fantasy retelling of the child ballad Tam Lin. Released as a tribute to the life and works of academic “tam-nonlinear” and to raise awareness of the adoptable cats they posted about having to leave behind. Content notes for parental abuse, vaguely alien body horror. A story about survival and finding beauty in love and resistance.

I’m a sucker for Tam Lin retellings and this f/f romance seemed like the perfect addition to my reviews for Read My Valentine.

This is a very short retelling, barely even making it to the category of novelette. As usual, I found it a bit too short to be truly satisfying. I felt the length did the setting a disservice because there was a lot that was intriguing. I particularly enjoyed the blending of fantasy and science-fiction. The fae of the original ballad become aliens who appear as beautiful humans, and who rule this dystopia. Of course, there are a core of humans devoted to resisting this cruel regime, but who seem almost like fae themselves with their use of implanted wings. I’d have liked to see a bit more of how the fae came to rule and how the humans came to use this technology. The story also could have used a little more set up of some elements, particularly of the sacrifice toward the end.

However, the advantage of the short length was that it kept the focus fairly tightly on the relationship between Jennet and Tambourlain. Jennet is one of the human resistance who has demonstrated herself skillful enough to earn implanted wings. But despite being a fierce fighter, she cares deeply for the people around her, even those she hardly knows. Tam, in contrast, is a formidable changeling warrior concerned only with earning her parents’ approval. Emotions are not approved of in fae culture. Yet, she can’t deny she has a strong connection with this human resistance fighter.

The writing style lacked a bit of clarity in places; in particular, it was hard to keep track of which “she” was being referred to sometimes, making things rather confusing. However, there were some nice ideas and turns of phrase. I particularly liked the sentinels made of clockwork and brought to life by the deaths of violinists.

All in all, I found With Roses in Their Hair an intriguing, but flawed story.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
That's enough p's for the moment! Here's some snaps of the Dames (plus chevalier):

group-1satuated3

And throughout March The Romance Reviews will be hosting their sixth anniversary party; I'm one of the many authors taking part and offering prizes.

anniv2017

 

A Bit of Internetty Wisdom Today...

Feb. 21st, 2017 09:26 am
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech
From the Metaquotes LiveJournal Community...

"Why are you writing to your elected representative instead of seeking to overthrow a foreign government from your living room" is a question that I feel answers itself.


-The Gneech

I gave up a beautiful day

Feb. 20th, 2017 10:10 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I didn't go hiking. I spent it chained to my computer doing work because I had so much to do. Sigh. So basically it was a boring day and my mood has not improved so let me just answer more of this meme.



 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg



#18 10 things I can live without. Okay again the number here sounds very high and if I don't reach ten so be it because it's one of those questions I don't think needs much thought.

1. sports
2. sweets
3. loads of money
4. city living
5.ebooks
6. streaming video


!#19 how i would spend my dream weekend. I would get to view the castle I came to the village to see, spend time in that town, poke about the museums, maybe find a garden to walk in, go out for dinner and eat something fun and risky then go on a ghost hunt in the castle.

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Feb. 20th, 2017 09:22 pm
grey853: a rainbow heart (ani_RainbowHeart_dhamphir)
[personal profile] grey853
Here's the trailer for King Arthur: Legend of the Sword. It stars Charlie Hunnam, Jude Law, and Aidan Gillen. Interesting background fact, Hunnam and Gillen worked together as lovers in the UK version of Queer as Folk. Don't know if they'll have much screen time together, but I'm looking forward to the movie.

calissa: (Calissa)
[personal profile] calissa

Aurealis Awards, Clariel, Garth Nix, tea and books

The shortlists for the Aurealis Awards were announced yesterday. Congratulations to all of the nominees! It was a delight to witness the celebrations on social media, particularly among the first-timers.

I found the experience surprisingly hard as a judge. I just want to shake everyone and rave about these wonderful stories, but will need to keep a lid on it until the winners are announced. It’s the most difficult sort of secret for me to keep.

However, there was still a surprise in store for me: I’ve been nominated for the Convenors’ Award for Excellence for my work here at Earl Grey Editing. The award serves as a kind of catch-all for everything that doesn’t fit into Aurealis’ categories, including fan writing, criticism and podcasts.As the title suggests, it will be judged by the convenors of the other panels.

It is a great honour to be recognised by the community, so thank you to whoever nominated me (I have my suspicions).

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterest

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

Deadly Dames at Portsmouth Bookfest

Feb. 20th, 2017 02:32 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
There's a brief write up of our Portsmouth gig over at the Promoting Crime blog. Don't we look stunning? More pictures to follow.
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech
Today: 293.1 lbs
down 26.4 lbs from my highest weight of 319.5 on November 25, 2016
down 25.9 lbs from my starting weight of 319 on July 1, 2014 (137 weeks)
average lost: 0.19 lbs/week
next milestone: 287 lbs (10% loss)

Reversed last week's blip up, but only a very slight nudge down from the week before it. It's been very hard to stay within points and get myself to work out this past week, opting mostly for walking instead. Will try to pick up the slack a bit this week.

-TG

(no subject)

Feb. 20th, 2017 12:47 pm
dingsi: The Corinthian lifting his sunglasses to reveal his teeth-eyes, a blood splatter added to the bottom left corner (armor)
[personal profile] dingsi
If I have to read/hear one more variation on how being binary trans is "less progressive" than non-binary identities or "too mainstream" or "upholding the gender binary", and labels such as gay & lesbian are "too restrictive" and "outdated", and cis gay men are "the straights of the LGBT community" --

ffffffffffffff

I'm not even an active activist and I'm already burnt out on this shit

Writerly Ways

Feb. 19th, 2017 11:54 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I forgot to mention in the other whiny post that Mom took a bad fall today. She's all bruised up but naturally refuses to go to urgent care and prefers to be under 101 ice packs. (It's another reason I'm unsure about buying a house. I have no idea how I'm going to handle elder care from a distance so I truly hate my job too because it's not one where I can easily transfer to a new location).

I was wondering what a Mary Sue/Larry Stu means to everyone. To me it means Mr/Ms Perfect who is always the best at everything and nothing really goes wrong for them. Lately I've been seeing that term slammed onto any character who happens to be brilliant at what they do. By that definition Sheldon Cooper is a Larry Stu (and I'm sure some would argue he is in spite of his many failings).

If being brilliant automatically makes you a Stu/Sue then I guess we can't tell stories about child prodigies. How about a character going for three degrees at once while keeping a 3.5 gpa while working and being in band and theater? Too unbelievable? What about the three year old who begins to master violin or piano? Do you stop reading immediately.

I can understand where some of it is coming from. If you're already perfect where is the conflict? Too many stories you get the chosen one who's never wielded magic/sword/gun and suddenly they're better than everyone around them. That bugs me too but even brilliant characters have their flaws and challenges. So long as we see them as part of the story are they then truly Stus/Sues?


And have a few links inner conflict

making the reader a participator

love is a disease

I just don't have it in me to chase down my weekly stats, maybe tomorrow but before I go happy birthday to [personal profile] seta_suzume and [personal profile] apgeeksout I think I'm within a day of being on time for that...
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I need to stop flailing around like a fucking idiot. I know I hate it here but I can't just jump because I need out. I have to decide What. Do.I. Want.

Case in point. I found This house . It's like the PERFECT house. It's reasonably priced. It's very well kept inside and out. I love everything about it EXCEPT. It's SO IN TOWN. Of course if I had just looked at it before sending it to my parents....

See I should never talk. I should just become a mute. Life would go so much better if I only opened my mouth to give lectures then never make another sound.

It's SOOOOOOOOOOOO in town. Like across the street from a fucking gas station. And two doors down from the police station which MIGHT keep me from getting robbed by all the heroine and meth addicts around here (I looked at a crime stats site on line but I doubt its accuracy. I can believe there were 5 rapes and a murder (I know there was a murder, I remember it happening) but I highly doubt there are 993 registered sex offenders. The site that says there are 7 seems more likely. here's their web page Wellson's demographics are....monochromatic The racial makeup of the city was 97.7% White, 0.2% African American, 0.4% Native American, 0.2% Asian, 0.1% from other races, and 1.3% from two or more races. Hispanic or Latino of any race were 0.7% of the population.(this is pretty much ALL the towns here).

So now Dad's mad at me for wasting his time. I don't know what to do. It IS such a nice house but do I want to trade living with neighbors I hate and can hear all the time to living in town where I can do the same? Everything I've found for years outside of town have been shit boxes or 20 year old double wides.

I did send an email asking about the age of the windows and average monthly utility bills. Why couldn't this be out of town? Or at least UP the street off the main drag a little? You know right next to the haunted Wells mansion and equally haunted cemetery a block away.

If you do look at it, google earth it and look at that sweet police station. It's a gorgeous building.

I'm not in the mood to do that meme but here's two more songs toward the 25





Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Among Galactic Ruins by Anna Hackett

Feb. 20th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Among Galactic Ruins, Anna Hackett, Earl Grey Editing, books and tea, tea and books, sci-fi romance

Published: Self-published in August 2015
Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
Series: The Phoenix Adventures #0.5
Genres: Romance, sci-fi, adventure
Source: Amazon
Reading Challenges: Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017, Read My Valentine
Available:Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ Booktopia ~Kobo ~ Smashwords

When astro-archeologist and museum curator Dr. Lexa Carter discovers a secret map to a lost old Earth treasure–a priceless Faberg egg–she’s excited at the prospect of a treasure hunt to the dangerous desert planet of Zerzura. What she’s not so happy about is being saddled with a bodyguard–the museum’s mysterious new head of security, Damon Malik.

After many dangerous years as a galactic spy, Damon Malik just wanted a quiet job where no one tried to kill him. Instead of easy work in a museum full of artifacts, he finds himself on a backwater planet babysitting the most infuriating woman he’s ever met.

She thinks he’s arrogant. He thinks she’s a trouble-magnet. But among the desert sands and ruins, adventure led by a young, brash treasure hunter named Dathan Phoenix, takes a deadly turn. As it becomes clear that someone doesn’t want them to find the treasure, Lexa and Damon will have to trust each other just to survive.

Among Galactic Ruins is a novella that blends romance, science fiction and action. Think Star Wars meets Indiana Jones: the main characters search for a lost temple on a desert planet in the hopes of finding treasure. It is fast-paced fluffy fun.

Dr. Lexa Carter defied her wealthy family to become an astro-archeologist. They conspired to keep her out of trouble by pushing her into curatorship. That suited Lexa… until she discovered a map that could lead her to lost treasure. One of the things I loved most about Lexa is even though she’s lived a sheltered life, she’s still quite capable of holding her own. She can defend herself physically, if necessary, and has a tendency to run towards trouble–particularly when that trouble is threatening Damon. Her privileged upbringing hasn’t left her without a spine.

Damon Malik is a former spy-cum-assassin who retired for the quiet life. He’s now the head of security at Lexa’s museum and drives her up the wall with his stringent precautions. He’s less than pleased about being dragged out to the middle of nowhere on a wild goose chase. However, Lexa’s passion for her field of interest captivates him to the point where he starts hoping she’ll look at him the same way she looks at those ruined temples. And no matter what’s being thrown at them–sinkholes, desert wolves–Damon never treats Lexa as if she’s incapable.

There were a few elements that didn’t work for me. The style was a little clunky in places, tending towards telling rather than showing. This was particularly the case with world-building. The dirty talk also didn’t work for me, coming across as cliched and a bit awkward.

I also found the ending a little less than satisfying, feeling that the resolution came too easily.

However, I enjoyed the fast pace and the adventure of it. There were some excellent action sequences and the sexual tension between Lexa and Damon really drew me in and had me holding my breath. And as a Jacqueline Carey fan, I got a giggle out of the Kushiel’s Dart reference.

Overall, I found Among Galactic Ruins to be a great deal of fun. It was a lovely way to ease out of Aurealis judging and interesting enough that I’ll be following up the rest of the series.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

After the Storm

Feb. 19th, 2017 11:55 am
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
When I came home from town on Friday, my little redwood tree that was killed in the fire had been knocked over by the wind.

After the storm

Since it was just the top of the tree over the driveway, and it was up off the ground, I just drove through it. The next day, the firewood cutting guy was here and sawed the top half of it off to get it out of the driveway, so I can now drive through, if I can get across the small river that's now running across my lower front yard.

After the storm

After the storm

There was also a small mudslide on the hillside behind the house.

After the storm

Not a big deal, I can drive over it. Once the weather dries out a little, I'll flatten it out with the tractor.

Tractor

My brother came over and helped me get the tractor running, after it had been sitting for several months. I've taken it out a few times to practice. It's fun! and not that hard to drive, I just have to get used to it. I'm really going to need it to fix the driveway after the winter rains get through washing it away. No sign of a break in the weather yet, though. It's nice today, but it's supposed to rain again Wednesday, snow Thursday, then rain Saturday and Monday. Never enough time for things to really dry out enough to work on in between. Ah, well, as long as I can get the truck in and out I'm okay.

My mom seems to be doing better. I really thought she was on her last days for a while — she'd stopped eating anything solid and wouldn't get out of bed for about 10 days. I even had the hospice people come out to check on her. But then she finally got out of bed and the next day she started eating again, so she seems more or less back to the way she was before. She's still more tired and muddle-headed than usual, but that could just be down to the cold she got before she got really sick and still seems to be lingering. At this point, at her age and condition, who knows.

I've been really depressed lately. Mom stuff, my brother moving away, political stuff and so on, but mostly, I've just realized, because I haven't been running (or doing any exercise to speak of) since my half marathon in January. I meant to take about a week off, but then because of the rain and snow, my driveway's been too muddy and slick to run on, and I haven't felt like driving into town to the park to run, so I've just been sitting here. Most winters, we have rain and snow but it dries out in between, and there might be a week I can't run, but next week it's okay again. So I've been waiting, but it's been such a wet winter this year, it just hasn't dried out. I suppose I need to start using my WiiFit Plus or just going for walks or something. Because the driveway's not going to dry out any time soon.
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
I was intrigued by this BBC story about letters between two men in WWII, not least because the central premise echoes Promises Made Under Fire which I wrote five years ago - so here's a snippet from that. If you remember, Tom Donald has been asked to fulfil a mission by a late comrade.

I lit a cigarette to steady my nerves. Another certainty shaken and nobody left to ask about it now. If Foden had lied concerning his wife’s whereabouts, what chance had I got of tracking her down and getting to the bottom of things? She could be anywhere.
I reached into my inside pocket, so I could check the address I had for the hospital, just in case I’d gone mad and misread it entirely. Alongside the scrap of paper I’d scribbled it on, I put my hand on a letter, one I’d left in the pocket meaning to send before I’d got on the train.
As I drew it out, cursing myself for being no end of a fool for forgetting it, I realised I’d been doubly foolish—this was the letter to Palmer, not the note to Ben which I’d intended to post. Looking at the address, I recognised the name of a village—Brookham—I’d passed through en route.
I hadn’t realised, given my appalling sense of geography, that Palmer lived so close to the hospital. If there was a heaven, and Foden had talked his way in there, he must have been looking down, shaking his head and calling me all colours of a silly sod. Still, at least I could achieve something this leave—the thing I’d been asked to do in the first place. If Palmer wasn’t at home or if he didn’t have the key to unlock the mysteries, then I’d post the letter through his door and my quest would be at a dead end.

More excerpts at the Rainbow Snippets group.

Planning for the Week Ahead

Feb. 19th, 2017 09:46 am
valarltd: (Default)
[personal profile] valarltd
Today:
1-5 Michaels
Pasta Primavera
put away clothes
do dishes
take out trash

Monday:
work
Ham macaroni

Tuesday:
Work
eye dr 10;45
spaghetti

Wed
Work
Chicken fried rice

Thurs
Work
Pasta primavera (leftover)

Fri:
work
payday

Sat:
Michaels 9-130

Goals for the week:
write 1000 words
Drive for Uber
3 workouts

I have so much school work to do

Feb. 19th, 2017 12:20 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
So I take off the entire day to go to a crafting party at MKF's house in Chauncey (not pronounced like you'd think because it's here....) This ended up being slightly angst ridden for me at first. I had TWO bags of fucking beading supplies on my futon and a literal shit ton in the closet. I have so much I don't even know where to begin. I found a box from Fire Mountain Gem from four years ago that I never even did more than cut open. Nothing inside had been opened. I jammed it in the bag along with two half finished projects and huge amount of pendant focals.

At the party I sat for at least 40 minutes just going through the box going what the hell happened here? It was all marble. No wonder it weighed a ton. It took almost a full hour before I did anything. See, depression is more than just 'sadness' it's the inability to focus as well. Finally I DID finish one thing which was done but I was having issues getting the stupid clasp on it. They had a good suggestion for that which worked.

So here it is. I call it Time Flies.  photo DSCN0026_zpsebz0i99z.jpg

I started fixing one of my broken necklaces. I had started it on a heavier wire this time but pieces were missing so I decided the broken strand and it's twin (still intact) needed changed out. I put on some of the marble and then found the shells pieces I originally used. Changed it out again. Crimped on the wire...and it broke. Fuck you.

Got new unused wire. Rethreaded it. Crimped. Wire broke. OMFG. Got new wire, rethreaded, crimped. BROKE. I hate you life. Then realized the issue. The crimps were too big. MKF gave me some smaller crimps. FINALLY got one side done. I've the other side to do.

Still have 500 pounds of marble beads.





 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg

#13 25 songs I've last listened to. I decided to play with this one and break it into a few days worth of posting because why just list 25 songs. Let me share the music. Also I mostly chose stuff I'm youtubing rather than the last 25 songs I've heard.
music )


#17 compliments I want? WTF? How weird is this one? Okay tell me I did a good job. Tell me I'm worth while. And for once in my life I'd like to hear a man tell me I'm pretty (who isn't my Dad's age).

Adopt one today! Adopt one today!
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
that is so wrong but please tell me again how global warming isn't real. I miss snow. Though I really like it when it's in the 60s.

I got my airbags fixed in the car. It was a recall deal so it was free. But everything else was ridiculously costly because a) I can't be trusted in TJ Maxx B) in the booze section of Kroger's c) it was lobsterfest and d) holy shit my make up is pricey. Yeah it lasts half a year but still....

TJ's had too many fun food things, chestnut spread? Also I got an amazingly cute purse with a jillion pockets and I didn't even know until I got home, it's made 100% from recycled plastic bottles. Love that. I'll take a picture of it.

My hand is murdering me.

Speaking of murder, I was having the weirdest dream when the alarm went off. I was me in this dream with no idea where I was. I was with a man who had a burn scar on one thigh and had just been sliced open on that leg. The man who did it was trying to kill him. We were somewhere like a dressing room, public bathroom or something. The man trying to kill us all. He had this girl, maybe 20-25 years old with wild make up and purplish hair. He gave an ultimatium to me that I don't remember but he also promised to kill her. She was begging me with her eyes to save her but he blew her head off in front of me and she dropped, making these little sounds. Then he sliced open another woman's arms, stitched them together and dragged her around by the stitching while I tried to help the other woman who didn't die from her head wound, at least not immediately.

Probably glad the alarm went off.


 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg


Day #16 things people might be surprised to learn about me? Honestly I have no idea. I'm fairly open. Did you know I tried to get three degrees at once while working three jobs and while acting in 3 plays a year, being in three bands and was an officer of my sorority?Did you know that the competition in the 80s was so bad for med school that I got exactly two interviews and was cut from my first choice and went to podiatry school on their rec?

that I saw my first ghost when I was still in grade school. or that I can't even remember the last time I went on a date. Or that I'm still bitter and jealous that my brother was allowed to go to Spain in h.s with the same club I was in which was going to go to Italy but I WASN'T allowed to go.

Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Some recent nailfies

Feb. 18th, 2017 06:17 am
calissa: (Default)
[personal profile] calissa
Most of you have probably seen these via my other social media. But for those who haven't, my recent interest in Jamberry manicures continues.

Autumn Romance )

Afternoon Tea paired with Lagoon )

Hearts A Glow paired with Sorbet )
sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
 I applied for a disabled parking permit today.   I have been avoiding this because walking and gentle exercise are good for fibromyalgia and EDS, but I got sick of arguing with the roommate that walking would not hurt her either.  I decided to reduce stress in the house and just apply for it. The rheumatologist filled it out today, and she filled out the student loan discharge papers again, and will have the doctor sign them. I  also made sure that the problem I've had with my back for a few months now which seems to be getting better should go away.

In any case, I engaged in a few busy nights of thinking about the current presidency and what it means. I basically have two methods for dealing with problems. The first is to confront them head on, and the latter is to avoid them. Neither one is desirable in most circumstances. Some people described me as having a warrior's spirit, but I always had problems with that one.  The problem most people I've found with Teutoonic restronstructionist, outside of the obvious racism, is that people tend to take the myths to mean *literal* battles, rather than seeing the battle as a stand in for the struggles that come with life. Without getting too far off track on this matter, I think they mean that I will fight if I'm able to and I see something that's wrong.  

I know this method normally causes friction, but I think I can see plenty of reason to continue it with the Trump administration in power. The president represents a real threat to me and people I care about.  LGBTQ people may suffer because his followers don't pay attention to what he says, Jewish people may suffer because of his failures to combat anti-antisemitism, my former colleagues in the press are suffering because of his battle with reality, and of course, disabled people are likely to be the first to see the ax if expanded Medicaid is cut.  (I do not even blame Trump for this one.)

The time for reasoned debate with Trump supporters is, I believe, over. It is not time to protest through violent means. The government processes are still working.  President Cheetolini needs people to remind him every day, and people need to keep the phone lines busy. I wish I had more time and energy  myself. As someone I've met in my online travels put it -- direct action is the only action that matters now.

Newsletter 169

Feb. 17th, 2017 07:41 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
 The nasty gnashers are no more! Instead of an inflamed gob (TMI, Charlie) I have a beautifully sewn up gum. And I tell you, six lots of local anaesthetic make you high as a kite – not worth repeating the experience just for that, though.

News 

Samhain will be shutting its doors at the end of this month, so the first eight Cambridge Fellows books will be out of e-book/print stock for a while until they find their new home. If you need to get your paws on any of them, you’ll need to act quickly. Bargains a-plenty at the Samhain site 

My next full length romance, Broke Deep, is not just up for pre-order, the cover art has been revealed. Very in keeping with the story. 

 

Before Broke Deep is let loose on the world, I’ll be republishing one of my old stories, for which I’ve got the rights back, “All That Jazz” (presenting it paired up with “If Music Be” from the Summer’s Day anthology). More news on exact dates hopefully next time around. Need to get my plans in order. 

Here’s a snippet from All That Jazz: 

The first lines of “All That Jazz” sounded seductively, in Francis’s bell clear voice.

Freddie watched his friend slink across the stage. From the third row of the circle, his favoured place for observing any show, he’d have bet fifty quid that the average punter wouldn’t have guessed Francis wasn’t a woman. And a bloody attractive one at that. One of the—straight—stagehands had made a pass at the ‘leading lady’ even though he must have known damn well that the entire cast of this production was male. That was the whole bloody point.

The bit about the noisy hall and the nightly brawl came and went.

Francis was holding it up well, the slight nerves which had come across in the opening lines fading now into an assured performance. He’d have to give as good as this when it came to first night. Novelty value was all very well, but if people didn’t believe they’d had their money’s worth from their night at the theatre then no amount of innovation was going to compensate for them feeling hard done by.

Freddie took his eyes off Velma and had a good look at the rest of the troupe. Nice legs, every one of them, not a bosom out of place. It was taking a huge risk having no women in the cast of a show that relied on the relationship between its two leading ladies. Granted, it was the sort of thing which was being done with Shakespeare; didn’t the Globe prove that no-one batted an eye at a reversion to all male theatre? There were never any snide remarks in the broadsheets about some Ophelia who had to pad her cleavage and shave twice before taking the stage. It was an experience regarded as oddly highbrow.  But how would the same newspapers react to an all male ‘Chicago’? Only the press night would tell and there was a rumour that the Daily Telegraph was sending someone. Not necessarily the top man, but it would still be a coup. So long as the critic thought the show justified the trip.

Freddie closed his eyes for a moment, focussing his thoughts and reassuring himself that it was worth the risk. It was the right musical, of course it was. All the mad suggestions when they’d first mooted it—among the saner West Side Story or Wicked—had been little more than private wishes and fantasy fulfilment. When someone had suggested the Sound of Music he’d been ready to throw the whole thing up. Then somebody else had started humming ‘Razzle dazzle’ and the penny had dropped. They could have chosen either Chicago or Cabaret, Kander and Ebb’s music and Fosse’s choreographic ideas having a bizarre manliness, even butchness, to them. But given that Mary Sunshine was a cross dressing role already and Mama Morton seemed to have been created to be played by a drag queen, the die was cast. There even turned out to be peculiarly masculine edge about Velma which Francis had been bringing out beautifully in all the rehearsals so far.

“He’s got it alright.” Freddie’s partner—business and pleasure—slipped into the seat behind his and leaned forward to whisper conspiratorially while the performers took their break. “From the first time I saw him at your shindig I knew he’d be the business.”

Book Review: Minotaur by J. A. Rock

Feb. 17th, 2017 07:33 am
hrj: (Default)
[personal profile] hrj
I review Minotaur by J.A. Rock

This is now what I point to when I say “I want books with beautiful writing.”

I'm going to Utah

Feb. 16th, 2017 11:24 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I bought my ticket to my annual conference...at the last day for the early bird. Boy it's getting pricey (who needed that 450$?) At least I have 200$ in vouchers for the plane after how Southwest screwed me this past summer. And they've announced next year's conference location. It's ....Columbus Oh. Oh whoopie. I should at least take a student to that one.


I'm cementing my research project for next year too.

[personal profile] evil_little_dog challenged me to write 300 words tonight. I DID.

 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg

The people I work with? I talk about awork all the time. The people I work with are pretty supportive and helpful. They're my only friends here other than my steampunk and writers group. It's a good group to work with. I'm lucky.

Adopt one today! Adopt one today!
hrj: (Default)
[personal profile] hrj
This Sunday (February 19, 4pm) come on out to Laurel Bookstore for a reading and discussion by six Bella Books authors, including yours truly. See link for details.

GUFF Interview: Donna Maree Hanson

Feb. 17th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: (Calissa)
[personal profile] calissa

GUFF interviews, kangaroo, Earl Grey Editing, Elizabeth Fitzgerald

The Get Up-and-over Fan Fund is designed to promote connections between fandoms in Australasia and Europe. This year GUFF will send one delegate from Australiasia to Worldcon in Helsinki in August. Voting is open to all interested fans, regardless of nationality. It closes 1 April.

Deciding how to rank the candidates can be a pretty daunting prospect, so over the next few weeks Earl Grey Editing will be featuring an interview with each candidate. The first interview was with Belle McQuattie. Joining me today is Donna Maree Hanson.

First and most vital: What’s your favourite beverage?

Besides tea? Because you know my brain floats in brown liquid constantly. On the alcoholic side it is either cider, bubbly, Sauvignon Blanc, Gin and Tonic or a Lychee Martini.

Our mutual addiction to tea has led to many lovely afternoons. But I must admit a Lychee Martini sounds very tasty!

You’ve been involved in Australian SFF fandom for over a decade. How did you get started?

Long story! Way back in my early days of starting to write, I joined the Canberra Speculative Fiction Guild and it was Maxine McArthur, science fiction author, who encouraged me to attend a convention and even to help out on one. So back in 2001 I helped out on a local convention in Canberra. It was great. I met people and authors and stuff. Then I went to Convergence in Melbourne. Had my mind absolutely blown. It was great. Then what do you know I end up running the 2003 Natcon in Canberra (Conflux). I ran another convention after that and introduced a lot of people to fandom. I went to worldcons in Glasgow, Denver, Montreal, and London. I helped out with the Aussiecon bid and helped out for a little while in communications for Aussiecon 4 until my mum got sick and it got too hard. I ran another natcon with Nicole Murphy (Conflux 9) in 2013. It has been a great experience. I’ve learned so much, learned about new writers, met people from all over the world, met authors and been to some fabulous parties.

You’re currently working on a PhD focused on feminism in romance. How have you found this has impacted on your SFF writing?

The PhD studies so far have benefited my writing. Part of the study involves reading widely–French philosophers, feminist theory, queer theory–and I find that all mind-expanding. I’m not free to write as much as I’d like but I find with a bit of discipline (say an hour a day, at least) I can do both the PhD and write. I take a writing day once a week too. I don’t think you can study romance without touching on feminism and gender, and that is interesting to say the least. As I’m undertaking a creative writing PhD, l will be writing a novel. That novel is going to be an SF novel, post-human, focussing on gender equality and romance too. To write that novel I have to read SF dealing with that topic as well as straight romance, which is part of my research. Lots of reading. I read Left Hand of Darkness aloud to myself so I could experience it at a deeper level. So it’s a journey that I can bend to include both sides of my interests in genre.

What Australian SFF have you recently loved?

This is a hard question. I have a big to read list, featuring Australian authors. I think the standout for me though was The Grief Hole by Kaaron Warren. This book is something else, a perfect blend of dark with hints of light and with Warren’s exclusive ingenuity and creativity that takes the everyday and makes it more. The Grief Hole explores grief and guilt and the darker side to humanity. I loved it. Not scary. Just dusting the cobwebs of the human dark side.

What’s coming up next for you?

Pretty much writing and the PhD studies for the foreseeable future. I have been working on a few books that are coming out this year.

What are you most looking forward to about Worldcon 75?

I really like the idea that the Worldcon is in Helsinki, Finland. It’s such a different place from here, from the US, from anywhere else. I hosted Jukka Halme, the Worldcon chair, when he visited Canberra, a lucky quirk of fate. He was funny, and interesting and a really good bloke. I’d love to see what he and his team have put together. I think worldcons celebrate community and being outside the USA, a worldcon gives smaller communities some airtime. I’d really like to experience the European SF community because I haven’t had the chance to do that before. If I had the time and the money I’d go to all the worldcons.

Donna Maree Hanson is a Canberra-based writer of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and under the pseudonym (Dani Kristoff) paranormal romance. Her dark fantasy series (which some reviewers have called grim dark), Dragon Wine, is published by Momentum Books (Pan Macmillan digital imprint). Book 1: Shatterwing and Book 2: Skywatcher are out now in digital and print on demand.

In April 2015, she was awarded the A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction for her work in running science fiction conventions, publishing and broader SF community contribution.

Donna also writes young adult science fiction, with Rayessa and the Space Pirates and Rae and Essa’s Space Adventures out with Escape Publishing. (the Love and Space Pirates series). Opi Battles the Space Pirates is the third book in this series.

In 2016, Donna commenced her PhD candidature researching Feminism in Popular Romance. Her first Indie published book, Argenterra, was publishing in late April 2016. Argenterra is the first in an epic fantasy series (the Silverlands) suitable for adult and young adult readers. Oathbound and The Ungiven Land book two and three of the Silverlands are due out in 2017.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

Rice is a Side Dish, by Hirasawa Yui

Feb. 16th, 2017 10:01 am
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech


Rice is amazing, I'll eat anything steaming hot
Ramen and udon with pancake, this and that
Carbohydrates, carbohydrates
A dreamy collaboration
(Hot, hot, steaming hot!)

Rice is amazing, it's a problem if I don't have it
Better yet, rice should be a complete side dish
If you're from Kansai, it's all about okonomiyaki & rice

But...I'm not from Kansai
(Wait, what?!)
One, two, three, four, rice!
One, two, three, four, rice!

Rice is amazing, I'll eat anything steaming hot
Fermented cabbage and soybeans, raw egg, this and that
White rice is a pure, snowy white canvas
A fantasy imagination
(Hot, hot, steaming hot!)

Rice is amazing, it's a problem if I don't have it
Rice is a staple food, after all
If you're from Japan, it's all about rice over bread

(spoken)
"Rice isn't a side dish, you know!"
"Oh... I forgot."
"HEY!"


Rice is amazing, I'll eat anything steaming hot!
Fried noodles, octopus balls, pork wrapped in egg, this and that
Carbohydrates, carbohydrates
A dreamy collaboration
(Hot, hot, steaming hot! Let's go, let's go!)

Rice is amazing, it's a problem if I don't have it
Better yet, rice should be a complete side dish
If you're from Kansai, it's all about okonomiyaki & rice

I must have been from Kansai in a past life!
(What the hell?!)
One, two, three, four, rice!
One, two, three, four, rice!
One, two, three, four, rice!
One, two, three, four, rice!

-The Gneech

I feel in control

Feb. 15th, 2017 11:01 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
 photo feb list_zpsi4ik15zn.jpg

#7 Something I learned this week, that I am not nearly as marketable as I thought I was. Today we interviewed two of the four candidates we plan on interviewing. It feels weird to feel like I'm in control of their futures. But my god, they are literally so overqualified for this job it's pathetic. The ONLY thing that sells our school is that they're both from small town OH and want to return to same (one even routinely vacationed here in the Hocking HIlls.) I feel like an uneducated yokel by comparison. I know this isn't true but NOT being trained in research makes me less desirable as a professor.

I also learned that I don't take my own advice much. I had said something a few weeks back to [personal profile] evil_little_dog about letting go and accepting where we are now even if we don't really want to be there. I believe that's true but I realized that I haven't done that much myself. I tried this past year when I made plans to play tourist in my own area but didn't do it. Even if I don't write this contemporary novel with ghosts (I haven't written in days), I'm learning just how beautiful the Hocking HIlls are. I'm letting go of some of my despair over being here for a fucking decade and am trying to learn to find things to like here.

It is not easy.

I'm skipping #13 for now. #14 what do I hope to be doing this time next year? As much as I'd love to say a new job I know that isn't going to happen. I'd like to have seen a new state or country by then or both. I want to be celebrating the sell of another novel. I want to have another 2 novels finished. I would like to be less than I am now weight wise. I'd like to own my own house even though I suspect that will be a mistake.

the fall - jesse marchant

Feb. 15th, 2017 11:47 pm
besamislabios: (Natasha)
[personal profile] besamislabios

Useful political website

Feb. 15th, 2017 06:21 am
grey853: (Colbert-IShitTheeNot_those_icons)
[personal profile] grey853
For those of us who are already dizzy with the cray-cray that passes for politics right now, here's a great website that does a daily update on what's going down in Trump World.

https://whatthefuckjusthappenedtoday.com/

Dreamwidth news: 15 February 2017

Feb. 15th, 2017 05:35 am
denise: Image: Me, facing away from camera, on top of the Castel Sant'Angelo in Rome (Default)
[staff profile] denise posting in [site community profile] dw_news
Hello, Dreamwidth! And thank you to everyone who wished me and my wife a happy vacation -- it was an excellent one. (Rumors that it was to help distract me from a significant birthday starting with 4 and ending with 0 are totally unfounded. Really.) It was also awesome to come back and see all of the new activity going on! I hope that everyone who's joined us in the last month or two has been settling in nicely.

Behind the cut, a tour of some of the new stuff we've done in the last few months, plus a look at some older changes that could use more love:

* Image Hosting Frontend
* HTTPS Beta
* Create Entries Beta: progress report
* Selective comment screening
* Other alphabets in site search: fixed!
* Icon file size limit increased
* Dreamwidth: Did You Know?
* Team Dreamwidth

DW News, 15 Feb 2017 )

*

That's it from us for another update! As always, if you're having problems with Dreamwidth, Support can help you; for notices of site problems and downtime, check the Twitter status page.

Comment notifications may be delayed for an hour or two, due to the high volume of notifications generated after an update is posted to [site community profile] dw_news. This was posted at 5:35AM EST (see in your time zone). Please don't worry about delayed notifications until at least two hours after that.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

February 2017

S M T W T F S
    1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 232425
262728    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Feb. 23rd, 2017 04:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios