The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Aug. 18th, 2017 11:30 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Today was the second of our all day meetings.

The Good - One of the new English faculty not only writes in the same YA genres I do but she's also into Roller Derby. She wants to talk to me more. Could be the start of a new friendship.

The students enjoyed the scavenger hunt.


The Bad - the psych prof who weirded out the anime/gaming club last year wants to be a part of it this year (maybe if I'm around) and then mansplained gaming to me as if I don't live it.

I think one of the cysts burst today. Thanks ovary

At the faculty student ice cream social, I got to the bottom of my sundae and there was a broken spoon in the bottom. Weeps.

The ugly - You think I was pissed off earlier this week when I had to get a h.s. teacher ready to teach my anatomy class there? Today I was told that me and the other prof (or our new hire which I just refuse to allow to happen) has to go to our branch campus an HOUR away and teach A&P there because 'staffing it fell through the cracks' They're not taking 'but I already have a class at that time.' as an answer. They want us to split it, me do it the one day I could and her the other. I'm literally exhausted from arguing all day.

And this is mostly my friend's L's fault.

Meme Time

Aug. 18th, 2017 09:01 pm
la_samtyr: books (books)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
Finally decided to join in:

Kissed any one of your Livejournal friends? No
Been arrested? No
Kissed someone you didn't like? Yes
Slept in until 5 PM? No
Read more... )

Newsletter 181

Aug. 18th, 2017 07:57 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Afternoon all, or whatever time it is in your neck of the woods when you read this. We’re enjoying a typical August day, with blazing sun hard on the heels of a thunderstorm that produced hailstones the size of broad beans. As Flanders and Swann sang 50+ years ago, “August, cold and dank and wet, Brings more rain than any yet.”

News

Lots going on at the moment, the first of which is the release – just this Monday gone – of Lessons in Loving thy Murderous Neighbour, which is in both kindle and print form.
Jonty Stewart and Orlando Coppersmith like nothing more than being given a mystery to solve. But what happens when you have to defend your greatest enemy on a charge of murder?

I’m doing a blog tour, all stops of which are linked here as they appear. Comment at any stop (or all) to get your name into the hat to win an audio copy of Lessons in Love.

I’ve done an interview about the book for Mystery People, where Carol Westron asked me lots of excellent questions, like When a new character appears in their investigations, do you know from the beginning exactly what they are like and the role they are going to play, or do you discover it as you write? I had to get my thinking cap on.

There’s a great review of Broke Deep over at The good the bad and the unread.
All in all, a most delightful read, and a highly worthy addition to the world of Porthkennack.

And finally, my favourite picture from the Selsey Meet the Authors event last week. Me, with one of my writing heroes - Simon Brett - on the same table! Be still my racing heart…




Commission Queue as of 18 Aug 2017

Aug. 18th, 2017 02:37 pm
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech
I believe this is current. Please let me know if I've missed something!

  • Ace 8th Doctor

  • Dipper/Maxgoof

  • Rufo/Parker silliness

  • Tiffany as Wonder Woman


-The Gneech

I survived the day

Aug. 17th, 2017 11:21 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
It wasn't too bad with one exception. Not only was I not contacted about that class they moved into the high school, neither were the h.s. teachers (and it wasn't just my class, it's was 6, across all disciplines). They thought they were starting this on monday, meanwhile their principal meant for it to start in January. Does NO ONE communicate with the workers?

The two new hires seem to have bonded (at least for now) and they both seem like great women. I'm hoping this good feeling hangs around and that we all work well together.

I finally got a gift I was promised by the medical coders professors a year ago, a decorative bird's nest and a 25$ gift card. That was nice.

What wasn't nice was last night. I fell asleep 2 hours early (since I had to be up so early). Fell right to sleep in fact at 12:30. Woke up at my usual 2:30 AM bed time wide awake. Thanks body, great 2 hour nap. I drifted in and out for the next four hours. whee.

Fidele Chapter 25

Aug. 17th, 2017 08:06 pm
misslucyjane: Dominic Monaghan writing (i write therefore i am)
[personal profile] misslucyjane
Fidele (113534 words) by misslucyjane
Chapters: 25/?
Fandom: Original Work
Rating: Explicit
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: Original Male Character/Original Male Character
Additional Tags: Romance Novel, Paranormal, PTSD, Hauntings, Kid Fic, Drug Use
Summary:

A house full of ghosts is no place to fall in love.

Malcolm Carmichael has been coping with his post-war trauma by taking lovers, teaching art to schoolboys, and trying to ignore the ghosts he sees everywhere. At the death of his mother, he realizes he wants more than just to coast on by, and leaves the exclusive school in search of something more.

Caleb Thibodeaux was so traumatized by the death of his parents in a fire that he hasn't spoken a word since. His uncle Noel hires Malcolm to be his tutor, and Malcolm discovers that Caleb is not the only Thibodeaux son with secrets. The plantation house Fidele is beautiful but haunted, and Noel is much the same.

Soon Malcolm is absorbed in protecting Caleb and Noel from threats both living and dead, and in uncovering the story of Fidele.



Read at AO3, or at JennaLynnBrown.com

Bout of Books 20 sign-up

Aug. 18th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa
Bout of Books

July and August have my Mt TBR looking in pretty good shape, but it could always use a little more help. One of the best ways to do that is through a reading challenge!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 21st and runs through Sunday, August 27th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.For all Bout of Books 20 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.– From the Bout of Books team

Being a low-pressure challenge, Bout of Books lets me set my own goals. As with the last few times, I’m aiming to get through a minimum of three books. My goal is to power through Glenda Larke’s Mirage Makers trilogy, which has been languishing on Mt TBR for entirely too long. It might be a bit ambitious to get through in a week, but I’ll be giving it my best shot!

Glenda Larke, Mirage Makers, Heart of the Mirage, the Shadow of Tyr, Song of the Shiver Barrens, Earl Grey Editing, books and tea, tea and books, Bout of Books, Mt TBR

If you’d like to join in, there’s still time to sign up!

What’s on your TBR pile this week?

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

National Black Cat Day

Aug. 17th, 2017 02:48 pm
la_samtyr: cat statue (Bast)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
august 17th national black cat day

Chocolate

Aug. 17th, 2017 11:56 am
codyne: "Pretty. Damned. Tasty" York Peppermint Patty (york)
[personal profile] codyne
Untitled

I think this should last me for a little while.

What it really means to be published

Aug. 17th, 2017 07:48 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Today's blog tour stop is at MM Good book reviews, where I discuss some of the perils you might not have associated with being published. You know the drill by now - comment at any blog stop to go into the virtual hat for an audio copy of Lessons in Love.

Not ready for tomorrow

Aug. 16th, 2017 11:58 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
To keep on with the 'let's not give them time to prep stuff' I got an email today saying i need to bring a copy of my syllabus if I'm in one of the workshops but I don't KNOW which work shops I'm in (we had to rate them but no one said one way or the other) and of course I won't have time to print the syllabus....


I had a terrible dream in the early morning hours. Oddly one of the authors I know via DSP and FB was in it and we were talking about testing and in this mall. That wasn't the bad part. Then suddenly I was in my grandmother's kitchen, my dad's Mother who's been gone nearly 20 years now. She was there but almost all of her hair had been shaved off. She was still as short and rotund as she I remember her, with the large buggy eyes. Mom and my aunt were there too. I can't remember what was going on but it opened with her standing on a kitchen chair to get something from the top of the fridge (which was the brown one she had and in the same spot, not the stainless steel one after the remodel).

We got her to sit back down and we were all talking again. While we were distracted talking, Grandma pushed the chair (the ones she had again, not the ones that are there now) back to the fridge. I yelled at Mom to stop her because I couldn't get there in time.

Sure enough granma falls off the chair, right over mom's shoulder and lands on her head on the floor with the loud broken coconut sound of a fracturing skull. Blood haloed everything. Suddenly Grandma leaps up, ninja-style, wild eyed and ready for action. No one could have done that. I was screaming for Mom to get an ambulance and she tells me to run for help. I run outside and that other author is with me again and we're in the city streets instead of the country where I grew up.

then I woke up. yikes.

Mom news

Aug. 16th, 2017 11:27 am
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
Last Thursday, I was awakened at 6:45 AM by a call from the caregivers at my mother's home, saying that she'd fallen the night before and now she was in a lot of pain and barely able to walk. So I said I'd see what I could do and got up to do chores, because it was too early to do anything else, and waited until 8 AM when my mom's doctor's office opened so I could call and try to get her an appointment. Fortunately, they had an opening at 9 AM, so I went to pick up my mom and take her to the doctor.

She was, indeed, having so much trouble walking that I borrowed a wheelchair from the house to take her to the doctor, who examined her and said it was probably just a strain but sent us across town to the surgery center for X-rays, just in case.

The X-rays didn't show any fracture, so there was nothing to be done but give her Tylenol and let her rest and heal. The caregivers at her home were really good about wheeling her around in the wheelchair and helping her go to the bathroom and such, but unfortunately, she couldn't remember that she fell, and wasn't in any pain when she was lying down or sitting, so she'd forget she's injured and didn't know what was going on or why they didn't want her to walk by herself, and she was getting confused and agitated.

The caregivers called me again on Monday to say that overnight she'd tried to get up several times and fell again, and got very upset and started screaming that someone was trying to get into her room and attack her. They also said she'd mostly stopped eating. So I called the hospice and made an appointment for a nurse to come and evaluate her yesterday afternoon.

The nurse agreed that she's in a decline and got her approved for at least three months of care. I'm relieved to have them taking care of her - they'll have a nurse check her at least twice a week, and they'll coordinate meds and treatments with her doctor, and they will bathe her several times a week and keep her comfortable. So now I can relax a bit and just visit her and not worry so much.

And now in print!

Aug. 16th, 2017 07:28 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Unless I have made the most humongous muck up, I've got a print edition of Lessons in Loving they Murderous Neighbour! Only on Amazon at present, but that may change in the future.

The times they were a changing

Aug. 16th, 2017 10:46 am
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Today I'm at the lovely Elin Gregory's blog, talking about some of the changes and innovations Orlando and Jonty saw either side of WWI. Do drop in (and don't forget to leave a comment to go into the virtual hat for a Cambridge Fellows audio book.)

Made it home

Aug. 16th, 2017 12:36 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
With minimal drama even. If you count the batteries going out in my a/c control (fixed) and my DISH receiver being so old I've lost half my channels (But I think I'm going with Direct and need to call them tomorrow).

Kanda is a bit heartbroken. He didn't expect a thing today as I've packed my suitcase and left him with my parents FOUR times this summer. He's been in PA for 3 months so he didn't expect anything bad when I packed that suitcase today. I DO feel bad for him. At my parents he has two floors to run around in, a porch he can sit on with us, windows and sliding glass doors to look out and almost always at least one person home. Here he has an overcrowded apartment with a porch he can't sit on with me (neighbors don't leash dogs), no windows but one (as they're all over the vents so I can't put up anything he can get up on) and he's alone almost all the time.

I spent the drive here plotting my novel and got here to find last night's writing on These Haunted Hills didn't save. Thank god it was only 100 pitiful words.

My old jean jacket

Aug. 15th, 2017 06:51 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
I really wish I still had my old punk jean jacket. (Lost it, with all my other punk gear, in the fire.) I'd be wearing it all the time now. I feel the need to get mad and loud again.

My old jean jacket (front) My old jean jacket (back)

I made all those patches myself. I used to do stuff like that.

Me meme? Don't mind if I do!

Aug. 15th, 2017 07:17 pm
misslucyjane: (typing - archy)
[personal profile] misslucyjane
Blatantly stolen from [profile] musefool, here are the first lines from a few of my current WIPs.

Fidele
The weather was so fine that day that when my afternoon art class (eighteen first-, second-, and third-graders) begged to have class outside, I agreed.

Continuo
The boy was maybe three years old, much too young to be on his own in the crowd of Library Square.

The Funeral Blues of Barnaby Sloan
At precisely eleven fifty-five on a Tuesday morning in January, Barnaby Sloan put the papyrus he was poring over into its storage box, packed his laptop in his backpack, tucked the backpack into a cubbyhole in his desk, and left the documents room.

Cosmic Latte
Grad students could not live by study alone, Dylan said, so Jacob went with him to Zebra on Saturday night.

I don't think we're supposed to post anything for [community profile] unconventionalcourtship before our posting date, so I'm going to leave that story (technically, those stories) off the meme this time.

I've got more Scrivener projects that are still just ideas than I realized. And then there are a few that are going to be rewritten from word one, so they're somewhere between idea and WIP. And there are still a lot of ideas on the Big List of Next that aren't even projects yet.

Waugh. So many words, so little time.
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Today I'm at Book Reviews and More by Kathy, talking about how the Cambridge Fellows got me out of my 'writing garret'. Comment at any (or all) of the stops to be in with a chance to win an audio book of Lessons in Love.

My last day here

Aug. 14th, 2017 11:06 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I spent it packing up and FINALLY finishing another steampunk hat that I've been trying to finish for 2 years. I'm really into procrastinating these days.

Side eyes my provost. Got emailed over the weekend by a former student who teaches biology in a local high school. Apparently instead of sending the college ready h.s. students to me to teach the nursing a&p, they arranged a deal with the school for my former student to teach it. Oh btw can I give him all the notes, the syllabus etc. Did I mention school starts in less than a week? Did I mention no one ran this by me to see if this was feasible and I don’t even know what the lab situation at the school is? It needs to have a certain set of labs (all costly and I don’t know if the h.s. can handle it). So in the middle of the faculty meeting on Thursday I have to bring him up to speed. Luckily the OTHER brand new faculty member also will be teaching this class so I guess I’m mentoring them both. It's going to be one interesting semester.

I just realized that after labor day I don't have a single weekend open until November. Here comes the fall festival season. Send reinforcements.


And thanks for nothing Preacher. I'm sitting here watching with my parents. It was bad enough when the villain ordered his people to set up a fantasy rape scenario with a hooker but then to have his people order up three men to complete the scenario 'where no means yes' just like he asked and we get the banging table sex scene that he gets into heavily.
And this means I better start planning for Nanowrimo. I was going to go with Zvon et al but that will take more planning than I have time for with 7 classes. It's Jana's turn anyhow. I SHOULD finish These Haunted Hills. I have a good feeling about this story. It deserves a shot. And really I would love to find someone to beta read (maybe exchange chapter for chapter and trade beta reading services).
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
And it's a 4.5 star one. "After all these stories, it feels like walking into the drawing room again and seeing old friends. What a joy."

Read more at Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech

So recently, at Barnes & Noble, my attention was drawn to a hardback on the “fantasy new releases” table, featuring what was described as “flintlock fantasy with airships, a touch of humor, and an engaging female hero.”


I nearly burned the place down. ¬.¬


After the writing, revising, submitting, re-revising, submitting again, and so forth that Sky Pirates of Calypsitania has gone through, to see this thing sitting there made me want to scream at the top of my lungs, “THIS SHOULD BE MY BOOK!”


So. Yeah. I was upset. Deep breaths. Let’s work this thing out.


On the positive side, clearly someone must think there’s a market for the kind of books I want to write. I mean, there it is. But I have to connect to it.


And to be clear, I’m pretty sure that the author of that book worked just as long and just as hard on it as I did on mine. My own personal green-eyed-monster popping out notwithstanding, I wish them success.


That doesn’t alter the fact that I had this extreme, intensely emotional reaction to seeing “my book with someone else’s name on it” right there on the very table where I have been trying to get my book for years now. What I have to do, is direct that energy in a positive direction.


If this is the team that put the book on the table, I reasoned, then it could serve me well to hook up with that team. A little research turned up the agent of not-my-book. I went back and rewrote the opening, again, to address feedback the book had received on the previous round, getting thumbs-ups from my beta readers, and sent it to that agent. Given that this particular agent has a strict “Don’t call us, we’ll call you,” policy, however, the response could easily range from an excited followup any day, to chirping crickets until forever.


I don’t intend to wait. As far as I’ve been able to make out, the main thing that makes a writing career succeed (besides lightning in a bottle) is sheer volume. The most popular and well-paid writers I know get that way by writing a lot of books. And as much as I love Sky Pirates of Calypsitania, it is only the one.


What this boils down to is, I need to work on another book. I’ll keep shopping Sky Pirates around as long as it takes, but I can’t leave my career on hold waiting for any one project to move.


I have been trying to write a more “mainstream” fantasy, and I got maybe a third of it done as part of last year’s NaNoWriMo, but I keep running into a fundamental paradox: in trying to adhere to more standard tropes in order to make the book “sellable,” I feel like I’m just aping other people’s work, which in turn makes for a book that I’m not sure I would read, myself.


Of course, it’s just the first draft of said book, and so there’s an argument that I should just finish the thing, with “rip out all the Tolkien” being one of the goals of the second draft. But if I know all the Tolkien needs to come out anyway, then leaving it in there for the first draft feels like creating work I don’t need to do.


So perhaps I should just leave that one in the drafts folder and start a whole new project that’s more like what I want to write.


But I need to do something. I need to get somewhere.


-The Gneech

charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Comment at any of the blog tour stops to be in with a chance of winning an audio book. If you comment at more than one, you'll have more than one chance in the virtual hat!

Today I'm at My Fiction Nook, talking about my experience of characters stopping talking to their author.  Also at Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words, pontificating on my obsession with the years either side of 1900.

LessonsMurderousSepia800

It's been a good weekend

Aug. 14th, 2017 04:37 pm
[personal profile] bodleian
Just back from having a brilliant weekend in Canberra. I went down for a quilting exhibition but managed to also see an exhibition about Gough Whitlam, go to some markets at the bus depot and of course visit some shopping centres, op shops and a Japanese fabric store. I bought materials, quite a few silk ties and some books - one of which is a tourist guide to Canada. Take note, Mindy Grainger - I'm coming back. I also bought a tourist guide for Iceland which is high on my bucket list.
I'm now relaxing at home and laughing about the Barnaby Joyce situation. I'll be waiting to see what he does.

Writerly Ways

Aug. 13th, 2017 10:30 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
For this week's writerly ways I actually have a point to make!

Let's talk research. I've been saying for eons that an author should be able to write almost anything they're interested in IF they do the research but damn, I've seen some truly lazy research lately and from big name publishers who's editors should know better.

Historicals are the most common offender of this. Someone on my list was bitching about one set in 1820 where the characters were talking about 'flipping her switch' (which is an electrical metaphor which didn't exist then) and in a historical cambodian mystery that I DNF, which was over stuffed with Cambodia history but in spite of the character being born in 1903 and the story being set when she's 17, the character spoke like today's teens with a lot of 'geezes' and was talking about gene pools (a term not coined until the mid 40s) and in a script I just saw had the characters dialing 911 in 1969 (since the Manson murders were just happening). Yes 911 started in Alabama in 68 but wasn't established nation wide until 73 and in 76 less than 20% of states used it. Did I memorize this? No. I looked it up because I knew in high school there was NOT 911 in my area (an ambulance came to my grandmother's thinking we had called but it wasn't us and everyone was frantic trying to figure out where the call had come from and there was no 911 then). In fact by the time I was a junior in college still less than 50% of the states used 911.

It is easy of course to screw this stuff up. We take 911 for granted. We talk in colorful phrases and metaphors all the time without much thought as to where they've come from. I've made this mistake myself. But between the author, beta readers and editors this stuff should be caught.

I'm reading a book right now I honestly don't like but I bought it from the author (who was nice and gave me such a cute autograph that I hate hating on this book). In chapter one a character was talking about seeing the changes in the main character's brain on X-Ray. You can't SEE the brain (other than as a shadow) on X-ray (and I rather thought everyone knew that). And the detective is constantly in 600$ suits (any look into actual detectives will show that homicide doesn't strut around in Armani because it would get ruined. I keep thinking it's a clue (and that he's secretly with the Mob which is a main part of this book)

So basically a) don't base everything off what you see on TV b) if you aren't an expert in something you want to write, research it c) if using a metaphor or saying in a historical look it up.

And remember me talking about how SO many readers bitch about female characters in m/m books (i've seen any number of them mention they won't even read it if there's a female on page)? I'm not alone in a) noticing this and b) noticing it's not gay men saying it, only the women. I’m glad he’s calling them out on this (even if some of the commentors take shots at women).

Links from Betty

Villain’s redemption arc

what a writer can learn from Stephen King


out of print termination clauses This one seems very good to know if you're doing something other than self pubbing.

tips for successful writers

Other Links I've found: Finding the center of your book

Promoting your YA novel on social media

I can't remember if I shared this one or not but I need to do this once I get this posted. writing great blurbs

Matters Arising by Simon Petrie

Aug. 14th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body, Simon Petrie, Peggy Bright Books, Earl Grey Editing, books and tea, tea and books

Published: June 2017 by Peggy Bright Books
Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
Series: Guerline Scarfe #1
Genres: Sci-fi, crime
Source: Publisher
Available: Publisher (print and electronic) ~Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ Booktopia

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
The author is a friend. I have done my best to give an unbiased review.

Tanja Morgenstein, daughter of a wealthy industrialist and a geochemist, is dead from exposure to Titan’s lethal, chilled atmosphere, and Guerline Scarfe must determine why.

This novella blends hard-SF extrapolation with elements of contemporary crime fiction, to envisage a future human society in a hostile environment, in which a young woman’s worst enemies may be those around her.

Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body is a hard sci-fi crime novella. It starts off with the suicide of a wealthy heiress, but the book is as much about the author’s vision of Titan’s settlement as it is about the mystery.

Usually, I’m not particularly fond of hard sci-fi and there were elements of the genre present in Matters Arising that didn’t appeal to me. In particular, I found the language more academic than emotive, which created a distance from the characters. However, the story went some way towards mitigating that by giving the main character a family life of sorts. Seeing her struggle with her personal relationships helped humanise Guerline. Her focus and dedication to her work is shown as both a virtue and a character flaw.

The details of daily life also helped make Guerline relatable. We get to see her make long commutes, grouch at missed flights and travel delays, and engage in online research and recreation. These details also do a clever double duty, showing what it’s like to live on Titan in a way that feels natural. It also fits in with the detail-oriented nature of procedural crime.

The drawback to this approach is that it can feel a bit slow-paced. There’s no real sense of urgency until Guerline’s final trip home. However, the short chapters help to counterbalance this.

Another thing I was pleased to see was how diverse the cast was. It’s something I’m not used to seeing in hard sci-fi… though it should be said my experience with the genre is very limited, especially when it comes to modern examples.

All in all, Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body was a solid read and while not exactly my cup of tea, I’d definitely recommend it to lovers of hard sci-fi.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

Adventures in publishing!

Aug. 13th, 2017 09:17 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
When I first started writing it wasn't with the intention of being published, but when the chance came I took it. Very early on I realised that publishing was a volatile business, and I was determined I'd never have all my eggs in one - or even two - baskets. In recent years I decided I should dip my toes in the self publishing world, too.

Self publishing was always for me, at least in part, about learning new skills, and the last year has been - and continues to be - a real adventure. I started with some reissues of older stories I'd got the rights back for, paired up and repackaged, Wild Bells and In the Spotlight. En route I made mistakes, but I learned from them, and moved on, to the point I thought, "Let's try something a bit braver." Lessons in Loving thy Murderous Neighbour is my something-a-bit-braver and it's out tomorrow.

And then, as my something-braver-still, I'm on the verge of getting it into print, too. All that for someone who never aimed to be published but who's loving every moment.
duskpeterson: (bookshelves)
[personal profile] duskpeterson
Firstly, my apologies for not posting announcements last week. It was a heck of a week. I did post the actual fic last week, so this announcement will encompass both weeks.

Secondly, I wasn't sure whether to post my fiction chapters this week. I thought of simply linking to this.

But then I looked at my chapters for this week. They consisted of (1) a protest against people who commit violent oppression, (2) a protest against people who commit violent oppression, and (3) an apology from a character who committed violence.

So yes, I've posted my fic this week. But I'll put off other announcements till next week.


Law Links


"Sometimes I feel that he is as mysterious as the gods, and that he is hiding something of vital importance from me. Something that would transform my life."

Few events are more thrilling in a young man's life than a blood feud between two villages. Or so Adrian thought.

Torn between affection toward his traditional-minded father and worship of his peace-loving, heretical priest, Adrian finds himself caught between two incompatible visions of his duty to the gods. Then the Jackal God sends Adrian a message that will disrupt his world and send him fleeing to a new and perilous life.




LifePrison


"'You have committed a vile and savage act, one that any other nation would punish with death. Our punishment, on the other hand, will only be to give you what you want. You have sought to live in a world without boundaries of civilization, and such a world shall henceforth be your dwelling place.'"

A cold-hearted murderer. A vicious abuser. A young man hiding a shameful secret. A bewildered immigrant. A pure-minded spy.

All of these men have found their appointed places at Mercy Life Prison, where it is easy to tell who your enemies are. But a new visitor to Mercy is about to challenge decades-old customs. Now these men's worst enemies may be hiding behind masks . . . and so may their closest allies.




Checkmate


"It's all about torture. That's what I didn't understand for a long time. The High Seeker has been seeking out and punishing those of us who wish to show greater mercy to the prisoners than the Code allows. Those of us who question whether it's right to torture prisoners."

The Eternal Dungeon is no longer a prison. It's a battlefield.

Split apart from their closest loves and friends, a small group of prison-workers seek to abolish the use of torture against prisoners in the queendom's royal dungeon. Time is running out, for the deadly High Seeker has already flogged and executed prison-workers who oppose his policies.

Do the reformers have enough time and skill to bring about radical change in the dungeon? Will they be able to overcome their mistrust of one another?




To receive notices of my fiction by e-mail )

A rollercoaster day

Aug. 12th, 2017 11:43 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I went to Oglebay Park with Mom which was very nice. I was supposed to be with my brother who blew me off because I was sick this week (and didn't even call me to see how I was doing. We've been home most of this week but because Dad didn't want us to go (not that he'll say that) made sure to try and tackle a big project on the house that needed doing but needed our help too. So we left hours later than we wanted.

The trip was good. Mom and I went to the glass museum in the park and Oglebay mansion. Compared to what I recently saw in Newport, it was pretty plain but still it was a huge and lovely house. From there we went to Books a million which is always a good thing.

Then I came home to see the news out of Charlottesville and had the thought of at least China is telling North Korea to knock off the shit (because the idea of China backing them is to terrifying for words).

But I did find things today that I wanted to share that made me feel a little better.

digitized 78s

And women swept the Hugo awards
sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
I'm not sure why. I hope it's just my thyroid hormones being slightly off.  I had thought it was pushing myself through finals. 
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Should be some good news on this very soon. Must stop calling it Lessons in Murdering, etc.

LessonsMurderousSepia800

WWI commemoration - a Hampshire hero

Aug. 11th, 2017 03:14 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
The Passchendaele commemorations turned up many stories of heroism. I was very taken by the story of Denis Hewitt, from Hampshire. Only 19 when he gave his life, earning the Victoria Cross in the process.

We shall not forget.

The best laid plans....

Aug. 10th, 2017 11:37 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I did get to see my good friend and I'm glad I did. It was easy to see how stressed out she is right now so I'm glad we had a peaceful day. I haven't seen her in a year.

But I did end up in urgent care last night. I have a tonsil/sinus/ear infection and because of that my brother canceled out our lunch this weekend. Told him fine, see you in Christmas.You couldn't be bothered to see me last weekend anyhow like I wanted because seeing your SiL's new dogs was more important.

Mom and I had planned so many trips. She spent hours looking for them and we did...none of them. Sigh, where the hell did this year go? I'm back to work on Thursday. Before I know it, it'll be Christmas.

I haven't finished anything I wanted to do. I need to learn how to manage time better. I used to be SO good. ELD and Silvrethorn can tell you how much I used to write. Hell even long timers to my blog know how much fanfic I wrote a year. Now I can't finish a damn thing.

I had ten deer in the yard. They ate my tomato plant.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

August 2017

S M T W T F S
  1 2 34 5
6 7 8 9 1011 12
13141516 17 1819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 19th, 2017 01:07 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios