Things that only happen to me

Apr. 29th, 2017 12:22 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I set the alarm for 20 minutes early so I could get to the lab to set up the final part of the test and still got out of here at my normal time.

THe day went well until the Welsh Advisory board. I was wearing scrubs you see...once it was over I got up and thought to myself, tell me that the ties didn't come loose and my pants didn't just fall down. Next thought, well at least I'm wearing panties.

God.

THen I got stuck talking to coworkers for THREE hours, didn't get out of there, couldn't do laundry, then L wanted to go to the winery and I've put her off several times so we went.

I didn't get home til 6 and I STILL had to go to Jackson to get money, gas, insulin and dinner. I managed them all but dinner. It's friday and literally NO restaurant that's not an hour wait. I end up with a Sonic dog and a medium popcorn chicken which they dicked me over on. It had SIX pieces of chicken. If that was medium what the hell is in the mini? 2 pieces?

Then that angry anxiety I get with every travel experience is back again. WTF it's a goddamn day trip to Cincinnati. But I am overwhelmed with grading etc.

Wish me luck Hopefuly I can find a corset I like that isn't miserable and/or cost prohibitive. Hope I find someone to dance with.

Busy day

Apr. 28th, 2017 11:58 pm
sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
 In the past two days, I have walked over a mile to get to a bus stop, had an appointment with the hand specialist, completed my quantitative reasoning project, attended my Linux class, did two Linux labs, did the two tests for Linux, went to a physical therapy appointment, and cooked dinner for tonight. I also went to Wal-Mart, although this was unexpected. I still have some quantitative reasoning homework left to do.  

It may not seem like it, but I am tired. After napping tonight, I only woke up more tired. There is something I am wondering about right now after worrying about something else. Clearly, my experiences with my mother's death traumatized me. I've never questioned this. One doesn't expect a loved one to lock themselves into their room for days. No one expects a police officer to come down the stairs after a welfare check and tell them that the same loved one is dead.  Seeing behavior that reminds me of this in others causes a panicked reaction in me.  Is it possible there's some form of PTSD at work here?  (PTSD might not be the accurate term here.)  In any case, this is something I need to talk over with a therapist at some point.  Is it possible that anyone I perceive who might be in a similar situation is a trigger for me?  (Note to those who complain about trigger warnings: This is, in fact, the context in which the term trigger warning arose.  So kindly fuck off.)

Back to the original point. I have been pushing myself for the past week and a half or so to get all the work the professors try to squeeze in before the finals done.  I am going to rest tomorrow and hope my body takes the time to calm down a little bit. I have no choice to keep going at a fairly frenzied pace until after finals.  The increased number of muscle aches, cramps, and possibly even today's fatigue are a good example that my I am stressed.  (Not that tonight's incident helped this any.)

In any case, it is my goal to be off of social media in all forms for the greater portion of the day tomorrow.  My body has been letting me know it needs some time to recover for a while.

(no subject)

Apr. 28th, 2017 11:41 pm
sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
 Note to self: Even if you think you have valid reasons based on memories you don't fully trust to be worried about someone, do not project your own ableist fears onto others.  (Yes, you don't want to see what happened to your mother happen to anyone else, but you also know despite your best efforts, nothing you did prevented your mother's death.)

Further note to self: It might be a good idea to actually talk to a psychologist regarding your concerns/fears that you might have some milder form of schizophrenia or schizoafective disorder.

Newsletter 174

Apr. 28th, 2017 02:57 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Are any of you fans of the inimitable Flanders and Swann? (If you’re not, look them up on youtube. So funny, so British.) They have a song about the weather including the lines: Farmers fear unkindly May, Frost by night and hail by day. Which shows that the climate was just as naff 50 odd years ago as now.

News

The next Lindenshaw story, Two Feet Under (working title) is scheduled  for the new year. So the current Charlie-releases-schedule looks like this:

June 5th 2017 Broke Deep (Porthkennack universe contemporary gay romance) October 16th 2017 Count the Shells (Porthkennack universe historical gay romance) 8th January 2018 Two Feet Under (Lindenshaw mysteries book 3)

There’s also the re-release of the first 8 Cambridge Fellows books on the horizon – dates to be confirmed - and a Cambridge fellows novella I really need to shoehorn in.

The were-sloths are now available for general download at my website. Or, to clarify, the story about them is; no actual weresloths were injured in this process.

I’ve booked to be part of Selsey Authors, which I had to pull out of last year at the last moment due to a family minor crisis so am determined to be there in 2017.

Excerpt:
Here’s a bit from that Cambridge Fellows novella that I need to sort out a release date for.

Cambridge 1922

“Owens? Owens?” Orlando Coppersmith’s voice sounded louder and clearer from his chair in the Senior Common Room at St Bride’s than it had ever sounded before, and with good cause.

“Steady on, old man. We’re in enough of a state of shock without you making sufficient noise to wake the dead.” Jonty Stewart smiled at his friend’s uncharacteristic outburst, although friendship would hardly be the most accurate way to describe their relationship. Even the description “lovers, companions, colleagues and partners in solving crime” didn’t quite cover the depth of the bond they’d build up in nigh on twenty years.

“Or wake some of the dons,” Dr. Panesar agreed, mischievously.

“Good point, Dr. P.” Jonty sniggered. “Some of them look like they’ve been asleep since 1913.”

St. Bride’s may have been one of the most forward looking of the Cambridge colleges, embracing the fact the year was 1922 rather than pretending it was still 1622, but some aspects of the university, including crusty old dons, seemed to be an immutable fixture.

“In which case,” Orlando pointed out, “we’d have ten years of history to explain to them, much of it unpleasant, let alone this latest scandal. Being asked to defend Owens. What is the world coming to?”

And finally, we're having our first UK Meet 2018 planning meeting on Sunday, so here's a nostalgic picture from the 2016 event to inspire me to get my thinking cap on.

DSC_0047 copy

Quote of the Day

Apr. 28th, 2017 05:48 am
hrj: (Mother of Souls)
[personal profile] hrj
 So here's the thing: I can't be the only author who had a book released in November (or December, or January...) who felt too gobsmacked by political events to feel comfortable going all out on book promotion. (Heck, it took me most of November to get out of panic attack mode.) So I'm giving myself permission to do a 6-month anniversary book release re-boot. And to feel a bit less self-conscious about it, I'm going to make a general offer. If you had a book released last November, hit me up with the basic info about it and I'll pick one or two book every day in May to cross-promote along with my own. If anyone else wants to joint the bandwagon, be my guest! Comment here, or e-mail me or tweet me or whatever works for you.

Loose-leaf Links #38

Apr. 28th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: A black and white photo of a large, dark teapot and a small Chinese teacup with a fish painted on the side (Tea)
[personal profile] calissa

Loose-leaf Links, Earl Grey Editing, Lapsang Souchong, T2, loose-leaf tea

Loose-leaf Links is a feature where I gather together the interesting bits and pieces on sci-fi, fantasy and romance I’ve come across and share them with you over tea. Today’s tea is Lapsang Souchong from T2. The cooler weather always has me craving smoked teas and this is one of the more smoky varieties.

Awards News ) Community ) On Equity ) For Writers ) For Readers )

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

Brief update :-(

Apr. 27th, 2017 09:48 pm
kerkevik_2014: (Capable catches Nux's Soul)
[personal profile] kerkevik_2014
Finally got a referral to mental health services through, but I have to call so I might need to check in at my sister's to see if I can use their phone. Paid my rent arrears, which crossed with the usual threatening letter from the council even though I said I'd be paying when my pension came through.
Most worrying is that, even though my pension came early because of the bank holidays, the ESA did not. Met soneone in Dundee who'd not received theirs either so I don;t know what to think.
All I can do right now is plan on what I have left having to last a good long while. Had to order a new card as the Nationwide seemed to think someone may have tried to gain access to my account. If they did they didn't get anything.
Need to sort out Independent Advocacy etc now things are moving, but it's hard not to just give up.

kerk
codyne: a stack of books (books)
[personal profile] codyne
So. On Tuesday, I went to Pasadena to see John Scalzi and Cory Doctorow with Amber Benson at Vroman's Bookstore.

On the plus side, they were all really wonderful speakers, and I enjoyed the heck out of listening to them. The hour zoomed by! And, because I'd gotten there early and got a low-number ticket, and decided to sit in the front row, I ended up first in the signing line, got my books signed and got out of there right away after the talks were over, and was able to get home by 10:30, an hour sooner than I'd expected.

I drove the car I got from my brother & his wife, and it was fun although a bit stressful driving a 5-speed, which I'm still getting used to again. Only killed the engine once, though, when getting off the freeway and onto a highway. The car has a phone holder on the dashboard, which made it very convenient to use the phone's map app for directions.

About halfway there, the app told me it had found an alternate route that would be faster, would I like to take it? I had no idea where it was planning to take me, but thought, why not? and pushed the button to go on the alternate route. Ended up exiting the 14 at Palmdale and taking the Angeles Forest Highway nearly the whole rest of the way to Pasadena, which is a twisty 2-lane mountain road that winds through the Angeles National Forest at 40 - 45 MPH. It was a pretty route, not much traffic, and it was nice getting off the freeway and avoiding the inevitable traffic jams when one approaches the LA area. Still a bit stressful, especially near the end when it got really twisty, and I kept having to shift up and down to get around sharp turns. Had to be constantly alert and attentive to my driving.

On the minus side, my depression was in full force, and did its best to second-guess and nitpick every decision I made. Maybe I shouldn't have taken the car. I've only driven it a couple of times and am not that familiar with it yet. I'll be out after dark, and I don't even know how to turn the headlights on. What if the phone battery dies while I'm on this highway and I lose my navigation? I have no idea where I am. I don't know where I'm going to park. Keep going past the bookstore and having to circle the block again. Where am I going to eat dinner? My stomach's so upset from stress, I'm not really hungry. Just get a scone at the coffee shop and hope it doesn't upset my stomach. Where should I sit? There's already somebody in the second row where I would have liked to sit. I don't like the third row, it's too far back, tall people will sit in front of me and I won't be able to see. I'll sit in the front row so I can see them. But OMG if I can see them, they can see me! Don't look at me! I should have worn something else, this sweater is old and too big. If I take it off I'm too cold, but leaving it on is too warm. My back is killing me, I hate these chairs. What name should I have them sign in my books? My legal name or my Internet name? I can't decide, I don't like either of them, I don't want a name, I'll tell them not to personalize the books. Then they'll think I don't want the books and am planning to sell them... maybe I should try to explain? Oh, hell, they don't care, tomorrow they won't even remember me. Now it's time to go, where did I park? Damn, I left the lights on. But at least it was only the parking lights, maybe the battery's still got enough juice. Whew, the car started, now I can go home. Crap, I didn't want to go back the same way I came, driving that twisty highway in the dark, but it's too late to change it now. Oh well, just keep going, get home.

And so on. I left from Tehachapi at 3 PM and arrived home at 10:30 PM, seven and a half hours for one hour of actual event. I had a good time, mostly, and I'm not sorry I went, but it was a long day, and not always an easy one.

Their Finest

Apr. 27th, 2017 08:22 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
If you go to one film this spring, go to "Their Finest". Beautifully shot, beautifully acted, funny and moving at the same time, with so many "Singing in the Rain" type affectionate digs at the film industry. Bill Nighy is a genius - but you knew that, didn't you?

It's been a crazy week

Apr. 26th, 2017 11:35 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
So my allergies woke me up at 3 Am after 2 hours of sleep. I've been up since. I have a migraine as a result of pollen+ no sleep and I have to spend 4 hours in the anatomy practical smelling preservatives and opened organs with a lawn mower going outside my lab.

I made a decision to go to the Steampunk Symposium, like I wanted to. I am only going to saturday/sunday because it's only a half day on Friday and it wasn't worth nearly 200$ to me between hotel fees, food and boarding Kanda I have someone who can look after him for a day but not a whole weekend. I am kinda pissed the event site will only let me buy the whole weekend but it's only 8$ more so....

And it gave me a heart attack as I went to use paypal and it said it was more money than I HAD in the bank. (it wasn't by far) but now I think it billed me twice and it linked my credit card with pay pal. SIgh.


I need to fix something with my trip to Salt Lake too.

I've been quiet because I've been working on my edits for Conned which are now back to the editor and getting ready for finals since I won't be here this weekend.
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
If you're looking at the title of this blog article and thinking, "Oh, I don't remember that happening!" you're probably in the same boat as the person at our local Oxfam book shop who put the book in the biographies section. It's not a true story, but a highly amusing novel from 1975.

How had I managed to miss this? It's got sport and humour and lots of sly digs at the media and other targets. If you want to slip back in time 40 years, and have a smile while you're at it, I'd thoroughly recommend this gem of a book.

Steering into the wind

Apr. 25th, 2017 09:10 pm
hrj: (Default)
[personal profile] hrj
 We managed slightly better than a quorum for dragonboat practice today. For some reason, most people have gravitated away from Tuesday practices (which, for obscure and not necessarily relevant reasons, is my preferred day). A big factor is that our head coach doesn't come on Tuesdays and the people who are practicing all out for race season align their schedule with his.So Mondays get a boat and a half worth of people, but Tuesdays we occasionally don't even mange the five people (4 paddlers and a steersperson) that are pretty much the minimum for taking out the 10-person boat. (The regular boats are 20-person.) In deep winter, I do a lot of steering--often I'm the only qualified steersperson there on Tuesdays, but this time of year we can usually count on another of our regulars who doesn't mind steering because he gets his paddling time in earlier in a kayak. But today he waved at us from the sailboat he was helping take out--it looked like they were training up an inexperienced crew, from some of the maneuvers. So it was just me steering and five paddlers. A nice laid-back practice with the advantage of a stiffer than usual breeze so we could alternate resistance training and speed training.

I keep saying that one of these years I participate in the races again, but really I just like getting out on the water and getting in a good workout. I don't need the anxiety of race training.

Bout of Books 19 sign-up

Apr. 26th, 2017 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Bout of Books 19, reading challenge, Queen of Geeks, Jen Wilde, The Rebirth of Rapunzel, Kate Forsyth, Temeraire, Naomi Novik, Earl Grey Editing, tea and books, books and tea

Dewey’s 24-hour read-a-thon takes place this weekend and, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m hoping it will help me put a dint in Mt TBR and my reading for the Hugo Awards. But I know I need all the help I can get. Therefore I’m planning to follow it up by participating in round 19 of Bout of Books.

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.– From the Bout of Books team

Being a low-pressure challenge, Bout of Books lets me set my own goals. As with last few times, I’m aiming to get through a minimum of three books. I’m not entirely sure yet what I’ll end up going with, but there’s plenty to pick from. At the moment, I’m leaning towards Jen Wilde’s Queens of Geek and S.C. Flynn’s Children of the Different. And there’s still reading to be done for the Hugos and the Ditmars.

If you’d like to join in, there’s still time to sign up!

What’s on your TBR pile this week?

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

(no subject)

Apr. 25th, 2017 12:16 pm
cafeshree: woman sitting on chair reading a book (Default)
[personal profile] cafeshree
 Meant to post more but I've cut back on online time, needing a bit of a break from politics, but not wanting to be completely cut off, so mostly looking at twitter.

Decided I needed the break partly because it's all so frustrating and infuriating, but also because I had a dream that #45 was swimming in a pool that I was in and he may or may not have been naked. So icky. 

A week or so ago my Dad had some people come to clean out our attic, they just take everything away and do whatever with it. So much stuff up there they are doing it in two  trips.  So I got to look at the trunk I've had and see what was in it. I vaguely remembered some books about the Beatles from my young fangirl phase, but couldn't remember what else was in there. Well, I found those book and scrapbooks of Beates and Bruce Springsteen articles. Backstreet fanzine about Bruce. Also my college diploma, some family history info and college textbooks. A few stuffed animals and an unused puzzle. So I kept the diploma and family history stuff a few pictures and the puzzle. Everything else will go. It was kind of fun to see that stuff but beyond wanting to keep it for anything.

Work has been stressful, nothing new there, mostly the 2 colleagues that will not shut up. Last week I was ready to give up my week vacation for one day of silence from them. But I didn't so I will be leaving shortly for an almost week getaway.  I hope I can get back into reading books on this trip, I've not been able to concentrate much and I miss curling up with a good read. 

Arrivederci. 

New additional policy

Apr. 24th, 2017 11:41 pm
sinisterporpoise: (Default)
[personal profile] sinisterporpoise
 If I'm feeling lost about the rules of a social setting, I think I'll not try to soldier on as if I did. If I'm confused and don't understand why things are done the way they are, I will take the time out and ask.  (Assuming the question is appropriate for the situation.)

I've been lost on two many things recently.

(And well, exchanging purely information is something only my nephew and I seem to be okay with.)

I'm Back!

Apr. 24th, 2017 07:51 pm
la_samtyr: asian art drawing of sleeping cat (Default)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
Back online! Yay! The problem was a "Windows update that did not install properly." Go figure, eh?

Now I am trying to get everything back the way I had it, which always takes awhile. And yes, trying to play catch-up now. :)

Fidele Chapter 19

Apr. 24th, 2017 06:48 pm
misslucyjane: (tardis - public phone box)
[personal profile] misslucyjane
Fidele (87810 words) by misslucyjane
Chapters: 19/?
Fandom: Original Work
Rating: Mature
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: Original Male Character/Original Male Character
Additional Tags: Romance Novel, Paranormal, PTSD, Hauntings, Kid Fic, Drug Use
Summary:

A house full of ghosts is no place to fall in love.

Malcolm Carmichael has been coping with his post-war trauma by taking lovers, teaching art to schoolboys, and trying to ignore the ghosts he sees everywhere. At the death of his mother, he realizes he wants more than just to coast on by, and leaves the exclusive school in search of something more.

Caleb Thibodeaux was so traumatized by the death of his parents in a fire that he hasn't spoken a word since. His uncle Noel hires Malcolm to be his tutor, and Malcolm discovers that Caleb is not the only Thibodeaux son with secrets. The plantation house Fidele is beautiful but haunted, and Noel is much the same.

Soon Malcolm is absorbed in protecting Caleb and Noel from threats both living and dead, and in uncovering the story of Fidele.



Read at AO3 or at JennaLynnBrown.com.
grey853: penguin smack (ani_penguinSmack)
[personal profile] grey853
Trump has asked for all 100 Senators to come to the White House on Wednesday for a private security briefing on N.Korea. Fucker wants a war and he needs Senate approval to do it.

I hope I'm wrong, but I've got a nasty gut feeling that we're headed to war.

I said once that the only way T could get his approval ratings up would be to take us to war, so I'm not surprised, but, Jesus, this is scary shit.

Buddha's Birthday

Apr. 24th, 2017 03:04 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
Yesterday was the Buddha's Birthday celebration at our temple. It's probably the biggest celebration of the year in our tradition, and I always love going to the temple for it. There is always a big congregation for it, and lots of delicious food.

It starts out with the usual weekly practice, which includes chanting and bowing and meditation, and a dharma talk (which I don't understand, because it's in Korean, but our monk is so lively and engaging that I always enjoy listening to her anyway).

There are three sutras we chant every week. )

After the regular practice, on Buddha's Birthday, we have the ceremony of washing the baby Buddha.

Untitled

For the ceremony, we have a statue of the baby Buddha standing in a basin shaped like a lotus flower, resting on top of an elephant, surrounded by flowers. The baby Buddha's right hand points to the sky, while his left hand points to the earth, to symbolize his intention to unite heaven and earth. There's another basin of water with a ladle. We're all given a flower to offer to the Buddha, so when it's our turn, we give our offering, lay the flower in front of the Buddha, then take a ladle of water and pour it over the statue to wash the baby Buddha.

After the ceremony, we all gather in the main temple building for lunch. Lots of people bring plenty of delicious food, mostly vegetables and kimchi and rice, with fruit and Korean mochi for dessert. I ate so much! While we ate, our monk went around and gave everyone a gift, a beautiful bracelet.

Untitled

There's always way too much food to eat at once, so the leftovers get packed up and handed out as we leave. I thought I would just take a few things, but the women in the kitchen kept putting more and more baggies of various dishes into my bag, until I had enough food to last me for a week!

Untitled

(I also got a couple of bananas, which I dropped off for my mom on the way home.) I love Korean temple food, I wish I could make it at home. Unfortunately, I can't find many recipes, and a lot of the vegetables aren't available around here. So I'll just have to go to temple whenever I want to eat it.

Anyway, it was a lovely day.

Spent the day

Apr. 23rd, 2017 08:55 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Crafting final exams and depressing myself house hunting. Make a 50 mile arc around here and they all think used manufactured homes (which DO have structural issues after 20 years) are worth 150K and up. Um no, just no.

my favorite of the current batch. That's a lot of beautiful house/property for the money (especially in Athens) but it IS FIFTY miles from work. I love the acreage though. I could be happy here.

love the bathroom This house has the old woman tub I'm going to need sooner rather than later if my arthritis continues to progress. It's 5 miles from work right next to my post office. Cons: Thurman is a dying town (for a house to cost this much). I'm equidistance 20 miles to the Wal Mart in Gallipolis and the Krogers in Jackson for groceries. (I'm 15 miles from there as is, Kroger's I mean).

Cuter than I should be Right in the heart of Jackson. I love everything about this house except it's crappy inner city location where the houses practically touch each other and make me itchy and longing for green spaces.


Are they insane? they want cash only, 60K for a pole barn! I'm not kidding, go look and no I'm not considering this but I had to share it.


And thank you to those who commented on last night's story bit!!


Oh other things accomplished: putting layouts on this DW and Jana's (I didn't trust that my word press blog HAD backed up Jana's LJ so I made her a DW too)

And now for the writing links

Youtube inspiration for historical/fantasy make up This is just FUN

stop waiting for inspiration I've been saying this (and linking to) for years.

contract red flags This might be one of the most important ones I've shared in a long time.

the writer’s journey

Fatal flaws rarely are

why readers stop reading this is series of posts so make sure you see them all.

bracketed short hand I do this a lot

writing cinematically

perspective mistakes I don't agree with this one at all. To me it's saying readers are too dumb for anything but a straight linear 3rd person pov.

choosing a weapon for your hero this one is just fun.

Still no word count because I've been writing in little prompt packets and haven't added it up. I've done almost all my colors except sweet brown and I've done a few of the others.

What I've been doing lately

Apr. 23rd, 2017 06:27 pm
pfodge: (Stock Yarn)
[personal profile] pfodge
I've been busy with a lot of volunteer and charity work. I made this for myself. I normally don't keep what I make I usually give it away.

I liked this pattern a lot. I might make a few more.

Filet Crochet Throw

Planning for the Week Ahead

Apr. 23rd, 2017 06:55 pm
valarltd: (chaos)
[personal profile] valarltd
Sunday: put laundry away
make lunch for Monday
check if lavender will work in afghan

Monday:
work
1030 dr, Olivia, schedule my followup and check on preciptions
Chicken cordon bleu pasta
make lunch for Tues

Tuesday:
work
Plan Beltane
ham and potatoes augratin
make lunch for Wed
payday

Wednesday:
work
Spaghetti
make lunch for Thurs
plant seeds

Thursday:
work
funeral potatoes
make lunch for Friday

Friday:
Work
dinner out

Saturday:
make cheesecake
work 2 PM-6:30
Beltane
plant seeds
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Nerve Ending, Tobi Hill-Meyer, transgender erotica, Anne Rowlands, Earl Grey Editing, books and tea, tea and books

Published: February 2017 by Instar Books
Format reviewed: E-book (mobi)
Genres: LGBTQIA, erotica. Stories are a mix of contemporary and speculative fiction.
Source: Publisher
Available: Publisher (print and electronic) ~ Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

A trans woman watches her sleeping lover and contemplates the moment of his departure. A genderqueer sissy fantasizes alone about connection in their hotel room. A trans woman adjunct professor and sex worker is hired for a sex party held by her colleges philosophy department. A trans boy has a Craigslist hookup with a queen embarked on detransition. A bodiless AI announces its gender, takes a lover, and works to revolutionize the world.

Presented here are thirty stories edited and with an introduction by Tobi Hill-Meyer that offer revolutionary erotic fantasies by trans people, about trans people, and for trans people at the crossroads of history, biology, anxiety, and love.

Editor’s note:I acquired a review copy of Nerve Endings on the recommendation of a friend. I thought reviewing it would be a good way to boost trans voices. However, once I started reading, I quickly realised I wasn’t the intended audience. Furthermore, this thread on Twitter from Corey Alexander made me realise I could be doing more harm than good by reviewing it. So, I invited Anne Rowlands for an Own Voices perspective on the anthology.

 


 

Transgender people are not a plot twist: the introduction of Nerve Endings reminds us of this essential point. It is a point recently discussed in Liz Duck-Chong’s essay on the play The Trouble with Harry and is also often used in more erotic novels in a way that is not only dehumanising but out-and-out stupid. A person who is transgender wants not to be treated as a special bit of “spice” or worse a surprise. They want to be wanted, loved, cared for, or just simply not to be told they are playing pretend.

The central idea of Nerve Endings is to help us realise and capture this in a way that keeps transgender stories present in our minds when we, the transgender audience, are at our most lonely. These stories keep us remembering that our lives are worthy. That we matter. Nerve Endings never shies away from being written by trans people for trans people. Anyone else who likes it, that’s fine, but it’s not for them, it’s for us. This was so clear as I read that I really understood why I was asked to write this review.

Nerve Endings is proud in its erotica and its kink, its few polyamorous tales. It is never there to shame, or to make readers feel less (or more) than what we are: a part of society, transgender or not.

Each story brings us into a universe that we can almost imagine is real. Even when the characters are a Demon and his summoner, or an AI and their partner, or just a simple trans woman, man or boi trying to make their way in the world.

I’m always a little left wanting with short stories anthologies. Each tale is almost always slightly less than perfect, ending bitter-sweet, or offering only a brief glimpse into the life and emotions of the characters. Almost every story left me wanting more. More of the characters. More of their love. More of the things they do to conquer their fears and anxieties. More orgasms. The unashamedly erotic, the consent, the kink, the characters and their needs and desires. It’s too much and not quite enough at the same time. I was left with a profound sense of needing–not just wanting–more. I really hope this is just the first serving of a new genre of positive, consensual stories about transgender people told in erotic, loving, caring and knowledgeable ways.

4 out of 5 stars.

Anne Rowlands

 

Anne Rowlands is a transgender woman librarian, in her spare time she is also an artist and poet. You can find her on Twitter as @anne_rowlands.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

So things happened this week

Apr. 23rd, 2017 08:42 am
hrj: (Default)
[personal profile] hrj
 My minute-by-minute social media discussions are scattered all over the place, so I can forget what I've posted where. Here are a few things that happened during the last week:

Shira Glassman went live with a gorgeous fan-art promotional post for the Alpennia books that she commissioned. I feel immensely honored and flattered that my fans think so highly of my books as to do things like this.

My queer-Mabinogi short story "Hyddwen" was accepted by Podcastle.org. I'm overjoyed that it's going to get the audio-publication treatment, like the first story in the series (Hoywverch) did, because it's written very deliberately in an oral storytelling style. Selling it means that it's time to start writing the third story in the series. (Like the original Mabinogi, it's planned to have four branches. I have the basic skeleton of the plots for 3 & 4 outlined, but there are still a lot of details to noodle.)

The Golden Crown Literary Awards 2017 shortlists came out and Mother of Souls did not make the shortlist for the Science Fiction and Fantasy category. (Daughter of Mystery and The Mystic Marriage were both shortlisted but neither of them won--there are three winners in each category.) In one sense, this is not at all surprising, because the Goldies are--in their essence--awards for the best lesfic novels, and I don't write lesfic in the genre sense. But it's still disappointing.

On Wednesday, I came home from work to discover my front door kicked in and my house ransacked, including having my safe ripped out of its fastenings and pick-axed open. Mysteriously (but tellingly) I have not identified anything that was actually stolen (including the two older laptops that were stored in the safe, or any of the jewelry that was left strewn across the bed). My hypothesis is that the burglars were under the vastly mistaken impression that there might be drugs in the house, given the nature and scope of the apparent search activities. But given that one of the major reasons for moving out of Oakland seven years ago was being tired of regular burglaries, I'm furious and shaken and resigned.

Happy Earth Day

Apr. 23rd, 2017 01:18 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
A little late but I was actually writing.

I even got a little sleep. Imagine that. Sadly I didn't feel up to driving back to Athens to go on the Science, Not Silence protest march. The temp dropped about forty degrees and I wasn't going anywhere without pain. (also the laundry won't do itself, nor will my final exams write themselves. I'm the worst sort of activist.)


So I was reading my friend's ghost book and I was reminded of something about resurrectionists and this scene popped out for one of my prompts (losing your job). I don't know what it is but I imagined a world with two religions (one highly anti-science, the other far more inclusive and progressive), magic too. Not sure if it's steampunk or not but it's probably around late 1800s tech. He'll be taken in by a mage and her daughter. It'll fast forward to their teen years soon enough and be their story. See what you think.

story )
daemonluna: default icon, me with totoros (Default)
[personal profile] daemonluna
I seem to be on a finishing-things spree. Lest anyone get the wrong idea about my incredibly idiosyncratic fanfic productivity, most of this one was written three or four months ago, and just finished up today with the last couple paragraphs.

Considering that before this, I hadn't posted anything since 2006, I've been crazy-prolific (for me) with the odds and ends I've dug out, polished off, and thrown up on AO3 lately. There was the obscure anime secondary character femmeslash (in what is arguably already one of the gayest nineties anime out there), the classic eighties anime secondary character slash that had been out there but I just flat out forgot to post to AO3 with everything else (and boldly resister the urge to rewrite and edit because it was written fifteen-plus years ago), and the Hard Core Logo fic that was languishing on a back-up drive. I thiiiink that's all, other than the other continuing library au thing I've got on the go. (Although I do have a half-done Wilby Wonderful fic somewhere along the same how-can-I-queer-up-the-secondary-characters lines...)

But! I just do not understand how no-one has written a library AU of Parks and Rec. Seriously, fandom... seriously. So I finally did something about that.

Parks and Recreation AU: Pawnee Public Library Leslie Knope loves libraries (and hates the Parks Department, bunch of punk-ass dirt jockeys).

Long time no post

Apr. 22nd, 2017 10:03 am
fayance: (pic#637061)
[personal profile] fayance
Wow, it's been like 6 years since I made a post here; I was just more devoted to lj I guess. But my long, lovely friends list there has dwindled basically to a very small number of people, so here I am again, hungry I suppose to read more posts here by people who are active here, many of them old friends from lj (waves to you all!).

Anyway...brief update--since my last. long-ago post, I no longer teach prek but for almost 2 years have been caregiver to my adult autistic daughter. Her older brother, my beloved and only son Daniel, was her main caregiver while I taught prek but tragically he died of a heart attack (cardiomyopathy) in Sept 2015. His death has been the most traumatic, difficult event of my life and I of course have had to move on with life but will never get over losing him. I miss him so much every single day. Since 2013 I have also lost my beloved mother, my sister-in-law, my ex father-in-law and ex brother-in-law (I am still close to my ex's family so to me those losses hit hard as well). Life nowadays is comprised of a much smaller circle of daily events and interactions with the greater world as I focus on taking care of both my autistic daughter (currently she is awaiting surgery for a nasty but thankfully non-malignant tumor in her right ear) and my 87 year old ex mom-in-law. She broke her hip a couple years ago and also has vision issues, so I'm happy to drive her to her many dr appointments, buy her groceries for her and clean her house and change her bedding, etc. I am also just working through my overwhelming grief over my son (I'm the one who found him in the living room floor and did cpr and tried to rescusitate him, which sometimes replays over and over in my head). I also miss my mother a lot, she passed from multiple myeloma at age 78 in 2013 and sometimes I still want so badly to pick up the phone and call her and just hear her voice.

And that is my somewhat depressing update. I originally joined both lj and dreamwidth because of my eager interest in and love for various fandoms--Stargate, The Sentinel, Supernatural, The X-Files, Sherlock, etc-- but fandom and its methods of interaction have changed faster than this old-fashioned lady can keep up with, and sadly so many of my old 'connections' with fandom have fallen by the wayside. But I will be pleased if even a few of my older links to my beloved fandom days are reforged here at dreamwidth.

Bulldog Drummond

Apr. 22nd, 2017 03:15 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
I've just read my first Bulldog Drummond book - the first one Sapper wrote, to be precise. It wasn't too bad, as long as one accepts that it was a product of its time (nearly a hundred years ago).
What did I love best? The banter between the various ex-comrades. Several bits of it were exactly the sort of dialogue that would have got a modern reader saying, "Men didn't talk to each other like that in those days." Well, they did, obviously.
What surprised me? The repeated use of the expression "go gay", meaning doing something brave or taking decisive, uninhibited action.
Will I read another? I wouldn't rule it out, although I understand that this one was probably the best in the series so maybe not...

Getting Back to My Life

Apr. 21st, 2017 10:58 pm
liralen: (Default)
[personal profile] liralen
It's been odd, this last week.

Since about Monday, after I'd finished turning everything over to the team, I've been getting back to my life.

And it's been a mixed bag... )

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
91011121314 15
16 1718 1920 21 22
23 24252627 2829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 29th, 2017 03:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios