Pride Month Bingo Blackout!

Jun. 23rd, 2017 11:58 pm
bairnsidhe: (Default)
[personal profile] bairnsidhe posting in [community profile] allbingo
 I'm super happy to announce I filled my entire bingo card for the Pride fest!  I've posted some of the stuff from that already, but the rest is going into crowd-funding for online and pay-per for printed zines.  Come check out some of my stuff, I'd love to get some more comments on things.
[syndicated profile] alpennia_feed

Posted by Heather Rose Jones

Friday, June 23, 2017 - 21:25

It's been a lot of fun doing a themed set of blogs and podcasts this month focusing on Sappho. The new episode is out, talking about the transmissiong of Sappho's body of work down the centuries, with examples of translations and works inspired by her poetry. I'm looking for other topics where I can coordinate publications and podcasts. And look for some changes coming to the LHMPodcast in August, with an expanded schedule and new types of content. Just as a hint: one of the new features will be interviews with authors of historically-based fiction featuring queer female characters. If there's an author you'd like to see us feature, let me know. (I can't promise anything specific, since I'm looking to create a balance of topics and representations, but I'm definitely looking for ideas.)

 

Major category: 

Feast of the Elfs

Jun. 23rd, 2017 11:49 pm
marycatelli: (Golden Hair)
[personal profile] marycatelli posting in [community profile] book_love
Feast of the Elfs by John C. Wright

Second book in the Green Knight's Squire trilogy. Serious spoilers ahead.
Read more... )
[syndicated profile] scalziwhatever_feed

Posted by John Scalzi

Gotta be honest, I had entirely forgotten I’d done this interview last year when I was in Iowa City for a book festival. But eventually it all came back to me. Also, it’s a pretty good interview. Enjoy.


Above

Jun. 23rd, 2017 11:45 pm
musyc: Silver flute resting diagonally across sheet music (Default)
[personal profile] musyc posting in [community profile] 100words
Title: Above
Fandom: The Martian
Rating: T
Notes: N/a

He's going to go into the rover. Eat his potato. Make a new log. Check the equipment, watch a little damned seventies television, burrow down into his nest.

Later.

Now, he's going to sit here. He's going to stare up at the stars. So different without all that pesky atmosphere getting in the way.

He's going to sit right here and imagine that in a small piece of sky, the stars are blotted out. Empty, a shadow in space where Hermes is accelerating back to him.

He closes his eyes, picturing all their smiles. Even without the sun, he's warm.

Awwwwwww and simultaneously oh dear

Jun. 23rd, 2017 10:38 pm
musyc: Text only: Oh, dear, I really ought to do something, but I am already in my pajamas (Text: Already in my jammies)
[personal profile] musyc
A few minutes ago, I heard a delicate little tap-tap-tapping at the sliding glass door. All the cats are in, so I figured it was a bug hitting the glass. I looked over.

What popped into view? The teensiest, weensiest little furry black head. With the teensiest, weensiest little white stripe.

Yep. That's a baby skunk.

ADORABLE. Absolutely frickin' adorable wee thing.

But noooooooooooo, no matter how cute, not coming indoors. Nope, nope. Especially since I know Mama Skunk is probably no more than a few feet away.

still present

Jun. 23rd, 2017 07:28 pm
alatefeline: Painting of a cat asleep on a book. (Default)
[personal profile] alatefeline
Still present. Staying with things. Uncle slept all day, is declining, no longer able to drink liquids. Aunt got out of the house for a few hours while we (Dad and I) were there. Cousin age 5 is a handful and a delight. We fought many monsters, took the dog for a walk, and ate gorilla food (gorilla munch brand corn pop cereal, yogurt, sliced fruit). At lodge to rest now. I am sad and not okay, but I am okay with not being okay, and I am here.

Fireflies!

Jun. 23rd, 2017 09:05 pm
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
 Tonight is moist and mild.  There are fireflies everywhere!  :D  Also some fireworks to the west of us.

(no subject)

Jun. 23rd, 2017 06:08 pm
iprotectyou: An animated gif of Baze smiling (smile)
[personal profile] iprotectyou posting in [community profile] ways_back_room
Despite Baze's initial protests, he and Chirrut have erected a sign warning bar patrons in several languages that the sun burns. The sign is located on the border between the lake and the beach.

The languages are as follows, courtesy of Google Translate Bar's help:
Aurebesh (Galactic Basic): Beware of burning from the merciless sun
English: Beware the burn of merciless sun
French: Méfiez-vous de brûler du soleil impitoyable (Beware of burning the ruthless sun)
Russian: Остерегайтесь ожогов от беспощадного солнца (Beware of burns from the merciless sun)
Japanese: 無慈悲な太陽から燃えることに注意してください (Please be aware that it burns from a ruthless sun)
German: Hütet euch vor dem Brennen von der gnadenlosen Sonne (Beware of burning from the merciless sun)

(no subject)

Jun. 23rd, 2017 08:51 pm
halley: (Default)
[personal profile] halley posting in [community profile] lj_refugees

I hope it's alright for me to post this here.

Recovery continues...

Jun. 23rd, 2017 08:27 pm
archangelbeth: An anthropomorphic feline face, with feathered wing ears, and glasses, in shades of gray. (Default)
[personal profile] archangelbeth
And I got like over 8 hours of sleep FINALLY at a pretty solid stretch oh lovely lovely lovely. I could still sleep a lot more, but.

My sore throat is just about gone. As I said in a comment: Apparently my immune system said, "Hey! Waddaminute! WE KNOW YOU! YOU'RE SOME VIRUS WEARING GROCHO GLASSES!" and dogpiled it after all. Whew.

Kid was very, very frail and blah this morning, but we got food into us and ice tea into me (the good stuff!) and then went driving to a different place for to-go dessert. ("I wanted to go to [X] because I wanted dessert," said kid. I looked at my watch and said, "Well, they won't be busy now. We could go there for dessert." And they said, "Oh, right, that's an option." So we did.)

Tonight is STO night and I shall cut this short because STO.

A link of potential interest. Heh. http://www.issendai.com/psychology/estrangement/

Havva Quote
Notice that, for instance, nothing is really recommended for a weakling. One would think it most important that one whose magic is weak have a wand capable of picking up the faintest of impulses to amplify.
--http://marycatelli.dreamwidth.org/866049.html


INwatch+Bookwatch )

Dragons under fold )
winkychan: (Default)
[personal profile] winkychan posting in [community profile] arashi_off
It's with great sadness that I bring you this sub.

Former News Zero caster Kobayashi Mao-san has passed away on June 23, at the age of 34, after a long battle with cancer.
Thus today, we've got many comments from ZERO family, that includes Sho-san's comment.

Minna no news (2017.06.23) - Sho-san & Murao-san's comments on Kabayashi Mao-san's death [AET+winkychan].mp4_snapshot_00.08_[2017.06.23_19.05.53].jpg

Just to warn you, this is not easy to watch.

What you'll find here at my journal: today's News Zero subbed with the comments of every casters, today's News Zero in full and raw, and Sho-san's comment on Minna no news subbed.
sunlit_stone: Finch and Reese on a bench (Default)
[personal profile] sunlit_stone posting in [community profile] 100words
Title: v.: to follow and observe someone, closely and typically secretly
Fandom: Person of Interest
Rating: T (again I am being cautious)
Notes: Set after the end of the show.

It wasn't that she hadn't noticed. It was just—

"Come on," said Shaw, then sighed and grabbed Shu into the alleyway he'd just tried to walk past.

"Listen, kid," she told him. "There are people trying to kill you. That means you stick with me. That means pay attention. Come on."

"I'm sorry," he got out. "I—it's just—"

"What is it?" she demanded.

"Someone's following us!" he said. "That camera moved!"

"You—" saw that was not a good way to finish that sentence. There was no good way.

She swallowed instead. "It's just an old friend. Come on."

Recent Reading

Jun. 23rd, 2017 06:04 pm
ann_leckie: (AJ)
[personal profile] ann_leckie

Some things I’ve read recently!

The Last Good Man by Linda Nagata

If you didn’t read Nagata’s The Red Trilogy, well, you might want to consider doing so. But whether you have or you haven’t–The Last Good Man is near-future military sf. It’s tense and compelling, and features a middle-aged woman protagonist, an ex-Army pilot who now works for a private military company. During a rescue mission she discovers something that casts a new and disturbing light on an event that she’d thought, well, not safely in the past, but over and done with and accurately understood. But she wants the truth, no matter the cost. If near future and/or military is your jam, don’t miss this.

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

This is volume 1 of the Murderbot Diaries, and I suspect a certain percentage of my readers don’t need to hear anything more. Go, purchase, download! You will enjoy this.

Murderbot is a SecUnit–a security android, part organic part mechanical, that isn’t supposed to have any sort of free will. It does, though, and having achieved that free will it secretly names itself Murderbot and then works hard to hide its freedom of thought from the corporation that owns it. It doesn’t actually want to murder anyone, though. It just wants to be left alone to watch its stories. Unfortunately, someone is trying to kill the humans Murderbot has been tasked to protect.

I’m not kidding, I can almost guarantee that my readers will enjoy this. I have already pre-ordered volume 2, which is out in January.

Barbary Station by R.E. Stearns

So, Lesbian Space Pirates. Out at the end of October. That may be all I need to say.

Or not. Our heroines hijack a colony ship in a bid to join a famous band of space pirates–only to discover the pirates are not, as widely believed, hiding out on Barbary Station rolling in money and loot, but are in fact trapped there by the station’s renegade AI. Why is the AI doing what it’s doing? Is it conscious? Does it matter when it’s trying to kill you?

This book is good fun. Set in the Solar System, lots of action, I really enjoyed this, and I bet you will, too.

Mirrored from Ann Leckie.

[ SECRET POST #3824 ]

Jun. 23rd, 2017 06:58 pm
case: (Default)
[personal profile] case posting in [community profile] fandomsecrets

⌈ Secret Post #3824 ⌋

Warning: Some secrets are NOT worksafe and may contain SPOILERS.

01.


More! )


Notes:

Secrets Left to Post: 00 pages, 00 secrets from Secret Submission Post #547.
Secrets Not Posted: [ 0 - broken links ], [ 0 - not!secrets ], [ 0 - not!fandom ], [ 1 - too big ], [ 0 - repeat ].
Current Secret Submissions Post: here.
Suggestions, comments, and concerns should go here.

Books!

Jun. 23rd, 2017 11:29 pm
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
Is there anything more satisfying than spending the day doing inventory?

... or more frustrating? Read more... )



New shelves!
yhlee: Drop Ships from Race for the Galaxy (RTFG)
[personal profile] yhlee
My first introduction to Cordwainer Smith was "The Game of Rat and Dragon," which I'm guessing (alongside "The Ballad of Lost C'Mell") is his most anthologized story based on nothing more than guesswork and the fact that, for years after that story, it was the only Smith I could find. (Admittedly, this was not helped by spending high school in South Korea. [1])

"The Game of Rat and Dragon" has stuck better in my memory, but at some point in college I was delighted to discover that there were more Instrumentality stories. The one that I remembered, years later, as being particularly interesting was "The Crime and the Glory of Commander Suzdal." Peculiarly, I remembered that it had an unusual narrative structure/format, but not anything useful about its plot. Cue yesterday when I actually reread it, having checked out the posthumous collection When the People Fell from the library, and being bemused to discover that this story was almost certainly, before I ever heard of fanfic on the internet, my introduction to mpreg.

A spoilery discussion of the story follows beneath the cut.

[1] My high school library's sf/f holdings were very eclectic. They had a couple decades' worth of Analog under Stanley Schmidt. I read every page of every issue available, and remain fond of the zine although I have not read it in over a decade. They also had old classics like John Wyndham's Re-Birth, amusing curiosities like a litcrit book on the best fantasy novels by Michael Moorcock (possibly with a co-author; I no longer remember) in which he immodestly listed his own Stormbringer, a number of old Nebula anthologies, and a copy of Harlan Ellison's (ed.) Dangerous Visions that I read two or three or four times before someone else stole it or, more charitably, checked it out and lost it. (Years later, I still think Philip José Farmer's "Riders of the Purple Wage" was insufferably boring, and Delany's "Aye, and Gomorrah" makes zero sense when you are barely aware of what sex is.) They had Mercedes Lackey's Valdemar books, which is where I encountered them. On the other hand, the librarians were very friendly, and for a number of years, because my sister and I were the only ones who made use of the request box, we pretty much got them to buy whatever we wanted to read for the year.

Read more... )
romantical: (Default)
[personal profile] romantical
All the Way Back Where I Come From
Leverage
Eliot Spencer/Parker, Eliot Spencer/Alec Hardison, Eliot Spencer/Alec Hardison/Parker, team Leverage, Eliot Spencer/Damien Moreau, Eliot Spencer/OFC

*

Soul bonds happen. Most of the time, in the vastness of the world, it doesn't amount to anything. Sometimes it does. Sometimes you meet your soul mate.

Sometimes you meet both of them.

At the same time.

On AO3

Briefly.

Jun. 23rd, 2017 02:19 pm
gorgeousnerd: #GN written in the red font from my layout on a black background. (Default)
[personal profile] gorgeousnerd
1. I don't want to talk about politics right now, but it's one of my biggest priorities, so. Politics. )

2. Things have not been great lately. I can't talk about it without doing warning for a bunch of different things, so I'll just say I'm fine but things around me have not been great, and I'm kind of done with it. Sigh.

3. On a happier note, Nibling seems convinced that ghosts come out at 3 am and has convinced Sister to stay awake with him so he can see. I have also signed onto this adventure, and I'm psyched.

(no subject)

Jun. 23rd, 2017 02:47 pm
bjornwilde: (Default)
[personal profile] bjornwilde
Since I have no thread brain and work isn't allowing play anyway, my impulsive self is looking at other pups to play at some point, likely sandboxes cause of bandwidth issues.

America Chavez, because damn you Marvel. You suck, but sometimes you do things right. Plus, she'd be a lot of fun.

Jack Wolcott, from Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series. Thinking of came_tumbling_after as a user name and I have a bunch of icons cribbed from classic b&w horror films with mad scientists for use.

Ehren ex Cursori, from Jim Butcher's Codex Alera. Scholarly spy with a fondness for knives who seems pretty unfazed with life and odd things. About the only way he could be more my jam is if he were a shape shifter or teleporter. Only name I sort of have is study_of_cursors, but I'm not committed to it. I want to read more of the books first before doing anything farther. PBs are either Ben Whishaw or Mika., Ben Whishaw in Perfume: A Story of Murder would work really well.

check in day 23

Jun. 23rd, 2017 10:02 pm
lilly_c: (Default)
[personal profile] lilly_c posting in [community profile] writethisfanfic
How is the writing going today? What about yesterday?

Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: All, participants: 1


Today I

View Answers

wrote
0 (0.0%)

edited
0 (0.0%)

posted
0 (0.0%)

sent to beta
0 (0.0%)

researched
0 (0.0%)

planned
1 (100.0%)

had a cheeky break
0 (0.0%)

dealt with life
0 (0.0%)



Discussion: what are you working on this weekend?

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

June 2017

S M T W T F S
     1 23
4 5 6 7 8910
11 12 1314 151617
1819 2021 22 2324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jun. 24th, 2017 05:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios