reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
To give to everyone the chance to enjoy the spotlight of their honorable mentions, I decided to post a little of them every day until October 1, when I will announce the finalists of the 2013 Rainbow Awards. An Honorable Mention means a judge really liked the book, so much they gave it a rate above 36 out of 40; an honorable mention doesn't necessarily mean the book is a finalist, you have to wait the actual announcement on October 1 to know that. So please, enjoy this year Honorable Mentions (in no particular order, 5 out of 5 post), and congratulations to all authors!


Badges are designed especially for the Rainbow Awards by Paul Richmond

AJ Rose – Safeword

Feliz: Thank you so much for giving me this book to read! A great reading experience and a joy to read! Beautiful prose. Gripping, compelling action scenes. I'd really really love to see this book among this year's winners. I think it deserves it.

Jon: I enjoyed the first one so much! And this one too.

Publisher: Voodoo Lily Press (June 1, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Safeword (Power Exchange)

Ally Blue - Hell's End

Doug: Hell's End built a captivating world right from the start. Her main characters were well developed, the sex was hot, and the action kept me riveted for the duration. I couldn't put the book down. Hell's End was a full package of greatness.

Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (May 21, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Hell's End (Hellscape)

Amy Lane - Racing for the Sun

Carrie Ann: This is one of Amy Lane's darker titles. The characters grab a hold of you and don't let go, even when they do something so wrong for the right reasons.

Vicktor: Racing for the Sun is a beautiful, heartbreaking story about facing and overcoming the past and what lengths we will go to protect the people we love. Ace and Sonny are both broken characters who cling to each other in the service and make plans for a future together. The emotions, the need and the yearning that arcs between these two characters reached out of my iPad and gripped me in a stronghold that wouldn't let go until I got to the amazing conclusion of the story, where I was promptly asking for more of Sonny and Ace. Amy Lane did an amazing job with these characters and with this story and even hours after finishing this story my heart is still tingling with the effect of the emotions evoked in this story.


Sar: The buildup towards the finale is great. Lots of emotional charge. It's steady and has a story that's very relatable. I actually know someone who is planning on doing this exact thing when they get out of the military (though it's with their wife), so the story is entirely plausible. Great use of the modern world. Nice to see a setting that's very different from a lot of what's I've been reading. Great use of reader's imagination to fill the gaps. Also, nice car detail where appropriate! It's nice to have two former army folk as the target of the story. Great details on what their past was and while I'm not a huge fan of street racing, I'm glad to see that it's a topic of the story! Very unique! Good length, great dialogue, LOVE the dialogue! It's one of the things that makes Amy's books that much more enjoyable.

Paperback: 260 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (April 26, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 162380647X
ISBN-13: 978-1623806477
Amazon: Racing for the Sun
Amazon Kindle: Racing for the Sun

Andrew Grey - Love Comes Silently

Katie: This was a poignant, highly enjoyable read, and touched me deeply. The characters were strong, particularly the main character, Ken, and the difficult fight against his daughter's leukemia was heart-wrenching. I would have liked to see a deeper POV, and a little more of Patrick's emotions. The return of the ex did not seem to have any real impact on the story, and could have been eliminated or more fully developed. Nonetheless, the overall impact of the story was profoundly moving.

Kari: Patrick and Ken were so vivid. Excellent, just excellent. This story made me cry! :-)

Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (October 1, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623800080
ISBN-13: 978-1623800086
Amazon: Love Comes Silently
Amazon Kindle: Love Comes Silently

Ann Lister - Fall For Me

April: Best book I've read in quite a while.

Theresa: I love when I pick up a book and want to cheer for a couple form the start. This was one of those times. Even when one half makes a stupid mistake that normally would make you think it would (and should) be over, I found myself hoping they come to their senses...

Paperback: 406 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 27, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1489580174
ISBN-13: 978-1489580177
Amazon: Fall For Me (The Rock Gods)
Amazon Kindle: Fall For Me (The Rock Gods)

Ava Burquette - Held in Dreams

Laura: I truly enjoyed this entry. As a reader I felt myself traveling with the heroine. Emotional ties were well executed and I felt as though I was in the world watching it melt away as the characters traveled from scene to scene. The writing keeps the reader engaged and made this a difficult book to put down. An impossible book to stop thinking of.

Paperback: 344 pages
Publisher: Fantastic Fiction Publishing (May 26, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622341023
ISBN-13: 978-1622341023
Amazon: Held in Dreams
Amazon Kindle: Held in Dreams

Beth Burnett - Andy's Song

Henriette: Oh this was perfect! Very well written, thoughtful, witty. I have to look up if there is more by this author! Well done.

Paperback: 302 pages
Publisher: Sapphire Books Publishing (April 15, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1939062144
ISBN-13: 978-1939062147
Amazon: Andy's Song
Amazon Kindle: Andy's Song

Caren J. Werlinger - In This Small Spot

Tammy: This book is FANTASTIC from start to finish! All of the characters in this book were very well written and offered so much for the story itself. I will not forget them or the story anytime soon. This story actually brought tears to my eyes. Caren has a true gift.

Mariana: This is a moving, emotional story. A story of true love and devotion. A telling that affected me emotionally and spiritually. A beautifully written story of dedication, loyalty and courage; it is about how faith and spirit can move a human heart. It has been a privilege to read this book.

Paperback: 322 pages
Publisher: Corgyn Publishing (May 13, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0988650150
ISBN-13: 978-0988650152
Amazon: In This Small Spot
Amazon Kindle: In This Small Spot

Catherine Ryan Hyde - Where We Belong

Fernanda: This is a really good book. I have loved every single page and haven't been able to put the book down till the very end, because it's truly captivating. All the character are well built, and the protagonist is so right for this story. Is very refreshing to read a book where you can see that the author have make sure to develop so carefully the story, and where everything seem to be so well balanced. It's a story where the reader can enter totally right from the start and that allowed to feel every single sentiment that it's portrait.

Publisher CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (June 26, 2013)
Language English
ISBN-10 1490536388
ISBN-13 978-1490536385
Amazon: Where We Belong

Donna K. Ford - Healing Hearts

Christina: I thought the characters connected nicely and grew closer at a good pace. It didn't feel rushed at all. I loved the setting as well. The scenery descriptions were beautiful and the characters were easy to become attached to.

Tammy: Lovely story, kept my interest throughout. I liked all of the main characters in the story, each with their own story to tell.


Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (May 14, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602828776
ISBN-13: 978-1602828773
Amazon: Healing Hearts
Amazon Kindle: Healing Hearts

Feliz Faber – Thorns

Michele: This one has it all: fascinating, diverse characters, engaging plot and detailed scenery.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press; 1 edition (July 25, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Thorns

Huston Piner - My Life as a Myth

Cherie: This book should be required reading for every high school student, assigned of the first day of school in their freshman year. Wow. I honestly believe it could do a great deal to eradicate bullying of every sort, and might well help more than one scared, lonely and hurting kid survive long enough to understand that people aren't just mouthing platitudes when they say it will get better. Frankly, the book is so well written that even the kids on the other side of the bullying equation would be drawn in, and learn what it's like to be the kid bullied. It might well save them too.

Publisher Prizm (May 22, 2013)
Language English
ISBN-10 1610404815
ISBN-13 978-1610404815
Amazon: My Life as a Myth
Amazon Kindle: My Life as a Myth

Jack L. Pyke - Don't

Melissa: To be up front with my biases, I personally almost never read BDSM, and I never read menage - with a couple notable exceptions, these categories just largely don't appeal to me. Having said that - I loved this book. Absolutely loved it. The characters, the plot reversals, the mystery, everything appealed to me and everything was just so well done. The intricacies of the plot were handled masterfully and each character was vividly drawn and distinct, even Gray who by his nature remained more of a cypher than the other two protagonists. The secondary characters were also appealing - I particularly enjoyed bratty Sam very much. This was a lovely surprise - it's added to the two or three other books I count as my all-time favorite reads from my three years of judging the awards.

Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: ForbiddenFiction (January 3, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622340817
ISBN-13: 978-1622340811
Amazon: Don't...: A Gay BDSM Thriller
Amazon Kindle: Don't...: A Gay BDSM Thriller

Jay Bell - Something Like Winter

Caroline: This was one of the best books I've read recently. It was not only a romance, but a very touching, gripping and multi-dimentional story. I felt for all the characters and I kept thinking about them long after I finished reading. Highly recomended!!! (this one and the rest of the series as well)

Paperback: 374 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (October 23, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1479261726
ISBN-13: 978-1479261727
Amazon: Something Like Winter
Amazon Kindle: Something Like Winter

Johnny Townsend - The Mormon Victorian Society

Tom: This collection of short stories featuring gay Mormon characters slammed in the face from the first page, wrestled my heart and mind to the floor, and left me panting and wanting more by the end. Johnny Townsend has created so many memorable characters in such few pages. I went weeks thinking about this book. It truly touched me.

Paperback: 258 pages
Publisher: Booklocker.com, Inc. (March 15, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626463417
ISBN-13: 978-1626463417
Amazon: The Mormon Victorian Society
Amazon Kindle: The Mormon Victorian Society

Julian Griffith - Love Continuance and Increasing

Vicktor: I found myself riveted by this story from the very beginning until the end. The characters was engaging, the setting beautifully described and the plot intriguing and entertaining from the first word. With it being a historical I admit that I was looking for inconsistencies and errors in language and attire and yet, none existed. I found myself so enthralled with the main characters, their backstory and where the story was taking them that I forgot I was reading it for review and not just pure enjoyment. I was sad to see the book end as I wanted more, but even the ending was beautifully written and flowed gracefully with the rest of the story.

Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Storm Moon Press LLC (August 2, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627570225
ISBN-13: 978-1627570220
Amazon: Love Continuance and Increasing
Amazon Kindle: Love Continuance and Increasing

Kate McMurray - Show and Tell

Laura: An original plot line that kept me reading to the last page. The settings and characters were beautifully described and obviously well thought out. Well written and thoroughly enjoyable.

Publisher: Loose Id LLC (January 7, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Show and Tell

L.A. Witt - Conduct Unbecoming

Barbara: I really enjoyed this novel. Characterization was really excellent, and Ms. Witt has an amusing, witty writing style that I enjoyed. Both men were fully drawn, and not stereotypical. Witt’s description of the island of Okinawa was extremely descriptive and almost another character in the book.

Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (October 23, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: Conduct Unbecoming

L.T. Marie - Secrets and Shadows

Tammy: LOVED this book. Enthralled from beginning to end. The main characters were awesome and written so I felt I was with them in the story. The author is getting better with each book she writes.

Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (June 18, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602828806
ISBN-13: 978-1602828803
Amazon: Secrets and Shadows
Amazon Kindle: Secrets and Shadows

Linda Kay Silva - Magical Echo

Gene: I loved this one. I was pulled right into the world of this book, and I could see and hear the characters. Vivid writing. A great read.

Paperback: 326 pages
Publisher: Sapphire Books Publishing (May 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1939062039
ISBN-13: 978-1939062031
Amazon: Magical Echo
Amazon Kindle: Magical Echo

M.A. Church - Shadows in the Night

Helen: Easy to say that I loved everything about this book, so much so that I stopped reading halfway through so I could order a print copy.

Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 12, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623806410
ISBN-13: 978-1623806415
Amazon: Shadows in the Night
Amazon Kindle: Shadows in the Night

Marguerite Labbe - Make Me Whole

Sar: Museum came alive. Good use of reader imagination to fill gaps. Characters very lively for the most part. Real people, real problems, real quandaries. Supernatural element added nice twist to problems. Organic dialogue is LOVELY, LOVELY, LOVELY.

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press; 1 edition (August 25, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Make Me Whole

Michael J. Bowler - Children of the Knight

Jo Ann: Mr. Bowers plot was well thought out; intricate and very detailed. The setting, modern day LA, was the perfect backdrop for this novel. King Arthur and the Children were brought to life; the children were children with all the hopes and fears coming through brilliantly. The adults were believable with all the fallacies, arrogance, fears, love and pride showing. His writing captures and keeps you. The story-line flows, fast paced but does not leave you questioning. All around if I could make this mandatory reading for all young adults and adults I would in a heartbeat. The premise of this novel is much needed in today’s society.

Paperback: 344 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (June 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623806550
ISBN-13: 978-1623806552
Amazon: Children of the Knight
Amazon Kindle: Children of the Knight

P.J. Trebelhorn - Trusting Tomorrow

Tammy: Great story arc. Loved the relationship between Logan and Brooke, two very guarded women. Great supporting characters as well! PJ hones her craft with each new story she writes!

Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (August 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602828911
ISBN-13: 978-1602828919
Amazon: Trusting Tomorrow

Rebekah Weatherspoon - Blacker than blue

Fernanda: This is a really good paranormal book, I could not stop reading the book until I finished it!!! This for me was really a page turning. I love Rebekah Weatherspoon style and she can grab my attention with the first sentence and keep me in the zone till the end. This series keep be better and better and that make me want to read the next one as soon as it will be available. Great story, fabulous characters, perfect balance of all the different emotions during the journey!

Series: Vampire Sorority Sisters (Book 2)
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (January 8, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602827745
ISBN-13: 978-1602827745
Amazon: Blacker Than Blue: Vampire Sorority Sisters Book 2
Amazon Kindle: Blacker Than Blue: Vampire Sorority Sisters Book 2

Sassafras Lowrey - Leather Ever After

Mariana: This collection of stories was pretty good overall. Some were truly erotic and very sexy.... others were complete kink. And while some felt as if they were too short, overall they were all very well done.

Paperback: 348 pages
Publisher: Ravenous Romance (January 3, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1607779285
ISBN-13: 978-1607779285
Amazon: Leather Ever After: An Anthology of Kinky Fairy Tales
Amazon Kindle: Leather Ever After: An Anthology of Kinky Fairy Tales

Stephanie Motes - After the Dawn

Lori: This is an author to keep an eye on. She has a very strong voice and i hope to see her books in the future!

Paperback: 356 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (September 30, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1475147341
ISBN-13: 978-1475147346
Amazon: After the Dawn
Amazon Kindle: After the Dawn

Sunny Moraine & Lisa Soem - Line and Orbit

Ryan: I think what I found most interesting...and entertaining...about this book was how the strong romance was worked into such an unpredictable storyline filled with so much emotion. The writing is very solid, the characters are complicated, and each page kept me wondering what would happen next.

Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (February 5, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Line and Orbit

Tara Lain - The Aloysius Tales 3, Cataclysmic Shift

Theresa: A truly original approach, the plot was well written and thoroughly enjoyable. The characters were well written and developed nicely. An engaging read and interesting world.

Publisher: Loose Id LLC (July 23, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: The Aloysius Tales 3: Cataclysmic Shift

Trin Denise - Hallowed Be Thy Name

Deb: Good book. Top rate.

Paperback: 334 pages
Publisher: Ragz Books USA (May 6, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1938988191
ISBN-13: 978-1938988196
Amazon: Hallowed Be Thy Name
Amazon Kindle: Hallowed Be Thy Name

Viki Lyn - Sins of Lust

Sandra: Marvellous setting, great descriptions and a very unique plot.

Publisher: Ellora's Cave Publishing Inc. (November 28, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: Sins of Lust

Z.A. Maxfield - My Cowboy Heart

Jo Ann: Wow, let me just say wow. Both men have non inspiring childhoods, but deal with it in their own way. Malloy an Introvert, and Crispin an Extrovert. They clash but begin to blend perfectly. I loved Malloy coming to terms with his feeling, losing but getting new dreams. Kudos ZAM!!!

Publisher: InterMix (August 20, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: My Cowboy Heart: (Intermix)

Angela Peach – 47

Myranda: A really excellent, tightly-plotted whodunit/murder mystery that was equal parts thrilling, legitimately scary, and horrific enough to satisfy me, the horror writer. My biggest complaint is that some of the plot twistiness at the end comes out of left field. Closed door murder mystery in SPAAAAAAAAAAACE! I have no quarrel with this. I’m a huuuuuuuuuuuuge fan of sci fi/space opera and I loved the way the author wove together strands of time and plot to bring everything to a satisfying conclusion.

Paperback: 134 pages
Publisher: AuthorHouseUK
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1477225749
ISBN-13: 978-1477225745
Amazon: 47
Amazon Kindle: 47

Steve Berman - Where Thy Dark Eye Glances

Myranda: Anthology of stories by Poe reimagined, ranging from the elegantly delicious to just plain delicious. Delightful in any case.

Paperback: 324 pages
Publisher: Lethe Press (July 15, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590213343
ISBN-13: 978-1590213346
Amazon: Where thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe
Amazon Kindle: Where thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe

Jacob Z. Flores - The Gifted One

Myranda: Excellent, well-realized, and very pleasantly character-driven. Despite the fact that I am weary unto death of semi-supernatural love triangles, I really *liked* all the characters in this book. Matthew is the sort of character I wanted to bring home and serve cookies to while smiting anything that might do him harm.

Paperback: 350 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (April 5, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623804620
ISBN-13: 978-1623804626
Amazon: The Gifted One
Amazon Kindle: The Gifted One

Riley LaShea - Black Forest, Kingdoms Fall

Myranda: I cannot express in words alone how much I loved this book, and unfortunately this is not the appropriate medium for interpretive dance. The retelling of classic fables and fairy tales is one of my very favorite things in the world and this book not only does that, it takes the theme a step further. Altogether excellent.

Series: Black Forest Trilogy
Paperback: 466 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (July 18, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1490992596
ISBN-13: 978-1490992594
Amazon: Black Forest: Kingdoms Fall (Black Forest Trilogy)
Amazon Kindle: Black Forest: Kingdoms Fall (Black Forest Trilogy)

Shira Anthony - Stealing the Wind

Myranda: Pirates! And mermen! And pirates who are also mermen!

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press; 1 edition (August 11, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Stealing the Wind (Mermen of Ea)

Dorien Grey - Dante's Circle

Lee: Well-paced and plotted, nice variety in age and personality among the gay characters. A strong continuation of an interesting series.

Paperback: 204 pages
Publisher: Zumaya Boundless
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1612710654
ISBN-13: 978-1612710655
Amazon: Dante's Circle
Amazon Kindle: Dante's Circle

Lori L. Lake - A Very Public Eye

Lee: Good story, realistic portrayal of a person learning to live with a physical disability, and Lake makes this characterization a seamless part of an absorbing story. Brava!

Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Quest by RCE (November 10, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1619290766
ISBN-13: 978-1619290761
Amazon: A Very Public Eye: Book Two in The Public Eye Mystery Series
Amazon Kindle: A Very Public Eye: Book Two in The Public Eye Mystery Series

Andrea Bramhall - Ladyfish

Henriette: Great story, great characters, sweet romance --- and the next time readers might wish for more British colouring to make the read even more enjoyable.

Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (October 16, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602827478
ISBN-13: 978-1602827479
Amazon: Ladyfish
Amazon Kindle: Ladyfish

J.P. Bowie - Highland Vampire Vengeance

Kari: Vampire brothers and a hot cop -- what's not to like? :-)

Publisher: MLR Press
Amazon Kindle: Highland Vampire Vengeance

Sara Alva - Social Skills

Jane: Ooh, this was a bitter sweet tale of finding love and coming out to friends and family, of trying to live up to the expectations of others and losing one's self along the way. Jock stories aren't usually my thing but this was very enjoyable because of how the main character, the socially awkward Connor, grew throughout the story. The writing flowed effortlessly.

Paperback: 356 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (March 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 148238745X
ISBN-13: 978-1482387452
Amazon: Social Skills
Amazon Kindle: Social Skills

Larry Benjamin - Damaged Angels

Tim: The Characters are vibrant and the description in the writing was Sublime. Over all though, Damaged Angels is an excellent anthology.

Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Beaten Track Publishing (April 8, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1909192198
ISBN-13: 978-1909192195
Amazon: Damaged Angels
Amazon Kindle: Damaged Angels

Kay Berrisford - Bound for the Forest

Katie: I enjoyed reading this immensely. The connection between Scarlet and Melmoth was scorching hot, and their entwined destinies well painted. I did find their continued hostility a little drawn out, but it was well-repaid with the sparks between them.

Paperback: 284 pages
Publisher: Loose Id, LLC (September 10, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1611186544
ISBN-13: 978-1611186543
Amazon: Bound for the Forest
Amazon Kindle: Bound for the Forest

George Seaton - Saving Skylar Hand

Ethan: I enjoyed this book immensely. The characters developed through childhood, into puberty and beyond and it all felt real, and I found all the characters relatable. The author has a beautiful writing style and knack for providing a sense of setting w/o needing no overkill in details - that being said, I could have personally handled a little more. But I did find myself able to see the story unfolding inside my head w/o having to work to fill in the blanks. I thoroughly enjoyed both protags. A simple story, which I can totally appreciate as well as a little bittersweet here and there, nice.

Katie: This was a deeply moving, profound look at the coming-of-age and maturation of two young men learning about life and love together.

Publisher: MLR Press (Dec 13, 2012)
Amazon Kindle: Saving Skylar Hand

Kim Baldwin & Xenia Alexiou - The Gemini Deception

Cherie: Though I'm not normally a big fan of mystery/thrillers, this one really drew me in. Are there flaws? Yes, but the writing, plot, setting and characters are so strong they pulled me past them with scarcely a chance to notice.

Paperback: 360 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (April 16, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602828679
ISBN-13: 978-1602828674
Amazon: The Gemini Deception (Elite Operatives)
Amazon Kindle: The Gemini Deception (Elite Operatives)

Terri & Vince Cook - Allies And Angels

Cherie: Well written, fascinating look at the journey of one family through the difficult and largely uncharted terrain of cis-gender parents raising a transgender child. Powerful stuff. Angels and Allies should be a must read, especially for healthcare providers.

Paperback: 228 pages
Publisher: Hallowed Birch Publishing (July 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0989402703
ISBN-13: 978-0989402705
Amazon: Allies & Angels: A Memoir of Our Family's Transition

Rick R. Reed - Raining Men

Amie: Good read, among the highest rate for this round.

Paperback: 314 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (May 31, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623807220
ISBN-13: 978-1623807221
Amazon: Raining Men
Amazon Kindle: Raining Men

Ben Monopoli - Homo Action Love Story

Michelle: This was such a surprising book. I was very apprehensive at the beginning – firstly the title is very misleading, serving more as a tongue in cheek synopsis than an indicator of the type of story being told. It also opening with a sex scene, followed by 'and then I woke up'  - together, I was prepared to not like this book, and expected I would drop it fast. And yet – it was one of my favourites this year. From paint balling to contemporary commentary on gadgetry, technology and enviro/politics realised on the high seas, it shot us with big colourful dollops of humour, glamour, and yet still had insightful moments of being in one's early twenties: being an adult with adult responsibilities, but not always with the wisdom and experience to be able to handle things the best way possible. But that's not to say this turns in anyway a serious novel. The end, whilst logical and satisfying, does suffer a little bit because of what could be seen as a very fickle protagonist. Again, this makes sense given who the character is, and all is forgiven at the end, but it is hard to empathise with someone who comes across as shallow and self-absorbed for so long.

Paperback: 362 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (November 25, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1481083635
ISBN-13: 978-1481083638
Amazon: Homo Action Love Story!: A tall tale
Amazon Kindle: Homo Action Love Story!: A tall tale

Isabella Carter - Dragon Slayer

Michelle: I love a bit of forced marriage in my crack fiction, but the set-up in Dragon Slayer is put together well enough that it is elevated beyond a fic trope. There's typos, which always throws me in a published work.  Ingram's motivations and integrity are usually well developed, but there are a couple of moments where it felt clunky – not enough to expose the story's undergarments, the scaffolding holding up the stage, but the set did wobble a little for me. The plot was satifying, logical, but not predictable, so it was an entertaining ride. A few things though – the ending felt rushed – we ought to have seen more of Ingram's fabled strategy at work, also, the story with Roderick falls apart too easily, and we don't see enough of him strong arming his castle for me to believe how Ingram was treated, nor that everyone else let it happen so. Mallory is a satisfying enigma – enough personality whilst remaining separate and intriguing. Would happily read the sequel!

Publisher: Less Than Three Press; 1 edition (June 18, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Dragon Slayer
From: (Anonymous)
Dear Elisa:

I can't tell you how honored I am to be even mentioned among so many great authors and wonderful books! My Life as a Myth was a labor of love to write and I'm truly thankful for the kind words said about it.

Love,

Huston

Date: 2013-09-30 03:10 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
What an HONOR! I'm thrilled, thank you.

ZAM

Thank you! So Delighted!

Date: 2013-09-30 03:44 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] taralain
Thank you Elisa and judges! I'm so honored to be in this great company. : )

Thank you for this honor!

Date: 2013-10-01 11:34 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Elisa and judges,

Thank you for this honorable mention! We are so grateful ... and hopeful that our story will not only be an enjoyable read, but will help open hearts and minds.

Much love and appreciation,
Terri (and Vince) Cook
Co-authors of Allies & Angels: A memoir of our family's transition

Thank you

Date: 2013-10-01 05:31 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Very happy to make this list. Thanks to Elisa and judges, and to Myranda for such inspirational words.

Riley

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

August 2014

S M T W T F S
      1 2
3 4 5 6 789
10111213141516
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 28th, 2014 07:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios