reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Neil Vivian Bartlett, OBE, (born 1958) is an award-winning British director, performer, translator, and writer. He is one of the founding members of Gloria, a production company established in 1988 to produce his work along with that of Nicolas Bloomfield, Leah Hausman and Simon Mellor. His work has garnered several awards, including the 1985 Perrier Award (for More Bigger Snacks Now), the Time Out Dance Umbrella Award (for A Vision of Love Revealed in Sleep), a Writers Guild Award (for Sarrasine), a Time Out Theatre Award (for A Judgement in Stone), and the Special Jury Prize at the Cork Film Festival (for Now That It's Morning). His production of The Dispute won a Time Out Award for Best Production in the West End and the 1999 TMA Best Touring Production award. He was appointed an OBE in 2000 for his services to the arts.

He is the author of: Who Was That Man: A Present for Mr. Oscar Wilde (1988), Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall (1992), Mr. Clive and Mr. Page (1996), Skin Lane (2007), "When the Time Comes; or, the Case of the Man Who Didn't Know" (short story).

Who Was That Man shows how the gay history of London in the 1890s affects Bartlett's life as a gay man in London in the 1980s. His latest novel, Skin Lane was published in London by Serpent's Tail publishing in March 2007.

He also served as Artistic Director at the Lyric Theatre Hammersmith from 1994 until 2004. At the Lyric he directed productions of classic plays, which he translated or adapted. The following are some of the plays he directed and translated:

- The first English production of Jean Genet's Splendid's
- Kleist's Prince of Homburg and Marivaux's La Dispute
- His recent adaptation of Dickens' Oliver Twist

Many of his translations of classic plays have been performed throughout the world.

He will also be partaking in the Bush Theatre's 2011 project Sixty Six where he has written a piece based upon a chapter of the King James Bible.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Bartlett_(playwright)
I often think of the men who planted the orchard, and I have done so many times in the last week while surveying the damage. They must have known they would never have seen the trees mature themselves, but must have hoped that their children and indeed children‘s children might one day pick the fruit on summer evenings, and think of them as they did so. --Neil Bartlett, Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall
It was several years before I met my own Boy, my very own Boy, that I read Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall. But thank you for that book, Mr. Bartlett. In another of your books, Who Was That Man: A Present for Mr. Oscar Wilde, you quote That Man himself:
It is quite true. Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else‘s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation. — Oscar Wilde, De Profundis
And is this quite true? This book you wrote, this Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall, this story of Boy and O, the bar where they met, the woman who helped bring them together, the marriage they shared: have I not only read and reread it, given it to others, written about it, quoted from it, but has it also, consciously or not, served as pattern and image for my most important relationship? Has life, as Wilde so famously said, imitated art? --Philip Clark, The Lost Library: Gay Fiction Rediscovered
Further Readings:

Skin Lane by Neil Bartlett
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Serpent's Tail (November 1, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1852429925
ISBN-13: 978-1852429928
Amazon: Skin Lane

Shortlisted for the 2007 Costa Novel Award

“I read Skin Lane with one eye closed out of sheer animal terror. Then, unimaginably, it brought me to tears; what a work of art—so unexpected and heartbreaking and lovely.”—Armistead Maupin

“A powerful and complex story of sexual obsession. . . . A profoundly original meditation on thwarted desire.”—Patrick McGrath

“Skin Lane welds itself to your hands from first to last. Textured, teeming with menace and deeply moving, it is an extremely fine piece of writing.”—The Times (London)

“A fiendishly taut little psycho-shocker.”—Will Self

At forty-seven, Mr. F’s working life on London’s Skin Lane is one governed by calm, precision, and routine. So when he starts to have recurring nightmares, he does his best to ignore them. The images that appear in his dreams are disturbing—Mr. F can’t think of where they have come from. After all, he’s an ordinary middle-aged man.

As London’s backstreets begin to swelter in the long, hot summer of 1967, Mr. F’s nightmares become an obsession. A chance encounter adds a face to the body that nightly haunts him, and the torments of his restless nights lead him—and the reader—deeper into a terrifying labyrinth of rage, desire, and shame.

Part fairy-tale, part compelling evocation of a now-lost London, this is Neil Bartlett’s fiercest piece of writing yet: cruel, erotic, and tender.

Neil Bartlett is an award-winning English novelist and theater director. He has directed on numerous occasions for the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall: A Novel (Plume) by Neil Bartlett
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Plume (November 1, 1992)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0452268737
ISBN-13: 978-0452268739
Amazon: Ready to Catch Him Should He Fall: A Novel

This novel takes place almost entirely in a backstreet homosexual bar frequented by a motley collection of world-weary regulars. The bar is presided over by the owner, Madame, who looks after her boys, ensuring that the haven remains inviolate. Then one day an innocent young man walks in.

More Spotlights at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Lists/Gay Novels

Date: 2012-01-01 09:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aileenfan.livejournal.com
"Ready to catch him..." is an amazing book, written in a poetic, dreamy style. That's another one I can highly recommend:)

Date: 2012-01-01 09:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
another book I need to add to my reading list ;-)

Date: 2012-01-02 02:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aileenfan.livejournal.com
Hee hee:P The good thing about this one is that despite it being poetic and set in sort of "no time, no place", there is an actual action, the beginning, the climax (no pun intended;)) and the end.
Not to mention the delicious romance:)

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2019

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 20th, 2019 10:48 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios