reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-25 10:46 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Clickbait E.J. Russell


1) I absolutely love the two main characters. They are complex and likable, with relatable problems and great chemistry. They’re excellent foils for each other, without being caricatures. Alex Henning, the hot, brawny construction worker with equally heavyweight brains, a heart of gold, and unexpected emotional depths, will remain one of my all-time favorite characters. It’s also a good emotional coming-of-age story for gun-shy Gideon Wallace, whose early experience left him too cautious to enjoy a real relationship. Really an enjoyable story. Loved it.
2) I loved the variety of characters, the interesting setting, and the real life issues they all had to deal with. Gideon and Alex, along with the supporting cast, have a variety of situations and issues they are faced with, their work is not just a thing mentioned in passing, and they are forced to deal with how life, love, friendship, and daily mishaps blend together to create a whirlwind they have to untangle. The story challenges both characters and the reader to look beyond their fears and prejudice, without lecturing anyone. Lessons are learned the way they should be: to trial and frequent errors. As the plot develops, the characters show more of themselves, and everything, including the romance, seems very real.

Clickbait E.J. Russell
Gay - Romantic Comedy
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (Dec 5, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626494959
ISBN-13: 978-1626494954
Amazon: Clickbait E.J. Russell

After the disastrous ending of his first serious relationship, Gideon Wallace cultivated a protective—but fabulously shiny—outer shell to shield himself from Heartbreak 2.0. Besides, romance is so not a priority for him right now. All his web design prospects have inexplicably evaporated, and to save his fledgling business, he’s been compelled to take a hands-on hardware project—as in, his hands on screwdrivers, soldering irons, and needle-nosed pliers. God. Failure could actually be an option.

Journeyman electrician Alex Henning is ready to leave Gideon twisting in the wind after their run-ins both on and off the construction site. Except, like a fool, he takes pity on the guy and offers to help. Never mind that between coping with his dad’s dementia and clocking all the overtime he can finagle, he has zero room in his life for more complications.

Apparently, an office build-out can lay the foundation for a new relationship. Who knew? But before Alex can trust Gideon with the truth about his fragile family, he has to believe that Gideon’s capable of caring about more than appearances. And Gideon must learn that when it comes to the heart, it’s content—not presentation—that matters.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-25 10:45 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Hawaiian Fragrance (The Hawaiians #3) Meg Amor


1) The author's heart shines through in this genuine romance with well-developed, interesting characters. A recommended read.

Hawaiian Fragrance (The Hawaiians #3) Meg Amor
Gay - Contemporary Romance
File Size: 716 KB
Print Length: 269 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Loose Id LLC (May 3, 2017)
Publication Date: May 3, 2017
Amazon: Hawaiian Fragrance (The Hawaiians #3) Meg Amor

Danny’s a fourth-generation Big Islander from the wealthy Lucerno ranching family. He’s gorgeous--a mix of Portuguese male and Argentine passion, all dark-haired, smoldering sensuality. His family disowned him for being gay, and now he’s part of the Masterson-Mahikoa “lost boys” family.

When he meets the wealthy, sophisticated, sensuous Brazilian, Paolo Bastini, he’s swept off his feet into a glitzy Las Vegas lifestyle of money and luxury--the world he grew up in. But it takes Danny away from Hawai’i where his soul roams free and his family lives. He struggles as Paolo plays loosely with their partnership and thinks Danny is being “a baby” for wanting a monogamous relationship. And who is this past lover firmly wedged in Paolo’s heart?

Zane is severely deaf--finding new dance partners is hard. When he loses another one, Danny steps in to dance the tango competitions with him. Jealousy flares and things reach dangerous levels between Paolo and Danny. His adopted and birth family must bond together in a daring rescue of Danny from the depths of Brazil.
br>But he’s not completely out of danger. Now he’s fighting an attraction to the feminine Zane, who’s always annoyed him. Which man has his heart?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-25 10:42 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: To the Left of Your North Star Michelle Peart


1) This book was AWESOME. I was captured by the characters and story from the first page and was held captive until the last.  The world building was vivid and captivating, the characters distinct and fully rounded. The plot moved along at a cracking pace as I went on a journey of discovery with Edward and Burn. Both of the boys worked their way into my heart and I eagerly await for more. What a debut!

To the Left of Your North Star Michelle Peart
Gay - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Manifold Press (October 21, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1908312696
ISBN-13: 978-1908312693
Amazon: To the Left of Your North Star Michelle Peart

The self-assured Edward has accompanied his father, famous explorer Herb Kemp, to Abaytor. Herb is on a mission to save Earth’s bee population, but Edward couldn’t care less and just wants the comforts of home. Burn, an off-kilter Abaytorian with a desire for change, is charged with escorting Edward down the Copper River to Herb’s spaceship. As they travel through perilous lands on a makeshift raft, they are in a constant battle with the river, themselves and each other. Edward’s problems with his father are laid bare as they are hunted, starved, almost drowned, and confronted by difficult choices. But, among the striking landscapes and colourful people of Abaytor, Edward slowly learns about trust, self-acceptance and love.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-24 11:45 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: September Robert Winter


1) September was a very enjoyable read. I liked the realism that the author put into the age difference relationship. We were allowed to see the fears of both characters and how they worked to overcome those fears. 

September Robert Winter
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Pride and Joy
Paperback: 290 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (December 9, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 163533117X
ISBN-13: 978-1635331172
Amazon: September Robert Winter

A Pride and Joy novel

David James is smart, successful, handsome… and alone. After the death of his lover, Kyle, from cancer, he buried himself in his law practice and the gym. At forty-eight, he is haunted by his memories and walled off from the world. When David injures himself working out, he’s assigned to Brandon Smith for physical therapy. The vibrant young therapist is attracted to David and realizes he needs a hand to get back into dating. What begins as a practice coffee date escalates to friendship, passion, and maybe something more, as they navigate a new relationship in Washington, DC, and the gay mecca of Provincetown.

But David remains trapped behind the barrier of fear and guilt. Will he remain loyal to Kyle’s memory if he moves on? Can he and Brandon manage a twenty-two-year age gap? Brandon thinks he understands David’s concerns, and for him, the answer to those questions is yes. He wants to be with David, and he believes he can overcome David’s barriers. But Brandon fails to account for the world’s reaction to a handsome young man attached to an older, wealthy lover. David’s memories, Brandon’s pride, and an unexpected tragedy might cost them something very special.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-24 11:41 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Skythane J. Scott Coatsworth


1) A thrill-a-minute intergalactic adventure with a slow-burn romance that really satisfies. Truly outstanding worldbuilding, and a multi-layered plot with dynamic characters. This book was an absolute delight from start to finish.
2) Skythane was a totally engrossing read. The world building was rich and detailed, and the characters were three dimensional.  I could never second guess where the story was going and I couldn't put the book down. The true test of a book for me is, 'would I read a sequel' and I can say with this one, I absolutely would.
3) The world building in this piece was phenomenal, as were the characters. Although the story started out a little slow, it quickly picked up pace and made me believe in this alien world along with the different species that inhabited it. 


Skythane J. Scott Coatsworth
Gay - Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Paperback: 244 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (February 17, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1635334039
ISBN-13: 978-1635334036
Amazon: Skythane J. Scott Coatsworth

Jameson Havercamp, a psych from a conservative religious colony, has come to Oberon—unique among the Common Worlds—in search of a rare substance called pith. He’s guided through the wilds on his quest by Xander Kinnson, a handsome, cocky skythane with a troubled past.

Neither knows that Oberon is facing imminent destruction. Even as the world starts to fall apart around them, they have no idea what’s coming—or the bond that will develop between them as they race to avert a cataclysm.

Together, they will journey to uncover the secrets of this strange and singular world, even as it takes them beyond the bounds of reality itself to discover what truly binds them together.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-24 11:30 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Silken Isobel Starling

Silken Isobel Starling
Gay - Erotic Romance
File Size: 927 KB
Print Length: 61 pages
Publication Date: February 17, 2017
Amazon: Silken Isobel Starling

Matthew Fisher loved being a dancer, but his ten-year ballet career came to an abrupt end with a knee injury. He had to find a new way to make a living, and luckily, his sister was friends with Annabelle Ramsay-Aiken, only daughter of property magnate Sir James Aiken. She arranged an interview, and six months on the job training saw Matthew stepping out as a real estate agent for Aiken Luxury Lettings. Now, instead of stretching at the barre, Matthew spends his days inspecting the vacant London homes of their rich and famous clients.
Losing his dance career had left a huge hole in Matthew’s heart, and to fill it Matthew began a Tumblr blog dedicated to his fetish for wearing lingerie. He wanted to give his followers the impression he lived a charmed life, so decided to use A.L.L properties as locations for erotic photo shoots.
One of his online followers presses all of Matthew's buttons, and a long distance, online Dom/sub relationship develops between them. But when the relationship suddenly moves from online fantasy to real life... can Matthew really submit?

N.B - This story contains graphic descriptions of gay sex, BDSM, and cross-dressing,
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-23 10:14 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Tartarus Eric Andrews-Katz

Tartarus Eric Andrews-Katz
Gay - Fantasy
Paperback
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (December 13, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626397465
ISBN-13: 978-1626397460
Amazon: Tartarus Eric Andrews-Katz

Long ago, the Olympian Gods conquered and nearly destroyed an earlier race known as the Titans. Echidna, Mother of Monsters, was imprisoned in Tartarus. Centuries later, she has escaped. Entering the modern world, Echidna finds the old Gods are gone, and vows to destroy every descendant of the Olympians.

In the contemporary Pacific Northwest, Adrian and Annelise have lived comfortably--unaware of their Olympian birthright and its significance. When Adrian is introduced to Zack, sparks fly and their initial contact slowly turns to romance.

Echidna unleashes a brutal attack and Zack reveals his Divine lineage. Now he must teach the twins about their own heritage, and how to wield their unique powers for the battle to come. The final battle between Titans and Olympians will be held in the Underworld. Modern weapons have no place and only magic can prevail.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-23 10:06 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Consent: Bondage Tales Jeff Mann

Consent: Bondage Tales Jeff Mann
Gay - Erotica
Paperback: 280 pages
Publisher: Unzipped Books (April 28, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590210697
ISBN-13: 978-1590210697
Amazon: Consent: Bondage Tales Jeff Mann

According to the third edition of The Mann Dictionary of Savage Intimacy, consent is defined as ''compliance in expectation of being ravished while bound.'' Lauded by both the National Leather Association-International and Lambda Literary Awards, Mann writes stories--perhaps even true tales--that produce dangerous levels of testosterone, vigor, and seminal fluids. But the author's favorite trophies do not hang on the wall--though they are often well-hung--but are kept trussed atop the bed in anticipation of consent.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-23 09:56 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Country Jeff Mann

Country Jeff Mann
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Paperback
Publisher: Lethe Press (September 3, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590212401
ISBN-13: 978-1590212400
Amazon: Country Jeff Mann

Brice Brown sings about loyalty and broken hearts, the earnestness of being a proud Southerner, yet his popular country music lyrics are misdirection because Brice has kept hidden his attraction to men for all his life. But when a former lover--and band member--goes to the press with the truth, Brice finds himself sick of all the lies and returning to the sanctuary of his West Virginian hometown. The neighbors who used to be proud of the local boy made good now turn on him. His record label cancels contracts, his wife files for divorce, and he finds himself disgraced and despondent.

But then Brice learns from a fan that there is a compound in central West Virginia run by a man who has helped troubled gay youth overcome their self-loathing. Brice takes a chance at redemption at the forest retreat. There he meets Lucas, the handyman at the compound, who simmers with resentment at his past, angry at how he sees his future will be. While Brice thinks that Lucas is attracted to him both men are suffering. Can they rise above the condemnations the world has given them and find something meaningful...together?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-22 10:58 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Our Secret Christmas (SHS #2) H.J. Perry

Our Secret Christmas (SHS #2) H.J. Perry
Bisexual - Contemporary General Fiction
File Size: 3453 KB
Print Length: 173 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publication Date: November 30, 2016
Amazon: Our Secret Christmas (SHS #2) H.J. Perry

A feel-good, heartwarming, sexy story unlike any other story that you've read with Christmas in the title.
Christmas is a really big deal in Britain. The parties and preparations begin in November, at the latest.
In the construction industry, Christmas means two weeks off work for Connor and Lee.
Yes, two weeks.
They've only been dating since September.
In secret.
They just want to spend the holiday time together, like any other gay guys in love.
Alone and mostly naked.
And we all know the true meaning of Christmas is explaining and justifying to friends and family how you are spending the holiday and who with.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-22 10:11 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Tread the Boards (SHS #3) H.J. Perry

Tread the Boards (SHS #3 H.J. Perry
Bisexual - Contemporary Romance
File Size: 548 KB
Print Length: 211 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publication Date: October 18, 2016
Amazon: Tread the Boards (SHS #3) H.J. Perry

A feel-good, love at first sight gay romance. There’s lots of kissing and no angst.
Ben’s shook up when two of his work colleagues come out. Ben considered himself liberal and broadminded but also straight.
Macho construction workers aren’t gay. They just aren’t. So of course, he can’t stop thinking about it.
And he can’t stop thinking about Tom.
But if Ben fall’s in love with A MAN how will he tell his family, his friends and his son?

Tom is slowly getting over the heartache of his past when he’s swept away by a straight-acting but flirty scaffolder. With enough baggage of his own, should Tom spend time with Ben when he discovers Ben wasn’t acting?
Is it time for Tom to ditch the low paid work, pick up the threads of his life and resume his professional career?
A standalone romance novel. Overlapping characters with Our Secret Wedding.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-22 10:01 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Heathens Jonah Bergan

Heathens Jonah Bergan
Gay - Young Adult
Paperback: 540 pages
Publisher: Independently published (May 7, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1521191425
ISBN-13: 978-1521191422
Amazon: Heathens Jonah Bergan

Well it finally happened. The world ended. It didn't happen the way anyone expected it would. No nukes, no pandemics, just a whole lot of rage and a whole lot of violence. None of us saw it coming. There were plenty of clues, but none of us figured it out in time. The real kicker is, I'm pretty sure someone planned it. I'm pretty sure someone did it on purpose.

I'm Holden. I survived. You won't like my story. That's too bad, because your world's headed the same way as mine. Everything that happened to me, is going to happen to you. The same kind of people that did this to me, will do it to you. They're doing it right now. They're making it worse and you don't even see it. Sure, I could help you. I could give it a try, but you won't listen. I'm not the same religion. I'm not the same as you. I'm a different kind than you, so you won't listen. That's why it'll happen to you. Don't say I didn't warn you. Don't say you didn't have a clue. Not when all you had to do was listen.

Heathens is a young adult post apocalyptic science fiction novel. Heathens contains some coarse language and violence.

Can One Angry Boy Save the World?
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-20 05:09 pm

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Moment Of Fate (Moments In Time #5) Karen Stivali

Moment Of Fate (Moments In Time #5) Karen Stivali
Gay - Contemporary Romance
Series: Moments In Time
Paperback: 244 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (February 24, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627981446
ISBN-13: 978-1627981446
Amazon: Moment Of Fate (Moments In Time #5) Karen Stivali

A Moments In Time Novel
Bryan Dane's been living the dream-photography student by day, up-and-coming rocker by night. His summer goals are to earn his last few credits, graduate from NYU, spend as much time in the recording studio as possible, and survive the next few months without sex so he can complete his yearlong goal of self-imposed celibacy. Everything is on track, until he meets Oliver Newcastle.
For years Oliver planned a marriage of convenience with his high school BFF, but now that she's fallen in love for real, with someone else, it's no longer convenient. So Oliver came out to his family, quit his job, and left small-town New England for NYC, an intensive summer study program, and a chance to find his own happiness.
From the moment they meet the sexual tension between Bryan and Oliver sizzles. But Bryan wants no part of a relationship, and Oliver wants to sew his wild oats-he just isn't sure how. Oliver seeks Bryan's help navigating the NYC gay scene, which throws them together in increasingly more sexual situations until they can no longer deny they're hot for each other. Bryan is desperate to keep things simple, but fate might have other plans.

This is a standalone novel set in the Moments In Time world. You do not need to have read the other books in the series prior to reading this book.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-20 05:00 pm

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Vice City S.A. Stovall

Vice City S.A. Stovall
Gay - Mystery / Thriller
Series: Vice City (Book 1)
Paperback: 234 pages
Publisher: DSP Publications (June 20, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1635336635
ISBN-13: 978-1635336634
Amazon: Vice City S.A. Stovall

Vice City: Book One

After twenty years as an enforcer for the Vice family mob, Nicholas Pierce shouldn’t bat an eye at seeing a guy get worked over and tossed in the river. But there’s something about the suspected police mole, Miles, that has Pierce second-guessing himself. The kid is just trying to look out for his brother any way he knows how, and the altruistic motive sparks an uncharacteristic act of mercy that involves Pierce taking Miles under his wing.

Miles wants to repay Pierce for saving his life. Pierce shouldn’t see him as anything but a convenient hookup… and he sure as hell shouldn’t get involved in Miles’s doomed quest to get his brother out of a rival street gang. He shouldn’t do a lot of things, but life on the streets isn’t about following the rules. Besides, he’s sick of being abused by the Vice family, especially Mr. Vice and his power-hungry goon of a son, who treats his underlings like playthings.

So Pierce does the absolute last thing he should do if he wants to keep breathing—he leaves the Vice family in the middle of a turf war.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-20 04:50 pm

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Back Piece (Skin Deep Inc.) L.A. Witt

Back Piece (Skin Deep Inc.) L.A. Witt
Gay - Erotic Romance
File Size: 1292 KB
Print Length: 316 pages
Publisher: Swerve (April 25, 2017)
Publication Date: April 25, 2017
Amazon: Back Piece (Skin Deep Inc.) L.A. Witt

Colin Spencer is a tattoo artist with a past he’d prefer to keep a secret. Actually, he has a few secrets that he’d rather people didn’t know about, which is why Colin doesn’t do commitment. But when a shy sailor approaches him at the gym, Colin finds this guy pushing all his buttons.

Growing up in a conservative family, then escaping with the Navy, Daniel Moore is an unsure virgin who feels like he can’t share his true self with anyone. Seeing Colin—and his tattoos—at the gym are the sign Daniel needs to finally get those tattoos he’s always wanted, and maybe try his hand at flirting.

As Colin and Daniel spend more time together, their awkward hesitations turn into a deep passion neither expected. But with both men harboring secrets, will their relationship be able to survive their insecurities and become something beautiful?

Back Piece by L.A. Witt is a sexy, emotional journey of two people learning to love and finding acceptance for who they really are.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-20 04:44 pm

2017 Rainbow Awards Submission: Chief's Mess (Anchor Point #3) L.A. Witt

Chief's Mess (Anchor Point #3) L.A. Witt
Gay - Erotic Romance
Series: Anchor Point (Book 3)
Paperback: 254 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (March 24, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626496048
ISBN-13: 978-1626496040
Amazon: Chief's Mess (Anchor Point #3) L.A. Witt

Anthony Talbot is in Anchor Point to visit family, but after two days of strife, he needs a break. A local gay bar is calling his name.

When Chief Noah Jackson sees that red head stroll into the club, he immediately wants him. They’re perfectly matched, and before long, they’re burning up the sheets. Noah can’t get enough. Anthony can’t stay in Oregon for long, but as soon as he leaves, he’s counting down the days until he can fly back for more. And between his increasingly frequent visits, there’s always phone sex, sexting, webcams . . . anything they can get.

But Noah’s got a carefully crafted façade, and Anthony can’t help noticing the slowly forming cracks. The scent of alcohol in the middle of the day. The extra drinks at dinner. The hint of red in his eyes. Anthony knows what it means. He doesn’t want to believe it, but he’s seen this before, and there’s no denying it. If Noah doesn’t get his downward spiral under control, he’s going to lose both his career and the first man he’s ever really loved.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-18 11:18 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Pictures of you ('90s Coming of Age series #1) Leta Blake


1) This is the best book I have read in any coming of age genre.  I could feel and believe that I was Peter in the story.  His love/hate relationship with Adam and all the secrecy needed to hide the fact that they were gay in a time when this wasn't allowed, tore him apart.  I can't wait to read the rest of the 4 book series so I can see what happens to Peter.

Pictures of you ('90s Coming of Age series #1) Leta Blake
Bisexual - Young Adult
Series: '90s Coming of Age
Paperback: 356 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (September 17, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1537740040
ISBN-13: 978-1537740041
Amazon: Pictures of you ('90s Coming of Age series #1) Leta Blake

Growing up gay isn't easy. Growing up gay in Knoxville, Tennessee is even harder.

Eighteen-year-old Peter Mandel, a private school senior--class of 1990--is passionate about photography. Peter doesn't have many friends, preferring to shoot pictures from behind the scenes to keep his homosexuality secret.

Enter Adam Algedi, a charming, worldly new guy who doesn't do labels, but does want to do Peter. Hardly able to believe gorgeous Adam would want geeky, skinny him of all people, Peter's swept away on a journey of first love and sexual discovery.

But as their mutual web of lies spins tighter and tighter, can Peter find the confidence he needs to make the right choices? And will his crush on Daniel, a college acquaintance, open a new path?

Join Peter in the first of this four-part coming of age series as he struggles to love and be loved, and grow into a gay man worthy of his own respect.

This new series by Leta Blake is gay fiction with romantic elements.

Book 1 of 4.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-18 11:16 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Every Breath You Take Robert Winter


1)Thrilling from the first page. The story develops at a swift pace, from the first blush of attraction, and more than a hint of danger, through the deepening of emotion as the stakes rise. I loved all the characters. The secondaries were more than stand-ins. They all had something interesting going on and a reason to be on the page. The heroes take center stage, though. Realistic and sympathetic, in all their moods. I really wanted a happy ever after for these guys--and for both of them to live to see the end of the book.
2) A beautifully written story with so much to recommend it. The setting of Washington, DC is realistic, and the plot has some wonderful surprises and interesting secondary threads. While the romantic leads follow familiar arcs they are well-drawn and always believably in character. The psychological portrait of the stalker is deep, complex and truly frightening. The writing is intelligent, clear, and elegantly paced -- so well-suited to the story.   

Every Breath You Take Robert Winter
Gay - Romantic Suspence
Series: Pride and Joy (Book 2)
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (May 5, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1635334950
ISBN-13: 978-1635334951
Amazon: Every Breath You Take Robert Winter

A Pride and Joy novel

When Zachary Hall leaves Utah for a job in Washington, it’s finally his chance to live as a gay man and maybe find someone special. In a bar he meets Thomas Scarborough, a man who seems perfect in and out of the bedroom. But Thomas never dates. He never even sleeps with the same man twice. Despite their instant connection, he can offer Zachary only his friendship, and Zachary is looking for more.

Thomas is tempted to break his own rules, but years before, he became the victim of a stalker who nearly destroyed his life. Even though his stalker died, Thomas obsessively keeps others at a distance. Despite his fascination with Zachary, he is unable to lower his barriers. Frustrated, Zachary accepts he will never have what he wants with Thomas and soon finds it with another man.

But young gay men in Washington, DC are being murdered, and the victims all have a connection to Thomas. Once again someone is watching Thomas’s every move. Can it be a coincidence? When the depraved killer turns his attention toward Zachary, Thomas must face the demons of his past—or lose his chance to open his heart to Zachary forever.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-18 11:13 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?


1) "Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?" consists of essays describing different meanings of equality. Sometimes it's about LGBTQ rights, sometimes it's about understanding people and their various problems. This collection showed me that I still have a lot to do, because even though I fight about equal rights for everyone, there are still issues that I do not think about. There was just one thing missing - I would like to read what equality means to people from the "right side". Still, this book is definitely worth reading.
2) 25 gifted writers give their views on equality.  Always insightful, these personal and often intimate observations give food for thought and some surprises along the way. The struggle for equality goes on despite the steps forward that have been made over the decades. A timely addition to the many essays on this subject. Highly recommended.

Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? Paul Alan Fahey
LGBT - Non Fiction
Paperback
Publisher: Vine Leaves Press (January 15, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1925417263
ISBN-13: 978-1925417265
Amazon: Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? Paul Alan Fahey

In the tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King's Stride Toward Freedom and Malala Yousafzai's, I Am Malala, Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? presents thought-provoking and compelling personal essays that probe a concept professed to be the very foundation of our democracy--a concept that may even be more vital today than in the past. From international bestselling author, Anne Perry who asserts we must look within ourselves to our emotions, experiences, and beliefs before we attempt an honest and truthful answer, to Dennis Palumbo, psychotherapist and author, who claims diagnostic labels used in treating mental illness often stigmatize and dehumanize the patient causing clinicians to view their patients in terms of their diagnosis rather than people, and Barbara Abercrombie, writer and distinguished university professor, who explores ageism as yet another form of stereotyping and discrimination in the language we use to describe older adults. These award-winning and best-selling writers, and twenty-two more, tackle equality across multiple spectrums--racial, social, political, religious, marital, gender--and run with it in surprising directions.
reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
2017-06-15 10:29 am

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: A Certain Persuasion: Modern LGBTQ+ fiction inspired


1) First of all, I need to say "Whew! What a long book!" But I couldn't put it down. The premise is charming, telling LGBT stories set in the early 1800's in the style of Jane Austen. Almost every story was captivating, though I will say I was less impressed with the few in the middle of the book which were set in modern times. The stories at the beginning of the anthology and again at the end, all set circa 1810, were more rewarding. That said, I was a bit put off by the sex scenes in several of the stories, something Jane Austen would never have done. Austen's stories are all about emotional love and societal concerns, not overt physicality. At least, that's how I remember the books from my college days. So the sex scenes felt like a misstep. Perhaps that isn't a fair assessment, given that the current anthology wasn't written for readers in 1810 but today. Still, the few period pieces without sex scenes felt more authentic to me. While I enjoyed almost all of the stories, I think my favorite was by editor Julie Bozza. Most of the other stories were relatively straightforward romances, but Bozza's contained the convoluted conflicts of Austen's works and seemed to me the most successful of all the stories. The book was well-edited and proofed, always welcome features. I highly recommend the book to any Jane Austen fans, and really, to Dear Readers in general.

A Certain Persuasion: Modern LGBTQ+ fiction inspired by Jane Austen's novels Julie Bozza
LGBT - Anthology / Collection / Historical
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Manifold Press (October 17, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1908312750
ISBN-13: 978-1908312754
Amazon: A Certain Persuasion: Modern LGBTQ+ fiction inspired by Jane Austen's novels Julie Bozza

Thirteen stories from eleven authors, exploring the world of Jane Austen and celebrating her influence on ours. Being cousins-by-marriage doesn't deter William Elliot from pursuing Richard Musgrove in Lyme; nor does it prevent Elinor Dashwood falling in love with Ada Ferrars. Surprises are in store for Emma Woodhouse while visiting Harriet Smith; for William Price mentoring a seaman on board the Thrush; and for Adam Otelian befriending his children's governess, Miss Hay. Margaret Dashwood seeks an alternative to the happy marriages chosen by her sisters; and Susan Price ponders just such a possibility with Mrs Lynd. One Fitzwilliam Darcy is plagued by constant reports of convictions for 'unnatural' crimes; while another must work out how to secure the Pemberley inheritance for her family. Meanwhile, a modern-day Darcy meets the enigmatic Lint on the edge of Pemberley Cliff; while another struggles to live up to wearing Colin Firth's breeches on a celebrity dance show. Cooper is confronted by his lost love at a book club meeting in Melbourne while reading Persuasion; and Ashley finds more than he'd bargained for at the Jane Austen museum in Bath. A Pemberley-sized anthology...