reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Fast paced thriller. Even though this is part of a series it is written so that you didn't need to read the others before this one.  Extremely well developed characters and the reader is kept guessing through the whole story.  
2) Setting was always vivid and fit the story line. Quality of writing was good, spare, left something to the imagination of the reader, with good dialog. A few minor editing flaws, but on the whole a good surprise for a self-published book.
3) This is a well-paced, crisp story that follows through with what it promises to the reader. It's a strong example of its genre.

Rainey with a Chance of Hale (A Rainey Bell Thriller #6) R.E. Bradshaw
Lesbian - Mystery / Thriller
Series: A Rainey Bell Thriller
Paperback: 174 pages
Publisher: R. E. Bradshaw Books (July 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0998954926
ISBN-13: 978-0998954929
Amazon: Rainey with a Chance of Hale (A Rainey Bell Thriller #6) R.E. Bradshaw

Rainey Bell, a former FBI Behavioral Analyst, has had a couple of quiet years since her last brush with death. Her old teammate with the BAU and her children's Godfather, Danny McNally, pays a visit to North Carolina from Quantico to escort Rainey into the Butner Federal Correctional Complex. Rainey made a promise almost twenty years ago to a distraught mother of a missing child. The opportunity to fulfill that pledge, one she should never have made, presents itself in the form of Chance Obadiah Hale. The teenager Rainey believed responsible for Alyson Grayson's disappearance was now a man in prison who wanted to talk, but only to Rainey. Can Rainey and Danny finally get to the truth about Alyson and Chance? Or will Rainey's stubborn belief in his guilt put everyone she loves in mortal danger? Eeny, meeny, miny, moe. Who will be the first to go?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)Another well written romance by the author.  Story flowed effortlessly and enjoyed both Rachel and Faith. Interesting story arc.

Planning for Love Erin Dutton
Lesbian - Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (August 15, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626399549
ISBN-13: 978-1626399549
Amazon: Planning for Love Erin Dutton

Wedding coordinator Faith McKenna doesn’t believe in the happily-ever-after that she promises her clients. So she has no qualms about giving a few brides one last fling on the side before they commit for life.

When maid of honor Rachel Union catches her best friend fooling around with the wedding coordinator before her wedding day, she swears she’ll out Faith to everyone if the bride doesn’t make it down the aisle. Against her better judgment, Rachel agrees not to tell the groom, but she vows to keep a close eye on Faith until after the big day. But spending time with Faith challenges Rachel’s opinion of her as shallow and opportunistic.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)This was a non-fiction work that documented the history, rise and influence of Cornyation Fiesta, an event that takes place in San Antonio. The book highlights the great aspects of the show: that is part satire, part vaudeville, part drag show, and lots of entertainment, woven with history. It has struggled to become accepted and by becoming involved in the AIDS crisis, has developed into a great organization.

Amy L. Stone Cornyation: San Antonio’s Outrageous Fiesta Tradition
LGBT - Non Fiction
Paperback: 188 pages
Publisher: Maverick Books (April 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 159534800X
ISBN-13: 978-1595348005
Amazon: Amy L. Stone Cornyation: San Antonio’s Outrageous Fiesta Tradition

Fiesta San Antonio began in 1891 began as a parade in honor of the battles of the Alamo and San Jacinto and has evolved into an annual Mardi Gras-like festival attended by four million with more than 100 cultural events raising money for nonprofit organizations in San Antonio, Texas.
At Fiesta's start, the events were socially exclusive, one of the most prominent being the Coronation of the Queen of the Order of the Alamo, a lavish, debutante pageant crowning a queen of the festival. Cornyation was created in 1951 by members of San Antonio's theater community as a satire, mocking the elite with their own flamboyant duchesses, empresses, and queens, accompanied by men in drag and local political figures in outrageous costume. The stage show quickly transformed into a controversial parody of local and national politics and culture.
Told through more than one hundred photographs and dozens of interviews, Cornyation is the first history of this major Fiesta San Antonio event, tracing how it has become one of Texas's iconic and longest-running celebrations, and one of the Southwest's first large-scale fundraisers for HIV-AIDS research, raising more than two million dollars since 1990.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) The author's ability to describe a sci-fi future made me believe that space flight was possible and in fact a reality. The various alien races were described in such a way as to be believable, while the technology was ingenious and creative.
The main character's ability to morph between female and male genders depending upon external stimuli, while normally sitting comfortably in a genderless state made me question what gender was, and how we fit into our assumed roles. This aspect was brilliantly portrayed by the author!
2) This sc-fi novel is spell-binding in its inventiveness and originality. Featuring third-gender, sexually fluid humans as the main characters along with an assortment of alien species as friends and foes keeps the plot moving swiftly to a dynamic conclusion. Dali is a unique character that I found fascinating. Great world and character building. An extremely satisfying read.
3) This is a phenomenal book with an intriguing approach to gender. The writing is sharp, effective, and suspenseful. The political and social conditions of the future are rich, detailed, and convincing.

E.M. Hamill Dalí
Bisexual - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback
Publisher: Ninestar Press, LLC (August 7, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1947139584
ISBN-13: 978-1947139589
Amazon: E.M. Hamill Dalí

Dalí Tamareia has everything--a young family and a promising career as an Ambassador in the Sol Fed Diplomatic Corps. Dalí's path as a peacemaker seems clear, but when their loved ones are killed in a terrorist attack, grief sends the genderfluid changeling into a spiral of self-destruction.
Fragile Sol Fed balances on the brink of war with a plundering alien race. Their skills with galactic relations are desperately needed to broker a protective alliance, but in mourning, Dalí no longer cares, seeking oblivion at the bottom of a bottle, in the arms of a faceless lover, or at the end of a knife.
The New Puritan Movement is rising to power within the government, preaching strict genetic counseling and galactic isolation to ensure survival of the endangered human race. Third gender citizens like Dalí don't fit the mold of this perfect plan, and the NPM will stop at nothing to make their vision become reality. When Dalí stumbles into a plot threatening changelings like them, a shadow organization called the Penumbra recruits them for a rescue mission full of danger, sex, and intrigue, giving Dalí purpose again.
Risky liaisons with a sexy, charismatic pirate lord could be Dalí's undoing--and the only way to prevent another deadly act of domestic terrorism.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Well researched and strong character development kept me reading and interested in a setting and a time so different from our own.  The descriptions of setting and especially of inner emotions were particularly well wrought.

Mistress of Mogador T.T. Thomas
Lesbian - Historical Romance
Paperback: 458 pages
Publisher: Bon View Publishing; First Edition edition (August 26, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0986260045
ISBN-13: 978-0986260049
Amazon: Mistress of Mogador T.T. Thomas

1895 – From the teeming shipping docks of Liverpool, England to the caravans of sub-Saharan deserts to the mysterious port of Mogador, Morocco, intrigue, danger and passion surround three unusual women looking for an uncommon love in a country and a world least likely to help them find it. Morocco! A land of elegant and revered architecture, the arts and the umblemished beauty of harsh opposites. Morocco! Traditions and tribal loyalties govern all political power, and cultural and religious differences make enemies of neighbors and beloveds of strangers. Nora Mandrake, owner and captain of a small fleet of cargo sailing ships, must navigate more than rough seas and an unfamiliar culture between Liverpool and Morocco, as her emotions fluctuate and fumble from constancy to capricious and between an old love and a new one. When Nora agrees to take on a paying passenger to augment the struggling cargo business, she finds herself intrigued with the lovely Alice Tattersall who happens to find Mandrake similarly fascinating. Little does Nora know, Alice’s father, Bertie Tattersall has plans for both his daughter and his shipment of contraband, innocuously labeled as sewing machines. But there’s a woman in Mogador, Najwa, who awaits the return of Captain Mandrake with whom she has begun to pursue a special relationship. Najwa, a proud and progressive Amazighen (Berber) woman has a high standard for love and an inviolable sense of integrity. This could be disastrous. But thrilling. But disastrous! Mandrake realizes her most dangerous enemy is herself—her passions force her to confront the troubling realization that her attitudes toward women are no more enlightened than the prevailing male attitudes she has come to despise in the Morocco she has come to love. How could this happen to her? Mandrake wants it all, and all of it is what she stands to lose, as all three women pivot unsteadily on the eve of the enormous progress and breath-taking social turmoil of the 20th century.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Each location, be it mundane or fantastical, is lovingly described and vividly imagined. The author manages to write two stories about tours through Alaska without the setting feeling rehashed between them, evokes changes in two women’s lives by the state of a car and a single office plant, and even manages to write a Halloween story that feels fresh through the use of weather. While most of these stories are in a contemporary setting, I must give a special shout-out to the one SFF story in this collection, as well as the fantastical visuals included in another otherwise-mundane tale. The author’s worldbuilding is filled with so many intricate details, from how children would survive on a desert planet (and how this fits into an intergalactic war) to how dangerous lasers would actually be in space. Even the story “The Gift,” which takes place in a shopping mall during the holidays, becomes evocative as the protagonist describes the mall as a grotesque insect queen littered with parasitic shoppers, a visual that wouldn’t seem out of place in a bizarre fantasy novel.

A Perfect Life and Other Stories Elaine Burnes
Lesbian - Anthology / Collection / Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 178 pages
Publisher: Bedazzled Ink Publishing (September 1, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1943837368
ISBN-13: 978-1943837366
Amazon: A Perfect Life and Other Stories Elaine Burnes

Call it happily ever after or a perfect life, it's a universal destination we all hope to reach. Lily plays out the anxieties of her freshman year while standing in line. Lin, wanting only to be left alone, watches a stranger waiting on her porch. Denny flies tourists around an Alaska mountain, hoping to forget, while Alice embarks on an adventure to remember. Tate and Emily, friends since childhood, team up to play out the pirate games of their youth, only this time it's not a game. From North America's highest mountain to that quirky town at the end of the hook of Cape Cod and well past the stars beyond, Burnes explores the hopes and fears that drive us all. With eight previously published stories, and the all new "Auto Repair," A Perfect Life and Other Stories is the first collection by the author of Wishbone.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This was also a book where some of the stories were better than others, but as a whole it wasn’t bad. If I had have bought the book I wouldn’t have been mad that I’d wasted my money as I really did enjoy most of the stories.
2) An anthology of provocative, well-curated pieces that stretches the boundaries of what a sapphic ghost story can be while still celebrating the women and specters that helped form the genre. Every piece spoke to me, leaving me haunted and awed (or even going “aww”) in equal turn. This may be a near-perfect score, but upon examination, this is a near-perfect anthology. There are three types of plot at play across this anthology. The first are those styled like a typical ghost story, involving a chance encounter with a stranger and their ghostly nature being the twist. There is nothing detrimental about this; rather, they felt like an homage to the genre while providing their own sapphic spin, the sort of stories one would imagine listening to around a late-night campfire. The second type of plot at play is the observation; most common in the poetic pieces, the focus is musing on the situation at hand through use of form and description. Though a few of these lean toward enigma or purple prose, most of these still evoke a haunted sensation in both the speaker and the reader. The remaining stories played with the concept of ghosts in a less literal sense, and often felt like chapters from a larger piece of work. From memories and time travel to guilt and A.I. recordings, the unique takes these stories took on ghosts made their plots harder to predict. Most of these had more positive endings than the other pieces; I applaud one particular piece for making a zombie-transformation loving and romantic. Despite the similar theme, every short story in this collection has a unique location and mood. There are Victorian-esque seaside manors, the last quiet Sunday before school in suburbia, and marooned spaceships eaten alive by growing desperation, and each place feels equally believable. Real world locations like the graveyard-filled Colma feel well researched and lived-in, while the glimpses we see of fantastical locations like a zombie-friendly moon are enticing and leave me wanting more stories in these settings. The range of moods is impressive as well; plenty of stories are as creepy as one would expect a ghost story to be, while others are more action-packed tales of desperation and survival, and a few even feel sweet. Due to the theme of ghosts, many of the characters involved are either learning to deal with loss, or wish they were as they are haunted by their pasts—though explorations of a loss of self are just as common as the loss of a loved one. Most of them manage to find strength and hope by the end of the story, even if their newfound acceptance has a darker twist to it in some of the tales. There are also quite a few unreliable narrators in this anthology, leading the readers to question how real some of these ghosts (or even our protagonists themselves) may be. As expected from an anthology, there are a wide array of writing styles at play. There are third-person adventures, first person musings with unreliable narrators, even a couple poems and a second-person piece. There are modern voices a-plenty, with a few authors bringing elements of other languages and cultures into play, while others are more reminiscent of classic authors like Jane Austen or Mark Twain. A couple stories lean toward the verbose or even purple prose, but otherwise, the writing is clear, poetic, and typo-free.

Haunting Muses Doreen Perrine
Lesbian - Anthology / Collection / Fantasy
Paperback: 182 pages
Publisher: Bedazzled Ink Publishing (October 21, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 194383752X
ISBN-13: 978-1943837526
Amazon: Haunting Muses Doreen Perrine

In this collection of lesbian stories, ghosts, be they actual or the metaphorical ghosts of memories, aren't necessarily evil and hauntings may or may not be bad. How do we move beyond the foul spirits or integrate the shining beings who haunt us in the cruelest or the best ways? And how do we or our characters reconcile these ghosts into transformation and healing within present reality?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This is a great debut novel. The characters are likable. Liam is an undercover officer who saves Alex from a mugging. There is great chemistry between the characters, but the plot seemed a little short and got wrapped up too quickly and too neatly fast.

Sam Burns Straight from the Heart (Wilde Love #1)
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Wilde Love
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (June 2, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 154688369X
ISBN-13: 978-1546883692
Amazon: Sam Burns Straight from the Heart (Wilde Love #1)

On the same night that Alex finds himself disowned and sleeping on his best friend's couch, he meets Liam, who saves him from being mugged. It's a strange time for him to be starting a relationship, but everything about being with Liam feels right. When it becomes apparent that Liam isn't exactly the prince charming he seems to be, Alex has to deal with some hard truths about not just his new boyfriend, but his own history as well. Liam is just trying to do his job, but everything keeps getting in the way. First he gets assigned to watch some stranger, then somehow, he finds himself dating the guy. Even if it doesn't offend the boss, Liam knows the wrong thing to do when he does it. He finds himself wondering, though: is his job really the most important thing in his life, or can he walk away from it all for a brand new relationship?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This one has it all. It made me laugh. It made me cry. The book was engaging from start to finish. I loved how the author moved the story along telling everyone's story.   Loved all the character except Anna.  They were all well developed and you really get to know them.
2) I really liked this book! The story is different enough to be surprising and the characters are very relatable. The pacing is good and have a good flow to it. Maybe I would have used one chharacter less because the story is not so long and sometimes it seemed to have too much going on.

Eating Life Beth Burnett
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 278 pages
Publisher: Sapphire Books Publishing (August 15, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1943353875
ISBN-13: 978-1943353873
Amazon: Eating Life Beth Burnett

Carefree and irrepressible, Casey Wilde has spent her life running. Running from love, running from responsibility, and running from commitment. Megan Woodson, Casey’s best friend, has spent her life building security with a long-term partner and a well-paying, highly respected position in the best ad agency in Memphis. Ben Stagg is a man who has lost everything, including the desire to live. And Brilliant Wilson is a photographer who can’t quite figure out why she keeps dating women who don’t love her. Faced with painful and pressing decisions, the group is forced to confront their own life choices. When their worlds collide and everything starts to fall apart, these friends must learn that the only important decision is the one to follow their hearts.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Finally, a story that is really well written.

C.L. Etta Love’s Tethered Heart
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 226 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 2, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1635332222
ISBN-13: 978-1635332223
Amazon: C.L. Etta Love’s Tethered Heart

Two years ago Mico and his partner suffered a savage gay bashing that left Mico a quadriplegic—and ended his dreams of traveling the world as an archaeologist. Abandoned by the man he loved, he lives in isolation, tethered to his bed by the machines keeping him alive, with only his caretakers and immediate family as companions.

Assigned to interview Mico and uncover the story behind his assault and his refusal to identify his attackers, journalist Danny is unprepared for his reaction to the fragile enigmatic man. Mico is afraid to let Danny into his life, and Danny is unsure how to change his mind. Mico is also keeping secrets, and he isn’t the only one. Danny is determined to protect Mico, and he’s determined to show Mico that their feelings for each other can thrive amidst the mechanics of Mico’s existence.

If you enjoy romantic tales of heartbreak turned to hope, the life-affirming story of Danny and Mico will make you believe in the possibility of love for everyone—no matter what obstacles they face.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)Loved the story, and its characters.  I got sucked in immediately and couldn’t put it down. The world building is complex, and well thought out, and I’m looking forward to reading more in this series.  

Five Minutes Longer (Enhanced #1) Victoria Sue
Gay - Romantic Suspence
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (December 2, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634779150
ISBN-13: 978-1634779159
Amazon: Five Minutes Longer (Enhanced #1) Victoria Sue

Talon Valdez knew when he transformed into an enhanced human, his life and his dreams were finished. Reviled, mistrusted, and often locked away, the enhanced were viewed as monsters, despised by the public, and never trusted to serve in the military or any law enforcement agency.

Years later he gets a chance to set up a task force of enhanced to serve in the FBI, but with one proviso: each enhanced must partner with a regular human.

Finn Mayer dreamed of joining the FBI from the time he was fourteen and made every possible sacrifice to make it happen, including living with his selfish mother and bullying, homophobic brother and never having a boyfriend. But his undiagnosed dyslexia stopped his aspirations dead in their tracks. His last chance is to partner with Talon, an enhanced with deadly abilities who doesn’t trust regular humans with their secrets and wants Finn to fail.

Four weeks to prove himself to the team. Four weeks for the team to prove itself to the public. And when another group threatens their success—and their lives—four weeks for them to survive.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Well-paced and filled with lots of suspense, reasonable dealing with a possibly delicate subject. Good balance between romance and mystery plot. Vivid pictures and great sense of place. Descriptions felt a bit off sometimes; also, some of the character's actions felt out of character for them. My only complaint was the fact that some of the chraracters used aliases, and that their aliases and real names were used interchangeably which made following the storyline a bit tricky at times. Otherwise very well-written. I'd recommend this book. 

Survivor T.M. Smith
Gay - Contemporary Romance
File Size: 5263 KB
Print Length: 186 pages
Publisher: TTC Publishing (August 22, 2017)
Publication Date: August 22, 2017
Amazon: Survivor T.M. Smith

Taylor Langford’s world is torn apart when he is only thirteen years old—his parents killed, leaving him alone and orphaned. With no living relatives, he’d certainly be another statistic if not for the intervention of the policeman who found Taylor in the crawl space where his mother hid him that fateful night. Despite the tragedy and resulting anguish in his life, Taylor knows how lucky he is.

Frank Moore is a rookie with the Dallas Police Department when he and his partner answer a call in Devonshire, one of the city’s more affluent neighborhoods. They think the young boy in various pictures throughout the home has been kidnapped until they find him, shaken but alive. Officer Moore recognizes the pain in the kid’s eyes, having lost his own mother to cancer when he was just a boy. He steps in, making sure Taylor is placed with a loving foster family. Over the years, Frank becomes a permanent fixture in Taylor’s life.

A decade later, the case remains unsolved and the once gangly, uncertain teenager is now a college graduate who knows exactly what he wants. He’s coming home to the man that helped mold and shape his life, the man he’s loved for as long as he can remember, Frank Moore. But Taylor isn’t the only person returning to Dallas, and while Frank is distracted by his own conflicting feelings and the new bond growing between the two, the past creeps up on them, determined to finish what was started ten years earlier.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) New to me author. I quite enjoyed this story. I look forward to reading the second in this series.

Tabitha (Sunflowers Blooming #1) Irene Wendy Wode
Transgender - Paranormal Romance
Series: Sunflowers Blooming
Paperback: 276 pages
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (July 25, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1684310849
ISBN-13: 978-1684310845
Amazon: Tabitha (Sunflowers Blooming #1) Irene Wendy Wode

Tabitha is a simple country girl in a simple country town—or so she tries to make everyone believe. But when a boy with a quiet confidence and appealing edge shows up in town looking to collect beautiful images, it's Tabitha he ends up most drawn to. Life is never simple, and the complications aren't only on her side. There are mysteries to be solved, and Tabitha fears all of her questions will lead only to bad news.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Excellent characters, I could feel their pain and pleasure. The author brought me right into their lives, seamlessly incorporating the reader within the action. The plot twisted and turned and even though I guessed a few things correctly, the outcome was a shock.

Sue Brown Morning My Angel (Angel Enterprises #1)
Gay - Romantic Suspence
Series: Angel Enterprises
Paperback: 308 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (October 26, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1539772489
ISBN-13: 978-1539772484
Amazon: Sue Brown Morning My Angel (Angel Enterprises #1)

Josh Cooper, top US security field agent, is sent on an inter-agency assignment to London, when a partner in his firm goes missing in suspicious circumstances. Used to working in sole charge of his well-honed team, he clashes heads with the handsome, but pompous Cal, his UK co-operator and superior. Josh’s gut tells him something is wrong. He’s being kept out of the loop and Cal’s agenda is running on a different path. He also has a personal issue to deal with. He’s involved in a cyber-relationship with “Charlie”, an unknown man who connected with Josh by accident. Their banter has led to deeper respect and a sexual interest, but now Josh is faced with a growing attraction to Cal. Between this conflict and the tension of the mission, Josh’s heart and head are overworked and confused. Things can’t get much worse. Then Josh discovers the enemies he’s seeking have a new target: him.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) I really enjoyed this book. The scope of the plot and setting had me grinning extremely quickly, and I love, love, LOVE how the author treats the reader as though she is already familiar with the universe and plunges right in. The story didn't do what I expected it to. At first, I was a little unsettled by that, wondering how things would play out, but I realized quickly that this was a symptom of the dense plot and slick pacing. I ended up really appreciating not being able to predict what was going to happen. Most refreshing! The characters were all unique, with their own quirks and personalities, and the dialogue never felt stilted or forced; everything flowed organically, and nothing overtly manipulated or shoved the plot forward. Everything fit. I spent a whole evening rolling from spot to spot on my rug, reading and reading and reading because I didn't want to put the book down. And Annika. I adored Annika. Complex, almost innocent in a way (if you can be innocent and still be a trained assassin!), Annika went through the most complicated internal journey of everyone. I was deeply engaged with the way her views morphed and shifted, and grateful that the book did not denounce or apologize for who she had been before, but rather allowed her to grow into someone new.
2) Loved. This. Book. Wright weaves a complex, yet fast-paced adventure through the stars, taking her readers to a variety of unique and interesting places. Her plotting is completely on point, her universe is fascinating, and I cared greatly for her characters and their fate. All around a perfect read!

House of Fate Barbara Ann Wright
Lesbian - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback: 312 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (August 15, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626397805
ISBN-13: 978-1626397804
Amazon: House of Fate Barbara Ann Wright

Judit has one duty: to guard the chosen one, he who will unite two warring, star-spanning houses in marriage. Simple, if she wasn’t already in love with the bride-to-be. As far as anyone knows, Annika has been raised to be the perfect bride and future matriarch. Secretly, she’s an assassin ordered to usurp the chosen one’s mind and kill anyone who gets in her way.

When the political landscape shifts, murders and abductions threaten to tear the galaxy apart. Judit and Annika race to uncover the source of the strife. It must be someone powerful and bold enough to risk throwing whole star systems into ruin, someone who could change destinies and bring two lovers together, if they survive.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Very intriguing, thought provoking read. My 1st story from this author. Initially not sure I would enjoy this one however the story was very well written from the plot to the characters. There is a lot going on in this book and keeps the readers interest.

An Outsider Inside R.J. Samuel
Lesbian - Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 346 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (June 25, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1548247227
ISBN-13: 978-1548247225
Amazon: An Outsider Inside R.J. Samuel

For Irish-Indian lesbian activist, JAYA DILLON, an outsider who craves belonging over all else, survival depends on hiding the truth of who she is and who she loves - from herself. In the heated run-up to Ireland’s referendum on same-sex marriage, she finds herself trapped between the “Yes” and “No” sides. And Jaya's got a boulder on her shoulder about bisexual women and being brown in Ireland. While clearing out an Indian couple’s rental house in Galway, she discovers a manuscript, written by the wife, Lana, who disappeared in worrying circumstances. When Jaya travels to France, she comes closer to the characters in Lana’s unfinished novel than she ever imagined possible. And she is shoved back into contact with her ex- fiancée, Chloe, who is planning her own wedding. To a man. Jaya is drawn into a fictional world that may be truer than reality. As she fights to uncover the truth, everything she thought she knew about her politics and her place in the world turns on its head as she falls for the elusive Lana, is attracted to the charming, gay French-Algerian Ishmael and his beautiful sister Isabella, and confronts her unresolved feelings and dread over the choices Chloe is making. Can she find Lana and the truth in time to save Chloe … without losing herself?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) “Anchor Point” is the first in this series of male-male military romances As a reader, I fell in love with the characters. The tale of angst, conflict, lust and love are woven nicely together. The pacing is good, and you don’t realize that you’ve quickly read most of the book in one sitting. Well done love story with a satisfying happily-ever-after.

Just Drive (Anchor Point #1) L.A. Witt
Gay - Erotic Romance
Series: Anchor Point (Book 1)
Paperback: 248 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (October 6, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 162649469X
ISBN-13: 978-1626494695
Amazon: Just Drive (Anchor Point #1) L.A. Witt

For Sean Wright, driving a cab in the tiny Navy town of Anchor Point isn’t an exciting job . . . until he picks up just-dumped Paul Richards. A drive turns into a walk on the pier, which turns into the hottest hookup Sean’s had in ages.

After a long overdue breakup, Paul can’t believe his luck. Of all the drivers, he’s picked up by the gorgeous, gay, and very willing Sean. Younger guys aren’t usually his thing, but Paul can’t resist.

One taste and neither man can get enough . . . right up until they realize that Paul is Sean’s father’s commanding officer and the last man Sean should be involved with.

With two careers on the line, their only option is to back off. It’s not easy, though; the sex and the emotional connection are exactly what both men have been craving for a long time. But Paul has devoted twenty-four years to his career and his dream of making admiral. If he’s caught with Sean, that’s all over. He has to choose—stay the course, or trade it all for the man who drove off with his heart.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This story was amazing.  I had me laughing and crying.  Such good work.

How We Love Michael Ryan Webb
Gay - Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 298 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (July 21, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 197371888X
ISBN-13: 978-1973718888
Amazon: How We Love Michael Ryan Webb

Mark and Adam had been happily married for five years and together for over 15. Things were going well for them. But when Mark spiraled into mental illness after his father died, their marriage was strained in a way that Adam can no longer bear. Now separated, they have to learn to live life alone for the first time. Faced with uncertain futures, can they overcome their differences and learn how to love each other again? Or has their tie to each other been severed forever? From alternating perspectives, join them on their journey of love, loss, heartache, and healing.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)Really liked this story.  The plot, characters and setting were all well written.  Liked the developing relationship between Nikki and Amber.  Definitely recommend this romance story to others.
2) This was a wonderful story and I really enjoyed it. Even though I had figured out a majority of plot it was wonderful to read and experience everything as the characters did.  I've been to Belize and I'm a Scuba Diver so these details and how the setting was depicted were perfect.  The writer has clearly done the research needed to make this real and believable especially with the scuba diving sections. The author crafted a story in such a way to completely get me sucked in. I could easily visualize all the locations and the settings, which made me as a reader very happy. The character arcs were exactly what I expected and wanted. It really worked. The way this story was written really worked for me I had no problems with writing or how it was written. I want to sit down with Amber and Niki and get to know them better over dinner and maybe trade some dive stories.

Rare and Beautiful Things Giselle Fox
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
File Size: 1585 KB
Print Length: 197 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publication Date: October 4, 2016
Amazon: Rare and Beautiful Things Giselle Fox

The rarest prize might be buried deep … or hiding in plain sight.

Amber Greyell knows a lot about jaguars. A virgin at 32, the willowy, redheaded PhD finds romance far more baffling. So when she meets gorgeous, athletic shipwreck diver Nikki Sharpe off the coast of Belize, her curiosity is mixed with a strong dose of caution.


Nikki can’t help being intrigued by Amber’s innocence and intellect. When the pair discover a long-lost journal preserved in a sunken ship, the unexpected story in its pages sets them on their own journey toward intimacy.


But Amber doesn’t want to get her heart broken by a woman who won’t be around for long. Can Nikki overcome Amber’s doubts and show her there’s more than one kind of hidden treasure?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Cute story, fast read, great characters.
2) I think I will have to invest in the rest of this series to find out about other characters. At first I didn’t think I’d like it, but the more I read the better it got.

Spun! (Shamwell Tales #4) J.L. Merrow
Bisexual - Romantic Comedy
Series: The Shamwell Tales (Book 4)
Paperback: 300 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (March 6, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626495890
ISBN-13: 978-1626495890
Amazon: Spun! (Shamwell Tales #4) J.L. Merrow

With friends like these . . .

An ill-advised encounter at the office party leaves David Greenlake jobless and homeless in one heady weekend. But he quickly begs work from his ex-boss and takes a room in Shamwell with easygoing postman Rory Deamer. David doesn’t mean to flirt with the recently divorced Rory—just like he doesn’t consciously decide to breathe. After all, Rory’s far too nice for him. And far too straight.

Rory finds his new lodger surprisingly fun to be with, and what’s more, David is a hit with Rory’s troubled children. But while Rory’s world may have turned upside down in the last few years, there’s one thing he’s sure of: he’s straight as a die. So he can’t be falling for David . . . can he?

Their friends and family think they know all the answers, and David’s office party hookup has his own plans for romance. Rory and David need to make up their minds and take a stand for what they really want—or their love could be over before it’s even begun.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) I took a long time trying to figure out how to rate this. It’s an ambitious story with characters that are not strictly LGBTQIA. Rather, they are aliens—a combination of mechanical and organic, with an insectile appearance—that have a sense of gender that is also completely alien. That’s a difficult thing to pull off, and the author pulls it off very well. Although the sex scenes were too, well, alien for me to get into, they were well done and in keeping with the character of the story. What really impressed me was how the author managed to draw me in so completely to an emotional and social system that was also very, very alien. I felt for these characters and wanted them to succeed. The social and emotional systems were complex, well drawn, and fascinating. And the writing, which was beautiful, wrapped it all up into a neat package. I found this story engrossing, engaging, and exceedingly well constructed. Well done, Ms. Winter.
2) This was an utterly engrossing read. Isobelle Winter has created a unique civilisation of insectile rather than humanoid characters, complete with customs, castes and superb world building.  The book is well paced and the plot carefully crafted. I look forward to reading more by this author. The only thing I didn't like was the use of ne, nem and nir in place of he, him and his.

Dangerous Times Isobelle Winter
Transgender - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback: 214 pages
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (February 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1620049554
ISBN-13: 978-1620049556
Amazon: Dangerous Times Isobelle Winter

Over seven hundred star systems have been colonized by the Augment Empire, a cybernetic species that requires organic tissues to process food into usable fuel. When the cruel King Taen attempts to appropriate the lands of Lord Mavren, ne instead makes an enemy of the once-loyal lord, and turns all the power of the Empire against itself in a brutal civil war. Young and ambitious Nact moves swiftly up the ranks of Mavren's rebel army to the coveted post of General. To cement nir position, and prove once and for all the lower castes are just as capable as the highest nobility, ne has only one task left to accomplish: capture Lord General Aiomonni, the brilliant, lethal head of King Taen's military... and Mavren's defected lover. When the disastrous aftermath of a battle flings Nact and Aiomonni beyond the charted galaxy to land on a hostile planet, their only hope of survival lies in cooperation. But being enemies makes finding common ground impossible, and no matter how compelling Nact finds the beautiful, intelligent Aiomonni, it's hard to trust someone known not only for nir prowess in war, but for nir treachery...
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Very well written story. Tells it like it was during DADT time period. As I was reading this felt like I was right there with the MC's. Gave a realistic look into the military service. 
2) Great characters we can admire and a well-told story.
3) The author draws the reader in and grips them throughout the story.  I wasn't able to put the book down until I finished it.  Great read, totally enjoyed the story.

Ask, Tell E.J. Noyes
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Bella Books (January 24, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1594935300
ISBN-13: 978-1594935305
Amazon: Ask, Tell E.J. Noyes

Where can you turn when you’re caught in a crossfire of war and passion?

Captain Sabine Fleischer is a skilled and dedicated U.S. Army surgeon deployed to a combat hospital in Afghanistan. She is also one of the thousands of troops who are forced to serve in silence because of the military’s anti-gay policy of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell (DADT).”

Usually driven and focused, Sabine finds that battles raging both inside and outside the perimeter walls are making it more and more difficult for her to deal with her emotions. Dealing with loss and mortality, lack of privacy, sleep deprivation, loneliness and the isolation forced on her by “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” are all taking their toll. Plus, her long-term relationship with a civilian back home is quickly becoming another casualty of war.

Colonel Rebecca Keane is an enigmatic career officer who runs the surgical unit like clockwork. Well liked and respected by those who work with and under her, she walks a fine line to preserve the military’s chain of command while connecting with those under her care and supervision. Sabine knows the Colonel is way off-limits, but can’t help fantasizing about her. Especially when she starts picking up unspoken cues—a stolen glance, a secret smile, an “accidental” brush of hands. Or is it just wishful thinking? After all, Rebecca’s wedding ring shines almost as brightly as her deep blue eyes…
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Well written, fast paced, delicious characters.
2) Wow, this was un-put-downable! A well-crafted, action-packed story with two excellent, complex main characters. Really, really well done.

Suspicious Behavior (Bad Behavior #2) L.A. Witt & Cari Z.
Bisexual - Romantic Suspence
Series: Bad Behavior (Book 2)
Paperback: 246 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (April 20, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626496307
ISBN-13: 978-1626496309
Amazon: Suspicious Behavior (Bad Behavior #2) L.A. Witt & Cari Z.

Detective Darren Corliss is hanging by a thread. In between recovering from a near-fatal wound and returning to work at a hostile precinct, he’s struggling to help care for his ailing brother. His partner and boyfriend, Detective Andreas Ruffner, wants to help, but doesn’t know how. And with his own family crises brewing, Andreas is spread almost as thin as Darren.

For cops, though, life takes a backseat to the job. When a stack of unsolved homicides drops into their laps, Andreas and Darren think they’re unrelated cold cases. But when a connection surfaces, they find themselves on the tail of a prolific serial killer who’s about to strike again.

Except they’ve got nothing. No leads. No suspects. Just a pile of circumstantial evidence and a whole lot of hunches. Time is running out to stop the next murder—and to pull themselves back from their breaking points.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) I am so lucky to have read the two previous books before reading Arctic Restitution. I loved Jaye from the get go, hated Cash to the point I wanted to scratch his eyes out. The entire series puts you into an emotional rollercoaster when at some times you're flying high, and at some, you're a puddle of goo with snot running down your nose. At times you're all excited (after the first book) and with sexual tension, then you're filled with fear for Jaye and what is happening to him at a particular moment.  Out of the three books, Caged Jaye and Arctic Restitution were my two favorites. There were so many times when I wanted to pull Jaye out of the story and give him a hug, keep him safe from the gangs and the ghost monsters. I really liked him and from the beginning was rooting for him, for his safety, his sanity. I also enjoyed and appreciated the Note at the end of the book. It gives you a view of the characters as the author perceived them. That was quite thoughtful. I really enjoyed reading this series and have to give Lynn a huge thank you for the feels and especially her generosity. Keep on writing, Lynn!
2) I was totally hooked by this gritty, raw, honest, and engrossing book.

Arctic Restitution (Arctic Absolution #3) Lynn Kelling
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Arctic Absolution
Paperback: 254 pages
Publisher: Fantastic Fiction Publishing (May 23, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622343263
ISBN-13: 978-1622343263
Amazon: Arctic Restitution (Arctic Absolution #3) Lynn Kelling

As he approaches his twenty-second birthday, the three-year anniversary of the brutal attack in an alley that nearly cost him his life in a few different ways, Jaye Larson thinks he’s left behind the ghosts from his years spent incarcerated, but when he’s delivered a mysterious letter with terrifying implications, old monsters rear their ugly heads. His normal new life in remote Zus, Alaska, with his lover, Dixon Rowe, the heart of a found-family that supports Jaye in ways he’s never before dreamed possible, is threatened by old deals and ties he begins to fear may never be broken. While old alliances strive to draw Jaye backward, Dixon and the rest of their family are called to step up to keep him steady. When the letter turns out to be just the first clue in a chain leading both Jaye and Dixon back inside the walls of the Federal Corrections Institute of Sheridan, Oregon, all of them are left facing carefully-held secrets and terrible new truths that refuse to be ignored.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Excellent story. Involving, draws in the reader with verve. Wonderful historical transgender story.
2) Through the vivid and poetic writing, I was quickly transported by the author to a different time and place. I happen to love circuses and have seen people perform aerial silks many times. The author did an excellent job describing the Silksmith performer and his silks. The relationship that developed between the Silksmith and the Bearded girl was intriguing and breathtaking. I was enthralled to the very end. At first glance, one might think this is a straightforward romance between two circus performers. It's far from that. The author takes two gender-nonconforming characters and tell us how they may have found their place in the world in times gone by.

The Silksmith's Girl Reece Pine
Transgender - Historical
File Size: 2354 KB
Print Length: 62 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (May 1, 2017)
Publication Date: May 1, 2017
Amazon: The Silksmith's Girl Reece Pine

Bearded woman Rudolph joined the circus to find a wealthy husband. The star attraction, the lofty silksmith, shares his caravan and his bed with her while he helps her to arrange marriage meetings in the towns they visit. But as she meets and rejects each suitor, Rudolph realizes the only person she really wants is the silksmith himself...
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Involving story filled equal amounts of victory and vertigo. A+

Shock of Survival Nicole Field
Bisexual - Fantasy Romance
File Size: 2316 KB
Print Length: 99 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (November 7, 2016)
Publication Date: November 7, 2016
Amazon: Shock of Survival Nicole Field

In the wake of the final battle against The Oppressor, Benedict, Ophelia and Dylan face their magical community in triumph. But that triumph rapidly loses its shine as they realise the war is not so easily left behind. Returning to, and relearning, the lives they had before proves to be more difficult than even they had anticipated.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Solid storytelling. A triumph!

The Urn Carrier Chris Convissor
Transgender - Contemporary General Fiction
Paperback: 250 pages
Publisher: Bedazzled Ink Publishing (October 1, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1943837384
ISBN-13: 978-1943837380
Amazon: The Urn Carrier Chris Convissor

Nineteen-year-old Tessa is suddenly tasked with spreading her great aunt's ashes all over the US and Canada so the rest of her relatives can receive their inheritance. After her initial dismay, she finds the road trip full of mystery and surprises. Old family secrets, girlfriend problems, and beautiful sunsets accompany her as she honors her aunt's wishes.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Exciting historical novel. Enjoyed every word.

Like People R.A. Padmos
Gay - Historical
File Size: 2326 KB
Print Length: 63 pages
Publisher: Manifold Press (August 1, 2016)
Publication Date: August 1, 2016
Amazon: Like People R.A. Padmos

April 1945. The Russians are shelling what remains of the 9th army of the Wehrmacht. Obergefreiter Karl Meisner has survived five years of a war he didn’t want, but now it seems he won’t reach his 26th birthday. Taking on responsibility for one of the new young recruits gives Karl a reason to keep going – and soon their war is over, as they surrender to the Allies at Tangermünde. Eventually Karl is placed in a prison camp in England – and it’s there that his life unexpectedly blooms. For it’s there that Karl meets Nathaniel Cyfer – a sergeant in the British army and an expatriate German Jew.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Victoria Sue delivers a romance filled with fantasy and excitement. A fantastic story!

The Alpha King (Kingdom of Askara #1) Victoria Sue
Gay - Fantasy Romance
Paperback: 250 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (January 16, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1542592143
ISBN-13: 978-1542592147
Amazon: The Alpha King (Kingdom of Askara #1) Victoria Sue

The Kingdom of Askara has been torn apart by conflict for centuries, where humans exist as subservient beings to their werewolf masters. Legend says it will only be able to heal itself when an Alpha King and a pure omega are mated and crowned together, but a pure omega hasn’t been born in over a thousand years. Luca is an Alpha-heir eagerly awaiting the choosing ceremony on his twenty-fifth birthday and the gifts granted by whichever omega he mates. His small pack is destitute due to the decisions of its ruling council, but being only an Alpha-heir, he has no authority to challenge them. Not until now—this moment he has waited a long time for. Kit grew up as a street-rat, an unlicensed human who would never be more than a slave for whichever master owns him. Then one day he came across a young Alpha-heir, attacked and dying of poison, and found out their fates were suddenly entwined. Luca needs to take over his pack and save his people. He cannot afford to be distracted. But when he meets Kit, he develops abilities indicating he is not just a pack Alpha, but the King his world has needed for a thousand years. Is Kit really the cause of Luca’s newfound power, the true mate he needs? How is it possible when the young man isn’t even a werewolf, and as merely a human, a mating is not only forbidden, but for Kit, a sentence of death?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)  The sharp writing and intriguing characters kept me engaged from beginning to end.

Bare Lynn Kelling
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 310 pages
Publisher: Fantastic Ficton Publishing (November 15, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622343107
ISBN-13: 978-1622343102
Amazon: Bare Lynn Kelling

Ev Myers was looking for trouble when he signed up to do nude art modeling, but he wasn’t expecting this much trouble. All he’d wanted to do was rebel against the moral limits of his strict religious family and the PR requirements of his father’s senate seat. He saw how much bigger his world could be when Professor Adam Buchanan opened Ev to new passions and new experiences But when Ev's family learned how far he had gone, they decided to resort to kidnapping and brainwashing to save their son from sin and scandal—even if it kills him.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) A sweet story that challenges us to review our own self awareness.
2) Loved this story. Loved the angst. Characters were all well written and developed.  Loved Simone and even liked Chloe just a tad.  Great love story. 
3) Even though I found this story to be long in part it really was a good story. And the characters were interesting, even if I did want to slap a few of them. Though, I really am a sucker for stories with kids in them… Molly was a cutie. 

Falling Hard Jae
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 364 pages
Publisher: Ylva Publishing; 1 edition (April 4, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955338290
ISBN-13: 978-3955338299
Amazon: Falling Hard Jae

Dr. Jordan Williams devotes her life to two things: saving patients in the operating room and pleasuring her latest conquest in the bedroom. Her idea of commitment is spending a few hours together in bed. Single mom Emma Larson is Jordan’s polar opposite. Family and fidelity mean everything to her. After an ugly divorce from her wife, a plastic surgeon, she and her five-year-old daughter move in next door to Jordan. While she finds Jordan undeniably attractive, falling in love with another womanizing surgeon is the last things she needs. When a bad fall leaves Jordan in need of assistance, Emma decides to help her while she recovers. Could those six weeks turn out to be the beginning of a happily ever after, or will they both end up with a broken heart?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)  A complicated and thoroughly believable love story between two unforgettable characters.
2) She has developed strong characters, even side characters, who are flawed yet lovable. Her writing style is smooth and easy to read but keeps the reader engaged. The plot was wonderful. A definite 5 star book.

Love is Heartless Kim Fielding
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Love Can't
Paperback: 254 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 13, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1635332133
ISBN-13: 978-1635332131
Amazon: Love is Heartless (Love Can't #2) Kim Fielding

A Love Can't Novel

Small but mighty—that could be Detective Nevin Ng’s motto. Now a dedicated member of the Portland Police Bureau, he didn’t let a tough start in life stop him from protecting those in need. He doesn’t take crap from anyone, and he doesn’t do relationships. Until he responds to the severe beating of a senior citizen and meets the victim’s wealthy, bow-tied landlord.

Property manager and developer Colin Westwood grew up with all the things Nevin never had, like plenty of money and a supportive, loving family. Too supportive, perhaps, since his childhood illness has left his parents unwilling to admit he’s a strong, grown man. Colin does do relationships, but they never work out. Now he’s thinking maybe he won’t just go with the flow. Maybe it’s time to try something more exciting. But being a witness to a terrible crime—or two—was more than he bargained for.

Despite their differences, Colin and Nevin discover that the sparks fly when they’re together. But sparks are short-lived, dampened by the advent of brutal crimes, and Colin and Nevin have seemingly little in common. The question is whether they have the heart to build something lasting.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) For anyone who’s ever loved a dog…no, for anyone who’s ever *loved*. Period. A beautiful meditation on the nature of love, loss, and the unique bond between human and dog. Warning: you will not get through the first five pages without a tear. But it’s so, so worth it.
2) I found this to be a really touching story. It kept me intrigued throughout the whole book. I’ll probably read this story again to see what I missed the first time around. 

Dog Church Gail Gilmore
Lesbian - Biography / Memoir
Paperback: 168 pages
Publisher: Bedazzled Ink Publishing (April 1, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1945805064
ISBN-13: 978-1945805066
Amazon: Dog Church Gail Gilmore

Does saving a life always mean preserving it, or does it sometimes mean letting go? When Gail Gilmore's beloved dog Chispa is diagnosed with Canine Cognitive Dysfunction, her first instinct is to do everything possible to bring the symptoms of this neurologically debilitating condition under control. But treatments fail, and Chispa's symptoms worsen. Faced with emotionally complicated questions and difficult ethical decisions, Gail repeatedly visits the one place where she believes she might find the spiritual guidance and wisdom needed to make the best choice for Chispaa tiny, extraordinary church in St. Johnsbury, Vermont called the Dog Chapel. Within the chapel, its walls deeply layered with overlapping photographs and notes from thousands of previous visitors to dogs loved and lost, Gail finds both answers and peace in the wise words of the unknown people she comes to consider her tribe. A story of unconditional love and devotion, Dog Church is also a story of finding comfort in faith and the ways in which the emotional threads of love and grief can bind complete strangers together for brief moments in time in ways that are ultimately life-changing.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This was a couldn't-put-down read, in spite of the many times Gigi got on my nerves. I'm glad I trusted the author to redeem him - this happens realistically, and whilst I still wasn't enamoured by the end, I could appreciate where Gigi was coming from. He's self-absorbed and shallow, and kind of a cliché, but I know people like him, so he's plausible. Brock, on the other hand, is lovely and has a much better sense of what changes he needs to make in his life. All in all, this is not my usual kind of read, but it was a good one. I felt for the characters and enjoyed the setting immensely. 

Growing Pains Cass Lennox
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Toronto Connections (Book 3)
Paperback: 222 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (December 8, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626494908
ISBN-13: 978-1626494909
Amazon: Growing Pains (Toronto Connections #3) Cass Lennox

Gigi Rosenberg is living his best life: performances in the big city, side gigs at a dance company, a successful drag act, and the boy of his childhood dreams who now adores him. Even if the boyfriend part isn’t the sparkly ride of passion he expected it to be, life is sweet. So when his sister’s wedding calls him back to his hometown, he sees an opportunity to show the hicks from his past how wrong they were about him. Only, his boyfriend isn’t quite on board.

Brock Stubbs left their hometown and his parents behind for a reason, and the prospect of facing them again is terrifying. He swore he’d never go back, but Gigi has made it clear refusal isn’t an option, and Brock will do nearly anything for him. There’s just one deal-breaker of a problem: Brock promised Gigi he was out to everyone, including his parents. He lied.

It’s magical to run into the sunset together, but staying the course takes work. For Gigi and Brock, going home feels like the finale of a long, disappointing year. Sometimes love isn’t all you need.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Torque is one of those stories that is a full sensory experience. Red dust - I could almost taste the dry red dust pluming up around spinning wheels. The title is absolutely perfect, reflecting the tension in the narrative, and I loved the characters, the setting - pretty much everything about the story. Whilst I could have happily done without the intimate scenes (personal preference), the stark emotional connections and the open, honest portrayal of diverse LGBT characters (bi/trans) makes a welcome change. This is a tough story - emotionally, yes, but more it's about the kind of people whose marginalisation in society is repeated all too often in fiction (lower social class), and it was great to see them taking centre stage.

Torque Charli Coty
Bisexual - Contemporary General Fiction
File Size: 3311 KB
Print Length: 161 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: CeeTwo Publishing; 2 edition (March 9, 2017)
Publication Date: March 9, 2017
Amazon: Torque Charli Coty

Sometimes letting things get complicated is the best way to figure it all out.

Mick Randall is on the run, from the biker culture he grew up in and his impossible vision of love. Alaska should be far enough to escape his old life—until he rolls into a wrecking yard and gets lost in a pair of pale, bottle-green eyes.

Scotty Bell has spent years learning to channel his fiery temper into the heat of a welding torch. His sexual heat has always been slower to ignite, but one look at Mick rouses confusion alongside desire. In all his life, he’s only been attracted to one other person—his best friend, Mercy Taylor.

Mick lands a temporary job at the yard, and finds an uneasy crash pad at Scotty’s place, where the ragged ends of his emotions get tangled up in Scotty and Mercy’s relationship.

But when Mick hears a Harley engine from his past bearing down on him, his first instinct is to go back to the half-life he’d been living, lest his secrets destroy the only two people who’ve ever made him feel whole.

Warning: Contains references to abuse, subversive ideas about sexual identity and gender expression, and a free-range bisexual on a mission.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)After a less-than-exciting start, this book took me by surprise. The setting was beautifully described from the beginning, but I didn't expect to fall so madly in love with the characters. Slowly but surely, Finn and Robin really engrossed me. I was engrossed by the combination of old world fairy myths, the other-world paranormal trope, and a rather new spin on fairy culture and physiology. 
2) Initially, I was prepared not to like this, since Finn was so unlikable for the first half, but I loved the concept and enjoyed the faery world, so I stuck with it. I'm glad I did, because it developed quite nicely in the second half.

Sparkwood Daria Defore
Bisexual - Fantasy Romance
Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (February 14, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1620049813
ISBN-13: 978-1620049815
Amazon: Sparkwood Daria Defore

Finn has never trusted fairies, so it's no surprise to him when his twin brother turns up dead, probably by magical means. What he doesn't expect is an invitation to the funeral—in the fairy realm—and a chance to find out who killed him. Investigating Luke's death is probably the stupidest thing Finn has ever done, and soon he's up to his neck in fairy trouble. In the midst of it all is Robin, the fairy who's supposed to be watching out for him—but who just might have had something to do with Luke's death.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This was a beautifully written book that had me enthralled from the first page to the last. I was emotionally involved with the characters and transported in time and place to the village of Thornton and into the lives of Matthew, Ben and Sam.  I have no hesitation at all to give this book top marks. 
2) This felt like one of those generations-long epics. You can feel time fly by, how people try to grasp at happiness and love, only to be foiled by life, war, and death, and in the end renewing their passion for life. The writing is plain and matter-of-fact, yet full of rich natural imagery and lovingly painted landscapes, and that is what makes the whole thing work. There's the historical framework of WWI against the lives and loves of two young men--and then a third. This story speaks of memories gilded by the passage of time, of a nostalgia for better days before wars decimated men and left them as walking shadows. It speaks of hope most of all, how love endures even in the face of death, and how love can transform sorrow to happiness. An absolutely beautiful story, and I’m not even a fan of the 20th century.

A Time to Keep Morgan Cheshire
Gay - Historical
File Size: 1943 KB
Print Length: 213 pages
Publisher: Manifold Press (August 1, 2017)
Publication Date: August 1, 2017
Amazon: A Time to Keep Morgan Cheshire

It’s 1909, and on leaving the workhouse young lovers Ben and Matthew must find their places in the world. Luck brings jobs and somewhere to live, but their security is short-lived when England begins to prepare for war. Ben can’t wait to go to France and fight for his country, and it isn’t long before Matthew receives the news he’s dreaded. Ineligible for military service Matthew must stay at home, his life disintegrating – until, years later, the arrival of a stranger helps him learn to live for the future again.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) This is the second installment of Amy Tasukada'a The Yakuza Path. Written from the third person point of view, this is a very well crafted tale of love, gang warfare, and traditions. The characters are alive and multidimensional. The story flows easily and the book is hard to put down. Even though I enjoyed the first book better, this book stands alone very well. The prose is poetic and addictive. A wonderful tale of lust, love, and the Japanese culture. Amy Tasukada's writing style is crisp and lyrical, like snowflakes dancing in the night. She describes with the same ease and elegance steeping of tea and spilling of blood. Without getting into unnecessary detail, she transports us to historical Kyoto as the background of the "Yakuda" -- or mafia. In this chapter, drugs are the problem for everyone knows that the Matzukada do not deal drugs. If you are looking for a bittersweet romance, you'll find it here. If you're looking for blood and guts, you'll find it here. And if you are looking for a glimpse into a Japan which very few of us will have the chance to know, you'll find it here. Highly recommended! 

Better Than Suicide (The Yakuza Path #2) Amy Tasukada
Gay - Mystery / Thriller
Series: The Yakuza Path
Paperback: 376 pages
Publisher: Macarons & Tea Publishing (May 20, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0997865342
ISBN-13: 978-0997865349
Amazon: Better Than Suicide (The Yakuza Path #2) Amy Tasukada

If you buy the paperback, you'll get the ebook for FREE!
A bag of drugs. A twisted cop. A mob on the verge of self-destruction…

Nao Murata is the new Godfather of the Matsukawa syndicate. When Detective Yamada confronts Nao over a dead drug dealer, the Nao knows his organization isn’t responsible. The Matsukawa doesn’t deal drugs… or does it?

When Nao discovers drugs in a locker owned by his syndicate, he no longer knows who to trust. With the police bearing down on the Matsukawa, Nao must make unlikely allies to find out the truth. Can he discover who is betraying him before time runs out, or will everyone suffer for a crime he didn’t commit?

Better Than Suicide is the second book in a Japanese mafia thriller series. If you like complex plots, gripping suspense, and splash of gay romance, then you’ll love the next installment in Amy Tasukada’s Yakuza Path series.
Buy Better Than Suicide to start the race against the clock today!
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1) Totally loved this book.  Haven't really read much from this author but I definitely like her writing style. Words and pages just flowed and made it hard to put down. I really liked the MC's Hope and Laleh as well.  
2) Jae consistently gives us good stories, expertly written.
3) A roller coaster of emotion, but a really good read. Laleh & Hope kept me sucked in as their story unfolded.

Heart Trouble Jae
Lesbian - Contemporary Romance
Paperback: 330 pages
Publisher: Ylva Publishing; 1 edition (October 9, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3955337324
ISBN-13: 978-3955337322
Amazon: Heart Trouble Jae

Dr. Hope Finlay loves her job as an emergency room physician, especially since it allows her only brief encounters with her patients. She learned early in life not to get attached to anyone because it never lasts. Laleh Samadi, a waitress at her aunt’s restaurant, is the exact opposite. She easily connects with people and loves her big, boisterous Persian family, despite their tendency to meddle in her life. When Laleh needs to be rushed to the ER with heart trouble, Hope saves her life. Afterwards, strange things begin to occur: Why does Laleh suddenly know even the most obscure diseases, while Hope is fluent in Farsi? Soon, they can no longer deny that there’s a mysterious connection between them—one that becomes stronger with each passing day. Are they losing their minds…or their hearts?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)

1)OH MY GOD HOW MUCH FUN WAS THIS????  Kaed is the world-weary, seen-it-all son of a mad scientist supervillain. Ash is a genetically engineered assassin/bodyguard raised in a monastery by an isolated death cult. Together…well, they don’t exactly fight crime, but they do have quite a few adventures—and fall in love. Of a sort. There’s SO MUCH to enjoy in this story, but the best part, in my opinion, was Kaed’s eye-rolling, tongue-in-cheek narration—made all the more relatable as Ash gets under his skin. Seriously, this is one of the most fun things I’ve read in a long time. Just fantastic. 

Hearts of Darkness Andrea Speed
Gay - Fantasy
Paperback
Publisher: DSP Publications (November 8, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1634775481
ISBN-13: 978-1634775489
Amazon: Hearts of Darkness Andrea Speed

Kaede Hiyashi is sick and tired of living in the shadow of his father, supervillain Doctor Terror. Brilliant but crazy, Doctor Terror sends his son to Corwyn, California, for reasons Kaede can't imagine. Sent to accompany and protect him is Ash, a genetically modified supersoldier raised and trained by an infamous death cult.

Corwyn is lousy with superheroes, led by the obnoxious Dark Justice. Kaede finds himself dancing around Dark Justice as he digs into his father's mysterious business and teaches his socially awkward--but physically lethal--bodyguard to acclimate to "normal" life. Can these two wacky supervillains figure out what Doctor Terror wants them to do, solve the riddle of the villain known as Black Hand, and keep Dark Justice from raining on their bloody parade? The course of love--and world domination--never did run smooth.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

October 2017

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 20th, 2017 11:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios