Tides of the Titans by Thoraiya Dyer

Apr. 22nd, 2019 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Published: January 2019 by Tor Books
Format reviewed: Trade Paperback, 320 pages
Series: Titan’s Forest #3
Genres: Fantasy
Source: Bought from Dymocks
Available:Abbey’s ~ Amazon (AU, CA, UK, US) ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ Booktopia ~ Dymocks ~ Indiebound ~ Kobo

Disclaimer: This review contains spoilers for previous volumes/books.

Courtier, explorer, thief: Leaper is a man of many skills, but none of his talents satisfy the yearning in his heart for the Queen of Airakland, the ruler of a thunder-clashed kingdom.

Their affair is cut too short, however, when she is murdered. But who was the assassin? A political rival? The jealous king? Or, perhaps, the god of thunder who oversees them all?

Distraught, Leaper vows revenge, but little does he realize that his mission will lead him away from his forest home, across the vast floodplains, and to the edges of time and myth itself.

Tides of the Titans takes the already epic world of Titan’s Forest and throws it wide open, following Leaper on a far-ranging quest for revenge.

Each book of the series so far has featured a new character. Leaper is the younger brother of Imeris, the protagonist of the second book, and also the reincarnated soul of Unar’s sister from the first book. So, even though there are different characters, they remained tied together by bonds of family. Imeris and Unar both make appearances in Tides of the Titans.

One of the real strengths of the book is the fully developed world. The bulk of the story is set ten years after the previous book and there’s a sense that reoccurring characters like Imeris and Unar haven’t just been sitting around, but have been getting on with their lives, even encountering new problems. Throughout his journey, Leaper encounters many new people and it felt like any one of them could set off on a new quest at any moment, or even that they were already on their own quest which just happened to intersect with Leaper’s.

In keeping with the tradition of the series, Leaper is if not unlikeable, then certainly flawed. He’s a pretty arrogant character, content with his cleverness. He’s also not overly cautious, prone to fits of temper, and not very loyal… although, in fairness, few have been loyal to him when they should have been. And his arrogance has perhaps been somewhat earned, as he is a very competent spy and thief. I particularly enjoyed the way he connects his personas to forest imagery, picturing plants that embody the traits he seeks and using that to fuel the way he moves and behaves.

Like the previous books, Tides of the Titans also continues to be influenced by Greek myth. Leaper is our Odysseus, silver-tongued and too clever for his own good, cursed by a god and just trying to get home. Readers familiar with the Odyssey will notice nods throughout the story, including the Bag of Winds and even a cyclops of sorts. However, this is far from a straight retelling and these elements are always given their own unique twist.

Being so strongly influenced by the Odyssey, Leaper encounters a lot of characters in passing. However, most of them don’t stick around for very long, making it hard to form an emotional connection with the story, especially when Leaper’s own behaviour can be a bit erratic at times and he is blown from place to place. The story is much less about the personal journey than about the story of the wider world. As Leaper travels, he uncovers the story behind the gods and Titan’s Forest itself. He quite literally sees the footprints of the gods on the world.

However, while the people don’t stick around, we do see a number of different cultures, and the book continues to explore the colonialist themes of the series. Right from the get-go, the citizens of Floor are shown as being far from a monolith. There’s also some delving into the theft of culturally significant artefacts.

Despite being the potential conclusion of the series, Tides of the Titans doesn’t wrap up into a neat ending. People continue to suffer and there are no happily-ever-afters, just new challenges. It is a segment of history and of people’s lives, not a fairy tale.

All in all, Thoraiya Dyer has produced another nuanced and thoughtful story in Tides of the Titans.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

To My Friends Who Celebrate

Apr. 21st, 2019 10:57 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Happy Easter!





I've been watching the Easter Mass at the Vatican just to see all the pageantry. It's quite amazing. I still very much want to see the Vatican and Rome. (And they wisely have the comments turned off because well we all know what youtube is like)

Corpse Reviver #2

Apr. 20th, 2019 11:07 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I'm not sure I've ever mentioned it but I love cocktails and I find cocktail history interesting. The botanticals are very interesting in how they mix. So today was my friend's retirement party at zoe's. I am very sad to see her go, though she'll be in town so it's not goodbye.

However, Zoe's had a corpse reviver #2 but changed the name to necromancer, slightly different twist on it. Absinthe, Lillet blanc, gin (petal gin in this case) and lemon juice. It was delicious. So much so I had a second one (because a 20$ bar bill is what this night needed).

No, it really did need that. It's been a miserably depressing day. The stuff at work is leaving me emotionally exhausted. Not to mention the end of the semester is usually exhausting to begin with. I'm in a foul mood (did I mention I snapped at my students for being entitled little assholes last week).

On top of that exhaustion is the fact that my sugar is out of control again and when it's high I ama bitch. THat's sort of your warning and my apology. I don't mean to be but that's what high sugar does to you.

I didn't get nearly as much writing done as I wanted to but on the other hand, I did have a nice night out. I was worried about going downtown on Ohio University's campus (not our school but fine dining where I'm at is Bob Evans) b ecause it's a nightmare especially on 420. But thanks to Easter the campus was deserted.

Even the coffee shop I usually go to was closing early but I did get my lavender latte. Yum.

But now I want another corpse reviver #2. Too bad both absinthe and lillet blanc are expensive and hard to find.

And then another thing

Apr. 20th, 2019 12:15 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
So, I was getting ready to change the sheets this morning when I accidentally knocked one hanger of the hanging closet doors off its track. Then, while trying to get it back on the track, the door's other hanger also fell off the track.

Since the door was the one in back, I couldn't re-hang it without getting behind it, and I couldn't get behind it because the closet was full of stuff. Pulled all the stuff out of the floor of the closet but the front closet door was still blocking me from maneuvering the back one into place. I needed to pull the front door out first to give me room to re-hang the back one, then re-hang the front one. But I couldn't get the front one out because the little plastic guide in the floor was holding it in place, and I didn't want to force it and risk breaking the guide. I needed to remove the guide first.

But the plastic guide was attached with square-head screws. I have a square-head screwdriver, somewhere, I think, but I couldn't find it. I searched two tool boxes (I have four, it's too many, don't ask) and two cases of bits and found a square-head bit, but not the handle for the bits. Went outside to search another tool box and finally found the handle.

So, at last, I unscrewed the floor guide, pulled out the front door, re-hung the back door (and remembered to put the guide under it so it would be in place to screw back in when I was done), re-hung the front door, screwed the guide back in place, swept the closet floor (since it was uncovered for once), put all the stuff back in the closet and put my tools away.

Finally, I was ready to make the bed! But then I saw that the mattress cover was all dirty where I'd laid one of the closet doors on it. So I pulled the mattress cover off and put it in the wash.

The mattress cover should be dry by this evening. (I don't have a clothes dryer, I hang stuff on the line to dry.) At least I started early for a change. Usually, I'm about to go to bed when I suddenly decide I have to change the sheets right now! Wouldn't have been fun to have the door fall off its track when I'm about to go to bed.

Anyway, I was half-planning to go to Home Depot to pick up some lumber today, but I think I've done my labor for the day. Just going to go to the library to pick up some books, then sit around reading and eating chocolate.
duskpeterson: The lowercased letters D and P, joined together (Default)
[personal profile] duskpeterson
*


Battle 5/11 (The Three Lands: Breached Boundaries #4) [Patreon fiction]

The best way to hide may be in plain sight. Or perhaps not.

In order to reach refuge in the north, Serva must travel through a land controlled by the Prince of Daxis, who has already risked war in order to capture her. Outside Daxis, Serva may be able to claim the title of daughter of the King of Daxis, but here in Daxis she is merely an escaped slave, in danger from her cousin the heir.

Her escort is untested, while her own knowledge of Daxion geography is slight. Matters worsen when the Prince extends his reach to catch them on the very border of their crossing. . . .


"It would be best to learn the lay of the enemy."

Rated T. Boilerplate warning for all my stories + my rating system.

All chapters in this novel. The first chapter is free. By donating as little as one dollar a month, you can receive a weekly serialization of my fiction, as well as all my new e-books.

Permalink.

I wonder how many came back?

Apr. 20th, 2019 04:04 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
We must have walked past this particular wall numerous time but never noticed what treasures it hid. Apparently American GIs waiting to embark for D-day (and later in 1944 by the look of it) left their names. The wall has crumbled badly and is being digitally recorded before the names go entirely.

IMG_1665

IMG_1648.JPG

IMG_1652

IMG_1655

IMG_1664

IMG_6932

A Day Off

Apr. 19th, 2019 10:46 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
We always get off Good Friday rather than Easter Monday. They say it's so people can go to church but that means we have class Easter monday and their rationale is, everyone is local. That is true. But regardless, I had the day off.

I spent it at the library and/or The Spot on Main coffee shop. I feel very comfortable there. I got some stuff written. That was good. Wish I could do that at home. It would be cheaper.

I have to admit I'm not in love with What We Do in Shadows. The thing that amuses me the most is actually the energy vampire and imagining that this was a lot like the day to day living of other vampires, namely seeing Nadja as Darla and Laszlo as Angelus. Now that makes it funny to me but overall, eh.

However, I think the opening song really fits. I went looking for it and was honestly shocked to learn it's a folk song from 1966!


As a reminder, if anyone wants an advanced reader copy of my SF novella, let me know.


And to all my Jewish friends, have a great Passover

Cat enclosure progress #2

Apr. 19th, 2019 04:04 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
Untitled

Got the verticals and ledger up today.

Told myself, it will be a quick and easy day today! Just three 2x4s to attach to the house!

Ha. First of all, got a late-ish start, and the sun was already around the back of the house, making it extra-tiring to work in the sun. Then, there was the fact that the verticals had to have six-inch-long, 1/2 inch deep notches cut out of them so they'd fit over the battens on the skirting.

Untitled

They were done by cutting 1/2 inch deep cuts every 1/4 inch or so across the boards with a circular saw, then knocking out the "teeth" and smoothing the notch with a chisel and hammer. Not terribly complicated, but lots of work.

The 2x4s were attached to the siding with screws, but the screws tended to pull loose from the siding. The plans suggest caulking the boards to the house, which I wasn't sure I would do, but now I think I will. It will help "glue" the boards to the wall.

Anyway, step 2 is done (except for the caulk, but I need to go to Home Depot and get some, so I'll pick that up when I go get the lumber for the next step).


In other news, I went out and bought a new humidifier yesterday, because I thought my old one was broken. (I use a humidifier at night because the air here is so dry, it makes my nose bleed pretty much all summer long if I don't. I had put it away during the winter, when all the rain and snow made it more humid, but started using it again a couple of weeks ago.) It stopped working during the night, even though I'd just filled it with water. So when I was in town, I checked at Kmart to see what humidifiers they had. Saw one that had a projector on top that would shine stars onto the ceiling. Fairly expensive, but what the heck, looked like fun, so I went ahead and bought it. Then I got home and checked my old humidifier again and saw that the water tank wasn't set onto the base properly, so the water couldn't drain into the base, and that's why it had shut off. Adjusted the tank and it promptly started to work again.

So now I have two humidifiers. Well, I guess I can keep one as a spare just in case. I mean, I haven't even opened the box of the new one, I suppose I could return it, but... it has stars!

RL Update 2

Apr. 19th, 2019 04:09 pm
hpstrangelove: (Default)
[personal profile] hpstrangelove
Thank you for all your prayers and well wishes.

Mom passed away peacefully this afternoon at 12:24pm.

I was fortunate to have been holding her hand until the end. She was never in any pain, and most of the family was able to get by and spend quality time with her during the past 10 days she was here in hospice.

Again, thank you to my on-line family for your thoughts and prayers.

Elaine

Well that was better

Apr. 18th, 2019 08:41 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Today was the research presentations for our students. My student won the presidential award and the student choice award though lost the school of science award for her failure to do a damn control. But still she did hard work (and has done the controls now but too late for inclusion on the poster). I am proud of what she did, control aside, and there is more work to do from this. I do think we can get some sort of paper out of it.

Me and my coworkers went for wine after it. I do like my winery so I ended up buying a bottle of wine I've not tasted (a sweet white) because it always sells out. I'm like yoink, mine.


And now I have to a) finish that goddamn Christmas story (last scene but I am underwhelmed by this thing) and b) look at my own ARC.

Also I've now filled the expansion SD card. WTF? Dear self stop stock piling the damn free ebooks. You couldn't read this many in a life time.

Off to Eastercon

Apr. 18th, 2019 04:59 pm
julesjones: (Default)
[personal profile] julesjones
Since it was three weeks since I'd last seen the inside of A&E and the "Oh **** I need to get off this med right now" side effect had tailed off a week after that, I decided at the weekend that it's safe to go to Eastercon. I've been on the current second med before in combination with the primary migraine med (although not at the current high dose of primary) so I know what it normally does by way of side-effects, and while they can be unpleasant after a while they have never made me feel like A&E would be A Really Good Idea. So I should be there after lunch tomorrow.

What you find when backing up

Apr. 18th, 2019 12:25 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Windows 7 is heading for defunct status (and desktop computer is showing its age in other ways) so I've been backing up all files. So many great 'team' photos!

IMG_6286 DSCF2573

DSCF7637 DSCF7830

ClexaCon writeup

Apr. 17th, 2019 08:57 pm
catherineldf: (Default)
[personal profile] catherineldf
And we get double posts tonight because I skipped a week.

I spent a long weekend in Las Vegas at ClexaCon, which was an adventure. I flew out on Sun Country on Thursday morning in a blizzard, which was fun. 50 mph winds, snow, ice, other airlines canceling right and left, but Sun Country is hardcore and they just kept de-icing until it was determined that we could go (about 5 hours late).  It was pretty bumpy but we made it. By then, I’d been up since 3AM my time and just wanted to get to Tropicana quickly. I foolishly took a cab (the nice fans that I met traveling to ClexaCon from MN took a rideshare) and we both arrived at the same time. Then we waited and waited and waited. The hotel let us all hang out in the checkout line for 45 minutes before more staff arrived. Then there was something of a scramble to connect with my table assistant, Theresa, to get my badge, dump luggage and deal with FedEx, which charged an extra “resort fee” just for being there, on top a $200 shipping bill because I didn’t ship “early” enough (I thought 4 days would suffice). But they had my box of books and my table banner and we were able to get set up without too much pain. Then I went off to dinner with Rachel Gold, Andi Marquette and Rachel’s friend Patrice. This was followed by an hour or so of lounging in the lobby with Andi and sharing publisher gossip, writing careers, conventions and other fun stuff.
 
Friday was an amazing sales day. I gather it was not the case for many of the other vendors, but for our table, it was terrific. We had Queen of Swords Press titles, Blind Eye Books titles and Rachel Gold titles and everyone sold at least a few books. Lots of cards distributed, lots of newsletter signups, all good. We did a decent job of spelling each other and it was a fine, if overly long, day (the dealer’s area is open 10-12 hours per day, for 3 days running). I wandered upstairs, took a hot bath, read and collapsed. Saturday was about the same, only somewhat less so. I bought Season 1 of Wynonna Earp and some comics, chatted with a bunch of folks and sold books like mad. The hours continued to be pretty grueling. There were also many, many artist tables with similar items for sale and no signage for the vendor area, and no good way for the artists to make their table stand out, for the most part. This became significant as the day wore on. I noticed that foot traffic was definitely down from last year, but sales for us were better than last year. Sunday, foot traffic was nil, sales were very low and a lot of people were not happy on many levels for many sound reasons. In short, it was a very uneven con to vend at. Other publishers had not great weekends, but I think the comics folks had the worst of it.
 
I had already had some issues with programming, who after insisting on adding an author to a panel we had already set up, failed to ask either her or the rest of us when we were available. They then proceeded to schedule the panel in the last timeslot so that it overlapped with the close-out of the Dealer’s Room on Sunday (where closing out early is discouraged, taxes have to be paid in cash and Theresa would have had to deal with packing up if I wasn’t around). When I asked them to consider changing it, I was informed that I “could just close up early.” Given that tables cost over $300  and last year’s Sunday sales were pretty decent, I opted to not appear on the panel. The author they were so eager to add? Left Saturday due to a scheduling conflict. The moderator was never informed that half the panel had bailed, just to make things exciting.
 
And speaking of exciting, there was a Saturday night dance party, scheduled to run until 4AM. I was on the 4th floor. At 2AM, I got blasted out of bed by a wall of dance music. From the first floor. Neither the air conditioning nor ear plugs made a dent in the volume. In desperation, I called the Tropicana Hotel desk to ask if they could get the volume turned down (apparently on the lower floors, beds were shaking from the noise) and was informed that they had “no control” over the event space (which is in in fact part of the hotel) and that lots of other people were calling so maybe they’d send somebody by to ask about turning things down a bit. Reader, this did not happen and I thought a whole lot less of both the Tropicana and ClexaCon as I lay awake for 2 solid hours before finally falling asleep for another hour before having to get back up again for another long day in the vending area.
 
In the meantime, other vendors had a much rougher weekend. It turns out that there was a leadership shakeup between this year and last, which was definitely better organized. Lots of things went awry and responses ranged from the clueless to the disrespectful and people are pretty pissed about it. There were apparently differences in what people were charged for tables, no signage for the vendor area and other significant issues that made this a very expensive con to travel to, but not make money at. Sales wise, we did well, but it certainly didn’t cover all our costs. We worked the table in shifts, which helped with the ridiculously long hours. But it still sucked doing it on too little sleep, which was the case for all of us. Would I go back? It depends. I’d like to because I sold books and met some nice people and I had some good chats, but this year’s event has taken a huge physical toll on me and the various and sundry semi-spontaneous fees (FedEx, noted above for example, plus The Tropicana’s charges) meant that I spent more than I budgeted for. So very much a mixed bag. At the same time, it is a unique event that focuses on queer women and allies in fandom and I hope they get their shit together and that there are more of these to come. Apparently 6 members of the leadership team resigned in the last two days so it’s not too clear what will happen next. Sigh. Now to rest up and prep for the
UntitledTown Book Festival in  Green Bay in a week and a half.
 

catherineldf: (Default)
[personal profile] catherineldf


Queen of Swords Press Title #8! I feel a sense of accomplishment and such! :-)
Available at Queen of Swords Press and a bunch of other places. It's terrific, just saying.


cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Because today's meeting made it pretty clear that I might not have a job come fall. We need to convince them why not only Biology is worth saving but so is CHemistry because one can't survive without the other. And the data the board is making a decision on is faulty (two years they said we had NO graduates which isn't even true so where are they getting this I have no idea.

So cross your fingers they tell us one way or the other soon so I can decide if I'm buying tickets or not, because if it's not going to be a job then I have to save every damn dime. I hate this. The stress is killing us. As my writing friends have noticed, seeing how bad I've looked all month.

But if you want to help me out a little, I have a few ARCs for my next release, a SF novella that you can read more about here. If you'd like one I can make that happen with the caveat that you review it on Amazon for me. Thanks






And thanks for nothing The Magicians. It was a bad enough day without this finale. (granted with magic it can change next year but still)

Cat enclosure progress

Apr. 17th, 2019 02:48 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
My latest project is to build a cat enclosure on the back side of the house with entry from the window in the cat room. There's not a whole lot of room back there, being next to the driveway, so I decided a 3' x 6' very tall catio would work best. I'm using the plan for the 3 x 6 Haven from CatioSpaces.com.

The first step was to get some patio pavers and lay out a foundation for the enclosure to sit on:

Untitled

I dug down so the pavers would be nearly even with the ground, and leveled them all so the cat enclosure would sit on level ground.

Next step was the base of the enclosure, which was supposed to be one row of treated 4x4s around the front and sides of the enclosure. I had to cut notches into the end of the 4x4s where they attached to the house, so they'd fit over the 2x3 that runs along the bottom of the skirting.

Untitled

The next step was to install 2x4 verticals and ledger to the wall to attach the catio walls and roof to. First complication! I'd misread how the height of the enclosure was measured, and assumed it would be tall enough to fit over the window, but when I put the 2x4 on top of the base and held it up to the wall, the top was an inch or so beneath the top of the window. So then I had to stop and figure out what to do. I didn't want to alter the size of the enclosure walls, because they were designed to use uncut 8-foot 2x4s, and specific widths of wire mesh, and it would have taken a lot of figuring and no doubt mistakes to recalculate everything. I also didn't want to try to figure out how to make the roof ledger fit across the window, because that would involve either removing the top frame of the window or using narrower ledger boards, and I didn't care for either of those options. I don't want to end up altering the house itself, in case I decide to take down or move the cat enclosure later, so I didn't want to remove any of the window pieces. And a narrower ledger board would be less sturdy for holding the roof up.

Finally decided that the best option would be to just build up the base, with another row of 4x4s and one row of 2x4s. That would raise the base by about 5 inches, giving the ledger room to clear the window. Went to the Home Depot on Monday to buy two more 4x4s and two treated 2x4s and went out today to work on adding them to the base.

Next complication: went to use my big miter saw to cut the 4x4s, and it didn't work. Pulled the trigger and nothing happened. At first, I thought my miter saw was dead, which would have been a big pain, because I didn't really want to have to replace it. It's a professional-quality tool, big enough for a 15" blade, although it's only got a 12" blade in it now, and it's great for cutting big chunks of lumber. It belonged to my brother, and he gave it to me when he moved back East. I've no idea how much it would cost to replace, but I suspect it would be quite expensive. But I figured first I ought to make sure if the problem was with the saw or maybe the huge extension cord I use to plug it in was broken (need a 100-foot cord, because the only outdoor electrical outlets I have are on the opposite corner of the house from where I have the miter saw set up). So I plugged another tool into the cord, and it didn't work, either. Ha! So it's not my miter saw. Then I plugged in a different cord... and the tools still didn't work.

So it's not the tools, and not the cord — that leaves the outlet itself. It's a GFI outlet with test/reset buttons, so I reset it and it started working again! Yay! I was able to carry on and cut the pieces to build up the base.

Untitled

Now, the base is done. I balanced one of the vertical 2x4s on top of the base to verify that it reaches just slightly above the window.

Next step is to install the verticals and ledger! Then I can start working on the enclosure walls & roof. Hope to have this finished before the weather gets too hot to work outside. I'm sure my kitties will enjoy being able to hang out in the fresh air.

What Is Your Essence?

Apr. 17th, 2019 01:34 pm
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech

Who is the Real You when all the distractions, fears, and “shoulda/coulda/woulda” factors of life are stripped away?


Do you know?


Would you like to find out?


The “essence conversation” is one of my favorite coaching tools. It’s a roughly hour-and-a-half conversation that distills your true core, your essence, to five guiding concepts. Sometimes I find that people are afraid of what they might find out… but in practice I have never once had a client discover that they were anything but amazing.


By the end of the process, we come up with five words that describe your real self. (Why five? No magic secret, just that people are generally too complex for fewer than that, and more than that creates mental clutter.) Everyone’s words are different. My essence words, as distilled by my own coach using this same tool, are:



  • exuberance

  • play

  • trust

  • connection

  • heart


When I’m stuck trying to make a decision, or working on a difficult problem, or even just feel like something is “off,” I return to my essence to help me choose what to do. I also find, when things are not working, that I’ve probably been choosing from ego or survival mechanism instead of essence — but that’s a topic for another post.


I’ve done dozens of essence conversations, and it’s always amazing. It’s where I like to start the coaching process, to create a powerful foundation for success. I also don’t charge for essence conversations, so if you’d like a taste of coaching and learn the power it can bring to your life, it’s a great way to get your feet wet. E-mail me today to schedule a call!

Women in SF&F Month 2019

Apr. 17th, 2019 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Since 2012, Kristen from Fantasy Cafe has been running Women in SF&F Month every April, gathering together guest posts from a wide range of authors and bloggers. This year, she invited me to contribute. You can catch me over there talking about fae YA and why Jodi McAlister’s Valentine series is awesome.

Kristen also maintains a recommendation list of SFF books written by women. I highly recommend heading over to take a look through it. Perhaps there are some recommendations of your own you’d like to make!

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

lucifuge5: (Chewie Goose)
[personal profile] lucifuge5
One hundred years later, here I am with my thoughts about Captain Marvel. \o?

I'll begin by saying that this is a v. squeeful post. To the absolute shock of no one, I fucking LURVED this movie. So, you know, prepare yourselves for 3500 words and change about this film. Woot!

For the non-spoiler crowd, I do think this is deffo a movie worth checking out. If you're a casual moviegoer, the film has action and humor galore. If you're into the MCU, there are plenty of things to keep you entertained (including random callbacks/Easter eggs).

It's not a perfect film--there are deffo scenes where the film stumbles a little. And yet, it's one I recommend going to see at the theater. Obvs, there are other places where you can watch it, but the cinematography is so expansive that, given the chance, going to see it on the biggest screen possible is the better option. IMAX is a good choice, 3D not so much. I've seen it twice on 2D and have no complaints about the quality of the film.

In some ways, this film is a return to 'classic Marvel movie' in the sense that the movie leans a bit heavily on comedy vs. other properties. It also has a deep-rooted optimism common in MCU films. Still, alongside all the ass kicking that happens, the film does include smaller plot threads that show how the directors come from the independent movie scene.

And now I gotta go to SPOILER-O-RAMA because there are tons of things I want to talk about )
So, did you liked it? Didn't like it? Wish there had been more [insert trope or character here]? Tell meee!

Still trying to process

Apr. 15th, 2019 10:18 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
the loss of all that history, culture, architecture and art. It makes you cry to think of it. (And to those critics who tell me men don't cry didn't see my male coworkers today)

As for me here, I'm also trying to process things with my upcoming story where I keep making edits that improve things but manage to introduce new issues to the story. So kudos to me head desk

Also I'm on day 3 of a migraine while staring down writing deadlines and the last two weeks of school. Yippee.

Notre-Dame Cathedral

Apr. 15th, 2019 08:36 pm
la_samtyr: grapes to be harvested (Dorwinion grapes)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
je suis dévasté

People at the University were crying

Apr. 15th, 2019 04:58 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
As Notre-Dame burns.

Am heartbroken.
the_gneech: (Default)
[personal profile] the_gneech

Welcome to the new digs! I recently completed working with Braid Creative to bring together twenty years of writing, comics, and coaching under one banner, and I am very pleased with the results.


Which makes all the more ridiculous the drama I had to push myself through to get to it. >.>


Because Braid is a professional agency, they charge Professional Agency Prices — prices that set off my survival mechanism big time when they were first quoted to me. I had seen their work and I knew that they were who I wanted but… y’know… money scary. First I put off contacting them at all. Then I contacted them and backed out in a panic two weeks later when I had a slow clients month.


And then I noticed: backing out of getting the branding overhaul that I knew I wanted, made getting clients harder instead of easier. I had effectively told myself and the Universe that I wasn’t worth the investment, and if I didn’t believe I was, why should a potential client? From there, it was just a nudge away from going into a tailspin of suck, resignation, and beating myself up.


I am pleased to report, dear reader, that I didn’t go into that tailspin… but it was a near thing. Basically it took the support of my own coach, my other coachy friends, and a certain amount of mule-headed stubbornness to decide that no, I wanted to invest in myself, and especially that I was worth investing in. So after what felt like a year but was more like three or four days and angst about it, I found the money, put it in my business account so I wouldn’t use it for anything else, and called the agency to say “Let’s do this thing.”


Now the good news? I’m actually glad the delay happened, because in the intervening time I also had some major breakthroughs around figuring out what I actually wanted from my brand. Where I had originally just planned to create a look and feel for BringingTheAwesome.com, I realized that this was a great opportunity to create an integrated new me — which is in fact Braid’s specialty. If I hadn’t had my little freakout, I would have been wasting their integration expertise by just telling part of the story.


So be grateful for your breakdowns! They may just be leading you to better things in the end!

The Division Bell Mystery

Apr. 15th, 2019 12:15 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
All finished now and while it wasn't a great book in terms of the mystery itself, it was well written and the insight into the Civil Service (very much forerunning 'Yes Minister') and into the way parliament was run was amusing. The House of Commons of 1932 is much the same as the House of Commons of today.

The only downer was the main character, Robert West, who was simply a bit wet. And who, instead of ending up with either his old pal Don Shaw (with whom the mutual attraction was striking) or the nice MP Gracie Richards, became besotted with a dull, self-centred, adulterous cow of a character.

Witerly Ways

Apr. 14th, 2019 10:18 pm
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I'm in such a bad mood, I almost didn't want to do this. Everyone harps on how bad FB is (and yeah it is) but my god Twitter is so full of hate, I'd not be surprised to see demons suckling on it. I'm shocked at how many of my friends are on it so often. I come away from it after just a few minutes nigh suicidal (and I honestly mean that. I need to go center myself so I don't spiral out after looking at it). At this point i try to just post what I need to as an author, look for book covers and animals posts and never every look at anything else.

It got long so under a cut it goes )

So yeah a bit of a heavy post this week. Have some links to make up for it.

From around the web

Writing Your Own Life Story

What Are Your Readers Thinking?

15 Sure-Fire Ways to Lose Your Readers

Collecting and Editing Our Short Works for a Book-Length Manuscript This interested me

From Betty

Finessing a Story

Book Marketing Tips Introverts Will Love

On the Importance of Having a Community And this is why I spend 2 hours on the road a couple times a month to be with my community and why I miss them when they're not there

Biting the Bullet — Tracking my Writing Habit

The Differences Between a Crime Novel, Mystery Novel and Thriller Novel

Six Common Villain Mistakes, and How to Avoid Them A good one (and the caption under Kylo's pic slayed me, so true)

Burnout – A Feminist Book about Stress: An Interview with Emily and Amelia Nagoski This is good for all of us

How to Create Conflict by Discovering Your Character’s Objects of Desire

What's the Problem? The Four Classic Conflict Types

Writing Tips: 8 Ways To Take Your Book From Good To Great


What is Flash Fiction?


Six Unsatisfying Character Arcs

Sunday

Apr. 14th, 2019 05:42 pm
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
I had a dream this morning that I was hanging around the house when I suddenly realized that it was Sunday and I wanted to go to temple and I looked at the clock and it was already 10:15 AM, which is when I like to leave for temple, and I was nowhere near ready to go—I'd planned to shower, but there was no time, I just had to throw on some clothes and head out as quickly as I could. So I was hurriedly grabbing a clean shirt and trying to unbutton the one I had on, which was inexplicably complicated as things are in dreams, and I left my room for some reason and then went back and my room was empty—all the furniture had disappeared. Which is the sort of thing that happens in dreams, and usually your mind just goes with it, but this time I thought, well, that's not right. I must be having a dream, because things don't just disappear like that. So maybe I'm not late for temple after all, I just need to wake up. So I started hitting myself in the head as hard as I could, trying to wake myself up, and it hurt but I didn't wake up, so I just went ahead trying to change my shirt.

Then, finally, I did wake up, and I was in bed and it was only 7 AM. Plenty of time, so I went back to sleep for an hour or so and did get to take a shower and get myself off to temple on time.

I specially wanted to go today, because we were having the Mountain Spirit ceremony, which is something I think is unique to Korean Buddhism. After the regular practice, we go outside under a canopy, with a table set up for an altar, and we do another practice with a special chant. I've never been able to chant along with it because the printout is in Korean characters only, with no Romanization. I know a little Korean, but not anywhere near enough to follow a chant in Korean characters. Last time we had the ceremony, which is only held three or four times a year, I snuck home a copy of the chant so I could look up the characters and Romanize them. I made a printout for myself with the original plus the Roman characters underneath, and made four copies to take with me—one for myself, and a few extras in case any other non-Koreans happened to come. There's a woman who drives up from Lancaster sometimes, and she came today along with her daughter, so the extras came in handy. And finally, I was able to do the chant along with everyone else!

Wireless by Alex Acks

Apr. 15th, 2019 08:00 am
calissa: A low angle photo of a book with a pair of glasses sitting on top. (Mt TBR)
[personal profile] calissa

Published: April 2019 by Queen of Swords Press
Format reviewed: E-book (epub), 268 pages
Series: The Adventures of Captain Ramos and Her Valiant Crew #2
Genres: Science fiction, alternate history, steampunk
Source: Publisher
Available: Publisher (electronic only) ~ Amazon (AU, CA, UK, US) ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository ~ Booktopia ~ Indiebound ~ Kobo ~ Smashwords

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Captain Marta Ramos, the most dangerous pirate in the Duchy of Denver, is back and she and Simms are up to their goggles in trouble. Has General del Toro found a way to use the Infected as an army and can Captain Ramos work with her arch enemy, Colonel Geoffrey Douglas, to stop him? Can Simms join forces with the devious Deliah Nimowitz on a jailbreak, some sewer misadventures AND a high society soiree involving tea, a heist and sausages? And what about the Rail King and his nefarious plans? Can Captain Ramos and her crew stop him before he completes his latest dastardly deed, one that may result in Deliah’s demise? Check out the next installment of the exciting adventures of Captain Ramos and her valiant crew to find out more!

Wireless picks up where Murder on the Titania and Other Steam-Powered Adventures with 3 linked novellas, all set in or near the Duchy of Denver, in an American West that never was.

I was absolutely delighted by Murder on the Titania when I read it last year, so I jumped on the chance to review the sequel Wireless and More Steam-Powered Adventures. This proved to be a wise move because I found Wireless to be equally enthralling.

The book comprises of three novellas, making the structure of the book somewhat different to Murder on the Titania. Where the former was mostly discrete short stories, the novellas in Wireless are more tightly linked. I found this very satisfying because it allowed a deeper dive not only into the characters and their relationships, but also into the world itself and how it may be changing. It does mean that the stories lose a little of the self-contained, Holmes-inspired mystery structure, but I found this a feature rather than a bug, and there remained enough mystery to keep me curious and engaged.

The cast of this series has always been reasonably diverse; one of the things I liked most about Murder on the Titania was its inversion of the racist and sexist stereotypes present in the work of Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Wireless builds on that by introducing the Native Americans of this alternate America. They play a prominent role in the first story, Blood at Elk Creek, in which it becomes apparent that the nefarious General del Toro is testing out a way to control the mindless Infected by directing them to attack Lakota settlements. While I’m not the best person to judge, the representation of Native Americans seemed to be handled with respect, showing them neither as mystical guides or as ignorant savages (except when they choose to play to that stereotype for their own reasons). Colonel Geoffrey does hold some bigoted views, but he is nicely balanced out by Captain Ramos, who is more open-minded and willing to make friends. This is reinforced in Wireless, where we see a Native American engineer stepping in as a permanent part of the crew.

The first and last stories are more thematically similar, sharing a thread about powerful men abusing their power. Blood at Elk Creek looks at this in a broader way, being more focused the oppression of a group through the lens of racism. Wireless brings it down to a more individual level. There are overtones of sexism that it touches on, but it also recognises men are likewise victims of abuse and toxic relationships. It digs into shame and the ways the victims can be made complicit in the abuse of others. This was handled in a way I felt was sensitive and sympathetic. Both stories touch on issues of justice, looking at where society fails in that regard and whether an individual can step in when the system fails.

The second story, Do Shut Up, Mister Simms, is a light-hearted foil to the more serious stories. Running concurrently with Blood at Elk Creek, it shows how Mister Simms has his hands full keeping the crew out of trouble while Captain Ramos is away. When one of the crew is caught and imprisoned, he’s forced to call upon the help of Deliah Nimowitz, a cunning lady with her own agenda and a soft spot for Captain Ramos. It touches on the unconventional relationship between Deliah and Captain Ramos, a thread that then becomes important to Wireless.

I mentioned in my review of Murder on the Titania that I would have liked to see a bit more of the crew. Wireless in particular delivers on this, diving into the backstory of one of the crew. It was also delightful to see Mister Simms renew his acquaintance with Chippy, Deliah’s dog, and the two make for an adorable comedic duo.

The action sequences throughout the collection are tense and well-paced, keeping me glued to the page.

Overall, Wireless and More Steam-Powered Adventures was as fun and engaging as its predecessor. I will be keeping an eye for more adventures from Captain Ramos and her valiant crew in the future.

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

duskpeterson: The lowercased letters D and P, joined together (Default)
[personal profile] duskpeterson
*


Battle 4/11 (The Three Lands: Breached Boundaries #4) [Patreon fiction]

The best way to hide may be in plain sight. Or perhaps not.

In order to reach refuge in the north, Serva must travel through a land controlled by the Prince of Daxis, who has already risked war in order to capture her. Outside Daxis, Serva may be able to claim the title of daughter of the King of Daxis, but here in Daxis she is merely an escaped slave, in danger from her cousin the heir.

Her escort is untested, while her own knowledge of Daxion geography is slight. Matters worsen when the Prince extends his reach to catch them on the very border of their crossing. . . .


"Even as I spoke, the man turned away."

Rated T. Boilerplate warning for all my stories + my rating system.

All chapters in this novel. The first chapter is free. By donating as little as one dollar a month, you can receive a weekly serialization of my fiction, as well as all my new e-books.

Permalink.




Initiation 8/8 (Life Prison: Hell's Messenger #3) [AO3 fiction, members-locked]

In Mip's most notorious life prison, Death appears in a strange disguise.

It had seemed for a while that the plan would work: a bold conspiracy by a group of idealistic prisoners and sympathetic guards to stop abuse at Mercy Prison. Then betrayal occurs, and Tyrrell finds himself in a new life prison, with new rules to be learned. No longer is he in a position of leadership; now he is surrounded by men who question his most fundamental values.

He has new allies as well: fellow prisoners who like what they see in him, a healer who refuses to accept current conditions, and guards who may or may not provide the help that the prisoners desperately need. But Hell's messenger, Death, visits Compassion Prison, keeping his face hidden until it is almost too late for Tyrrell to recognize his touch.


"'Take care, man. Take care what alliances you make here.'"

Hell's Messenger ends with a historical note.


Rated M. Boilerplate warning for all my stories + my rating system.

All chapters in this novel.

Permalink.




News


The final volume in the Life Prison series will be Justice's Hammer, which will switch back and forth between events in Mercy Life Prison and Compassion Life Prison. I'm still in the midst of writing that volume, so I don't have a publication date yet.

I'm in the final stage of editing Death Mask (The Three Lands) and was planning to start serializing it again next week, but guess what? I poked my eye again. Same eye, which had just finished healing.

The final stage of editing requires me to read teeny-tiny typefaces (*glares at Pro Writing Aid, an otherwise lovely piece of editing software which is not accessible*), so I'm going to have to delay till my eye is up to that. In the meantime, you can enjoy Breached Boundaries, which is set roughly twenty years after Death Mask and has an overlapping cast of characters.

Rainbow snippets goes retro!

Apr. 14th, 2019 07:57 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Going back to my first ever published novel, Lessons in Love. Now onto its third publisher!

Orlando knew that he shouldn't have come to watch the rugby. He should have gone to the dentist and had his teeth pulled out, it would have been less painful.

It wasn't as if he could complain that the game was bad; it was a very exciting match, good end-to-end stuff and plenty of points scored. It wasn't bad weather, having turned much milder than it had been the last month, and the sun was high enough in the sky to have the suggestion of heat about it.

The problem was the bloody stupid way that Jonty Stewart threw himself headlong into every tackle. Bodies crunching together, stomach-churning sounds of bone and muscle in collision—that was what was so distressing. And he always seemed to emerge from the melee with a daft grin and, usually, the ball.

More excerpts at the Rainbow snippets group.

Don't forget the unsung heroes

Apr. 14th, 2019 12:28 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
This weekend is full of wall-to-wall sport - the Masters, the Chinese Grand prix, IPL cricket and women's FA cup semis - so it's easy for some things to get buried. Let's celebrate Max Whitlock getting European gold on the pommel and Ellie Downie picking up two medals (I remember when we were so bad at gymnastics that would have been a huge achievement). Also a cracking win for England men's deaf rugby team against the Welsh.

In other news, my flowering cherry is out:

IMG_1637

and Winchester was looking particularly nice this morning:

IMG_1636
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
I did have some nice moments though. I went for some forest bathing. I was either a week late or a week too early but some of the flowers I had hoped to see hiking around Lake Katharine weren't there but I saw a lot of lovely ones. I'll post them soon.

I spent some time writing in the coffee shop but most of the day was spent editing something that should have been done weeks ago. I'm feeling pretty frustrated at both myself and at the timing of it all. I know I have bad habits in writing. I though I did a good job fixing it. I did not.

Now with a novella/short story like this written fast on a tight deadline, I can see how things get past me. But it shouldn't be found this late in the game.

From here on out, when I have time, I'm going to make a spread sheet of filter and weasel words to go through before submission. It'll end up stronger but the two I'm doing now I won't have the time for it. Sigh.

It does however make me feel like a bad writer.

2019 Ditmar Award Nominations

Apr. 14th, 2019 08:06 am
calissa: A black and white photo of a large, dark teapot and a small Chinese teacup with a fish painted on the side (Tea)
[personal profile] calissa

The preliminary shortlists for the 2019 Ditmar Awards were announced yesterday afternoon. I’m honoured to be nominated for Best Fan Publication in Any Medium for the Earl Grey Editing blog and Best New Talent for my story New Berth from Mother of Invention. I was also delighted to see Mother of Invention nominated for Best Collected Work.

Thank you so much to everyone who nominated me. It’s an excellent ballot including too many friends to name and I’m so pleased to be standing alongside them.

The Ditmar Awards will be presented in Melbourne at Continuum, which runs 7-10 June. If you’re attending, please come and say hi!

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterest

Mirrored from Earl Grey Editing.

Fancy a free story or two?

Apr. 13th, 2019 08:13 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
I've been dead remiss recently about putting the free stories I send to my newsletter peeps onto my website but I shall amend that over the next few months. I have the third part of the shifter story to share and also another one of those daft Shakespeare inspired Cambridge Fellows shorts.

These will go onto my free story page for general consumption. You can sign up for my newsletter by using the link on any page of my website so the next time I have freebies to share you get first dibs!

And So It Goes

Apr. 12th, 2019 11:39 pm
la_samtyr: asian art drawing of sleeping cat (Default)
[personal profile] la_samtyr
This actually happened on Tuesday but it didn't save and I only noticed it now. Oooops. :(

So, today I was shopping @ the EE, and decided to pick up a copy of the Bohemian Rhapsody soundtrack. Easy, right? Well, while I was looking at the various CDs, I realized that I didn't recognize very many of the artists. Until I noticed there was a CD near the bottom, and I saw a very pale person with loads of very curly hair wearing what looked like a teal suit. My thought was: "Cool! I didn't know Weird Al had a new cd out!" I picked it up and when I looked closer, I realized that it wasn't Weird Al but someone else entirely; Alyssa Cara, maybe? Still not sure who but I think I need new glasses. (And I was very disappointed to find out it wasn't Weird Al after all. ::sniffles::)

today didn't go as planned

Apr. 13th, 2019 12:13 am
cornerofmadness: (Default)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
And it's kinda gross so I'll hide it under a cut )


And to my surprise I came home to find out a) I have a few more edits to do on my novella that I wasn't expecting and b) finally got the cover stuff the same time the pre-order went up so, so much for doing a cover reveal. I'll link you all up over the weekend.

And I was so tired today, I forgot what lab I was supposed to be in and I put my cold lunch in the microwave instead of the fridge. yay me.

Songs

Apr. 12th, 2019 04:06 pm
misslucyjane: (i made you a mixtape)
[personal profile] misslucyjane
From [community profile] thefridayfive

1. What are the five oldest songs on your iPod, computer, or phone (whatever device you store your music on)?
Hey Ya!, Outkast
Use Me, Bill Withers
I Need Love, L.L. Cool J.
I Walk the Line, Johnny Cash
Tubthumping, Chumbawamba

2. And the five newest songs?
I just recently migrated my music collection to a new computer (as well as most of my other files, naturally) so the dates are little skewed for the non-iTunes store stuff.

What I wouldn't do, A Fine Frenzy
A Stranger, A Perfect Circle
Take On me, a-Ha
Rapture, A. A. Bondy
I Can See the Pines Are Dancing, A. A. Bondy

3. What’s your favorite song to sing along to?
"Part of Your World" from "The Little Mermaid." It's fun to belt. Oh! Or "Honey Honey," the version from the Mamma Mia! soundtrack. Also fun to belt along with.

4. What’s the first song you ever memorized?
Oh, I was so tiny... Some church song, probably.

5. What song is your current earworm?
The theme music from "Doki Doki Literature Club."

Latest newsletter

Apr. 12th, 2019 04:56 pm
charlie_cochrane: (Default)
[personal profile] charlie_cochrane
Apologies for the gap in normal newsletter production. We’ve been on a cruise, getting blown away (figuratively) by the amazing volcanic topography of the Canary Islands and blown away (literally) as we passed through a windy Bay of Biscay. We saw many a dolphin and seabird, a couple of whales and more volcanic lava fields than you could shake a fist at.

News

Don’t forget the literary romance quiz in Portsmouth the week after next, with a panel of very interesting romantic novelists (and me!) to follow – tickets available at the door.



I’m delighted to return from holidays to find an excellent review for Old Sins at the Mystery People site, Promoting Crime.

This is a series that gets better all the time and this book is excellent, with an interesting plot, lively dialogue and engaging protagonists. The author has only one problem, she has made Campbell so endearing that he is going to have to be the longest-lived dog in fictional history, because his fans will never allow her to kill him off.

This week’s bargains are Lessons in Love and Lessons in Desire. There’s always a bargain to be had with one or other of the new Endeavour editions of the Cambridge Fellows series.

Today’s excerpt is from one of my darker works, Broke Deep. This is a story of unexpected love found against a backdrop of family crisis and features a leading man whose mother has dementia and who, after a series of strange dreams, fears he’s going the same way.

Excerpt:
Late morning, the doorbell went off with its horribly insistent tone. Morgan smoothed his hair and put on a smile—the best smile he could manage on a day when he’d woken at five o’clock in the morning and not managed to get back to sleep. The fact his waking had interrupted an erotic dream involving James hadn’t made things any easier.
He was bloody glad he’d made some effort on his appearance when he glimpsed the vision of hotness through the hall window. This had to be a lost surfer boy or someone who’d come to the coast to find himself a job as a lifeguard and got hopelessly off track. It couldn’t be Dominic, because blokes like this didn’t usually knock on the door of Cadoc for any legitimate reason.
Morgan hesitated, hand on the doorknob. If real life was like a gay romance book, this would be Dominic and they’d bond over a discussion of James, one full of shared hatred for the bloke. The next minute they’d be taking a romantic walk on the beach, and maybe tonight they’d drag each other up the stairs and . . .
The doorbell rang again, and Morgan realised he was still standing fantasising. He opened the door in a rush just as “surfer boy who might be Dominic” had turned to go back down the path.
“Sorry I took so long,” Morgan said, as brightly as he could manage.
“I thought there was nobody in.” Surfer Boy smiled, which reignited memories of last night’s dream. Morgan squirmed. “There’s a guy here to see you, only he’s gone off to take some pictures, and he asked me to come over and say he’d arrived.” Surfer boy waved airily at a bright-red hire car, parked next to the gate.
“Are you a friend of his?” Surely this couldn’t be Dominic’s boyfriend, although his twin brother would be a good outcome.
“No. We met on the plane, and when he heard where I was heading, he said he’d give me a lift so I didn’t have to wait for a bus. My girlfriend lives up on the main road.” Surfer Boy grinned, looking stupidly handsome, more so for being unavailable. “Stroke of luck on my part. Eh?”
“It worked out well.” Morgan sighed as he scanned the line of the hedge. “Has your chauffeur gone walkabout?”
“Probably. He seems a bit of a fanatic; he’s got a bee in his bonnet about ships or timbers or whatever. I wasn’t paying a lot of attention. I bet he’s seen an interesting piece of wood and gone to take a sample or whatever.” Surfer Boy—straight, unavailable surfer boy—smiled again, then adjusted his backpack. “Right. Unless I want a dose of earache, I’d better be on my way. Bye.” He turned on his heels and walked off down the path towards the gate, duty done.
“Bye,” Morgan answered, watching him go and wondering why life was never like gay romance books.

And finally – caves created by lava flow that made my inner science nerd get very excited.



Charlie

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

April 2019

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Apr. 22nd, 2019 12:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios