a dragon in a former life

Feb. 19th, 2019 03:01 pm
chase_acow: made for me fandom stocking2013 (farscape drd)
[personal profile] chase_acow
Don't get me wrong, I love to wallow in weeks old sheets and bedding* because it's glorious. The bottom sheet has moved to exactly where I want it from all my nightly flopping. The top layers are interspersed so the comforter curls over my chest, but the fuzzy blanket is higher and can flop over my face when the three am air gets too cold to breathe. Everything smells like me and it's soft and I know it's mine.

But.

Sometimes, I wash all the bedding, change up all the colors so that I'm sleeping on copper and the midnight blue top sheet lays on it like sky and earth. Everything smells fresh and lines up on the bottom so that making the bed isn't an exercise in severe frustration. Though this time the puppy helped and wow, I thought the cats were bad. Then I took a shower and even though I knew it was supposed to snow and be cold, I shaved the long winter's growth** on my legs, and let me tell you, last night's sleep was fantastic.


*always change the pillowcase though, your face will thank you
**i'm talking werewolf proportions here

(no subject)

Feb. 19th, 2019 12:27 pm
semyaza: (Pigling Bland)
[personal profile] semyaza
Write with trees.

"Katie Holten has created a New York City Tree Alphabet.

Each letter of the Latin alphabet is assigned a drawing of a tree from the NYC Parks Department’s existing native and non-native trees, as well as species that are to be planted as a result of the changing climate. For example, A = Ash.

Everyone is invited to download the free font, NYC Trees, and to write words, poems, messages, or love letters, in Trees. We’ll select some of these messages to plant with real trees around the city
hollymath: Selfie: white person, three-quarter profile, smiling, brown hair shaved on the side we can see, chin-length on the other (Default)
[personal profile] hollymath
So this morning, awake too early (thanks for all the barking, Gary) and lying in bed pretending I'd fall back asleep, I saw a toot (yes that's what they're called on Mastodon):
everyone: herbs and spices
america: 'erbs and spices
???: herbs and 'ices

the search for the missing nation
I tried to let it go, to appreciate the shitpost for what it was, or even just to ponder how interesting it is that both consonants at the beginning of spices are understood to be part of the syllable onset even to people who don't use words like "onset" for that (I've been doing lots of phonology reading today; it probably shows).

But I couldn't. I just coulnd't get over how annoyed I was at one little thing.

I started a screed.

I know this is just a joke but I also just have to say that it's not only America who says "erbs"; the word was originally erb and didn't have an h at all.

Overcorrecting pedants added the h in the 1400s to make the English word look like the Latin word it derived from, but the h was silent for everyone until it changed in Britain in the 1800s (thus, after American English had diverged from British English) as the result of more pedantry (thanks to [personal profile] silveradept, I'd also just read this morning about how many grammar rules are bullshit). And they're a specific, infuriating (to me) kind of bullshit, which I'll get to in a minute.

But before that, I thought of Eddie Izzard's line from Dress to Kill where he says to an American audience "you say 'erbs' and we say 'herbs.' Because there's a fucking h in it."

And the audience laughed because Americans have what Lynne Murphy calls American Verbal Inferiority Complex (a fact that suits the British superiority complex just fine!).

But I'm like, no! I will not accept this from a country where they have to say an historian because they don't say that h at all! (Yes I know not ever Brit says this, but not every American drops the h in herbs either, so this is where generalization gets you.)

The more I think about this, the more it bugs me that a few random posh white dudes (a very few! specific people with names we know!) came up with all these stupid rules. To quote from the link above: some of these "grammar rules that were entirely dreamt up in an age of moral prescriptivism, reflecting nothing of historical or literary usage, to encourage the poor English language to be more like an entirely different (and entirely dead) language, namely Latin?"

The random posh white dudes decreed that English should be more like Latin because they'd been taught that Latin was "pure" and thus superior to English. And they got their own way. (Maybe all of English has an inferiority complex when it comes to things like Latin.)

This educational snobbery and classism went a long way to making English the inconsistent, baffling mess it is now. (It wouldn't have been in a fantastic state anyway, with the influx of French and Latin and then the Great Vowel Shift ensuring nothing was spelled like it sounded any more. But still, this

It didn't have to be this way. Around the same time as these Latin-lovers, there was a movement for another kind of "purity," to go back to the Germanic roots of the English language, as a backlash against the huge numbers of French and Latin words that'd entered the language in the Middle English period (up until 1500-ish). Wikipedia says "Some tried either to resurrect older English words, such as gleeman for musician, inwit for conscience, and yblent for confused, or to make new words from Germanic roots, e.g. endsay for conclusion, yeartide for anniversary, foresayer for prophet."

To read something like "Uncleftish Beholdings," which is an explanation of atomic theory written in Germanic words, feels very odd. The Germanic words English has retained are mostly very "ordinary," everyday things, whereas our scientific vocabulary is especially full of Latin and Greek, so we're not used to what feel like "base" words being used to express technical or intellectual concepts.

I wrote all this (more or less, and without most of the links, though I included the Uncleftish Beholdings one because if you mention Germanic reconstructions for English, someone is bound to bring it up (and indeed someone did, who hadn't seen it mentioned just above the toot he was replying to)) before I went to work. I did work, I came home, had lunch, got ready to go to uni...and just before I left, I saw a screenshot of a startingly relevant tweet, from @paulcoxon: "Hello my name is Paul, I have a PhD in physics and thanks to a random brain freeze forgot the word for photon so had to call it a 'shiny crumb' in front of my colleagues."

Yes, you can have a physics Ph.D. and still forget a basic word like "photon." And when you do, what comes to your mind might be a Germanic construction like shiny crumb. (I knew "shine" came from Old English because I remembered seeing the verb; and I looked up "crumb" too which also comes from an OE word). I absolutely love "shiny crumb" and I wish to nominate it for the new Germanic alternative for our scientific vocabulary.

So yeah. I am so ill-suited to shitposts that I couldn't leave one alone. I had to take "herbs" and run with it until I ended up at shiny crumbs... via inkhorn terms, Anglish, snobbery and inferiority complexes. I hope you enjoyed the journey.

Or, as since journey's a nasty foreign word, maybe trip.
china_shop: Close-up of Zhao Yunlan grinning (Default)
[personal profile] china_shop
Reading
Still scattershot all over the place, but at least I haven't started anything new (except for some terrific short fanfic).

Really enjoying Foxglove Summer (Rivers of London) in audiobook (and also the experience of listening to audiobooks in the evenings, sometimes, instead of watching tv).

Kdramas
Hwayugi is so good, and so much fun, and I keep imagining the Hong sisters cackling with glee as they came up with various plot elements and twists. We're halfway through. And Pru and I are heading into the final act of While You Were Sleeping. Han Woooo Taaaak!!

I'm half-heartedly continuing with My Girlfriend Is a Nine-Tailed Fox, but I'd forgotten how in the first few episodes Dae-woong (the guy) is pretending to be friends with Mi-ho (the gumiho) so he can find out her weaknesses and try to ditch her, because you know, she's a scary supernatural hanger-on. While it makes perfect sense, it's painful to watch. I want them on the same side! So I'm not making very fast progress through these episodes.

Guardian/Fandom
I've been meta-ing like a machine, and now it's time to get my fic-writing momentum back. [community profile] sid_guardian has 84 members (will we make it to 100?!). I've discovered I like a subset of Guardian h/c fic and am questioning my worldview accordingly. ;-P

Other TV
We finished Russian Doll and it was as good as everyone's been saying. Spoilery detail. ) And I was particularly impressed with how satisfying the ending was.

Also watched the first episode of Sex Education, which is a Welsh high school show, also on Netflix, about a teenager whose mother (Gillian Anderson) is a sex therapist, which circumstance has messed him up so much he can't masturbate, but he still somehow ends up the unofficial school sex counsellor. We had to turn on subtitles (not the accents so much as the sound mix, I think?), but it was totally worth it. Will be watching more. (Warning for bullying and terrible parenting.)

And thanks to a rec from [profile] lily_the_kid, last night I watched the first episode of Weird City (a Youtube original), which is a wacky futuristic anthology thing. Episode 1 featured Dylan O'Brien (Stiles!) and Ed O'Neill meeting and falling in love, and it was completely unexpectedly adorable! A+ Would recommend! (Also came as a pleasant antidote to the Kdrama tendency to conflate "I love you" with "I think you're pretty," which, ugh.)

Also, B99; Crazy Ex-Girlfriend; Star Trek Disco, which spoilers. )

Films
None, but Alita: Battle Angel and The Wandering Earth are both currently screening and on my to-see list. (We're expecting a tropical-but-cold hurricane this weekend, so it might be a good time to hide in a theatre.)

Writing/making things
Finished and posted my super-angsty super-spoilery flashfic and started another one (which I may put on hold in favour of something shorter and less difficult and maybe gen? there are so many Guardian characters I haven't tried writing yet!). Would really like to get momentum back on WIP #2 so I can finish it sometime this decade. Arms have been bad, so typing capacity is limited. Grr argh.

Korean study
My Korean class has been cancelled due to lack of interest (cue guilt), and I still haven't signed up for TOPIK. /o\ /o\ /o\

Life/mental state things
Starting to get self-conscious about how hypomanic I've been for the last few months, and whether this is really annoying to other people, and whether it's my new normal, and that kind of of rigmarole. (I often don't notice how manic I am until I realise that I'm talking/typing at twice my usual rate (which I'm sure is contributing to the sore arms).)

The inside of my nose is really dry. I have an exciting new sore throat (but only on one side) -- where did this come from? And I've now meditated two days in a row, and my guts are already improving so, you know, big honking note to self.

Executive function continues to not be a thing of which I am doing any. (Argh, I Need To Call A Plumber There Is A Leak (But It's Tiny and Outside, So It Doesn't Feel Pressing).) I have 22 open Dreamwidth tabs, the oldest of which dates back to 19 December, and "unread" email to deal with that dates back to 28 November. At some point the wheels are going to fall off (if they aren't already).

Having been mostly avoiding international news, I watched ten minutes of Seth Meyers last night and couldn't deal. Oh, America. *weeps for you*

Good things
Bright orange sheets (like, the colour of orange safety vests). Fanfic. Swimming. Meditating, apparently. Friends. Chocolate.

Poll #21413 Wednesday poll
Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: All, participants: 16


What is "fixit fic"?

View Answers

It rewrites undesirable bits of canon (AU - canon divergent, by definition)
4 (25.0%)

It fixes or resolves an undesirable situation created by canon (canon compliant)
1 (6.2%)

It can be used in either sense
11 (68.8%)

Other (please explain in comments)
0 (0.0%)

Some boxes

View Answers

cat in a cardboard box
7 (50.0%)

box of fluffy ducks
1 (7.1%)

box of sparkles
4 (28.6%)

box of chocolates
8 (57.1%)

box of delicious angst
5 (35.7%)

box of rainbows and unicorns
2 (14.3%)

ticky-box
8 (57.1%)

Stargate Atlantis : Fic : Work to Do

Feb. 19th, 2019 02:18 pm
goddess47: Emu! (Default)
[personal profile] goddess47 posting in [community profile] fan_flashworks
Title: Work to Do
Author: [personal profile] goddess47
Rating: G
Warnings/Spoilers: None
Pairing: John Sheppard/Rodney McKay
Words: 300
Summary: It wasn't the best place to work, but if he looked busy, maybe he'd get left alone. Maybe.


Note: For [community profile] fan_flashworks prompt: Note

Also for Bingo square "office"


Work to Do )
havocthecat: the lady of shalott (Default)
[personal profile] havocthecat
Capricon was delightful while keeping me offline either for the con itself or while prepping at work to be off for three days for the con, and while there, I've pinpointed two potential new authors and a couple of writing possibilities.

Though I did not spend $18 on the paperback of the most interesting possible story, because a) the Kindle edition is $4 and also I'm not buying an $18 paperback without knowing what the quality is.

More details on the first book, which I'm not naming in a public critique )

The con itself was fun. I played in an amazing run of Fiasco and now I have pointers for when we make an attempt at it with J&K, because K tends to want to go off on lots of worldbuilding tangents - like set a timer! Mark the halfway point verbally! Also I got to play a great run of Paranoia with a wonderful group.

I also played enough games to get entered in the drawing, and won Pandemic: Rise of Cthulhu, so that's awesome, though I missed the Business of Writing panel because I was playing a game with Mr. Havoc and the kidlet and had fun with it. So. Oh well.

I did go to a good panel on editing and I have a LOT of possible books to look at, plus a weekly online flash fiction to get involved in that also encourages feedback related to the fiction.

The one annoying thing - totally unrelated to the con - is that I can no longer pay my water bill online at work.
redrikki: Orange cat, year of the cat (Default)
[personal profile] redrikki posting in [community profile] halfamoon
Title: Comic Book Life
Author: [archiveofourown.org profile] redrikki 
Fandom: Black Lightning (TV)
Pairing: Anissa Pierce/Grace Choi
Rating: PG
Length: 640
Summary: Comic book Thunder's boyfriend knew what his woman did, so why couldn't Anissa tell her girlfriend?

Things that are helping

Feb. 19th, 2019 10:18 am
alatefeline: Painting of a cat asleep on a book. (Default)
[personal profile] alatefeline
(food, material possessions, school job, health care, the privilege of having these) Read more... )
spikedluv: created by reeby10 (misc: book bingo by reeby10)
[personal profile] spikedluv
I loved this book! I read it pretty quickly because it was interesting and I really didn’t want to put it down. The funny thing for me is that I thought the title was symbolic or metaphorical or something, and instead it was literal. *g* spoilers )

I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the next; I’m giving it five hearts.

♥♥♥♥♥

(This book counts towards the ‘A book that is part of a series (4+ books):’ square on my 2019 LJ Book Bingo card.)

Thanks for Celebrating IFD 2019!

Feb. 19th, 2019 12:35 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_news_feed

International Fanworks Day

International Fanworks Day 2019 has come to an end. We are absolutely thrilled with the response and celebrations we have witnessed on this fifth anniversary of IFD! Here’s a look at how it all went down:

Fanlore sent out their second annual week-long editing challenge. If you missed it, don't worry--the folks over at Fanlore can always use more hands from those fans who wish to add to the collective pool of knowledge in the fandom wiki.

The OTW’s call for submissions to the topic "What Fanworks Mean to Me" produced some very heartening responses. Check out the What Fanworks Mean to Me post to see more, and keep the ball rolling by mentioning #WhatFanworksMeanToMe on social media.

IFDrabble was a success! There are over 100 submissions under the International Fanworks Day 2019 tag on AO3. If you’re looking for some quick and hilarious fanworks, then go check out how different fans have interpreted the prompt "characters and/or celebrities discover new fandoms."

A huge thank you to everyone who has commented and posted recommendations as a part of Feedback Fest. As of the time of this writing, there are over 300 comments recommending and discussing people's favourite fanworks. If you haven’t done so yet, go visit the comments on the Feedback Fest post for recommendations to your favourite fandoms--and maybe some new ones, too!

The games and fan chat was more popular than ever! We had OTW volunteers moderating for this 29-hour party where fans joined to participate in the games. Below are excerpts from the Lyrics Round Robin and Poetry Round Robin games. Fans brought some incredible enthusiasm and creativity to the table, and shoutout to the guest MiraculousReader for being a powerhouse of ad lib song lyrics and poetry!

Lyrics Round Robin:

To the tune of “Mr. Brightside” by The Killers

Coming out of my page
and I’ve been attacked by fans
gotta write it down
because fans read it all
fic started out with a kiss
how did i get to this?
it was only a ship, only a ship
now I'm falling asleep
at the keyboard again
while the fans rage on
and im taking a nap
now my characters are all dead
and my beta is sick
all ideas in my head
but i cant write it down
Now, the ship has gone angst
now, let it sink

To the tune of “Seven Nation Army” by The White Stripes

It’s keeping me awake
I can’t eat sleep or drink
I gotta read about it
Every single author's got a story to tell
Fandoms from the popular
to the obscure
But I can’t stop thinking about it
no matter how hard I try

It’s the only thing keeping me alive, fanfic sites are my home

I'm gonna switch it off,
or maybe just another line or two
Far from wattpad evermore
Or maybe five fics more
And I’m reading, and I'm reading, and I’m reading
Now my eyes are sore
All the words are gonna fill me up
Kudos and comments evermore

To the tune of “Summer of ‘69” by Bryan Adams

I saw my first real fanvid
It was for a small fandom
Left a comment on it, 'god i love this video!'
I watched until I flooded with tears
It was the summer of 2018

Me and some friends from tumblr
had a fandom and we blogged real hard
One left for Instagram, One left for deviantart
my ship sank, my head-cannon got blasted

Oh when i remember our OTPs
Those ships seemed to last forever
They seemed so strong together
And if i was the writer
The ship would've become canon

To the tune of “My Immortal,” by Evanescence

This ink won't seem to flow
this block is just too real
there's so much backspace cannot erase

when I cried, the keyboard collected all my tears
characters scream and fight through all their fears
and I wrote this fic through all of these years
author still has all of me

Poetry Round Robin:

Haiku
Winged fire creature,
That is burning down Laketown,
Cumberbatch, so hot.

Limerick
When a writer and symbiote meet,
The readers are in for a treat,
He'll whip out his tongue,
Keep an eye on your young,
For he might think them so sweet.

Haiku
A boy with no quirk
still wants to be a hero
but already is

Sonnet
When Thanos snapped his finger you were gone.
I did not know what to do without you,
I never got to hear your final song.
I have been in love with you all along.
Tell me how did I end up with this life?
Tell me how to say goodbye to you now,
I had the best time with you in the past.
The sun is now setting and I'm alone,
I'd do anything I could to fix this.
My heart is broken without you here now,
I can't function without you by my side.
Only memories keep our hearts alive,
in this empty world I scream for the lost,
Yet I still hope to see you come morning.

Limerick
A paladin whose name was Keith
had kept his sword in a sheath
His lion was red
he fought till he bled
then knocked out all of his teeth

Ghazal
A three-patch problem arrives at his door,
Uninviting, painted black, an old wooden door.
Difficulties posing as opportunities knock on the door,
Hiding his genius the quaint little door.
Sherlock smiles, the game's afoot,
Prowling mysteries afoot.
the culprit is found at home,
red stained hands at home,
Mrs. Hudson beckons home
two chairs and hot tea at home

Historium Round Up #1

Feb. 19th, 2019 05:33 pm
thisbluespirit: (history)
[personal profile] thisbluespirit posting in [community profile] historium
A newsletter was one of the suggestions made and while any sort of comprehensive attempt at that for such a wide subject as "history fandom" is certainly beyond me, I will attempt some occasional round-ups. This one, for obvious reasons, is far longer than others are likely to be! (At the moment I'm planning on every 2-4 weeks for frequency, depending.)


New communities (new/newly imported):
Historical
[community profile] call_the_midwife_fans
[community profile] poldarks
[community profile] sherlockkinkmeme

Creative/Multifandom etc.
(Please check individual comms for rules on RPF & Hist RPF)
[community profile] semidrabbles (50 words), [community profile] sesquidrabbles (150 words), [community profile] doubledrabbles (200 words) & [community profile] tripledrabbles (300 words) - writing prompts for specific length fic.
[community profile] vid_bingo
[community profile] fluffbingo
[community profile] 100fandoms (100 prompt table to use to write fic in 100 different fandoms) & over at [community profile] icontalking, [personal profile] tinny is running an icon version.

For more, follow [site community profile] dw_community_promo, [community profile] fandom_on_dw, [community profile] ipromo and [community profile] icontalking & don't forget our Masterlist of Communities.




Multifandom Fests & Events
(Please check individual comms for rules on RPF & Hist RPF)

Open Collections:
* Chocolate Box Exchange Collection ([community profile] chocolateboxcomm: "a low commitment exchange for both ships and gen combos, to be revealed for Valentines Day.") Fic + Art. See here for Historical RPF works. Fandoms also include Aubrey-Maturin Series, Don Carlos, Greek & Roman Mythology, Rosemary Sutcliff, Hamilton, Hornblower, The Lion in Winter, Jane Austen, The Mummy, Original Works, Pirates of the Caribbean, Shakespeare's Histories, The Queen's Thief & The Terror among many others (522 fandoms).

* Past Imperfect collection ([community profile] past_imperfect: "a fanfiction and fanart exchange for time travel/time loop tropes." 50 fandoms, including Hamilton & Original Works)

*Festivids 2018 Collection ([community profile] festivids: "an annual anonymous vid exchange for rare and obscure fandoms, inspired by yuletide." Fandoms include Foyle's War, Hidden Figures, The Innocents, Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, Much Ado About Nothing & Underground among others. 60 fandoms.)

* Body Talk: a porny comment ficathon @ [personal profile] girljustdied (Link goes to rules post).

* Friends Will Be Friends: a multifandom fic (and art) fest @ [personal profile] ruuger (Link goes to the main post)


Upcoming:
* [community profile] once_upon_fic: "a gift exchange focused on fairy-tales, tall tales, epics, rhymes, fables, myths, and legends!" (Sign-ups open till 20th Feb.)

* [community profile] smutswap: "a smut exchange. Everything created for this exchange must feature sexual content in some way and be rated NC-17/Explicit because of said content." (Sign-ups open till 26th Feb.)

* [community profile] origworkex: "an exchange for creating works featuring original characters created in the spirit of transformative works." (Nominations open till 21st Feb; sign-ups open 23rd Feb-16th March.)

* [community profile] waybackexchange: "gift exchange is focused only on canons that ended more than 10 years ago. That means that for the 2019 round, the only canons eligible will be ones with no new material published or released after December 31, 2009." (Nominations open till 20th Feb, sign-ups 2nd -9th March.)

* [community profile] easycotroopers HBO War Week March 3-9 2019. ("HBO War Week is the first of what we hope to make an annual prompt meme. Each day of one consecutive week is dedicated to a one-word prompt.")

For more, follow [community profile] fandomcalendar and [community profile] fandom_on_dw.




Other Communities
[community profile] mystery_mansion: [personal profile] cimorene reviews the Malkovitch ABC Murders
[community profile] corsets_and_carriages: offers up a welcome & has a new header
[community profile] historicalyafen announces the winner of the 2019 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
[community profile] historicalyafen: [personal profile] gourmandizingcats is looking for discussion on Elizabeth Wein's Young Pilots series
[community profile] vicomte_de_chagny: [personal profile] igenlode on why Love Never Dies is a tragedy
[community profile] all_things_spartacus: [personal profile] fucktheg0ds posts fic and hopes there are still Spartacus fans around
[community profile] sutcliff_space: [personal profile] chantefable links to Rosemary Sutcliff discussion on FFA
[community profile] history links to twitter threads on Victorian builders and grave desecration and Rome and the Ancient World
[community profile] recsrainbow links to two fanfic reccing sites (covering several historical fandoms between them): Fanfic Recommendations by Isabelle Disraeli and espresso Recommendations.




Fanworks
Posted to Historium since the last round-up, inc. recs and announcements + farmed from other general comms (all are open comm-posted announcements). Recs are included within the relevant category.

Art, Icons & Graphics
Non-historium posts taken from [community profile] icons, [community profile] fandom_icons & [community profile] icon_library.
[personal profile] thisbluespirit - 195 Shadow of the Tower icons
[personal profile] magicrubbish - TV Icon dump (inc. 20s Penny Dreadful icons) & 100 Movie Icons (inc. The Mummy)
[personal profile] dickinsons - 11 multifandom icons (inc. Harlots, Becoming Jane, Hidden Figures, Pride & Prejudice) & 16 multifandom icons (inc. Harlots & Pride & Prejudice)
[personal profile] electric_heart - 58 Man from Uncle Icons (Movie)
[personal profile] meganbmoore - 216 The Princess Weiyoung icons
[personal profile] ella_rose88 - 47 Multifandom icons (inc. Outlander, Poldark, The White Princess, The Woman in White, Little Women, Emma & Victoria.)

Fic
[personal profile] betweensunandmoon - Three one-shots (Master of Ballantrae, Man Who Laughs, Othello).
[personal profile] earthspirits - Penny Dreadful series "Demimonde of Shadows."
[personal profile] rathany - Away for the Holidays (Jeeves & Wooster)
[personal profile] earthspirits - Of Wings Shining in Darkness (Penny Dreadful, ch 10-13, WIP.)
[personal profile] earthspirits - Shadows in the Garden (Versailles/Timeless)
[personal profile] fucktheg0ds - Under Attack (Mongolian History RPF)
[personal profile] dr_zook recced Schön und jung und stark by [personal profile] liriaen (Renaissance RPF)
[personal profile] sweetsorcery - Adonais, Besieged (19th C Literary RPF)
[personal profile] thisbluespirit - i love the rose both red and white (The Shadow of the Tower/15th C RPF)
[personal profile] sharpest_asp - Troubled Reign (Ancient History RPF)
[personal profile] thisbluespirit - We'll Burn That Barn When We Come to It (11th C RPF)
[personal profile] sharpest_asp - A Spartan Courtship (The Odyssy)
[personal profile] miss_morland - Nocturne & Suite in Five Movements (Don Carlos & 18th C RPF)
[personal profile] sharpest_asp - Too Quiet (Masters of Rome)
[personal profile] thisbluespirit recced Whose Bitter Tears & A Falcon at Stoke Field by [personal profile] misura & [personal profile] kaffyr (The Shadow of the Tower/15th CRPF)
[personal profile] sharpest_asp - Caesar's Dalliance (Ancient History)
[personal profile] sharpest_asp - Saltpetre (1776)
[personal profile] sea_changed linked to their Yuletide Recs and to lineaments of desire (Society of Gentlemen)
[personal profile] saki101 - Signs and Signals (Sherlock Holmes)
[personal profile] teatimemols Late Night (Band of Brothers)
[personal profile] dreamlittleyo - The Art of the Compromise, I Fall Apart, Thought I Was So Smart, & Something to Prove (Hamilton)
[personal profile] isabellerecs recs Nurturing the Garden & Small Things by cruisedirector (Les Mis)

Some recently canonised historical fandoms on AO3 include: Green Book (2018), The Children of Huang Shi (2008), Any Old Diamonds - K J Charles, Bordertown (TV 1989) 킹덤 | Kingdom (TV 2019), Великая | Velikaya (TV 2015), & 紫色大稻埕 | La Grande Chaumière Violette.




Random Links
19th Century Character Trope Generator




Other historical/historical fandom newsletters:

[community profile] despatches (Age of Sail - see the weekly newsletter there for AoS comms & fandoms related fic, links, discussion etc.)




If you have any useful links or resources to add, we have a general sticky Resources Post. You can add to it by posting your links/info to the community (or by commenting on that post if you prefer).

Disclaimer: As I said, this in no way comprehensive even for history & fandom on Dreamwidth, let alone anywhere else and I am not aware of all fictional historical fandoms by name.

If there is anything you would prefer not to be linked here just let me know. If you want to bring something of interest to [community profile] historium, please post directly to the comm, but if you do want anything specifically included in the round-up or think there are any other comms/site we should be keeping an eye on, just comment on the latest edition to let us know.

In which there is ketchup

Feb. 19th, 2019 12:24 pm
rolanni: (Default)
[personal profile] rolanni

So, we went to Boskone, and it was fun.

I had my doubts, as we drove out last Thursday morning, to catch the Downeaster to Boston.  It had snowed on the overnight, and the Amtrak lot at Brunswick is uncovered, as are most of the parking lots in Maine. Honestly, you'd think it never snowed here.

Still, it had snowed, and I had visions of us having to shovel out a parking space, if, in fact, the lot was open at all.

Now, this?  Is the upside of being a pessimist.  We get so many more nice surprises than optimists.  For instance -- yes the lot was both full of snow and full of cars, but!  there were two spaces available, and a front-loader on the case clearing the snow.  The nice operator dug out one of the two available spots for us, leaving us fresh for a small tussle with the "automatic parking meter,"  which, given the snow and the temperature, and all, was a little less automatic than one might wish.  Eventually, however, Victory Was Ours, and we rolled our suitcases down to the actual train station, and boarded in good order.

We arrived in Boston to find that -- surprise! -- North Station was undergoing construction and the Taxi Feeding Grounds from which we have for many years claimed our ride across town was -- unavailable.  In fact, there were no taxis to be seen.

Finally, we walked up Portland Street, to the Kimpton Onyx Hotel, which had done us a good turn once before, and asked the nice person on the front desk to call us a cab, which she very kindly did, and we were on our way.

Boskone was lovely.  We saw a lot of people we hadn't seen in years, what with one thing and another; had a delightful Friends of Liad breakfast, and several stimulating panels.  We signed books; I lost my voice, and on Monday morning, in the teeth of a very pretty little snow that did very little violence to the Traffic of Boston, given that it was a holiday, we were returned to North Station, where a nice Transit Authority Person was able to give us succinct and accurate directions to Amtrak, and so to Brunswick, and thence to Waterville, where we were very glad to see the cats, and vice versa.

We had a celebratory Home Again pizza, as is our habit, and a good night's sleep.  This morning, we slept in, and, now that my hair is dry, I will be going out to the grocery store.  After lunch, I will delve into The Taxes, and Steve will be hitting the galleys for Liaden Universe® Constellation Volume Four.

So, yanno:  Back to normal, until next Thursday, when Steve will be reporting to the Cardiac Unit at Eastern Maine Medical Center to have his generator replaced.

I would be remiss if I failed to mention that today is Belle's ninth birthday, which she is celebrating by sleeping in the sun, stretched full length on the cedar chest.

. . .and that?  Catches us all up.

Here, have a picture from the con.

My B2MEM cards

Feb. 19th, 2019 05:07 pm
amyfortuna: (Default)
[personal profile] amyfortuna
Here are my chosen ten!

1. Blind Guardian Lyrics
2. Comment on a Fanwork
3. Family Affairs
4. Feanatics!
5. Formats and Genres
6. Four Words 2
7. Keep it in the Family
8. NSFW & Kink
9. Review a Story
10. Song Lyrics 2

So, as you can see, it's two cards for reviewing/commenting, two incest cards, one card specifically for drabbles, one card about Fëanorians, one that I can combine with other cards easily, one to get the kink going, and two cards of lyrics for inspiration!

Check In - Tuesday - Day 19

Feb. 19th, 2019 12:04 pm
enemytosleep: boy adjusting his tie, looking serious (Default)
[personal profile] enemytosleep posting in [community profile] writethisfanfic
Hello, writers! What have you been able to accomplish today toward your February goal?

— I wrote today!
— I planned and/or researched something.
— I sat down and did some editing.
— I sent things to my beta.
— I posted!
— I focused on something else today.

Writing question time: You’re halfway through writing a story when you’re struck by an idea for another one – how do you keep yourself motivated to continue on the first? Or do you cave and write the second story?

New Books for Tuesday

Feb. 19th, 2019 10:19 am
marthawells: (Reading)
[personal profile] marthawells
(If you've been following my book rec and new book listing posts for a while, you may have noticed this already, but while most book lists emphasize books by popular straight white men, this one emphasizes everybody else. I include books by straight white men, but in about the same percentage that other book lists include everybody else. I also try to highlight books that are less well known.)

(I only link to one retail outlet in the book's listing, but most books are available at multiple outlets, like Kobo, iBooks, international Amazons, Barnes & Noble, etc. The short stories are usually on free online magazines.)


* Novella: The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djèlí Clark
Cairo, 1912: The case started as a simple one for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities — handling a possessed tram car.

Soon, however, Agent Hamed Nasr and his new partner Agent Onsi Youssef are exposed to a new side of Cairo stirring with suffragettes, secret societies, and sentient automatons in a race against time to protect the city from an encroaching danger that crosses the line between the magical and the mundane.



* Where Oblivion Lives by T. Frohock
Born of daimon and angel, Diago Alvarez is a being unlike all others. The embodiment of dark and light, he has witnessed the good and the horror of this world and those beyond. In the supernatural war between angels and daimons that will determine humankind’s future, Diago has chosen Los Nefilim, the sons and daughters of angels who possess the power to harness music and light.

As the forces of evil gather, Diago must locate the Key, the special chord that will unite the nefilim’s voices, giving them the power to avert the coming civil war between the Republicans and Franco’s Nationalists. Finding the Key will save Spain from plunging into darkness.



* For the Killing of Kings by Howard Andrew Jones
But when squire Elenai’s aging mentor uncovers evidence that the sword in their hall is a forgery she’s forced to flee Darassus for her life, her only ally the reckless, disillusioned Kyrkenall the archer. Framed for murder and treason, pursued by the greatest heroes of the realm, they race to recover the real sword, only to stumble into a conspiracy that leads all the way back to the Darassan queen and her secretive advisors. They must find a way to clear their names and set things right, all while dodging friends determined to kill them – and the Naor hordes, invading at last with a new and deadly weapon.


* Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen
Kin Stewart is an everyday family man: working in IT, trying to keep the spark in his marriage, struggling to connect with his teenage daughter, Miranda. But his current life is a far cry from his previous career…as a time-traveling secret agent from 2142.

Stranded in suburban San Francisco since the 1990s after a botched mission, Kin has kept his past hidden from everyone around him, despite the increasing blackouts and memory loss affecting his time-traveler’s brain. Until one afternoon, his “rescue” team arrives—eighteen years too late.



* Tides of the Titans by Thoraiya Dyer
In the quest fantasy Tides of the Titans, part of Aurealis and Ditmar Award-winning author Thoraiya Dyer's extraordinary Titan's Forest series, trees loom large as skyscrapers, mortals can be reborn as gods, and a young man travels to the far reaches of the land and beyond to unlock the Forest's hidden secrets...

Courtier, explorer, thief: Leaper is a man of many skills, but none of his talents satisfy the yearning in his heart for the Queen of Airakland, the ruler of a thunder-clashed kingdom.

Their affair is cut too short, however, when she is murdered. But who was the assassin? A political rival? The jealous king? Or, perhaps, the god of thunder who oversees them all?



* Cast in Oblivion by Michelle Sagara
Kaylin wasn’t sent to the West March to start a war. Her mission to bring back nine Barrani might do just that, though. She traveled with a Dragon, and her presence is perceived as an act of aggression in the extremely hostile world of Barrani-Dragon politics. Internal Barrani politics are no less deadly, and Kaylin has managed—barely—to help the rescued Barrani evade both death and captivity at the hands of the Consort.

Before the unplanned “visit” to the West March, Kaylin invited the Consort to dinner. For obvious reasons, Kaylin wants to cancel dinner—forever. But the Consort is going to show up at the front door at the agreed-upon time. The fact that she tried to imprison Kaylin’s guests doesn’t matter at all…to her.



* Cicada by Shaun Tan
From the visionary Shaun Tan, an inspirational story for older picture book readers and beyond

Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who is completely unappreciated for what he does. But in the end, just when you think he's given up, he makes a transformation into something ineffably beautiful. A metaphor for growing up? A bit of inspiration for the unappreciated striver in all of us? Yes, yes, and more.



* The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo
From New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee. Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for.

Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: that Ren find the man’s finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren’s increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.



* Snow White Learns Witchcraft by Theodora Goss
In these eight stories and twenty-three poems, World Fantasy Award winner Theodora Goss retells and recasts fairy tales by Charles Perrault, the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen, and Oscar Wilde. Sometimes harrowing, sometimes hilarious, always lyrical, the works gathered in Snow White Learns Witchcraft re-center and empower the women at the heart of these timeless narratives. Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Grand Master Jane Yolen, in her introduction, proclaims that Goss “transposes, transforms, and transcends times, eras, and old tales with ease. But also there is a core of tough magic that runs through all her pieces like a river through Faerie . . . I am ready to reread some of my new favorites.”


* Preorder Escaping Exodus by Nicky Drayden
Earth is a distant memory. Habitable extrasolar planets are still out of reach. For generations, humanity has been clinging to survival by establishing colonies within enormous vacuum-breathing space beasts and mining their resources to the point of depletion.

Rash, dreamy, and unconventional, Seske Kaleigh should be preparing for her future role as clan leader, but her people have just culled their latest beast, and she’s eager to find the cause of the violent tremors plaguing their new home. Defying social barriers, Seske teams up with her best friend, a beast worker, and ventures into restricted areas for answers to end the mounting fear and rumors. Instead, they discover grim truths about the price of life in the void.



* Preorder The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad
Fatima lives in the city of Noor, a thriving stop along the Silk Road. There the music of myriad languages fills the air, and people of all faiths weave their lives together. However, the city bears scars of its recent past, when the chaotic tribe of Shayateen djinn slaughtered its entire population -- except for Fatima and two other humans. Now ruled by a new maharajah, Noor is protected from the Shayateen by the Ifrit, djinn of order and reason, and by their commander, Zulfikar.

But when one of the most potent of the Ifrit dies, Fatima is changed in ways she cannot fathom, ways that scare even those who love her. Oud in hand, Fatima is drawn into the intrigues of the maharajah and his sister, the affairs of Zulfikar and the djinn, and the dangers of a magical battlefield.



* A People's Future of the United States edited by Victor LaValle and John Joseph Adams
In these tumultuous times, in our deeply divided country, many people are angry, frightened, and hurting. Knowing that imagining a brighter tomorrow has always been an act of resistance, editors Victor LaValle and John Joseph Adams invited an extraordinarily talented group of writers to share stories that explore new forms of freedom, love, and justice. They asked for narratives that would challenge oppressive American myths, release us from the chokehold of our history, and give us new futures to believe in.


* Fog Season by Patrice Sarath
After the shocking events of last summer, the high society of Port Saint Frey has plenty to gossip about. Who was the Gentleman Bandit? Why hasn't he been captured? And what really happened that night when the Guildmaster disappeared? When the Guild hires Abel Fresnel, a detective with special powers of his own, to find the answers, Tesara and Yvienne Mederos have to avoid his probing questions and keep mum about their role in the events of that dark night. Everything's more or less under control until a dead man turns up in the dumbwaiter...


* The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday by Saad Z. Hossain
When the djinn king Melek Ahmar wakes up after millennia of imprisoned slumber, he finds a world vastly different from what he remembers. Arrogant and bombastic, he comes down the mountain expecting an easy conquest: the wealthy, spectacular city state of Kathmandu, ruled by the all-knowing, all-seeing tyrant AI Karma. To his surprise, he finds that Kathmandu is a cut-price paradise, where citizens want for nothing and even the dregs of society are distinctly unwilling to revolt.

Everyone seems happy, except for the old Gurkha soldier Bhan Gurung. Knife saint, recidivist, and mass murderer, he is an exile from Kathmandu, pursuing a forty-year-old vendetta that leads to the very heart of Karma. Pushed and prodded by Gurung, Melek Ahmer finds himself in ever deeper conflicts, until they finally face off against Karma and her forces. In the upheaval that follows, old crimes will come to light and the city itself will be forced to change.



* Dreams of the Dark Sky by Tina LeCount Myers
The war between men and immortals that raged across the frozen Northland of Davvieana has ended. For men, the balance of power between Believer and Brethren, between honoring the gods and honoring the sword, has shifted to favor priests over Hunters.
But it is the legacy of one man’s love for his son that shapes the lives of all who survived.
While Irjan, the once-legendary immortal hunter, has saved his son’s life, he cannot save Marnej from the men who will make him a killer, nor can he save the immortal girl he’d promised to protect from the secret of her birth.

Half a Moon: Susan Ivanova

Feb. 19th, 2019 11:40 am
fhionnuisce: (Default)
[personal profile] fhionnuisce posting in [community profile] halfamoon
I really wanted to get a Susan Ivanova fic into this challenge, newly-written. But time got away from me and I'm not ready to write it yet. If I self-rec something for next year with Susan in it...you'll know I finally got it done, long after the end of Half A Moon. I really want to get it right.

In any case, though, here's a little self-rec of a fusion-type crossover that I wrote for a prompt some time ago. I really wanted to make sure I at least posted something for Susan this year.

Title: Something to Remember
Fandom: Babylon 5/Star Wars Original Trilogy (Fusion)
Rating/Pairing: Gen, G
Characters: Susan Ivanova, Han Solo
Summary: Susan and Han have been traveling together, but now it's time for both to move on to their next adventure.
Length: Comment Fic, short
Notes: POV Susan. Susan and Han traveling together was the prompt--from fic_promptly, I believe.
Something to Remember

Canon Promotion Post

Feb. 19th, 2019 10:30 am
longficmod: Photo of a woman tying a running shoe (Default)
[personal profile] longficmod posting in [community profile] fandom5k
Many of us are already planning which fandoms to offer and request! Nominations open in a few weeks, which may be enough time to pick up a new fandom or two.

Use this post to promote your canon (and/or to coordinate nominations with other fans).
conuly: (Default)
[personal profile] conuly
with her buddy-ship and her buddy-crewmate, and on the way they meet a wide variety of aliens who have a wide variety of sex/genders and related pronouns. I'm not entirely sure if the author is more socially conscious or more enamored of showing off that she's thought about the fact that aliens might have 17 sexes and 8 legs each, but after the third or fourth encounter with a non-human I'm starting to wonder if either the author or the protagonist has ever considered that, actually, gender/sex is rather a bizarrely arbitrary way to divvy up pronouns in the first place*. If you want to really show that you laugh at convention, the naive request of "Tell me your sex/gender so I can use the right pronoun" should be met with "What a strange question! I'm male, but why does that matter for pronouns? Does everybody on your planet have the same color eyes?"

* Assuming, of course, that you even feel a need beyond animate/inanimate - or even feel that distinction of that is necessary! Lots of real earth cultures that definitely have gender roles don't show that in their pronouns.

Heeeeeelp... please

Feb. 19th, 2019 04:14 pm
solo: Shen Wei and Zhao Yunlan hanging out on a bench (GD Bench)
[personal profile] solo posting in [community profile] sid_guardian
W:现在就剩下写认罪声明的那几个了。
L:他们肯定不会有事儿的。远不要小瞧一只活了万年的猫,多会装腔作势。

From episode 20. What does it say? The existing subs don't make sense because they refer to something that isn't happening.

The Mourning After The Night Before

Feb. 19th, 2019 09:54 am
[syndicated profile] ao3_frodosam_fics_feed

Posted by <a rel="author" href="/users/Ghyste/pseuds/Ghyste">Ghyste</a>

by

Legolas thinks that he might have done something he'd rather not live to regret.

Words: 3298, Chapters: 1/1, Language: English

Series: Part 6 of The Tol Eressëan Tales

versaphile: (Default)
[personal profile] versaphile
https://archiveofourown.org/works/15087038/chapters/42126092

“Look,” Divad says to Lenny. “Farouk needed you so he could get David to trust him. Not the Benny-David who was trying to destroy himself, the Lenny-David who you helped him become. We were there, remember? David wouldn’t have gotten better without you. He wouldn’t have been healthy enough to want things again without you, so he wouldn’t have asked Syd out without you.” “And they wouldn’t have kissed and swapped bodies and killed me,” Lenny grumbles. “No, but if they hadn’t, you’d still be a red,” Divad says. “And so would we, no matter what color they put us in. You saved us, Lenny. You saved us a lot. Whatever bad shit Farouk put in you, it’s his, not yours. You’re still the Lenny we remember, and we remember, okay?” “Okay, okay,” Lenny says, surrendering. “Did you have that speech saved up or something?” Divad eases. “I told David a lot of terrible things, so I’m stocking up on good things to tell him to make up for that. But I guess they’re for you, too. Because you’re a good thing in our life, and— We don’t want to lose any of the good things.”

from Tumblr: https://versaphile.tumblr.com/post/182915628417/when-my-fist-clenches-crack-it-open-chapter-109

The Big Idea: Tina LeCount Myers

Feb. 19th, 2019 02:41 pm
[syndicated profile] scalziwhatever_feed

Posted by John Scalzi

In today’s Big Idea, author Tina LeCount Myers discovers that in writing Dreams of the Dark Sky, her conscious was writing one thing, and her unconscious writing something entirely different — and yet, it all came together in the same story. Here’s how.

TINA LeCOUNT MYERS:

Conscious Me: I wrote a story about invasive vs. native human-like species in a volatile environment.

Unconscious Me: Actually, I wrote a story about fate and free will, where I used my characters to work out my own existential uncertainty about these concepts.

Conscious Me: What do you mean? The story is about how humans and elves fail to coexist and the ramifications of their wars.

Unconscious Me: Perhaps on one level. But if you look deeper, you’ll see that both humans and elves must come to their own understanding of agency.

Whereupon, Conscious Me pauses, thinking, then appropriates what was unconscious, feeling self-satisfied with the deeper meaning it has come up with. Then, in a moment of insight, Conscious Me suggests: Really, Dreams of the Dark Sky is Freaks and Geeks meets Excalibur—the John Boorman Excalibur.

And both parts of me are right, except maybe for the John Boorman reference, which feels a little conceited and hyper-masculine even for the Conscious Me.

I started writing The Legacy of the Heavens trilogy with the idea to write a fantasy story with science at the foundation of the worldbuilding. Dark matter disguised as magic. Multiverses and string theory cloaked as portal realms in arctic Scandinavia. Evolutionary biology to posit the existence of sequentially hermaphroditic elves. But what I discovered was an even more profound interest in what makes us human, even if we are elves.

On the surface, Dreams of the Dark Sky, the second book in the trilogy, is about two human-like species struggling to coexist in a volatile arctic environment. But at its heart, the story is more concerned with how the two main characters, Dárja and Marnej, experience the complex love between parent and child, yearn to belong in their respective communities, and struggle to take control over their lives. They reflect the deep-seated, human questions that I have about my own life: my relationship with my parents, my sense of belonging—or not, and, most importantly, my conflicted experience with the concepts of fate and free will.

I have suffered the resentment of fate, where I must live with a decision over which I have no control. I have struggled with the paralysis of free will, where I am unable to make the “right choice”. I have no definitive answer on which is better or worse. So when Marnej, who is half-human and half-elf, asks, “Was I always meant to end up here? Or did circumstance and my own action bring me here?” it is me asking that same question of my own life. And when Kalek, the elf-healer, answers, “I do not believe the gods choose our actions. They may set the course of events, but it is we who decide what direction to go in,” it is my own unwitting compromise.

Dreams of the Dark Sky is about the aftermath of a struggle between humans (invasive species) and elves (native species). But it is also about the tension between conscious and unconscious choice and what that interplay reveals about not only the characters, but also the writer, and hopefully the reader as well.

—-

Dreams of the Dark Sky: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Indiebound |Powell’s
Visit the author’s site. Visit her on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter.

 

And about time, some of us say...

Feb. 19th, 2019 03:08 pm
oursin: A globe artichoke (artichoke)
[personal profile] oursin

Apparently solo dining is becoming A Thing? (scroll down, it's the last thing)

In New York, there’s a rising trend for eating alone and some restaurants have amended their menus and tables to cater for this. The restaurant booking site OpenTable has also reported a rise in solo dining.
That thing that that is that I have been doing, lo, these many years. And I am sure I am by no means the only one, because I still remember with great affection the great Katharine Whitehorn's suggestion of a restaurant, or maybe an entire chain, set up entirely for solo diners, with reading lights and bookstands on the tables. Sign me up with a loyalty card! (and I am so not a loyalty card person.)

Perhaps I am a grumpy ol' misanthrope who has had one or two too many group meals which have involved going, finally, to some place that is nobody's first choice but will fit everybody in and accommodate everybody's dietary requirements/a person turning up late and keeping everyone else from ordering/that person who either takes for ever deciding what to order or is too busy chatting to address the matter/person who takes an inordinate time longer than everybody else to finish a course/ - yes, I am a grumpy ol' misanthrope.

Also, I have my book/e-reader/phone/laptop for company: I do not want a giant teddy-bear vis-a-vis. I should not have to come over all Greta Garbo 'Vant to be alone' at a teddy-bear. At least, one may hope, the bear will not attempt to engage one in lively conversation ('What are you reading/is that a good book?').

#217: sing me a song

Feb. 19th, 2019 10:14 am
spoonorita: (Default)
[personal profile] spoonorita posting in [community profile] questionoftheday
What song lyric resonates with you the most? Why do you respond so strongly to it?

Feel free to answer in the comments or paste the code below into your own journal to answer the question.

I really *am* taller in the morning!

Feb. 19th, 2019 09:50 am
shirebound: (Default)
[personal profile] shirebound
And at 4'10", that's pretty significant. There's a wall-fixture light set pretty high up (for me) in the bathroom that I can only turn on at night when standing on a footstool, but first thing in the morning I can reach right up and turn it on! I wondered if people could actually be taller in the morning, and according to the internet, we are. Have any of you ever noticed that?

Shiremom went to her final orthopedist appointment yesterday, and her shoulder -- broken on November 24th -- was pronounced "healed" by the orthopedist. Her range of motion is nearly back to where it was pre-injury, and the doctor said he was impressed with how well she healed. (He didn't add, "at your age" (87), but we knew that's what he meant.) We were grateful to be able to bring Pippin with us to the clinic, and are finding that only a few places don't want us to bring her inside. Three cheers for her zip-up stroller, and how quiet she is in public.

stroller

I just discovered that a friend of mine doesn't like condiments. At ALL. Not relish, mustard, ketchup, mayonnaise, hot sauce, or pickles. How is such a thing possible? Why, naturally a hot dog is merely a relish-and-mustard delivery system, hamburgers must be served with at least ketchup and pickles, and how can a chicken, turkey, or tuna sandwich be enjoyed without mayonnaise? *puzzled*

It's about 28F/-2C today with blue sky and lovely sunshine, but tomorrow is supposed to bring a full day and night of snow.
[syndicated profile] badastronomy_feed

Posted by Phil Plait

A little over a week ago, I showed y'all a pretty cool image: The Chinese Space Agency's lunar lander and rover, Chang'e-4 and Yutu-2, as seen from orbit by NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter.

In that image, LRO's orbit put it about 330 kilometers east of the lander (plus dozens of kilometers up above the surface), so it had to tilt way over to the side to see it, and the resulting shot was taken at a pretty steep oblique angle. Because it was so far away, even LRO's powerful cameras couldn't see the hardware as much more than a teeny dot.

However, as LRO circles the Moon, the territory it sees changes — I'll explain in a sec, because that's really cool — and therefore so does its distance from the lander. That earlier image was taken on January 30, 2019. A couple of days, on February 1, LRO passed directly above Chang'e-4 and Yutu-2, sliding over the landing site at an altitude of 82 kilometers.

That changes things a lot. Here's what LRO saw when it looked straight down on the Chinese hardware:

The Chinese rover and lander Chang’e-4 and Yutu-2, seen by NASA’s Lunar Reconniassance Orbiter on Feb. 1, 2019. Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

The Chinese rover and lander Chang’e-4 and Yutu-2, seen by NASA’s Lunar Reconniassance Orbiter on Feb. 1, 2019. Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

Ah, that's better.

Although you can't see fine details — 82 klicks is still a fair hike — the lander appears much bigger, spanning several pixels. At that height, each LRO pixel is about 0.85 meters in size (about the size of a standard push lawnmower; it's hard to think of analogies that are easy to grasp sometimes!), and the lander is roughly a couple of meters across (I actually can't find good numbers for this, so if anyone knows let me know!). The rover is smaller, about 1.5 meters by 1 x 1, and can be seen to the upper left of the lander. It was just under 30 meters from the lander when this image was taken.

I have to once again note how amazing it is that we can get these sorts of shots. The lunar landscape is vast, and doesn't have the same sort of landmarks we have on Earth. This area of the Moon's far side has craters ranging in size from too small to see to many thousands of meters across. There are rocks, and mounds, and hummocky hills, and, well … that's about it. If you're not familiar with the terrain* then it's easy to get hopelessly lost.

Don't believe me? I went to the LRO blog and downloaded the gigantic full-resolution mosaic LRO took as it passed over the Chang'e-4 site and poked around trying to find the lander … then laughed when I saw the LRO folks had already highlighted the site by putting a square around it. If they hadn't done that, I never would have found it.

Here's the image with the landing site outlined. I cropped the close-up from above to match the square and inserted it into the shot:

Context image showing the Chinese lander and rover Chang’e-4 and Yutu-2 on the lunar surface. Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

Context image showing the Chinese lander and rover Chang’e-4 and Yutu-2 on the lunar surface. Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

Yeah, see what I mean? And it's even worse: I shrank the original high-res image by a factor of five to make this image. The original has even more detail, making it that much harder to find an individual speck. That strip shows a region of the Moon about 8.5 kilometers wide, and before I cropped it was about 50 kilometers in length. Imagine finding something a few meters across in all that!

Now, there are some tricks. For one thing we already knew where the lander was, so that shrank the region of interest considerably. But there's something else, too: shadows.

Note the shadowing on the craters. Because the Sun is coming from the upper right of the image, the craters are shadowed at the top right and lit at the bottom left. But now look at the lander: It's bright on top, and shadowed on the bottom! That makes it stand out more easily amongst the craters. Otherwise, yikes. Good luck finding it.

The Chinese lander Chang’e-4 as seen by the rover Yutu-2. Credit: CSNA

The Chinese lander Chang’e-4 as seen by the rover Yutu-2. Credit: CSNA

So why does the angle change between LRO and Chang'e-4? It's because of the orbit. When a satellite orbits a world, it's orbiting the center of that world. All it cares about is the gravity it feels, and that comes from the mass of the object it's orbiting. It doesn't care if the object is rotating or not.

The plane of that orbit is pretty much fixed in space. So if it's, say, due north/south with respect to the Moon, it'll stay that way. If the Moon didn't spin, LRO would pass over the exact same spots on the Moon over and over again. But the Moon does spin, about once per month, so every orbit LRO passes over different spots as the Moon rotates beneath it. The actual math is a bit complicated because the LRO orbit is influenced by lots of other factors, but in the end what this means is that over time LRO passes over the entire surface Moon, one swath at a time.

That's why it was over to one side of Chang'e-4 in late January, then directly over it in early February. By now, LRO is far to the west of that site, and it'll be a while before the Moon spins enough to put the Chinese site under LRO's direct gaze once again. By then the lighting will have changed, too, so the shadows will be different as well. It should be interesting in a few weeks to see the new images of it!

I'll note that LRO makes mineralogical maps of the Moon as well, so this helps the science, putting the measurements taken by the lander and rover into broader geologic context, much as the image itself does. That's why we send different missions to other worlds; they each do their own thing, but when you add them together you get more then just the sum of their parts.

You get to understand a world. I think that's very much worth the effort.


*I use that word loosely, since it's based on the word terra, for Earth. But lunain looks weird.

[Correction, Feb. 19, 2019: I originally wrote that LRO passed over Chang'e-4 on Feb. 7.]

Floor Poop

Feb. 19th, 2019 02:38 pm
notasupervillain: Cat at computer (Default)
[personal profile] notasupervillain
Why. Why are my cats (well, one of them) pooping on the floor?

They had diaherrea in their litter boxes a few weeks ago, but that stopped by the time they had their vaccinations booked and the vet told us it wasn't anything to worry about. She also told us that they were, perhaps, a tad too fluffy, and suggested that maybe treats should be a sometimes food?

When we found the first floor poops, we thought maybe it was distaste for the dirty boxes, so we scrubbed out their boxes. We thought it might be punishment for the diet, but surely if we were consistent about the new diet they'd get used to it. Last time it happened, at least a year ago, the internet told us they needed three boxes between the two of them, so now they have more bathroom options than I do.

But it's been over a week of the diet, the litter boxes are sparkling, and my front room smells like cat-odour remover, which all things considered is better than the alternative. 

It's a rough day

Feb. 19th, 2019 09:36 am
sine_nomine: (Default)
[personal profile] sine_nomine
Today is being hard. Already. Woke up at 3 AM with my knee screaming so off to the bathroom and rubbed with arnica which, thank heavens, works. Back to sleep then awake when alarm went off but not really fully present. Drifted while the all-news station droned on... though I love the traffic reporter (and actually sent her email once thanking her for being so direct about various issues and she replied!).

Finally got out of bed and realized I am hurting, physically, in ways I haven't noticed in a while. This is, I think, my new normal....because yesterday - all things considered - wasn't an awful day. It started with an MRI that I fell asleep in. Clearly I am too used to the things! and tonight is another. And the bolster the tech used felt so good to my back that, after I was dressed, I asked the receptionist what they'd used and someone brought one out and I took pictures.

Made my way back to my car and drove down to my office - where I spent a stack of hours working and also not working but it was what I needed. Headed home late noticing that getting into the car wasn't nearly as challenging as it's been (though getting out is still awful), chilled out at home, had good talk with my love, and fell asleep. Until I was awakened with the knee.

And now. With my lower back screaming at me (despite meds and lidoderm) and a migraine trying to be present also. Incoming storm plus work stress plus various friends' stresses plus it may actually be a pre-monthly-visitor migraine (it's been a while) plus plus plus. But I've sent a note to work telling them things are going slowly today. I suspect I need to work on meditation technique - and perhaps add an every-other-night muscle relaxant to my arsenal.

It's never good when you want the MRI to show issues... but I really do want to know why my knee locks at my desk at work and I have to phsically tug at my pants to lift it.

But now I have to finish dressing and get to work. Another MRI tonight. This one a baseline guarding against future changes given my familial history of neurological issues.

Onwards?

The Wolf at the Door by Arren (T)

Feb. 19th, 2019 09:16 am
marzipan77: (Default)
[personal profile] marzipan77 posting in [community profile] stargateficrec
Fic Rec: The Wolf at the Door by Arren (T)

Show SG-1
Rec Category: Episode Related
Characters: Daniel Jackson, Samantha Carter, Janet Frasier, Jack O'Neill, Teal'c
Categories: Gen, H/C, Family. Missing scene for The Curse
Warnings: limited medical stuff
Link: The Wolf at the Door

Why This Must Be Read: We all wanted to see what happened after Osiris took over Sarah Gardner, threw Janet and Sam around, and tortured and threatened Daniel. Daniel has lost another loved-one to the Goa'uld and was attacked with the ribbon device. There is physical and emotional fallout. And Jack and Teal'c return to the SGC to find out their teammates have been in danger while they've been out fishing. This fic is one reason I love missing scenes and tags - because it's emotionally satisfying.

Snippet: Jack was already across the room squatting down next to Daniel's bed, with Teal'c close behind. Jack carefully brushed back Daniel's hair and peered closely at the ugly red burn on his forehead. "Is he okay? Looks like a ribbon device."

"Yeah, Osiris didn't much like him not telling where Isis is. I think he'll be okay, he's already better than he was yesterday. We just all need to get home," Janet said with exhaustion creeping into her voice.

"That's what we're here for," Jack stood up and turned toward the others, "Teal'c and I are here to serve. How do we go about getting this show on the road? Should we wake Daniel up?"

"You already did." Daniel struggled to raise himself up, got about a third of the way up and was in danger of flopping back. Teal'c reached down and wrapped a big hand around Daniel's upper arm to pull him gently to a sitting position. "Thanks Teal'c".

Literally Just That

Feb. 19th, 2019 02:00 pm
[syndicated profile] cakewrecks_feed

Posted by Jen

Jill ordered a birthday cake for her daughter Hope, then told the bakery she'd be in around 1pm to pick it up.

Now, I've seen it all, minions, but even I was not prepared for these icing choices:

Why. WHY.

 

Ryan L. writes, "A theatrical show I had been on tour with was celebrating its millionth audience member. The company manager gave specific instructions on what the baker should write."

Huh. I tried to understand why the baker wrote "musical symbols" while also drawing musical symbols but then my brain started to hurt and I had to stop.

 

And finally, Kyle B. wanted "Happy Birthday" on a rainbow cake.

Just that.

He watched the baker carefully write it all down on the order sheet, then later.... he got this:

Now, if you're curious what, exactly, the baker wrote on Kyle's order sheet, then GUESS WHAT.

I have that, too.

YAAAAAASSS

::head tilt::

Yup, that definitely clears things up.

 

Thanks to Jill B., Ryan L., & Kyle B. for today's serving of Just iced.

(Ok, that pun didn't really work, but I tried, dangit. I TRIED.)

*****

Do you shop Amazon? Then how about clicking through my affiliate link to shop? USA, UK, Canada.

 Visiting Amazon through those links will help support the site, and costs you nothing. Thanks, guys!

And from my other blog, Epbot:

 

(no subject)

Feb. 19th, 2019 11:43 am
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
Yesterday I ended up being awake more than 24 hours, which was not ideal.

I read a Supernatural / Dresden Files fic that made me not want to watch Supernatural. It seems mean? But the fic was long and did a bunch of stuff and kind of saved the world by being kind, so, that was good.

Today I am Tired and have no idea where my hypothetical sleep schedule ought to be.
But it is Cleaner Day so I am definitely awake for the next couple of hours.

I ran the laundry but had to run the rinse cycle like three extra times before it stopped being full of bubbles. Not awesome, should figure that out at some point. Still, it's drying now, so that's okay.

I have done a lot of coliseum fighting on the Flight Rising game while I was listening to audios.
I got so much dragon food.
But I turned much of it into meat and have a feeling I needed some of that to unlock Hibernation slots. I've unlocked a bunch but there's so many to do. But dragons also need meat so it's not like it's wasted, just I'm sitting here fighting the same enemies a lot a lot a lot.
... this is not the way to have the most fun in a day.

I have moved a lot of my Iron Man dragons into Hibernation so now there's a ton of space in my lair to do things that are not just crimson crimson gold dragons. But I also feel like there needs to be more CCG in more patterns? It is possible to have dragons that are not Circuit, for instance. So that'll be exciting.

... I need to find more to do with my day.



Still, pretty okay day, really.
seperis: (Default)
[personal profile] seperis
In honor of only two days of work this week as Holiday!Monday and Escapade Starts Thursday, I've been contemplating the more esoteric parts of my career, or more specifically, my least favorite part.

For those who don't know, I'm a Quality Control/Quality Analyst; my formal title is System Analyst IV, my job description is program testing, primarily, UAT, aka 'User Acceptance Testing' but have done and will do everything from unit testing to testing live in production literally during and after deployment. UAT is the last line of defense before a program is released in production, and our job is to break it with only the tools and general knowledge available to the average user of this program aka Everyman.

And when I say 'the program', that refers not just to 'one single program' but 'an entire program ecosystem that all work together to do shit'. We call the latter Integration Testing, which combines 'so breathtakingly boring even death avoids you when you have to do it' with 'astronomically high stakes'. For System Integration is literally repeating all your tests on those same damn programs (sometimes you're on your fifth repetition and resent key parts of the alphabet) but now while all programs are connected to each other.

In general, if there are problems, they're tiny; earlier testing of the individual parts of a program and then the program itself should have and generally does catch everything with a realistic chance of happening, quite a bit that realistically won't but possibly could, and some that is technically impossible but when you were on repetition three of the same set of ten to twenty goddamn tests, dev was naturally the target best suited to share your suffering. At that point, they were so goddamn tired of seeing your name on defects they didn't care if it was possible this situation would ever occur, they'd code as if it would happen every day just to avoid how rejection at end of business day inevitably meant that the first thing they'd see in their inbox the next morning would be a gratingly cheerful email that included an essay (and references) on why the defect was not only very possible but could cause the apocalypse if not fixed like right now please, sometimes with malice aforethought in thirteen point Comic Sans.

But I digress.

stress is both a constant and a variable )

...yes, I am doing integration testing this week. How'd you guess?

River Song season 5

Feb. 19th, 2019 11:27 am
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I listened to all four adventures with The Master.
Read more... )


I like listening to River be clever and figure things out and ideally run around saving the Doctor while falling in love again again again. This set only did some of that.


But if you want to listen to the Master maybe it is more interesting? Like if it was a box set called The Master I'd listen to it a different way. Don't know though, don't know what I'd want out of that.



The Bekdel Test was good, Animal Instinct had a bunch of interesting, The Lifeboat and the Deathboat was interesting but not in how it used the Master unless you really want to hear how the TV movie connects up to anything after, and Concealed Weapon I liked by far the least, but since it was the last in the set that has made me more frowning about all of them. Oh well.
Shall definitely relisten to Missy again some time.
Don't know about the rest.

Stream of consciousness blogging

Feb. 19th, 2019 11:08 am
miss_s_b: Peter Falk as Columbo saying "just one more thing" (Fangirling: Columbo)
[personal profile] miss_s_b
- Linkspammer still broken, sorry about that.
- I kind of feel like I want to blog more than I have for ages, but I'm not really clear what about. It's like an itch. This is an attempt at scratching it. It's not really working. Maybe I ought to do another Liberalism 101 post.
- I've got to go to exercise class in a bit and I'm so wiped out after emotional roller coaster yesterday* and adrenaline rush of dentist terror** this morning that I really don't want to. I know it'll do me good though.
- Daughter is playing lots of Tetris99 since it came out and the music is properly embedding in my head.



* my brain decided that yesterday was a great time to press a whole bunch of self destruct buttons. Happily some of them didn't work.
** I really really hate going to the dentist. My actual dentist is lovely, but that doesn't, sadly, stop the soul-wrenching terror.

Song of the day: Loona, "Butterfly"

Feb. 19th, 2019 04:29 am
brithistorian: (Default)
[personal profile] brithistorian
This is one of those times when I get to unironically say "I love living in the future!"  I love that this song was just released an hour ago on the other side of the world, yet I'm able to listen to it and share it with you.  I hope you enjoy it.



Expect to hear more from Loona in the future - they're monster rookies who seem to have hit the ground running and only gone upward from there.

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
345 67 89
10111213141516
17 181920212223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Feb. 19th, 2019 09:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios