reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
To give to everyone the chance to enjoy the spotlight of their honorable mentions, I decided to post a little of them every day until October 1, when I will announce the finalists of the 2013 Rainbow Awards. An Honorable Mention means a judge really liked the book, so much they gave it a rate above 36 out of 40; an honorable mention doesn't necessarily mean the book is a finalist, you have to wait the actual announcement on October 1 to know that. So please, enjoy this year Honorable Mentions (in no particular order, 3 out of 5 post), and congratulations to all authors!


Badges are designed especially for the Rainbow Awards by Paul Richmond

Adam Fitzroy - Make Do and Mend

Melissa: This quiet story - taking place during the most turbulent of times - is extremely well-balanced, well-paced, well-developed and has a great deal of heart. The two protagonists are depicted in beautiful terms. I loved the book - what a pleasure to read.

Miria: This is a beautifully written book and one that I loved more and more as I read. The world building is fantastic and the character work is just wonderful. It is a bit of a slower read, but one that is worth every moment.

Publisher: Manifold Press (May 4, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Make Do And Mend

Alexis Hall – Glitterland

Natalie: This was such a wonderful surprise, a story with heavy dialect that never felt false or gimmicky. Alexis Hall's writing is wry and clever, emotional without being clichéd. The characters are fully drawn. And it's funny. This book is one of the best things I've read this year.

Paperback: 222 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (August 26, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626490252
ISBN-13: 978-1626490253
Amazon: Glitterland

Amy Lane - Bolt-hole

Jo Ann: I love Amy Lane's books, she always comes through with flying colors. I felt this book would have been a lot better if it had been drawn out more, but it was still a wonderful story.

Paperback: 246 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 27, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623805376
ISBN-13: 978-1623805371
Amazon: Bolt-hole
Amazon Kindle: Bolt-hole

Amy Lane - Dex in Blue

Carrie Ann: I love broken characters and few authors pull off broken better than Amy Lane. I loved the porn company setting. I loved the interaction with the families. Just an overall good book.

Julie: Even if the subject matter wasn’t to my taste, there’s no denying it’s very well written.

Zeoanne: I really enjoyed this book. It's fast paced and keeps you entertained and wanting to know more about each character. Amy writes in such way that you feel as you know or want to know her characters. The setting is wonderful and the plot phenomenal! Well done!

Paperback: 350 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (October 1, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623800102
ISBN-13: 978-1623800109
Amazon: Dex in Blue
Amazon Kindle: Dex in Blue

Andrea Speed - Infected, Lesser Evils

Christina: Though I have not read any of the previous stories in the series, the incredible writing, the fascinating characters, and the plot drew me right in and I could not put it down. And with the cliffhanger ending I wanted to immediately read the next story!

Paperback: 376 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (October 5, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623800129
ISBN-13: 978-1623800123
Amazon: Infected: Lesser Evils
Amazon Kindle: Infected: Lesser Evils

Anne Tenino - Too Stupid To Live

Jaymi: Loved it!

Paperback: 278 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing; first edition (January 3, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937551857
ISBN-13: 978-1937551858
Amazon: Too Stupid to Live (Romancelandia)
Amazon Kindle: Too Stupid to Live (Romancelandia)

Barry Brennessel - The Celestial

Andrea: My first book for the Rainbow Awards and it was fantastic!

Tessa: The first book this time around is right into the bulls-eye for me. Good historical novels are the hardest to come by. What I loved the most is how natural it was for the main characters to fall for each other. Thank you for this great experience.

Paperback: 192 pages
Publisher: MLR Press (September 5, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1608207684
ISBN-13: 978-1608207688
Amazon: The Celestial
Amazon Kindle: The Celestial

Belinda McBride - Arcada 2, Silver-Steel

Zeoanne: I really enjoyed the pace and the journey this story took me through. I really liked the characters and how well they were portrayed in the story. It's a book well worth reading!

Publisher: Loose Id LLC (December 3, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: Silver/Steel (Arcada)

Bren Christopher - Second Chance Sam

Jo Ann: This was a first novel I have read from Bren Christopher. The setting was beautifully described, love Sam’s kitchen, no, want Sam’s kitchen. The garage, Sam’s house, the university apartment and the animals all set the stage. The secondary characters were great, adding to the story wonderfully. Well done, I will be reading more of Bren Christopher’s books in the future.

Publisher: Loose Id LLC (January 14, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Second Chance Sam

Cari Z. - Cambion, Dark Around the Edges

Josie: Incredible book. Amazing world building. Love every inch of it. I'd be highly surprised if this book didn't win the category.

Publisher: Storm Moon Press LLC (February 8, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Dark Around the Edges (Cambion)

Clare London – Compulsion

Barbara: This book was a delight. It started just a bit slow and sort of sucked you in! A nice feel for setting--lots of imagery in the love scenes--every taste, smell, feel is described. Sometimes almost too graphically, but boy was it hot. Great unfolding of the characters layer by layer. It was well done and a great read!

Paperback: 250 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (October 29, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623800862
ISBN-13: 978-1623800864
Amazon: Compulsion
Amazon Kindle: Compulsion

Eric Arvin - Mingled Destinies of Crocodiles and Men

Myranda: This is one of the best romances I’ve read in a long damned time -- I admit to becoming intensely emotionally involved with this novel, drawn in from the very start by the dreamlike, beautiful prose and the dark faery tale ambiance.

Publisher: Wilde City Press, LLC (April 24, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: The Mingled Destinies Of Crocodiles and Men

Gil Cole - Fortune's Bastard

Jessica: A thoroughly exciting yet thoroughly believable flow of events that arise from a harmonious combination of the main character’s personality and the time and place in which he lives. I do love a well-researched, well developed historical setting. This has everything: the sights, sounds and smells; culture and politics; the political and the personal. It was a delight. Believable, diverse, and three-dimensional characters. Rodrigo is HOT! ROWR!

Paperback: 250 pages
Publisher: Chelsea Station Editions (March 7, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937627012
ISBN-13: 978-1937627010
Amazon: Fortune's Bastard
Amazon Kindle: Fortune's Bastard

J.B. Sanders - Glen & Tyler's Paris Double Cross

Tame: A fun, sparkling, fast-paced, jet-setting mystery in Paris in the 3rd installment of the Glen & Tyler series, with Tyler being a man who is almost larger than life, almost super-hero larger than life, rich and fighting for family & justice, and his husband Glen, the extra-ordinary partner in all of Tyler's escapades. One honestly didn't have to read the other 2 stores to enjoy this one (I know that after reading this book, I'm going to purchase the other 2!). The dialogue Tyler held with the many characters of the book was very enjoyable, and the love between the two men was so delightful to read.

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Amazon Kindle: Glen & Tyler's Paris Double-cross (Glen & Tyler Adventures)

Jamie Fessenden - Billy's Bones

Feliz: Perfect, just perfect. The small hints and clues strewn into the text that led closer and closer to the horrible solution like a nightmarish spiral made for a tale so absorbing, I found myself wanting to read just ONE more chapter, just ONE more scene until it was five in the morning and I'd read the whole thing in one go. There was not one wasted word, not one dull moment during the whole book. This was competent, smoothly flowing, skilled writing that wrought words and sentences to maximum effect, a narrative voice that sucked me in and didn't let me go. All in all, a deeply disturbing, haunting book.

Lee: One of the best things I’ve read in ages, but I was disappointed when the author sacrificed credibility for a “happy ending.”   A character just entering psychotherapy for such serious childhood sexual abuse is hardly ready for marriage.

Paperback: 254 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 22, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 162380941X
ISBN-13: 978-1623809416
Amazon: Billy's Bones
Amazon Kindle: Billy's Bones

Jill Braden - The Devil's Concubine

Myranda: Complex, multilayered, with significant twist magnified by expert characterization and an excellent grasp of politics, both personal and otherwise. The setting is thoroughly later Age of Empires, an excellent time period generally neglected by fantasy writers, and the place itself is strongly flavored with Polynesian/Pacific Islander myths and magic. Characterization is uniformly complex and excellent -- all of the major characters are multi-dimensional, by turns sympathetic and detestable, believably motivated and just as believably flawed. The writing is lush and sensual. I really, really enjoyed this author’s turns of phrase, her elegant descriptive passages, the way she maintained totally committed to the voice of both her characters and her setting.

Paperback: 244 pages
Publisher: Wayzgoose Press (May 6, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1938757076
ISBN-13: 978-1938757075
Amazon: The Devil's Concubine (The Devil of Ponong series #1)
Amazon Kindle: The Devil's Concubine (The Devil of Ponong series #1)

Kaje Harper - Nor Iron Bars A Cage

Julie: An excellent book, as worthy and interesting as the best of other fantasy books I have read, whether mainstream or otherwise. The story takes its time from beginning to end, and is never less than involving, unfolding with as much patience, love and truth as shown by Tobin in dealing with Lyon’s healing. Beautifully done.

Sean: Harper wove a vivid world, filled it with complex, believable characters, and told a story that was full of sweet romance, gripping action, and terrible evil. The progression of the characters—especially Lyon—was amazing to watch unfold. Overall, this is a great, enthralling book.

ebook, 244 pages
Published June 1st 2013 by M/M Romance Group @ goodreads

Kim Fielding – Brute

Tessa: It's a cliché but this book did kept me awake through the night. The reader is hardly able not to fall in love with both main characters but especially the "gentle giant" Brute. As one of the supportive characters sharply pointed: "Your heart’s as big as the rest of you. " And the reader is fascinated to see this heart to the happy end because any other ending could break his own heart.

Paperback: 270 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (December 3, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623802261
ISBN-13: 978-1623802264
Amazon: Brute
Amazon Kindle: Brute

L.A. Witt - The Left Hand of Calvus

Cherie: Hands down this is one of the best things I've read this year... no, better make that this decade. Absolutely love this book. Brilliant, simply brilliant! This one makes me with there was some way of indicating that not only was the book flawlessly written, but that the sum is greater than the addition of the individual parts. There cannot be enough praise for the writing, the subject matter, or the research. I wish I could give this one an A+ or an 11 in every category. Thank you for the pleasure of reading it for you.

Paperback: 182 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (November 25, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937551784
ISBN-13: 978-1937551780
Amazon: The Left Hand of Calvus
Amazon Kindle: The Left Hand of Calvus

Laurie Salzler - Right Out of Nowhere

Tammy: Excellent. Very well written, I would definitely read more from this author.

Paperback: 232 pages
Publisher: Blue Feather Books LTD. (March 10, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1935627600
ISBN-13: 978-1935627609
Amazon: Right Out of Nowhere
Amazon Kindle: Right Out of Nowhere

Luke Legende - Sex in the Suburbs

Cherie: Charming, fresh, irreverently reinventing itself chapter by chapter, this memoir was snarky, adorable, poignant, and full of barely camouflaged heartbreak. The author had me laughing one moment and reaching for my facial tissues the next. Bravo. I look forward to more from this author.

Paperback: 286 pages
Publisher: Legende Productions LLC The; 1 edition (June 26, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 098960490X
ISBN-13: 978-0989604901
Amazon: Sex in the Suburbs
Amazon Kindle: Sex in the Suburbs

Marie Sexton - Never a Hero

Anne: I loved this story, and the characters. Once I started reading I didn't want to put it down. So pleased they got their happy ending and I'd love to see more of them.

Paperback: 156 pages
Publisher: Riptide Publishing (February 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1937551954
ISBN-13: 978-1937551957
Amazon: Never a Hero (A Tucker Springs Novel)
Amazon Kindle: Never a Hero (A Tucker Springs Novel)

Nick Hadikwa Mwaluko – WAAFRIKA

Vicktor: This play/book was a heartbreaking, soul wrenching story of the love of Awino and Bobby. It was about Awino's desperate search and journey to live hir truth only to lead to the most horrific, heartbreaking, gut wrenching ending ever, that was so perfect and yet so wrong that it left me in tears. Awino and Bobby as well as every other character were so beautifully written that I felt as if I knew them and their loss and death were my own.

Paperback: 234 pages
Publisher: UnCUT/VOICES Press (June 25, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3981386329
ISBN-13: 978-3981386325
Amazon: Waafrika

R.E. Bradshaw - The Rainey Season

Joann: I read this one quickly as I was too engrossed to put it down. I liked it so much I must now find the other books of this series! This one was a 10 all the way around for me. It pushes the boundaries as far as Thrillers go and I like that!

Paperback: 276 pages
Publisher: R E Bradshaw Books (April 11, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0988352052
ISBN-13: 978-0988352056
Amazon: The Rainey Season: A Rainey Bell Thriller
Amazon Kindle: The Rainey Season: A Rainey Bell Thriller

Robin Roseau - Fox Run

Henriette: This was a delightful new addition to the well-worn shapeshifter universe.

Publisher: Robin Roseau; 1 edition (April 27, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Fox Run (The Madison Wolves)

S.A. McAuley - Crack the Darkest Sky Wide Open

Mariana: This collection of stories was VERY well written. Some I liked more than others, but all were compelling and moving. They were also very different from each other and provided the reader with sampling of possibilities. Each author had a distinct voice, which I loved.

Paperback: 244 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 17, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1489535012
ISBN-13: 978-1489535016
Amazon: Crack the Darkest Sky Wide Open
Amazon Kindle: Crack the Darkest Sky Wide Open

Shelley Thrasher - The Storm

Debra: Slow at the beginning but quickly becomes hard to put down. WWI and the following worldwide flu and how it affects a couple in a small Texas town.

Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (December 18, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 160282780X
ISBN-13: 978-1602827806
Amazon: The Storm
Amazon Kindle: The Storm

T.J. Klune - Into This River I Drown

Lily: Into this River I Drown by T.J. Klune is an incredibly well-written story that entertained me from beginning to end. This was one of the best books I've read this year and definitely recommend it.

Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 25, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623804086
ISBN-13: 978-1623804084
Amazon: Into This River I Drown
Amazon Kindle: Into This River I Drown

Tinnean - Two Lips, Indifferent Red

Lyne: Great story, loved the little twists. Can't wait til the sequel comes out.

Paperback: 326 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 8, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623804027
ISBN-13: 978-1623804022
Amazon: Two Lips, Indifferent Red
Amazon Kindle: Two Lips, Indifferent Red

Date: 2013-09-28 03:01 pm (UTC)
chrysalis1975: (Default)
From: [personal profile] chrysalis1975
so many new books for me to track down, based on these reviews!! You work so hard for us, Elisa :) *HUGS*

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

May 2017

S M T W T F S
  1234 56
78 91011 1213
141516 17181920
21 2223242526 27
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated May. 30th, 2017 03:32 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios