reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Lesbian Romantic Comedy
That Certain Something by Clare Ashton
Paperback: 238 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (May 26, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1499331185
ISBN-13: 978-1499331189
Amazon: That Certain Something
Amazon Kindle: That Certain Something

"Loved this romance, light hearted and witty!!  Found myself laughing out loud at certain points.  Pia and Cate are great together.  This is my first story from this author and it won't be my last."

Transgender Young Adult
Lessons on Destroying the World by Gene Gant
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (February 6, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627987924
ISBN-13: 978-1627987929
Amazon: Lessons on Destroying the World
Amazon Kindle: Lessons on Destroying the World

"Catchy intro pulls you into the story."

Gay Fantasy
Measure of Peace (Measure of Devotion Trilogy Book 3) by Caethes Faron
Paperback: 326 pages
Publisher: Branwen Press (June 18, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0615850200
ISBN-13: 978-0615850207
Amazon: Measure of Peace (Measure of Devotion Trilogy Book 3)
Amazon Kindle: Measure of Peace (Measure of Devotion Trilogy Book 3)

"I didn't have the pleasure of reading the first 2 books, but honestly, that wasn't necessary, as the descriptions of this very dystopian society that still uses slavery as a way of life, both in the 'city' and the 'country', came alive in this author's book.  Two very beautiful men, one freed from slavery, the other, once the owner of the former slave, their families, and how their quest for freedom, for family, for love shapes their lives and the lives around them.  All for the good.  There is loss, but what is gained is immeasurable."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Wide Asleep (Tales from Ballena Beach Book 3) by Nick Nolan
Series: Tales from Ballena Beach Book 3 (Book 3)
Paperback: 407 pages
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (February 4, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1477817972
ISBN-13: 978-1477817971
Amazon: Wide Asleep (Tales from Ballena Beach Book 3)
Amazon Kindle: Wide Asleep (Tales from Ballena Beach Book 3)

"In terms of plot, this one was all over the place, but in a good way. It pulled in bits and pieces of several genres to freshen up some classic tropes from sci-fi and romance. I was thoroughly engaged by the characters and the story. "

Lesbian Historical Romance
First Tango in Paris by Shelley Thrasher
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (July 15, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626390738
ISBN-13: 978-1626390737
Amazon : First Tango in Paris
Amazon Kindle: First Tango in Paris

"Love story with a lot of great historical references.  Loved seeing Paris again through the author's eyes.  She is spot on."

Lesbian Historical Romance
The Gardener of Aria Manor by A.L. Duncan
Paperback: 228 pages
Publisher: Yellow Rose by RCE (March 28, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1619291584
ISBN-13: 978-1619291584
Amazon: The Gardener of Aria Manor
Amazon Kindle: The Gardener of Aria Manor

"Great debut novel.  Easy read, likeable characters and good thoughtful plot."

Gay Young Adult
Pukawiss the Outcast by Jay Jordan Hawke
Paperback: 204 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press (April 16, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627986480
ISBN-13: 978-1627986489
Amazon: Pukawiss the Outcast
Amazon Kindle: Pukawiss the Outcast

"This story was wonderfully crafted. The characters and settings were rich. The plot, while  a little slow in places, was wonderful, and I really enjoyed the author's writing style. I had the joy of going through basic training with a young lady from Lac du Flambeau, and she taught me many things about her culture. That is something that has stayed with me for 16 years. Reading this story, I could hear her voice. It was wonderful. "

Gay Contemporary Romance
Chasing the Dragon by Kate Sherwood
Paperback: 230 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (August 4, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1632160315
ISBN-13: 978-1632160317
Amazon: Chasing the Dragon
Amazon Kindle: Chasing the Dragon

"I liked the fact that the plot became more complex as each part of the story developed (it is in 3 parts). At first it just seemed like it was going to be a pleasant romance between a hardened ex soldier and a young hooker, then it broadened into a convoluted 'spy versus spy' type plot and it wasn't obvious who was telling the truth and who was deceiving the 2 MCs. Also, recovering from heroin addiction was added to the mix which added depth to the characterisation of the young hooker. All in all a very enjoyable read and I will read it again. The description setting of the remote cabin and the woods really drew me into Hunter's private world away from his job. "

Lesbian Anthology / Romantic Comedy
Three by Ann McMan
Paperback: 162 pages
Publisher: Bedazzled Ink Publishing Company (December 16, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1939562422
ISBN-13: 978-1939562425
Amazon : Three
Amazon Kindle: Three

"With each of the three stories (Nevermore—A Christmas Tree Grows In Baltimore—Blended Families) I was right there with the characters. I enjoyed all of them. I’d recommend this one... could be because I really like Christmas as well."

Bisexual Erotic Romance
My Brother's Lover (Twin Ties 1) by Lynn Kelling
Series: Twin Ties
Paperback: 284 pages
Publisher: Fantastic Fiction Publishing (February 1, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1622341449
ISBN-13: 978-1622341443
Amazon: My Brother's Lover (Twin Ties 1)
Amazon Kindle: My Brother's Lover (Twin Ties 1)

"She's brilliant. 40. Wow. Lynn Kelling certainly delivers on the promise to not shy away from the dark spaces of life in her writing. My Brother’s Keeper is a complex, finely nuanced tour de force that will creep into your psyche with the delicate tread of a Shaolin monk treading a span of rice paper without leaving a single footprint. The story is almost unbearably erotic, titillating, dizzying, and has a fine, stinging bite of discomfort. I highly recommend this read. It will move you."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
345 67 89
10111213141516
17 181920212223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Feb. 19th, 2019 09:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios