reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
[personal profile] reviews_and_ramblings
Waiting for the list of finalists to be announced beginning of October, I will post daily the 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mentions: an honorable mention means a judge gave a rate of 36 or above out of 40 to the book; an honorable mention doesn't mean the book is automatically among the finalists, could be could be not, but it's important to understand there are more than 500 books in the literary contests, all books are in the process of being read by the jury, but only half of them will go to finals. So please, congratulate with me this year honorable mentions:



Gay Paranormal Romance
The Memory of Blood & Lotuses by E.E. Ottoman

Paperback: 174 pages
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (October 30, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1620042673
ISBN-13: 978-1620042670
Amazon: The Memory of Blood and Lotuses
Amazon Kindle: The Memory of Blood and Lotuses

"I loved this story. The setting was so vivid and captivating down to the scents and textures. If I could, I'd like to give setting 11 points. I happen to love things Egyptian and this story did not disappoint. The use of magic and a new vampire lore makes this story stand out in a sea of paranormal."

Gay Historical Romance
Dance of Stone by Jay Lewis Taylor
Publisher: Manifold Press (May 30, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Dance of Stone

"The pacing is slow—almost glacial but he manages to sustain your attention & keep you reading. The amount of research and period detail that is clear in this story is absolutely staggering. The setting is meticulously researched and so perfectly described that you are there in medieval times with all its dirt, deprivation, discomfort, and obsession with building churches; yet in his depiction of gay men and how they are treated/perceived was contemporary, making the story timeless. There are some beautifully written passages. It’s a romance that isn’t all love and sex. A rare read indeed. A most excellent read."

"This was a lovely surprise. So seldom do you get to read a well-researched, stylish romantic saga set in the Middle Ages, much less one with gay characters. I highly recommend this debut novel."

Lesbian Contemporary Romance
Camellia by Caitlin Ricci & Cari Z.

Paperback: 168 pages
Publisher: Less Than Three Press (May 7, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1620043572
ISBN-13: 978-1620043578
Amazon: Camellia
Amazon Kindle: Camellia

"Camellia is a beautiful, delicate story that unfolds with the same languid, graceful pacing of a Japanese tea ceremony...and like the ancient art of the ceremony, will engage every one of your senses by the time it concludes. The memory will linger as well, with surprising, subtle strength. And lest you think this story is a snoozefest, I’d best mention the sex was hot enough to leave me wishing for a fan. No fooling."

"I normally do not read lesbian novels or BDSM.  The genres are not my usual preference. However, after reading this book (first in a series), I was genuinely pleased with the dynamic, tight writing style, the beautiful explaination and demonstration of the BDSM lifestyle, and the introduction into the beauty of tea service.  Lucy & Danny are two characters I am willing to visit again & delve deeper into their story."

"A book about tea but this romance is so much more than that. Lust swirled between these two characters that exploded off the page and kept me spellbound. With a promising ending, I wanted to read more about these characters and I dreaded getting closer to the end."

Gay Contemporary Romance
Takedown (Bannon's Gym) by Cat Grant

Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (July 29, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Takedown (Bannon's Gym)

"This story is heartbreaking, but it’s also about redemption and hope. It’s also very realistic in the family dynamics. I don’t read “fight” books. It’s not a subject I get or understand. I’m really glad I read this one and I’ll be tracking down the others in the series."

Lesbian Contemporary Romance
No Boundaries by Donna K. Ford
Paperback: 264 pages
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books (May 6, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626390606
Amazon: No Boundaries
Amazon Kindle: No Boundaries

"This book was amazing. From the beginning, I was riveted by the characters as they grabbed hold of my attention and didn't let go. The author's style was quick, light and easy to read and I would love to pick up more from Ms. Ford."

"I really enjoyed this story."

"Enjoyable read, loved the chemistry between the characters, great plot."

"Loved the premise of this romance, sweet yet angsty. Setting was realistic and all characters seemed well thought out.  Loved both Gwen and Andi's vulnerability. Yhis is the second boo from this author that I have read and she continues to improve in her writing."

Gay Anthology / Young Adult
Red Caps: New Fairy Tales for Out of the Ordinary Readers by Steve Berman
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Lethe Press (February 14, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1590212827
ISBN-13: 978-1590212820
Amazon: Red Caps: New Fairy Tales for Out of the Ordinary Readers
Amazon Kindle: Red Caps: New Fairy Tales for Out of the Ordinary Readers

"Some writers can write “It was a clear blue sky.” Other writers can look at that same sky and carve a description out of fire and music. Steve Berman is one of those writers. The characters in the individual stories in Red Caps don’t just jump off the page; they dance. And as they dance around you, they spin their tale they pull back the curtain on a world you didn’t know existed. Quite simply reading this book is a transcendent experience. I expect great things from Mr. Berman."

Gay Erotic Romance
Tough Love (Special Delivery) by Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (April 8, 2014)
Amazon Kindle: Tough Love (Special Delivery)

"It was such a pleasure to read this, not only because I'm a fan of Heidi's work and have read the other books in the series (and this one before too!). The characters are unusual and engaging. Each of the main characters has a strong emotional arc, plus we get to visit with favorites from earlier in the series. The ways that Heidi explores the definition of strength is compelling, and above all, entertaining."

Gay Contemporary Romance
Love Lessons by Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (October 1, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Love Lessons

" I enjoyed this book. The characters were unique, had real life issues and struggles that went beyond the relationship and the author kept us engaged throughout the story."

Gay Poetry
Velvet Rodeo by Kelly McQuain
Publisher: Bloom Books

"The symmetry, flow, imagery, and meter of the poetry was some of the best I've read, gay or non-gay, in quite sometime.  I enjoyed reading each piece separately then as a whole in this new compilation of formerly published works.  It is a gem of a collection."

"These poems explore gender and coming of age, adulthood and the middle years, all with poignant metaphors and thoughtful juxtaposition.  I enjoyed reading poetry again-- there was no attempt to be smarter than the reader, but only an attempt to make a connection, and that is my favorite verbal music."

Gay Contemporary Romance
Fall Hard by JL Merrow
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd. (September 17, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Fall Hard

"Amazing atmosphere, both in terms of setting (Iceleand!) and the emotional resonance. Intense, slow-building romance and darkly intriguing mystery / self-discovery type plot. So, so good!"

Profile

reviews_and_ramblings: (Default)
reviews_and_ramblings

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
345 67 89
10111213141516
17 181920212223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Disclaimer

All cover art, photo and graphic design contained in this site are copyrighted by the respective publishers and authors. These pages are for entertainment purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended. Should anyone object to our use of these items please contact by email the blog's owner.
This is an amateur blog, where I discuss my reading, what I like and sometimes my personal life. I do not endorse anyone or charge fees of any kind for the books I review. I do not accept money as a result of this blog.
I'm associated with Amazon/USA Affiliates Programs.
Books reviewed on this site were usually provided at no cost by the publisher or author. However, some books were purchased by the reviewer and not provided for free. For information on how a particular title was obtained, please contact by email the blog's owner.
Days of Love Gallery - Copyright Legenda: http://www.elisarolle.com/gallery/index_legenda.html

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Feb. 19th, 2019 09:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios