reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Josh Lanyon is an American writer of LGBT mystery and adventure fiction, usually with a strong romantic subplot.

Over the past decade Lanyon has written numerous novels, novellas and short stories as well as the non-fiction writing guide Man, Oh Man! Writing Quality M/M Fiction. He is the author of the Holmes & Moriarity comic mysteries as well as the Adrien English mystery novels, including The Hell You Say, winner of the 2006 USABookNews award for GLBT fiction.

Lanyon has collaborated with several other writers including Laura Baumbach (co-writer of the Eppie Award-winning Mexican Heat), Jordan Castillo Price, and Sarah Black.

In December 2009, Lanyon's first foray into spec fiction was published through Blind Eye Books. Strange Fortune is described as an AU British Raj adventure with romantic and fantasy elements.

Lanyon's first novel, Fatal Shadows, was published in 2000 through the now defunct indie British publisher Gay Men's Press. Since then he has published with a variety of presses, both electronic and print, including Samhain Publishing, Carina Press, Loose Id, Blind Eye Books, JCP Books, Liquid Silver, MLR Press, Aspen Mountain Press, Torquere, etc. Lanyon currently lives in Los Angeles, California.

Adrien English Mysteries Fatal Shadows (2000, originally published by MLR Press and Loose Id) - Just Joshin', ISBN 978-1-937909-15-4 (print) + ISBN 978-1-937909-07-9 (ebook)
A Dangerous Thing (2002, originally published by MLR Press and Loose Id) - Just Joshin', ISBN 978-1-937909-16-1 (print) + ISBN 978-1-937909-08-6 (ebook)
The Hell You Say (2006, originally published by MLR Press and Loose Id) - Just Joshin', ISBN 978-1-937909-19-2 (print) + ISBN 978-1-937909-00-0 (ebook)
Death of a Pirate King (2008, originally published by MLR Press and Loose Id) - Just Joshin', ISBN 978-1-937909-26-0 (print) + ISBN 978-0-9847669-0-1 (ebook)
The Dark Tide (2009, originally published by MLR Press and Loose Id) - Just Joshin', ISBN 978-1-937909-51-2 (print) + ISBN 978-1-937909-01-7 (ebook)

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josh_Lanyon
I read Snowball in Hell twice and was blown away by it. Lanyon balances a lot in this relatively short work. Great period detail—it’s 1943. Interesting mystery. But what had me riveted was the characterization of the two leads: Lt. Matthew Spain and reporter Nathan Doyle. Two men falling in love at this time wasn’t easy and, in fact, I was quite sad at times. Very moving, with a strong emotional punch. I'm still hoping for a sequel. --Joely Skye
Honestly, I’ve never read anything by Josh Lanyon that I didn’t like, but The Ghost Wore Yellow Socks and Out of the Blue are my favorites. I think they both showcase Lanyon’s knack for characterization, setting, and whatever that special something is that makes me devour his books as if they were made of chocolate. --Cassandra Gold
Aside from the Adrien English mysteries just being a really fantastic series (I bought The Dark Tide the day it came out and then let it sit for a month because I was so sad to see the series end), Fatal Shadows has the dubious distinction of being the first ebook I ever bought, and it served as my gateway drug to the greater world of e-publishers and m/m romance. Plus, I could easily populate half this list with Lanyon’s books. I think his special gift is the novella; I continue to be impressed by how he can give you everything you need to understand the characters and situations in so few words. --Kate McMurray
I’ve had a LiveJournal account since the day I read “Fatal Shadows” by Josh Lanyon. I came here as an author stalker. I simply don’t have words to describe how much I love the Adrien English series. Something about Jake and Adrien, the constant conflict and the very human and dreadfully unwise choices, really worked for me. I always say I’d read Josh if he wrote drug prescription inserts and it’s as true today as it was that day. I just finished “The Dark Farewell” last night. I still like the mysteries best because they were my first, but looking at this list, it’s possible I just like mysteries. :D --Z.A. Maxfield
Though not a huge history buff, I couldn't resist picking up Josh Lanyon's novella, Out of the Blue. And I'm extremely happy I did. I've enjoyed all the Lanyon's books I've read to date but would have to say, Out of the Blue is some of Lanyon's finest writing—Witty, charming, amazingly sensual, and funny—Well, that describes all Lanyon books, but there was something different about this one. I noticed the style is different, but if anything, his choice aids in the action, making the story concise—fast-paced. Set in France during WWI, Out of the Blue hits all the right buttons in this story of lost love, blackmail, forced seduction, and new beginnings. British ace Bat Bryant and American pilot Cowboy Cooper seem an unlikely pair, yet Lanyon fashions the perfect scenario, feeding into a confrontation that plays out well. Against the odds and despite their wills, Bat and Cowboy work—and they work each other over pretty darn well throughout this story. And Lanyon writes in these two men's emotions so perfectly, the story is utterly romantic on top of erotic. Readers of historical military and/or M/M erotic romance will want to read this one! --Bryl R. Tyne
What do you get when you take murder, an amateur mystery-writing sleuth with a heart condition who wields his sarcastic tongue to deflect suspicion and innuendo…then mix it with a dash of romance including in a hunky cop with commitment issues, a leather fetish, who suffers from a severe case of homophobia despite being one himself? A whole lotta happy readers. I have yet to read the fifth and final book in the The Adrien English Mystery Series, mainly because I know I won’t have to say goodbye as long as I don’t. But this series is brilliantly written and readers are deliciously tormented and teased by the will-they/won’t-they, on again/off again relationship between Adrien and Jake. --Ethan Day
Mexican Heat is possibly one of the best gay detective stories I’ve ever read. Baumbach and Lanyon keep you on the edge of your seat, and turning page after page as they skillfully weave the love affair of Gabriel Sandalini, a feisty undercover cop, and Antonio Lorenzo, against a backdrop of murder and mayhem involving wicked drug lords and hit men. Super! --J.P. Bowie
Okay, everyone knows The Adrien English Series, so it´s sort of like recommending "Star Wars" to sci-fi fans, but seriously, it has to be on my "top 10" list. --Astrid Amara
The Hell You Say was the first of his Adrien English books I read, which led me to all his others. --P.A. Brown
Further Readings:

Fatal Shadows (The Adrien English Mysteries) by Josh Lanyon
Paperback: 196 pages
Publisher: JustJoshin (May 14, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937909158
ISBN-13: 978-1937909154
Amazon: Fatal Shadows (The Adrien English Mysteries)
Amazon Kindle: Fatal Shadows (The Adrien English Mysteries)

One sunny morning Los Angeles bookseller and aspiring mystery author Adrien English opens his front door to murder. His old high school buddy (and employee) has been found stabbed to death in a back alley following a loud and very public argument with Adrien the previous evening. Naturally the cops want to ask Adrien a few questions; they are none too impressed with his answers, and when a few hours later someone breaks into Adrien's shop and ransacks it, the law is inclined to think Adrien is trying to divert suspicion from himself. Adrien knows better. Adrien knows he is next on the killer's list.

More Spotlights at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Lists/Gay Novels

Date: 2009-08-19 03:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] a7thina.livejournal.com
I just read the title and the first sentence... and was screaming (I'm serious!). I thought this would be a review of #5 of the Adrien English Mysteries and was overjoyed. I can't express how much I'm looking forward and dearly expecting the 5th in the line! So: My bad! Should've read the whole thing...

I really like the way Josh Lanyon creates a nail-biting atmosphere with witty and sometimes quite complicated personalities and despite the fact that I am not a mystery buff I ADORE the Adrien English Mysteries and recommend them highly!
Thank you elisa for pointing this great author and his lovely achievements out! And a gigangtic thank you to Mr. Josh Lanyon for making me an Adrien Englsih-buff!! ;)
(wahh, what a long post but it's the devoted fan within...)

Date: 2009-08-19 03:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
The first from the Adrien English series is still the one with more owned copied on LT and so it's the one which deserves to be feature in this spotlight post. But I read the Death of a Pirate King, and will look forward to the 5 book in the series ;-) Elisa

Date: 2009-08-19 03:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] a7thina.livejournal.com
Don't get me wrong... I'm in no way blaming you for choosing the first one! You did goooood!

Date: 2009-08-19 03:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
It's impressive how many books you can choose among Josh Lanyon's works and still doing good ;-) Elisa

Date: 2009-08-19 03:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] a7thina.livejournal.com
*nodding wholeheartedly*

Date: 2009-08-19 06:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Thanks so much for featuring Fatal Shadows, Elisa. This was a nice surprise.

And thank you, A7thina. Glad you enjoy the series so much -- I hope #5 lives up to expectation. *g*

Date: 2009-08-19 07:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Dear Josh, I'm honored to feature you on my LJ, and I bet that n 5 in the series is good as well if not more than the previous books ;-) Elisa

Date: 2009-08-21 03:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Dear Josh, I'm honored to feature you on my LJ, and I bet that n 5 in the series is good as well if not more than the previous books ;-)

*g* Keeping fingers crossed.

Date: 2009-08-24 12:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] a7thina.livejournal.com
You're very welcome! It's a little embarrassing that you got to see my fan-squeal-behavior but I couldn't help myself. I do love the series and your stories =^_^=...
And I'm sure that #5'll live up to my expections plenty! Don't worry! xD

Date: 2009-08-24 03:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
You're very welcome! It's a little embarrassing that you got to see my fan-squeal-behavior but I couldn't help myself. I do love the series and your stories =^_^=...
And I'm sure that #5'll live up to my expections plenty! Don't worry! xD


Hey, we write for ourselves but we publish for others. Imagine if no one ever let us know how much they enjoyed the stories? Might as well leave them on the desktop in that case!

So thank you.

Date: 2009-08-19 08:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yachay.livejournal.com
Oooh, Joshy made it to the spotlight! ..... Too bad for me, since this post just reminded me of a huge pile of books by him that I haven't read yet. Why can't the day have more hours in it? :P
Great post as always, Elisa!

Date: 2009-08-19 08:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Start to read so, what are you expecting ;-) The Top 100 List is among the best gay novels authors of this century, it would be impossible for Josh to not be in there. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-20 12:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] perfectbinding.livejournal.com
Yay! Josh Lanyon is one of my favorite authors. :) He's so good at creating complex yet sympathetic characters, and putting them in terrific mysteries. Plus, just the overall quality of his writing is so high; I recommend his books to all my friends. Great pick for a spotlight! (And now that I'm looking at your list, I realize I still need to pick up Partners in Crime 4...off to the bookstore! ;) )

Date: 2009-08-20 07:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
The Art of Dying is very good. Josh is paired with Jordan Castillo Price, I love also her work. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-20 02:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Thank you. I appreciate it. *g*

Date: 2009-08-20 02:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Start to read so, what are you expecting ;-) The Top 100 List is among the best gay novels authors of this century, it would be impossible for Josh to not be in there.

That is very generous of you, Elisa. Thank you for saying so.

Date: 2009-08-20 03:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Again, it's my honor and pleasure to have you here on my LJ. And the response to my friends proves how much loved you are among the fans. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-20 03:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] heartofoshun.livejournal.com
Amazing writer. I bought all four of the Adrien English mystery novels published to date at one time, and read them one right after another. The thing that struck me about them is that, unlike many novels in a series, they consistently grow stronger. Each book is better than the one that preceded it. I have read a fair number of m/m novels and I find Josh Lanyon the best, without any close second. In fact, I don’t like to even consider this series in the context of genre, either mystery or GLBT fiction. In my opinion, in terms of his engaging style and in-depth characterization, Josh compares well to any fiction being written today (and I read a lot).

Date: 2009-08-20 03:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
I have all four books but read only the last (yes shame on me!). I probably will read also the others sooner or later, but like so many books released before I started this LJ, they always shifted down on my list, even if I'm sure they are of higher quality of other books I read. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-20 03:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] heartofoshun.livejournal.com
I always think when someone tells me they haven't read something that I think is fabulous is that I wish I could read them again for the first time for that initial thrill of discovery (I re-read things all the time also).

Date: 2009-08-21 03:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
I have all four books but read only the last (yes shame on me!). I probably will read also the others sooner or later, but like so many books released before I started this LJ, they always shifted down on my list, even if I'm sure they are of higher quality of other books I read.

You have to read what you enjoy. I think a lot of my stuff is much more mystery-focused than you care for, and that's okay. *g* You've still been really sweet to me.

Date: 2009-08-21 05:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
LOL Josh, this is not really a "good" manner way to say I don't like your book. I have more than 600 books in my reading list, and I try to read them as soon as they are out, but as you can imagine, from a back log of 600 books, I'm not fast enough! And I try to give a fast line to new authors and new publishers, so authors I have already read in the past suffer from it. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-21 03:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
The thing that struck me about them is that, unlike many novels in a series, they consistently grow stronger. Each book is better than the one that preceded it. I have read a fair number of m/m novels and I find Josh Lanyon the best, without any close second. In fact, I don’t like to even consider this series in the context of genre, either mystery or GLBT fiction. In my opinion, in terms of his engaging style and in-depth characterization, Josh compares well to any fiction being written today (and I read a lot).

Thank you for those generous comments. I consciously try different voices and styles, to do different things, to continue to work to improve my writing, so it's always affirming to hear a reader say it's working for them.

Otherwise it's just me writing for myself. And while I do write for myself, I publish for others.

Date: 2009-08-21 05:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] heartofoshun.livejournal.com
It's definitely working. But I still haven't read your new spec fiction book, which I am dying to read. I loved the teaser.

Otherwise it's just me writing for myself.

Hey, even when I write for myself (and I do far too much of that), I bore myself if I don't try different things. In a world filled with all kinds of cycles of fads in writing style, construction, etc., you were a breath of fresh air for me. I've talked everyone I know to death about you.

Date: 2009-08-20 04:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] egret17.livejournal.com
What, you read the last Adrien English book first?! Oh, darn, you'll really miss out on the build up between Adrien and Jake over the first three books. I spent a lot of time angsting on Adrien's behalf.

Great post, Elisa!

Date: 2009-08-20 05:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Yes I know ;-) I said that I did that with a reason, since I wanted to read first the smushy part, but the real reason is that I was too eager to read the fourth and didn't have time to read the three before. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-21 03:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
I spent a lot of time angsting on Adrien's behalf.

*g*
Edited Date: 2009-08-21 03:57 pm (UTC)

Date: 2009-08-20 07:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mistry89.livejournal.com
Elisa, I like JL's stuff so much that I'm going to buy MOM (although I am not won't ever be (I promise!), a writer) as soon as I have run out of fiction to snaffle - I have three of the PICs to get before then (and I'm always hopeful that a previously un-re-released Sage of Epic Proportions (redundant, but adds drama) is announced. In the interim, rationing is my friend. *g*

p.s. And I'm starting to get titles I already have as ebooks in print as well (power cut backup reading!).

Date: 2009-08-20 07:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
LOL. You will find also me in Man, Oh Man, Josh was so kind to interview me for the book and I'm listed in the end, among all the other interviewed "excerpt". Actually Josh was the first person to consider me good enough to have an opinion on Gay Romance, I was very honored when he asked me for an interview, and my Engligh was even worst than now ;-) Elisa

Date: 2009-08-20 07:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mistry89.livejournal.com
Heh! Another reason for me to get it, then. :)

Date: 2009-08-21 04:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Actually Josh was the first person to consider me good enough to have an opinion on Gay Romance,

You had -- and continue to have -- insights into the genre (and romance as a whole) that no one else does. It was a great interview. Really informative!

Date: 2009-08-21 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
Again, thank you. I always show my copy of Man, Oh Man to friend when they ask me why I read Gay Romance. Elisa

Date: 2009-08-21 04:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Wow. Thank you Mistry89. I appreciate that!

In December the Josh Lanyon title wave hits and should keep everyone busy for the next few months.

Date: 2009-08-21 07:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liade.livejournal.com
In December the Josh Lanyon title wave Image (http://www.mysmiley.net/free-tongue-smileys.php) hits and should keep everyone busy for the next few months.

Next few Months?? Plural? I know December means Strange Fortune and AE5 => I'm actually looking forward to December. Any dates for other upcoming stories? Also: is The Dark Tide coming out first as ebook, or as print book? Or both simultaneously?

Date: 2009-08-21 08:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jgraeme2007.livejournal.com
Next few Months?? Plural? I know December means Strange Fortune and AE5 => I'm actually looking forward to December. Any dates for other upcoming stories? Also: is The Dark Tide coming out first as ebook, or as print book? Or both simultaneously?

Oh, there will be some things popping up before then, but next year will probably be a bit leaner as far as output.

But still to come this year:

Out of the Blue - August 31st
I Spy Something... - October 27
Old Poison - November 17 or 24
Strange Fortune - December 1
Love is the Dickens - December unknown
The Dark Tide - late December


And there's also the print ghost antho THE MYSTERIOUS with Alex Beecroft and Laura Baumbach -- we're aiming for Halloween on that one.

Date: 2009-08-21 08:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liade.livejournal.com
Love is the Dickens - did you pick the title?? How about a teensy blurb (same for The Dark Tide)?

I Spy Something...: I presume that would be the story formerly (?) known as Halloween Fling?

Date: 2014-01-13 01:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elena-62.livejournal.com


Awww, Josh! He is my favorite m/m author. Thank you for remembering his birthday!

BTW for lovers of the Adrien English series ''Stranger Things Have Happened (An Adrien English Write Your Own Damn Story)'' has just been published in December 2013. It's not a real sequel, but it is incredibly enjoyable, see

http://www.amazon.com/Stranger-Things-Have-Happened-Mysteries/dp/1937909441/ref=sr_1_2?s=books-intl-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1389620053&sr=1-2

Ciao

Antonella

Date: 2014-01-13 01:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elisa-rolle.livejournal.com
I know you are a fan ;-) Elisa

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2019

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 18th, 2019 06:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios