reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Samuel Osborne Barber II was an American composer of orchestral, opera, choral, and piano music. He is one of the most celebrated composers of the 20th century: music critic Donal Henahan stated that ...
Born: March 9, 1910, West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Died: January 23, 1981, New York City, New York, United States
Education: Curtis Institute of Music
Lived: Capricorn, Capricorn, Haines Road, west of Croton Lake Road, Mt Kisco, NY 10549, USA (41.23958, -73.73527)
107 S Church St, West Chester, PA 19382, USA (39.95792, -75.60441)
Buried: Oaklands Cemetery, West Chester, Chester County, Pennsylvania, USA
Nationality: American
Awards: Pulitzer Prize for Music, more
Parents: Samuel Le Roy Barber, Marguerite McLeod Beatty

Samuel Barber was a composer of orchestral, opera, choral, and piano music. He is one of the most celebrated composers of the 20th century: music critic Donal Henahan stated, "Probably no other American composer has ever enjoyed such early, such persistent and such long-lasting acclaim." He was twice awarded the Pulitzer Prize for music, for his opera Vanessa and his Concerto for Piano and Orchestra. At 14, he entered the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, where he studied piano with Isabelle Vengerova, composition with Rosario Scalero, and voice with Emilio de Gorgoza. He began composing seriously in his late teenage years. Around the same time, he met fellow Curtis schoolmate Gian Carlo Menotti, who became his partner in life as well as in their shared profession. Menotti supplied the libretto (text) for Barber's opera, Vanessa. Menotti also contributed the libretto for Barber's chamber opera A Hand of Bridge. Barber's Antony and Cleopatra was commissioned to open the new Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center in 1966. In recent years, a revised version for which Menotti provided collaborative assistance has enjoyed some success.
Together from 1929 to 1981: 52 years.
Gian Carlo Menotti (July 7, 1911 – February 1, 2007)
Samuel Osmond Barber II (March 9, 1910 – January 23, 1981)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1943, Samuel Barber and Gian Carlo Menotti purchased a house in Mount Kisco, New York.
Address: Capricorn, Haines Road, west of Croton Lake Road, Mt Kisco, NY 10549, USA (41.23958, -73.73527)
Type: Private Property
Place
Mount Kisco is a village and a town in Westchester County, New York. The Town of Mount Kisco is coterminous with the village. The population was 10,877 at the 2010 census. The Village of Mount Kisco was incorporated in 1875 and was partly in the towns of Bedford and New Castle. In 1978, the village chose to become a town in its own right and joined several villages in the state that have made same choice. According to the town’s official web site, Kisco is derived from an Indian word –either kiskamenahook meaning “settlement near a brook” or cisqua meaning “a muddy place.” Mount comes from the 623-foot hill northwest of town. The Mount Kisco Municipal Complex was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1997. Merestead, St. Mark’s Cemetery, and the United Methodist Church and Parsonage are also listed.
Life
Who: Samuel Osborne Barber II (March 9, 1910 – January 23, 1981)
For three years, 1939–42, Samuel Barber taught at the Curtis Institute, but in 1942 he joined the U.S. Army Air Forces, becoming its resident composer. In 1943, a gift from Bok enabled Barber and Menotti to buy a house in Mt. Kisco, New York, which they named Capricorn. They were regularly visited by a wide variety of artists and intellectuals, and their domestic happiness brought greater productivity for both composers. At the peak of his powers, Barber unveiled “Medea,” his ballet score for the Martha Graham Dance Company, in 1946; “Knoxville, Summer of 1915,” a song with orchestra, in 1947; and his lone piano sonata in 1949. (All are still in the world repertory; in 1953 Barber reworked his ballet score for orchestra and soprano, as “Medea’s Meditation and Dance of Vengeance,” Op. 23a.) His opera “Vanessa” (1958) received its premiere at the Metropolitan Opera, won a Pulitzer Prize, and became the first American opera performed at Austria’s Salzburg Festival. He wrote three works for the opening of Lincoln Center, including the opera “Antony and Cleopatra,” his second commission for the Met. When the premiere of “Antony and Cleopatra” was hammered by the critics, Barber withdrew to a villa in Italy, where he battled depression. He and his lifelong partner, Menotti, separated and Capricorn, their home, was sold. Barber continued to compose in New York City but drank too much. Cared for by Menotti, he died of cancer and was buried in Oaklands Cemetery in the town of his birth, West Chester, Pennsylvania.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Samuel Barber was born in West Chester, Pennsylvania, the son of Marguerite McLeod (née Beatty) and Samuel Le Roy Barber.
Address: 107 S Church St, West Chester, PA 19382, USA (39.95792, -75.60441)
Type: Private Property
National Register of Historic Places: West Chester State College Quadrangle Historic District (Bounded by S. High and S. Church Sts., College and Rosedale Aves.), 81000539, 1981
Place
West Chester is a borough and the county seat of Chester County, Pennsylvania. The population was 18,461 at the 2010 census. West Chester University of Pennsylvania is located in the borough. Valley Forge, the Brandywine Battlefield, Marsh Creek State Park, and other historical attractions are nearby, as are Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum, and Christian C. Sanderson Museum. The area was originally known as Turk’s Head — after the inn of the same name located in what is now the center of the borough. West Chester has been the seat of government in Chester County since 1786, and the borough incorporated in 1799. In the heart of town is its courthouse, a classical revival building designed in the 1840s by Thomas U. Walter, one of the architects for the Capitol in Washington, D.C. In the XVIII century West Chester was a center of clockmaking. In the late XIX century the Hoopes, Bro. and Darlington company became a major wheelworks, first for wagons and later automobiles. In the early XX century, an important industry was the Sharples cream separator company. In the late XX century, Commodore International, one of the pioneers of home computers, giving its headquarters as West Chester, was located approximately a mile northeast of the borough.
Life
Who: Samuel Osborne Barber II (March 9, 1910 – January 23, 1981)
Samuel Barber was a composer of orchestral, opera, choral, and piano music. He is one of the most celebrated composers of the XX century: music critic Donal Henahan stated that "Probably no other American composer has ever enjoyed such early, such persistent and such long-lasting acclaim." Growing up with music in the house (his aunt was Metropolitan Opera star Louise Homer and his uncle, Sidney Homer, was a composer who had a lifelong impact on Barber’s style), Barber decided early on to become a composer, and wrote an operetta at age 10. Four years later he was admitted into the newly established Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. In 1928, while at conservatory, Barber met fellow composer and future life partner Gian Carlo Menotti. Well-trained and a favorite of the school’s founder, Mary Louise Curtis Bok, Barber began his professional career auspiciously with the publication of the delightful “School for Scandal Overture,” in 1931. He completed his well-regarded setting of Matthew Arnold’s “Dover Beach,” for soprano and string quartet, in the same year. He travelled in Europe, particularly Italy, and won a Rome Prize, which sent him to the American Academy for 1935–37. While there, he wrote his string quartet, arranging the second movement for string orchestra (the famous “Adagio for Strings.”) He also completed his “First Symphony.” Samuel Barber died of cancer in 1981 in New York City at the age of 70. He was buried in Oaklands Cemetery (120 W Market St # 1, West Chester, PA 19382). Samuel Barber’s will provided for a burial plot next to his own, reserved for Gian Carlo Menotti, Barber’s partner for most of his adult life. Further, the will said that if Menotti chose not to be buried in Oaklands Cemetery (he is buried near his last home in Scotland), a stone should be placed on the empty plot and inscribed with the words "To The Memory Of Two Friends."



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
George Randolph Scott was an American film actor whose career spanned from 1928 to 1962. As a leading man for all but the first three years of his cinematic career, Scott appeared in a variety of genres, ...
Born: January 23, 1898, Orange County, Virginia, United States
Died: March 2, 1987, Beverly Hills, California, United States
Education: Georgia Institute of Technology
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Buried: Elmwood Cemetery, Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, USA, Plot: R-38
Height: 1.9 m
Children: Sandra Scott, Christopher Scott
Spouse: Patricia Stillman (m. 1944–1987), Marion duPont Scott (m. 1936–1939)

Cary Grant (born Archibald Alexander Leach) was an English stage and Hollywood film actor who became an American citizen in 1942. Randolph Scott was an American film actor whose career spanned from 1928 to 1962. They met in 1932 when they were cast together in Hot Saturday. They lived together for many years in Los Angeles. Their home was featured in an issue of Architectural Digest that showed legendary Hollywood stars at home. After that, the house was dabbed “Bachelor Hall” (recently sold in 2006 for more or less 4 million dollars.) They both married but remained close ever afterward. Toward the end of their lives, Scott and Grant were often seen together, on one occasion holding hands late at night in the Polo Lounge, alone except for the waiters. Scott died little more than 3 months after Grant.
They met in 1932 and remained friends until Grant’s death in 1986: 54 years.
Cary Grant (January 18, 1904 – November 29, 1986)
Randolph Scott (January 23, 1898 – March 2, 1987)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Elmwood Cemetery (700 W 6th St; Charlotte, North Carolina 28202) is buried Randolph Scott (January 23, 1898 – March 2, 1987), American film actor. He was good friends with Fred Astaire and Cary Grant. He met Grant on the set of “Hot Saturday” (1932), where they shared only one scene together, and shortly afterwards they began rooming together in a beach house in Malibu that became known as "Bachelor Hall". According to author Robert Nott, "They lived together on and off for about ten years, because they were friends and wanted to save on living expenses (they were both considered to be notorious tightwads)." In 1944, Scott and Grant stopped living together but remained close friends throughout their lives. 



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Lived: Tan Llan, Llanelltyd, Dolgellau, Gwynedd LL40 2ST, UK (52.75838, -3.90129) [Cadw Building ID: 16146 (Grade II, 1995)]
Tyn-y-Celyn, Llanelltyd, Dolgellau, Gwynedd LL40 2TA, UK (52.75788, -3.90737) [Cadw Building ID: 5239 (Grade II, 1991)]
Hengwrt, Llanelltyd
26 Hereford Square, SW7
Rhagatt Hall, Rhagatt, Corwen, Denbighshire, LL21 9HY, UK (52.98415, -3.34396)
Buried: Saint Illtud Church Cemetery, Llanelltyd, Gwynedd, Wales
Buried alongside: Frances Power Cobbe

Frances Power Cobbe was an Irish writer, social reformer, anti-vivisection activist, and leading women's suffrage campaigner. She formed a marriage with sculptor Mary Lloyd, whom she met in Rome in 1861 and lived with from 1864 until Lloyd's death. Cobbe referred to Lloyd alternately as "husband," "wife," and "dear friend." Cobbe founded the Society for the Protection of Animals Liable to Vivisection in 1875, the world's first organization campaigning against animal experiments, and in 1898 the BUAV. Cobbe was a member of the executive council of the London National Society for Women's Suffrage and writer of editorial columns for London newspapers on suffrage, property rights for women, and opposition to vivisection. Lloyd studied and worked with French artist Rosa Bonheur. In 1853, she worked in the studio of Welsh sculptor John Gibson in Rome, along with sculptor Harriet Hosmer. In 1858, Lloyd inherited a share in the Welsh landed estate of Hengwrt. This allowed Lloyd to refer to herself as a landed proprietor when signing petitions supporting women's suffrage, and gave her some local political rights, such as the ability to appoint a vicar. They are buried together in the churchyard at Llanelltyd, Wales.
Together from 1861 to 1896: 35 years.
Frances Power Cobbe (December 4, 1822 – April 5, 1904)
Mary Charlotte Lloyd (January 23, 1819 – 1896)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Rhagatt Hall is located in a landscaped park on the north side of the B5437, 1km. approx. west of Carrog.
Address: Rhagatt, Corwen, Denbighshire, LL21 9HY, UK (52.98415, -3.34396)
Type: Private Property
Cadw Building ID: 15562 (Grade II, 1995)
Place
The existence of an estate at Rhagatt can be documented from the late XIV century. The house was described as “old” in 1803, and the rear wing of the present house may incorporate parts of a down-hill sited building of possible XVII century date. However the main block is largely of 1819-20, when an earlier building was extended and remodelled for Edward Lloyd, whose family had acquired the estate in 1804. The external detail of the rear wing is also largely early XIX century or later. The interior of the house was again restored and substantially remodelled ca. 1970. Rhagatt Hall has roughly coursed and squared stone to entrance and garden fronts, rougher rubble to rear west elevation; slate roofs. 2 storeyed. Entrance front faces east and is a 3 window range with advanced pedimented central bay. Entrance with recessed doorway renewed ca. 1970 (formerly with columns in antis.) Flanking 12-pane sash windows, with 9-pane sashes to first floor and above the entrance. Right hand windows appear to be inserted, and the scars of earlier openings are visible alongside them. Similar scars to left of entrance may indicate the blockings of windows which were themselves later insertions. A length of wall perpendicular to the building line divides the main part of the house from the service wing, which has 2 x12-pane sash windows to first floor, inserted openings below. Garden front has twin full height bows, the boldly overhanging eaves of the hipped roof carried straight across them. Each has a floor length 12-pane sash window to ground floor, and a 6-pane sash above. Long rear west elevation has 2 long casement windows to lower right, with 6-pane sash windows above; a stair window (reduced in length) and a blocked doorway (apparently cut by the present stairs) in the angle with a projecting full-height bow. Paired long casement windows (inserted) in the bow, and further inserted openings in the 2-window range beyond. Cross wing to left may be of early origin, but was remodelled ca. 1970. Rhagatt is of historical interest as a small country house, the seat of an old-established estate. The early XIX century re-working of older buildings on the site is a distinctive exercise in simple Neo-Classical villa-architecture.
Life
Who: Mary Charlotte Lloyd (January 23, 1819 – 1896)
Rhagatt Hall is the family home of Mary Lloyd, daughter of Edward Lloyd, who later became the life companion of Frances Power Cobbe (1822-1904.)



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Frances Power Cobbe (1822-1904), feminist writer, lived with Mary Lloyd at 26 Hereford Square, SW7 from 1862 to 1884.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1858 Mary Lloyd inherited a share in the Welsh landed estate of Hengwrt. This allowed Lloyd to refer to herself as a landed proprietor when signing petitions supporting women’s suffrage, and also gave her some local political rights, such as the ability to appoint a vicar.
Addresses:
Tan Llan, Llanelltyd, Dolgellau, Gwynedd LL40 2ST, UK (52.75838, -3.90129) [Cadw Building ID: 16146 (Grade II, 1995)]
Tyn-y-Celyn, Llanelltyd, Dolgellau, Gwynedd LL40 2TA, UK (52.75788, -3.90737) [Cadw Building ID: 5239 (Grade II, 1991)]
Place
Llanelltyd is a small village and community in Gwynedd, to the north of Dolgellau. The Community population taken at the 2011 Census was 514. It is home to the XII century Cymer Abbey, a grade I listed building. St Illtyd’s church, one of the oldest parish churches in Wales, is a grade II listed building. A late Medieval church retaining much of its historic character and with the special interest of its XVIII century vernacular porch and fenestration. Hengwrt, Llanelltyd (near Dolgellau) was the home of Robert Vaughan (1592-1667.) He was the eminent Welsh antiquary and collector of manuscripts (later known as the Hengwrt-Peniarth Library.) A later Georgian Mansion was built on the site 1750-54. Mary Lloyd had a one-third share in the Welsh estate of Hengwrt by way of her sister Frances and her husband, Robert Williams Vaughan. They died childless; Vaughan willed a life interest in Hengwrt to his wife’s three unmarried sisters, Mary, Jane, and Harriet. This was rebuilt and remodelled in the XIX century. The house was destroyed by fire in 1962, but the three outbuildings, much remodeled, remain, and the site still has a clear view of the church of St Illtyd’s, where Cobbe and Lloyd are buried. Mary Lloyd and Frances Power Cobbe lived at Tan Llan, a house on the edge of Llanelltyd. Tan Llan is a mid-XVIII century house, said formerly to have been dated 1728. Long a dower house of the Nannau estate, it was altered and extended in the late XIX century. Located across the river from the idyllic little market town of Dolgellau, Llanelltyd was then “a scattering of some twenty cottages.” Lloyd was, in effect, its resident squire; the church living was in the gift of Hengwrt, which also owned much of the farmland. Tan Llan is situated at the eastern extremity of Llanelltyd village some 50m south east of the main road; sited against the gentle slope of the hill and accessed via a metalled drive leading east from the church lane. A L-shaped two-and-a-half-storey primary house with one-and-a-half-storey service range adjoining to the north east. Rubble construction with overlapping stone coping to gable parapets with moulded kneelers; tall end chimneys with moulded capping andweather-coursing. 3-window symmetrical main south east front with Victorian fenestration. Central entrance with part-glazed door behind large XX century conservatory; flanking storied, canted baywindows with plain sashes. Similar, smaller sash windows to thefirst-floor centre and the second floor, the latter contained within gabled rubble dormers; deep verges and plain bargeboards. XIX century single-storey extensions to the rear with modern windows and amodern upper door with bridge access to the banked garden behind. The connecting service range is set back and has 3 gabled dormersas before with large 6-pane Victorian sashes. Below, further 6-pane windows of differing size and an off-centre entrance to left with French doors; plain off-centre stack to right. Modern extension to the north east. Inside, a fine full-height original oak dog-leg stair with moulded rail and turned balusters, with similar gallery at the top; decorative tread-ends. The lower flight has lost its balusters. Four XVIII century 6-panel doors (raised and fielded) with simply moulded architraves to first floor; 4 similar doors of painted pine to the attic floor. Ground-floor living room left has fireplace made up of sections of small-field XVIII century oak panelling (raised and fielded as before.) A large earlier XVIII century vernacular house with Victorian alterations, retaining some good XVIII century internal detail. Group value with the coach house and stable block at Tan Llan. The census of 1891 found Cobbe and Lloyd living at Tyn-y-Celyn, Llanelltyd, with three servants. Dated 1773 Tyn-y-Celyn is formerly the home of Henry Griffiths, timber merchant. Early XIX century alterations and later XIX century cross-range. Tyn-y-Celyn is below the A 496 to west of the junction with the A 470; set back from the by-road that runs through the village; rubble boundary wall with ball finials to gated entry at left. Rubble revetment wall to hillside at rear. Symmetrical 3-window, 2 storey and attic front; rubble construction with slate roof, gable parapets and tall end chimneys with plain capping and weather-coursing. Distinctive central gable in the form of a pediment with 6-pane oculus, characteristic of the area; stone spout to right. Massive stone lintels to 16-pane sash windows ; continuous cills to first floor forming band beneath windows; the front formerly had a verandah. Inscribed slate date plaque to centre over modern 12-pane glazed door. The right gable has one attic casement and a small-pane window over a modern rubble porch. 1 window cross-range beyond with 4-pane casement windows and 12-pane and 9-pane sashes. Set in the slope at the left end is a lower XIX century cross-wing set at an angle to the original house; similar construction including boulder plinth to the rear. The range diminishes in height towards the rear, the left-hand windows therefore being stepped-up. Mostly 4-pane sashes to the first floor. The main entrance has been moved from the front to the right-hand side. The main ground-floor rooms retain Georgian detail including 6-panel doors and panelled shutters; the drawing room has architraves with bosses and the dining room has plainarched recesses. Original dog-leg stairs with swept-up hand rail, shaped tread-ends and turned balusters. Twin purlin pegged trusses. Listed as a late XVIII century regional house retaining much of its internal and external character.
Life
Who: Mary Charlotte Lloyd (January 23, 1819 – 1896)
Mary Lloyd was a Welsh sculptor who lived for decades with feminist Frances Power Cobbe (1822-1904.) She was the 8th of 17 children born to Edward Lloyd of Rhagatt and his wife, Frances Maddocks. She may have lived for a time with a maiden aunt, Margaret Lloyd of Berth. Born about 1780, Margaret Lloyd was a friend of the Ladies of Llangollen (Llangollen is ten miles to the east of Rhagatt Hall, on the great road from London to Holyhead and Dublin.) Mary inherited several books inscribed “M. Lloyd. The gift of Lady Eleanor Butler and Miss Ponsonby” and also some letters written to her aunt Margaret by the poet Felicia Hemans, who until 1831 lived less than ten miles from Berth. Mary Lloyd studied and worked with French artist Rosa Bonheur. In 1853 she was working in the studio of Welsh sculptor John Gibson in Rome, along with American sculptor Harriet Hosmer. When Cobbe and Lloyd met in the winter of 1861-62, both were mature single women (Cobbe was 39, Lloyd was 43) who had some private income, lived alone, and were fond of animals. Mary Lloyd died in 1896. Responding to letters of condolence, Cobbe wrote that she had died “bravely resting on my arm & telling me we should not long be separated.” She was buried as they had planned in the Saint Illtud's churchyard, in a double plot that left room for Cobbe to rest beside her under the single headstone.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino, also known as Luisa Casati, was an Italian heiress, muse, and patroness of the arts in early 20th-century Europe known for her eccentricities.
Born: January 23, 1881, Milan
Died: June 1, 1957, Knightsbridge, London, United Kingdom
Lived: 32 Beaufort Gardens, SW3
Villa San Michele, Viale Axel Munthe, 34, 80071 Anacapri NA, Italy (40.5574, 14.225)
Palazzo Venier dei Leoni, Dorsoduro, 701-704, 30123 Venice, Italy (45.43082, 12.33153)
Buried: Brompton Cemetery, West Brompton, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, Greater London, England
Other name: Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino

Luisa, Marquise Casati Stampa di Soncino was an eccentric Italian heiress, muse, and patroness of the arts in early 20th century Europe. As the concept of dandy was expanded to include women, the Marchesa Casati fitted the utmost female example by saying: "I want to be a living work of art". From 1919-1920 she lived at Villa San Michele in Capri, the tenant of the unwilling Axel Munthe. British author Compton Mackenzie in his diaries described her time on the Italian island, tolerant home to a wide collection of artists, gay men, and lesbians in exile. Her numerous portraits were painted and sculpted by artists as various as Giovanni Boldini, Paolo Troubetzkoy, Romaine Brooks (with whom she had an affair), Kees van Dongen, and Man Ray. By 1930, Casati had amassed a personal debt of $25 million. Unable to satisfy her creditors, her personal possessions were auctioned off. Rumor has it that among the bidders was Coco Chanel. She died in poverty on June 1, 1957, aged 76, and is buried under a small urn at Brompton Cemetery, London, England.
Luisa Adele Rosa Maria Von Amman (January 23, 1881 – June 1, 1957)
Beatrice Romaine Goddard aka Romaine Brooks (May 1, 1874 – Dec. 7, 1970)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

From 1919 to 1920 Luisa Casati lived at Villa San Michele in Capri, the tenant of the unwilling Axel Munthe.
Address: Viale Axel Munthe, 34, 80071 Anacapri NA, Italy (40.5574, 14.225)
Type: Museum (open to public)
Phone: +39 081 837 1401
Place
Built around the turn of the XX century
The Villa San Michele was built on the Isle of Capri, Italy, by the Swedish physician and author Axel Munthe. The villa’s gardens have panoramic views of the town of Capri and its harbour, the Sorrentine Peninsula, and Mount Vesuvius. The villa sits on a ledge at the top of the Phoenician Steps, between Anacapri and Capri, at a height of 327 meters above sea level. San Michele’s gardens are adorned with many relics and works of art dating from ancient Egypt and other periods of classical antiquity. They now form part of the Grandi Giardini Italiani. The story of the villa is recorded by Axel Munthe in his book “The Story of San Michele,” first published in 1929 and reprinted many times since then. Between 1919 and 1920, Munthe was an unwilling landlord to the outrageous socialite and muse Luisa Casati, who took possession of Villa San Michele.
Life
Who: Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino (January 23, 1881 – June 1, 1957)
Luisa Casati’s time on the Italian island, tolerant home to a wide collection of artists, gay men, and lesbians in exile, was described by British author Compton Mackenzie in his diaries. Her numerous portraits were painted and sculpted by artists as various as Giovanni Boldini, Paolo Troubetzkoy, Romaine Brooks (with whom she had an affair), Kees van Dongen, and Man Ray; many of them she paid for, as a wish to "commission her own immortality.” She was muse to Italian Futurists such as F. T. Marinetti, Fortunato Depero, and Umberto Boccioni. Augustus John’s portrait of her is one of the most popular paintings at the Art Gallery of Ontario; Jack Kerouac wrote poems about it and Robert Fulford was impressed by it as a schoolboy.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1910, Luisa Casati took up residence at the Palazzo Venier dei Leoni, on Grand Canal in Venice (now the home of the Peggy Guggenheim Collection.)
Address: Dorsoduro, 701-704, 30123 Venice, Italy (45.43082, 12.33153)
Type: Museum (open to public)
Hours: Wednesday through Monday 10.00-18.00
Phone: +39 041 240 5411
Place
Built in the XVIII century, Design by Lorenzo Boschetti (active 1709-1772)
The building was unfinished, and has an unusually low elevation on the Grand Canal. The museum’s website describes it thus: “Palazzo Venier dei Leoni’s long low façade, made of Istrian stone and set off against the trees in the garden behind that soften its lines, forms a welcome "caesura" in the stately march of Grand Canal palaces from the Accademia to the Salute.” The palace was also Peggy Guggenheim’s home for thirty years. In 1951, the palace, its garden, now called the Nasher Sculpture Garden, and her art collection were opened to the public from April to October for viewing. Her collection at the palace remained open during the summers until her death in Camposampiero, northern Italy, in 1979; she had donated the palace and the 300-piece collection to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in 1976. The foundation, then under the direction of Peter Lawson-Johnston, took control of the palace and the collection in 1979 and re-opened the collection there in April 1980 as the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. After the Foundation took control of the building, it took steps to expand gallery space; by 1985, "all of the rooms on the main floor had been converted into galleries ... the white Istrian stone facade and the unique canal terrace had been restored" and a protruding arcade wing, called the barchessa, had been rebuilt by architect Giorgio Bellavitis. Since 1985, the museum has been open year-round. In 1993, apartments adjacent to the museum were converted to a garden annex, a shop and more galleries. In 1995, the Nasher Sculpture Garden was completed, additional exhibition rooms were added, and a café was opened. A few years later, in 1999 and in 2000, the two neighboring properties were acquired. In 2003, a new entrance and booking office opened to cope with the increasing number of visitors, which reached 350,000 in 2007. Since 1993, the museum has doubled in size, from 2,000 to 4,000 square meters. Since 1985, the United States has selected the foundation to operate the U.S. Pavilion of the Venice Biennale, an exhibition held every other summer. In 1986, the foundation purchased the Palladian-style pavilion, built in 1930.
Life
Who: Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino (January 23, 1881 – June 1, 1957)
Luisa Casati was an Italian heiress, muse, and patroness of the arts in early XX century Europe known for her eccentricities. As the concept of dandy was expanded to include women, the Marchesa Casati fitted the utmost female example by saying: "I want to be a living work of art.” In 1900, she married Camillo, Marchese Casati Stampa di Soncino (1877-1946.) The couple’s only child, Cristina Casati Stampa di Soncino, was born the following year. The Casatis maintained separate residences for the duration of their marriage. They were legally separated in 1914. They remained married until Marchese Casati’s death in 1946. She captivated artists and literary figures such as Robert de Montesquiou, Romain de Tirtoff (Erté), Jean Cocteau, and Cecil Beaton. She had a long term affair with the author Gabriele d’Annunzio, who is said to have based on her the character of Isabella Inghirami in “Forse che si forse che no” (Maybe yes, maybe no) (1910.) Her soirées at Palazzo Venier dei Leoni would become legendary. Casati collected a menagerie of exotic animals, and patronized fashion designers such as Fortuny and Poiret.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Consecrated by the Bishop of London in June 1840, Brompton Cemetery is one of Britain’s oldest and most distinguished garden cemeteries.
Address: Fulham Rd, London SW10 9UG, UK (51.48529, -0.19114)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Friday 9.00-16.00, Sunday 9.00-20.00
Phone: +44 20 7352 1201
English Heritage Building ID: 203792 (Grade II, 1969)
Place
Brompton Cemetery is located near Earl’s Court in west London (postal districts SW5 and SW10), in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. It is managed by The Royal Parks, and is one of the Magnificent Seven cemeteries. Established by Act of Parliament, it opened in 1840 and was originally known as the West of London and Westminster Cemetery. Some 35,000 monuments, from simple headstones to substantial mausolea, mark the resting place of more than 205,000 burials. The site includes large plots for family mausolea, and common graves where coffins are piled deep into the earth, as well as a small columbarium. Brompton was closed to burials between 1952 and 1996, but is once again a working cemetery, with plots for interments and a “Garden of Remembrance” for the deposit of cremated remains. The cemetery has a reputation for being a popular cruising ground for gay men.
Notable queer burials at Brompton Cemetery:
• Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino, infamous Italian quaintrelle, muse, eccentric and patron of the arts. The quote "Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale her infinite variety," from Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra, was inscribed on her tombstone.
• Geraldine Jewsbury (1812-1880), writer.
• Emmeline Pankhurst (1858-1928), leading suffragette.
• Ernest Thesiger (1879-1961), character actor, “The Old Dark House” and “Bride of Frankenstein.”
Life
Who: Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino (January 23, 1881 – June 1, 1957)
By 1930, Luisa Casati had amassed a personal debt of $25 million. Unable to pay her creditors, her personal possessions were auctioned off. Designer Coco Chanel was reportedly one of the bidders. Luisa Casati fled to London where she lived in comparative poverty in a one-room flat. She was rumoured to be seen rummaging in bins searching for feathers to decorate her hair. On June 1, 1957, Marchesa Casati died of a stroke at her last residence at 32 Beaufort Gardens, SW3 aged 76. Following a requiem mass at Brompton Oratory, the Marchesa was interred in Brompton Cemetery. She was buried wearing her black and leopard skin finery and a pair of false eyelashes. She was also interred with one of her beloved stuffed pekinese dogs. Her tombstone is a small grave marker in the shape of an urn draped in cloth with a swag of flowers to the front. The inscription on the tombstone misspells her "Louisa" rather than "Luisa.”



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
B. Michael Hunter was an educator, cultural activist and journal editor of Sojourner: Black Gay Voices in the age of AIDS. "It's through the community that we met. I first met him at a meeting of the Lesbian & Gay People of Color Steering Committee. I noticed Bert, one of the handsomest men I had ever seen, who was really quite and cautious - the opposite of me. He was a writer and refreshingly not a graduate of an Ivy League school, like my ex-lover. I was happy to learn that he did not grow up with money and, like me, received financial aid to get through mostly all-white schools. I felt safe with him from the beginning, and not ashamed of unpacking whatever personal baggage I may have brought with me. I wondered about Bert being Black, having experienced too many Black people telling me that I wasn't oppressed enough." --Johnny “My previous experience with men who attended Ivy League school also left me a little cold - they seem to never be satisfied with things. John was very different - he is one of the few men I trust." Bert. Hunter died of AIDS in 2001. John Albert Santos Manzon married his new partner, Michael Leo Branca, in 2012. They are looking to adopt.
Together from 1990 to 2001: 11 years.
Bertram Michael Hunter (April 15, 1958 - January 23, 2001)



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Anne Whitney was an American sculptor and poet.
Born: September 2, 1821, Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Died: January 23, 1915, Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Lived: John Hunt House, Water Street, Watertown
Whitney Farm, 476 North Rd, Shelburne, NH 03581
92 Mount Vernon Street, Beacon Hill, Boston, Massachusetts, USA (42.35779, -71.06874)
Buried: Mount Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, USA, Plot: Lot 709, Thistle Path
Buried alongside: Abby Adeline Manning
Books: Poems, by Anne Whitney.
Known for: Sculpture, Poetry

Anne Whitney was an American sculptor and poet. A well-known supporter of both the abolitionist and suffragist movements, Whitney herself was to publicly feel the brunt of the sexism of the day when, in 1875, the commission for a statue of Charles Sumner that won a competition was denied her when it was discovered that a woman created the winning model. She also sculpted members of her family and the painter Abby Adeline Manning, with whom Whitney is said to have had a "Boston marriage." Manning's work has since fallen into obscurity. She and Anne Whitney perhaps met around 1862 when Anne was studying with the renowned William Rimmer. Between 1867 and 1876, she and Anne visited Munich, Paris and Rome. In 1878, Adeline and Anne were living and working in their new studio at 92 Mt. Vernon in Boston. In 1888, Anne purchased 225 acres in Shelburne, New Hampshire, and her and Adeline spent their summers on the farm. Some have written of Adeline that she was gentle as a moonbeam, yet firm as a rock and was Anne's other self and second conscience. They buried her and Anne's ashes next to each other under the same headstone in Mount Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Together from 1862 to 1906: 44 years.
Abby Adeline Manning (June 1836 - May 21, 1906)
Anne Whitney (September 2, 1821 – January 23, 1915)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Town of Watertown is a city in Middlesex County, Massachusetts. It is part of the Greater Boston area. The population was 31,915 at the 2010 census.
Address: Watertown, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, USA (42.37092, -71.18283)
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
National Register of Historic Places: Watertown Arsenal Historic District (Arsenal St.), 99000498, 1999
Place
Watertown is one of fourteen Massachusetts municipalities that have applied for, and been granted, city forms of government but wish to retain "The town of” in their official names. Watertown is made up of six neighborhoods: Bemis, Brigham (Brigham Historic District), Coolidge Square, East Watertown, Watertown Square and the West End. Archeological evidence suggests that Watertown was inhabited for thousands of years before the arrival of settlers from England. Two tribes of Massachusett people, the Pequossette and the Nonantum, had settlements on the banks of the river later called the Charles. The Pequossette built a fishing weir to trap herring at the site of the current Watertown Dam. The annual fish migration, as both alewife and blueback herring swim upstream from their adult home in the sea to spawn in the fresh water where they were hatched, still occurs every spring. Watertown, first known as Saltonstall Plantation, was one of the earliest of the Massachusetts Bay settlements. It was begun early in 1630 by a group of settlers led by Sir Richard Saltonstall and the Rev. George Phillips and officially incorporated that same year. The alternate spelling "Waterton" is seen in some early documents. The first buildings were upon land now included within the limits of Cambridge known as Gerry’s Landing. For its first quarter century Watertown ranked next to Boston in population and area. Since then its limits have been greatly reduced. Thrice portions have been added to Cambridge, and it has contributed territory to form the new towns of Weston (1712), Waltham (1738), Lincoln (1754) and Belmont (1859.) In 1632 the residents of Watertown protested against being compelled to pay a tax for the erection of a stockade fort at Cambridge; this was the first protest in America against taxation without representation and led to the establishment of representative government in the colony. As early as the close of the XVII century Watertown was the chief horse and cattle market in New England and was known for its fertile gardens and fine estates. Here about 1632 was erected the first grist mill in the colony, and in 1662 one of the first woolen mills in America was built here. Boston town meetings were held here during the siege of Boston, when many Boston families made their homes in the neighborhood. For several months early in the American Revolution the Committees of Safety and Correspondence made Watertown their headquarters and it was from here that General Joseph Warren set out for Bunker Hill. From 1832 to 1834 Theodore Parker conducted a private school here and his name is still preserved in the Parker School, though the building no longer operates as a public school. The Edmund Fowle House is a historic house and local history museum at 28 Marshall Street in Watertown, Massachusetts. Built in 1722, it is the second oldest surviving house in Watertown (after the Browne House, built c. 1698.) Watertown was the seat of Massachusetts government during the British occupation of Boston in the American Revolution. The committees of the 2nd and 3rd Provincial Congress met in this house from Apr. 22 to 19 July, 1775, and the Executive Committee met here from 19 July, 1775, to September 18, 1776. The house was built by Edmund Fowle (1747-1821) and originally located on Mount Auburn St., then called Mill St. In 1776 the Treaty of Watertown, the first treaty signed between the newly formed United States of America and a foreign power, the St. John’s and Mi’kmaq First Nations of Nova Scotia, was signed in this house. Sturgis and Brigham Architects (Charles Brigham and John Hubbard Sturgis) purchased the house in 1871, moved it to its present Marshall St. address and converted it into a two family residence. The Historical Society of Watertown purchased the house in 1922. The Historical Society was awarded $500,000 in 2004 and another $200,000 in 2006 by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for the restoration of the Edmund Fowle House. The grand re-opening of the house took place in May, 2008. The Abraham Browne House (built circa 1694-1701) is a colonial house located at 562 Main Street. It is now a nonprofit museum operated by Historic New England and open to the public two afternoons per year. The house was originally a modest one-over-one dwelling, probably with a minor dependency to one side. It has grown by a series of enlargements but they occurred behind the original block, thus preserving the profile of the one-over-one elevation. (The exception, a XIX century addition, was removed before 1919.) The Browne House is one of fewer than a half-dozen houses in New England to retain this profile. By 1919 the house was nearly ruined when it was acquired by William Sumner Appleton, who in 1923 donated it to the nonprofit organization now known as Historic New England. It was then painstakingly restored in the first fully documented restoration in America. The Abraham Browne house was featured on PBS’s “This Old House” television program while they were in Watertown for a restoration project during their 20th anniversary season. The Watertown Arsenal operated continuously as a military munitions and research facility from 1816 until 1995, when the Army sold the property, by then known as the Army Materials Technology Laboratory, to the town of Watertown. The Arsenal is notable for being the site of a 1911 strike prompted by the management methods of operations research pioneer Frederick Winslow Taylor. Taylor’s method, which he dubbed "Scientific Management," broke tasks down into smaller components. Workers no longer completed whole items; instead, they were timed using stopwatches as they did small tasks repetitively, as Taylor attempted to find the balance of tasks that resulted in the maximum output from workers. The strike and its causes were controversial enough that they resulted in Congressional hearings in 1911; Congress passed a law in 1915 banning the method in government owned arsenals. Taylor’s methods spread widely, influencing such industrialists as Henry Ford, and the idea is one of the underlying inspirations of the factory (assembly) line industrial method. The Watertown Arsenal was the site of a major superfund clean-up in the 1990s, and has now become a center for shopping, dining and the arts, with the opening of several restaurants and a new theatre. The site includes the Arsenal Center for the Arts, a regional arts center that opened in 2005. The Arsenal is now owned by athenahealth. Arsenal Street features two shopping malls across the street from one another, with the Watertown Mall on one side, and The Arsenal Project of Watertown (formerly the Arsenal Mall) on the other. The Perkins School for the Blind, founded in 1829, has been located in Watertown since 1912. The Stanley Brothers built the first of their steam-powered cars, which came to be known as Stanley Steamers, in Watertown in 1897. In 1988, Watertown Square became the new location for the Armenian Library and Museum of America, said to host the largest collection of Armenian artifacts in North America. The Birthplace of Harriet Hosmer, Riverside Street, is currently the location of the Riverside Condominiums. Dr. Hiram Hosmer was born in 1798 in Walpole, NH. Helped his father on the farm and learned the trade of cabinet maker. He received his degree from Harvard in 1824. He married Sarah Watson Grant of Walpole, NH in 1827. Of his four children only the youngest, Harriet Hosmer survived. The John Hunt House is Anne Whitney’s birthplace. The house was built by James Barton in 1715. It was sold to John Hunt in 1745. Joseph Warren boarded (in the southwestern corner on the first floor) here during the session of the Provincial Congress in 1775. He left afterward to ride to Bunker Hill, 17 June, 1775. It was later owned by Nathaniel Whitney, Jr. and in it was born Anne Whitney, September 2, 1821. It was bought from Nathaniel Whitney, Jr. by Luke Robinson, who lived here the rest of his life. The house was demolished 8 May, 1935. It was later sold to Mr. F.E. Howard who moved it to Water Street and had tenants "of a lower class.”
Life
Who: Leverett Saltonstall (1825-1895), Harriet Hosmer (1830-1908) and Anne Whitney (1821-1915)
Leverett Saltonstall travelled with Charles William Dabney, Jr., his Harvard classmate, after graduation and generally had a difficult time settling down; it was said that his mother forced him, against his will, to marry. He is buried at Harmony Grove Cemetery (30 Grove St, Salem, MA 01970). Both Harriet Hosmer, a neoclassical sculptor, considered the most distinguished female sculptor in America during the XIX century, and Anne Whitney, a sculptor and poet, where from Watertown. Nathaniel Hawthorne described in his novel “The Marble Faun,” the group of American women artists living in Rome, causing Henry James to dismiss them as "The White Marmorean Flock.” They were: Harriet Hosmer, Anne Whitney, Emma Stebbins, Edmonia Lewis, Louisa Lander, Margaret Foley, Florence Freeman, and Vinnie Ream. While living in Rome, Hosmer associated with a colony of artists and writers that included Nathaniel Hawthorne, Bertel Thorvaldsen, William Makepeace Thackeray, and the two female Georges, Eliot and Sand. When in Florence, she was frequently the guest of Elizabeth Barrett and Robert Browning at Casa Guidi.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Beacon Hill is a historic neighborhood in Boston, Massachusetts. According to the 2010 U.S. Census, the population of Boston’s Beacon Hill neighborhood is 9,023.
Address: Beacon Hill, Boston, Massachusetts, USA (42.35779, -71.06874)
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
National Register of Historic Places: Beacon Hill Historic District (Bounded by Beacon St., the Charles River Embankment, and Pinckney, Revere, and Hancock Sts.), 66000130, 1966
Place
The window on the top 92 Mount Vernon Street marked the studio for two decades of sculptor Anne Whitney, who was part of a group of American women sculptors gathering around actress Charlotte Cushman in Rome in the mid-XIX century. In 1878, Addy Manning and Anne were living and working in their new studio in Boston. In 1888, Anne purchased 225 acres in Shelbourne (476 North Rd, Shelburne, NH 03581), and Adeline and her spent theirs summer on the farm. Although the home of Annie Adams Fields and her husband, publisher James T. Fields, at 148 Charles Street, does not survive, it was the site of their important literary salon. Prescott Townsend was a significant figure in local GLBT civil rights history. Toward the end of his life, his two remaining properties on the Hill were on its North Slope, traditionally the side where servants of patrician South Slope residents lived. He accommodated a motley collection of tenants, mostly young gay men, in an eight-unit building at 75 Phillips Street; Prescott himself inhabited an old brick townhouse at the end of Lindall Place, a cul-de-sac that terminated just behind the Philips Street apartments. A subterranean corridor lined with cubicles connected the basements of the two buildings. The tunnel was said to have housed runaway slaves in transit on the Underground Railway prior to the Civil War. The Drawing-Room at 148 Charles Street with Miss Jewett and Mrs. Fields, from a photograph lent by Mr. M. A. DeW. Howe, in Sarah Orne Jewett, by Francis Otto Matthiessen, 1929
Life
Who: Anne Whitney (September 2, 1821 – January 23, 1915), Annie Adams Fields (June 6, 1834 – January 5, 1915) and Prescott Townsend (June 24, 1894 – May 23, 1973)
Anne Whitney had a “Boston marriage” with her longtime partner Adeline “Addy” Manning (1836-1906.) During the late Victorian era, such marriages between women, generally professional and upper class, were both common and accepted by society at large. After the death of James T. Fields in 1881, his wife Annie Fields continued to support the work of many women writers, including Sarah Orne Jewett (1849-1909), who spent winters with her, poet Louise Imogen Guiney (1861-1920), and Harriet Beecher Stowe (1811-96.) Fields was also active in charitable works. She spent many hours at the Charity House on Chardon Street and cofounded the Cooperative Society of Visitors, a case review agency that made recommendations to the central administration of Boston’s relief organizations for aid disbursement. The Society was absorbed into the Associated Charities of Boston. Fields’s book “How to Help the Poor” (1884) served as an unofficial guide to the programs and policies of Associated Charities. Prescott Townsend was an American cultural leader and gay rights activist, from the 1930s through the early 1970s. He was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, the fourth child (third son) of Kate Wendell and Edward Britton Townsend; his mother was both a descendant of Myles Standish and other Mayflower passengers, and the great-granddaughter of the American founding father Roger Sherman. He attended the Volkman School, graduated in 1918 from Harvard University, and attended Harvard Law School for one year. He spent the summer of 1914 in logging camps in Montana and Idaho, and traveled to North Africa and the Soviet Union. He returned to Boston's Beacon Hill neighborhood, where he began a relationship with theater producer Elliot Paul, with whom he founded the experimental Barn Theatre in 1922. Paul introduced Townsend to numerous avant-garde creatives, including openly-gay writer André Gide. Townsend operated speakeasies, restaurants, and theaters, cultivating a bohemian neighborhood on Beacon Hill's Joy Street. He pioneered the popularity of A-frame houses, building several in Provincetown. He was later a founder of the Provincetown Playhouse, where the works of Eugene O'Neill were first performed. In the 1930s, Townsend repeatedly addressed the Massachusetts legislature as an acknowledged homosexual man advocating for the repeal of sodomy legislation, urging the lawmakers "to legalize love." He was indulged due to his Boston Brahmin status, but ignored. While working at the Fall River shipyard during WWII, Townsend was arrested on Jan. 29, 1943 for participating in an "unnatural and lascivious act". The Mid-Town Journal headline reported, "Beacon Hill 'Twilight' Man Member of Queer Love Cult Seduced Young Man". He didn't deny it, and was sentenced to eighteen months in the Massachusetts House of Corrections on Deer Island. No one in his influential family applied any pressure to shorten his jail time. A month later he was officially stricken from both the New York and Boston Social Registers. Townsend had, for years, been suffering from failing health brought on by Parkinson's Disease, and on May 23, 1973 his body was found in the Beacon Hill apartment of John Murray who had been caring for him during the final years of his life. The police reported that "when we came in to take charge of the body, Mr. Townsend was found in a kneeling prayer position at his bedside." Of his entire family, only one sister, a nephew and a great-nephew attended his memorial service at the Arlington Street Church.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

A small, dynamic figure, with flashing brown eyes and, in later life, white hair worn short, Anne Whitney (September 2, 1821 – January 23, 1915) was a thorough Bostonian by breeding and inclination. Wholly free of sentimentality in the age of its abundance, she was known for her satiric wit. She supported movements for abolition and woman's rights, the education of the Afro-American people and the blind, and forest conservation. From an early age she had vacationed in the White Mountains in New Hampshire, and in 1882 she purchased a rams at Shelburne (476 North Rd, Shelburne, NH 03581), where for thirty years she spent her summers, taking long walks, managing the farm, and reading poetry aloud on the veranda of the house overlooking Mounts Washington, Madison, and Adams. Here, as in Boston and abroad, her constant companion was Abby Adeline Manning of Brooklyn, an amateur painter who from 1880 had devoted her life to her older, more talented friend. Mrs Hugh S. Hince is the great-grandniece of Anne Whitney’s mother and the present owner of Whitney Farm.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Mount Auburn Cemetery is the first rural cemetery in the United States, located on the line between Cambridge and Watertown in Middlesex County, Massachusetts, 4 miles (6.4 km) west of Boston.
Address: 580 Mt Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA (42.37479, -71.14449)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Sunday 8.00-19.00
Phone: +1 617-547-7105
National Register of Historic Places: 75000254, 1975. Also National Historic Landmarks.
Place
With classical monuments set in a rolling landscaped terrain, Mount Auburn Cemetery marked a distinct break with Colonial-era burying grounds and church-affiliated graveyards. The appearance of this type of landscape coincides with the rising popularity of the term "cemetery,” derived from the Greek for "a sleeping place." This language and outlook eclipsed the previous harsh view of death and the afterlife embodied by old graveyards and church burial plots. The 174-acre (70 ha) cemetery is important both for its historical aspects and for its role as an arboretum. It is Watertown’s largest contiguous open space and extends into Cambridge to the east, adjacent to the Cambridge City Cemetery and Sand Banks Cemetery.
Notable queer burials are at Mount Auburn Cemetery:
• Roger Brown (1925–1997), professor at Harvard University from 1952 until 1957 and from 1962 until 1994, and at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) from 1957 until 1962. During his time at the University of Michigan, he met Albert Gilman (died 1989), later a Shakespeare scholar and a professor of English at Boston University. Gilman and Brown were partners for over 40 years until Gilman's death from lung cancer in 1989. Brown's sexual orientation and his relationship with Gilman were known to a few of his closest friends, and he served on the editorial board of The Journal of Homosexuality from 1985, but he did not come out publicly until 1989. Brown chronicled his personal life with Gilman and after Gilman's death in his memoir. Brown died in 1997, and is buried next to Gilman.
• Katharine Ellis Coman (1857-1915), author on economic subjects who lived with Katharine Lee Bates (Author of "America the Beautiful"), and died at her home, was cremated at Mount Auburn Cemetery but was buried with her parents at Cedar Hill Cemetery, Newark, Ohio.
• Abby Adeline Manning (1836-1906), painter, and her partner, Anne Whitney (1821-1915), poet and sculptor, together.
• Amy Lowell (1874–1925), poet of the imagist school from Brookline, Massachusetts, who posthumously won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1926.
• Annie Adams Fields (1834–1915), author and hostess; wife of James Thomas Fields, later companion to Sarah Orne Jewett.
• Charlotte Cushman (July 23, 1816 – February 18, 1876), actress, her last partner was lesbian sculptor Emma Stebbins, who sculpted Angels of the Water on Bethesda Fountain in Central Park, New York City.
• Isabella Stewart Gardner (1840–1924) was a leading American art collector, philanthropist, and patron of the arts. She founded the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston.
• Harriet Goodhue Hosmer (1830-1908), sculptor. She was devoted for 25 years to Lady Ashburton, widow of Bingham Baring, 2nd Baron Ashburton (died 1864). Lady Ashburton was born Louisa Caroline Stewart-Mackenzie, youngest daughter of James Alexander Stewart-Mackenzie. Hosmer was good friend with Charlotte Cushman and Matilda Hays, Cushman’s partner, left Charlotte for her.
• Alice James (1848-1892) (in the nearby Cambridge Cemetery), American diarist. The only daughter of Henry James, Sr. and sister of psychologist and philosopher William James and novelist Henry James, she is known mainly for the posthumously published diary that she kept in her final years. Her companion was Katherine Peabody Loring and from their relationship it was conied the term “Boston Marriage”.
• Henry James (1843-1916) (in the nearby Cambridge Cemetery), American writer. He is regarded as one of the key figures of XIX century literary realism. He was the son of Henry James, Sr. and the brother of philosopher and psychologist William James and diarist Alice James.
• Stewart Mitchell (November 25, 1892–November 3, 1957) was an American poet, editor, and professor of English literature. Along with Gilbert Seldes, Mitchell’s editorship of The Dial magazine signaled a pivotal shift in content from political articles to aesthetics in art and literature. In 1929 he became the editor of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Richard Cowan (1909-October 24, 1939)’s diary, which he started while he was a student at Cornell, chronicles the life of a young gay man in Boston in the 1930s. Cowan committed suicide at the age of thirty. His forty-seven-year old mentor and long-term lover, Stewart Mitchell, was devastated. Mitchell resigned as president of the Massachusetts Historical Society on account of a “personal misfortune,” and wrote a friend, “There is no running away from a broken heart.” According to the Boston Herald Nov. 9, 1957: “Mitchell directed that the urn containing his mortal remains be buried, “but not in winter,” in the lot “where my dear friends Georgine Holmes Thomas and Richard David Cowan now repose”.”
• Francis Williams Sargent (1848 - 1920) and Jane Welles Hunnewell Sargent (1851 - 1936), Margarett Williams Sargent’s parents. Margarett Sargent (1892-1978) was born into the privileged world of old Boston money; she was a distant relative of John Singer Sargent.
• Henry Davis Sleeper (1878-1934), a nationally-noted antiquarian, collector, and interior decorator, who had a long lasting friendship with A. Piatt Andrew, an economist, an Assistant Secretary of the Treasury, the founder and director of the American Ambulance Field Service during WWI, and a United States Representative from Massachusetts.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Nadejda Mikhailovna Mountbatten, Marchioness of Milford Haven was the second daughter of Grand Duke Michael Mikhailovich of Russia and his morganatic wife Countess Sophie von Merenberg. She was a younger sister of Countess Anastasia de Torby.
Born: March 28, 1896, London, United Kingdom
Died: January 22, 1963, Cannes, France
Buried: St Michael with Braywood, High Street, Bray, Windsor and Maidenhead, SL6 2AB
Spouse: George Mountbatten, 2nd Marquess of Milford Haven (m. 1916)
House: House of Romanov
Children: David Mountbatten, 3rd Marquess of Milford Haven, Lady Tatiana Elizabeth Mountbatten
Parents: Grand Duke Michael Mikhailovich of Russia, Sophie of Merenberg

Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt was a Swiss-born American socialite. Her identical twin sister, Thelma Morgan (1904–1970), became a mistress of Edward, Prince of Wales and married James Vail Converse and Marmaduke Furness, 1st Viscount Furness. Known as "The Magnificent Morgans", Gloria and Thelma were popular society fixtures, even as teenagers. On March 6, 1923, in New York City, at the townhouse of friends, Gloria Morgan became the second wife of Reginald Claypoole Vanderbilt, age 42, an heir to the Vanderbilt railroad fortune. At the death of his husband in 1934, a custody battle for their only child, Gloria, erupted and made national headlines. As a result of a great deal of hearsay evidence admitted at trial, the scandalous allegations of Vanderbilt's lifestyle—including a purported lesbian relationship with Nadezhda de Torby, the Marchioness of Milford Haven—led to a new standard in tabloid newspaper sensationalism. A former maid of Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt offered testimony regarding a possible lesbian relationship between Lady Milford Haven and her former employer. Lady Milford Haven also appeared as a witness at the trial. Before leaving for the United States to testify, Lady Milford Haven publicly denounced the maid's testimony as "a set of malicious, terrible lies".
Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt (August 23, 1904 – February 13, 1965)
Nadejda Mikhailovna Mountbatten, Marchioness of Milford Haven (March 28, 1896 – January 22, 1963)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Nadejda Mountbatten, Marchioness of Milford Haven (March 28, 1896 –January 22, 1963) is buried at St Michael with Braywood (High Street, Bray, Windsor and Maidenhead, SL6 2AB). During the 1934 Gloria Vanderbilt custody trial, a former maid of Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt's offered testimony regarding a possible lesbian relationship between Lady Milford Haven and her former employer. Lady Milford Haven also appeared as a witness at the trial. Before leaving for the United States to testify, Lady Milford Haven publicly denounced the maid's testimony as "a set of malicious, terrible lies". Nada and her sister-in-law, Edwina Mountbatten (wife of Lord Mountbatten), were extremely close friends and the two frequently went together on rather daring adventures, traveling rough in difficult and often dangerous parts of the world.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Elisabeth "Bessie" Marbury was a pioneering American theatrical and literary agent and producer who represented prominent theatrical performers and writers in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and ...
Born: June 19, 1856, New York City, New York, United States
Died: January 22, 1933, New York City, New York, United States
Lived: 13 Sutton Pl, New York, NY 10022, USA (40.75738, -73.96029)
Irving House, 122 E 17th St, New York, NY 10003, USA (40.73582, -73.98764)
Maine Chance Spa, Maine Chance Ln, Mt Vernon, ME 04352, USA (44.51379, -69.92439)
Buried: Woodlawn Cemetery, Bronx, Bronx County, New York, USA
Books: Manners: A Handbook of Social Customs

Elsie de Wolfe was an actress, interior decorator, author of the influential 1913 book The House in Good Taste, and a prominent figure in New York, Paris, and London society. Bessie Marbury was a highly successful theatrical agent (her clients included Oscar Wilde and George Bernard Shaw), as well as the woman who made a series of suggestions to de Wolfe that led to the interior designer becoming a pioneer in her field. Since 1892, she lived openly with De Wolfe in what many observers accepted as a lesbian relationship. De Wolfe's 1926 marriage to diplomat Sir Charles Mendl was page-one news in the New York Times. The Times said, "The intended marriage comes as a great surprise to her friends." As the Times put it: “When in New York she makes her home with Miss Elisabeth Marbury at 13 Sutton Place.” Dave Von Drehle speaks of “the willowy De Wolfe and the masculine Marbury... cutting a wide path through Manhattan society. Gossips called them "the Bachelors.” De Wolfe was noticeably absent from Marbury's funeral, despite the fact that she was the prime beneficiary of Marbury's will.
Together from 1892 to 1933: 41 years.
Elizabeth “Bessie” Marbury (June 19, 1856 - January 22, 1933)
Elsie de Wolfe (December 20, 1865 – July 12, 1950)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Bessy Marbury was born and raised in the affluent and cultured home of one of 19th century New York's oldest and most prominent "society" families. Elizabeth Arden’s name is a household word; her line of cosmetics are popular in the world. She invented the beauty industry at a time when most women were preparing their own lotions and creams at home. Using artful packaging to convey an image of quality, Arden collaborated with a chemist to create the first “scientific” makeup formulations. She introduced modern eye makeup to America, and created the concept of the makeover. In the 1930s, it was said that there were only three American names known in every corner of the globe: Singer Sewing Machines, Coca-Cola, and Elizabeth Arden. Less well known was Arden’s intimate relationship with literary agent Bessie Marbury. It was perhaps a case of opposites attract: Arden was beautiful, fit, and politically conservative, while Marbury was an older, obese political firebrand. While they were together, Arden supported her girlfriend’s Democratic fundraising and feminist activities. They spent many weekends at Marbury’s Maine home, Lakeside Farm. After Marbury’s death in 1933, Arden bought the property with the intention of fulfilling Marbury’s wish that it be turned into a home for working women—though it eventually became part of a luxury resort instead.
They met in 1925 and remained friends until Marbury’s death: 8 years.
Elizabeth “Bessie” Marbury (June 19, 1856 - January 22, 1933)
Florence Nightingale Graham aka Elizabeth Arden (Dec. 31, 1884 – Oct. 18, 1966)


Portrait, Elizabeth Marbury at the Hyde Ball at Sherry's.

Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1892 Elsie de Wolfe and Elizabeth Marbury moved at Irving House, a residence that had been built for writer Washington Irving – hence called “Irving House.” (Today, a plaque on the building mentions Irving but not de Wolfe or Marbury.) Though East 17th Street was not fashionable at that time, their block was situated firmly in the elegant Gramercy Park district, which held a certain cachet for the two women.
Address: 122 E 17th St, New York, NY 10003, USA (40.73582, -73.98764)
Type: Private Property
Place
Built in 1830
Elisabeth Marbury suggested that Elsie De Wolfe focus her attention on the remodeling of Irving House, her first interior decoration project. De Wolfe removed the dark woodwork and wallpaper, velvet curtains, and heavy furniture that had marked the tastes of the mid-Victorian era. She had the walls painted ivory and light gray and the house completely refurnished in XVIII century French style. When the remodeling was finished, they established a Parisian-type salon at their residence. Each Sunday afternoon from 1897 to 1907, an eclectic assortment of guest met at Irving House for literary talk, gossip, tea and snacks, and an exchange of wit. Guests included such personalities as Sarah Bernhardt, Ellen Terry, Oscar Wilde, Nellie Melba, Henry Adams, and Isabella Stewart Gardner. “You never know who you are going to meet at Bessie’s and Elsie’s,” one salon-goer remarked, “but you can always be sure that whoever they are they will be interesting and you will have a good time.”
Life
Who: Elisabeth "Bessy" Marbury (June 19, 1856 – January 22, 1933) and Elsie de Wolfe, Lady Mendl, (December 20, 1859 – July 12, 1950)
Elsie De Wolfe’s 1926 marriage to diplomat Sir Charles Mendl was page one news in the New York Times. The marriage was platonic and one of convenience. The pair appeared to have married primarily for social amenities, entertaining together, but keeping separate residences. In 1935, when de Wolfe published her autobiography, she didn’t even mention her husband in it. The Times reported "the intended marriage comes as a great surprise to her friends," a veiled reference to the fact that since 1892 de Wolfe had been living openly in what many observers accepted as a lesbian relationship. As the paper put it: "When in New York she makes her home with Miss Elizabeth Marbury at 13 Sutton Place." The daughter of a prosperous New York lawyer, Elisabeth (Bessy) Marbury, like de Wolfe, was also a career pioneer. She was one of the first female theater agents and one of the first woman Broadway producers. Her clients included Oscar Wilde and George Bernard Shaw. During their nearly 40 years together, Marbury was initially the main support of the couple. Dave Von Drehle speaks of "the willowy De Wolfe and the masculine Marbury... cutting a wide path through Manhattan society. Gossips called them "the Bachelors."” Expecting nothing to change in their relationship due to her marriage to Mendl, de Wolfe remained Marbury’s lover until the latter’s death in 1933.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Sutton Place first became fashionable around 1920, when several wealthy socialites, including Anne Harriman Vanderbilt and Anne Morgan, built townhouses on the eastern side of the street, overlooking the East River. Both townhouses were designed by Mott B. Schmidt, launching a career that included many houses for the wealthy.
Address: Sutton Pl, New York, NY 10022, USA (40.75738, -73.96029)
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
National Register of Historic Places: Sutton Place Historic District (1--21 Sutton Pl. & 4--16 Sutton Sq.), 85002294, 1985
Place
Elisabeth Marbury, the wealthy literary agent and producer who had been born into an aristocratic family, commissioned society architect Mott Schmidt to transform a Victorian rowhouse at No. 13 Sutton Place into a Georgian residence. She moved in with her long-time companion, decorator Elsie de Wolfe, and began a campaign of convincing her other female friends to follow suit. One of those friends was Anne Vanderbilt whose husband, William K. Vanderbilt died on July 22, 1920, making Anne a widow for the third time. New York society was shocked when, on January 9, 1921, a New York Times headline reported that “Mrs. W.K. Vanderbilt to Live In Avenue A.” She had sold her gargantuan Fifth Avenue mansion for $3 million to move to what the newspaper called “a little-known two-block thoroughfare.” She used $50,000 of the $3 million to purchase Effingham Sutton’s house, No. 1, and, like Elisabeth Marbury, who was already living there, hired Mott B. Schmidt to renovate it into a 13-room Georgian mansion. Anne Vanderbilt’s close friend, 38-year old Anne Tracy Morgan, daughter of J. Pierpont Morgan, announced her plans to have Mott Schmidt create a house abutting the new Vanderbilt house. “Miss Morgan’s new home is being altered, to conform somewhat to the Colonial style of Mrs. Vanderbilt’s house, after which type most of the houses in the exclusive-little nook have been patterned,” said The Times. “Many of the rooms will contain rare old paneling and furniture. Some of these furnishings will be brought from abroad, but much of it will be Colonial. It is expected that the cost of the site and the remodeling will be about $125,000.” By now the neighborhood was filling with single and very wealthy women who were keeping Mott and Elsie de Wolfe busy changing XIX century middle class homes into fashionable neo-Georgian residences. Anne Vanderbilt’s sister, Mrs. Stephen Olin, was already here as were Mrs. Lorillard Cammann and Francis B. Griswold. Sutton Place was dubbed “The Amazon Enclave.” Two months later Mott Schmidt filed revised plans for Anne Morgan’s house at No. 3 Sutton Place. She had purchased the house next door, No. 5, and the original plans were scrapped so that the two houses could be merged. “The new plans call for the rebuilding of the two structures into a four-story dwelling in American Colonial style with a roof garden,” reported The Times. Reflecting their close relationship, Morgan and Vanderbilt would share a common garden to the rear. To create the illusion of a vintage home, Mott reused the bricks from the old buildings on the site. An elevator, in-house incinerator, gas furnace and refrigerators brought the home squarely into the modern age. Mott based the design on two Philadelphia houses; the 1765 Samuel Powel House and its neighbor, the Benjamin Wister Morris House. He treated the Morgan house and the Vanderbilt house as two independent but critically-related designs. A critic assessed them saying “No more valuable or successful examples of the consistent and intelligent use of English architectural precedent in the designing of American houses are to be found than these two houses on Sutton Place.” The house was completed in 1922 and House & Garden praised Morgan for her choice of XVIII Century interiors. “There are hundreds of beautiful drawing rooms in New York, but I know of no one but Miss Morgan who has determined to make the largest and most important room in her house an early American one. She is using an old pine paneled room, such as were often seen in old Southern houses. The New England pine rooms were usually much smaller and the paneling was generally more severe.” The house of Anne Morgan on Sutton Place was purchased after her death by Arthur Amory Houghton, Jr., the great-grandson of the founder of Corning Glass. Twenty years later, Houghton donated the house to the United Nations Association of the United States. The association leased it to the United Nations for a year as the home of the Secretary General, then sold it to the organization in 1973. Today the stately home of Anne Morgan remains the home of the U.N.’s Secretary General. Its colonial façade, along with those of its neighbors built by independent-thinking women who broke free of tradition, looks as though it has stood there for centuries. 360 E. 55th Street, 404 E. 55th Street and 405 E. 54th Street are known as The Sutton Collection. Located in the heart of Sutton Place, the Sutton Collection is made up of three unique buildings, each building is filled with exceptional architectural details and true New York style that can only be found in the rarest of pre-war properties. At 404 E 55th St resided Noel Coward, this was the playwright’s last Manhattan residence.
Life
Who: Anne Tracy Morgan (July 25, 1873 – January 29, 1952)
Anne Morgan was a philanthropist who provided relief efforts in aid to France during and after WWI and WWII. Morgan was educated privately, traveled frequently and grew up amongst the wealth her father had amassed. She was awarded a medal from the National Institute of Social Science in 1915, the same year she published the story “The American Girl.” In 1932 she became the first American woman appointed a commander of the French Legion of Honor. In 1903 she became part owner of the Villa Trianon near Versailles, France, along with decorator and socialite Elsie De Wolfe (1859-1950) and theatrical/literary agent Elisabeth “Bessie” Marbury (1856-1933.) Morgan was instrumental in assisting De Wolfe, her close friend, in pioneering a career in interior decoration. The three women, known as "The Versailles Triumvirate," hosted a salon in France and, in 1903, along with Anne Vanderbilt (1861-1940), helped organize the Colony Club, the first women’s social club in New York City and, later, helped found the exclusive neighborhood of Sutton Place along Manhattan’s East River.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Elisabeth Marbury, a professional manager and drama agent, encouraged Elizabeth Arden to purchase a lakefront property in Maine. Arden bought The Gables, the property adjacent to her friend’s on Long Pond in Mount Vernon. Following Marbury’s death, Arden purchased the former’s Lakeside Farm.
Address: Maine Chance Ln, Mt Vernon, ME 04352, USA (44.51379, -69.92439)
Type: Private Property
Place
Around 1925, Elisabeth Marbury acquired a summer home in Mount Vernon called Lakeside Farm, where she entertained many illustrious guests. After Marbury’s death in 1934, Arden converted Lakeside Farm and her own property, The Gables, into the fashionable Maine Chance Farm, a health and beauty spa for the rich and famous. It’s been said that the name was “a double-entendre for her clients who saw it as their main chance to recapture their youth.” Over the years, Arden’s clientele included first lady Mamie Eisenhower, writer Edna Ferber and actresses Judy Garland, Lillian Gish and Ava Gardner. Stefan Tufano’s parents bought the property a few years after the spa closed in 1970. They used it as a summer home and then moved in full time in the 1990s. Tufano moved in to care for them near the end of their lives, and in 2014 the former Maine Chance Spa went up for sale for $765.000.
Life
Who: Elisabeth "Bessy" Marbury (June 19, 1856 – January 22, 1933) and Florence Nightingale Graham (December 31, 1878 – October 18, 1966), aka Elizabeth Arden
Born in New York City, Elisabeth “Bessie” Marbury grew up in a well-to-do and cultured home. Educated to a large extent by her father at home, she spent her early years occupied with social activities, and Sunday school teaching. In 1885 she volunteered to organize a benefit theatrical performance, which became the springboard for her career as a professional manager. A few years later, she managed to get a job handling the dramatic version of “Little Lord Fauntleroy,” which had become a current best-seller. Later in her career she would represent other major writing talents such as George Bernard Shaw, Oscar Wilde, James M. Barrie and Somerset Maugham. In the early 1890s, she joined several other agents in forming the American Play Company, and she helped stage several productions with music by Jerome Kern and Cole Porter, becoming instrumental in the development of the typical American style of musical comedy. One of her friends was Elizabeth Arden (1878-1966), whom she encouraged to purchase property in Maine. Arden liked the area so much that she bought an adjacent property, The Gables. In 1933, following several years of declining health, Marbury died in New York City. In her will she requested that Lakeside Farm be turned into a home for working women, but her friends failed to see the plan through. In frustration, Arden purchased the property with the intention of overseeing the project herself, but in the end she combined Lakeside Farm with Maine Chance and made it into the first of many luxury resorts where patrons paid top dollar to enjoy a full range of dietary, exercise, and beauty regimens. Marbury is buried at Woodlawn Cemetery, Bronx, NY, while Arden is buried at Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, NY.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Although located in Woodlawn, Bronx and one of the largest cemeteries in New York City, it has the character of a rural cemetery.
Address: 517 E 233rd St, Bronx, NY 10470, USA (40.89006, -73.87425)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Sunday 8.30-16.30
Phone: +1 718-920-0500
National Register of Historic Places: 11000563, 2011 Also National Historic Landmarks.
Place
Woodlawn Cemetery opened in 1863, in what was then southern Westchester County, in an area that was later annexed to New York City in 1874. It is notable in part as the final resting place of some great figures in the American arts, such as authors Countee Cullen and Herman Melville, and musicians Irving Berlin, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, and Max Roach. “Memorial To A Marriage” has been erected by Patricia Cronin and her partner Deborah Kass. Sculptor Cronin did the original sculpture of Carrara marble in 2002, to address what she considered a Federal failure: not allowing gay Americans the right to marry. It has been replaced with a bronze casting, installed on the couple’s burial plot in 2011. Since 2002 when the marble was first installed, the memorial has become one of the most visited of Woodlawn. After 18 years together, Patricia Cronin and Deborah Kass went to City Hall on the morning of July 24, 2011, with nearly 900 other New York City couples, waiting for three hours in the heat to get legally married on the first day.
Notable queer burials at Woodlawn Cemetery:
• Diana Blanche Barrymore Blythe (1921-1960), known professionally as Diana Barrymore, was a film and stage actress. She was the daughter of renowned actor John Barrymore and his second wife, poet Blanche Oelrichs.
• Frances (Fannie) Evelyn Bostwick (died in 1921) was the mother of Marion “Joe” Carstairs. Bostwick was an American heiress who was the second child of Jabez Bostwick and his wife Helen. Joe Carstairs' legal father was Scottish army officer Captain Albert Carstairs. At least one biographer has suggested that the Captain may not have been Joe's biological father. Carstairs' mother, an alcoholic and drug addict, later married Captain Francis Francis. She divorced Captain Francis to marry French count Roger de Périgny in 1915, but eventually left him because of his infidelity. Her fourth and last husband, whom she married in 1920, was Serge Voronoff, a Russian–French surgeon who become famous in the 1920s and 1930s for his practice of transplanting monkey testicle tissue into male humans for the claimed purpose of rejuvenation. For some years Evelyn had believed in Voronoff's theories, and she funded his research and acted as his laboratory assistant at the Collège de France in Paris. Voronoff arrived in New York with his wife's body on the ship "S.S. France" in May, 1921.
• Carrie Chapman Catt (1859-1947) was a women’s suffrage leader who campaigned for the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, which gave U.S. women the right to vote in 1920. She was buried at Woodlawn Cemetery in the Bronx, New York alongside her longtime companion, Mary Garrett Hay, a fellow New York state suffragist, with whom she lived for over 20 years. Under a single monument inscribed in block letters: "Here lie two, united in friendship for 38 years through constant service to a great cause."
• Countee Cullen (1903-1946) born as Countee Porter, was a poet, author and scholar who was a leading figure in the Harlem Renaissance. It is rumored that Cullen was a homosexual, and his relationship with Harold Jackman ("the handsomest man in Harlem"), was a significant factor in his divorce. The young, dashing Jackman was a school teacher and, thanks to his noted beauty, a prominent figure among Harlem’s gay elite. Van Vechten had used him as a character model in his novel “Nigger Heaven” (1926.)
• Joseph Raphael De Lamar (1843-1918), a prominent mine owner and operator in the western United States and Canada, as well as a financier and speculator, from the late 1870s until his death in 1918. De Lamar married Nellie Virginia Sands, a direct descendant of John Quincy Adams, on 8 May, 1893, and they had one daughter together, Alice DeLamar.
• Marjory Lacey-Baker (died in 1971), actress, she was the long-time companion of Dr. Lena Madesin Phillips, founder of the National Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs. They met in 1919 and together until Ms Philipps’ death in 1955. Ms Phillips is buried at Maple Grove Cemetery (500 N Main St, Nicholasville, KY 40356).
• Joseph Christian “J.C.” Leyendecker (1874-1951) was one of the preeminent illustrators of the early XX century.
• George Platt Lynes (1907-1955) was a fashion and commercial photographer.
• Elisabeth "Bessie" Marbury (1856–1933) was a pioneering American theatrical and literary agent and producer who represented prominent theatrical performers and writers in the late XIX and early XX centuries and helped shape business methods of the modern commercial theater. She was the longtime companion of Elsie de Wolfe (later known as Lady Mendl), a prominent socialite and famous interior decorator.
• Herman Melville (1819-1891) was a novelist, short story writer, and poet from the American Renaissance period.
• Blanche Marie Louise Oelrichs (October 1, 1890 – November 5, 1950) was a poet, playwright and theatre actress known by the pseudonym "Michael Strange.” Starting in the summer of 1940 until her death, Oelrichs was in a long-term relationship with Margaret Wise Brown, the author of many children’s books. The relationship began as something of a mentoring one, but became a romantic relationship including co-habitating at 10 Gracie Square beginning in 1943.
• Elizabeth Cady Stanton (November 12, 1815 – October 26, 1902) was a suffragist, social activist, abolitionist, and leading figure of the early women’s rights movement.
• John William Sterling (May 12, 1844 – July 5, 1918) was a founding partner of Shearman & Sterling LLP and major benefactor to Yale University. In Sterling's will, he directs: "no interment other than my own and that of my sister, Cordelia, shall ever take place" in his Mausoleum in Woodlawn Cemetery. An exception is made, however, "in case my said friend, James O. Bloss (September 30, 1847 – December 18, 1918), who has lived with me for more than forty years, should desire to be interred in the said Mausoleum and should die without ever having been married." Cordelia Sterling is burried with her brother. Bloss died less than six months after Sterling, according to his sister, of a broken heart, and is not buried with his friend, though the reason is unknown. He is buried at Mount Hope Cemetery, Rochester. Sterling's obituary in the New York Times referred to "his lifelong friend, James O. Bloss, a retired cotton broker, who made his home with the testator for more than forty years." James Orville Bloss died suddenly in New York City, on December 15, 1918.
• Bert Williams (1874-1922), was one of the pre-eminent entertainers of the Vaudeville era. He married Charlotte ("Lottie") Thompson, a singer with whom he had worked professionally, in a very private ceremony. Lottie was a widow eight years Bert's senior. The Williamses never had children biologically, but they adopted three of Lottie's nieces. In 1919 their niece Lottie Tyler met blues singer Alberta Hunter. In August 1927, Hunter sailed for France, accompanied by Lottie. Their relationship lasted until Ms. Tyler's death, many years later.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Claire Waldoff, born Clara Wortmann, was a German singer. She was a famous kabarett singer and entertainer in Berlin during the 1910s and 1920s, chiefly known for performing ironic songs in the Berlinish dialect.
Born: October 21, 1884, Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Died: January 22, 1957, Bad Reichenhall, Germany
Buried: Pragfriedhof, Stuttgart, Stuttgarter Stadtkreis, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Buried alongside: Olga von Roeder
Albums: Immer ran an Speck, Claire Waldoff, Folge 8, more
Genres: Cabaret, Music hall, Operetta, Revue, Schlager music
Record labels: ZYX Music, duo-phon records, more

Claire Waldoff was a famous German cabaret singer and entertainer in Berlin during the 1910s and 1920s. Waldoff was known for singing her songs in distinctive Berliner slang. Her success reached its peak in the 1920s. She performed at the two great Berlin varietés, Scala and Wintergarten, sang together with Marlene Dietrich, and had her songs played on the radio. Her repertoire included around 300 original songs. Waldoff lived happily together with Olga Freiin von Roeder in Berlin during the 1920s. Together they often met other lesbian friends in the club, Damenklub Pyramide, in Berlin. After the German Nazis won the elections in 1933, and Hitler came to power, Waldoff's success ended. In 1939, she and Olga von Roder left Berlin together, and moved to Bayerisch Gmain. Waldoff lost all her money in German Monetary reform in 1948. In 1953, she wrote her autobiography. In 1954, she got a little monetary support by the senate of the city of Berlin. Claire and Olga are buried together at the Pragfriedhof cemetery in Stuttgart.
Together from (around) 1920 to 1957: 37 years.
Claire Waldoff aka Clara Wortmann (October 21, 1884 - January 22, 1957)
Olga Freiin von Roeder (June 12, 1886 - July 11, 1963)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Pragfriedhof (Friedhofstraße 44, 70191 Stuttgart), Olga Von Roeder (1886-1963) and Claire Waldoff (1884-1957) are buried together. Claire Waldoff was a German singer. Waldoff lived together with her significant other Olga "Olly" von Roeder until her death. The couple lived happily in Berlin during the 1920s. Part of the queer scene, they associated with celebrities like Anita Berber in the milieu around Damenklub Pyramide near Nollendorfplatz. After the war, she lost her savings in the West German monetary reform of 1948 and from 1951 relied on little monetary support by the Senate of Berlin.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Lady Evelyn Barbara "Eve" Balfour was an English farmer, educator, organic farming pioneer, and a founding figure in the organic movement. She was one of the first women to study agriculture at an English university, graduating from the University of Reading. The daughter of the second Earl of Balfour, she began farming in 1920, in Haughley Green, Suffolk, England. In 1939, with her friend and neighbor Ryan Nelson, she launched the Haughley Experiment, the first long-term, side-by-side scientific comparison of organic and chemical-based farming. Balfour, who lived on a farm with her companion Beryl ‘Beb’ Hearnden from 1919 to about 1951, and then lived with agriculturalist Kathleen Carnley until this latter's death, ‘discovered the freedom of breeches’ in the First World War; Elizabeth Lutyens remembered ‘She had an Egyptian face of great strength and charm, with cropped hair and masculine manners, in spite of a feminine heart.’ Hearnden's pursuit of paid journalism work in London coincided with her departure from the struggling farming cooperative.
Together from 1919 to 1951: 32 years.
Lady Evelyn "Eve” Barbara Balfour (July 16, 1898 - January 14, 1990)
Beryl “Beb” Hearnden (1897 – January 22, 1978)
Kathleen Carnley (1889-1976)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Giles Lytton Strachey was a British writer and critic. A founding member of the Bloomsbury Group and author of Eminent Victorians, he is best known for establishing a new form of biography in which ...
Born: March 1, 1880, London, United Kingdom
Died: January 21, 1932, Hungerford, United Kingdom
Education: University of Cambridge
Lived: The Mill, Tidmarsh, Reading, West Berkshire RG8, UK (51.46833, -1.08754)
Ham Spray House, Marlborough, Wiltshire SN8 3QZ, UK (51.3681, -1.50219)
51 Gordon Square, Bloomsbury, WC1H
Sutton Court, A368, Stowey-Sutton, Bath and North East Somerset BS39 5TX, UK (51.34174, -2.58037)
Stowey House, Clapham Common, Windmill Dr, London SW4 9DE, UK (51.45783, -0.14816)
67 Belsize Park Gardens, London NW3, UK (51.54694, -0.16578)
6 Belsize Park Gardens, London NW3, UK (51.54831, -0.16922)
69 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, UK (51.51124, -0.1823)
Buried: Church of St Andrew, South Parade, at the bottom of the High Street, Chew Magna, Avon, BS408SH
Parents: Richard Strachey
Siblings: James Strachey, Julia Strachey, Dorothy Bussy, Oliver Strachey

Giles Lytton Strachey was a British writer and critic. Dora Carrington was a British painter and decorative artist, remembered in part for her association with members of the Bloomsbury Group, especially Lytton Strachey. Though Strachey spoke openly about his homosexuality with his Bloomsbury friends (he had a relationship with John Maynard Keynes, who also was part of the Bloomsbury group), it was not widely publicized until the late 1960s, in a biography by Michael Holroyd. In 1921, Carrington agreed to marry Ralph Partridge, not for love but to secure the 3-way relationship. Strachey himself had been much more sexually interested in Partridge, as well as in various other young men, including a secret sadomasochistic relationship with Roger Senhouse (later the head of publisher Secker & Warburg). Dora Carrington committed suicide out of grief in 1932, shortly after Lytton Strachey’s death. Ralph married Frances Marshall on March 2, 1933. They lived happily at Ham Spray until Ralph’s death in 1960.
Together from 1917 to 1932: 15 years.
Dora de Houghton Carrington (March 29, 1893 – March 11, 1932)
Giles Lytton Strachey (March 1, 1880 –January 21, 1932)
Ralph Partridge (1894 – November 30, 1960)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Stowey House was a Victorian mansion off the south side of Clapham Common.
Address: Clapham Common, Windmill Dr, London SW4 9DE, UK (51.45783, -0.14816)
Type: Public Park (open to public)
Phone: +44 20 7926 9000
Place
Lytton Strachey was born on March 1, 1880 at Stowey House, Clapham Common, London, the fifth son and the eleventh child of Lieutenant General Sir Richard Strachey, an officer in the British colonial armed forces, and his second wife, the former Jane Grant, who became a leading supporter of the women’s suffrage movement. In 1920, as part of a second wave of establishing open air schools in the capital, the LCC set up an open air school in the grounds of Stowey House. The Stowey House Open Air School accommodated some 300 “delicate” and pre-tuberculous children, selected from five times that number nominated by school medical officers. Entered by a small door through a wall off the busy street, the School had 8 classroom pavilions (5 for boys and 3 for girls), plus a larger structure used for the pupils’ daily rest, and for folk dancing and corrective exercise. Parts of the school facilities and furniture had been built by the children themselves. They also worked in the gardens. Pupils remained at the School for about 12 to 18 months. The School survived the disruptions of WW2, and carried on at least through the 1950s and closed in the mid 1960s. Stowey House was demolished in 1967. In the late 1960s its site, and the adjacent South Lodge, were redeveloped as new premises for the Henry Thornton School. These, in their turn, have been superseded by the buildings of Lambeth College. The site of the Open Air School is now occupied by the southern part of the College and its grounds.
Life
Who: Giles Lytton Strachey (March 1, 1880 – January 21, 1932)
Lytton Strachey was a British writer and critic. A founding member of the Bloomsbury Group and author of “Eminent Victorians,” he is best known for establishing a new form of biography in which psychological insight and sympathy are combined with irreverence and wit. His biography “Queen Victoria” (1921) was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. At Trinity College, Cambridge, Strachey soon became closely associated: Clive Bell, Leonard Woolf and Saxon Sydney-Turner. With another undergraduate student, A. J. Robertson, these students formed a group called the Midnight Society, which, in the opinion of Clive Bell, was the source of the Bloomsbury Group. Other close friends at Cambridge were Thoby Stephen and his sisters Vanessa and Virginia Stephen (later Bell and Woolf respectively.) Strachey also became acquainted with other men who greatly influenced him, including G. Lowes Dickinson, John Maynard Keynes, Walter Lamb (brother of the painter Henry Lamb), George Mallory, Bertrand Russell and G. E. Moore. Strachey had an unusual relationship with the painter Dora Carrington. She loved him and they lived together from 1917 until his death. In 1921 Carrington agreed to marry Ralph Partridge, not for love but to secure a three-way relationship. She committed suicide two months after Strachey’s death.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Lancaster Gate is a mid-XIX century development in the Bayswater district of central London, immediately to the north of Kensington Gardens. Lytton Strachey lived here with his family in childhood and beyond.
Address: 69 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, UK (51.51124, -0.1823)
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
Place
When Lytton Strachey was four years old the family moved from Stowey House to 69 Lancaster Gate, North of Kensington Gardens. Lancaster Gate consists of two long terraces of houses overlooking the park, with a wide gap between them opening onto a square containing a church. Further terraces back onto the pair overlooking the park and loop around the square. Until 1865 the terraces were known as Upper Hyde Park Gardens, with the name Lancaster Gate limited to the square surrounding the church. The development takes its name from Lancaster Gate, a nearby entrance to Kensington Gardens, itself named in honour of Queen Victoria as Duke of Lancaster. The terraces are stuccoed and are in an eclectic classical style featuring English Baroque details and French touches. The church, known as Christ Church, Lancaster Gate, was an asymmetrical gothic composition with a needle spire. The architects were F. & H. Francis. The Church was one of the most well known in London, but when dry rot was discovered in the roof the decision was taken to demolish most of the site and redevelop it. The last service in the church was on March 6, 1977, and demolition began on August 15, 1977; only the tower and spire survive. The rest of the building was replaced by a housing scheme called Spire House in 1983. Lancaster Gate stands alongside Hyde Park Gardens as one of the two grandest of the XIX century housing schemes lining the northern side of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. The development was planned in 1856-57 on the site of a nursery and tea gardens, and construction took at least 10 years. The terraces overlooking the park were designed by Sancton Wood and those around the square by John Johnson. The exteriors are largely complete, with just a couple of XX century infills, but many of the interiors have been reconstructed behind the facades. Many of the properties are still in residential use and command very high prices. Others are used as embassies (such as the Embassy of Costa Rica), offices, or hotels. For many years, the headquarters of The Football Association were located in Lancaster Gate and the term was often used as a metonym for the organisation, but it later relocated to Soho Square and is now based at Wembley Stadium.
Life
Who: Giles Lytton Strachey (March 1, 1880 – January 21, 1932)
69 Lancaster Gate was Lytton Strachey home until Sir Richard Strachey retired. After Strachey left Cambridge in 1905 his mother assigned him a bed-sitting room here. During his boyhood, while his parents were in India, Duncan Grant spent much time here with the family of Sir Richard and Lady Strachey. Currently 66-71 Lancaster Gate is the Lancaster Gate Hotel.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Lytton Strachey, biographer and prominent member of the Bloomsbury Group, lived here from 1907 to 1914, where he wrote “Eminent Victorians.
Addresses:
67 Belsize Park Gardens, London NW3, UK (51.54694, -0.16578)
6 Belsize Park Gardens, London NW3, UK (51.54831, -0.16922)
Place
In 1907, lady Strachey, Lytton’s mother, decided that they should move later that year to a dilapidated house in Belsize Park Gardens, Hampstead. “There is a basement billiard-room,” Lytton wrote to Duncan Grant after inspecting the new house, “the darkest chamber I’ve ever seen in my life, and without billiard table. Your mother, mine and I found ourselves locked into it, and thought we’d be discovered three crumbling skeletons – forty years hence. Fortunately I was able to leap a wall and attract a caretaker.” No. 67 Belsize Park Gardens, NW3 was a smaller house than Lancaster Gate, but still spacious enough to cater for the rather depleted numbers of the family. As before in the previous house, Lytton was assigned a bed-sitting-room where he was to compose his reviews and articles. In January 1914 he stayed with his family, who where then making preliminary arrangements to move from no. 67 to no. 6 Belsize Park Gardens, NW3. “I flew from Square to Square, from Chelsea to Hampstead Heath with infinite alacrity,” he told Duncan Grant. The name Belsize is derived from French “bel assis” meaning “well situated.” The Manor of Belsize dates back to 1317. Although not named on the Geographers’ London Atlas, the area has many thoroughfares bearing its name: Belsize Avenue, Belsize Court, Belsize Crescent, Belsize Gardens, Belsize Grove, Belsize Lane, Belsize Mews, Belsize Park (the road), Belsize Park Gardens, Belsize Place, Belsize Square, and Belsize Terrace. The name comes from the XVII century manor house and parkland (built by Daniel O’Neill for his wife, the Countess of Chesterfield) which once stood on the site. The estate built up between 1852 and 1878, by which time it extended to Haverstock Hill. After WWI, the construction of blocks of flats began, and now a great many of the larger houses are also converted into flats. In WWII, a large underground air-raid shelter was built here and its entrance can still be seen near the tube station at Downside Crescent. The area on Haverstock Hill north of Belsize Park underground station up to Hampstead Town Hall and including part of a primary school near the Royal Free Hospital was heavily bombed. When the area was rebuilt, the opportunity was taken to widen the pavement and build further back from the road.
Life
Who: Giles Lytton Strachey (March 1, 1880 – January 21, 1932)
After the Strachey family moved to 67 Belsize Park Gardens in Hampstead, and later to another house in the same street (6 Belsize Park Gardens), Lytton Strachey was assigned other bed-sitters. But, as he was about to turn 30, family life started irritating him, and he took to travelling into the country more often, supporting himself by writing reviews and critical articles for The Spectator and other periodicals. In 1916 Lytton Strachey was back in London living with his mother at 6 Belsize Park Gardens, Hampstead, where she had now moved. In the late autumn of 1917, however, his brother Oliver and his friends Harry Norton, John Maynard Keynes and Saxon Sydney-Turner agreed to pay the rent on the Mill House at Tidmarsh, near Pangbourne, Berkshire, where they all moved.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

English Heritage Blue Plaque: 46 Gordon Square, John Maynard Keynes (1883–1946), "Economist lived here 1916–1946"
Addresses:
46 Gordon Square, Kings Cross, London WC1H 0PD, UK (51.52445, -0.13018)
51 Gordon Square, London WC1H, UK (51.52419, -0.12987)
52 Tavistock Square, Kings Cross, London WC1H, UK (51.5247, -0.12791)
Place
Gordon Square is in Bloomsbury, in the London Borough of Camden, London (postal district WC1) part of the Bedford Estate. Gordon Square was developed by master builder Thomas Cubitt in the 1820s, as one of a pair with Tavistock Square, which is a block away and has the same dimensions. As with most London squares the central garden was originally for the private use of the residents of the surrounding houses, but it now belongs to the University of London and is open to the public. The square is named after the second wife of the 6th Duke of Bedford, Lady Georgiana Gordon, daughter of Alexander Gordon, 4th Duke of Gordon. The university owns many of the buildings in the square and in early 2005 it submitted an application for a refurbishment of the square, including the reinstatement of railings similar to the originals. The work was completed in 2007. The west side of the square is dominated by the listed church of Christ the King and next to it the home of Dr Williams’s Library.
Notable queer resident at Gordon & Tavistock Square:
• James Strachey (September 26, 1887 - April 25, 1967), Lytton’s brother, lived at n. 41 Gordon Square, WC1H from 1919-56, with his wife, Alix, sometimes joined by Ralph Partridge.
• The economist John Maynard Keynes (1883–1946) lived at no. 46 Gordon Square, WC1H marked by a blue plaque. Before Keynes moved in, the same house was occupied by a young Virginia Woolf (1882-1941) and her siblings (including the noted painter and interior designer Vanessa Bell (1879-1961)) from 1905 to 1907 and frequented by other members of the Bloomsbury Group.
• Vanessa Bell moved into no. 50 Gordon Square, WC1H in 1920, moving to no. 37 Gordon Square, WC1H from 1922-29, with Clive Bell moving into no. 50.
• English Heritage Blue Plaque: 51 Gordon Square, Bloomsbury, WC1H Lytton Strachey (1880-1932), “Critic and biographer lived here.” Strachey moved here shortly after writing “Eminent Victorians” (1918), his controversial critique of Victorian values which set new parameters in the art of biography. In Gordon Square Strachey produced its follow-up, “Queen Victoria” (1921), another debunker of Victorian myths.
• From 1924 to 1939 Virginia Woolf lived at no. 52 Tavistock Square, WC1H south side of square: bombed in October, 1940 and replaced by the Tavistock Hotel in 1951.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Once home to the Bloomsbury group, The Mill at Tidmarsh in Berkshire is still an inspiring abode. The Mill was last on the market in 2010 for £1.995.000.
Address: Tidmarsh, Reading, West Berkshire RG8, UK (51.46833, -1.08754)
Type: Private Property
English Heritage Building ID: 400899 (Grade II, 1984)
Place
"Sounds too good to be alright!" wrote Dora Carrington to Lytton Strachey on the morning of October 19, 1917. She was poring over the particulars of The Mill at Tidmarsh in Berkshire. There was electric light and "bath H & C.” It was romantic and lovely, and the rent was £52 a year for a three-year lease. Carrington first set up house with Lytton Strachey in Nov. 1917, when they moved together to Tidmarsh Mill House, near Pangbourne, Berkshire. Carrington met Ralph Partridge, an Oxford friend of her younger brother Noel, in 1918. Strachey fell in love with Partridge and eventually, in 1921, Carrington agreed to marry him, not for love but to hold the menage a trois together with Lytton Strachey. Strachey paid for the wedding, and also accompanied the couple on their honeymoon in Venice.
Life
Who: Dora de Houghton Carrington (March 29, 1893 – March 11, 1932)
Dora Carrington moved into the mill with Lytton Strachey (1880-1932) just as he was publishing “Eminent Victorians,” the book that made him famous. The pair were already prominent in the Bloomsbury circle, which included Clive and Vanessa Bell (1879-1961), whose highly decorated house, Charleston in Sussex, is open to the public. Lytton and Carrington were frequently seen at Lady Ottoline Morrell (1873-1938)’s parties at Garsington Manor. He was a spidery, bearded intellectual, widely known to be homosexual, she a Slade-trained artist with a pageboy haircut and no first name. Their decision to live together raised eyebrows inside and outside their group.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Love and literary retreat, a Wiltshire farmhouse was a bliss for a Bloomsbury threesome. Ham Spray House was last on the market in 2008 for £2.750.000.
Address: Marlborough, Wiltshire SN8 3QZ, UK (51.3681, -1.50219)
Type: Private Property
Place
In 1924, Lytton Strachey and Ralph Partridge, members of the Bloomsbury group, bought Ham Spray House, and several of that group and other writers and artists spent time there from then until Ralph died in 1960, including Dora Carrington and Frances Partridge. Ham Spray, which cost Partridge and Strachey £2,300, suited their communal living and working arrangements. Surrounded by fields, and with a local shop selling Wellington boots, it was "a perfect English country house.” "We believed there was no view more beautiful, more inexhaustible in England, and no house more lovable than Ham Spray," wrote Frances in her diary. The rooms are of Georgian proportions, with high ceilings and cornices and pretty fireplaces. Carrington’s paintings hung on every wall, alongside works by Duncan Grant, Vanessa Bell and Augustus John. While Lytton Strachey wrote in his upstairs study, looking out across Ham Hill and Inkpen Beacon, Carrington painted in a studio above the former granary. In the evenings, they gathered in the music room, where there was a piano, gramophone and ping-pong table. In Strachey’s former study – now a bedroom - there are surviving works by Carrington, including a mural of an owl and a self-portrait of her riding across the Downs, painted on a tile. On a door in the corner of the room is a trompe d’oeil of a bookshelf, featuring titles such as “Deception” by Jane Austen and “The Empty Room” by Virginia Woolf.
Life
Who: Ralph Partridge (1894 – November 30, 1960)
Dora Carrington was in love with Lytton Strachey, who loved Ralph Partridge, an ex-army officer; Carrington loved Strachey, but married Partridge to stabilise their triangular relationship. In 1924, they set up home together at the XIX-century farmhouse outside the village of Ham, in Wiltshire, along with Ralph’s lover (and later wife) Frances Marshall (1900-2004.) Strachey died of stomach cancer at Ham Spray in January 1932. Carrington, who saw no purpose in a life without Strachey, committed suicide two months after his death by shooting herself with a gun borrowed from her friend, Hon. Bryan Guinness (later 2nd Baron Moyne.) Her body was cremated and the ashes buried under the laurels in the garden of Ham Spray House. Strachey's modest little brass plaque is in the family church at Chew Magna, Somerset. The Partridges had a son, Burgo, and continued to live at the house for almost 30 years, entertaining a roll-call of artists and writers, among them E.M. Forster and Patrick Leigh Fermor. Frances sold the house a year after Ralph’s death in 1961, insisting that it did not become a shrine to the Bloomsbury Group.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Lytton Strachey's modest little brass plaque is in the family chapel at the Church of St Andrew (South Parade, at the bottom of the High Street, Chew Magna, Avon, BS408SH).
Address: A368, Stowey-Sutton, Bath and North East Somerset BS39 5TX, UK (51.34174, -2.58037)
Type: Museum (open to public)
English Heritage Building ID: 32831 (Grade II, 1960)
Place
Sutton Court is an English house remodelled by Thomas Henry Wyatt in the 1850s from a manor house built in the XV and XVI centuries around a XIV-century fortified pele tower and surrounding buildings. The house is at Stowey in the Chew Valley in an area of Somerset now part of Bath and North East Somerset, near to the village of Bishop Sutton. The house is surrounded by an extensive estate, laid out as a Ferme ornée, part of which is now the Folly Farm nature reserve. Since the early modern period the house has been the country seat of several prominent families including the St Loes one of whom married Bess of Hardwick. They lived at Sutton Court and expanded the property in the second half of the XVI century. Throughout the XVIII and XIX centuries it was owned by the Strachey baronets and their descendants until it was sold in 1987 and converted into apartments. In the early 1980's the house was used as a film location for the BBC Look and Read series “Dark Towers,” a series very popular to this day in Primary schools.
Life
Who: Giles Lytton Strachey (March 1, 1880 – January 21, 1932)
The house became the seat of the Strachey family including John Strachey, the geologist, who inherited estates including Sutton Court from his father in 1674 at three years of age. He introduced a theory of rock formations known as Stratum, based on a pictorial cross-section of the geology under the estate and coal seams in nearby coal works of the Somerset Coalfield. He projected them according to their measured thicknesses and attitudes into unknown areas between the coal workings. The purpose was to enhance the value of his grant of a coal-lease on parts of his estate. This work was later developed by William Smith. Henry Strachey, the grandson of the geologist and a senior civil servant, was created a baronet in 1801. When he inherited the house in the XVIII century the house had been mortgaged, however the mortgage was paid by Strachey's employer Clive of India. Henry Strachey, the 2nd Baronet, was appointed High Sheriff of Somerset in 1832 and Edward Strachey the 3rd Baronet High Sheriff in 1864. In 1858 much of the house was remodelled for the 3rd Baronet by Thomas Henry Wyatt. The 4th Baronet who was also Edward Strachey, a Liberal politician, was returned to Parliament for Somerset South at the 1892 general election. He served under Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman and later H. H. Asquith as Treasurer of the Household from 1905 to 1909 and under Asquith as Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Agriculture and Fisheries from 1909 to 1911. He was raised to the Peerage as Baron Strachie in 1911. During the 1970s major restoration work was undertaken to deal with dry rot and replace wiring which resulted in the removal of several ceilings and decorations from many of the rooms. Maurice Towneley-O'Hagan the 3rd Baron O'Hagan married Edward Strachey's daughter, the Hon. Frances Constance Maddalena and thereby gained Sutton Court. When he died it passed to his grandson, Tory MEP Charles Strachey, 4th Baron O'Hagan. He sold it in 1987 for conversion into flats. The building is now private apartments set in fifteen acres (3 ha) of communal grounds, including a trout lake and tennis court. It is run by a management company made up of the residents. Lytton Strachey was the fifth son and the eleventh child of Lieutenant General Sir Richard Strachey, an officer in the British colonial armed forces, and his second wife, the former Jane Grant, who became a leading supporter of the women's suffrage movement. Sir Richard Strachey GCSI FRS (1817–1908), third son of Edward Strachey and grandson of Sir Henry Strachey, 1st Baronet was born on July 24, 1817, at Sutton Court, Stowey, Somerset.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Buried: Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County, New York, USA

Ogden Codman, Jr. was an American architect and interior decorator in the Beaux-Arts styles, and co-author with Edith Wharton of The Decoration of Houses (1897). Codman spent his youth from 1875 to 1884 at Dinard, an American resort colony in France, and on returning to America in 1884, studied at the MIT. Wharton became one of his first Newport clients for her home there, Land's End. Subsequently she introduced Codman to Cornelius Vanderbilt II, who hired him to design the second and third floor rooms of his Newport summer home, The Breakers. In 1907, Codman built the Codman-Davis House in Washington, D.C. for his cousin Martha Codman, one of the few intact homes that he designed. This included a carriage house, now the Apex Night Club, ironically a gay club. Although a noted homosexual, on 8 October, 1904, Codman married one of his commissioner, Leila Griswold Webb, widow of railroad magnate H. Walter Webb, who died unexpectedly in 1910. In 1920, Codman left New York to return to France, where he spent the rest of his life at the Château de Grégy, wintering at Villa Leopolda in Villefranche-sur-Mer: it is his masterpiece, the fullest surviving expression of his esthetic.
Together from 1904 to 1910: 6 years.
Leila Howard Griswold Webb Codman (November 12, 1856 - January 21, 1910)
Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 - January 8, 1951)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Sleepy Hollow, New York, is the resting place of numerous famous figures, including Washington Irving, whose story "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" is set in the adjacent Old Dutch Burying Ground. Incorporated in 1849 as Tarrytown Cemetery, it posthumously honored Irving's request that it change its name to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery.
Address: 540 N Broadway, Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591, USA (41.09702, -73.86162)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
National Register of Historic Places: 09000380, 2009
Place
The cemetery is a non-profit, non-sectarian burying ground of about 90 acres (360,000 m2). It is contiguous with, but separate from, the church yard of the colonial-era church that was a setting for "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow". The Rockefeller family estate (see Kykuit), whose grounds abut Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, contains the private Rockefeller cemetery. Several outdoor scenes from the 1970 feature film “House of Dark Shadows” were filmed at the cemetery's receiving vault.
Notable queer burials at Sleepy Hollow Cemetery:
• Elizabeth Arden (1878–1966), businesswoman who built a cosmetics empire.
• Brooke Astor (1902–2007), philanthropist and socialite.
• Vincent Astor (1891–1959), philanthropist; member of the Astor family.
• Paul Leicester Ford (1865–1902), editor, bibliographer, novelist, and biographer; brother of Malcolm Webster Ford by whose hand he died.
• Leila Howard Griswold Webb Codman (1856-1910), widow of railroad magnate H. Walter Webb, in 1904 married Ogden Codman, Jr. but died unexpectedly in 1910.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Duncan James Corrowr Grant was a British painter and designer of textiles, pottery, theatre sets and costumes. He was a member of the Bloomsbury Group.
Born: January 21, 1885, Aviemore, United Kingdom
Died: May 8, 1978, Aldermaston, United Kingdom
Education: Westminster School of Art
Lived: Wissett Lodge, Lodge Ln, Wissett, Halesworth, Suffolk IP19 0JQ, UK (52.35866, 1.47037)
Charleston Farmhouse, West Firle, Lewes, East Sussex BN8 6LL, UK (50.84268, 0.11559)
Hilton Hall, High St, Hilton, Huntingdon PE28 9NE, UK (52.31732, -0.09924)
24 Victoria Square, SW1W
26a Canonbury Square, N1
19 Fitzroy Square, Fitzrovia, London W1T 6EU, UK
22 Fitzroy Square, Fitzrovia, London W1T 6EU, UK
26 Fitzroy Square, Fitzrovia, London W1T 6EU, UK
8 Fitzroy Street, W1T
28 Percy Street, W1T
1 Taviton Street, WC1H
143 Fellows Road, NW3
Doune of Rothiemurchus, The Polchar, Aviemore PH22, UK (57.1649, -3.83368)
45 Quai de Bourbon, Ile-St.-Louis, Paris
3 Park Square West, NW1
Buried: St Peter, The Street, West Firle, East Sussex, BN8 6LP
Books: Private

John Maynard Keynes, Baron Keynes of Tilton, was the preeminent economist of the 20th century. The artist Duncan Grant, whom he met in 1908, was one of Keynes's great loves. He was with Grant for nearly eight years and supported him financially even after they broke up. Keynes was also involved with Lytton Strachey. Keynes had won the affections of Arthur Hobhouse, as well as Grant, both times falling out with a jealous Strachey for it. Strachey had previously found himself put off by Keynes, not least because of his manner of "treat[ing] his love affairs statistically". Keynes' friends in the Bloomsbury Group were initially surprised when, in his later years, he began dating and pursuing affairs with women, demonstrating himself to be bisexual. Ray Costelloe (who would later marry Oliver Strachey) was an early heterosexual interest of Keynes. In 1906, Keynes had written of this infatuation that, "I seem to have fallen in love with Ray a little bit, but as she isn't male I haven't [been] able to think of any suitable steps to take.” In 1921, Keynes wrote that he had fallen "very much in love" with Lydia Lopokova, a well-known Russian ballerina, and one of the stars of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. In the early years of his courtship, he maintained an affair with a younger man, Sebastian Sprott, in tandem with Lopokova, but eventually chose Lopokova exclusively. They married in 1925.
Together from 1908 to 1916: 8 years.
Duncan Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978)
John Maynard Keynes, 1st Baron Keynes (June 5, 1883 – April 21, 1946)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

David Garnett was a British writer and publisher. As a child, he had a cloak made of rabbit skin and thus received the nickname "Bunny", by which he was known to friends and intimates all his life. Garnett was bisexual, as were several members of the artistic and literary Bloomsbury Group, and he had affairs with Francis Birrell and Duncan Grant. A writer, he first met members of the Bloomsbury group in 1910 but was not fully accepted by them until 1914, when he became Duncan Grant's lover. Like Grant, Garnett was a conscientious objector and having worked in France in 1915 with the Friends War Victims Relief Mission, he worked as a farm laborer to avoid conscription on his return to England. Garnett moved with Duncan Grant and Vanessa Bell to Charleston farmhouse in 1916. He married Grant’s daughter (by Vanessa Bell, and accepted by her husband Clive Bell), Angelica, in 1942. He was present at her birth on Dec. 25, 1918, and wrote to a friend shortly afterwards, "I think of marrying it. When she is 20, I shall be 46 – will it be scandalous?” When Angelica was in her early twenties, they did marry, to the horror of her parents.
Together from 1914 to 1921: 7 years.
David Garnett (March 9, 1892 – February 17, 1981)
Duncan Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Duncan Grant was a British painter and designer. He was a cousin, and for some time a lover, of Lytton Strachey. Through the Stracheys, Duncan was introduced to the Bloomsbury Group, where John Maynard Keynes became another of his lovers. Grant is best known for his painting style, which developed in the wake of French post-impressionist exhibitions mounted in London in 1910. He often worked with, and was influenced by, another member of the group, art critic and artist Roger Fry. Grant was in a relationship with Vanessa Bell and is the father of her daughter, Angelica. Duncan had many serious relationships with men, most notably David Garnett, who will marry his daughter. In Grant's later years, the poet Paul Roche, whom he had known since 1946, took care of him and enabled Grant to maintain his way of life. Roche was a British poet, novelist, and professor of English. Roche returned to England from New York to be with Grant after Bell's death, eventually joined by his entire family. Clarissa Tanner, Roche’s wife, came to accept Grant's role in Roche's life, although sexual relations between Roche and Grant cooled off out of respect for Tanner. Roche was devastated by Grant’s death at the age of 93.
Together from 1946 to 1978: 32 years.
Duncan James Corrowr Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978)
Donald Robert Paul Roche (September 26, 1916 - October 30, 2007)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Doune of Rothiemurchus, two miles south of Aviemore in Strathspey is an XVII-century mansion which replaced an earlier castle. The lands were held by the Shaws, Mackintoshes and by the Dallases of Cantray. James Shaw of Rothiemurchus was killed at the Battle of Harlaw in 1411.
Address: The Polchar, Aviemore PH22, UK (57.1649, -3.83368)
Type: Guest Facility (open to public)
Historic Scotland Building ID: 253 (Grade B, 1978)
Place
An elegant country house, the home of the Grants of Rothiemurchus for centuries. The Doune stands beside an ancient motte, or hill fort (Doune comes from 'dun' for a fortified place). The house dates to the XVI century, and was probably built by the Shaw family. The house was extended in the 1780s and again in 1803 when the Georgian frontage was added. For a time in the 1930s the house was operated as a hotel, and it was used by the army as a base during WWII. After the war the house was abandonned, and by 1975 it was derelict and in danger of being lost forever. An ambitious programme of ongoing restoration work has restored it to something approaching its former glory. Doune of Rothiemurchus was the home of Elizabeth Grant, who wrote her “Memoires of a Highland Lady” here. Visitors can explore the Doune as part of a themed “Highland Lady Safari,” or a Rothiemurchus Experience Safari Land Rover tour. The Doune is set in the midst of a glorious outdoor estate, with a location on the edge of Britain's winter playground; the Cairngorms National Park. The estate offers superb scenery and a huge variety of outdoor recreational activities.
Life
Who: Duncan James Corrowr Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978)
Duncan Grant was a British painter and designer of textiles, pottery, theatre sets and costumes. He was a member of the Bloomsbury Group.He was a grandson of Sir John Peter Grant, 12th Laird of Rothiemurchus, KCB, GCMG, sometime Lieutenant-Governor of Bengal. Grant was also the first cousin twice removed of John Grant, 13th Earl of Dysart (b. 1946). Grant was born on January 21, 1885 to Major Bartle Grant, a "poverty-stricken" major in the army, and Ethel McNeil in Rothiemurchus, Aviemore, Scotland. Between 1887-94 the family lived in India and Burma, returning to England every two years. During this period Grant was educated by his governess, Alice Bates. Along with Rupert Brooke, Grant attended Hillbrow School, Rugby (between 1894–99). During this period, Grant would spend his school holidays at Hogarth House, Chiswick with his grandmother, Lady Grant. He attended St Paul's School, London (as a boarder for two terms) between 1899-91 where he was awarded several art prizes. Between 1899/1900-1906, Grant lived with his aunt and uncle, Sir Richard and Lady Strachey and their children. Lady Strachey was able to persuade Grant's parents that he should be allowed to pursue an education in art. In 1902 Grant was enrolled by his aunt at Westminster School of Art; he attended for the next three years. While at Westminster, Grant was encouraged in his studies by Simon Bussy, a French painter and lifelong friend of Matisse, who went on to marry Dorothy Strachey.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Back in London in 1905, Duncan Grant lived again with his parents at 143 Fellows Road, NW3 on the lower slopes of Hampstead. The Stracheys were nearby, having moved in June to 67 Belsize Park Gardens.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

English Heritage Blue Plaque: 33 Fitzroy Square, Roger Fry (1866–1934), “In this house Roger Fry 1866–1934 Artist and Art Critic ran the Omega Workshops 1913–1919"
Address: Fitzroy Square, Fitzrovia, London W1T 6EU, UK
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
Place
Fitzroy Square is one of the Georgian squares in London and is the only one found in the central London area known as Fitzrovia. The square, nearby Fitzroy Street, and the Fitzroy Tavern in Charlotte Street have the family name of Charles FitzRoy, 2nd Duke of Grafton, into whose ownership the land passed through his marriage. His descendant Charles FitzRoy, 1st Baron Southampton developed the area during the late XVIII and early XIX century. Fitzroy Square was a speculative development intended to provide London residences for aristocratic families, and was built in four stages. Leases for the eastern and southern sides, designed by Robert Adam, were granted in 1792; building began in 1794 and was completed in 1798 by Adam’s brothers James and William. These buildings are fronted in Portland stone brought by sea from Dorset. The Napoleonic Wars and a slump in the London property market brought a temporary stop to construction of the square after the south and east sides were completed. According to the records of the Squares Frontagers’ Committee, 1815 residents looked out on “vacant ground, the resort of the idle and profligate.” Another contemporary account describes the incomplete square: “The houses are faced with stone, and have a greater proportion of architectural excellence and embellishment than most others in the metropolis. They were designed by the Adams, but the progress of the late war prevented the completion of the design. It is much to be regretted, that it remains in its present unfinished state.” The northern and western sides were subsequently constructed in 1827-1829 and 1832-1835 respectively, and are stucco-fronted. The south side suffered bomb damage during WWII and was rebuilt with traditional facades to remain in keeping with the rest of the square.
Notable queer residents at Fitzroy Square:
• No. 8, W1T was the home of the painter James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903.)
• No. 19, W1T was the base for the “International School” run by Louise Michel in the 1890s. Later, from 1909 to 1911, was the home of Bloomsbury Group artist Duncan Grant (1885-1978.)
• No. 21, W1T was Roger Fry (December 14, 1866 –September 9, 1934)’s studio
• No. 22, W1T was Duncan Grant’s studio.
• No. 26, W1T Duncan Grant and John Maynard Keynes shared a flat.
• Engligh Heritage Blue Plaque: 29 Fitzroy Square, W1T Virginia Woolf, née Stephen (1882–1941), "Novelist and Critic lived here 1907–1911" Also George Bernard Shaw lived here from 1887 until his marriage in 1898.
• No. 33, W1T housed Roger Fry (1866-1934)’s Omega Workshop, creating avant-garde furniture from 1913 to 1919.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Charleston, in East Sussex is a property associated with the Bloomsbury group, that is open to the public.
Address: West Firle, Lewes, East Sussex BN8 6LL, UK (50.84268, 0.11559)
Type: Museum (open to public)
Phone: +44 1323 811265
English Heritage Building ID: 292908 (Grade II, 1965)
Place
The interior of the XVIII century farmhouse contains an important series of mural and furniture decorations painted between 1916-1939 by Duncan Grant and Vanessa Bell. Charleston was the country home of Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant and is an example of their decorative style within a domestic context, representing the fruition of over sixty years of artistic creativity. Vanessa Bell wrote of this time; "It will be an odd life, but ... it ought to be a good one for painting." In addition to the house and artists’ garden, there is an exhibition gallery showing a mix of contemporary and historical shows of fine and decorative art, a Crafts Council selected shop selling applied art and books relating to Bloomsbury, a small tea room and a video presentation. Charleston hosts a number of special events throughout the year, most notably the Charleston Festival which is centred on talks and drama relating to literary, artistic and Bloomsbury themes. The house is located in the village of Firle, in the Lewes District of East Sussex. As you enter the street in Firle village, continue up the street after the Ram Inn and you will see Little Talland House on the left, opposite the village hall. Little Talland House was rented by Virginia Woolf from January 1911 to January 1912. “I'm very much excited - furnishing my cottage, and staining the floors the colours of the Atlantic in a storm.” (Virginia Woolf, Letters, no. 552) “I've got to go down [to Firle] and make curtains and move beds at the cottage, having been so rash as to ask 5 people to stay the week after. Nessa is bringing a sewing machine; and in the intervals, I shall spur her to bouts of talk.” (Letters, no. 553) “I spent yesterday finishing off the cottage. Its right underneath the downs, and though itself an eyesore, still that dont matter when one's inside. I have one gooseberry bush; 3 mongrels, thought by some to grow currants. Shall you ever come and stay there? There is a Bath, and a W. C.” (Letters, no. 554, to Violet Dickinson) “The villa is inconceivably ugly, done up in patches of post-impressionist colour.” (Letters, no. 561). The graves of Vanessa and Quentin Bell and Duncan Grant are quite close to the wall on the North side of the churchyard at St Peter (The Street, West Firle, East Sussex, BN8 6LP).
Life
Who: Duncan James Corrowr Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978) and Vanessa Bell, née Stephen (May 30, 1879 –April 7, 1961)
In 1916 the artists Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant moved to Sussex with their unconventional household when Grant, under the terms of his exemption from military service, was employed at a nearby farm together with David Garnett (1892-1981.) Over the following half century Charleston became the country meeting place for the group of artists, writers and intellectuals known as Bloomsbury. Garnett, Clive Bell and John Maynard Keynes lived at Charleston for considerable periods; Virginia and Leonard Woolf, E. M. Forster, Lytton Strachey and Roger Fry were frequent visitors. Inspired by Italian fresco painting and the Post-Impressionists, the artists decorated the walls, doors and furniture at Charleston. The walled garden was redesigned in a style reminiscent of southern Europe, with mosaics, box hedges, gravel pathways and ponds, but with a touch of Bloomsbury humour in the placing of the statuary. "It’s most lovely, very solid and simple, with ... perfectly flat windows and wonderful tiled roofs. The pond is most beautiful, with a willow at one side and a stone or flint wall edging it all round the garden part, and a little lawn sloping down to it, with formal bushes on it." — Vanessa Bell. The rooms on show form a complete example of the decorative art of the Bloomsbury artists: murals, painted furniture, ceramics, objects from the Omega Workshops, paintings and textiles. The collection includes work by Auguste Renoir, Picasso, Derain, Matthew Smith, Sickert, Stephen Tomlin (1901-1937) and Eugène Delacroix.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

"Vanessa Bell, who had fallen in love with Duncan Grant before the start of the war, was painting in a farm-cottage on the Sussex coast, living in an uneasy triangle with Duncan and his new lover, David (known as Bunny) Garnett. In 1918 Bell gave birth to Grant’s child, Angelica Bell.” Hermione Lee, “Virginia Woolf” (1996)
Address: Lodge Ln, Wissett, Halesworth, Suffolk IP19 0JQ, UK (52.35866, 1.47037)
Type: Guest Facility (open to public)
Phone: +44 01986 873173
Place
Wissett is a village and parish in the Waveney district of Suffolk located at 52.35N 01.46E TM3679 about 2 km (about 1.5 miles) northwest of Halesworth. Historically, it was in the hundred of Blything. It has a population of about 200, measured at 268 in the 2011 Census. Wisset manor was held by Ralph the staller, Baron of Gael in Brittany before the Norman Conquest. Ralph was created Earl of Suffolk and Norfolk in 1067, but his son lost the title and the manor passed to Count Alan of Brittany and Richmond in 1075. The Domesday Book shows that in 1086 Wissett had a church at Rumburgh with two carucates of free land, twelve monks, and a chapel in the village. The XI century flint parish church dedicated to Saint Andrew has a circular church tower with a floor dated to the XII Century. This is the oldest recorded church tower floor in the United Kingdom. Built as a chapel to Rumburgh Priory, the surviving elements of the Norman church are two doors to the nave and the tower arch. The parish is now part of the Blyth Valley Team Ministry in the diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich. Vanessa Bell, Duncan Grant, and David Garnett lived in Wissett for the summer of 1916. Virginia Woolf (Vanessa’s sister) said after visiting them: "Wissett seems to lull asleep all ambition. Don’t you think they have discovered the secret of life? I thought it wonderfully harmonious." Wissett Hall is a red brick manor house owned by Colin Holmes, co-founder of Dencora PLC. The village pub is the Plough Inn. Wissett Wines are produced at the Valley Farm Vineyards by Elaine Heeler and Vanessa Tucker, who brought the business in 2014, Wissett Wines was established in 1987.
Life
Who: David Garnett (March 9, 1892 – February 17, 1981), Duncan James Corrowr Grant (January 21, 1885 – May 8, 1978) and Vanessa Bell, née Stephen (May 30, 1879 – April 7, 1961)
David Garnett was a British writer and publisher. He was the son of Constance Clara Garnett (née Black), an English translator of XIX-century Russian literature, one of the first English translators of Leo Tolstoy, Fyodor Dostoyevsky and Anton Chekhov who introduced them on a wide basis to the English-speaking public, and Edward William Garnett, an English writer, critic and a significant and personally generous literary editor, who was instrumental in getting D. H. Lawrence's “Sons and Lovers” published. As a child, David had a cloak made of rabbit skin and thus received the nickname "Bunny,” by which he was known to friends and intimates all his life. His first wife was illustrator Rachel "Ray" Marshall (1891–1940), sister of translator and diarist Frances Partridge. He and Ray, whose woodcuts appear in some of his books, had two sons, one of whom (Richard) went to Beacon Hill School. Ray died relatively young of breast cancer. Garnett was bisexual, as were several members of the artistic and literary Bloomsbury Group, and he had affairs with Francis Birrell and Duncan Grant. He was present at the birth of Grant’s daughter, Angelica (by Vanessa Bell, and accepted by her husband Clive Bell), on Dec. 25, 1918, and wrote to a friend shortly afterwards, "I think of marrying it. When she is 20, I shall be 46 – will it be scandalous?.” When Angelica was in her early twenties, they did marry (on May 8, 1942), to the horror of her parents.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The house at 45 Quai de Bourbon, on the Ile-St.-Louis, was owned by Prince Antoine Bibesco (who died in 1951). Mina Curtiss, editor of the letters of Marcel Proust, describes it as “the most heavenly house on the prow of the Ile-St.-Louis, with a view of both sides of the Seine… with a room so beautiful it took my breath away – full length Vuillard panels obviously painted to fit on the walls… a princely residence… all elegant, ancient stone…” Duncan Grant stayed here in 1920.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

From 1920 to 1940 Duncan Grant and Vanessa Bell had their studio at 8 Fitzroy Street, W1T. “The Armchair, 8 Fitzroy Street” by Duncan Grant, 1925, originally in the Collection of H. Trevor Williams, from whom the paiting was purchased by the Leicester Galleries, and subsequently purchased by the Ministry of Works in Dec. 1958, now hangs at Downing Street. The studio was destroyed by a bombing during WWII.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1922 David Garnett published the highly successful novel, “Lady Into Fox.” The money he made from this book enabled him to buy Hilton Hall, an early XVII century house near Huntingdon.
Address: High St, Hilton, Huntingdon PE28 9NE, UK (52.31732, -0.09924)
Type: Private Property
English Heritage Building ID: 54022 (Grade II, 1951)
Place
Described as “The most beautiful of all the Bloomsbury houses” by biographer, critic and art historian Frances Spalding, Hilton Hall was bought by David Garnett Fox in 1924. There he entertained many literary friends: T.E. Lawrence would startle the village by roaring up unannounced on his motorbike; Virginia Woolf came and amused his boys by pretending to be a wolf. D.H. Lawrence teased him for living in a Hall, but added: “It’s not at all grand, except in the way a grandmother is grand, by being ancient.” Hilton Hall was built early in the XVII century perhaps by Robert Walpole, (a very distant relative of the prime minister) who died there in 1699 and is buried in Hilton Church. It was refronted and given new sash windows and panelling in the middle of the XVIII century but the fine Jacobean staircase, wide floorboards and moulded beams all remain. Otherwise it has been very little altered except by an extension containing panelling and a bay window salvaged from the ruins of Old Park Farm in Hilton. Behind the house there is a large dovehouse, also of the XVII century, which was used by Garnett’s second wife, Angelica, as a studio. She was the daughter of the Bloomsbury artists Duncan Grant and Vanessa Bell, and was herself a noted artist. She has left her mark on the house with a decorated bedroom mantelpiece, a large mural in the dovehouse and a mosaic doorstep. Because of its place in the history of the Bloomsbury Group, and its collection of paintings and sculpture – especially by Angelica’s parents, it has been a popular destination for groups from the Cambridge branch of the Art Fund and the Friends of Kettle Yard. The grounds are all enclosed by hedging and fencing. Swimming pool, kitchen garden.
Life
Who: David Garnett (March 9, 1892 – February 17, 1981)
The Garnetts lived at Hilton Hall, Hilton near St Ives in Cambridgeshire, where David Garnett kept a herd of Jersey cows. They had four daughters: in order, Amaryllis, Henrietta, and twins Nerissa and Frances; eventually the couple separated. Amaryllis Garnett (1943–1973) was an actress who had a small part in Harold Pinter’s film adaptation of “The Go-Between” (1970.) She drowned in the Thames, aged 29. Henrietta Garnett married Lytton Burgo Partridge, her father’s nephew by his first wife Ray, but was left a widow with a newborn infant when she was 18; she oversaw the legacies of both David Garnett and Duncan Grant. Nerissa Garnett (1946–2004) was an artist, ceramicist, and photographer. Fanny (Frances) Garnett moved to France where she became a farmer.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Soon after Duncan Grant and Paul Roche’s initial meeting in 1946, Roche moved into the flat owned by Marjorie Strachey (sister of Lytton Strachey) at 1 Taviton Street, WC1H where Grant had the use of a room for three days a week. Although still serving as a priest at St Mary’s, Cadogan Gardens, Roche often wore a sailor suit (a habit begun during the War) to meet Grant at Victoria Station.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

English Heritage Blue Plaque: 145 North End Road, Golders Green, Evelyn Waugh (1903-1966) "Writer lived here"
Address: Canonbury Square, London N1 2AL, UK
Type: Historic Street (open to public)
Place
Canonbury is a residential district in the London Borough of Islington in the north of London. It is roughly in the area between Essex Road, Upper Street and Cross Street and either side of St Paul’s Road. In 1253 land in the area was granted to the Canons of St Bartholomew’s Priory, Smithfield and became known as Canonbury. The area continued predominantly as open land until it was developed as a suburb in the early XIX century. In common with similar inner London areas, it suffered decline when the construction of railways in the 1860s enabled commuting into the city from further afield. The gentrification of the area from the 1950s included new developments to replace war-damaged properties in Canonbury Park North and South as well as restoration of older buildings. East Canonbury is the south-eastern corner of the district, bordering on the Regents Canal. Parts of this area were transferred to the district from the London Borough of Hackney in a boundary adjustment (along the line of the northern tow-path of the canal), in 1993. In the east is the New River Estate (formerly the Marquess Estate), a 1,200 dwelling council estate, completed in 1976 on 26 acres (110,000 m2), and designed by Darbourne & Darke. A dark red brick, traffic free estate, it was praised as an example of municipal architecture, but acquired a bad reputation and has since been extensively redeveloped to improve security for residents. Canonbury Square is an attractive square, developed between 1805 and 1830, it includes a variety of distinct styles. In 1812, when few properties had been built, the New North Road turnpike, now known as Canonbury Road, was constructed and bisects the square. Many significant figures from the arts and literary worlds have lived on the square, including George Orwell, Evelyn Waugh and Samuel Phelps.
Notable queer residents at Canonbury Square:
• Sir Francis Bacon (1561-1626), King James I’s Lord Chancellor, lived in Canonbury Tower, N1 1616-1626
• Evelyn Waugh (October 28, 1903- April 10, 1966), writer, lived at 17a Canonbury Square, N1; he left after a couple of years in 1930, claiming he was tired of having to explain to friends why he was livng in so appalling a district. Waugh lived also at 145 North End Road (London, W14)
• Duncan Grant (1885-1978) and Vanessa Bell (1879-1961), painters and designers, lived at 26a Canonbury Square, N1 from 1949 to 1955.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

28 Percy Street, W1T was the London base for Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant from 1955 to 1961.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

From 1961 to 1970 Duncan Grant stayed at 24 Victoria Square, SW1W. Grant moved here soon after Vanessa Bell’s death, and Paul Roche found him sitting among his unsorted belongings and furniture there in a state of emotional collapse, unable to focus on the mess. “I think it’s simpler just to die,” he told Paul. Clarissa Roche helped brighten his rooms by renewing curtains and covers.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

3 Park Square West, NW1, is part of John Nash's grand scheme for Regent's Park as a setting for the Regent's own palace (never built). It was home of Professor Patrick Trevor-Roper, eminent eye surgeon, from the 1960s to his death in 2004. Trevor-Roper was one of only three witnesses to the Wolfenden Committee on Homosexual Law Reform to identify themselves as gay men - a powerful demonstration of the legal and social pressure on gay men to remain discrete about their sexuality in the early 1960s. Trevor-Roper was committed to homosexual law reform throughout his life. Patrician in his manner, he had many liberal and bohemian friends as well as establishment connections. 3 Park Square West was the venue for the first meeting of the founders of the Terrence Higgins Trust. From 1970, gay artist Duncan Grant spent the last fifteen years of his life as a lodger, living and working in the basement areas of the house and often audible throughout the building due to his love of playing very loud rock music. Led Zeppelin was one of his favourites. Trevor-Roper furnished the house in Regency taste and was a long-standing campaigner - ultimately successful - against the opticians dispensing monopoly of spectacles. He also supported conservationists battles against the destruction by developers of historic areas of London; the house was the initial office of both the Spitalfields Trust and Twentieth Century Society.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Jamie Pedersen is an American lawyer and politician from the state of Washington who has served as a member of the Washington State Legislature since January 2007. He currently represents the 43rd District in the Washington State Senate.
Born: September 9, 1968 (age 48), Puyallup, Washington, United States
Education: Yale Law School
Puyallup High School
Yale University
Spouse: Eric Pedersen (m. 2004)
Party: Democratic Party
Residence: Seattle, Washington, United States
Succeeded by: Brady Walkinshaw
Anniversary: September 27
Married: July 3, 2004

Jamie Pedersen is an American lawyer and politician from the state of Washington who has served as a member of the Washington State Legislature since Jan. 2007. He currently represents the 43rd District in the Washington State Senate. Pedersen is married to Eric Cochran Pedersen, a high-school assistant principal whom he met while attending Central Lutheran Church on Capitol Hill in Seattle. They married at the same church on July 3, 2004. They registered as domestic partners on July 23, 2007, the day that the law went into effect. Their oldest son, Trygve, was born a month later on August 27. He was joined by his brothers Leif, Erik, and Anders on July 12, 2009. Pedersen graduated summa cum laude in American Studies from Yale and received his law degree from Yale Law School. Pedersen joined Preston Gates & Ellis in 1995, working on corporate mergers. His pro bono work during this time focused on gay rights issues and he was Lambda Legal's lead attorney on the state's same-sex marriage case – Andersen v. King County. In 2012 Pedersen publicly endorsed Washington Referendum 74, which legalized the same-sex marriage.
Together since 2004: 11 years.
Eric Cochran Pedersen
Jamie Pedersen (born September 9, 1968)
Anniversary: September 27
Married: July 3, 2004



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Barbara Stanwyck was an American actress. She was a film and television star, known during her 60-year career as a consummate and versatile professional with a strong, realistic screen presence, and a ...
Born: July 16, 1907, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, United States
Died: January 20, 1990, Santa Monica, California, United States
Education: Erasmus Hall High School
Lived: 1055 Loma Vista Drive
Buried: Lone Pine, California (ashes)
Height: 1.65 m
Children: Anthony Dion Fay
Spouse: Robert Taylor (m. 1939–1952), Frank Fay (m. 1928–1935)

Barbara Stanwyck was an American actress. She was a film and television star, known during her 60-year career as a consummate and versatile professional with a strong, realistic screen presence, and a favorite of directors including Cecil B. DeMille, Fritz Lang and Frank Capra. She was often cast as a tough woman in a man’s world, always in command and control, whether playing a reporter (Meet John Doe), a criminal manipulator (Double Indemnity, The Lady Eve), or a husbandless rancher (The Big Valley). She played a lesbian in Walk on the Wild Side, and it was not much of a stretch. For nearly thirty years, Stanwyck had an intimate relationship with her publicist Helen Ferguson, former actress. In 1933, Ferguson left acting to focus on publicity work, a job she became very successful in and which made her a major power in Hollywood; she was representing such big name stars as Henry Fonda, Barbara Stanwyck, and Robert Taylor, among others. Ferguson represented actress Loretta Young for more than nineteen years.
They met in 1947 and remained friends until Ferguson’s death in 1977: 30 years.
Barbara Stanwyck (July 16, 1907 – January 20, 1990)
Helen Ferguson (July 23, 1901 - March 14, 1977)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Barbara Stanwyck's career spanned fifty years, from the Golden Age of Movies through her time in television. She was nominated for four Academy Awards, was given an hon-orary Oscar in 1982, and notably portrayed the matriarch in TV's “The Big Valley.” For many years, she and film star Robert Taylor were lovers. After his death in 1969, the actress began to see his spirit in her Beverly Hills home, at 1055 Loma Vista Drive, off Sunset Boulevard, and visitations continued right up until her own death in 1990. Upon her death at age 82, her will demanded her ashes be spread in Lone Pine, California.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Ogden Codman Jr. was an American architect and interior decorator in the Beaux-Arts styles, and co-author with Edith Wharton of The Decoration of Houses, which became a standard in American interior design.
Born: January 19, 1863, Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Died: January 8, 1951, France
Education: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Books: The Decoration of Houses, The Decoration of Houses - Scholar's Choice Edition
People also search for: Edith Wharton, Richard Morris Hunt, Francis L.V. Hoppin, Seth C. Bradford, Lucy Wharton Drexel
Lived: Codman House, 34 Codman Rd, Lincoln, MA 01773, USA (42.41838, -71.33083)
7 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128, USA (40.78782, -73.95489)
Château de Grégy, 7 Allée du Château, 77166 Évry-Grégy-sur-Yerre, France (48.65295, 2.63185)
Villa Leopolda, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France (43.70397, 7.3111)
Buried: Lincoln Cemetery, Lincoln, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, USA

Ogden Codman, Jr. was an American architect and interior decorator in the Beaux-Arts styles, and co-author with Edith Wharton of The Decoration of Houses (1897). Codman spent his youth from 1875 to 1884 at Dinard, an American resort colony in France, and on returning to America in 1884, studied at the MIT. Wharton became one of his first Newport clients for her home there, Land's End. Subsequently she introduced Codman to Cornelius Vanderbilt II, who hired him to design the second and third floor rooms of his Newport summer home, The Breakers. In 1907, Codman built the Codman-Davis House in Washington, D.C. for his cousin Martha Codman, one of the few intact homes that he designed. This included a carriage house, now the Apex Night Club, ironically a gay club. Although a noted homosexual, on 8 October, 1904, Codman married one of his commissioner, Leila Griswold Webb, widow of railroad magnate H. Walter Webb, who died unexpectedly in 1910. In 1920, Codman left New York to return to France, where he spent the rest of his life at the Château de Grégy, wintering at Villa Leopolda in Villefranche-sur-Mer: it is his masterpiece, the fullest surviving expression of his esthetic.
Together from 1904 to 1910: 6 years.
Leila Howard Griswold Webb Codman (November 12, 1856 - January 21, 1910)
Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 - January 8, 1951)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Codman House (also known as The Grange) is a historic house set on a 16-acre (6.5 ha) estate at 34 Codman Road, Lincoln, Massachusetts.
Address: 34 Codman Rd, Lincoln, MA 01773, USA (42.41838, -71.33083)
Type: Museum (open to public)
Phone:+1 617-994-6671
National Register of Historic Places: 74000373, 1974
Place
Built in approximately 1735 in the Georgian style
Thanks to a gift by Dorothy Codman, Codman Estate has been owned by Historic New England since 1969 and is open to the public June 1–October 15 on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month. The main house was originally built by Chambers Russell I. It was enlarged in the 1790s to its current three-story Federal style by John Codman, brother-in-law of Chambers Russell III and executor of his estate. This was perhaps with some involvement of noted American architect Charles Bulfinch. The interior is extensively furnished with portraits, memorabilia, and art works collected in Europe. Various rooms preserve the decorative schemes of every era, including those of noted interior designer Ogden Codman, Jr. The former carriage house, built c. 1870 to a design by Snell and Gregerson, is also located on the property. Until the 1980s, it was original to its use as a stable and an early auto garage and contained many artifacts of both. A few of those artifacts continue to be on display in the carriage house including an early gas pump and a large machine powered lathe. The grounds have been farmed almost continuously since 1735 and now also include an Italian garden, circa 1899, with perennial beds, statuary, and a reflecting pool filled with waterlilies, as well as an English cottage garden, circa 1930.
Life
Who: Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 – January 8, 1951)
Codman was born to Ogden Codman, Sr. (of Boston and the Codman House) and the former Sarah Bradlee in Boston, Massachusetts. He spent his youth from 1875 to 1884 at Dinard, an American resort colony in France, and on returning to America in 1884, studied at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was influenced in his career by two uncles, John Hubbard Sturgis (architect) and Richard Ogden (a decorator), and admired Italian and French architecture of the XVI, XVII, and XVIII centuries, as well as English Georgian architecture and the colonial architecture of Boston. While he died at Evry-Gregy-sur-Yerre in France, he is buried at Lincoln Cemetery (Lincoln, MA 01773).



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Although Ogden Codman, Jr. had been born in Boston, he grew up in Paris and his love for all things French was deep-rooted.
Addresses:
Archer M. Huntington house, 1083 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10128, USA (40.78361, -73.95848)
Lucy D. Dahlgren house, 15 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128, USA (40.7877, -73.95455)
Ogden Codman house, 7 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128, USA (40.78782, -73.95489)
American Irish Historical Society, 991 Fifth Avenue, NY 10128, USA (40.7777, -73.96278)
Acquavella Galleries, 18 East 79th Street, NY 10128, USA (40.77623, -73.96266)
Place
- Archer M. Huntington house, 1083 Fifth Avenue: Archer Milton Huntington (1870-1955) was the son of Arabella (née Duval) Huntington and the stepson of railroad magnate and industrialist Collis P. Huntington. A lifelong friend of the arts, he is known for his scholarly works in the field of Hispanic Studies and for founding The Hispanic Society of America in New York City. While Huntington was busy establishing and donating museums he also set to work remodeling his home. The decorator Ogden Codman, Jr. was extremely popular among the moneyed set and Huntington commissioned him to renovate No. 1083. In 1913 he began transforming the façade into a limestone-clad XVIII century French townhouse. A four-story bowed front with a rusticated base culminated in a deep balcony behind a stone balustrade at the fifth floor. A stately mansard roof with copper trim composed the sixth floor. Tall French doors above the entrance were finished with a segmental arched pediment. Codman made use of Huntington’s vacant plot behind the property to enlarge the house with an addition creating an L-shape that extended to East 89th Street. The second floor was dedicated solely to entertaining. The Huntingtons’ living quarters were on the third floor and the top two floors were outfitted as servants’ rooms – enough to accommodate 25 servants. The outward appearance of Archer Milton Huntington’s stately mansion is essentially unchanged since Ogden Codman, Jr. revamped it in 1914. While the three other homes purchased by Huntington in 1902 have been demolished and replaced with a sterile white brick apartment building, No. 1083 elegantly survives. Currently the National Academy Museum and School, notable queer alumni and faculty: Thomas Eakins (1844-1916), Jasper Johns (born 1930), Robert Rauschenberg (1925-2008), John Singer Sargent (1856-1925), Cy Twombly (1928-2011).
- Lucy Drexel Dahlgren house, 15 East 96th Street: The Lucy Drexel Dahlgren House is a historic home located at 15 East 96th Street between Fifth and Madison Avenues on the border between the Carnegie Hill and East Harlem neighborhoods of the Upper East Side of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1915-16, and was designed by Ogden Codman, Jr. in the French Renaissance Revival stye for Lucy Wharton Drexel Dahlgren, a daughter of financier Joseph William Drexel (1833-1888) and Lucy Wharton (1841-1912.) She was the sister of Elizabeth Wharton Drexel (1868-1944.) The limestone house is a companion to Codman’s own residence down the street at 7 East 96th Street, which he designed for himself and had built in 1912-13. The AIA Guide to New York City describes the Dahlgren house as "magisterial" and "disciplined." It features "gentle restications and bas-reliefs." The extremely wealthy and socially prominent Dahlgren spent little time in the house. It was later occupied for many years by Pierre Cartier, the founder of the Cartier’s jewelry store. Apparently, Dahlgren rented the house to Cartier from 1922 on, until she sold it to him in 1927. In 1945, on his retirement, Cartier sold the house to the Roman Catholic Church of St. Francis de Sales, which used it as a convent for the nuns who taught at the church’s parochial school. In 1981 the church sold the house to a private owner, who restored it. It is located within the Upper East Side Historic District.
- Ogden Codman house, 7 East 96th Street: In 1907 Codman purchased the lot at 7 East 96th Street, still several blocks north of the area where the main thrust of mansion building was going on. While they were still contemplating their new home, Codman’s wife of only six years died in 1910. Now alone, Codman set about designing the elegant residence his wife would never share. Completed in 1913, it was a slice of Paris set down on 96th Street. The New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission later described the facade of number 7 as being "full of gaiety and frivolous vitality" and further, "on approaching the house, Paris and the Champs-Élysées immediately come to mind." Ogden Codman lived in his grand home with six servants and his chauffeur until 1920 when he left for his beloved Paris. In December of that year he negotiated a lease by cable to rent the house furnished to George Edward Kent. Kent paid an annual rent of $25,000. The Manhattan Country School purchased the house in 1965. In 2000 a restoration of the façade, including slate roof and copper dormer replacement, and masonry cleaning was completed. The interiors remain almost perfectly intact. The little slice of Paris created by Ogden Codman, Jr. looks much today as it did when he moved in nearly a century ago.
- American Irish Historical Society, 991 Fifth Avenue: Completed in 1901, the lavish Beaux-Arts mansion on Fifth Avenue was a showplace. With a rusticated limestone base, the first three floors bowed out creating a stone-balustraded balcony at the fourth floor. The architects James R. Turner and William. G. Killian chose ruddy-colored brick with carved limestone detailing for the middle three floors, capping it with a dramatic mansard roof with three elegant copper-clad dormers. Here Mary A. King, unmarried daughter of John A. King, lived with her five Irish servants for only a few years until her death. Banker David Crawford Clark purchased the home on April 16, 1906. A member of the firm Clark, Dodge & Co., Clark and his wife were socially prominent and in 1911 commissioned Ogden Codman, Jr., to redesign the interiors. In 1939 the American Irish Historical Society purchased the residence for $145,000 and moved in a year later after renovations were completed. By 2006, the house was what the president-general of the Society, Dr. Kevin Cahill, called “in a state of utter disrepair.” The basement regularly flooded, the electrical and plumbing systems were outdated and the masonry required overall restoration. An aggressive, two-year restoration and renovation was initiated under the direction of Joseph Pell Lombardi. In some cases, the walls were taken down to the studs and lath before the building could be brought into the XX Century and returned to its original grandeur. Original drawings by Odgen Codman Jr., maintained in the New York City Department of Buildings, were consulted to ensure accuracy. The $5 million restoration was completed in March 2008. Today the rich Beaux-Arts mansion with its equally-rich society history sits solidly in the XXI Century while losing none if its century-old architectural integrity.
- J. Woodward Haven House now Acquavella Galleries, 18 East 79th Street: Acquavella Galleries is an art gallery in the Upper East Side neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. Since 1967, the gallery has occupied an elegant five-story French neo-classical townhouse at 18 East 79th, once the New York outpost of London art firm founded by Joseph Duveen. Today, a range of XX century art is represented, including Pop Art and Abstract Expressionism.
Life
Who: Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 – January 8, 1951)
Ogden Codman, Jr.’s New York clients included John D. Rockefeller, Jr., for whom he designed the interiors of the famous Rockefeller family mansion of Kykuit in 1913, and Frederick William Vanderbilt, for whom he designed the interiors for his mansion in Hyde Park, New York, and his house on Fifth Avenue. He also collaborated with Edith Wharton on the redesign of her townhouse at 882-884 Park Avenue as well as on the design of The Mount, her house in Lenox, Massachusetts. His suave and idiomatic suite of Régence and Georgian parade rooms for entertaining are preserved in the townhouse at 991 Fifth Avenue, now occupied by the American Irish Historical Society. His French townhouse in the manner of Gabriel at 18 East 79th Street, for J. Woodward Haven (1908–09) is now occupied by Acquavella Galleries. All told, Codman designed 22 houses to completion, as well as the East Wing of the Metropolitan Club in New York. He also began the trend of lowering the townhouse entrance door from elevated stairways to the basement level. He designed a series of three houses in Louis XIV style at 7 (his own residence), 12, and 15 East 96th Street from 1912 to 1916.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Château de Grègy is a château in Évry-Grégy-sur-Yerre, Seine-et-Marne, France.
Address: 7 Allée du Château, 77166 Évry-Grégy-sur-Yerre, France (48.65295, 2.63185)
Type: Administrative Building (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Saturday 9.00-11.45, Monday and Friday 13.30-17.30
Phone:+33 1 64 05 28 16
Place
Built in 1620
The first château was built by Antoine de Brennes and only two towers remain. Antoine de Clairambault rebuilt the central portion at the beginning of the XIX century, and added wings connecting the tower of a former church to the main building. American decorator and architect Ogden Codman, Jr. owned the château in the XX century, adding its entry pavilions. The chateau is situated along the Yerres River, and is reached via the Pont Saint-Pierre (XVII century.)
Life
Who: Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 – January 8, 1951)
In 1920, Ogden Codman, Jr. left New York to return to France, where he spent the last thirty-one years of his life at the Château de Grégy, wintering at Villa Leopolda in Villefranche-sur-Mer. Codman died at age 87 in 1951. His architectural drawings and papers are collected at the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University; the Codman Family papers are also held by Historic New England and the Boston Athenaeum.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Villa La Leopolda is a large detached villa in Villefranche-sur-Mer, in the Alpes-Maritimes department on the French Riviera. The villa is situated in 18 acres of grounds.
Address: Villefranche-sur-Mer, France (43.70397, 7.3111)
Type: Private Property
Place
Built from 1929 to 1931, Design by Ogden Codman, Jr. (1863-1951)
Villa La Leopolda in its current incarnation was built on an estate once owned by King Leopold II of Belgium. The villa has had several notable owners including Gianni and Marella Agnelli, Izaak and Dorothy J. Killam, and since 1987 by Edmond (1932–1999) and Lily Safra, who inherited the villa after her husband’s death. King Leopold II of Belgium had made the previous estate a present for his mistress Blanche Zélia Joséphine Delacroix, also known as Caroline Lacroix, and it derives its name from him. After Leopold’s death, Blanche Delacroix was evicted, and his nephew, King Albert I, became its owner. During WWI it was used as a military hospital. In 1919, Thérèse Vitali, comtesse de Beauchamp, acquired the property and commissioned modifications. The American architect Ogden Codman, Jr. purchased the dozen existing structures that made up the property including two peasant cottages, and began his architectural magnum opus in 1929. It was complete by 1931, however financial difficulties (and his lavish expenditures) precluded his being able to live in it, so he rented it out to various well-heeled tenants. One famous English couple tried to lease it, but insisted on making changes that were contrary to Codman’s aesthetic objectives and strict list of protective clauses. Negotiations in a Paris Hotel room broke down over the many restrictions Codman imposed, and Ogden’s response was: "I regret that the House of Codman is unable to do business with the House of Windsor." Codman’s extensive designs and construction gave the estate, once a series of unrelated buildings, its current appearance. His neo-Palladian vision, coupled with his in-depth knowledge of historical precedent, resulted in the construction of a spectacular villa with extensive gardens and landscaping. Floor plans, letters, records, and stereo glass-plate views of the newly completed property still exist in the collections of the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities (aka "Historic New England.”)
Life
Who: Ogden Codman, Jr. (January 19, 1863 – January 8, 1951)
In 1920, Ogden Codman, Jr. left New York to return to France, where he spent the last thirty-one years of his life at the Château de Grégy, wintering at Villa Leopolda in Villefranche-sur-Mer, which he created by assembling a number of vernacular structures and their sites: it is his masterpiece, the fullest surviving expression of his esthetic.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Morris Kight was an American gay rights pioneer and peace activist. He is considered one of the original founders of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States.
Born: November 19, 1919, Comanche County, Texas, United States
Died: January 19, 2003, Los Angeles, California, United States
Education: Texas Christian University
Lived: 1822 W 4th St, Los Angeles, CA 90057, USA (34.06055, -118.27037)
Organizations founded: Gay Liberation Front, Los Angeles LGBT Center

Morris Kight was a gay rights pioneer and peace activist, based in Los Angeles. He is considered one of the original founders of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States. In 1958, Kight moved to Los Angeles, where he was the founder or co-founder of many gay and lesbian organizations. The first such organization was the Gay Liberation Front (GLF) in October 1969, the third GLF in the country (after New York and Berkeley). By the next year, there were over 350 GLF organizations around the country. He had a longtime companion named Roy Zucheran, whom he met in 1978. Three days before his death, he donated his memorabilia and archives to the National Gay and Lesbian Archives in Los Angeles. UCLA also has possession of some of his archives. There is a Chinese magnolia tree and a bronze plaque dedicated to him at the Matthew Shepard Triangle in West Hollywood. Morris Kight used to visit this park weekly to tidy up the area, water and plant new flowers. He encouraged others to do the same.
Together from 1978 to 2003: 25 years.
Morris Kight (November 19, 1919 - January 19, 2003)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Though his work focused on Los Angeles, Morris Kight's contributions to the LGBTQ community have spanned the globe. The Gay Community Services Center (now the Los Angeles Gay and Lesbian Center) has grown into the world's largest provider of LGBTQ programs and services. Since Christopher Street West's founding march in 1970 in Los Angeles, gay pride parades and festivals are not only celebrated across the U.S. during the month of June, but also across six continents. Kight remained an influential LGBTQ rights activist late in life. In 1987, he served as a leader of the Second National March on Washington for Gay Rights. The following year, he received a lifetime achievement award from the West Hollywood City Council.
Address: 1822 W 4th St, Los Angeles, CA 90057, USA (34.06055, -118.27037)
Type: Private Property
Life
Who: Morris Kight (November 19, 1919 - January 19, 2003)
Morris Kight is considered one of the founding fathers of the American LGBTQ civil rights movement. Though little is known about his Los Angeles residence, this modest Craftsman home in the Westlake neighborhood—a hub of LGBTQ social activity in the twentieth century—helped form the backdrop to his work as activist and gay rights pioneer. Born and raised in Texas, Kight moved to Los Angeles in 1958, where he would go on to co-found several prominent LGBTQ rights organizations. The most notable of these is the Commitee for Homosexual Freedom, which became the Gay Liberation Front (GLF) in 1969. At the time of the GLF's founding in Los Angeles, two other chapters of the GLF were flourishing in Berkeley and New York. Kight also spearheaded the creation of the Gay Community Services Center, which today is known as the Los Angeles LGBT Center. In 1970, Kight co-founded the Christopher Street West gay pride parade in Los Angeles, the first gay pride parade and festival in the world and still a model for pride events across the globe.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Catherine Talbot was an English author and member of the Blue Stockings Society.
Born: May 1721, Berkshire, United Kingdom
Died: January 19, 1770, London, United Kingdom
People also search for: Elizabeth Carter, Elizabeth Vesey, Montagu 1762-1849 Pennington, Ed
Lived: Lambeth Palace, Lambeth, London SE1 7JU, UK (51.49577, -0.11984)

Elizabeth Carter was an English poet, classicist, writer and translator, and a member of the Bluestocking Circle. Catherine Talbot was an English author. February 1741 saw the beginning of her lifelong friendship with Elizabeth Carter. The two women carried on a lively and copious correspondence. During the whole period of her residence with Thomas Secker, a protégé of Talbot’s father, Catherine Talbot was Secker's almoner. In 1760, accompanied by Elizabeth Carter, she went to Bristol for her health. Secker died in 1768, leaving to Mrs. Talbot and her daughter £13,000 in the public funds. The women moved from Lambeth Palace to Lower Grosvenor Street. There Catherine died of cancer on January 9, 1770, aged 48. Several poems were written in her praise. At her daughter's death in 1770, Mrs. Talbot put her daughter's manuscripts into Elizabeth Carter's hand, leaving their publication to her discretion.
Together from 1741 to 1770: 29 years.
Elizabeth Carter (December 16, 1717 – February 19, 1806)
Catherine Talbot (May 1721 – January 9, 1770)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Lambeth Palace is the official London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury in England, in north Lambeth, on the south bank of the River Thames, 400 m south-east of the Palace of Westminster which has the Houses of Parliament on the opposite bank.
Address: Lambeth, London SE1 7JU, UK (51.49577, -0.11984)
Type: Religious Building (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Sunday 9.30-17.30
Phone: +44 20 7898 1200
English Heritage Building ID: 204400 (Grade I, 1951)
Place
It was at Lambeth Palace where Mary Benson came into her own. As wife of the Archbishop of Canterbury she found her wit, conversational dexterity and irresistible charm suddenly given wide social range. Mary described life at Lambeth Palace as a “thunderous whirlpool,” a “beating fervent keen pulsating life” of queens and countesses, of discussing politics with prime ministers and dining with poets laureate. The building – originally called the Manor of Lambeth or Lambeth House – has been the London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury for nearly 800 years, whose original residence was in Canterbury, Kent. It was acquired by the archbishopric around 1200 AD and has the largest collection of records of the church in its library. It is bounded by Lambeth Palace Road to the west and Lambeth Road to the south but unlike all surrounding land is excluded from the parish of North Lambeth. The garden park is listed and resembles Archbishop’s Park, a neighbouring public park, however was a larger area with a notable orchard until the early XIX century. The former church in front of its entrance has been converted to the Garden Museum. Back in XVIII century, also Catherine Talbot (1721-1770), part of the household of Thomas Secker, Archbihop of Canterbury, lived at Lambeth Palace. Catherine was part of the Blue Stocking Society and had a special friendship with Elizabeth Carter (1717-1806) to whom Catherine’s mother gave her manuscripts after the death from cancer in 1770 of her daughter.
Life
Who: Mary Benson, née Sidgwick (1841 – June 15, 1918)
Mary Benson was an hostess of the Victorian era. She was the wife of Revd. Edward Benson, who during their marriage became Archbishop of Canterbury, i.e. chief bishop of the Church of England and of the world-wide Anglican communion. Their children included several prolific authors and contributors to cultural life. During her marriage, she was involved with Lucy Tait (1856-1938), daughter of the previous Archbishop of Canterbury. She was described by Gladstone, the British Prime Minister, as the “cleverest woman in Europe.” Between 1860 and 1871 she had six children. Their fifth child was the novelist, E. F. Benson, best remembered for the Mapp and Lucia novels and who displeased Oscar Wilde by taking Wilde’s lover Lord Alfred Douglas on a riotous holiday up the Nile. Another son was Arthur A. C. Benson, the author of the lyrics to Elgar’s "Land of Hope and Glory" and master of Magdalene College, Cambridge. Their sixth and youngest child, Robert Hugh Benson, became a priest in the Church of England before converting to Roman Catholicism and writing many popular novels and had a passionate friendship with the writer Frederick Rolfe (the selfstyled “Baron Corvo.”) Their daughter, Margaret “Maggie” Benson was an artist, author and amateur Egyptologist and, accompanied by her friend Nettie Gourlay, ruled over archaeological digs with a whip and a few words of Arabic. After her husband’s death in 1896 Mary set up household with Lucy Tait, daughter of the previous archbishop of Canterbury, Archibald Campbell Tait, who had first moved in with the Bensons in 1889. None of her sons or daughter was “the marrying sort.” At times the family would gather – their various handsome valets and faithful companions in tow – at Mary and Lucy’s house. But Maggie, insanely jealous of Mary’s relationship with Lucy, tried to kill her mother and was institutionalised. Arthur suffered numerous breakdowns. Hugh troubled Mary with his highly public Catholicism and died young. Her friend, the composer Ethel Smyth (1858-1944), once remarked that she was, “as good as God and as clever as the Devil.”



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Boris Evgenievich Kochno or Kokhno was a Russian poet, dancer and librettist. Kochno was born in Moscow, Russia, on 3 January 1904. His father served as a colonel in the hussars.
Born: January 3, 1904, Moscow, Russia
Died: December 8, 1990, Paris, France
Books: Christian Bʹerard, Diaghilev, and the Ballets Russes
Libretti: Mavra
Buried: Cimetière du Père Lachaise, Paris, City of Paris, Île-de-France, France, Plot: Division 16
Buried alongside: Wladimir Augenblick

After Nijinsky, Diaghilev's next discovery was an unknown young actor, Léonide Massine, whom he developed into a great dancer and one of the seminal choreographers of the 20th century. They were together until 1920, when Massine married. Diaghilev successively fell in love with: Boris Kochno, a precocious young poet who eventually became associate director of Ballets Russes; Anton Dolin, a vivacious British dancer; Serge Lifar, a young Russian who traveled to Paris in 1924 determined to seduce Diaghilev and who became the premier danseur of Ballets Russes and, later, the director of the Paris Opera Ballet; and Igor Markevitch, a musical prodigy. Markevitch's first wife was Kyra Nijinska (1913/1914-1998), daughter of Vaslav Nijinsky. She bore him a son, Vaslav (b. 1936), before they divorced.
Sergei Pavlovich Diaghilev (March 31, 1872 – August 19, 1929)
Leonid Fyodorovich Myasin aka Léonide Massine (August 9, 1896 –March 15, 1979)
Boris Evgenievich Kochno (January 3, 1904 – December 8, 1990)
Sir Anton Dolin (July 27, 1904 –November 25, 1983)
Serge Lifar (April 15, 1905 –December 15, 1986)
Igor Markevitch (July 27, 1912 – March 7, 1983)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Vast tree-lined burial site with famous names including Oscar Wilde, Jim Morrison & Maria Callas.
Address: 16 Rue du Repos, 75020 Paris, France (48.86139, 2.39332)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Friday 8.00-18.00, Saturday 8.30-18.00, Sunday 9.00-18.00
Phone: +33 1 55 25 82 10
Place
Père Lachaise Cemetery is the largest cemetery in the city of Paris (44 hectares or 110 acres), though there are larger cemeteries in the city’s suburbs. Père Lachaise is in the 20th arrondissement and is notable for being the first garden cemetery, as well as the first municipal cemetery. It is also the site of three WWI memorials. The cemetery is on Boulevard de Ménilmontant. The Paris Métro station Philippe Auguste on line 2 is next to the main entrance, while the station called Père Lachaise, on both lines 2 and 3, is 500 metres away near a side entrance that has been closed to the public. Many tourists prefer the Gambetta station on line 3, as it allows them to enter near the tomb of Oscar Wilde and then walk downhill to visit the rest of the cemetery. Père Lachaise Cemetery was opened on May 21, 1804. The first person buried there was a five-year-old girl named Adélaïde Paillard de Villeneuve, the daughter of a door bell-boy of the Faubourg St. Antoine. Her grave no longer exists as the plot was a temporary concession. Napoleon, who had been proclaimed Emperor by the Senate three days earlier, had declared during the Consulate that "Every citizen has the right to be buried regardless of race or religion.”
Notable queer burials at Père Lachaise:
• Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) was a French painter, sculptor, and designer of the Belle Époque. She first received recognition for her work at age 23 when she painted a portrait of Sarah Bernhardt, her lifelong friend and possibly her lover.
• Sarah Bernhardt (1844-1923) was a French stage and early film actress.
• Rosa Bonheur (1822-1899), Nathalie Micas (1824-1889) and Anna Elizabeth Klumpke (1856-1942), buried together.
• Colette (Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, 1873-1954) was a French novelist nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948. She embarked on a relationship with Mathilde de Morny, Marquise de Belbeuf ("Missy"), with whom she sometimes shared the stage.
• Alphonse Daudet (1840–1897) was a French novelist. He was the husband of Julia Daudet and father of Edmée Daudet, and writers Léon Daudet and Lucien Daudet. Cultivated, “very beautiful, very elegant, a thin and frail young man, with a tender and a somewhat effeminate face”, according to Jean-Yves Tadié, Lucien Daudet lived a fashionable life which made him meet Marcel Proust. They shared at least a friendship (if not a sexual relationship), which was revealed by Jean Lorrain in his chronicle in the Journal. It is for this indiscretion that Proust and Lorrain fought a duel in 1897. Daudet was also friends with Jean Cocteau.
• Isadora Duncan (1877-1927) was an American dancer. Bisexual she had a daughter by theatre designer Gordon Craig, and a son by Paris Singer, one of the many sons of sewing machine magnate Isaac Singer. She had relationships with Eleonara Duse and Mercedes de Acosta. She married the Russian bisexual poet Sergei Yesenin, who was 18 years her junior.
• Joseph Fiévée (1767-1839) was a French journalist, novelist, essayist, playwright, civil servant (haut fonctionnaire) and secret agent. Joseph Fiévée married in 1790 (his brother-in-law was Charles Frédéric Perlet), but his wife died giving birth, leaving him one child. At the end of the 1790s, he met the writer Théodore Leclercq who became his life companion, and the two would live and raise Fiévée’s son together. When becoming Préfet, Fiévée and Leclercq moved to the Nièvre department, and their open relationship greatly shocked some locals. The two men were received together in the salons of the Restoration. Both men are buried in the same tomb at Père Lachaise Cemetery.
• Anne-Louis Girodet (1767-1824) was a French painter and pupil of Jacques-Louis David, who was part of the beginning of the Romantic movement by adding elements of eroticism through his paintings. According to the scholar Diana Knight, over the years Girodet’s homosexuality became widely known.
• Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947) was a Venezuelan, naturalised French, composer, conductor, music critic, diarist, theatre director, and salon singer.
• Harry Graf Kessler (1868-1937) was an Anglo-German count, diplomat, writer, and patron of modern art. In his introduction to “Berlin Lights” (2000) Ian Buruma asserted Kessler was homosexual and struggled his whole life to conceal it.
• Boris Yevgen'yevich Kochno (1904-1990), was hired as the personal secretary to Serge Diaghilev, the impresario of the famed Ballets Russes. He served in this capacity until Diaghilev's death in 1929. In addition to his other duties, he also wrote several ballet libretti for the troupe. He died in 1990 in Paris following a fall. He was buried next to Wladimir Augenblick who died in 2001.
• Mathilde (Missy) de Morny (1863-1944), a French noblewoman, artist and transgender figure, she became a lover of several women in Paris, including Liane de Pougy and Colette.
• Marcel Proust (1871-1922) was a French novelist, critic, and essayist best known for his monumental novel “À la recherche du temps perdu” (In Search of Lost Time), published in seven parts between 1913 and 1927. Also his friend and sometime lover, Reynaldo Hahn is buried here.
• Mlle Raucourt (1756-1815) was a French actress.
• Oscar Wilde’s tomb in Père Lachaise was designed by sculptor Sir Jacob Epstein, at the request of Robert Ross (1869-1918), who also asked for a small compartment to be made for his own ashes. Ross's ashes were transferred to the tomb in 1950.
• Salomon James de Rothschild (1835–1864) was a French banker and socialite. He was the father of Baroness Hélène van Zuylen.
• Raymond Roussel (1877-1933) wrote and published some of his most important work between 1900 and 1914, and then from 1920 to 1921 traveled around the world. He continued to write for the next decade, but when his fortune finally gave out, he made his way to a hotel in Palermo, Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes (Via Roma, 398, 90139 Palermo), where he died of a barbiturate overdose in 1933, aged 56.
• Gertrude Stein (1874-1946) was an American writer of novels, poetry and plays. In 1933, Stein published a kind of memoir of her Paris years, “The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas,” written in the voice of Toklas, her life partner. Alice B. Toklas (1877-1967) was an American-born member of the Parisian avant-garde of the early XX century. They are buried together.
• Pavel Tchelitchew (1898-1957), Russian-born surrealist painter. Loved by Edith Sitwell, he then in turn fell in love with Charles Henry Ford and moved with him in New York City.
• Oscar Wilde (1854-1900) was an Irish playwright, novelist, essayist, and poet. The modernist angel depicted as a relief on the tomb was originally complete with male genitals. They were broken off as obscene and kept as a paperweight by a succession of Père Lachaise Cemetery keepers. Their current whereabouts are unknown. In the summer of 2000, intermedia artist Leon Johnson performed a 40 minute ceremony entitled Re-membering Wilde in which a commissioned silver prosthesis was installed to replace the vandalised genitals.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Lived: Galeana #441, Chapala Centro, 45900 Chapala, Jal., Mexico (20.28815, -103.19097)
Inn of the Turquoise Bear, Santa Fe, 342 E Buena Vista St, Santa Fe, NM 87505, USA (35.67725, -105.93776)
Buried: Hunt Bynner Gravesite, Santa Fe, Santa Fe County, New Mexico, USA, Plot: Buried with the ashes of his long time companion Witter Bynner beneath the carved stone weeping dog at the house where he lived on Atalaya Hill in Santa Fe, now used as the president's home for St. John's College
Buried alongside: Witter Bynner

Witter “Hal” Bynner was an American poet, writer and scholar, known for his long residence in Santa Fe, New Mexico, at what was later the Inn of the Turquoise Bear. He moved there in 1922 and he and his partner, Robert Hunt, entertained artists and literary figures such as D.H. Lawrence, Georgia O'Keeffe, Carl Sandburg, Ansel Adams, Willa Cather, Igor Stravinsky, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Robert Frost, W.H. Auden, Aldous Huxley, Christopher Isherwood, Martha Graham, and Thornton Wilder. He became a friend of D.H. Lawrence, and traveled with him and Frieda Weekley in Mexico; he much later, in 1951, wrote on Lawrence, while he and his partner are portrayed in Lawrence's The Plumed Serpent. In 1972, the Witter Bynner Foundation for Poetry was founded through a bequest from Bynner. It makes grants to perpetuate the art of poetry, primarily by supporting individual poets, translations, and audience development. Since 1997, it has funded the Witter Bynner Fellowship, the recipient of which is selected by the U.S. Poet Laureate. Bynner was buried with the ashes of his longtime companion Robert Hunt beneath a carved stone weeping dog at the house where he lived on Atalaya Hill in Santa Fe, now used as the president's home for St. John's College.
Together from 1922 to 1952: 30 years.
Harold Witter Bynner aka Emanuel Morgan (August 10, 1881 – June 1, 1968)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

“Here we are, in our own house—a long house with no upstairs—shut in by trees on two sides.—We live on a wide verandah, flowers round—it is fairly hot—I spend the day in trousers and shirt, barefoot—have a Mexican woman, Isabel, to look after us—very nice. Just outside the gate the big Lake of Chapala—40 miles long, 20 miles wide. We can’t see the lake, because the trees shut us in. But we walk out in a wrap to bathe.—There are camions—Ford omnibuses—to Guadalajara—2 hours. Chapala village is small with a market place with trees and Indians in big hats. Also three hotels, because this is a tiny holiday place for Guadalajara. I hope you’ll get down, I’m sure you’d like painting here.—It may be that even yet I’ll have my little hacienda and grow bananas and oranges.” – (letter dated May 3, 1923, to Kai Gotzsche and Knud Merrild, quoted in Knud Merrild’s book, “A Poet and Two Painters: A Memoir of D.H. Lawrence.”)
Address: Calle Zaragoza 307, Chapala Centro, 45900 Chapala, Jal., Mexico (20.28815, -103.19097)
Type: Guest facility (open to public)
Phone: +52 376 765 3653
Place
“Lawrence went to Guadalajara and found a house with a patio on the Lake of Chapala. There, Lawrence began to write his “Plumed Serpent.” He sat by the lake under a pepper tree writing it. The lake was curious with its white water. My enthusiasm for bathing in it faded considerably when one morning a huge snake rose yards high, it seemed to me, only a few feet away. At the end of the patio, we had the family that Lawrence describes in the “Plumed Serpent,” and all the life of Chapala. I tried my one attempt at civilizing those Mexican children, but when they asked me one day, “Do you have lice too, Niña,” I had enough and gave up in a rage. At night I was frightened of bandits and we had one of the sons of the cook sleeping outside our bedroom door with a loaded revolver, but he snored so fiercely that I wasn’t sure whether the fear of bandits wasn’t preferable. We quite sank into the patio life. Bynner and Spud came every afternoon, and I remember Bynner saying to me one day, while he was mixing a cocktail: “If you and Lawrence quarrel, why don’t you hit first?” I took the advice and the next time Lawrence was cross, I rose to the occasion and got out of my Mexican indifference and flew at him.” – (Frieda Lawrence, “Not I, But the Wind…”, (1934)) The house the Lawrences rented was at Zaragoza #4 (since renumbered Zaragoza #307) and became the basis for the description of Kate’s living quarters in “The Plumed Serpent.” The Lawrences lived in the house from the start of May 1923 to about July 9, that year. Interestingly, the house subsequently had several additional links to famous writers and artists. Immediately after the Lawrences departed, the next renters were American artists Everett Gee Jackson and Lowell Houser, who lived there for 18 months. They did not realize the identity of the previous tenant – “an English writer” – until the following year. Their time in Chapala is described, with great wit and charm, in Jackson’s “Burros and Paintbrushes” (1985.) Jackson visited Mexico many times and made several return visits to Chapala, including one in 1968 when he, his wife and young grandson, “rented the charming old Witter Bynner house right in the center of the village of Chapala. It had become the property of Peter Hurd, the artist…” In 1923, Bynner and Johnson stayed at the Hotel Arzapalo. In 1930, Bynner bought a home in Chapala (not the one rented by Lawrence) and was a frequent winter visitor for many years. Over the years, the house on Zaragoza that Lawrence and Frieda had occupied was extensively remodeled and expanded. The first major renovation was undertaken in about 1940 by famed Mexican architect Luis Barragán. Another large-scale renovation took place after the house was acquired in 1954 by American artist and architect Roy MacNicol. In the late 1970s, Canadian poet Al Purdy, a great admirer of Lawrence (to the point of having a bust of Lawrence on the hall table of his home in Ontario), wrote a hand-signed and numbered book, The D.H. Lawrence House at Chapala, published by The Paget Press in 1980, as a limited edition of 44 copies. The book includes a photograph, taken by Purdy’s wife Eurithe, of the plumed serpent tile work above the door of the Lawrence house. The town of Chapala today would be totally unrecognizable to Lawrence, but the home where he spent a productive summer writing the first draft of “The Plumed Serpent” eventually became the Quinta Quetzalcoatl, an exclusive boutique hotel.
Life
Who: David Herbert Richards Lawrence (September 11, 1885 – March 2, 1930) aka D.H. Lawrence
D. H. Lawrence, together with his wife Frieda, and friends Witter Bynner and Willard (“Spud”) Johnson, visited Mexico in March 1923, initially staying in Mexico City. By the end of April, Lawrence was becoming restless and actively looking for somewhere where he could write. The traveling party had an open invitation to visit Guadalajara, the home of Idella Purnell, a former student of Bynner’s at the Univeristy of California, Berkeley. After reading about Chapala in Terry’s “Guide to Mexico,” Lawrence decided to catch the train to Guadalajara and then explore the lakeside village of Chapala for himself. Lawrence liked what he saw and, within hours of arriving in Chapala, he sent an urgent telegram back to Mexico City pronouncing Chapala “paradise” and urging the others to join him there immediately. Lawrence and his wife Frieda soon established their home for the summer in Chapala, on Calle Zaragoza. In a letter back to two Danish friends in Taos, Lawrence described both the house and the village. Life was not without its incidents and travails. Frieda, especially, was unconvinced about the charms of Chapala. Instead Witter Bynner and Robert Hunt made frequent visits to a second home in Chapala, Mexico. Their home (on the square at Galeana #441, the street name was later changed to Francisco I. Madero) was purchased from Mexican architect Luis Barragán in 1940 and was on the town’s plaza, a short distance from the lake. Hunt restored the house and, in 1943, added an extensive, rooftop terrace, which had clear views of Lake Chapala and near-by mountains. It became Bynner and Hunt’s winter home. Bynner spent much of the 1940s and early 1950s there, until he began to lose his eyesight. He returned to the USA, received treatment, and traveled to Europe with Hunt, who by the late 1950s and early 1960s took increasing responsibility for the ailing poet. Upon Bynner’s death, John Liggett Meigs and Peter Hurd, together, purchased Bynner’s house in Chapala. Along with the house, Bynner had included its content in the transfer of ownership. John described there being only four buildings on the block where the house was, and said that the house had two floors, the rooftop terrace that Hunt had added, and a “tower” overlooking Lake Chapala. The other buildings on the block included a “wonderful cantina,” which became a supermarket; another two-story house, next door, with a high wall between that house and Bynner’s house’s courtyard; and a two-story hotel on the corner. However, after John and Hurd bought Bynner’s house, they discovered that the owners of the hotel had sold the airspace over the hotel, and, one time, when John arrived, he discovered a twenty foot by forty foot “President Brandy” advertisement sign on top of the hotel, blocking his view of the lake. John said that was when he and Hurd decided to sell the place.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Inn of the Turquoise Bear occupies the home of Witter Bynner, who for almost 50 years was a prominent citizen of Santa Fe, actively participating in the cultural, artistic, and political life of the city.
Address: 342 E Buena Vista St, Santa Fe, NM 87505, USA (35.67725, -105.93776)
Type: Guest facility (open to public)
Phone: +1 505-983-0798
Place
Noted as a poet, translator and essayist, Witter Bynner was a staunch advocate of human rights, especially of Native Americans, women, and other minorities. Bynner created his rambling adobe villa, constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, from a core of rooms that date to the early XIX century. It is now considered one of Santa Fe’s most important historical estates. With its signature portico, towering pine trees, magnificent rock terraces, and lush gardens filled with lilacs, wild roses, and other flowers, the Inn offers guests a bucolic retreat close to the center of Santa Fe. Bynner and Robert Hunt, his companion of almost 40 years, were famous – or infamous – for the riotous parties they hosted in this estate, referred to by Ansel Adams as “Bynner’s bashes.” Their home was regarded as the center for the gathering of the creative and fun loving elite of Santa Fe and visitors from New York and around the world. The celebrity guest list of Bynner included D.H. Lawrence (who spent his first night in an American home in this villa), Willa Cather, Ansel Adams, Igor Stravinsky, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Robert Frost, W.H. Auden, Stephen Spender, Aldous Huxley, Clara Bow, Errol Flynn, Rita Hayworth, Lynn Riggs, Christopher Isherwood, Carl Van Vechten, Martha Graham, Robert Oppenheimer, Georgia O’Keeffe, Mary Austin, Willard Nash, Thornton Wilder, J.B. Priestly – and many others. Upon Witter’s death, he willed the estate to St. John’s College in Santa Fe who used the estate as a residence hall for a number of years. In September, 2014 the estate was once again filled with “Johnnies” celebrating their 35th reunion at “Witter Bynner” a place they once called home. In 1996, Ralph Bolton & Robert Frost, purchased the estate and created a wonderful Santa Fe bed and breakfast. The estate has not been altered in any significant way retaining its authentic Northern New Mexico charm. One can still see scant reminders of the Chinese decoration that Witter used to distinguish it. In April, 2014 Dan Clark & David Solem acquired the Inn. Their goals – as innkeepers and as stewards of the estate and land that Bynner loved – are to rekindle the comfort, creativity and hospitality for which this home was renowned in the past, to protect, restore and extend the legacy of its famous creator, and to provide guests with a unique, restorative experience that captures the essence of Santa Fe’s past and present.
Life
Who: Harold Witter Bynner (August 10, 1881 – June 1, 1968) aka Emanuel Morgan
Witter Bynner was a poet, writer and scholar, known for his long residence in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and association with other literary figures there. In June 1922 Bynner moved to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Mabel Dodge Luhan introduced them to D.H. Lawrence and his wife Frieda, and Bynner and his former student Walter Willard “Spud” Johnson (and lover) joined the Lawrences on a trip through Mexico in 1923. The trip led to several Lawrence essays and his novel “The Plumed Serpent,” including characters based on Bynner and Johnson. Bynner ‘s related writings include three poems about Lawrence, and “Journey with Genius,” a memoir published in 1951. Mabel Dodge Luhan was not pleased about their trip, and she is said to have taken revenge on Bynner by hiring Johnson to be her own secretary. Bynner in turn wrote a play, “Cake,” satirizing her lifestyle. In 1930 Robert "Bob" Hunt arrived, originally for a visit while recuperating from an illness, but he stayed on as Bynner’s lifelong companion. They also made frequent visits to a second home in Chapala, Mexico. The home was purchased from Mexican architect Luis Barragán. Bynner spent much of the 1940s and early 1950s there, until he began to lose his eyesight. He returned to the U.S., received treatment, and traveled to Europe with Hunt, who by the late 1950s and early 1960s took increasing responsibility for the ailing poet. Hunt died of a heart attack in January 1964. On January 18, 1965, Bynner had a severe stroke. He never recovered, and required constant care until he died on June 1, 1968. Witter Bynner and Robert Hunt’s ashes were buried beneath a carved stone weeping dog at the house where they lived on Atalaya Hill in Santa Fe.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Leonor Fini was an Argentine surrealist painter, designer, illustrator, and author, known for her depictions of powerful women.
Born: August 30, 1907, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Died: January 18, 1996, Paris, France
Spouse: Federico Veneziani (m. ?–1941)
Parents: Malvina Braun
Period: Surrealism
Artwork: Self Portrait with Scorpion, La toilette inutile, more

Leonor Fini was an Argentine surrealist painter. Fini married only once, for a brief period, to Fedrico Veneziani. They were divorced after she met the Italian Count, Stanislao Lepri, who abandoned his diplomatic career shortly after meeting Fini and lived with her thereafter. She met the Polish writer Konstanty Jeleński, known as Kot, in Paris right after the war. She was delighted to discover that he was the illegitimate half-brother of Sforzino Sforza, who had been one of her most favorite lovers. Kot joined Fini and Lepri in their Paris apartment in 1952 and the three remained inseparable until their deaths. She later employed an assistant to join the household, which he described as "a little bit of prison and a lot of theatre". One of his jobs was to look after her beloved Persian cats. Over the years, she acquired 17 of them; they shared her bed and, at mealtimes, were allowed to roam the dining-table selecting tasty morsels - and woe betide the guest who complained.
Together from 1952 to 1980: 28 years.
Konstanty Jeleński (January 2, 1922 - May 4, 1987)
Leonor Fini (August 30, 1907 – January 18, 1996)
Count Stanislao Lepri (1905 - 1980)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Chester Simon Kallman was an American poet, librettist, and translator, best known for his collaborations with W. H. Auden and Igor Stravinsky.
Born: January 7, 1921, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, United States
Died: January 18, 1975
Books: W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman: Libretti and Other Dramatic Writings by W.H. Auden, 1939-1973, more
Education: Brooklyn College
University of Michigan
Libretti: The Rake's Progress, Elegy for Young Lovers, The Bassarids, The Visitors, Love's Labour's Lost
Lived: 77 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003, USA (40.72795, -73.98559)

Wystan Hugh Auden, who published as W.H. Auden, was an Anglo-American poet, born in England, later an American citizen, regarded by many critics as one of the greatest writers of the 20th century. His work is noted for its stylistic and technical achievement, its engagement with moral and political issues, and its variety in tone, form and content. In 1939, at the Yorkville apartment on 81st St in NYC, two days after a League of American Writers reading, Auden met the poet Chester Kallman, who became his lover for the next two years (Auden described their relationship as a "marriage" that began with a cross-country "honeymoon" journey). In August 1941, Kallman ended their sexual relationship because he could not accept Auden's insistence on a mutual faithfulness, but he and Auden remained companions, sharing houses and apartments from 1953 until Auden's death. Kallman died less than two years after Auden, seemingly of a broken heart.
Together from 1939 to 1973: 34 years.
Chester Simon Kallman (January 7, 1921 – January 17, 1975)
W.H. Auden (February 21, 1907 – September 29, 1973)
Anniversary: April 8, 1938



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

8th Street is a street in the New York City borough of Manhattan that runs from Sixth Avenue to Third Avenue, and Avenue B to Avenue D; its addresses switch from West to East as it crosses Fifth Avenue. Between Third Avenue and Avenue A, it is named St. Mark’s Place, after the nearby St. Mark’s Church in-the-Bowery on 10th Street at Second Avenue.
Address: 77 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003, USA (40.72795, -73.98559)
Type: Private Property
Place
St. Mark’s Place is considered a main cultural street for the East Village. Vehicular traffic runs east along both one-way streets. St. Mark’s Place features a wide variety of retailers. Venerable institutions lining St. Mark’s Place include Gem Spa, Yaffa Café, the St. Mark’s Hotel, St. Mark’s Comics, and Trash and Vaudeville. There are several open front markets that sell sunglasses, clothing and jewelry. There are also a number of restaurants and bars, as well as several record stores. Wouter van Twiller, colonial governor of New Amsterdam, once owned a tobacco farm near 8th and Macdougal Streets. Such farms were located around the area until the 1830s. Nearby, a Native American trail crossed the island via the right-of-ways of Greenwich Avenue, Astor Place, and Stuyvesant Street. Under the Commissioners’ Plan of 1811, a city grid for much of Manhattan was defined. Eighth Street was to run from Sixth Avenue in the west to Third Avenue and the Bowery to the east. The area west of Sixth Avenue was already developed as Greenwich Village. Mercer, Greene, Wooster, Thompson Street, Sullivan Street, and Macdougal Streets, as well as Laurens Street (present-day LaGuardia Place), extended to Eighth Street until the 1820s, when the construction of Washington Square Park severed Laurens, Thompson, and Sullivan Streets south of 4th Street. After the Commissioners’ Plan was laid out, property along the street’s right of way quickly developed. By 1835, the New York University opened its first building, the Silver Center, along Eighth Street near the Washington Square Park. Row houses were also built on Eighth Street. The street ran between the Jefferson Market, built in 1832 at the west end, and the Tompkins Market, built in 1836, at the east end. These were factors in the street’s commercialization in later years. Eighth Street was supposed to extend to a market place at Avenue C, but since that idea never came to fruition. Capitalizing on the high-class status of Bond, Bleecker, Great Jones, and Lafayette Streets in NoHo, developer Thomas E. Davis developed the east end of the street and renamed it "St. Mark’s Place.” Davis built up St. Mark’s Place between Third and Second Avenues between 1831 and 1832. Although the original plan was for Federal homes, only three such houses remained in 2014.
Notable queer residents at St. Marks Place:
• No. 33: Home to poet Anne Waldman in the late 1960s/mid-1970s. In 1977, the storefront was occupied by Manic Panic, the first U.S. boutique to sell punk rock attire, which developed its own line of make-up and vibrant hair dyes; notable patrons have included performers David Bowie, Cyndi Lauper, Debbie Harry, and Joey Ramone.
• No. 51: In the early 1980s, this was home to 51X, a gallery that featured graffiti art, representing artists such as Keith Haring, and Jean-Michel Basquiat.
• No. 57: Club 57 was an important art and performance space in the late 1970s and early 1980s; notable people, such as Ann Magnuson, Keith Haring, Klaus Nomi, John Sex, Kenny Scharf, David Wojnarowicz, Wendy Wild, The Fleshtones, and Fab Five Freddy, performed or showed there.
• No. 75: The Holiday Cocktail Lounge has had a range of visitors including W.H. Auden, Allen Ginsberg and other Beat writers, Shelley Winters, and Frank Sinatra, whose agent lived in the neighborhood.
• No. 77: Home to W.H. Auden (February 21, 1907 –September 29, 1973) for almost 20 years, from 1953 to 1972. Born in England, the poet Wystan Hugh Auden, arrived in New York City in 1939. After stints at the George Washington Hotel on East 23rd Street and in Brooklyn Heights, he and companion Chester Kallman settled into a second-floor apartment at this location. His living quarters were described as being so cold that the toilet no longer functioned and he had to use the toilet in the liquor store at the corner. Auden is regarded by many as one of the greatest writers of the XX century. The building now houses a restaurant, La Palapa. The basement of this building was the location where the newspaper Novy Mir ("New World" or "New Peace"), a Russian-language Communist paper, was founded in 1916. It was edited by Nikolai Ivanovich Bukharin, and Leon Trotsky worked there; the paper stopped publishing after the Russian Revolution of October, 1917.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Cary Grant was a British-American actor, known as one of classic Hollywood's definitive leading men.
Born: January 18, 1904, Horfield, Bristol, United Kingdom
Died: November 29, 1986, Davenport, Iowa, United States
Full name: Archibald Alexander Leach
Spouse: Barbara Harris (m. 1981–1986), more
Lived: The Savoy Hotel, Strand, WC2R
15 Hughenden Road, Bristol
Warwick New York Hotel, 65 W 54th St, New York, NY 10019, USA (40.76253, -73.97816)
75½ Bedford St, New York, NY 10014, USA (40.73138, -74.00499)
796 Via Miraleste, Palm Springs
928 Avenida Las Palmas, Palm Springs
Studied: Fairfield Grammar School
Bishop Road Primary School

Cary Grant (born Archibald Alexander Leach) was an English stage and Hollywood film actor who became an American citizen in 1942. Randolph Scott was an American film actor whose career spanned from 1928 to 1962. They met in 1932 when they were cast together in Hot Saturday. They lived together for many years in Los Angeles. Their home was featured in an issue of Architectural Digest that showed legendary Hollywood stars at home. After that, the house was dabbed “Bachelor Hall” (recently sold in 2006 for more or less 4 million dollars.) They both married but remained close ever afterward. Toward the end of their lives, Scott and Grant were often seen together, on one occasion holding hands late at night in the Polo Lounge, alone except for the waiters. Scott died little more than 3 months after Grant.
They met in 1932 and remained friends until Grant’s death in 1986: 54 years.
Cary Grant (January 18, 1904 – November 29, 1986)
Randolph Scott (January 23, 1898 – March 2, 1987)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Cary Grant, the star of films such as “North by Northwest” and “Bringing up Baby” was born at 15 Hughenden Road, Bristol, on January 18, 1904.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Savoy Hotel (Strand, WC2R) is a luxury hotel in central London. Built by the impresario Richard D'Oyly Carte with profits from his Gilbert and Sullivan opera productions, it opened on August 6, 1889. It was the first in the Savoy group of hotels and restaurants owned by Carte's family for over a century. The Savoy was the first luxury hotel in Britain, introducing electric lights throughout the building, electric lifts, bathrooms in most of the lavishly furnished rooms, constant hot and cold running water and many other innovations. Carte hired César Ritz as manager and Auguste Escoffier as chef de cuisine; they established an unprecedented standard of quality in hotel service, entertainment and elegant dining, attracting royalty and other rich and powerful guests and diners. Notable queer residents: Sarah Bernhardt in 1913, Marlon Brando in 1967, Dorothy Caruso in 1902, Noël Coward from 1941 to 1943, Sergei Diaghilev in 1919, Marlene Dietrich from 1924 to 1925, Cary Grant in 1966, Katharine Hepburn, Vaslav Nijinsky in 1911, Oscar Wilde.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Warwick New York Hotel is a luxury hotel located at 65 West 54th Street, near Sixth Avenue in Manhattan, New York City. It is owned by Warwick International Hotels.
Address: 65 W 54th St, New York, NY 10019, USA (40.76253, -73.97816)
Type: Guest facility (open to public)
Phone: +1 (212) 247-2700
Place
Built in 1926
William Randolph Hearst built the Warwick New York Hotel for $5 million. Long catering to the elite, Hearst built the 36-story residential tower to accommodate his Hollywood friends as well as his mistress, the actress Marion Davies, who had her own specially-designed floor in the building. The hotel’s restaurant, Murals on 54, features the 1937 murals of illustrator Dean Cornwell. The famed murals were fully restored following a 2004 renovation of the restaurant. The Warwick is also home to Randolph’s Bar & Lounge, whose rosebud leitmotif references Hearst’s purported nickname for Marion Davies.
Notable queer residents at Warwick Hotel:
• James Dean (February 8, 1931 – September 30, 1955) was a frequent guest.
• Cary Grant (1904-1986) resided at the Warwick and lived in the hotel for 12 years.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

75½ Bedford St is a building in the Greenwich Village area of New York City that is only 9 feet 6 inches (2.9 meters) wide. It is considered to be the narrowest house in New York. Its past tenants have included Edna St. Vincent Millay, Ann McGovern, cartoonist William Steig and anthropologist Margaret Mead (December 16, 1901 - November 15, 1978). It is sometimes referred to as the Millay House, indicated by a New York City Landmark plaque on the outside of the house.
Address: 75½ Bedford St, New York, NY 10014, USA (40.73138, -74.00499)
Type: Private Property
Place
Built in 1873
The three-story house is located at 75½ Bedford St., off Seventh Ave. between Commerce and Moore Streets, in the West Greenwich Village section of Manhattan. On the inside, the house measures 8 ft. 7 in. wide; at its narrowest, it is only 2 ft. wide. There is a shared garden in the rear of the house. The archives of the Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation states that the house was constructed in 1873 during a smallpox epidemic, for Horatio Gomez, trustee of the Hettie Hendricks-Gomez Estate, on what was the former carriage entranceway for the adjacent property, which includes the 1799 house at 77 Bedford St., built by Joshua Isaacs, the oldest house in Greenwich Village. However, the house may have been constructed earlier, as the style that appears in a 1922 photograph at the New-York Historical Society is typical of the 1850’s Italianate architecture common in the area at the time. In 1923, the house was leased by a consortium of artists who used it for actors working at the Cherry Lane Theater. Cary Grant and John Barrymore stayed at the house while performing at the Cherry Lane during this time. Edna St. Vincent Millay, the Pulitzer Prize winning poet and her new husband, coffee importer Eugen Jan Boissevain, lived in the house from 1923 to 1924. They hired Ferdinand Savignano to renovate the house, who added a skylight, transformed the top floor into a studio for Millay and added a Dutch-inspired front gabled façade for her husband. Later occupants included cartoonist William Steig, and his sister-in-law, anthropologist Margaret Mead. The current owner is George Gund IV (son of sports entrepreneur George Gund III), who purchased the house for $3.25 million in June 2013. “A centrally placed spiral staircase dominates all three floors and bisects the space into two distinct living areas. The narrow steps call for expert sideways navigational skills. Under the stairwell on the first floor is a tiny utility closet, the only closed storage space in the house. All three floors have fireplaces.” The house has two bathrooms, and its galley kitchen comes with a microwave built into the base of the winding staircase that rises to the upper floors.
Life
Who: Edna St. Vincent Millay (February 22, 1892 – October 19, 1950)
Edna St. Vincent Millay was a poet and playwright. She received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1923, the third woman to win the award for poetry, and was also known for her feminist activism. She used the pseudonym Nancy Boyd for her prose work. The poet Richard Wilbur asserted, "She wrote some of the best sonnets of the century." Millay was openly bisexual. Counted among her close friends were the writers Witter Bynner, Arthur Davison Ficke, and Susan Glaspell, as well as Floyd Dell and the critic Edmund Wilson, both of whom proposed marriage to her and were refused. In January 1921, she went to Paris, where she met and befriended the sculptor Thelma Wood. In 1923 she married 43-year-old Eugen Jan Boissevain (1880–1949), the widower of the labor lawyer and war correspondent Inez Milholland, a political icon Millay had met during her time at Vassar. Boissevain died in 1949 of lung cancer, and Millay lived alone for the last year of her life.


by Elisa Rolle

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Cary Grant honeymooned at 796 Via Miraleste, Palm Springs, with his second wife, heiress Barbara Hutton; he later purchased the Kocher estate at 928 Avenida Las Palmas.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Adolf von Hildebrand was a German sculptor.
Born: October 6, 1847, Marburg, Germany
Died: January 18, 1921, Munich, Germany
Education: Academy of Fine Arts, Nuremberg
Academy of Fine Arts, Munich
Books: The problem of form in painting and sculpture
Children: Dietrich von Hildebrand
Lived: Maria-Theresia-Straße 23, 81675 München, Germany
Buried: Kirchhof Oberföhring, Oberfohring, Münchener Stadtkreis, Bavaria (Bayern), Germany

Hans von Marees was a German painter. He mainly painted country scenes in a realistic style. Marees' lifelong companion was art theorist and critic Konrad Fiedler, who, in his Kunstwissenschaft, created the theory of pure form, rejecting the concepts of Beauty and Art. However, Marees also had an 8 years love affair with sculptor Adolph von Hildebrand. In 1869, von Marees visited France, the Netherlands and Spain with Fiedler. He served in military in the Franco-Prussian War (1870–71) and then lived in Berlin and Dresden for a while. In 1873, he decorated the library walls of the newly built German Marine Zoological Institute in Naples, Italy with von Hildebrand. In 1877, von Hildebrand married Irene Schäuffelen. A painting by von Marees immortalized this event, with Irene in the middle of von Marees and von Hildebrand, with von Hildebrand reaching out to von Marees. Von Marees spent the last years of his life in Rome, supported by Fiedler. He died there in 1887, at the age of 49, and was buried in the Protestant Cemetery.
They met in 1866 and remained friends until Marees’ death in 1887: 21 years.
Hans von Marees (December 24, 1837 - June 5, 1887)
Konrad Fiedler (September 23, 1841 - June 3, 1895)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Adolf von Hildebrand (1847–1921) is one of the most important neoclassical sculptors. Its marble monuments, busts and sculptures inspired by antiquity are among the best artistic achievements of German idealism: the Wittelsbach fountain at the Lehnbachplatz, the Father-Rhine fountain at Ludwigsbrücke, the equestrian statue of the Prince Regent Luitpold and the Hubertusbrunnen at the end of the Nymphenburger canal. After studying at Academy of Fine Arts, Munich, Adolf von Hildebrand first traveled to Italy in 1867 and there met German philosophers and art theorists whose aesthetic theories greatly inspired him. Florentine Renaissance sculpture became his point of reference, and in 1872 he moved to Italy. Not until an 1884 exhibition in Berlin did his work come to the attention of a wider public in Germany. Seven years later, Hildebrand received his first large commission, for a fountain in Munich, whose completion brought him general recognition and numerous commissions. From then until the beginning of WWI, he divided his time between Florence and Munich. In 1898 Adolf von Hildebrand and his family moved in the newly built estate in Maria-Theresia-Straße 23. He died on October 18, 1921 aged 73 years in Munich and is buried in the cemetery of St. Lorenz at Oberföhring (Muspillistraße 14, 81925 München, Germany). His heirs, his son Dr. Dietrich von Hildebrand and one of his daughters Irene Georgii, sold the Hildebrandhaus to the author Elisabeth Braun in 1934.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Miriam Van Waters was an early American feminist social worker and Episcopalian leader of the Social Gospel movement. She served as superintendent of the Massachusetts Reformatory for Women at Framingham.
Born: 1887, United States of America
Died: 1974, Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Education: Clark University
Books: Youth in conflict, Parents on Probation
Lived: 1833 North Verdugo Road, Vista Park, Glendale
Buried: Pine Hill Cemetery, Sherborn, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, USA, Plot: 507 Eastern Ave, GPS (lat/lon): 42.24455, -71.36334

Miriam Van Waters was a noted early American feminist social worker and served as superintendent of the Massachusetts Reformatory for Women at Framingham (1932–1957). Van Waters was also a closeted lesbian during this period, and in fact, it was a 'moral panic' against 'prison lesbianism' that almost led to her dismissal as a superintendent in 1949. Geraldine Morgan Thompson met Miriam Van Waters in the mid-1920s; Thompson was the owner of Brookdale, an 800-acre estate in Red Bank, New Jersey. She was the wife of Lewis S. Thompson, who established Sunny Hill Plantation in 1913. Van Waters and Thompson remained together 40 years and Miriam adopted a little girl named Sarah. When Geraldine died on September 9, 1967, she had lived for ninety-five extraordinarily full years, almost half of them as Miriam van Waters' "Dearest Love" and protector. Waters and Thompson remained lovers, and participated in joint social activities like membership of the Audubon Society. As a small, final tribute, Van Waters wrote an obituary for Thompson in the Framingham News.
Together from (around) 1925 to 1967: 42 years.
Miriam Van Waters (October 4, 1887 – January 17, 1974)
Geraldine Livingston Morgan Thompson (March 2, 1872 – September 9, 1967)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Pine Hill Cemetery (Sherborn, MA 01770) is buried Miriam Van Waters (1887-1974), an early American feminist social worker and Episcopalian leader of the Social Gospel movement. She served as superintendent of the Massachusetts Reformatory for Women at Framingham (1932–1957). In the 1930s she lived in California, at 1833 North Verdugo Road, Vista Park, Glendale.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Helen Herring Stephens was an American athlete and a double Olympic champion in 1936.
Born: February 3, 1918, Fulton, Missouri, United States
Died: January 17, 1994, St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Weight: 70 kg
Education: William Woods University
Olympic medals: Athletics at the 1936 Summer Olympics – Women's 100 metres, more
Awards: Associated Press Female Athlete of the Year
Buried: Callaway Memorial Gardens, 1700 US Business Highway 54 South, Fulton, MO 65251

Helen Herring Stephens was an American athlete, a double Olympic champion in 1936. Stephens lived in Florissant, Missouri with her partner of 41 years, Mabel Robbe, until Robbe's death in 1986. At the 1936 Olympics, it was suggested that Stephens and her 100 meters rival Stella Walsh, who had both X0 and XY chromosomes, were in fact male. The Olympics committee performed a physical check on Stephens and concluded that she was a woman. Stephens, nicknamed the "Fulton Flash" after her birthplace Fulton, Missouri, was a strong athlete in sprint events - she never lost a race in her entire career - but also in weight events like the shot put and discus throw, and she won national titles in both categories of events. Stephens retired from athletics shortly after the Games and played some professional baseball and softball. From 1938 to 1952, she was the owner and manager of her own semi-professional basketball team.
Together from 1941 to 1986: 41 years.
Helen Herring Stephens (February 3, 1918 – January 17, 1994)
Mabel Robbe (died in 1986)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Callaway Memorial Gardens (1700 US Business Highway 54 South, Fulton, MO 65251) is buried Helen Stephens (February 3, 1918 – January 17, 1994), American athlete, a double Olympic champion in 1936. Stephens lived in Florissant, Missouri with her partner of 41 years, Mabel Robbe, until Robbe's death in 1986. At the 1936 Olympics it was suggested that Stephens and her 100 metres rival Stella Walsh, who had both X0 and XY chromosomes, were in fact male. The Olympics committee performed a physical check on Stephens and concluded that she was a woman.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Sir Compton Mackenzie, OBE was a Scottish writer of fiction, biography, histories and a memoir, as well as a cultural commentator, raconteur and lifelong Scottish nationalist.
Born: January 17, 1883, West Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Died: November 30, 1972, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Movies: Whisky Galore!, Sylvia Scarlett, Carnival
Spouse: Lillian McSween (m. 1965–1972), Christine McSween (m. 1962–1963), Faith Stone (m. 1905–1960)
Parents: Virginia Bateman, Edward Compton
Lived: The Albany, Piccadilly, W1J
Studied: Magdalen College, Oxford
St Paul's School, London
Buried: Cille Bharra St Barr’s Church, Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides, Scotland

Sir Compton Mackenzie was a prolific writer of fiction, biography, histories and memoir, as well as a cultural commentator, raconteur and lifelong Scottish nationalist. He was one of the co-founders in 1928 of the Scottish National Party along with Hugh MacDiarmid, RB Cunninghame Graham and John MacCormick. On November 30, 1905, he married actress Faith Nora Stone, the daughter of E. D. Stone, the well remembered schoolmaster of Eton and Stonehouse. Between 1913 and 1920 they lived on Capri at Villa Solitaria. This Italian island was known to be tolerant not just of foreigners in general, but of artists and homosexuals in particular. Faith had an affair with the Italian pianist Renata Borgatti, who was connected to Romaine Brooks. Compton Mackenzie's observations on the local life of the Italian islanders and foreign residents led to at least two novels, Vestal Fire (1927) and Extraordinary Women (1928). The latter, a roman à clef about a group of lesbians arriving on the island of Sirene, a fictional version of Capri, was published in Britain in the same year as two other ground-breaking novels with lesbian themes, Virginia Woolf's love letter to Vita Sackville-West, Orlando, and Radclyffe-Hall's controversial polemic The Well of Loneliness, but Mackenzie's satire did not attract legal attention. Faith Stone died in 1960; in 1962, Compton married Christina MacSween – who died the following year. Finally, he married his dead wife's sister, Lillian MacSween in 1965.
Together from 1905 to 1960: 55 years.
Sir Compton Mackenzie, OBE (January 17, 1883 – November 30, 1972)
Faith Nona Stone (1878 - July 1960)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Albany, or simply Albany, is an apartment complex in Piccadilly, W1J built in 1770–74 by Sir William Chambers for the newly created 1st Viscount Melbourne as Melbourne House. It is a three-storey mansion, seven bays (windows) wide, with a pair of service wings flanking a front courtyard. In 1791, Prince Frederick, Duke of York and Albany abandoned Dover House, Whitehall (now a government office), and took up residence. In 1802 the Duke in turn gave up the house and it was converted by Henry Holland into 69 bachelor apartments (known as "sets"). The residents have included such famous names as the poet Lord Byron and the future Prime Minister William Ewart Gladstone, and numerous members of the aristocracy. In Oscar Wilde's play, “The Importance of Being Earnest” (1895), the character John (Jack) Worthing has a set at the Albany (number B4), where he lives while staying in London under the assumed name of Ernest. Notable queer residents: Sybille Bedford, writer, lived in Aldous Huxley's servant's room; Bruce Chatwin, writer; Aldous Huxley, writer; Matthew “The Monk” Lewis, from 1802 to 1818 (number K1); Compton Mackenzie, writer, from 1911 to 1912 (number E1); Sir Harold Nicolson, writer and politician from 1952 to 1965 (number C1); Terence Stamp, actor. George Cecil Ives had an apartment here which he shared with his live-in servant and lover, James Goddard (Kit) in 1894. The place was held in high esteem. Ives “refused to allow a third man to join him and Lord Alfred Douglas, Wilde's intimate friend, for sex, --- because “it wouldn't do at the Albany”.”



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Sir Compton Mackenzie (1883-1972) was a Scottish writer of fiction, biography, histories and a memoir, as well as a cultural commentator, raconteur and lifelong Scottish nationalist. ollowing his time on Capri, socialising with the gay exiles there, he treated the homosexuality of a politician sensitively in “Thin Ice” (1956). He died on November 30, 1972, aged 89, in Edinburgh and was interred at Eolaigearraidh (Cille Bharra, Eoligarry, Isle of Barra, Na h-Eileanan an Iar HS9 5YE).



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Basil William Hoskins was an English actor. Hoskins, a native of Edmonton, London, was educated at the Edmonton County School.
Born: June 10, 1929, Edmonton, London, United Kingdom
Died: January 17, 2005, London, United Kingdom
Education: Edmonton County School
Lived: Church Farm Oast, Church Lane, Robertsbridge
Buried: St Mary the Virgin, Church Lane, Salehurst, East Sussex, TN32 5PH
Buried alongside: Harry Andrews

Basil Hoskins was an English actor. Hoskins was the long-term romantic partner of fellow English actor Harry Andrews. Andrews was a gentle soul and intensely private, living with his long-time partner in Salehurst, near Robertsbridge, in East Sussex. Hoskins best-known films are Ice-Cold in Alex (1958) and North West Frontier (1959). On television, he played the part of Number 14 on The Prisoner television series (episode Hammer into Anvil). Andrews’ performance as Sergeant Major Wilson in The Hill alongside Sean Connery earned him the 1965 National Board of Review Award for Best Supporting Actor and a nomination for the 1966 BAFTA Award for Best British Actor. He made his film debut in The Red Beret in 1953. Andrews died at the age of 77 on March 6, 1989, at his home in Salehurst, leaving behind Hoskins. Basil is buried next to Harry in the churchyard of St. Mary's at Salehurst.
Together from (before) 1960 to 1989: 29 years.
Basil William Hoskins (June 10, 1929 – January 17, 2005)
Henry “Harry” Fleetwood Andrews, CBE (November 10, 1911 – March 6, 1989)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Harry Andrews was a gentle soul and intensely private, living with his long-time partner, Basil Hoskins, in Salehurst, near Robertsbridge, in East Sussex.
Address: Church Lane, Salehurst, East Sussex TN32 5PH, UK (50.99101, 0.49115)
Type: Religious Building (open to public)
Phone: +44 1580 880408
English Heritage Building ID: 412912 (Grade I, 1961)
Place
The parish church of Salehurst is dedicated to St Mary the Virgin. It is reputed to be the largest rural parish church in East Sussex. Rev. John Lord (1614–81) was rector from 1640 until his death. In 1937 his descendants donated to the church a portrait of him which had been owned by the family for generations. Salehurst is a village in the Rother District of East Sussex, within the civil parish of Salehurst and Robertsbridge. It lies immediately to the north-east of the larger village of Robertsbridge, on a minor road; it is approximately thirteen miles (20.8 km) north of Hastings, just east of the A21 road. In historical terms Salehurst is much older than its neighbour; before the bridge over the River Rother was built it already existed, and it is named in the Domesday Book. At the time the river crossing was by ford or ferry, but in the XII century a newly established order of Cistercian monks constructed the bridge, and the two settlements of Robertsbridge and Northbridge Street came into being; eventually - since the main road now bypassed the village - becoming much more important than Salehurst. Salehurst lies approximately three miles from Bodiam, Sussex, site of Bodiam Castle (Bodiam, Robertsbridge TN32 5UA). One owner of Bodiam Castle was the Levett family, who lived at Salehurst during their “occupation” of the castle. In 1588 John Levett of Salehurst contributed to the Armada loan, and in 1607 his sons John and Thomas of Salehurst were regranted by the College of Arms their right to the Levett coat of arms issued to their Sussex ancestors.
Life
Who: Basil William Hoskins (10 June 1929 – 17 January 2005) & Harry Fleetwood Andrews, CBE (10 November 1911 – 6 March 1989)
Harry Andrews was a film actor, known for his frequent portrayals of tough military officers. His performance as Sergeant Major Wilson in “The Hill” alongside Sean Connery earned Andrews the 1965 National Board of Review Award for Best Supporting Actor and a nomination for the 1966 BAFTA Award for Best British Actor. He made his film debut in “The Red Beret” in 1953. Basil Hoskins’s best-known films are “Ice Cold in Alex” (1958) and “North West Frontier” (1959.) On television, he played the part of Number 14 on The Prisoner television series (episode "Hammer Into Anvil.”) Andrews died at the age of 77 on 6 March 1989, at his home, Church Farm Oast (Church Ln, Robertsbridge TN32 5PB), leaving behind his long-term friend and partner Basil Hoskins. Hoskins died in 2005. They are buried side by side at St Mary the Virgin Churchyard, Salehurst, Rother District. East Sussex.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Barbara Charline Jordan was a lawyer, educator, an American politician, and a leader of the Civil Rights Movement.
Born: February 21, 1936, Houston, Texas, United States
Died: January 17, 1996, Austin, Texas, United States
Siblings: Rosemary Jordan McGowan, Bennie Jordan Creswell
Education: Texas Southern University
Boston University
Wheatley High School
Boston University School of Law
Buried: Texas State Cemetery, Austin, Travis County, Texas, USA, Plot: Republic Hill Section 1 Row N Number 6

Barbara Jordan was an American politician and a leader of the Civil Rights movement. She was the first African American elected to the Texas Senate after Reconstruction, the first southern black female elected to the United States House of Representatives, and the first African-American woman to deliver the keynote address at a Democratic National Convention. She received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, among numerous other honors. On her death, she became the first African-American woman to be buried in the Texas State Cemetery. Jordan's partner of close to 30 years was Nancy Earl. Jordan met Earl, an educational psychologist who would become an occasional speechwriter in addition to Jordan's partner, on a camping trip in the late 1960s. Jordan never publicly acknowledged her sexual orientation, but in her obituary, the Houston Chronicle mentioned her long relationship with Earl. However, one of Jordan's biographers, Mary Beth Rogers, neither confirmed nor denied that the former congresswoman was a lesbian.
Together from (around) 1967 to 1996: 29 years.
Barbara Charline Jordan (February 21, 1936 – January 17, 1996)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Texas State Cemetery (909 Navasota St, Austin, TX 78702) is buried Barbara Jordan (February 21, 1936 – January 17, 1996), lawyer, educator, an American politician, and a leader of the Civil Rights movement. Jordan's partner of approximately thirty years was Nancy Earl, an educational psychologist, whom she met on a camping trip in the late 1960s.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Anniversary: July 4, 1986
Married: July 30, 2013

Peter Weltner grew up in Plainfield, New Jersey and in Winston-Salem and Greensboro, North Carolina, though his true home as a boy was Manhattan, where his family was from and his deeper roots were planted. Weltner received his A.B. from Hamilton College and his Ph.D. from Indiana University. In August 1969, he moved to San Francisco. 1969 to 1972 for him were "three years of the usual coming-out craziness and joy." In the fall of 1973, Weltner met Bob Mohr with whom he lived on Telegraph Hill for the next seven years. Friends introduced Peter and Atticus in 1986 when Atticus had just quit his job at Valley Medical Center, moved to San Francisco, and begun graduate school. Carr received his MSW from San Jose State University in 1988. The son of a military man in a large family, Atticus moved often until they settled first in Salinas, then in San Jose, California. Like Atticus, all his siblings have been employed in compassionate professions, dedicated to helping others. He has been working exclusively with people with HIV since 1990.
Together since 1986: 29 years.
Atticus Carr (born January 17, 1954)
Peter Weltner (born May 12, 1942)
Anniversary: July 4, 1986 / Married: July 30, 2013
Atticus Carr and I met near the first of the Chain of Lakes in Golden Gate Park at a picnic given by friends on July 4, 1986. A couple since that day, we were married under the rotunda of San Francisco's City Hall on July 30, 2013. In 2006, I retired from teaching modern and contemporary American and British literature at San Francisco State University. I am the author of twelve books, both of fiction (The Risk of His Music, How the Body Prays) and poetry (The Outerlands, To the Final Cinder). Atticus is an LCSW at Santa Clara County's PACE clinic serving people with HIV. We live near the Pacific, a few blocks south from where we met, and devote our time together to working at home, reading, going to concerts, watching movies, sharing meals with friends, and talking. On the day we met, near dark, after the picnic was over, we walked, just the two of us, to China Beach, talking about books we'd read and movies we'd liked and our pasts. Even that soon, something in both of us had already told us we would be together for the rest of our lives. We have been having a lovely, wide, and fascinating conversation with one another ever since. -Peter Weltner



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
George Edward Kelly was an American playwright, screenwriter, director, and actor. He began his career in vaudeville as an actor and sketch writer. He became best known for his satiric comedies, including The Torch-Bearers and The Show-Off.
Born: January 16, 1887, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Died: June 18, 1974, Bryn Mawr, Lower Merion Township, Pennsylvania, United States
Parents: John Henry Kelly
Movies: Craig's Wife, Harriet Craig, The Show Off, The Show-Off
Albums: Swing Time, Plays the Music of Don Redman, Mixes
Lived: Concord Hotel, 130 E. 40th St., cross Lexington Avenue
226 West 47th Street
Buried: Holy Sepulchre Cemetery, Cheltenham, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, USA

George Edward Kelly was an American playwright, screenwriter, director, and actor. He began his career in vaudeville as an actor and sketch writer. He became best known for his satiric comedies, including The Torch-Bearers (1922) and The Show-Off (1924). Born in Philadelphia, the second of ten children to John Henry Kelly, an Irish immigrant, he was the brother of American businessman and Olympic champion sculler John B. Kelly, Sr. and the uncle of actress Grace Kelly. Kelly maintained a 55-years relationship with his lover William Weagley up until his death. Weagley was often referred to as his valet; he was actually an employee in a nearby factory. That Kelly was gay was a closely guarded secret and went unacknowledged by his family to the point of not inviting Weagley to his funeral; he instead slipped in and sat quietly on a back seat, weeping quietly and completely ignored. He died a year later. Speaking about Kelly’s playwrights, Arthur Willis noted "Kelly appears to be anti-love, anti-romantic love, certainly, and distrustful of the tender emotions."
Together from 1919 to 1974: 55 years.
George Kelly (January 16, 1887 - June 18, 1974)
William Weagley (1891 - November 25, 1975)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

George Kelly and William Weagley met in 1919, when George maintained a suite at NYC’s Concord Hotel (formerly at 130 E. 40th St., cross Lexington Avenue). The story goes that William was working as a bellhop at the hotel, and the two became lovers within a short time after meeting. George educated William in the rules of etiquette so that the two could appear in high society as social equals. In the 1930s George Kelly lived at 226 West 47th Street.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Holy Sepulchre Cemetery (Cheltenham Ave & Easton Rd, W Cheltenham Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19150) is buried George Edward Kelly (1887-1974), American playwright, screenwriter, director, and actor. He was the brother of American businessperson and Olympic champion sculler John B. Kelly, Sr. and the uncle of actress Grace Kelly and rower John B. Kelly, Jr. George Kelly maintained a 55-year relationship with his lover William Weagley up until his death and was often referred to as his valet. That Kelly was gay was a closely guarded secret and went unacknowledged by his family to the point of not inviting Weagley to his funeral; he instead slipped in and sat quietly on a back seat. He died a year later.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Lived: 2448 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008, USA (38.91435, -77.05439)
Buried: Cove Cemetery, Hadlyme, New London County, Connecticut, USA

Edith Hamilton was a German-American educator and author who was recognized as the greatest woman Classicist. She was 62 years old when The Greek Way, her first book, was published in 1930. It was instantly successful, and is the earliest expression of her belief in "the calm lucidity of the Greek mind" and "that the great thinkers of Athens were unsurpassed in their mastery of truth and enlightenment". Hamilton dedicated the book to her companion of over 60 years, Doris Fielding Reid. Doris Fielding Reid was a stockbroker and former student of Hamilton’s. She was the daughter of Harry Fielding Reid (18 May, 1859 – June 18, 1944), an American geophysicist, notable for his contributions to seismology, particularly his theory of elastic rebound that related faults to earthquakes. After Hamilton’s retirement, they lived together, Hamilton at home helping rising Reid’s nephew, Francis Dorian Fielding, who came to live with them. After her death, in 1963, Reid published the book Edith Hamilton: An Intimate Portrait. Doris died 10 years later in Lenox Hill, New York.
Together from (before) 1903 to 1963: 60 years.
Edith Hamilton (August 12, 1867 - May 31, 1963)
Doris Fielding Reid (September 4, 1895 - January 16, 1973)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

“Shortly after we reached Washington we bought a small house at 2448 Massachusetts Avenue, the back of which faced Rock Creek Park. Looking out of our windows one would not suppose there was a house within miles. We had a small garden we filled with azaleas, and in the front, on Massachusetts Avenue, was a particularly lovely cherry tree. Edith of course had her dog and her cat.” “Edith Hamilton an Intimate Portrait,” Doris Fielding Reid, 1967
Address: 2448 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008, USA (38.91435, -77.05439)
Type: Private property
National Register of Historic Places: Massachusetts Avenue Historic District (Both sides of Massachusetts Ave. between 17th St. and Observatory Circle, NW), 74002166, 1974
Place
For the last 20 years of her life, classical scholar Edith Hamilton lived at 2448 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., which is near Rock Creek Park.
Note: at Washington National Cathedral (3101 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington, DC 20016), are buried Helen Keller (1880-1968) and her long-time companion, Anne Sullivan (1866-1936) who preceded her in death.
Life
Who: Edith Hamilton (August 12, 1867 – May 31, 1963) and Dorothy "Doris" Fielding Reid (September 4, 1895 – January 16, 1973)
Edith Hamilton was a German-American educator and author who was "recognized as the greatest woman Classicist.” She was sixty-two years old when “The Greek Way,” her first book, was published in 1930. It was instantly successful, and is the earliest expression of her belief in "the calm lucidity of the Greek mind" and "that the great thinkers of Athens were unsurpassed in their mastery of truth and enlightenment.” Hamilton’s companion for over 40 years was Dorothy "Doris" Fielding Reid, vice president of the investment firm Loomis Sayles & Company. Hamilton dedicated her first book, “The Greek Way,” to Reid. Doris Fielding Reid was a stockbroker and former student of Hamilton’s, who eventually became her biographer. The two women cohabited in Maine, on Park Avenue in New York City, and finally in Washington, D.C. Together, they raised Reid’s nephew, Dorian. After her death, in 1963, Doris published the book "Edith Hamilton: An Intimate Portrait.” Doris died ten years later in Lenox Hill, New York. They are buried together in twin tombstones at Cove Cemetery (Lyme, CT 06371). With them, in the Hamilton family plot, there is also Margaret and Alice, Edith’s sisters, and Alice’s lifelong friend Clara. Edith’s sister Alice went on to become an integral part of Hull House in Chicago, which offered food, shelter, and education, as a charity on the part of wealthy donors and scholars who volunteered their time. She later became a noted pioneer in industrial medicine and a professor at Northwestern University and Harvard Medical School, where in 1919 she became Harvard's first woman professor. Her younger sister Margaret also studied in Munich for one summer in 1899 with a close colleague and family friend Clara Landsberg. Landsberg was from Rochester, New York, where her father was a Reform rabbi. After graduating from Bryn Mawr, Landsberg also became a part of Hull House and shared a room with Alice. She eventually left Hull House to teach Latin at Bryn Mawr while Edith was headmistress. Alice considered Landsberg part of the Hamilton family: "I could not think of a life in which Clara did not have a great part, she has become part of my life almost as if she were one of us." Margaret later taught English at Bryn Mawr and took over as head of the school when Edith retired.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Françoise Marie Antoinette Saucerotte, called Mlle Raucourt was a French actress. She was born in Nancy as the daughter of an actor, who took her to Spain. There she played in tragedy at the age of twelve.
Born: March 3, 1756, Nancy, France
Died: January 15, 1815, Paris, France
Lived: Château des Hauts, Sentier du Cèdre, 45380 La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France (47.88656, 1.84034)
Buried: Cimetière du Père Lachaise, Paris, City of Paris, Île-de-France, France, Plot: div 20

Mlle Raucourt was a French actress. Her success caused her to be called to the Comédie Française, where, in 1772, she made her debut as Dido. With opera soprano Sophie Arnould, one on-again-off-again lover, Raucourt led the Sect of Anadrynes, a society of lesbians in Paris, on the Rue des Boucheries-Saint-Honoré. Raucourt and her longtime companion Jeanne-Françoise-Marie Souck were once prosecuted on charges of outrageous conduct, and the scandal destroyed Raucourt’s career as an actress. Over the next twenty years, however, she gradually regained her popularity. At the outbreak of the Revolution she was imprisoned for six months with other royalist members of the Comédie Française, and she did not reappear upon that stage until the close of 1793, and then only for a short time. While in prison she fell in love with Henriette Simonnot de Ponty, and the two remained together from her release in August 1794 until death.
Together from 1794 to 1815: 21 years.
Françoise Marie Antoinette Saucerotte aka Mlle Raucourt (March 3, 1756 – January 15, 1815)
Henriette Simonnot de Ponty



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Château des Hauts is a castle French located in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin in the department of Loiret in the region Centre-Loire Valley .
Address: Sentier du Cèdre, 45380 La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France (47.88656, 1.84034)
Type: Private Property
Place
The building is about 140 meters from the north bank of the Loire, at the street corner of rue des Hauts and rue du Château, 400 meters from the main road 2152 (old national road 152). Single manor in the XV century, the castle was restored by order of the King of France Charles VII and according to tradition several kings would have stayed there: Henry II and Charles IX. Charles IX apparently restored it for his mistress, Marie Touchet. On the death of the latter in 1638, her daughter Henriette de Balzac d’Entragues, mistress of Henri IV, inherited the castle. In the XVIII century, the castle became the meeting place of the aristocracy of Orleans and gardens were designed, probably, by André Le Nôtre . In 1785, an act called it “Maison des Vignes” and represented as being “in the property of the lordship of La Chapelle St Mesmin, dependent on the abbey of Saint-Mesmin.” Around 1810, the park was twelve hectares and contained many rare and exotic plants, some from exchanges between Mademoiselle Raucourt and the garden of Malmaison, property of the Empress Josephine, herself passionate about botany. The catalog of flowers and plants published after her death has 463 lots, a baobab, a frangipani , etc. In 1844, Jean-Jacques Fayet, Bishop of Orleans, decided to acquire the domain in order to build the "Petit Séminaire", currently the retirement home Paul Gauguin, and make the castle his episcopal residence. In 1850 , Bishop Félix Dupanloup settled in. During the War of 1870, the castle was occupied by German officers. In the fall of the Empire, the Bishop Félix Dupanloup met the heirs to the throne of France in an attempt to restore the monarchy. During the 1960s the castle was used as a holiday center. In 2013, the château des Hauts was bought by the Orleans IT engineering services company Pentalog, which conducts its renovation to make its headquarters.
Life
Who: Françoise Marie-Antoinette Saucerotte Raucourt (March 3, 1756 – January 15, 1815)
Eighteenth-century French actress Françoise Raucourt became a favorite of Queen Marie-Antoinette. Widely admired for her talent and beauty, Raucourt never made a secret of her lesbianism. During the final years of the doomed monarchy, she lived openly with a series of lovers. After suffering through the French Revolution, she eventually became director of Napoleon's imperial theaters in Italy Raucourt had an affair with the Marquis de Bièvres but soon became enamored of opera singer Sophie Arnould. The relationship ended badly, however, and two male friends represented the women in a duel. The Marquis de Villette, who championed Raucourt, then had a liaison with her, but the couple eventually went their separate ways, he with a male lover and she with a woman, Jeanne-Françoise Souque. Along with a number of other members of the Comédie-Française, Raucourt was imprisoned in 1793 for lack of loyalty to the principles of the Revolution--which was considered a crime against the Republic--and on suspicion of being in correspondence with Royalists abroad. In the wake of the coup d'état of 9 Thermidor (July 27) 1794, however, the actors were released. While in prison Raucourt met and fell in love with Henriette Simonnot de Ponty, with whom she would spend the rest of her life. After Raucourt's death, her brother helped arrange for de Ponty to receive a lifetime income from her estate and to assume the lease of the couple's home, the château de la Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, according to his sister's wishes.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Vast tree-lined burial site with famous names including Oscar Wilde, Jim Morrison & Maria Callas.
Address: 16 Rue du Repos, 75020 Paris, France (48.86139, 2.39332)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Friday 8.00-18.00, Saturday 8.30-18.00, Sunday 9.00-18.00
Phone: +33 1 55 25 82 10
Place
Père Lachaise Cemetery is the largest cemetery in the city of Paris (44 hectares or 110 acres), though there are larger cemeteries in the city’s suburbs. Père Lachaise is in the 20th arrondissement and is notable for being the first garden cemetery, as well as the first municipal cemetery. It is also the site of three WWI memorials. The cemetery is on Boulevard de Ménilmontant. The Paris Métro station Philippe Auguste on line 2 is next to the main entrance, while the station called Père Lachaise, on both lines 2 and 3, is 500 metres away near a side entrance that has been closed to the public. Many tourists prefer the Gambetta station on line 3, as it allows them to enter near the tomb of Oscar Wilde and then walk downhill to visit the rest of the cemetery. Père Lachaise Cemetery was opened on May 21, 1804. The first person buried there was a five-year-old girl named Adélaïde Paillard de Villeneuve, the daughter of a door bell-boy of the Faubourg St. Antoine. Her grave no longer exists as the plot was a temporary concession. Napoleon, who had been proclaimed Emperor by the Senate three days earlier, had declared during the Consulate that "Every citizen has the right to be buried regardless of race or religion.”
Notable queer burials at Père Lachaise:
• Louise Abbéma (1853-1927) was a French painter, sculptor, and designer of the Belle Époque. She first received recognition for her work at age 23 when she painted a portrait of Sarah Bernhardt, her lifelong friend and possibly her lover.
• Sarah Bernhardt (1844-1923) was a French stage and early film actress.
• Rosa Bonheur (1822-1899), Nathalie Micas (1824-1889) and Anna Elizabeth Klumpke (1856-1942), buried together.
• Colette (Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, 1873-1954) was a French novelist nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948. She embarked on a relationship with Mathilde de Morny, Marquise de Belbeuf ("Missy"), with whom she sometimes shared the stage.
• Alphonse Daudet (1840–1897) was a French novelist. He was the husband of Julia Daudet and father of Edmée Daudet, and writers Léon Daudet and Lucien Daudet. Cultivated, “very beautiful, very elegant, a thin and frail young man, with a tender and a somewhat effeminate face”, according to Jean-Yves Tadié, Lucien Daudet lived a fashionable life which made him meet Marcel Proust. They shared at least a friendship (if not a sexual relationship), which was revealed by Jean Lorrain in his chronicle in the Journal. It is for this indiscretion that Proust and Lorrain fought a duel in 1897. Daudet was also friends with Jean Cocteau.
• Isadora Duncan (1877-1927) was an American dancer. Bisexual she had a daughter by theatre designer Gordon Craig, and a son by Paris Singer, one of the many sons of sewing machine magnate Isaac Singer. She had relationships with Eleonara Duse and Mercedes de Acosta. She married the Russian bisexual poet Sergei Yesenin, who was 18 years her junior.
• Joseph Fiévée (1767-1839) was a French journalist, novelist, essayist, playwright, civil servant (haut fonctionnaire) and secret agent. Joseph Fiévée married in 1790 (his brother-in-law was Charles Frédéric Perlet), but his wife died giving birth, leaving him one child. At the end of the 1790s, he met the writer Théodore Leclercq who became his life companion, and the two would live and raise Fiévée’s son together. When becoming Préfet, Fiévée and Leclercq moved to the Nièvre department, and their open relationship greatly shocked some locals. The two men were received together in the salons of the Restoration. Both men are buried in the same tomb at Père Lachaise Cemetery.
• Anne-Louis Girodet (1767-1824) was a French painter and pupil of Jacques-Louis David, who was part of the beginning of the Romantic movement by adding elements of eroticism through his paintings. According to the scholar Diana Knight, over the years Girodet’s homosexuality became widely known.
• Reynaldo Hahn (1874-1947) was a Venezuelan, naturalised French, composer, conductor, music critic, diarist, theatre director, and salon singer.
• Harry Graf Kessler (1868-1937) was an Anglo-German count, diplomat, writer, and patron of modern art. In his introduction to “Berlin Lights” (2000) Ian Buruma asserted Kessler was homosexual and struggled his whole life to conceal it.
• Boris Yevgen'yevich Kochno (1904-1990), was hired as the personal secretary to Serge Diaghilev, the impresario of the famed Ballets Russes. He served in this capacity until Diaghilev's death in 1929. In addition to his other duties, he also wrote several ballet libretti for the troupe. He died in 1990 in Paris following a fall. He was buried next to Wladimir Augenblick who died in 2001.
• Mathilde (Missy) de Morny (1863-1944), a French noblewoman, artist and transgender figure, she became a lover of several women in Paris, including Liane de Pougy and Colette.
• Marcel Proust (1871-1922) was a French novelist, critic, and essayist best known for his monumental novel “À la recherche du temps perdu” (In Search of Lost Time), published in seven parts between 1913 and 1927. Also his friend and sometime lover, Reynaldo Hahn is buried here.
• Mlle Raucourt (1756-1815) was a French actress.
• Oscar Wilde’s tomb in Père Lachaise was designed by sculptor Sir Jacob Epstein, at the request of Robert Ross (1869-1918), who also asked for a small compartment to be made for his own ashes. Ross's ashes were transferred to the tomb in 1950.
• Salomon James de Rothschild (1835–1864) was a French banker and socialite. He was the father of Baroness Hélène van Zuylen.
• Raymond Roussel (1877-1933) wrote and published some of his most important work between 1900 and 1914, and then from 1920 to 1921 traveled around the world. He continued to write for the next decade, but when his fortune finally gave out, he made his way to a hotel in Palermo, Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes (Via Roma, 398, 90139 Palermo), where he died of a barbiturate overdose in 1933, aged 56.
• Gertrude Stein (1874-1946) was an American writer of novels, poetry and plays. In 1933, Stein published a kind of memoir of her Paris years, “The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas,” written in the voice of Toklas, her life partner. Alice B. Toklas (1877-1967) was an American-born member of the Parisian avant-garde of the early XX century. They are buried together.
• Pavel Tchelitchew (1898-1957), Russian-born surrealist painter. Loved by Edith Sitwell, he then in turn fell in love with Charles Henry Ford and moved with him in New York City.
• Oscar Wilde (1854-1900) was an Irish playwright, novelist, essayist, and poet. The modernist angel depicted as a relief on the tomb was originally complete with male genitals. They were broken off as obscene and kept as a paperweight by a succession of Père Lachaise Cemetery keepers. Their current whereabouts are unknown. In the summer of 2000, intermedia artist Leon Johnson performed a 40 minute ceremony entitled Re-membering Wilde in which a commissioned silver prosthesis was installed to replace the vandalised genitals.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Mazo de la Roche, born Mazo Louise Roche in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada, was the author of the Jalna novels, one of the most popular series of books of her time.
Born: January 15, 1879, Newmarket, Canada
Died: July 12, 1961, Toronto, Canada
Movies: Jalna
Parents: Alberta Roche, William Roche
People also search for: Heather Kirk, D. Petsch, Eva Zahn, more
Lived: The Sovereign House, 7 W River St, Oakville, ON L6L 3B3, Canada (43.39024, -79.71089)
3 Ava Crescent, Toronto, ON M5P 3B2, Canada (43.69815, -79.41852)
Zoroastrian Society Of Ontario, 3590 Bayview Ave, Toronto, ON M2M, Canada (43.80204, -79.39632)
307 Russell Hill Road, Toronto (43.6887, -79.40882)
Buried: St. George's Anglican Church & Cemetery, Sutton, York Regional Municipality, Ontario, Canada
Buried alongside: Caroline Clement

Mazo de la Roche was the author of the Jalna novels, one of the most popular series of books of her time. At the age of seven, Mazo de la Roche's parents adopted her orphaned younger cousin Caroline Clement, who joined in her fantasy world game and would become her lifelong companion. De la Roche herself had said in her autobiography, Ringing the Changes, that she and Clement were “raised together as sisters.” The two lived a reclusive life; their relationship was not widely discussed in the press. In 1931, they adopted two children whose parents were friends of Clement and de la Roche and who had died. “Their relationship would have been symbiotic. De la Roche found in Clement not only subject matter but also reason to live.” –Heather Kirk. “Caroline Clement was almost Mazo’s other self. These two dissimilar but perfectly attuned persons lived one of the most unusual and certainly most productive partnerships in the history of literature” –Ronald Hambleton. De la Roche and Clement are buried one near each other in the St. George’s churchyard at Sibbald Point Provincial Park near Sutton West, Ontario
Together from 1886 to 1961: 75 years.
Caroline Clement (April 4, 1878 – 1972?)
Mazo de la Roche (January 15, 1879 – July 12, 1961)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The Bronte Historical Society is a volunteer run non-profit charitable organization dedicated to preserving Bronte’s heritage and celebrating its past.
Address: The Sovereign House, 7 W River St, Oakville, ON L6L 3B3, Canada (43.39024, -79.71089)
Type: Guest Facility (open to public)
Phone: +1 905-825-5552
Place
Built in 1815
Philip Sovereign came to the Twelve (later named Bronte) from the New York area in 1814. Upon arrival, Philip purchased a plot of land from the Mississauga Natives along the western bank of the Twelve. Philip had the first log school house built on his property where his son, Charles Sovereign, would teach at the age of 17. As early settlers in the area, The Sovereigns, along with other notable families like the Belyeas, became directly involved with the shaping of Bronte as a town. Philip’s son Charles would continue to be a leader in the community by becoming Justice of the Peace. As a prominent and visible member of the community, Charles was suited to be part of the Bronte Harbour Company as the company’s secretary. Novelist, Mazo de la Roche and her family rented the Sovereign House for five years. Many of her novels and short stories were directly inspired by Bronte and its citizens as well as the surrounding area. In particular, Mazo’s novel “Possession” contains many characters and events that were drawn from her actual encounters in Bronte.
Life
Who: Mazo Louise Roche (January 15, 1879 – July 12, 1961) aka Mazo de la Roche
Mazo de la Roche was the author of the Jalna novels, one of the most popular series of books of her time. When she was seven, her parents adopted her orphaned younger cousin Caroline Clement, who joined in her fantasy world game and would become her lifelong companion. The two lived a fairly reclusive life; their relationship was not discussed widely in the press. In 1931 they adopted the two orphaned children of friends of theirs. Before she became famous, she lived for five years in Sovereign House in Bronte which has been designated a historical building by the Bronte Historical Society. Mazo’s "Whiteoaks Chronicles" figures into the term "Whiteoaks" which usually refers to the Oakville-Bronte area. Mazo de la Roche is buried near the grave of Stephen Leacock at St. George’s Anglican Church, at Sibbald Point, near Sutton, Ontario.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Mazo de la Roche’s house at 3590 Bayview Avenue in Toronto, Ontario, bought by The Zoroastrian Society of Ontario in 1975, serves as its community centre. It is listed as a City of Toronto Heritage Property.
Addresses:
3 Ava Crescent, Toronto, ON M5P 3B2, Canada (43.69815, -79.41852)
Zoroastrian Society Of Ontario, 3590 Bayview Ave, Toronto, ON M2M, Canada (43.80204, -79.39632)
307 Russell Hill Road, Toronto (43.6887, -79.40882)
Place
From the beginnings in the mid-sixties when the Parsi Zoroastrians first immigrated to Canada from India, to today the Zoroastrian Society of Ontario (ZSO) is the largest association of Zoroastrians outside of India and Iran. As the numbers began to grow, the ZSO was founded in 1971 and registered as a not for profit religious organization. The Zarathushtis are survivors of what is an almost 4,000 year old religion, practising the religion of Asho Zarathushtra in this multicultural environment.
Life
Who: Mazo Louise Roche (January 15, 1879 – July 12, 1961) aka Mazo de la Roche
From 1939 to 1945, Mazo de la Roche and her family lived successively in three houses in the Toronto area. The first was in the village of Thornhill, just north of Toronto. The second, called “Windrush Hill,” was located at the junction of Bayview Avenue and Steeles Avenue in York Mills (now the Zoroastrian Society Of Ontario), now part of Toronto. The third was on 307 Russell Hill Road (built in 1907), right in Toronto. In 1946, the British government expropriated Vale House, Mazo’s home in England, and Mazo and Caroline Clement sold Trail Cottage. In 1953 the family moved into 3 Ava Crescent (completed in 1930) in the posh Forest Hill district of Toronto. There Mazo and Caroline stayed until their deaths. This last home in Forest Hill was as English at it could be. Large and rambling, with Tudor-style timbers, a panelled entrance, snug library, terrace, and deep fireplace, it had badly heated, undecorated servants’ quarters on the top floor. Mazo de la Roche died quietly in the early morning of July 12, 1961, at her home in Toronto, in bed in the presence of her family. After Mazo passed away, Caroline immediately went into her own room and closed the door. She burned Mazo’s diaries. Caroline overrode Mazo’s will, which said she should be buried in Toronto. Caroline directed that Mazo be buried in St. George’s churchyard (408 Hedge Rd, Sutton, ON) beside Sibbald Point Provincial Park on the south shore of Lake Simcoe. For eleven years Caroline lived on alone in the house on Ava Crescent in Toronto. She is buried next to Mazo de la Roche.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Ivor Novello, born David Ivor Davies, was a Welsh composer and actor who became one of the most popular British entertainers of the first half of the 20th century. He was born into a musical family and his first successes were as a songwriter.
Died: March 6, 1951, London, United Kingdom
Full name: David Ivor Davies
Albums: Gosford Park, Glamorous Night And Careless Rapture, more
Lived: Redroofs, School Ln, Littlewick Green, Maidenhead, Berkshire, SL6 3QY, UK (51.51071, -0.79085)
143 Sutherland Avenue, W9
55 New Bond Street, W1S
Novello Theatre, 11 Aldwych, London WC2B 4LD, UK (51.51231, -0.11919)
Llwyn yr Eos, 95 Cowbridge Rd E, Cardiff CF11, UK (51.48124, -3.19483)
Studied: Magdalen College School, Oxford
Buried: Golders Green Crematorium, Golders Green, London Borough of Barnet, Greater London, England
Saint Paul's Cathedral, London, City of London, Greater London, England, Plot: The Crypt (memorial)
St Paul Churchyard, Covent Garden, London Borough of Camden, Greater London, England (memorial)

Bobbie Andrews was a British stage actor. Ivor Novello was a Welsh composer and actor who became one of the most popular British entertainers of the first half of the 20th century. Novello and Andrews were at the very hub of London's theatrical gay society, dubbed "the Ivor/Noël naughty set (after Ivor Novello and Noël Coward)" by Cecil Beaton in his diaries. Novello had his first stage success with Theodore & Co in 1916, a production by George Grossmith, Jr. and Edward Laurillard with a score composed by Novello and the young Jerome Kern. In the same year, Novello contributed to André Charlot's revue See-Saw. In 1917, he wrote for another Grossmith and Laurillard production, the operette Arlette. In the same year, he was introduced him to the actor Bobbie Andrews, who became Novello's life partner. Andrews introduced Novello to the young Noël Coward. Coward, six years Novello's junior, was deeply envious of Novello's effortless glamour. He wrote, "I just felt suddenly conscious of the long way I had to go before I could break into the magic atmosphere in which he moved and breathed with such nonchalance".
Together from 1916 to 1951: 35 years.
Robert Tobias "Bobbie" Andrews (February 20, 1895 – 1976)
David Ivor Davies aka Ivor Novello (January 15, 1893 – March 6, 1951)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Ivor Novello was born on January 15, 1893, at Llwyn-yr-Eos (Grove of the Nightingale in Welsh), Cowbridge Road East, Cardiff, Wales
Address: 95 Cowbridge Rd E, Cardiff CF11, UK (51.48124, -3.19483)
Type: Private Property
Place
Cowbridge Road East (Welsh: Heol Ddwyreiniol y Bont-faen) is a major road in western-central Cardiff the capital of Wales. It is the principal road which passes through the busy district of Canton and connects Cowbridge Road West in the western districts to central Cardiff. The road is partly on the A4161. It is eventually crossed by Cathedral Road towards the city centre. It is home to numerous shops, pubs and restaurants.
Life
Who: David Ivor Davies (January 15, 1893 – March 6, 1951) aka Ivor Novello
Ivor Novello was a Welsh composer and actor who became one of the most popular British entertainers of the first half of the XX century. Novello was born in Cardiff, Wales, to David Davies (c. 1852 – 1931), a rent collector for the city council, and his wife, Clara Novello Davies, an internationally known singing teacher and choral conductor. In 1917 Sir Edward Marsh introduced him to the actor Bobbie Andrews, who became Novello’s life partner. Andrews introduced Novello to the young Noël Coward. Coward, six years Novello’s junior, was deeply envious of Novello’s effortless glamour. He wrote, "I just felt suddenly conscious of the long way I had to go before I could break into the magic atmosphere in which he moved and breathed with such nonchalance.” Around 1921 Novello had an affair with the writer Siegfried Sassoon; it was short lived, but in the words of Sassoon’s biographer John Stuart Roberts, Novello "was a consummate flirt who collected lovers as he gathered lilacs." Novello died suddenly from a coronary thrombosis at the age of 58, a few hours after completing a performance in the run of “King’s Rhapsody.” He was cremated at the Golders Green Crematorium, and his ashes are buried beneath a lilac bush and marked with a plaque that reads "Ivor Novello March 6, 1951 ‘Till you are home once more’." He left an estate worth £160,000 (£4.49 million in 2016.)



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Clara Novello Davies (1861-1943) was a well-known Welsh singer, teacher and conductor. She married David Davies, a solicitor's clerk with the same surname as her own, on October 31, 1883. Their son, David Ivor Davies, became better known as Ivor Novello, the actor, composer, dramatist and director. She taught at her London home at 143 Sutherland Avenue, W9.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

After leaving school, Ivor Novello moved with his parents to London. They lived at 55 New Bond Street, W1S between 1910 and 1913, where he took singing lessons and continued to write and perform.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

English Heritage Blue Plaque: 11 Aldwych, Ivor Novello (1893–1951), “Composer and Actor Manager lived and died in a flat on the top floor of this building"
Address: 11 Aldwych, London WC2B 4LD, UK (51.51231, -0.11919)
Type: Guest facility (open to public)
Phone: +44 844 482 5170
English Heritage Building ID: 208537 (Grade II, 1971)
Place
The Novello Theatre is a West End theatre on Aldwych, in the City of Westminster. The theatre was built as one of a pair with the Aldwych Theatre on either side of the The Waldorf Hilton, London, both being designed by W. G. R. Sprague. The theatre was opened by The Shubert Organization as the Waldorf Theatre on May 22, 1905, and was renamed the Strand Theatre, in 1909. It was again renamed as the Whitney Theatre in 1911, before again becoming the Strand Theatre in 1913. In 2005, the theatre was renamed by its owners (Delfont Mackintosh Theatres) the Novello Theatre in honour of Ivor Novello, who lived in a flat above the theatre from 1913 to 1951. The black comedy “Arsenic and Old Lace” had a run of 1337 performances here in the 1940s, and “Sailor, Beware!” ran for 1231 performances from 1955. Stephen Sondheim’s musical “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” opened here on the day of Kennedy’s assassination, running for nearly two years. In 1971, the comedy “No Sex Please, We’re British” opened here, remaining for over 10 years of its 16-year run until it transferred to the Garrick Theatre in 1982. The theatre was extensively refurbished in 1930 and again in the early 1970s. After “The Rat Pack: Live From Las Vegas” in 2005, its 100th anniversary year, the theatre was extensively refurbished. The current seating capacity is 1,105.
Life
Who: David Ivor Davies (January 15, 1893 – March 6, 1951) aka Ivor Novello
After leaving school, Ivor Novello gave piano lessons in Cardiff, and then moved to London in 1913 with his mother. They took a flat above the Strand Theatre, which became his London home for the rest of his life. The flat would later play host to such stars of song, stage and screen as Noël Coward, Somerset Maugham, Paul Robeson and Siegfried Sassoon. In London he found a mentor in Sir Edward Marsh, a well-known patron of the arts. Marsh encouraged him to compose and introduced him to people who could help his career. He adopted part of his mother’s maiden name, "Novello" as his professional surname, although he did not change it legally until 1927. In 1914, at the start of WWI, Novello wrote "Keep the Home Fires Burning,” a song that expressed the feelings of innumerable families sundered by WWI. Novello composed the music for the song to a lyric by the American Lena Guilbert-Ford, and it became a huge popular success, bringing Novello money and fame at the age of 21. In other respects, the war had less impact on Novello than on many young men of his age. He avoided enlistment until June 1916, when he reported to a Royal Naval Air Service (RNAS) training depot as a probationary flight sub-lieutenant. After twice crashing an aeroplane, and with the influence of Marsh, he was moved to the Air Ministry office in central London performing clerical duties for the duration of the war. In 1916 he met the then 21-year-old actor Bobby Andrews. The pair became friends, then lovers, and stayed together for 35 years. They performed together many times in Novello's musicals and plays.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

The British film company Gainsborough Pictures offered Ivor Novello a lucrative contract, which enabled him to buy a country house in Littlewick Green, near Maidenhead. He renamed the property Redroofs, and he entertained there famously and with little regard for convention.
Address: School Ln, Littlewick Green, Maidenhead, Berkshire, SL6 3QY, UK (51.51071, -0.79085)
Type: Student Facility (open to public)
Phone: +44 1628 822982
Place
The village of Littlewick Green is set just off the main Bath Road two miles west of Maidenhead and has a certain charm, with many of its cottages and houses set around a sizeable green with the school and parish church completing the picture. Also here is “Redroofs,” the former home of Ivor Novello, where many of his most famous works were composed. The village pub, the Cricketers, overlooks the green. The village hall was built in 1911 and has an unusual balcony facing the green where the cricket teams watch matches and keep the score on the scoreboard. The church was completed in 1893 and was built mainly to provide a burial ground and to make unnecessary the long walk to White Waltham in whose civil parish the village lies.
Life
Who: David Ivor Davies (January 15, 1893 – March 6, 1951) aka Ivor Novello and Robert Tobias "Bobbie" Andrews (February 20, 1895 – 1976)
Cecil Beaton, noting the frequent homosexual excesses at Redroofs, coined the phrase, "the Ivor/Noel naughty set.” Noel Coward had by now caught Novello up professionally, despite a joint disaster when Novello starred in Coward’s play “Sirocco” in 1927, which was a débâcle, and closed within a month of opening. In 1928 Novello starred in the silent adaptation of Coward’s much more successful “The Vortex,” and made his last silent film, “A South Sea Bubble.” During the late 1920s, Novello was the most popular male star in British films. Novello died on March 6, 1951. Bobbie Andrews died in 1976 at Redroofs. Novello’s memory is promoted by The Ivor Novello Appreciation Bureau, which holds annual events around Britain, including an annual pilgrimage to Redroofs each June. Redroofs was sold after Novello’s death and is now a theatre training school.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Golders Green Crematorium and Mausoleum was the first crematorium to be opened in London, and one of the oldest crematoria in Britain.
Address: 60 Hoop Ln, London NW11 7NH, UK (51.57687, -0.19413)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Phone: +44 20 8455 2374
English Heritage Building ID: 199262 (Grade II, 1993)
Place
The land for the crematorium was purchased in 1900, costing £6,000, and the crematorium was opened in 1902 by Sir Henry Thompson. The crematorium, the Philipson Family mausoleum, designed by Edwin Lutyens, the wall, along with memorials and gates, the Martin Smith Mausoleum, and Into The Silent Land statue are all Grade II listed buildings. The gardens are included in the National Register of Historic Parks and Gardens. Golders Green Crematorium, as it is usually called, is in Hoop Lane, off Finchley Road, Golders Green, London NW11, ten minutes’ walk from Golders Green tube station. It is directly opposite the Golders Green Jewish Cemetery (Golders Green is an area with a large Jewish population.) The crematorium is secular, accepts all faiths and non-believers; clients may arrange their own type of service or remembrance event and choose whatever music they wish. A map of the Gardens of Remembrance and some information on persons cremated here is available from the office. The staff are very helpful in finding a specific location. The columbaria are now locked, although they can still be visited (if accompanied.) There is also a tea room.
Notable queer burials at Golders Green Crematorium:
• Richard Addinsell (January 13, 1904 - November 14, 1977), was a British composer, best known for film music, primarily his Warsaw Concerto, composed for the 1941 film “Dangerous Moonlight” (also known under the later title “Suicide Squadron”). Addinsell retired from public life in the 1960s, gradually becoming estranged from his close friends. He was, for many years, the companion of the fashion designer Victor Stiebel, who died in 1976.
• Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson (1862-1932), Scholar and advocate of a league of nations. He was the third of the five children of Lowes Cato Dickinson (1819-1908) and his wife, Margaret Ellen (d. 1882), daughter of William Smith Williams.
• Edith Ellis (1861-1916), psychologist. She was noted for her novels and memoirs.
• Havelock Ellis (1859-1939), psychologist. He and his wife, Edith Ellis, were psychologists and writers. He wrote the controversial "Studies in the Psychology of Sex," which was banned as obscene.
• Anna Freud (1895-1982) and Dorothy Burlingham (1891-1979), next to each other and to others in the Freud family, including Sigmund Freud.
• Kenneth Halliwell (1926-1967), British actor and writer. He was the mentor, partner, and the eventual murderer of playwright Joe Orton. Their ashes were mingled and scattered in the same garden.
• Ivor Novello (1893-1951), actor, writer and lyricist. His ashes are buried beneath a lilac tree which has a plaque enscribed "Ivor Novello March 6, 1951 “Till you are home once more”.”
• Norman O'Neill (1875-1934), British composer and conductor. His studies were facilitated by Eric Stenbock, with whom it is said he had a relationship. He married Adine Berthe Maria Ruckert (1875-1947) on July 2, 1899 in Paris, France. Adine was a celebrated pianist and music teacher in her own right. When he died in 1934 he was cremated at Golders Green Crematorium, London, as was Adine on her death in 1947. There is a plaque there in memory to both of them.
• Joe Orton (1933-1967), playwright. Orton and his lover, Kenneth Halliwell, moved at 25 Noel Road, Islington, in 1959, at a time when the area was far from fashionable. Eight years later, Halliwell killed himself after murdering Orton.
Cremated here but ashes taken elsewhere:
• Sir Stanley Baldwin (1867-1947), 1st Earl of Bewdley, K.G., P.C. was the leading Conservative politician between the two world wars and was Prime Minister for three terms (1923-4, 1924-29 and 1935-37). Ashes removed to Worcester Cathedral.
• Roger Fry (1866-1934), English artist and critic, a member of the Bloomsbury group. He had an affair with Vanessa Bell, and when she left him, he was heartbroken. Only in 1924 he found happiness with Helen Anrep, a former wife of the Russian-born mosaicist, Boris Anrep. His ashes were placed in the vault of Kings College Chapel, Cambridge, in a casket decorated by Vanessa Bell.
• In his later years Lord Ronald Gower had been a crusader for cremation, and after his death on March 9, 1916 his body was cremated at Golders Green, and his ashes were interred at Rusthall, Kent, on March 14, 1916.
• John Inman (1935-2007), actor, star of “Are You Being Served?,” location of ashes unknown.
• Joan Werner Laurie (1920–1964) was an English book and magazine editor. She met journalist and broadcaster Nancy Spain in 1950 and they became life partners. Joan and Nancy lived openly together with their sons, and later the couple provided a home to Windmill Theatre owner and rally driver Sheila van Damm. She was learning to fly when she died, with Nancy Spain and four others, when the Piper Apache aeroplane crashed near Aintree racecourse on the way to the 1964 Grand National. She was cremated with Spain at Golders Green Crematorium, London. The relationship between Werner Laurie and Spain is described in Rose Collis' biography of Nancy Spain, published in 1997.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Frances "Fannie" Benjamin Johnston was an early American female photographer and photojournalist whose career lasted for almost half a century.
Born: January 15, 1864, Grafton, West Virginia, United States
Died: May 16, 1952, French Quarter, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Education: Académie Julian
Lived: 1332 V St NW, Washington, DC 20009
1132 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116, USA (29.96226, -90.06205)
536 Fifth Avenue
Buried: Rock Creek Cemetery, Washington, District of Columbia, District Of Columbia, USA

Fannie Johnston was one of the earliest American female photographers and photojournalists. She took portraits of many famous contemporaries including Susan B. Anthony, Mark Twain and Booker T. Washington. She was dubbed the "Photographer to the American court." She photographed Admiral Dewey on the deck of the USS Olympia, Alice Roosvelt's wedding portrait, the Roosevelt children playing at the White House and the gardens of Edith Wharton’s famous villa near Paris. In 1901, Mattie Edwards Hewitt traveled to the Pan American Exposition in Buffalo, where she met Fannie. Hewitt divorced her husband, photographer Arthur Hewitt, in 1909 and moved with Johnston to New York City. The two women embarked as partners, seizing the opportunity presented by a wave of public building in New York to establish themselves as architectural photographers. They photographed the new Public Library, Hotel Manhattan, the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, West Point Academy and the New Theatre. Despite their successes, the partnership ended in a bitter conflict in 1917, leaving both Hewitt and Johnston to pursue independent careers.
Together from 1901 to 1917: 16 years.
Frances "Fannie" Benjamin Johnston (January 15, 1864 – May 16, 1952)
Mattie Edwards Hewitt (died in 1956)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In 1894 Frances Benjamin Johnston (1864-1952) opened her own photographic studio on 1332 V St NW (Washington, DC 20009), and at the time was the only woman photographer in the city. She took portraits of many famous contemporaries including Susan B. Anthony, Mark Twain and Booker T. Washington.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

While other great mansions along Central Park were being converted to museums or condominiums, the Henry Cook house remained intact. In 1977 it was purchased by highly-successful businessman Victor Shafferman for $600,000. Shafferman died in 2009 leaving No. 973 Fifth Avenue with much of the original interior detailing: plaster moldings, marble mantles and paneled rooms.
Address: 5th Ave, New York, NY 10075, USA
Type: Private Property
Notable queer residents at Fifth Avenue:
- No. 973 Fifth Avenue: Victor Shafferman (November 8, 1941- October 19, 2009) Henry H. Cook made his fortune in railroads and banking. When he began planning to build his enormous mansion in 1880 at the north corner of 5th Avenue and 78th Street across from Central Park he had no intentions of commercial interlopers in his neighborhood. That year Cook purchased the entire block from Fifth Avenue to Madison Avenue, between 78th and 79th Streets for $500,000 and laid out stringent building restrictions: no structure other than a private home could be built on what was known as the Cook Block. The restrictions survive today. The Cook and Whitney houses were completed in 1907, architect Stanford White. By 1912 James B. Duke had demolished the original Cook mansion to erect his own white marble mansion that survives today. Henry Cook left the house to his daughter but, according to Christopher Gray, she rarely used it. In 1919 Cook’s daughter sold the house to the socially-prominent Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Fuller Feder. A year after their daughter Odette’s debut, a glittering reception was held on Dec. 26, 1921 for her wedding to the dashing British Royal Air Force Major J. Ronald McCrindle. (Eight years later Odette filed for divorce.) Mrs. Feder continued to entertain lavishly in the house until her husband’s death on 11 May, 1944. Mr. Feder lived there with his wife and family, 29 years later in 1948, the family sold it to the Mormon Church. The Mormons used it as a training center. In 1978, they sold it to Victor Shafferman, a real estate investor, for a reported $600,000. The estate of Victor Shafferman, who died in 2009, sold 973 5th Avenue in 2011 for $49 million.
- No. 907 Fifth Avenue: In the 1950s Pola Negri resided at 907 Fifth Avenue. Neighbors reported that a great portrait of Valentino hung in a prominent place in her foyer. By the end of the decade, she had moved into the San Antonio mansion of oil heiress Margaret West. When Miss West died in 1963, she willed Pola her jewelry and lifetime use of her Texas house. When Pola died in 1987, she was still living in Texas. The twelve-story, limestone-faced building is located at Fifth Avenue and 72nd Street on a site once occupied by the 1893 residence of James A. Burden, which had been designed by R. H. Robertson. The apartment block, built in 1916, was the first apartment building to replace a private mansion on Fifth Avenue above 59th Street. It was converted to a cooperative in 1955. J. E. R. Carpenter was the architect; he would be called upon to design many of the luxury apartment buildings that gave a new scale to Fifth Avenue in the ‘teens and twenties of the XX century. The building won him the 1916 gold medal of the American Institute of Architects. The building has the aspect of an Italian Renaissance palazzo, built around a central court. Its first four floors are lightly rusticated; deep quoins carry the rusticated feature up the corners to the boldly projecting top cornice. A strong secondary cornice above the fourth floor once made a conciliatory nod to the cornice lines of the private houses that flanked it, whose owners had fought its construction in court. When it opened, there were two twelve-room apartments on most floors.
- No. 820 Fifth Avenue: a luxury cooperative in Manhattan, New York City, located on Fifth Avenue at the Northeast corner of East 63rd Street on the Upper East Side. The 12 story limestone-clad neo-Italian Renaissance palazzo is one of the most expensive and exclusive apartment houses in the city. It was designed by Starrett & Van Vleck and built by Fred T. Ley in 1916. The land upon which it was built was previously occupied by the Progress Club. The frontage was 100.5 feet on Fifth Avenue and 100 feet on 63rd Street. Construction cost was 1 million dollars, exclusive of the land (which cost another million.) The building comprises 12 apartments. The fourth floor is one of only a couple of units at 820 that have changed hands multiple times in the last 10 or 20 years. For many years, the 18-room sprawler was owned by poet, philanthropist, and paper heiress Louise Crane whose family concern, Crane & Co., manufactures high-grade stationary and has provided the paper on which U.S. currency has been printed for nearly 150 years. Crane was about as old as money gets in America young country. After Crane’s death in 1997, the apartment was sold to khaki pants king Tommy Hilfiger who somehow scooched by the notoriously fussy and stringent board and reportedly scooped the apartment up in the spring of 1999 for around $10,000,000. After jumping through all the board’s crazy hoops and demands and finally finessing his way into the building, Hilfiger did the unthinkable, he quickly changed his mind about living up in 820 and flipped the apartment back onto the market at a much higher price than he paid.
- No. 536 Fifth Avenue: With her partner, Mattie Edwards Hewitt, a successful freelance home and garden photographer in her own right, Francis Benjamin Johnston opened a studio in New York in 1913 at 536 Fifth Avenue, and moved in with her mother and aunt. She lectured at New York University on business for women and they produced a series of studies of New York architecture through the 1920s. In early 1920 her mother died in New York.


680 & 684 Fifth Ave Residences | 684 Fifth Ave was built as wedding gift of William H. Vanderbilt for his daughter Florence and her husband Hamilton Twombly. The other mansion (left) at 680 was the home of his daughter Eliza Osgood Vanderbilt Webb and her husband, Dr. William Seward Webb.

Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Frances Benjamin Johnston acquired a home in the French Quarter of New Orleans in 1940, retiring there in 1945, where she died in 1952 at the age of eighty-eight.
Address: 1132 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116, USA (29.96226, -90.06205)
Type: Private Property
Place
The noted photographer Frances Benjamin Johnston made her home at 1132 Bourbon Street. In the 1930s she received a Carnegie Foundation grant to photograph southern architecture. Her photos are now in the Library of Congress. The Greek Revival style house was erected for Mme. Julie Duralde, the widow of John Clay, Henry Clay’s brother. She purchased the property in 1835 and owned it until her death in 1861. A bronze plaque identifying this building was affixed by the Orleans Parish Landmarks Commission in 1985.
Life
Who: Frances "Fannie" Benjamin Johnston (January 15, 1864 – May 16, 1952)
Frances Benjamin Johnston was one of the earliest American female photographers and photojournalists. Well connected among elite society, she was commissioned by magazines to do "celebrity" portraits, such as Alice Roosevelt’s wedding portrait. She photographed the gardens of Edith Wharton’s famous villa near Paris. Johnston also photographed the famous American heiress and literary salon socialite Natalie Barney in Paris but perhaps her most famous work is her self-portrait of the liberated "New Woman,” petticoats showing and beer stein in hand.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

In Nov. 2003, Howard Austen died; later, in Feb. 2005, he was re-buried at Rock Creek Cemetery, in Washington, D.C., in a joint grave meant for both Gore Vidal and Austen.
Address: 201 Allison St NW, Washington, DC 20011, USA (38.94744, -77.01203)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Phone: +1 (202) 726-2080
National Register of Historic Places: 77001498, 2010
Place
Rock Creek Cemetery is an 86-acre (350,000 m2) cemetery with a natural rolling landscape located at Rock Creek Church Road, NW, and Webster Street, NW, off Hawaii Avenue, NE in Washington, D.C.’s Petworth neighborhood. It is across the street from the historic Soldiers’ Home and the Soldiers’ Home Cemetery. It also is home to the InterFaith Conference of Metropolitan Washington. It was first established in 1719 as a churchyard within the glebe of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Rock Creek Parish. The Vestry later decided to expand the burial ground as a public cemetery to serve the city of Washington and this was established through an Act of Congress in 1840. The expanded Cemetery was landscaped in the rural garden style, to function as both a cemetery and a public park. It is a ministry of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Rock Creek Parish with sections for St. John’s Russian Orthodox Church and St. Nicholas Orthodox Church. Rock Creek Cemetery’s park-like setting has many notable mausoleums, sculptures, and tombstones. The best known is Augustus Saint-Gaudens and Stanford White’s Adams Memorial, a contemplative, androgynous bronze sculpture seated before a block of granite. It marks the graves of Marian Hooper “Clover" Adams and her husband, Henry Adams, and sometimes mistakenly, the sculpture is referred to as Grief. Saint-Gaudens entitled it The Mystery of the Hereafter and The Peace of God that Passeth Understanding. Other notable memorials include the Frederick Keep Monument, the Heurich Mausoleum, the Hitt Monument, the Hardon Monument, the Kauffman Monument, known as The Seven Ages of Memory, the Sherwood Mausoleum Door, and the Thompson-Harding Monument.
Notable queer burials at Rock Creek Cemetery:
• Henry Brooks Adams (1838-1918)
• Howard Auster (1929–2003)
• Frances Benjamin "Fannie" Johnston (1864-1952), pioneering photojournalist and documentary photographer. She was cremated and her ashes scattered over the family plot.
• James Trimble, III (1925-1945)
• Gore Vidal (1925–2012)
Life
Who: Eugene Louis Vidal (October 3, 1925 – July 31, 2012) aka Gore Vidal and Howard Auster (1929 – September 22, 2003) aka Howard Austen
Gore Vidal and Howard Austen are buried side by side at Rock Creek Cemetery. Near them there is also Henry Adams, the American journalist, novelist, academic and historian who featured in Vidal’s books, and the great love of Gore Vidal’s life, Jimmy Trimble. Gore Vidal’s second novel, “The City and the Pillar” (1948) caused a moralistic furor over his dispassionate presentation of a young protagonist coming to terms with his homosexuality and a male homosexual relationship. The novel was dedicated to "J.T."; decades later, Vidal confirmed that the initials were those of James Trimble III, killed in the Battle of Iwo Jima on March 1, 1945; and that Jimmie Trimble was the only person Gore Vidal ever loved.



Queer Places, Vol. 1 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532901904
ISBN-10: 1532901909
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228297
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532901909/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1BU9K/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Ernest Frederic Graham Thesiger, CBE was an English stage and film actor. He is especially well-remembered for his performance as Doctor Septimus Pretorius in James Whale's film Bride of Frankenstein.
Born: January 15, 1879, Chelsea, London, United Kingdom
Died: January 14, 1961, London, United Kingdom
Spouse: Janette Mary Fernie Ranken (m. 1917–1961)
Education: Marlborough College
Lived: 6 Montpelier Terrace, SW7
8 St George’s Court, Gloucester Road, SW7
Buried: Brompton Cemetery, West Brompton, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, Greater London, England

Ernest Thesiger was an English stage and film actor. He is remembered for his performance as Doctor Septimus Pretorius in James Whale's film Bride of Frankenstein (1935). In 1917, he married Janette Mary Fernie Ranken, sister of his close friend and fellow Slade graduate William Bruce Ellis Ranken. The writer Hilary Spurling, in her biography of Thesiger's friend, Ivy Compton-Burnett, suggests that Thesiger and Janette wed largely out of their mutual adoration of William, who shaved his head when he learned of the engagement. Another source states more explicitly that Thesiger made no secret of his homosexuality. Thesiger moved in several artistic, literary and theatrical circles. At various times, he frequented the studio of John Singer Sargent, befriended Mrs. Patrick Campbell, visited and corresponded with Percy Grainger and worked closely with George Bernard Shaw, who wrote the role of the Dauphin in Saint Joan for him. W. Somerset Maugham, on the other hand, responded to Thesiger's inquiry about why he wrote no parts for him with the quip "But I am always writing parts for you, Ernest. The trouble is that somebody called Gladys Cooper will insist on playing them.” Ranken’s friends included: composer Cole Porter; writer Violet Keppel Trefusis, the lover of Vite Sackville-West; Anne Morgan, daughter of the famous financer; decorator Elsie de Wolfe; the dynamic literary agent Elizabeth Marbury, de Wolfe's lover; Henry Davis Sleeper, the collector; and most significantly, William Lygon, Earl Beauchamp, and his middle son, the Honorable Hugh Lygon.
Ernest Frederic Graham Thesiger, CBE (January 15, 1879 – January 14, 1961)
William Bruce Ellis Ranken (1881 – 1941)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Ernest Thesiger (1879-1961), actor and social nonconformist, lived in a lavender marriage with William Ranken’s sister, Janette Ranken, herself in love with the poet Margaret Jourdain, at 6 Montpelier Terrace, SW7 from 1917 to 1939, and at 8 St George’s Court, Gloucester Road, SW7 from 1939 to 1961.



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Consecrated by the Bishop of London in June 1840, Brompton Cemetery is one of Britain’s oldest and most distinguished garden cemeteries.
Address: Fulham Rd, London SW10 9UG, UK (51.48529, -0.19114)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Hours: Monday through Friday 9.00-16.00, Sunday 9.00-20.00
Phone: +44 20 7352 1201
English Heritage Building ID: 203792 (Grade II, 1969)
Place
Brompton Cemetery is located near Earl’s Court in west London (postal districts SW5 and SW10), in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. It is managed by The Royal Parks, and is one of the Magnificent Seven cemeteries. Established by Act of Parliament, it opened in 1840 and was originally known as the West of London and Westminster Cemetery. Some 35,000 monuments, from simple headstones to substantial mausolea, mark the resting place of more than 205,000 burials. The site includes large plots for family mausolea, and common graves where coffins are piled deep into the earth, as well as a small columbarium. Brompton was closed to burials between 1952 and 1996, but is once again a working cemetery, with plots for interments and a “Garden of Remembrance” for the deposit of cremated remains. The cemetery has a reputation for being a popular cruising ground for gay men.
Notable queer burials at Brompton Cemetery:
• Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino, infamous Italian quaintrelle, muse, eccentric and patron of the arts. The quote "Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale her infinite variety," from Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra, was inscribed on her tombstone.
• Geraldine Jewsbury (1812-1880), writer.
• Emmeline Pankhurst (1858-1928), leading suffragette.
• Ernest Thesiger (1879-1961), character actor, “The Old Dark House” and “Bride of Frankenstein.”
Life
Who: Luisa, Marchesa Casati Stampa di Soncino (January 23, 1881 – June 1, 1957)
By 1930, Luisa Casati had amassed a personal debt of $25 million. Unable to pay her creditors, her personal possessions were auctioned off. Designer Coco Chanel was reportedly one of the bidders. Luisa Casati fled to London where she lived in comparative poverty in a one-room flat. She was rumoured to be seen rummaging in bins searching for feathers to decorate her hair. On June 1, 1957, Marchesa Casati died of a stroke at her last residence at 32 Beaufort Gardens, SW3 aged 76. Following a requiem mass at Brompton Oratory, the Marchesa was interred in Brompton Cemetery. She was buried wearing her black and leopard skin finery and a pair of false eyelashes. She was also interred with one of her beloved stuffed pekinese dogs. Her tombstone is a small grave marker in the shape of an urn draped in cloth with a swag of flowers to the front. The inscription on the tombstone misspells her "Louisa" rather than "Luisa.”



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Lived: Hotel Continental, Bagni di Lucca
Casa Bernardini, Bagno alla Villa
Casa Burlamacchi, Bagni di Lucca
Buried: English Cemetery, Bagni di Lucca, Provincia di Lucca, Toscana, Italy
Buried alongside: Rose Cleveland

Rose Cleveland was the sister of Pres. Grover Cleveland, who was unmarried during his first two years in office. Rose lived with him in the White House at that time and took over the hostess duties of the First Lady. She later became the principal of the Collegiate Institute of Lafayette, Indiana, a writer and lecturer, and the editor of the Chicago-based magazine Literary Life. At age 44, she started a passionate correspondence with a wealthy widow, Evangeline Simpson, with explicitly erotic correspondence. Things cooled off when 36 yo Evangeline married an Episcopal bishop from Minnesota, Henry Benjamin Whipple, 74 yo. By 1910, after his death, the two women rekindled their relationship and eventually moved to Bagni di Lucca, Italy, to live together. They shared the house with the English illustrator and artist Nelly Erichsen. Rose died at home during the 1918 flu pandemic, within one week of Nelly. They were buried in the English Cemetery at Bagni di Lucca. Before Evangeline’s death in 1930, she directed her executors to bury her next to Rose. “Ah, how I love you, it paralyzes me—it makes me heavy with emotion…. I tremble at the thought of you—all my whole being leans out to you…. I dare not think of your arms.” --Rose to Evangeline. “Oh, darling, come to me this night—my Clevy, my Viking, my Everything—Come! —Evangeline to Rose
Together from 1890 to 1918: 28 years.
Evangeline Marrs Simpson Whipple (January 15, 1862 - September 1, 1930)
Rose Elizabeth Cleveland (June 13, 1846 - November 22, 1918)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Bagni di Lucca (formerly Bagno a Corsena) is a comune of Tuscany, Italy, in the Province of Lucca with a population of about 6,500. Bagni di Lucca with its thermal baths reached its greatest fame during the XIX century, especially during the French occupation.
Address: Cimitero Inglese, Via Letizia, 55022 Bagni di Lucca LU, Italy (44.00566, 10.58808)
Type: Cemetery (open to public)
Address: Via Bagno alla Villa, 55022 Bagni di Lucca LU, Italy (44.00971, 10.5879)
Type: Private Property
Address: Villa San Francesco, Via S. Francesco, 6, 55022 Bagni di Lucca LU, Italy (44.00832, 10.58725)
Type: Guest facility (open to public)
Phone: +39 333 765 8629
Place
The town became the summer residence of the court of Napoleon and his sister, Elisa Baciocchi. A casino was built, where gambling was part of social nightlife, as well as a large hall for dances. At the Congress of Vienna (1814), the Duchy of Lucca was assigned to Maria-Louisa of Bourbon as ruler of Parma. It continued as a popular summer resort, particularly for the English, who built a Protestant church there. The church now has been converted to the Bagni di Lucca Biblioteca (library) and holds archives and records that date back to centuries ago. In 1847 Lucca with Bagni di Lucca was ceded to the Grand Duchy of Tuscany, under the domain of the Grand Duke Leopold II of Lorraine. His rule started a period of decline for the springs and casino as a destination, since he was used to a secluded life. In 1853 the casino was closed. It was reopened after 1861, when Lucca became part of the unified Kingdom of Italy. In the 1940s, during the German invasion of Italy, Bagni di Lucca, along with many other towns located in the Apennines, was occupied, as they were along the Gothic Line. Several houses and mansions in the area were used as residences for German soldiers and some residents born after 1940 in this region have German ancestry. The English cemetery is a sacred place which is located in Bagni di Lucca, about 300 meters from the Church of England, on the other side of the river Lima. In 1842 Carlo Ludovico di Borbone granted to the British colony of Bagni di Lucca the faculty to establish a Protestant cemetery. They chose a place called "al Prato Santo (the Holy Meadow)" and, although the works were finished in 1844, the first burial happened immediately after the purchase. The graveyard was in operation until 1953 and there are 137 people who rest there. In 1982, with the exhaustion of a legacy for maintenance, the holy site was purchased by the town of Bagni di Lucca. The cemetery is currently managed by the Fondazione Michel de Montaigne and Istituto Storico Lucchese and is accessible to visitors every day (except Sunday) from 10.00 to 18.00. Among the people buried here, often in tombs made by famous sculptors such as Benjamin Gibson, Joseph Norfini and Emilio Duccini, are the novelist Ouida, Henry and Elizabeth Stisted and Irish entomologist Alexander Henry Haliday.
Notable queer burials at Cimitero Inglese di Bagni di Lucca:
• Rose Elizabeth Cleveland (June 13, 1846 – November 22, 1918), was the First Lady of the United States from 1885 to 1886, during the first of her brother U.S. President Grover Cleveland’s two administrations.
• Nelly Erichsen (1862-1918) was an English illustrator and painter. From 1912 until Nov. 1918, Erichsen was living in the quiet Tuscan spa town of Bagni di Lucca with two companions - Evangeline Whipple and Rose Cleveland. Whipple was the widow of the American Episcopal Bishop Henry Whipple, known for his evangelical work among the native Indian population. Whipple and Cleveland had first met in the winter of 1889–1890, and resumed their relationship in 1901 (after the death of Henry Whipple), moving from the USA to Italy in 1910. In 1918 tragedy struck, when both Rose Cleveland and Nelly Erichsen were carried off by the 1918 flu pandemic which decimated the post-war World. Evangeline Whipple died in London in 1930, but she was laid to rest in Bagni di Lucca next to the tombs of the two friends who had preceded her.
• Ouida (1839-1908) was the pseudonym of the English novelist Maria Louise Ramé (although she preferred to be known as Marie Louise de la Ramée.)
• Edward Perry Warren (1860-1928), known as Ned Warren, was an American art collector and the author of works proposing an idealized view of homosexual relationships. He is now best known as the former owner of the Warren Cup in the British Museum. At Oxford Edward Perry Warren met archeologist John Marshall (1862–1928), a younger man he called "Puppy," with whom he formed a close and long-lasting relationship, though Marshall married in 1907. Beginning in 1888, Warren made England his primary home. He and Marshall lived together at Lewes House (with Marshall’s wife, Mary), a large residence in Lewes, East Sussex, where they became the center of a circle of like-minded men interested in art and antiquities who ate together in a dining room overlooked by Lucas Cranach’s “Adam and Eve,” now in the Courtauld Institute of Art. Ned Warren, John Marshall and Mary are all buried together in Bagni di Lucca.
• Evangeline Marrs Whipple (1860-1930), widow for the second time (she first married the wealthy businessman Michael Hodge Simpson and then bishop Henry Benjamin Whipple), visited Bagni di Lucca in 1910, lodging at Hotel Continental and then taking residence at Casa Bernardini at Bagno alla Villa. This is the house she shared with Rose Cleveland and Nelly Ericksen. Rose and Nelly died in 1918. In 1928 Evangeline wrote “A Famous Corner of Tuscany” about Bagni di Lucca. Around this time she bought Casa Burlamacchi, completing restoring the “Casa Piccola” (Little House, now Villa San Francesco), in front of the garden at the back of the “Casa Grande” (Big House.)



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Brian Christian de Claiborne Howard was an English poet and later a writer for the New Statesman.
Born: March 13, 1905, Hascombe, United Kingdom
Died: January 15, 1958, Nice, France
Education: Eton College
Lived: Cobblestone House, Hascombe, Godalming GU8 4BT, UK (51.14153, -0.54976)
Chemin du Col de Bast, 06100 Nice, France (43.7373, 7.24177)
Buried: Cimetière Caucade, Nice, Departement des Alpes-Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
Buried alongside: Sam Langford

Brian Howard was an English poet, whose work belied a spectacularly precocious start in life; in the end, he became more of a journalist. He published only one substantial poetry collection God Save the King. Irish-born Sam Langford was his companion, from 1943 onwards. Langford liked to sail and commanded an Air-Sea Rescue Launch in the British navy during the war. He was invalidated out of the navy with a foot problem and briefly worked for the BBC before travelling and living abroad with Howard. Like Howard, Langford became addicted to drugs. He died in his bath when he was gassed by a faulty water heater at the house he shared with Howard and Howard's mother in the south of France. A few days later, Howard committed suicide by taking an overdose of sedatives. Howard will write: "I am doing my utmost to involve myself emotionally with Sam, and have only succeeded so far physically. I feel quite unsafe still. But I never intend to let Sam go." And later: "I am now really, to tell the truth, violently in love with Sam.” After a double funeral, they were buried together at the Cimetière Caucade de Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France.
Together from 1943 to 1958: 15 years.
Brian Christian de Claiborne Howard (March 13, 1905 – January 15, 1958)
Sam Langford (died in 1958)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Dirk Bogarde purchased the large farmhouse Cobblestone House (formerly Nore House) at Hascombe, near Godalming in 1962. He lived there with his partner and manager, Anthony Forwood, until 1971.
Address: Hascombe, Godalming GU8 4BT, UK (51.14153, -0.54976)
Type: Private Property
English Heritage Building ID: 291246 (Grade II, 1960)
Place
Built in XVII century with XIX and XX century additions to right.
Timber framed, clad in whitewashed and rendered brick below, tile hung above, some in diamond pattern, with sandstone rubble and brick extensions to right, all under plain tiled roofs, some hipped and half-hipped. Two storeys with end stack to left and offset square end stack to right; square ridge stack to right of centre dated 1750 on top. Four leaded casements to first floor and three larger leaded casements to ground floor. Panelled door to right of centre. Wings at right angles to rear. Dormered extensions to right, once a barn converted in circa 1900 of no especial architectural interest, although it was formerly the home of Brian Howard. Dirk Bogarde entertained several of his Hollywood co-stars at Nore. Among them was Ingrid Bergman, who came to stay for six weeks in 1965 while she was playing “A Month in the Country,” the first production at the newly opened Yvonne Arnaud Theatre in Guildford. He wrote of her in his autobiography that she “was constantly amused by my evening walk down to the vegetable gardens to pick the mint for supper”. Screen legend Judy Garland also came to Nore, in 1963, to show Bogarde a script of her semi-autobiographical film “I Could Go On Singing.” After filming “Death in Venice” in 1971, Bogarde moved to West Sussex and then France; Nore estate was sold and subsequently divided up. Bogarde describes leaving Cobblestone House in his biography “Snakes and Ladders” (1978): “…The removal vans trundled slowly down the long drive in a flurry of sleet and snow-showers, leaving the house empty, bare and strangely silent after the long racketing week of packing and crating-up of one’s life.”…
Life
Who: Sir Derek Jules Gaspard Ulric Niven van den Bogaerde (March 28, 1921 – May 8, 1999) aka Dirk Bogarde
Of all Dirk Bogarde's houses in the fifties and sixties, Nore was the finest. Reached by a long private drive through woodland, and much more secluded than Drummers Yard had been, it was officially described as “a large, three-bay continuous jetty house of two storeys and attics”, a yeoman's house, dating in large part from the late XVI century. It stood in about ten acres, with breathtaking views across the Surrey countryside towards the South Downs. It had ten bedrooms, eight bathrooms and six reception rooms, two cottages, a separate studio, a tennis court, a garage block and four pools, “two for water-lilies, one for ducks and one for humans”. There was also a contractual right to a free daily supply of 500 gallons of water. Above all, there were extensive gardens. In the twenties and early thirties Nore had been home to the parents of Brian Howard, the American-born, Eton-educated poet, wit, aesthete, homosexual, “charismatic failure” and “the oddest aircraftman since T. E. Shaw”. He was dark and handsome, had a Machiavellian streak and was “quasi-sadistic mentally, quasi-masochistic physically”; he also had “pity and compassion for all human suffering, he loved the beauties of nature, literature and the arts”, and according to Evelyn Waugh was “mad, bad and dangerous to know”. A great platonic love of his was Daphne Fielding, and although she never saw him at Nore, when she went to stay with Dirk and Tony (Anthony Forwood), she “was conscious of Brian all the time, and his own very particular atmosphere seemed to dominate even Dirk's.” Which was indeed saying something. Howard's parents had rented Nore from Robert Godwin-Austen, a descendant of the topographer who “discovered” the Himalayan peak now known as K2, and whose travels yielded a miniature temple, with a “lion-dog” at each of the four corners, which Dirk found, buried in brambles, and with “a rather curious, and very detailed, phallic symbol standing erect in the very center! So I am not absolutely certain that it was only spirits who went there to worship.”



Queer Places, Vol. 2 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906312
ISBN-10: 1532906315
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228833
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906315/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZ1KZBO/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

After a double funeral, Brian Howard and Sam Langford were buried together at the Cimetière Caucade de Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur, France. Brian Howard failed to fulfil his early promise and published little.
Address: Chemin du Col de Bast, 06100 Nice, France (43.7373, 7.24177)
Type: Private Property
Place
In the summer of 1949 Brian Howard and Sam Langford were looking for a house in the south of France, and started their search in Grasse, but could not find anything they liked and so they took a flat in Nice. They then went to Aix-en-Provence, where Brian Howard got jaundice. They continued to look for a house in the south of France hoping that Brian’s mother, Lura (Laura) Chess Howard, would provide the money. When they found a house at Le Rouret near Grasse she failed to provide the cash. With the death of Brian Howard’s father in October 1954 his mother inherited shares and paintings, and the sale of pictures in Nov. 1955 at Christies raised £20000. Brian Howard and Sam were still keen to settle in France and so she bought a house near Nice - Le Verger, at Col de Bast, Vallon Obscur. Brian Howard and Sam moved into the house at the beginning of January 1958 but disaster struck within two weeks of their arrival. In the morning of January 11, 1958 Sam went to have a bath but workmen had removed an exhaust pipe from the bathroom and Sam died accidentally of asphyxiation from fumes from a gas heater. He was 32. Four days later Howard killed himself by taking an overdose of sedatives. He was 52. Lura Chess Howard continued to live at Le Verger, dying there on May 29, 1965.
Life
Who: Brian Christian de Claiborne Howard (March 13, 1905 – January 15, 1958) and Sam Langford (1926-1958)
Brian Howard was an English poet and later a writer for the New Statesman. He was educated at Eton College, where he was one of the Eton Arts Society group including Harold Acton, Oliver Messel, Anthony Powell and Henry Yorke. He entered Christ Church, Oxford in 1923, not without difficulty. He was prominent in the group later known as the Oxford Wits. He was one of the Hypocrites group that included Harold Acton, Lord David Cecil, L. P. Hartley and Evelyn Waugh. It has been suggested that Howard was Waugh’s model for Anthony Blanche in “Brideshead Revisited.” Waugh wrote, to Lord Baldwin: "There is an aesthetic bugger who sometimes turns up in my novels under various names -- that was 2/3 Brian [Howard] and 1/3 Harold Acton. People think it was all Harold, who is a much sweeter and saner man [than Howard]." In the late 1920s, he was a key figure among London’s "Bright Young Things" - a privileged, fashionable and bohemian set of relentless party-goers, satirised in such novels as Evelyn Waugh’s 1930 "Vile Bodies" where the character of Miles Malpractice owes something to Howard. Apart from Waugh, Howard knew all this circle, including Nancy Mitford, Henry Yorke, Harold Acton, and especially Nancy Cunard with whom he shared artistic and political interests, maintaining contact throughout his life. In 1929 he was famously involved in the "Bruno Hat" hoax when the fashionable Hon Mr & Mrs Bryan Guinness promoted a spoof London art exhibition by an apparently unknown German painter Bruno Hat (impersonated by the German-speaking Tom Mitford, brother of Nancy and Diana Mitford - the latter a socialite, arts patron and friend of Howard, Lytton Strachey, Evelyn Waugh, Boris Anrep, Dora Carrington John Betjeman and other artistic and literary figures, before her second marriage to British fascist leader Sir Oswald Mosley.) Bruno Hat’s paintings were the work of Brian Howard. Subsequently he led a very active social life, tried to come to terms with his homosexuality, and published only one substantial poetry collection “God Save the King” (1930.) During WWII took part in the Dunkirk evacuation and later worked for MI5 but was dismissed from the War Office in June 1942, after which he was conscripted to the Royal Air Force with a low-level clerk’s job at Bomber Command, High Wycombe, and an Air Ministry note on his file that he should never be given a commission. Transferred to another posting, where he referred to his commanding officer as “Colonel Cutie” (a trait Evelyn Waugh gave his rebellious rogue Basil Seal in the novel "Put Out More Flags"), Howard was dismissed in Dec. 1944, by which time he had formed a longstanding open relationship with Sam Langford, an Irishman serving in the Air Sea Rescue. After the war, Howard drifted around Europe with Sam, continuing to write occasional articles and reviews for the New Statesman, BBC and others, fitfully working on an uncompleted biography of the gay English writer Norman Douglas (author of the novel "South Wind") and doing no substantial work. Indiscreetly promiscuous, drinking heavily, taking drugs and behaving outrageously, they were expelled in turn from Monaco, France, Italy and Spain, the French authorities noting their "moralité douteuse" (dubious morality.) Evelyn Waugh wrote: "I used to know Brian Howard well—a dazzling young man to my innocent eyes. In later life he became very dangerous—constantly attacking people with his fists in public places—so I kept clear of him. He was consumptive but the immediate cause of his death was a broken heart."



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
Alma Vilibalda Maximiliana Karlin was a Slovene-Austrian traveler, writer, poet, collector, polyglot and theosophist.
Born: October 12, 1889, Celje, Slovenia
Died: January 15, 1950, Pečovnik, Slovenia
Books: The death-thorn
Lived: Pečovnik 26, 3000 Celje, Slovenia (46.19918, 15.26535)
Buried: Svetina, Svetina, Obcina Store, Savinjska, Slovenia
Buried alongside: Thea Schreiber Gammelin

Alma Karlin was a Slovene-Austrian traveler, writer, poet, collector, polyglot and theosophist. In 1932, Alma visited Stockholm and gave a talk about her travel on the radio. After the broadcast, painter Thea Schreiber Gammelin contacted her. This meeting evolved into longstanding friendship. Thea introduced Alma to the Nobel Prize for literature, Selma Lagerlöf, who evaluated her work very positively. Alma asked seventeen years younger Thea to become her personal secretary. After the occupation of Yugoslavia, in 1941, Gestapo persecuted Alma and finally arrested her, confiscated all her property and sent her to Dachau. However, she somehow succeeded to escape from the transport and fled to partisans. During the war, Thea joined the partisans too and was severely wounded. After the war, the authorities did not want to have anything to do with the writer who wrote in German. Alma’s and Thea’s spared founds were in foreign banks and therefore inaccessible, so they moved in a small house on the hill Pečovnik above Celje and lived humbly with Thea’s pension, often in shortage. Alma died from cancer in 1950 and was buried in the church's courtyard at Svetina. Thea died 38 years later, and is buried near Alma.
Together from 1932 to 1950: 18 years.
Alma Vilibalda Maximiliana Karlin (October 12, 1889 – January 14, 1950)
Thea Schreiber Gammelin (1906-1988)



Days of Love edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1500563325
ISBN-10: 1500563323
Release Date: September 21, 2014
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/4910282
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1500563323/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon (kindle): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MZG0VHY/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

At Pečovnik, at the city outskirts, is the house where Alma M. Karlin resided together with her friend Thea during the final years of her life. The residence at Pečovnik was named a cultural landmark of local importance and hosts the exhibition “The Lonely Voyage of Alma M. Karlin.”
Address: Pečovnik 26, 3000 Celje, Slovenia (46.19918, 15.26535)
Type: Museum (open to public)
Place
Pečovnik is a settlement on the left bank of the Savinja River in the City Municipality of Celje in eastern Slovenia. The area was traditionally part of the Styria region. It is now included with the rest of the municipality in the Savinja Statistical Region. The writer Alma Karlin lived the last years of her life and died in the village. Her house is now a small museum.
Life
Who: Alma Vilibalda Maximiliana Karlin (October 12, 1889 – January 15, 1950) and Thea Schreiber Gammelin (1906-1988)
Alma Karlin was an extraordinary traveller, polyglot, theosophist, and writer from Celje. From 1919 to 1927 she travelled to South and North America, the Pacific Islands, Australia, and various Asian countries and supported herself with odd jobs and writing. Her travel and fiction novels (written in German) became very popular in the 1930s (“The Odyssey of a Lonely Woman” and “The Spell of the South Sea,” a novel in two volumes was reprinted several times in the edition of over 100,000 copies.) During the war her work was banned and in 1944 she joined the Partisans. After the war she lived in a small house in Pečovnik above Celje in straitened circumstances together with her companion Thea Schreiber Gamelin. Alma’s work had been forgotten till the 1960s when ethnologists began to study her collections. Nowadays Alma Karlin inspires artists, feminists, historians as well as the inhabitants of Celje and the general public. Alma Karlin and Thea Schreiber Gammelin are buried together at the church’s courtyard at Svetina. The parish church is dedicated to the Mother of God and belongs to the Roman Catholic Diocese of Celje. It predates its earliest mention in written documents in 1480. Next to the church is a chapel dedicated to the Holy Cross. It dates to the late XV century, but was extensively rebuilt after a fire in 1714 that destroyed most of the village.



Queer Places, Vol. 3 edited by Elisa Rolle
ISBN-13: 978-1532906695
ISBN-10: 1532906692
Release Date: July 24, 2016
CreateSpace Store: https://www.createspace.com/6228901
Amazon (print): http://www.amazon.com/dp/1532906692/?tag=elimyrevandra-20
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IZXI10E/?tag=elimyrevandra-20

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

January 2017

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jan. 24th, 2017 03:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios