reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Gay Contemporary Romance
Out of Hiding by Mia Kerick
Paperback: 180 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 13, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627986499
ISBN-13: 978-1627986496
Amazon: Out of Hiding
Amazon Kindle: Out of Hiding

"What a refreshing read! I fell right into this book. Philippe was vividly written, with all his flaws and anxiety and love. All the messy bits that make a person a person. And Dario was sweet and snarky and hot, all wrapped into one. I also adore that the women in this book are well-rounded, likable characters, from Philippe's niece (who is the perfect mix of emotions and maturity for 17. So well done.) to Lauren, the single mom. The book gently tackled PTSD and anxiety and self discovery with grace and style. Well done."

Lesbian Mystery / Thriller
Just Intuition (Intuition Series) by Makenzi Fisk
Series: Intuition Series
Paperback: 228 pages
Publisher: Mischievous Books (May 31, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0993808700
ISBN-13: 978-0993808708
Amazon: Just Intuition (Intuition Series)
Amazon Kindle: Just Intuition (Intuition Series)

"The way the author sucked me into the thrilling, dangerous, mysterious world still has me tingling. I stayed up until 4am reading this book because I had to know if my suspicions were correct. The setting was magnificently described, until I could feel the heat from the flames, taste the cold beer, and winced with every destruction and attack. The characters were beautifully fleshed out to the point where I the reader felt sucked into the mind of the villain, feeling the darkness crawling around in my soul and the glee whenever someone was hurt or killed. The fact that I immediately went to find the sequel so I could purchase it for myself, I think, shows the immense quality of the author's talent and work and shows why Makenzi Fisk deserves a score of 40/40."

Gay Mystery / Thriller
Relief Valve (The Plumber's Mate) by JL Merrow
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (March 25, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Relief Valve (The Plumber's Mate)

"I loved this story, and soon got swept up in its pages. The characters were three dimensional and I got invested in them quickly. Loved the British feel of it, which came across with the language and setting.  The first person narration worked well for the story, and the writing style flowed smoothly and was a joy to read."

Gay Romantic Comedy
Caught! (The Shamwell Tales) by JL Merrow
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (August 19, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Caught! (The Shamwell Tales)

"Loved this one. As a fellow Brit, it was so refreshing to read a story where everything felt so familiar - and I didn't need to Google anything! I thought Robert was an adorable character with real issues, and Sean was a sexy, ginger, leather clad hunk. A little more smex would have been the icing on the cake, but overall a wonderful read."

Gay Romantic Comedy
On Archimedes Street by Jefferson Parrish
Paperback: 350 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (November 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627982248
ISBN-13: 978-1627982245
Amazon: On Archimedes Street
Amazon Kindle: On Archimedes Street

"I really enjoyed the book, though there are bits in it that made me really quite angry. It's definitely a book that I couldn't read and put aside, it kept echoing and I still think about it, days after I finished reading it. And for a debut novel, that's really something. Kudos to the author! if a reader is looking for a romance, they will be disappointed. This is not a romance. It's a portrait of people, so many different kinds of people, some of whom fall in love with each other. If that's what a reader is looking for, this book is 10/10. Awesome characters. Brilliant, multifaceted, these characters are not really the “rounded” type of characters that literary studies tell you good fictional characters are, but full of edges and angles. "

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
The Genealogy of Understanding by Daniel M. Jaffe
Paperback: 326 pages
Publisher: Lethe Press (May 5, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590211804
ISBN-13: 978-1590211809
Amazon: The Genealogy of Understanding
Amazon Kindle: The Genealogy of Understanding

"Every time I pick up a Lethe Press title, I know it will be outstanding. This book was no exception. A series of intricately connected short stories, each one a shining gem of human experience. The stories are beautifully written, imaginatively arranged, and spiritually and emotionally rich. A collection to be savored."

Gay Anthology / Erotica
Sex Ray Specs by Sessha Batto
Paperback: 188 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (March 1, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1496065344
ISBN-13: 978-1496065346
Amazon: Sex Ray Specs
Amazon Kindle: Sex Ray Specs

"A great collection. Many of the stories were touching, some dark, some troubling, but all were made to touch something in the reader. Erotic? Yes. Sexy, funny, horrifying, good, great. I really liked this collection."

Gay Contemporary Romance
Rasputin's Kiss (Investigating Love Book 1) by L.M. Somerton
Series: Investigating Love
Paperback: 220 pages
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing (March 7, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1781847509
ISBN-13: 978-1781847503
Amazon: Rasputin's Kiss (Investigating Love Book 1)
Amazon Kindle: Rasputin's Kiss (Investigating Love Book 1)

"Really liked the characters. So much so, I've bought the 2nd book. Convincing settings and attention to detail with police procedure. Engaging writing style."

"Enjoyed the main characters. Good story."

Gay Contemporary Romance
The Mating of Michael (Sex in Seattle Book 3) by Eli Easton
Paperback: 240 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (June 30, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1632160153
ISBN-13: 978-1632160157
Amazon: The Mating of Michael (Sex in Seattle Book 3)
Amazon Kindle: The Mating of Michael (Sex in Seattle Book 3)

"This was a fantastically well written book. The plot unfolded naturally. Not once did anything feel forced or manipulated. The flow of it engaging the reader and drawing them deeper. The writing, honestly this is the type of writing that sends me to the bookstore (or more likely online because I can't wait that long) for the next book. It's engaging, enthralling, purely addicting. This was a book that had to be taken away so that I would remember to sleep. This book is a gem that I thoroughly enjoyed. It had heart, it had spirit, it had dark twists, and it had joy. The excerpts from the characters writing added another layer of depth and emotion to an already outstanding novel. I connected with it in a way that is rare for books to hold these days."

"This was just a joy to read. Characters who seemed so real that you’re vested in them early on. Excellent book."

Lesbian Erotica
At Her Feet by Rebekah Weatherspoon
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (September 17, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829489
ISBN-13: 978-1602829480
Amazon: At Her Feet
Amazon Kindle: At Her Feet

"I really liked this book.  Subject matter not familiar to me, very interesting.  Not your typical cookie cutter romance.  Loved both the MC's, both sincere and invested in their relationship."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

September 2017

S M T W T F S
      1 2
345 6 7 8 9
10 11 1213 14 1516
171819 20212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 25th, 2017 06:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios