reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Gay Young Adult
Asher's Fault by Elizabeth Wheeler

Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (September 17, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829829
ISBN-13: 978-1602829824
Amazon: Asher’s Fault
Amazon Kindle: Asher’s Fault

"The theme of this book is authenticity, and the author gives nothing less. It's a deep, moving, complex story written in lively, accessible prose. The story unfolds to reveal unexpected--but in retrospect unavoidable--truths, and the characters simply leap off the page. A beautiful, moving, truly honest book."

"Asher grows from an oblivious young man who is unable to see below the surface (even though he sees more of the surface than others) into an insightful person who understands people as they actually are. He develops the ability to see the complexity of people and the situations around him. We see real grief with the numbness, rage, guilt and blame that families feel while experiencing this upheaval in their lives."

Transgender Young Adult
Beloved Pilgrim by Christopher Hawthorne Moss

Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press; 2 edition (January 23, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627985387
ISBN-13: 978-1627985383
Amazon: Beloved Pilgrim
Amazon Kindle: Beloved Pilgrim

"Extremely well written tale of transgender youth set against the backdrop of the Crusades. Elias/Elizabeth wins over readers with ease as author Hawthorne Moss creates a story that is memorable."

"Christopher Moss’s Beloved Pilgrim is a wonder. Every now and then you stumble across a story that not only had to be told, but managed to get itself told by an accomplished author. Beloved Pilgrim is such a story. Thank you Mr. Moss. I am richer for the gift of your plainly beautiful words."

Gay Mystery / Thriller
Death Came Calling by Donald Webb

Series: Katsuro Tanaka Mystery
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (January 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829799
ISBN-13: 978-1602829794
Amazon: Death Came Calling (Katsuro Tanaka Mystery)
Amazon Kindle: Death Came Calling (Katsuro Tanaka Mystery)

"One of the best mysteries I’ve read in a number of years. There were a number of plot developments that this reader had no way of seeing coming, and were beyond being expected. Excellent novel."

Gay Contemporary General Fiction
Paradise at Main and Elm by Barry Brennessel

Paperback: 282 pages
Publisher: Wilde City Press, LLC (October 30, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1925031586
ISBN-13: 978-1925031584
Amazon: Paradise at Main and Elm
Amazon Kindle: Paradise at Main and Elm

"The characters in this book were so well written.  Perhaps this was because of how the story was written.  Regardless, I love the two main characters in this story. "

Gay Contemporary Romance
Something Like Spring by Jay Bell

Paperback: 458 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (January 27, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1494430916
ISBN-13: 978-1494430917
Amazon: Something Like Spring
Amazon Kindle: Something Like Spring

"An excellent story that is both sweet and romantic. I adored Jason and loved that he found a family with Ben and Tim. Ben is one of my favorites in the series and it was wonderful to see him again! I'm glad Ben and Tim got their happy ending."

Gay Paranormal Romance
Shades of Sepia by Anne Barwell
Paperback: 210 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (January 31, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627985417
ISBN-13: 978-1627985413
Amazon: Shades of Sepia
Amazon Kindle: Shades of Sepia

"This is the first book I have read by this author and after reading it I can guarantee it won't be the last. I'm very glad she has a backlist that I can get stuck into. I really enjoyed the writing style, it was very easy to read . I must admit that I also really liked all the bits that Ben needed to translate as I found it refreshing to read terms that I understand :) To me the plot was fabulous, it hooked me in from the beginning and I loved the fact that it was a plot driven story that didn't need to rely on sex scenes. The pace of the story was great and kept me reading until the very satisfactory end. I will definitely be looking out for the next book in this series."

Lesbian Contemporary General Fiction
Ebenezer by JoSelle Vanderhooft
Paperback: 280 pages
Publisher: Zumaya Boundless (December 18, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1612710689
ISBN-13: 978-1612710686
Amazon: Ebenezer
Amazon Kindle: Ebenezer

"I like it when they put a spin on an old story... it was a very entertaining read."

Gay Contemporary Romance
The Bridge on the River Wye by Adam Fitzroy
Manifold Press
70,000 words/256 pages
Publication 1 February 2014

"The characters are so rich and real, and the story grows organically from their respective situations. Even minor characters are carefully fleshed out. It's a pleasure to read something so lovingly and subtly crafted."

Lesbian Paranormal Romance
Windigo Thrall by Cate Culpepper
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (January 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1602829500
ISBN-13: 978-1602829503
Amazon: Windigo Thrall
Amazon Kindle: Windigo Thrall

"I really loved this book! I had never read a book about a windigo before. I was fascinated by the detailed story and the writers' brilliant telling."

Gay Biography / Memoir
I Probably Shouldn’t Have Done That by Edmond Manning
Paperback: 170 pages
Publisher: Pickwick Ink Press; 1st edition (December 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0989097935
ISBN-13: 978-0989097932
Amazon: I Probaby Shouldn't Have Done That
Amazon Kindle: I Probaby Shouldn't Have Done That

"Mr. Manning's essays are well written and engaging. As any creative nonfiction should, this book gave me a glimpse into the author's life. An enjoyable and excellent read that made me want to seek out more of this author's work."

"I probably shouldn't have read this on a plane if I didn't want people staring at me for alternately giggling and sniffling over my Kindle."

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

October 2017

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 20th, 2017 03:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios